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Emergency Rules 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 

Office of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences 

Emerald Ash Borer Quarantine (LAC 7:XV.167) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), and pursuant 
to the authority of the state entomologist set forth in R.S. 
3:1652, and in order to avoid a lapse in coverage until a 
permanent rule is in effect, notice is hereby given that 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry is adopting these 
emergency regulations establishing a quarantine in Bienville, 
Jackson, Morehouse and Ouachita Parishes for the following 
pest: Emerald Ash Borer (“EAB”), Agrilus planipennis 
Fairmaire. The state entomologist has determined that EAB 
has been found in Bienville, Jackson, Morehouse and 
Ouachita Parishes and may be prevented, controlled, or 
eradicated by quarantine.  

EAB poses an imminent peril to the health and welfare of 
Louisiana forests, commercial and private forestry/wood 
product industries, and nursery growers due to its ability to 
infest ash trees. In 2013, the wholesale value of woody 
ornamental sales for nursery growers in the state was $62.6 
million, a portion of which is comprised of sales of ash trees 
(Louisiana State University AgCenter 2013 Louisiana 
Summary, Agriculture and Natural Resources). Louisiana’s 
forests and forestry/wood products industries generated an 
output industry production value of $10.86 billion in 2012, a 
portion of which is comprised of ash trees and ash tree 
products (Louisiana State University AgCenter publication 
3367-G, 2015). Sales of ash firewood by retail and 
wholesale suppliers to private individuals also are important 
to the state’s economy. 

Natural spread of EAB is limited to relatively short 
distances. However, without restriction, EAB can spread 
through human-assisted means over long distances via 
infested ash nursery stock, ash logs/timber and cut firewood. 
Once an ash tree is infested, it experiences twig dieback and 
tree decline. Tree death occurs within a few years. Failure to 
prevent, control, or eradicate this pest threatens to damage 
Louisiana’s commercial ash tree nursery industry, and over 
time this pest poses a threat to destroy the majority of ash in 
our state, both commercial and residential. The loss of the 
state’s commercial nursery-grown ash trees, forestry/wood 
ash products and even residential ash trees would be 
devastating to the state’s economy and to its private citizens. 
The quarantine established by this emergency regulation is 
necessary to prevent the spread of EAB to all areas in 
Louisiana where ash may exist, outside of the current areas 
where this pest has been found. 

For these reasons, the presence of EAB in Louisiana 
presents an imminent peril to the health, safety and welfare 
of Louisiana’s citizens and forests, the state’s commercial 
and private forestry/wood product industries, and nursery 
growers. As a result of this imminent peril, the Department 

of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Forestry and Office of 
Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, hereby exercises 
its full and plenary power pursuant to R.S. 3:1652 to deal 
with crop and fruit pests and contagious and infectious crop 
and fruit diseases by imposing the quarantines set out in 
these emergency regulations.  

This Rule shall have the force and effect of law effective 
June 27, 2018, and will remain in effect 120 days, unless 
renewed by the commissioner of agriculture and forestry or 
until permanent rules are promulgated in accordance with 
law. 

Title 7 

AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XV.  Plant Protection and Quarantine 

Chapter 1. Crop Pests and Diseases 

Subchapter F. Emerald Ash Borer Quarantine 

§167. Emerald Ash Borer Quarantine 

A. The department issues the following quarantine 
because the state entomologist has determined that the insect 
Emerald Ash Borer (“EAB”), Agrilus planipennis, has been 
found in this state and may be prevented, controlled, or 
eradicated by quarantine. 

B. Quarantined areas in this state include: 
1. the entire parishes of Bienville, Bossier, Claiborne, 

Jackson, Morehouse, Lincoln, Ouachita, Union and Webster; 
2. a declaration of quarantine for EAB covering any 

other specific parishes or areas of this state shall be 
published in the official journal of the state and in the 
Louisiana Register. 

C. No regulated articles as defined in this Subsection 
shall be moved out of any area of this state that is listed in 
this subsection as a quarantined area for EAB, except as 
provided in this subsection. 

D. The following articles are hosts of EAB and are 
deemed to be regulated articles for purposes of this 
subsection:  

1. the emerald ash borer in all of its life stages; 
firewood of all hardwood (non-coniferous) species; nursery 
stock, green lumber, and other material living, dead, cut, or 
fallen, including logs, stumps, roots, branches, and 
composted and uncomposted chips of the genus Fraxinus; 

2. any other article, product, or means of conveyance 
not listed in this section may be designated as a regulated 
article if an inspector determines that it presents a risk of 
spreading emerald ash borer and notifies the person in 
possession of the article, product, or means of conveyance 
that it is subject to the restrictions of the regulations. 

E. Regulated articles may be moved from quarantined 
areas to non-quarantined areas within or outside of 
Louisiana only if moved under the following conditions. 

1. The regulated articles being moved are 
accompanied by a certificate or limited permit issued by 
LDAF and attached in accordance with the EAB federal 
requirements.  

2. The regulated articles being moved are not 
accompanied by a certificate or limited permit but are being 
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moved by the United States Department of Agriculture for 
experimental or scientific purposes. 

3. The regulated articles being moved are not 
accompanied by a certificate or limited permit but originated 
outside of any EAB quarantined area and are moved 
interstate through the quarantined area under the following 
conditions: 

a. the points of origin and destination are indicated 
on a waybill accompanying the regulated article; and 

b. the regulated article, if moved through the 
quarantined area, is moved in an enclosed vehicle or is 
completely covered to prevent access by the EAB; and 

c. the regulated article is moved directly through 
the quarantined area without stopping (except for refueling 
or for traffic conditions, such as traffic lights or stop signs), 
or has been stored, packed, or handled at locations approved 
by an inspector as not posing a risk of infestation by emerald 
ash borer; and 

d. the article has not been combined or commingled 
with other articles so as to lose its individual identity. 

F. Persons or businesses engaged in growing, handling, 
or moving regulated articles intrastate may enter into a 
compliance agreement with LDAF if such persons or 
businesses review with an LDAF inspector each provision of 
the compliance agreement. Any person or business who 
enters into a compliance agreement with LDAF must agree 
to comply with the provisions of this subpart and any 
conditions imposed under this Subpart. 

1. Any compliance agreement may be canceled orally 
or in writing by an inspector whenever the inspector 
determines that the person who has entered into the 
compliance agreement has not complied with this subpart or 
any conditions imposed under this subpart. If the 
cancellation is oral, the cancellation will become effective 
immediately, and the cancellation and the reasons for the 
cancellation will be confirmed in writing as soon as 
circumstances permit. Any person whose compliance 
agreement has been canceled may appeal the decision in 
writing to LDAF within 10 days after receiving the written 
cancellation notice. The appeal must state all of the facts and 
reasons that the person wants LDAF to consider in deciding 
the appeal. A hearing may be held to resolve a conflict as to 
any material fact. Rules of practice for the hearing will be 
adopted by LDAF. As soon as practicable, LDAF will grant 
or deny the appeal, in writing, stating the reasons for the 
decision. 

G. Any person violating this quarantine shall be subject 
to imposition of the remedies and penalties set forth in R.S. 
3:1653. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:1652 and 3:1653. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental 
Sciences, LR 41:2577 (December 2015), amended LR 43:245 
(February 2017), LR 44: 

 
Mike Strain DVM 
Commissioner 

1807#020 

 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Children and Family Services 

Division of Child Welfare 

Criminal Background and State Central Registry Checks; 
Risk Assessment Evaluation; State Repository, Central 

Registry and Administrative Appeal 
(LAC 67:1. 203 and Chapter 3) 

(LAC 67:V.Chapter 11) 

The Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) 
has exercised the emergency provision of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953 (B) to repromulgate LAC 67:I, 
Chapter 3; and to amend LAC 67:I, Section 203 and LAC 
67:V, Subpart 3, Chapter 11, Sections 1103, 1105, and 1111.  

The department adopted a rule which repealed Chapter 3, 
Sections 301, 303, 305, 307, 309, and 311 effective July 1, 
2018 (Louisiana Register, Volume 44, Number 6). The 
department has determined that it is necessary to delay this 
action. Therefore, effective July 1, 2018, the repeal of 
Sections 301, 303, 305, 307, 309, and 311 is being delayed 
until August 1, 2018. This action shall be effective July 1, 
2018, and shall remain in effect for a period of 31 days. 

Part I, Chapter 2, Section 203 and Part V, Chapter 11 
Sections 1103, 1105, and 1111 are being amended to update 
the effective date for implementation for certain provisions. 
This action shall be effective July 1, 2018, and shall remain 
in effect for a period of 120 days. 

The department considers emergency action necessary to 
ensure appropriate decision making with justified (valid) 
determinations of child abuse and neglect prior to the 
implementation of Children’s Code Article 616.1.1. 

Title 67 

SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part I.  General Administration 

Chapter 2. Criminal Background and State Central 

Registry Checks 

§203. Conditions of Employment 

A. - A.2. … 
3. If the potential employee’s name is recorded on the 

state central registry subsequent to January 1, 2010 and prior 
to August 1, 2018, they shall not be denied consideration for 
employment until the potential employee has exhausted their 
right to an administrative appeal and thereafter the potential 
employee’s name is confirmed to be listed on the state 
central registry. 

4. If the individual’s name is recorded on the state 
central registry as a perpetrator of child abuse or neglect 
subsequent to August 1, 2018, they shall not be employed or 
considered for employment by the department in positions 
whose duties include the investigation of child abuse or 
neglect, supervisory or disciplinary authority over children, 
direct care of a child, or performance of licensing surveys.  

B. Any current employee of the department whose duties 
include the investigation of child abuse or neglect, 
supervisory or disciplinary authority over children, direct 
care of a child, or performance of licensing surveys and 
whose name is recorded subsequent to January 1, 2010 and
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prior to August 1, 2018, shall not be terminated from their 
position in the department until the employee has exhausted 
their right to an administrative appeal and thereafter the 
employee’s name is confirmed to be listed on the state 
central registry. If the employee’s name is recorded on the 
state central registry subsequent to August 1, 2018, they 
shall be terminated from their current position whose duties 
include the investigation of child abuse or neglect, 
supervisory or disciplinary authority over children, direct 
care of a child, or performance of licensing surveys by the 
department.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:51.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of the Secretary, LR 36:851 (April 2010), 
amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 
Division of Child Welfare, LR 44:997 (June 2018), amended LR 
44: 

Chapter 3. Risk Assessment Evaluation 

§301. Introduction 

A. The Department of Children and Family Services 
(DCFS) maintains a central registry of all justified (valid) 
reported cases of child abuse and neglect. 

B. In accordance with R.S. 46:51.2, no person shall be 
hired, promoted, or transferred by the department to a 
position for which duties include the investigation of child 
abuse or neglect, supervisory or disciplinary authority over 
children, direct care of a child, or performance of licensing 
surveys until: 

1. the department has conducted a search of the state 
central registry of justified (valid) abuse or neglect and has 
determined that the individual's name is not recorded therein 
subsequent to January 1, 2010; or 

2. if an individual's name is recorded on the state 
central registry subsequent to January 1, 2010, a risk 
evaluation panel has determined in writing that the 
individual does not pose a risk to children. 

C. Any prospective employee or current employee 
whose duties include the investigation of child abuse or 
neglect, supervisory or disciplinary authority over children, 
direct care of a child, or performance of licensing surveys 
and who discloses or it becomes known that their name was 
recorded subsequent to January 1, 2010 on the state central 
registry with a justified (valid) finding of abuse or neglect, 
may request a risk assessment evaluation in accordance with 
the following. 

1. In accordance with LAC 67:I.305, the prospective 
employee will have 10 calendar days to make his request for 
a risk assessment evaluation from the date of receipt of 
written notification that his name appears on the state central 
registry and of the risk assessment evaluation process. The 
application process shall be terminated for a prospective 
employee and he may not be considered for a position whose 
duties include the investigation of child abuse or neglect, 
supervisory or disciplinary authority over children, direct 
care of a child, or performance of licensing surveys in the 
future, unless it is determined that he does not pose a risk to 
children.  

2. In accordance with LAC 67:I.305, a current 
employee will have 10 calendar days to make a request for a 
risk assessment evaluation from the date of receipt of written 
notification that his name appears on the state central 

registry and of the risk assessment evaluation process. When 
the employee fails to make such a request, and: 

a. he is currently in a position whose duties include 
the investigation of child abuse or neglect, supervisory or 
disciplinary authority over children, direct care of a child, 
performance of licensing surveys, termination proceedings 
will begin immediately after the 10 calendar days have 
elapsed; or 

b. if he is not currently in a position whose duties 
include the investigation of child abuse or neglect, 
supervisory or disciplinary authority over children, direct 
care of a child, performance of licensing surveys but is 
applying for such a position, he will remain in his current 
position and shall not be considered for the new position. 
The provisions in this Chapter pertaining to a prospective 
employee are applicable to this employee. 

3. If a prospective employee requests a risk 
assessment evaluation within the required time frame and 
there is a determination that the individual does not pose a 
risk to children, the prospective employee may reapply for 
employment and be considered for a position whose duties 
include the investigation of child abuse or neglect, 
supervisory or disciplinary authority over children, direct 
care of a child, or performance of licensing surveys.  

4. If a current employee requests a risk assessment 
evaluation within the required time frame, as a condition of 
continued employment in a position whose duties include 
the investigation of child abuse or neglect, supervisory or 
disciplinary authority over children, direct care of a child, or 
performance of licensing surveys, the current employee shall 
be directly supervised by another paid employee of the 
department, who has not disclosed nor has it become known 
that their name appears with a justified (valid) finding on the 
state central registry prior to January 1, 2010; or, found not 
to pose a risk by the risk evaluation panel. Under no 
circumstances may the employee with the justified finding 
be left alone and unsupervised with the children pending the 
disposition of the risk evaluation panel that they do not pose 
a risk to children. 

5. If the risk evaluation panel finds the prospective 
employee or current employee does pose a risk to children 
and the prospective employee or current employee chooses 
not to appeal the finding, the prospective employee may not 
be considered for a position whose duties include the 
investigation of child abuse or neglect, supervisory or 
disciplinary authority over children, direct care of a child, or 
performance of licensing surveys, and termination 
proceedings shall begin on the current employee, unless his 
current position does not include those duties.  

6. If the risk evaluation panel finds the individual does 
pose a risk to children and the prospective employee appeals 
the finding within the required timeframe, the prospective 
employee may not be considered for a position whose duties 
include the investigation of child abuse or neglect, 
supervisory or disciplinary authority over children, direct 
care of a child, or performance of licensing surveys. If the 
current employee appeals the finding within the required 
timeframe he shall continue to have direct supervision in a 
position whose duties include the investigation of child 
abuse or neglect, supervisory or disciplinary authority over 
children, direct care of a child, or performance of licensing 
surveys at all times by another paid employee of the 
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department who has not disclosed nor has it become known 
that they have a justified (valid) finding on the state central 
registry prior to January 1, 2010; or found not to pose a risk 
by the risk evaluation panel, until there is a final ruling 
rendered by the DCFS appeals unit or the appropriate district 
court that the current employee does not pose a risk to 
children. Supervision may end effective with such a final 
ruling from the DCFS appeals unit and/or the appropriate 
district court. If the DCFS appeals unit and/or the 
appropriate district court upholds the risk evaluation panel 
finding that the individual does pose a risk to children, a 
prospective employee shall not be considered for a position 
whose duties include the investigation of child abuse or 
neglect, supervisory or disciplinary authority over children, 
direct care of a child, or performance of licensing surveys 
and termination proceedings for a current employee in a 
position with those duties will begin immediately upon the 
receipt of the notice of this final ruling. 

D. No person whose duties include supervisory or 
disciplinary authority over children or direct care of a child 
may volunteer or become a service provider as provided in 
LAC 67:V.1103 for DCFS until:  

1. the department has conducted a search of the state 
central registry of justified (valid) abuse or neglect and has 
determined that the individual’s name is not recorded therein 
subsequent to January 1, 2010; or 

2. if an individual’s name is recorded on the state 
central registry subsequent to January 1, 2010, a risk 
evaluation panel has, previous to his application to volunteer 
or become a service provider as provided in LAC 67:V.1103, 
determined in writing that the individual does not pose a risk 
to children. 

E. In accordance with R.S. 46:1414.1, 15:1110.2 and 
17:407.41 any owner, operator, current or prospective 
employee, or volunteer of an early learning center or 
juvenile detention facility licensed by the department or an 
early learning center licensed by the Louisiana Department 
of Education who discloses that he is currently recorded on 
the state central registry for a justified (valid) finding of 
abuse or neglect shall be entitled to a risk evaluation 
provided by the department to determine whether the 
individual poses a risk to children. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:51.2, R.S. 46:1414.1, R.S. 15:1110.2 and R.S. 17:407.41. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of the Secretary, LR 36:851 (April 2010), 
amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 
Division of Programs, LR 39:3247 (December 2013), LR 42:860 
(June 2016), Repealed LR 44:998 (June 2018), effective July 1, 
2018, repromulgated LR 44: 

§303. Risk Evaluation Panel and/or Risk Evaluation 

Coordinator 

A. A risk evaluation panel (panel) is established to 
conduct risk assessment evaluations for an individual as 
listed in LAC 67:I.301.B, C and E whose name appears on 
the state central registry to determine if that individual poses 
a risk to children. 

B.1. Members of the panel shall be designated pursuant to 
Paragraph B.2 and consist of: 

a. the risk evaluation panel coordinator; 
b. a child welfare manager responsible for in home 

services; 

c. a child welfare manager responsible for out of 
home services; 

d. a regional child welfare administrator; 
e. a child welfare manager responsible for 

continuous quality improvement, except for panel reviews 
relating to DCFS prospective or current employees; 

f. a program child welfare manager for licensing 
for panel reviews relating to owners, operators, current or 
prospective employees, or volunteers of specialized 
providers and juvenile detention facilities; and 

g. any others designated as deemed necessary to 
convene an appropriate panel. 

2. The panel members listed in Paragraph B.1 shall be 
designated by the DCFS secretary, or his designee. 

3. The risk evaluation panel coordinator shall be a 
non-voting member of the panel. 

C. The duties of the panel shall include: 
1. conducting an assessment of an individual listed in 

LAC 67:I.301.B, C and E whose name appears on the state 
central registry and has requested a risk evaluation to 
determine whether that individual poses a risk to children; 

2. providing written notification of the decision to the 
individual; and 

3. retaining all records of decisions. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:51.2, R.S. 46:1414.1, R.S. 15:1110.2 and R.S. 17:407.41. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, LR 36:851 (April 2010), 
amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 
Division of Programs, LR 39:3248 (December 2013), LR 42:861 
(June 2016), Repealed LR 44:998 (June 2018), effective July 1, 
2018, repromulgated LR 44: 

§305. Risk Assessment Evaluation Process 

A. The risk evaluation panel will determine if the 
individual listed in LAC 67:I.301.B, C and E poses a risk to 
children based on the information available in the DCFS 
case record, licensing record if applicable, and any 
supplemental information provided by the employee. 

B. The individual requesting the risk assessment 
evaluation will not be present for the evaluation. 

C. The prospective or current employee of DCFS or any 
owner, operator, current or prospective employee, or current 
or prospective volunteer of a specialized provider or juvenile 
detention facility licensed by the department or an early 
learning center licensed by the Louisiana Department of 
Education is responsible for providing the following 
documentation to the risk evaluation panel to be used in 
conjunction with the information in the case record in 
making a risk determination: 

1. evidence of a rehabilitation effort since the justified 
(valid) incident of abuse or neglect such as but not limited to 
employment, education, or counseling; 

2. information about the individual’s anticipated job 
responsibilities or current responsibilities; and  

3. evidence of the individual’s present fitness to work 
with children, including three letters of recommendation, 
one of which must be from a former employer. 

D. The prospective or current employee of DCFS or any 
owner, operator, current or prospective employee, or current 
or prospective volunteer of a specialized provider or juvenile 
detention facility licensed by the department or an early
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learning center licensed by the Louisiana Department of 
Education must submit the information within 10 calendar 
days of the request for a risk evaluation by mailing to: 

Louisiana Department of Children and Family Services 
Attention: Risk Evaluation Panel 
627 North Fourth St., Third Floor 
Baton Rouge, LA 70802 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:51.2, R.S. 46:1414.1, R.S. 15:1110.2 and R.S. 17:407.41. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of the Secretary, LR 36:852 (April 2010), 
amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 
Division of Programs, LR 39:3248 (December 2013), LR 42:861 
(June 2016), Repealed LR 44:998 (June 2018), effective July 1, 
2018, repromulgated LR 44: 

§307. Risk Determination Criteria 

A. A person determined to be a perpetrator of an incident 
of abuse or neglect may not automatically be denied a 
position or be allowed to retain a position which allows 
access to children. 

B. The panel shall determine if an individual poses a risk 
to children based on the information available in the DCFS 
case record, licensing record if applicable, and any 
supplemental information provided by the prospective or 
current employee whose duties include the investigation of 
child abuse or neglect, supervisory or disciplinary authority 
over children, direct care of a child, or performance of 
licensing surveys, or a prospective/current volunteer. 

1. The following information shall be used by the 
panel to make its determination including, but not limited to:  

a. the nature of the abuse or neglect with which the 
individual was identified, including whether the abuse or 
neglect resulted in serious injury or death to a child or 
children; 

b. the circumstances surrounding the commission of 
the abuse or neglect, including the age of the perpetrator and 
the children, that would demonstrate likelihood of repetition; 

c. the period of time that has elapsed since the 
abuse or neglect occurred and whether prior incidents of 
child abuse or child neglect have been determined justified 
against the individual; 

d. whether the abuse or neglect involved single or 
multiple child victims or whether there were more multiple 
allegations over a period of time to indicate a pattern of 
behavior; 

e. the relationship of the incident of child abuse or 
neglect to the individual’s current or conditional job 
responsibilities within the department or facility; 

f. evidence of rehabilitation such as employment, 
education, or counseling since the justified incident of abuse 
or neglect; and 

g. letters of recommendation one of which must be 
from a former employer whenever possible. 

C. An individual determined to be a risk to children is 
prohibited from requesting a risk assessment evaluation for 
24 months from the date of the original notice of decision 
issued by the risk evaluation panel.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:51.2, R.S. 46:1414.1, R.S. 15:1110.2 and R.S. 17:407.41. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of the Secretary, LR 36:852 (April 2010), 
amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 
Division of Programs, LR 39:3248 (December 2013), LR 42:862 
(June 2016) Repealed LR 44:998 (June 2018), effective July 1, 
2018, repromulgated LR 44: 

§309. Appeals Process 

A. The risk evaluation panel shall provide the individual 
who is the subject of the evaluation the decision of the panel 
in writing. 

B. The notice of decision shall contain information 
regarding the individual’s right to appeal and request for a 
fair hearing. 

C. The individual may file a request for an 
administrative appeal within 30 days of the mailing of the 
notice of the determination with the DCFS Appeals Unit. 
Administrative appeals for prospective employees or current 
employees of DCFS are conducted by the DCFS Appeals 
Unit. If the request for an administrative appeal is made by a 
current or prospective owner, employee or volunteer of a 
specialized provider or juvenile detention facility licensed by 
the department or an early learning center licensed by the 
Louisiana Department of Education, within 30 days of the 
mailing of the notice of the determination, that request shall 
be sent by the Appeals Unit to the Division of 
Administrative Law. 

D. All decisions rendered by the administrative law 
judge within the DCFS appeals unit or the division of 
administrative law are final and such decisions shall exhaust 
the individual's administrative appeal rights. 

E. Within 30 calendar days after the mailing date listed 
on the notice of the final decision by the DCFS appeals unit 
or the division of administrative law, or if a rehearing is 
requested, within 30 calendar days after the date of the 
decision thereon, the individual may obtain judicial review 
by filing a petition for review of the decision in the 
Nineteenth Judicial District Court or the district court of the 
domicile of the individual. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:51.2, R.S. 46:1414.1, R.S. 15:1110.2 and R.S. 17:407.41. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of the Secretary, LR 36:852 (April 2010), 
amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 
Repealed LR 44:998 (June 2018), effective July 1, 2018, 
repromulgated LR 44: 

§311. Correction or Expungement of Central Registry 

Entries 

A. Notwithstanding any other provisions, a panel 
determination shall not be used to prohibit an individual 
from being considered for employment when the justified 
(valid) finding that served as the basis for the risk 
assessment evaluation is: 

1. corrected either pursuant to Children’s Code article 
616 or by DCFS; or 

2. expunged either pursuant to LAC 67:V.1103 or 
LAC 67:V.1105. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:51.2, R.S. 46:1414.1, R.S. 15:1110.2 and R.S. 17:407.41. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, LR 42:862 
(June 2016), Repealed LR 44:998 (June 2018), effective July 1, 
2018, repromulgated LR 44: 

Part V.  Child Welfare 

Subpart 3.  Child Protective Services 

Chapter 11. Administration and Authority 

§1103. State Central Registry 

A. - B.1.b. … 
2. Individuals who have been placed on the SCR as a 

perpetrator of abuse or neglect as the result of an 
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investigation determined to be justified/valid prior to August 
1, 2018, will have the right to an administrative appeal 
pursuant to LAC 67:V.1111. Information on such 
determinations will not be released until the individual has 
exhausted their right to an administrative appeal, unless 
otherwise allowed by law. Once the individual has exhausted 
their administrative appeal rights, if an SCR clearance has 
been received by DCFS, the clearance will be completed and 
information released consistent with the administrative 
hearing decision and as permitted for the purpose of the 
clearance request. 

C.1. … 
2. Individuals in investigations in families who have 

been determined to be justified/valid as a perpetrator of child 
abuse and/or neglect for a tier 1, 2, or 3 finding, as defined 
in LAC 67:V.1103.A, subsequent to July 1, 2018, shall be 
provided written notice of the SCR and the rules governing 
maintenance and release of SCR records. As of August 1, 
2018, the written notice shall also inform the individual of 
their right to an administrative appeal pursuant to LAC 
67:V.1111. The individual’s name will not be placed on the 
SCR until the individual has exhausted his right to an 
administrative appeal. If the individual fails to request an 
administrative appeal within 30 days of the written 
notification of the justified/valid finding, withdraws their 
request for an administrative appeal, or the justified/valid 
finding is upheld by an administrative law judge, the 
individual’s name will be immediately placed on the SCR. 

D. - E. … 
F.1. Any person whose name is included on the SCR 

subsequent to August 1, 2018, may file a rule to show cause 
against DCFS in the court exercising juvenile jurisdiction in 
the parish in which the investigation was conducted to show 
why the individual’s name should not be removed from the 
SCR. A perpetrator of a tier 1 justified/valid determination 
cannot be removed through this procedure. This rule to show 
cause may be filed for a perpetrator of a tier 2 justified/valid 
determination after nine years from the date of the case 
closure, or, four years from the date of the case closure for a 
perpetrator of a tier 3 justified/valid determination with the 
following circumstances: 

a. there was no child in need of care adjudication 
related to the justified/valid determination; 

b. no criminal charges are currently pending, 
associated with the incident, or criminal conviction for any 
offense listed in R.S. 15:587.1; and 

c. there have been no subsequent justified/valid 
determinations involving the individual as a perpetrator of 
child abuse or neglect. 

F.2. - G.11. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

Children’s Code, title VI, articles 615 and 616 and title XII, article 
1173, R.S. 14:403(H), R.S. 46:51.2(A), R.S 46:56, R.S. 46:1414.1, 
42 USC 15601 et seq., 28 CFR 115.6., and 42 USC 9858f. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 18:79 (January 
1992), amended LR 20:198 (February 1994), LR 21:583 (June 
1995), LR 23:590 (May 1997), LR 26:790 (April 2000), LR 
31:1609 (July 2005), LR 36:838 (April 2010), amended by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Child Welfare Section, LR 42:862 (June 2016), amended

by the Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Child Welfare, LR 44:998 (June 2018), amended LR 44: 

§1105. Maintenance and Disclosure of Information on 

Reports and Investigations on the State 

Repository 

A. - L.7. … 
M. Any person whose name is included on the SCR prior 

to August 1, 2018 with a justified/valid determination may 
file a rule to show cause against DCFS in the court 
exercising juvenile jurisdiction in the parish in which the 
investigation was conducted to show why the information on 
file should not be expunged. DCFS will expunge the 
petitioner's name and other identifying information from the 
SCR upon receipt of a court order to do so. Any 
expungement order issued by a court shall not take effect as 
to non-identifying statistical information on file until the 
three-year record retention period required by federal law for 
audit purposes has expired, counting from the month and 
year of the determination. During the three-year record 
retention period, such records bearing the non-identifying 
statistical information shall be sealed and accessible only to 
the financial auditors. 

N. - O. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

Louisiana Children’s Code Article 616. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 26:96 (January 
2000), amended LR 31:1608 (July 2005), LR 36:840 (April 2010), 
amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 
Division of Child Welfare, LR 44:1000 (June 2018) amended LR 
44: 

§1111. Child Protective Services Administrative Appeal 

A. … 
B. Individuals with justified/valid findings in an 

investigation prior to August 1, 2018, will have the right to 
an administrative appeal of any/all of their DCFS findings of 
justified/valid. When a request for an SCR clearance is 
received by DCFS, or DCFS verifies that an individual has a 
justified/valid finding, and the individual is listed as a 
perpetrator with a justified/valid finding of abuse or neglect 
in an investigation prior to August 1, 2018; the individual 
will be notified in writing of their right to an administrative 
appeal. The individual will have 30 calendar days from the 
date of the written notification to request an appeal through 
DAL. 

C. Any individual notified of a DCFS justified/valid 
finding in an investigation subsequent to August 1, 2018, 
will have the right to an administrative appeal of any/all of 
their DCFS findings of justified/valid. The individual will 
have 30 calendar days from the date of the written 
notification to request an appeal through the DAL. 

D. - K. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 

348 of 2017 and Children’s Code Article 616.1.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Division of Child Welfare, LR 
44:1002 (June 2018), amended LR 44: 

 

Marketa Garner Walters 
Secretary 

1807#025 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Children and Family Services 

Licensing Section 

Residential Home 
(LAC 67:V.7109, 7111, and 7119) 

Editor’s Note: This Emergency Rule was originally 
promulgateded in the June 20, 2018 Louisiana Register on 
pages 994-995 and is being repromulgated to correct 
typographical errors. 
 

The Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) 
has exercised the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), to amend 
LAC 67:V, Subpart 8, Chapter 71, Sections 7109, 7111, and 
7119. This Emergency Rule shall be effective June 1, 2018, 
and shall remain in effect for a period of 120 days. 

The department considers emergency action necessary in 
order to clarify the intent of existing statute and revise the 
residential home licensing standards to incorporate 
regulations to protect the safety and well-being of children 
residing in residential homes. 

Title 67 

SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part V.  Child Welfare 

Subpart 8.  Residential Licensing 

Chapter 71. Residential Homes, Type IV 

§7109. Critical Violations/Fines 

A - A.4. … 
5. §7111.D.1.a. if sections noted in §7111.D.7. also 

cited or §7111.D.1.b.i. if sections noted in §7111.D.7. also 
cited or §7111.D.2―critical incident reporting; and/or 

A.6. - H.4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 43:258 
(February 2017), amended LR 43:1725 (September 2017), LR 44: 

§7111. Provider Requirements 

A. - B.4.b.iii. … 
 iv. notification signed and dated from OJJ 
indicating youth is appropriate for non secure placement; 
 v. - xxiii. … 
 xxiv. for residents placed from other states, proof of 
compliance with the Interstate Compact on Juveniles, the 
Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children, and the 
Interstate Compact on Mental Health, when indicated. Proof 
of compliance shall include clearance letters from the 
compact officers of each state involved; 

B.4.c. - C.8. … 
D. Incidents 

1. Critical and Other Incidents. The provider shall 
have and adhere to written policies and procedures for 
documenting, reporting, investigating, and analyzing all 
incidents and other situations or circumstances affecting the 
health, safety, or well-being of a resident or child of a 
resident. 

a. The provider shall submit a written report of the 
following incidents to the Licensing Section within one 
calendar day, excluding when the incident occurs on a 
weekend or state holiday. If the incident occurs on a

weekend or state holiday, provider shall submit a written 
report on the first working day following the weekend or 
state holiday. 
 i. elopement or unexplained absence of a resident 
or child of a resident; 
 ii. use of physical restraints 
 iii. injuries of unknown origin;  
 iv. evacuation of residents or children of residents 
 v. attempted suicide; 
 vi. serious threat or injury to the health, safety, or 
well-being of the resident or child of a resident; 
 vii. injury with substantial bodily harm while in 
seclusion or during use of personal restraint; or 
 viii. unplanned hospitalizations, emergency room 
visits, and emergency urgent care visits. 
 ix. any other unplanned event or series of 
unplanned events, accidents, incidents and other situations or 
circumstances affecting the health, safety, or well-being of a 
resident or child of a resident. 

b. The program director or designee shall: 
 i. immediately verbally notify the legal guardian 
of any incident noted in Section 7111.D.1.a.i-ix.; 
 ii. immediately verbally notify the appropriate 
law enforcement authority in accordance with state law; 
 iii. if requested, submit a final written report of the 
incident to the legal guardian as soon as possible, but no 
later than five working days of the incident; 
 iv. conduct an analysis of the incident and take 
appropriate corrective steps to prevent future incidents from 
occurring; 
 v. maintain copies of any written reports or 
notifications in the resident's or child of a resident’s record; 
 vi. ensure that a staff person accompanies 
residents and children of residents when emergency services 
are needed. 

2. The provider shall verbally notify state office 
Licensing management staff immediately in the event of a 
death and follow up with a written report within one 
calendar day of the verbal report. If the death occurs on a 
weekend or State holiday, provider shall verbally notify state 
office Licensing management staff as soon as possible on the 
first working day following the weekend or State holiday 
and follow up with a written report the same day as verbal 
notification. The provider shall immediately verbally notify 
the legal guardian and law enforcement in the event of a 
death. 

3. - 5.h.  … 
i. date and time the legal guardian, licensing, and, 

if applicable, law enforcement were notified; 
j. - k. ... 
l. documentation of actions taken by the provider 

regarding staff involved in the incident to include corrective 
action. 

6. A copy of all written reports shall be maintained in 
the resident’s or child of a resident’s record. 

7. Critical incidents are noted in §7111.D.1.a.iv-vi and 
ix and §7111.D.2. 

E. - E.2. … 
3. After reporting suspected abuse and/or neglect as 

required by Louisiana law, provider shall submit a written 
report to the licensing section immediately or the next
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working day if the suspected abuse and/or neglect occurred 
on a weekend or state holiday. At a minimum the report shall 
contain: 

E.3.a. - J.1. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Community Service, LR 36:811 (April 
2010), amended by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Division of Programs, Licensing Section, LR 38:979, 984 
(April 2012), LR 42:221 (February 2016), amended by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Licensing Section, 
LR 43:261 (February 2017), LR 43:1725 (September 2017), LR 44: 

§7119. Physical Environment  

A. - A.12. … 
13. No interior or exterior door shall have a lock or 

fastening device that prevents free egress from the interior. 
B. - P.6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.36:477 and R.S. 46:1401 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Community Service, LR 36:828 (April 
2010), amended by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Division of Programs, Licensing Section, LR 38:985 
(April 2012), amended by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Licensing Section, LR 43:285 (February 2017), LR 44: 

 

Marketa Garner Walters 
Secretary 

1807#043 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 137—Louisiana Early Learning  
Center Licensing Regulations 

Child Care Criminal Background Checks  
(LAC 28:CLXI.Chapter 18) 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 17:6(A)(10) and 
the Administrative Procedure Act (APA), R.S. 49:953(B)(1) 
et seq., the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
has amended LAC 28:CLXI.Chapter 18 in Bulletin 137—

Louisiana Early Learning Center Licensing Regulations. 
The revisions pertain to owners, directors and director-
designees of type III early learning centers. This Declaration 
of Emergency, adopted on June 20, 2018, will remain in 
effect for a period of 120 days from the date of adoption or 
until it becomes a final Rule. 

Title 28 

EDUCATION 

Part CLXI.  Bulletin 137Louisiana Early Learning 

Center Licensing Regulations 

Chapter 18. Child Care Criminal Background Checks 

(CCCBC) 

§1805. Persons Ineligible for Child Care Purposes 

A. - C. ... 
D. In addition, for type III centers an owner, director, or 

director designee shall not have been convicted of, or pled 
guilty or nolo contendere to a felony, within the past 10 
years, for any of the following crimes of fraud: 

1. 18 U.S.C. 287 and 1341 and R.S. 14:67.11, 14:68.2, 
14:70.1, 14:70.4, 14:70.5, 14:70.7, 14:70.8, 14:71, 14:71.1, 
14:71.3, 14:72, 14:72.1.1, 14:72.4, 14:73.5, and 14:133. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 45 
CFR 98.43 and R.S. 15:587.1 and 407.42. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 44:252 (February 2018), 
effective March 1, 2018, amended LR 44: 

§1806. Types of CCCBC-based Determinations of 

Eligibility for Child Care Purposes 

A. There are two types of CCCBC-based determinations 
of eligibility for child care purposes: 

1. “owner/director/director designee of type III 
centers” determinations of eligibility are required for 
owners, directors and director designees of type III centers; 
and 

2. “child care staff member” determinations of 
eligibility are required for owners, directors and director 
designees of type I and type II centers and volunteers, staff, 
visitors, contractors and other persons providing services in 
any type of child care centers when children are present. 

B. A person with an “owner/director/director designee of 
type III centers” determination of eligibility also has a “child 
care staff member” determination of eligibility.  

C. A person with a “child care staff member” 
determination of eligibility does not have an 
“owner/director/director designee of type III centers” 
determination of eligibility. 

1. For a person with a “child care staff member” 
determination of eligibility, a type III center must obtain an 
“owner/director/director designee of type III centers” 
determination of eligibility before that person can become an 
owner, director or director designee of the type III center. 

2. To obtain an “owner/director/director designee of 
type III centers” determination of eligibility for a person 
with a valid “child care staff member” determination of 
eligibility, the type III center must request the subsequent 
determination from the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 44: 
§1819. Termination of Employment and Removal from 

Center and Premises 

A. - C. … 
D. Exception for Owners, Directors and Director 

Designees of Type III Centers with Notices of Ineligibility  
1. Upon receipt of notice from the department that an 

owner, director or director designee of a type III center is 
ineligible for child care purposes based solely on a crime of 
fraud listed in §1805.D of this Chapter, the owner, director 
or director designee of the type III center may remain on the 
premises pending a review of the determination of 
ineligibility by BESE, provided the owner, director or 
director designee of the type III center timely submits the 
following: 

a. a written request to BESE staff for a review of 
the determination of ineligibility pursuant to §1823 of this 
Chapter within 15 business days of receipt of the notice of 
ineligibility from the department; and 
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b. documentation listed in §1823.D and E.2 of this 
Chapter to BESE staff within 30 business days of receipt of 
the notice of ineligibility from the department. 

2. If the owner, director or director designee of the 
type III center: 

a. fails to timely comply with Paragraph 1 of this 
Subsection;  

b. chooses not to request a records review for the 
notice of ineligibility; or 

c. remains ineligible because BESE declines to 
conduct a review of the determination, or BESE determines 
that the owner, director or director designee of the type III 
center shall remain ineligible, then the requirements in: 
 i. Subsection A of this Section shall apply to 
directors and director designees of the type III center who 
are not also owners, or the director or director designee of 
the type III center may continue to work as a staff member at 
the type III center other than the director or director 
designee, or as any type of staff member at a type I or type II 
center, including the director or the director designee of the 
type I or type II center; and 
 ii. Subsection B of this Section shall apply to all 
owners of type III centers, whether or not they are directors 
or director designees of type III centers in that such owners 
must: 

(a). divest ownership of the type III center within 
30 calendar days of receipt of the original notice of 
ineligibility from the department if no records review is 
requested, or within 30 calendar days of receipt of notice of 
continuing ineligibility from BESE if a records review is 
requested. The owner may continue to work at the center as 
a staff member other than the director or director designee, 
but may not continue to own the center; or 

(b). change license types for the center from a 
type III to a type I or type II license within 30 calendar days 
of receipt of the original notice of ineligibility from the 
department if no records review is requested, or within 30 
calendar days of receipt of notice of continuing ineligibility 
from BESE if a records review is requested and then may 
continue to own the center. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 45 
CFR 98.43 and R.S. 15:587.1 and 407.42. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 44:255 (February 2018), 
effective March 1, 2018, amended LR 44: 

§1823. Review of Determinations of Ineligibility for 

Owners, Directors, or Director Designees of 

Type III Centers 

A. A review of a determination of ineligibility for 
owners, directors or director designees of type III centers 
shall not be considered if it is based in part on any crime or 
event listed in §1805.A through C of this Chapter. 

B. A review of a determination of ineligibility may only 
be considered for owners, directors or director designees of 
type III centers if the determination is based solely on a 
crime of fraud listed in §1805.D of this Chapter. 

C. A review of a determination of ineligibility based 
solely on a crime of fraud listed in §1805.D of this Chapter 
shall not be considered until at least five years have lapsed 
from the date of entry of the final conviction or plea which 
resulted in the determination of ineligibility. 

D. An applicant may apply to the Board of Elementary 
and Secondary Education (BESE) for a review of his/her 
determination of ineligibility based solely on a crime of 
fraud listed in §1805.D of this Chapter after the lapse of time 
indicated above and under the following conditions: 

1. There are no other crimes or events that would 
render the applicant ineligible to be an owner, director, or 
director designee of a type III center pursuant to §1805 of 
this Chapter other than a crime of fraud listed in §1805.D of 
this Chapter; and 

2. There has been successful completion of all 
conditions/requirements of any parole or probation. 

E. The applicant must provide relevant documentation, 
including: 

1. documentation from the department that the 
determination of ineligibility is based solely on a crime of 
fraud listed in §1805.D of this Chapter and there are no other 
crimes or events that would prohibit the applicant from 
being eligible to be an owner, director, or director designee 
of a type III center; and 

2. relevant documentation of all conditions and 
requirements of any parole and/or probation. 

F. Applicant’s responsibilities are as follows: 
1. contact the BESE office and submit a written 

request for a review of records for a determination of 
ineligibility as an owner, director or director designee of a 
type III center based on a crime of fraud listed in §1805.D of 
this Chapter; and 

2. provide each applicable item identified in 
Subsection D of this Section and any evidence of 
rehabilitation. It is recommended that the applicant provide 
letters of support from past/present employers, law 
enforcement officials or other community leaders. 

G. BESE’s Responsibilities 
1. BESE or its designees will consider the request for 

a review of the determination of ineligibility and the 
documentation provided. BESE is not required to conduct a 
review of the determination and may summarily deny a 
request for review. 

2. If BESE or its designees decide to conduct a 
records review of the determination, BESE staff shall notify 
the applicant of a date, time, and place when a BESE 
committee shall consider the applicant’s request. Only 
written documentation provided prior to the records review 
will be considered. 

3. BESE reserves the right to accept or reject any 
document as evidence of rehabilitation and the right to 
determine if adequate rehabilitation has occurred and will 
itself determine if and when an applicant is eligible to be an 
owner, director or director designee of a type III center 
pursuant to §1805.D of this Chapter. 

4. The BESE committee shall make a 
recommendation to the full board regarding whether the 
determination of ineligibility shall be changed to a 
determination of eligibility. Board staff shall notify the 
applicant of BESE’s action. 

5. BESE’s action is a final decision and can only be 
appealed to a court of proper jurisdiction in accordance with 
law. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 44: 
 

Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

1807#014 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Board of Regents 

Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Scholarship/Grant Programs—2018 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature and TOPS Core Curriculum 

Equivalents (LAC 28:IV.509, 703, 803, and 2113) 

The Louisiana Board of Regents is exercising the 
emergency provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act 
[R.S. 49:950 et seq.)] to amend and re-promulgate the rules 
of the Scholarship/Grant programs (R.S. 17:3021-3025, R.S. 
3041.10-3041.15, R.S. 17:3042.1.1-3042.8, R.S. 17:5001 et 
seq., and R.S. 56:797.D(2)). 

This rulemaking implements Act 671 of the 2018 Regular 
Session of the Louisiana Legislature. In addition, it adds the 
following TOPS core curriculum equivalents: Statistical 
Reasoning, Principals of Engineering, Digital Image and 
Motion Graphics, Digital Storytelling, Engineering Design 
and Development. It also adds Sound Design as an 
equivalent to Math to the TOPS Tech core curriculum.  

The Emergency Rule is necessary to implement changes 
to the Scholarship/Grant programs to allow the Louisiana 
Office of Student Financial Assistance and state educational 
institutions to effectively administer these programs. A delay 
in promulgating rules would have an adverse impact on the 
financial welfare of the eligible students and the financial 
condition of their families. The Board of Regents has 
determined that this Emergency Rules is necessary in order 
to prevent imminent financial peril to the welfare of the 
affected students. 

This Declaration of Emergency is effective June 20, 2018, 
and shall remain in effect for the maximum period allowed 
under the Administrative Procedure Act. (SG18182E) 

Title 28 

EDUCATION 

Part IV.  Student Financial Assistance―Higher 

Education Scholarship and Grant Programs 

Chapter 5. Applications, Federal Grant Aid and ACT 

Test 

§509. ACT Testing Deadline 

A.1. The student must take the official ACT test (including 
national, international, military or special test types) on or 
before the official April test date in the academic year (high 
school) in which the student graduates or completes a home 
study program approved by BESE. 

2. A student may submit a request for exception to the 
deadline established in §509.A.1, which will be considered 
only under the following circumstances: 

a. The student was prevented from taking the ACT 
test on or prior to the official April test date due to 
circumstances beyond his control and which are attributable 
to the administration of the test; and 

b. The student achieves a qualifying score on or 
before August 1 of the year of the student’s high school 
graduation. 

c. The award for a student whose request for 
exception is approved under this Section shall not be 
reduced as set forth in §509.C. 

d. Except for an applicant who has qualified for a 
TOPS-Tech Award on or prior to the April national ACT test 
date, an applicant will not be allowed to use a test score 
obtained after the April national ACT test date to upgrade a 
TOPS Award. 

3. An eligible non-graduate must take the official ACT 
test (including national, international, military or special test 
types) before the first day of the semester the student first 
enrolls in an eligible college or university. 

B.1. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3031, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:5001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 26:1995 (September 2000), amended LR 26:2000 (September 
2000), LR 27:36 (January 2001), LR 27:284 (March 2001), 
repromulgated LR 27:1847 (November 2001), amended LR 
30:1161 (June 2004), LR 31:37 (January 2005), LR 38:3157 
(December 2012), amended by the Board of Regents, Office of 
Student Financial Assistance, LR 44:503 (March 2018), LR 44: 

Chapter 7. Taylor Opportunity Program for Students 

(TOPS) Opportunity, Performance, and 

Honors Awards 

§703. Establishing Eligibility 

A. - A.5.a.i.(f). … 
 (g). beginning with the graduates of academic year 
(high school) 2017-2018, at the time of high school 
graduation, an applicant must have successfully completed 
19 units of high school course work that constitutes a core 
curriculum and is documented on the student's official 
transcript as approved by the Louisiana Department of 
Education as follows. 
 

Units Course 

English - 4 Units 

1 English I 

1 English II 

1 English III, AP English Language Arts and Composition, or 
IB English III (Language A or Literature and Performance) 

1 English IV, AP English Literature and Composition, or IB 
English IV (Language A or Literature and Performance) 

Math - 4 Units 

1 Algebra I  

1 Geometry 

1 Algebra II 

1 One unit from:  
Algebra III;  
Advanced Math- Functions and Statistics, Advanced Math-
Pre-Calculus, Pre-Calculus, or Math Methods I IB 
(Mathematical Studies SL); 
Calculus, AP Calculus AB, or Math Methods II IB 
(Mathematics SL); 
AP Calculus BC; Probability and Statistics or AP Statistics; 
IB Further Mathematics HL; 
IB Mathematics HL 

Science - 4 Units 

1 Biology I 

1 Chemistry I 
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Units Course 

2 Two units from: 
Earth Science;  
Environmental Science;  
Physical Science;  
Agriscience I and Agriscience II (one unit combined); 
Chemistry II or AP Chemistry or IB Chemistry II; 
AP Environmental Science or IB Environmental Systems; 
Physics I, AP Physics I, AP Physics B, or IB Physics I; 
AP Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism, AP Physics C: 
Mechanics, IB Physics II, or AP Physics II; 
Biology II or AP Biology or IB Biology II 

Social Studies - 4 Units 

1 U.S. History or AP U.S. History or IB U.S. History 

1 Civics, Government, AP US Government and Politics: 
Comparative, or AP US Government and Politics: United 
States 

2 Two units from: 
Western Civilization, European History or AP European 
History;  
World Geography, AP Human Geography, or IB Geography;  
World History, AP World History, or World History IB; 
History of Religion;  
IB Economics 
Economics,  
AP Macroeconomics 
AP Microeconomics 

Foreign Language - 2 Units 

2 Foreign Language, both units in the same language, which 
may include: 
AP Chinese Language and Culture,  
AP French Language and Culture,  
AP German Language and Culture,  
AP Italian Language and Culture,  
AP Japanese Language and Culture,  
AP Latin,  
AP Spanish Language and Culture,  
French IV IB,  
French V IB,  
Spanish IV IB, and  
Spanish V IB 

Art - 1 Unit 

1 One unit of Art from: 
Performance course in Music, Dance, or Theatre;  
Fine Arts Survey;  
Arts I, II, III, and IV; 
Talented Art I, II, III, and IV;  
Talented Music I, II, III, and IV;  
Talented Theater Arts I, II, III, and IV;  
Speech III and IV (one unit combined);  
AP Art History;  
AP Studio Art: 2-D Design;  
AP Studio Art: 3-D Design;  
AP Studio Art: Drawing;  
AP Music Theory;  
Film Study I IB;  
Film Study II IB;  
Music I IB; Music II IB;  
Art Design III IB;  
Art Design IV IB; 
Theatre I IB; or 
Drafting  

NOTE: AP = Advanced Placement 
 IB = International Baccalaureate 

 

ii.(a). For students graduating in academic year (high 

school) 2007-2008 and prior, for purposes of satisfying the 

requirements of §703.A.5.a.i above, or §803.A.6.a, the 

following courses shall be considered equivalent to the 

identified core courses and may be substituted to satisfy 

corresponding core courses. 

 

Core Curriculum Course Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

Physical Science General Science, Integrated Science  

Algebra I Algebra I, Parts 1 and 2, Integrated 
Mathematics I 

Applied Algebra IA and IB Applied Mathematics I and II 

Algebra I, Algebra II and 
Geometry 

Integrated Mathematics I, II and III 

Algebra II Integrated Mathematics II  

Geometry Integrated Mathematics III  

Geometry, Trigonometry, 
Calculus, or Comparable 
Advanced Mathematics 

Pre-Calculus, Algebra III, Probability 
and Statistics, Discrete Mathematics, 
Applied Mathematics III*, Advanced 
Mathematics I, Advanced 
Mathematics II 

Chemistry Chemistry Com 

Fine Arts Survey Speech Debate (2 units) 

Western Civilization European History 

Civics AP American Government 

 *Applied Mathematics III was formerly referred to as Applied Geometry 

 
 (b). For students graduating in academic year (high 
school) 2006-2007 through the 2008-2009 academic year 
(high school), for purposes of satisfying the requirements of 
§703.A.5.a.i above, or §803.A.6.a, the following courses 
shall be considered equivalent to the identified core courses 
and may be substituted to satisfy corresponding core 
courses. 

 

Core Curriculum Course Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

Physical Science Integrated Science  

Algebra I Algebra I, Parts 1 and 2, Integrated 
Mathematics I 

Applied Algebra IA and IB Applied Mathematics I and II 

Algebra I, Algebra II and 
Geometry 

Integrated Mathematics I, II and III 

Algebra II Integrated Mathematics II  

Geometry Integrated Mathematics III  

Geometry, Trigonometry, 
Calculus, or Comparable 
Advanced Mathematics 

Pre-Calculus, Algebra III, Probability 
and Statistics, Discrete Mathematics, 
Applied Mathematics III*, Advanced 
Mathematics I [beginning with the 
2008-2009 academic year (high 
school) this course is renamed 
Advanced Math - Pre-Calculus], 
Advanced Mathematics II [beginning 
with the 2008-2009 academic year 
(high school) this course is renamed 
Advanced Math -Functions and 
Statistics] 

Chemistry Chemistry Com 

Fine Arts Survey Speech III and Speech IV (both units) 

Western Civilization European History 

World Geography AP Human Geography 

Civics AP American Government 

*Applied Mathematics III was formerly referred to as Applied Geometry 

 
 (c). For students graduating in academic year (high 
school) 2009-2010, for purposes of satisfying the 
requirements of §703.A.5.a.i above, or §803.A.6.a, the 
following courses shall be considered equivalent to the 
identified core courses and may be substituted to satisfy 
corresponding core courses. 
 

Core Curriculum Course Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

Physical Science Integrated Science  

Algebra I Algebra I, Parts 1 and 2, Integrated 
Mathematics I, Applied Algebra I 

Applied Algebra IA and IB Applied Mathematics I and II 
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Core Curriculum Course Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

Algebra I, Algebra II and 
Geometry 

Integrated Mathematics I, II and III 

Algebra II Integrated Mathematics II  

Geometry Integrated Mathematics III, Applied 
Geometry  

Geometry, Trigonometry, 
Calculus, or Comparable 
Advanced Mathematics 

Pre-Calculus, Algebra III, Probability 
and Statistics, Discrete Mathematics, 
Applied Mathematics III*, Advanced 
Math - Pre-Calculus**, Advanced 
Math - Functions and Statistics***  

Chemistry Chemistry Com 

Fine Arts Survey Speech III and Speech IV (both units) 

Western Civilization European History 

World Geography AP Human Geography 

Civics AP American Government 

*Applied Mathematics III was formerly referred to as Applied Geometry  
**Advanced Math―Pre-Calculus was formerly referred to as Advanced 
Mathematics II 
***Advanced Math―Functions and Statistics was formerly referred to 
as Advanced Mathematics II 

 
 (d).(i). For 
students graduating in academic year (high school) 2010-
2011 through academic year (high school) 2016-17, for 
purposes of satisfying the requirements of §703.A.5.a.i 
above, or §803.A.6.a, the following courses shall be 
considered equivalent to the identified core courses and may 
be substituted to satisfy corresponding core courses. 

 

Core Curriculum Course Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

Physical Science Integrated Science  

Algebra I Algebra I, Parts 1 and 2, Integrated 
Mathematics I, Applied Algebra I 

Applied Algebra IA and IB Applied Mathematics I and II 

Algebra I, Algebra II and 
Geometry 

Integrated Mathematics I, II and III 

Algebra II Integrated Mathematics II  

Geometry Integrated Mathematics III, Applied 
Geometry  

Geometry, Trigonometry, 
Calculus, or Comparable 
Advanced Mathematics 

Pre-Calculus, Algebra III, Probability 
and Statistics, Discrete Mathematics, 
Applied Mathematics III*, Advanced 
Math - Pre-Calculus**, Advanced 
Math - Functions and Statistics***  

Chemistry Chemistry Com 

Earth Science, Environmental 
Science, Physical Science, 
Biology II, Chemistry II, 
Physics, Physics II, or Physics 
for Technology or Agriscience I 
and II (both for 1 unit; 

Anatomy and Physiology 

Fine Arts Survey Speech III and Speech IV (both units) 

Western Civilization European History 

World Geography AP Human Geography 

Civics AP American Government 

*Applied Mathematics III was formerly referred to as Applied Geometry  
**Advanced Math―Pre-Calculus was formerly referred to as Advanced 
Mathematics II 
***Advanced Math―Functions and Statistics was formerly referred to as 
Advanced Mathematics II 

 
 (ii). For students graduating in academic 
year (high school) 2013-2014 only, for purposes of 
satisfying the requirements of §703.A.5.a.i above, or 
§803.A.6.a, in addition to the equivalent courses identified 
in §703.A.5.a.ii.(d).(i) above, the following course shall be

considered equivalent to the identified core courses and may 
be substituted to satisfy corresponding core courses. 
 

Core Curriculum Course Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

World History, Western 
Civilization, World Geography 
or History of Religion 

Law Studies 

 
 (iii). For students graduating in academic 
years (high school) 2013-2014 through 2016-2017, for 
purposes of satisfying the requirements of §703.A.5.a.i 
above, or §803.A.6.a, in addition to the equivalent courses 
identified in §703.A.5.a.ii.(d).(i) above, the following course 
shall be considered equivalent to the identified core courses 
and may be substituted to satisfy corresponding core 
courses. 
 

Core Curriculum Course Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

Algebra III;  
Advanced Math-Functions and 
Statistics, Advanced Math-Pre-
Calculus, Pre-Calculus, or Math 
Methods I IB (Mathematical 
Studies SL); 
Calculus, AP Calculus AB, or 
Math Methods II IB 
(Mathematics SL); 
AP Calculus BC; Probability 
and Statistics or AP Statistics; 
IB Further Mathematics HL; 
IB Mathematics HL 

AP Computer Science A 

 
 (e). For students graduating in academic year (high 
school) 2017-2018 and after, for purposes of satisfying the 
requirements of §703.A.5.a.i above, or §803.A.6.a, the 
following courses shall be considered equivalent to the 
identified core courses and may be substituted to satisfy 
corresponding core courses. 
 

Core Curriculum Course(s) Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

Algebra I, Geometry and 
Algebra II 

Integrated Mathematics I, II and III 

Art Media Arts I-IV; Photography I, 
Photography II, and Digital 
Photography; Digital Image and 
Motion Graphics; Digital Storytelling; 
Engineering Design and 
Development; Sound Design 

Algebra III;  
Advanced Math- Functions and 
Statistics, Advanced Math-Pre-
Calculus, Pre-Calculus, or Math 
Methods I IB (Mathematical 
Studies SL); 
Calculus, AP Calculus AB, or 
Math Methods II IB 
(Mathematics SL); 
AP Calculus BC; Probability 
and Statistics or AP Statistics; 
IB Further Mathematics HL; 
IB Mathematics HL 

AP Computer Science A 

Probability and Statistics Statistical Reasoning 

Biology II Human Anatomy and Physiology  

Environmental Science Environmental Awareness 

Physical Science Principles of Engineering 
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Core Curriculum Course(s) Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

Western Civilization, European 
History or AP European 
History;  
World Geography, AP Human 
Geography, or IB Geography;  
World History, AP World 
History, or World History IB; 
History of Religion;  
IB Economics 
Economics,  
AP Macroeconomics 
AP Microeconomics 

AP Psychology 

World Geography Physical Geography 

Foreign Language, both units in 
the same language, which may 
include: 
AP Chinese Language and 
Culture,  
AP French Language and 
Culture,  
AP German Language and 
Culture,  
AP Italian Language and 
Culture,  
AP Japanese Language and 
Culture,  
AP Latin,  
AP Spanish Language and 
Culture,  
French IV IB,  
French V IB,  
Spanish IV IB, and  
Spanish V IB 

Mandarin Chinese I, II, III, IV 
Hindi I, II, III, IV 
Portuguese I, II, III, IV 
Vietnamese I, II, III, IV 

Any listed core course or its 
equivalent. 

Any core curriculum course taken by 
a student who has been deemed to be 
gifted and talented pursuant to R.S. 
17:1941 et. seq. as implemented in 
State Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education policy and in 
fulfillment of the student’s 
Individualized Education Program 
shall be considered a gifted and 
talented course and shall fulfill the 
core curriculum requirement in its 
given subject area. 

 
 (f). For students graduating in academic year (high 
school) 2017-2018 and after, the courses listed in the tables 
below have been approved by the board and BESE to be 
converted to a 5.00 scale when used to complete the core 
curriculum, and shall be considered equivalent to the 
identified core courses and may be substituted to satisfy 
corresponding core courses for purposes of satisfying the 
requirements of §703.A.5.a.i above, or §803.A.6.a. 
 (i). Advanced Placement Courses 
 

TOPS Core Course Advanced Placement 

Art 

AP Art History 
AP Studio Art: 2-D Design 
AP Studio Art: 3-D Design 
AP Studio Art: Drawing 

Biology II AP Biology 

Calculus 
AP Calculus AB 
AP Calculus BC 

Chemistry II AP Chemistry 

Chinese AP Chinese Language and Culture 

Economics  
AP Macroeconomics 
AP Microeconomics 

English III AP English Language and Composition 

TOPS Core Course Advanced Placement 

English IV AP English Literature and Composition 

Environmental Science AP Environmental Science 

European History AP European History 

Fine Arts Survey AP Music Theory 

French AP French Language and Culture 

German AP German Language and Culture 

Italian AP Italian Language and Culture 

Japanese AP Japanese Language and Culture 

Latin AP Latin 

Physics I 

AP Physics I: Algebra Based 
AP Physics II: Algebra Based 
AP Physics C: Electricity and 
Magnetism 
AP Physics C: Mechanics 

Probability and Statistics AP Statistics 

Spanish AP Spanish Language and Culture 

US Government or Civics  

AP U.S. Government and Politics: 
Comparative 
AP U.S. Government and Politics: 
United States 

US History AP U.S. History 

World Geography AP Human Geography 

World History AP World History 

 

 (ii). International Baccalaureate Courses 
 

TOPS Core Course International Baccalaureate 

Advanced Math–Pre Calculus IB Math Studies (Math Methods) 

Arabic 
IB Language ab initio: Arabic  
IB Language B: Arabic 

Art IB Visual Arts 

Biology II 
IB Biology I 
IB Biology II 

Calculus 
IB Mathematics SL 
IB Mathematics HL 

Chemistry II 
IB Chemistry I 
IB Chemistry II 

Chinese 
IB Language ab initio: Chinese 
IB Language B: Chinese 

Economics IB Economics 

English III 
IB Literature 
IB Language and Literature 
IB Literature and Performance 

English IV 
IB Literature 
IB Language and Literature 
IB Literature and Performance 

Environmental Science IB Environmental Systems 

French 
IB Language ab initio: French  
IB Language B: French 

German 
IB Language ab initio: German  
IB Language B: German 

Italian 
IB Language ab initio: Italian  
IB Language B: Italian 

Japanese 
IB Language ab initio: Japanese  
IB Language B: Japanese 

Latin IB Classical Language 

Music (Performance) IB Music 

Physics I 
IB Physics I 
IB Physics II 

Pre-Calculus IB Math Studies (Math Methods) 

Spanish 
IB Language ab initio: Spanish  
IB Language B: Spanish 

Theatre (Performance) 
IB Film Study 
IB Theatre 
IB Dance 

US History IB History of the Americas I 

World Geography IB Geography 

World History IB History of the Americas II 
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(iii).  Gifted and Talented Courses 
 

TOPS Core Course Gifted and Talented 

Art 

Art History 
Talented Visual Arts I 
Talented Visual Arts II 
Talented Visual Arts III 
Talented Visual Arts IV 

Biology II Biology II 

Calculus 
Calculus I 
Calculus II 

Chemistry I Chemistry I 

Chemistry II Chemistry II 

Chinese 
Chinese III 
Chinese IV 

Economics  Economics 

English III English III 

English IV English IV 

Environmental Science Environmental Science 

European History European History 

French 
French III 
French IV 

German 
German III 
German IV 

Italian 
Italian III 
Italian IV 

Japanese 
Japanese III 
Japanese IV 

Latin 
Latin III 
Latin IV 

Music (Performance) 

Talented Music I, II, III, IV 
Small Voice Ensemble II 
Choir: Intermediate 
Choir: Advanced 
Orchestra: Intermediate 
Orchestra: Advanced 

Physics I Physics 

Spanish 
Spanish III 
Spanish IV 

Theatre (Performance) 
Introduction to Film Studies 
Talented Theater I, II, III, IV 

US Government or Civics  Government 

US History U.S. History 

World Geography World/Human Geography 

 
 (iv). Dual Enrollment Courses 
 

TOPS Core Course 

Dual Enrollment 

Common Course Name 

Common  

Course Code 

Advanced Math-
Pre Calculus 

Trigonometry 
CMAT 1223 

Advanced Math-
Functions and 
Statistics 

Introductory Statistics 
CMAT 1303 

Algebra III College Algebra CMAT 1213 

Arabic 
Elementary Arabic I 
Elementary Arabic II 

CARB 1013/1014 
CARB 1023/1024 

Art 
Art History I or II 
Art Structure/2-D Design 
Beginning Drawing 

CART 2103/2113 
CART 1113 
CART 2203 

Biology I 
General Biology I 
General Biology I (Science 
Majors) 

CBIO 1013 
CBIO 1033 

TOPS Core Course 

Dual Enrollment 

Common Course Name 

Common  

Course Code 

Biology II 

General Biology I 
General Biology I (Science 
Majors) 
General Biology II 
General Biology II 
(Science Majors) 

CBIO 1013 
CBIO 1033 
CBIO 1023 
CBIO 1043 

Calculus 
Applied Calculus 
Calculus I 
Calculus II 

CMAT 2103 
CMAT 2113-5 
CMAT 2123-5 

Chemistry I 

General Chemistry Survey 
I 
Chemistry I 
Chemistry I (Science 
Majors) 

CCEM 1013 
CCEM 1103 
CCEM 1123 

Chemistry II 

General, Organic and 
Biochemistry 
General Chemistry Survey 
I 
Chemistry I 
Chemistry I (Science 
Majors) 
Chemistry II 
Chemistry II (Science 
Majors) 

CCEM 1003 
CCEM 1013 
CCEM 1103 
CCEM 1123 
CCEM 1113 
CCEM 1133 

Earth Science 
Physical Geology 
Historical Geology 

CGEO 1103 
CGEO 1113 

Economics 
Economic Principles 
Macroeconomics 
Microeconomics 

CECN 2113 
CECN 2213 
CECN 2223 

English III 

English Composition I 
English Composition II 
American Literature I 
American Literature II 
Major American Writers 

CENL 1013 
CENL 1023 
CENL 2153 
CENL 2163 
CENL 2173 

English IV 

English Composition I 
English Composition II 
British Literature I 
British Literature II 
Major British Writers 
World Literature I 
World Literature II 
Major World Writers  
Introduction to Fiction 
Introduction to Literature 
Introduction to Poetry 
and/or Drama 

CENL 1013 
CENL 1023 
CENL 2103 
CENL 2113 
CENL 2123 
CENL 2203 
CENL 2213 
CENL 2223 
CENL 2303 
CENL 2323 
CENL 2313 

Environmental 
Science 

Environmental Science CEVS 1103 

Fine Arts Survey 

Exploring the Arts 
Introduction to Visual Arts 
Dance Appreciation 
Music Appreciation 

CART 1013 
CART 1023 
CDNC 1013 
CMUS 1013 

French 

Elementary French I 
Elementary French II 
Intermediate French I 
Intermediate French II 

CFRN 1013/1014 
CFRN 1023/1024 
CFRN 2013/2014 
CFRN 2023 

German 

Elementary German I 
Elementary German II 
Intermediate German I 
Intermediate German II 

CGRM 1013/1014 
CGRM 1023/1024 
CGRM 2013 
CGRM 2023 

History Of 
Religion 

World Religions CPHL 2213 

Latin 

Elementary Latin I 
Elementary Latin II 
Intermediate Latin I 
Intermediate Latin II 

CLTN 1013/1014 
CLTN 1023/1024 
CLTN 2013 
CLTN 2023 

Physical Science 
 

Physical Science I CPHY 1023 
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TOPS Core Course 

Dual Enrollment 

Common Course Name 

Common  

Course Code 

Physics I 

Physics I 
(Algebra/Trigonometry 
Based) 
Physics I (Lecture and 
Lab) 
Physics I (Calculus Based) 

CPHY 2113 
CPHY 2114 
CPHY 2133 

Pre-Calculus Algebra and Trigonometry CMAT 1233 

Probability and 
Statistics 

Introductory Statistics 
CMAT 1303 

Spanish 

Elementary Spanish I 
Elementary Spanish II 
Intermediate Spanish I 
Intermediate Spanish II 

CSPN 1013/1014 
CSPN 1023/1024 
CSPN 2013/2014 
CSPN 2023 

Theatre 
(Performance) 

Acting I or II 
Introduction to Theatre 

CTHE 2103/2113 
CTHE 1013 

US Government or 
Civics  

Introduction to American 
Government 
Introduction to State and 
Local Government 
Introduction to 
Comparative Government 

CPOL 2013 
CPOL 2113 
CPOL 2213 

US History American History I or II CHIS 2013/2023 

Western 
Civilization 

Western Civilization I or II CHIS 1013/1023 

World Geography 
World Regional 
Geography 
Physical Geography 

CGRG 2113 
CGRG 2213  

World History World Civilization I or II CHIS 1113/1123 

 
A.5.a.iii.(a) - J.4.b.ii. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3025, R.S. 17:3042.1, and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:636 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1902 (October 1998), LR 24:2237 (December 
1998), LR 25:257 (February 1999), LR 25:655 (April 1999), LR 
25:1794 (October 1999), LR 26:64, 67 (January 2000), LR 26:689 
(April 2000), LR 26:1262 (June 2000), LR 26:1602 (August 2000), 
LR 26:1996, 1999, 2001 (September 2000), LR 26:2268 (October 
2000), LR 26:2753 (December 2000), LR 27:36 (January 2001), 
LR 27:702 (May 2001), LR 27:1219, 1219 (August 2001), 
repromulgated LR 27:1850 (November 2001), amended LR 28:772 
(April 2002), LR 28:2330, 2332 (November 2002), LR 29:125 
(February 2003), LR 29:2372 (November 2003), LR 30:1162 (June 
2004), LR 30:1471 (July 2004), LR 30:2019 (September 2004), LR 
31:37 (January 2005), LR 31:2213 (September 2005), LR 31:3112 
(December 2005), LR 32:2239 (December 2006), LR 33:435 
(March 2007), LR 33:2357 (November 2007), LR 33:2612 
(December 2007), LR 34:1389 (July 2008), LR 35:228 (February 
2009), LR 36:312 (February 2010), LR 36:490 (March 2010), LR 
36:2269 (October 2010), LR 36:2855 (December 2010), LR 
37:2987 (October 2011), LR 38:354 (February 2012), LR 38:3158 
(December 2012), LR 39:481 (March 2013), LR 39:2485 
(September 2013), LR 40:54 (January 2014), LR 41:373 (February 
2015, LR 41:657, 664 (April 2015), LR 41:2596, 2599 (Dec. 2015), 
amended by the Board of Regents, Office of Student Financial 
Assistance, LR 42:1657 (October 2016), LR 42:1882 (November 
2016), LR 43:518 (March 2017), LR 44: 

Chapter 8. TOPS-Tech Award  

§803. Establishing Eligibility 

A. - A. 6.a.i. … 
 ii. for students graduating in the 2018 academic 
year (high school) and later, the high school course work 
documented on the student’s official transcript as approved 
by the Louisiana Department of Education constituting the 
following TOPS-Tech core curriculum; 

Core Curriculum―TOPS-Tech Award 

Units Course 

1 English I 

1 English II 

2 English III, English IV, AP or IB English courses, 
Business English, Technical Writing, or comparable 
Louisiana Technical College courses offered by Jump 
Start regional teams as approved by the state Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education. 

1 Algebra I; or both Algebra I, Part 1 and Algebra I, Part 2; 
or an applied or hybrid algebra course 

3 Geometry, Algebra II, Math Essentials, Financial 
Literacy, Business Math, Algebra III, Advanced Math -
Functions and Statistics, Advanced Math - Pre-Calculus, 
Pre-calculus, or comparable Louisiana Technical 
College courses offered by Jump Start regional teams as 
approved by the state Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education. Integrated Mathematics I, II, and 
III may be substituted for Algebra I, Geometry, and 
Algebra II, and shall equal three mathematics credits 

1 Biology 

1 Chemistry I, Earth Science, Environmental Science, 
Agriscience I and Agriscience II (both for one unit), 
Physical Science, Physics, or AP or IB science courses 

1 U.S. History, AP U.S. History, or IB U.S. History 

1 Civics, Government, AP U.S. Government and Politics: 
Comparative, or AP U.S. Government and Politics: 
United States 

9 In Jump Start course sequences, workplace experiences, 
and credentials. A student shall complete a regionally 
designed series of Career and Technical Education Jump 
Start coursework and workplace-based learning 
experiences leading to a statewide or regional Jump Start 
credential. This shall include courses and workplace 
experiences specific to the credential, courses related to 
foundational career skills requirements in Jump Start, 
and other courses, including career electives, that the 
Jump Start regional team determines are appropriate for 
the career major. 

 

iii. for students graduating in the 2015-2016 academic 

year (high school) and later, the high school course work 

documented on the student's official transcript as approved 

by the Louisiana Department of Education constituting the 

following TOPS-Tech core curriculum; 
 

Core Curriculum―TOPS-Tech Award 

Units Course 

1 English I 

1 English II 

2 English III, English IV, AP or IB English courses, 
Business English, Technical Writing, or comparable 
Louisiana Technical College courses offered by Jump 
Start regional teams as approved by the state Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education. 

1 Algebra I; or both Algebra I, Part 1 and Algebra I, Part 2; 
or an applied or hybrid algebra course 

3 Geometry, Algebra II, Math Essentials, Financial 
Literacy, Business Math, Algebra III, Advanced Math -
Functions and Statistics, Advanced Math - Pre-Calculus, 
Pre-calculus, or comparable Louisiana Technical 
College courses offered by Jump Start regional teams as 
approved by the state Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education. Integrated Mathematics I, II, and 
III may be substituted for Algebra I, Geometry, and 
Algebra II, and shall equal three mathematics credits 

1 Biology 

1 Chemistry I, Earth Science, Environmental Science, 
Agriscience I and Agriscience II (both for one unit), 
Physical Science,or AP or IB science courses 

1 U.S. History, AP U.S. History, or IB U.S. History 
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Core Curriculum―TOPS-Tech Award 

Units Course 

1 Civics, Government, AP U.S. Government and Politics: 
Comparative, or AP U.S. Government and Politics: 
United States 

9 In Jump Start course sequences, workplace experiences, 
and credentials. A student shall complete a regionally 
designed series of Career and Technical Education Jump 
Start coursework and workplace-based learning 
experiences leading to a statewide or regional Jump Start 
credential. This shall include courses and workplace 
experiences specific to the credential, courses related to 
foundational career skills requirements in Jump Start, 
and other courses, including career electives, that the 
Jump Start regional team determines are appropriate for 
the career major. 

 

iv. for students graduating in the 2000-2001 school year 

through the 2012-2013 school year, the high school course 

work documented on the student's official transcript as 

approved by the Louisiana Department of Education 

constituting the following TOPS-Tech core curriculum; 
 

Core Curriculum―TOPS-Tech Award 

Units Course 

1 English I 

1 English II 

1 English III 

1 English IV or substitute 1 unit of Business English 

1 Algebra I; or both Algebra I, Part 1 and Algebra I, Part 2; 
or both Applied Mathematics I and Applied 
Mathematics II 

2 Geometry, Applied Mathematics III, Algebra II, Financial 
Mathematics, Advanced Mathematics I [beginning with 
the 2008-2009 academic year (high school) this course 
is renamed Advanced Math – Pre-Calculus], Advanced 
Mathematics II [beginning with the 2008-2009 
academic year (high school) this course is renamed 
Advanced Math – Functions and Statistics], Discrete 
Mathematics, or Probability and Statistics (2 units). 
Integrated Mathematics I, II, and III may be substituted 
for Algebra I, Geometry and Algebra II, and shall be 
considered the equivalent of the 3 required math units 

1 Biology 

1 Chemistry or Applied Chemistry 

1 Earth Science, Environmental Science, Physical Science, 
Integrated Science, Biology II, Chemistry II, Physics, 
Physics II, or Physics for Technology or Agriscience I 
and II (both for 1 unit) 

1 American History 

1 World History, Western Civilization, or World Geography 

1 Civics and Free Enterprise (1 unit combined) or  
Civics (1 unit, nonpublic) 

Remaining Core Courses Shall Be Selected 

from One of the Following Options: 

Option 1Total of 17 units 

1 Fine Arts Survey or substitute 2 units of performance 
courses in music, dance, or theater; or substitute 2 units 
of visual art courses; or substitute 2 units of studio art 
courses; or a course from the Career and Technical 
Program of studies that is approved by the BESE (must 
be listed under the Vocational Education Course 
Offerings in Bulletin 741 or the updates to Bulletin 
741); or substitute 1 unit as an elective from among the 
other subjects listed in this core curriculum 

2 Foreign Language, Technical Writing,  
Speech I or Speech II 

1 One unit from the secondary computer education 
program of studies that is approved by the BESE 

or 

Core Curriculum―TOPS-Tech Award 

Units Course 

Option 2Total of 19 Units 

4 In a career major comprised of a sequence of related 
specialty courses. In order for a student to use this 
option, the courses for the career major must be 
approved by BESE. 

1 Credit in a basic computer course. 

1 In related or technical fields. A related course includes 
any course which is listed under the student's major. A 
technical course is one that is listed in the approved 
career option plan for the high school at which the 
course is taken. 

 
v. for students graduating through the 2001-2002 

school year, the TOPS-Tech core curriculum as follows; 
 

Core Curriculum―TOPS-Tech Award 

Units Course 

1 English I 

1 English II 

1 English III 

1 English IV or Business English 

1 Algebra I (1 unit) or Applied Algebra IA and 1B (2 units)  

1 Algebra II 

1 Geometry or Applied Geometry, Trigonometry, Calculus or 
comparable Advanced Mathematics 

1 Biology  

1 Chemistry or Applied Physics 

1 Earth Science, Environmental Science, Physical Science, 
Biology II, Chemistry II, Physics, Physics II or Physics for 
Technology or Agriscience I and II (both for 1 unit) 

1 American History 

1 World History, Western Civilization or World Geography 

1 Civics and Free Enterprise (1 unit combined) or  
Civics (1 unit, non-public)  

1 Fine Arts Survey or any approved vocational course in the 
areas of Agriscience, Business Education, Family and 
Consumer Science, Health Occupations, Marketing 
Education, Technology Education, or Trade and Industrial 
Education; (or substitute 2 units of performance courses in 
music, dance or theater; or 2 units of studio art or 2 units of 
visual art courses; or 1 elective from among the other 
subjects listed in this core curriculum) 

2 In a single Foreign Language. (1 unit for students graduating 
from high school during the 1996-97 and 1997-98 school 
years.) or Technical Writing, Speech I or Speech II (2 units). 

1/2 Computer Science, Computer Literacy or Business Computer 
Applications (or substitute at least 1/2 unit of an elective 
course related to computers that is approved by the state 
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education; or substitute 
at least 1/2 unit of an elective from among the other subjects 
listed in this core curriculum) 

 

vi. for students graduating in the 2013-2014 school year 

through the 2016-2017 school year, the high school course 

work documented on the student’s official transcript as 

approved by the Louisiana Department of Education 

constituting the following TOPS-Tech core curriculum; 

 

Core Curriculum―TOPS-Tech Award 

Units Course 

1 English I 

1 English II 

1 English III 

1 English IV or substitute 1 unit of Business English 

1 Algebra I; or both Algebra I, Part 1 and Algebra I, Part 2; or 
both Applied Mathematics I and Applied Mathematics II 
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Core Curriculum―TOPS-Tech Award 

Units Course 

2 Geometry, Applied Mathematics III, Algebra II, Financial 
Mathematics, Advanced Mathematics I [beginning with the 
2008-2009 academic year (high school) this course is 
renamed Advanced Math – Pre-Calculus], Advanced 
Mathematics II [beginning with the 2008-2009 academic year 
(high school) this course is renamed Advanced Math – 
Functions and Statistics], Discrete Mathematics, or 
Probability and Statistics (2 units). Integrated Mathematics I, 
II, and III may be substituted for Algebra I, Geometry and 
Algebra II, and shall be considered the equivalent of the 3 
required math units  

1 Biology  

2 Earth Science, Environmental Science, Physical Science, 
Integrated Science, Biology II, or Chemistry or Applied 
Chemistry, Chemistry II, Physics, Physics II or Physics for 
Technology or Agriscience I and II (both for 1 unit) 

1 American History 

1 World History, Western Civilization or World Geography 

1 Civics and Free Enterprise (1 unit combined) or  
Civics (1 unit, non-public)  

Remaining Core Courses Shall Be Selected  
from One of the Following Options 

Option 1—Total of 17 Units 

1 Fine Arts Survey or drafting (one unit) or substitute 2 units of 
performance courses in music, dance, or theater; or substitute 
2 units of visual art courses; or substitute 2 units of studio art 
courses; or a course from the Career and Technical Program 
of studies that is approved by the BESE (must be listed under 
the Vocational Education Course Offerings in Bulletin 741 or 
the updates to Bulletin 741); or substitute 1 unit as an elective 
from among the other subjects listed in this core curriculum  

2 Foreign Language, Technical Writing, Speech I or Speech II  

1 One unit from the secondary computer education program of 
studies that is approved by the BESE 

or 

Option 2—Total of 19 Units 

4 In a career major comprised of a sequence of related specialty 
courses. In order for a student to use this option, the courses 
for the career major must be approved by BESE.  

1 Credit in a basic computer course 

1 In related or technical fields. A related course includes any 
course which is listed under the student's major. A technical 
course is one that is listed in the approved career option plan 
for the high school at which the course is taken.  

 
b.i. for students graduating in academic year (high 

school) 2008-2009 and after, for purposes of satisfying the 
requirements of §803.A.6.a above, the following courses 
shall be considered equivalent to the identified core courses 
and may be substituted to satisfy corresponding core 
courses; 

 

Core Curriculum Course Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

Business English Senior Applications in English 

Geometry, Trigonometry, Calculus, or 
Comparable Advanced Mathematics 

Math Essentials 

 

 ii. for students graduating in academic year (high 
school) 2018 and after, for purposes of satisfying the 
requirements of §803.A.6.a above, the following courses 
shall be considered equivalent to the identified core courses 
and may be substituted to satisfy corresponding core 
courses; 
 

Core Curriculum Course Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

Business English Senior Applications in English 

Core Curriculum Course Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

Geometry, Trigonometry, 
Calculus, or Comparable 
Advanced Mathematics 

Math Essentials 

Geometry, Algebra II, Math 
Essentials, Financial Literacy, 
Business Math, Algebra III, 
Advanced Math - Functions and 
Statistics, Advanced Math - Pre-
Calculus, Pre-calculus, or 
comparable Louisiana Technical 
College courses offered by Jump 
Start regional teams as approved 
by the state Board of Elementary 
and Secondary Education. 
Integrated Mathematics I, II, and 
III may be substituted for 
Algebra I, Geometry, and 
Algebra II, and shall equal three 
mathematics credits 

Probability and Statistics; 
Transition to College 
Mathematics; Statistical 
Reasoning 

 

A.6.c. - B.4.b.ii. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3025, R.S. 17:3042.1, and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:636 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1902 (October 1998), LR 24:2237 (December 
1998), LR 25:257 (February 1999), LR 25:655 (April 1999), LR 
25:1794 (October 1999), LR 26:64, 67 (January 2000), LR 26:689 
(April 2000), LR 26:1262 (June 2000), LR 26:1602 (August 2000), 
LR 26:1996, 1999, 2001 (September 2000), LR 26:2268 (October 
2000), LR 26:2753 (December 2000), LR 27:36 (January 2001), 
LR 27:702 (May 2001), LR 27:1219, 1219 (August 2001), 
repromulgated LR 27:1850 (November 2001), amended LR 28:772 
(April 2002), LR 28:2330, 2332 (November 2002), LR 29:125 
(February 2003), LR 29:2372 (November 2003), LR 30:1162 (June 
2004), LR 30:1471 (July 2004), LR 30:2019 (September 2004), LR 
31:37 (January 2005), LR 31:2213 (September 2005), LR 31:3112 
(December 2005), LR 32:2239 (December 2006), LR 33:435 
(March 2007), LR 33:2357 (November 2007), LR 33:2612 
(December 2007), LR 34:1389 (July 2008), LR 35:228 (February 
2009), LR 36:312 (February 2010), LR 36:490 (March 2010), LR 
36:2269 (October 2010), LR 36:2855 (December 2010), LR 
37:2987 (October 2011), LR 38:354 (February 2012), LR 38:3158 
(December 2012), LR 39:481 (March 2013), LR 39:2485 
(September 2013), LR 40:54 (January 2014), LR 41:373 (February 
2015, LR 41:657, 664 (April 2015), LR 41:2596, 2599 (Dec. 2015), 
LR 42:48 (January 2016), LR 44: 

Chapter 21. Miscellaneous Provisions and Exceptions 

§2113. Revision of the Core Curricula 

A. The board is authorized by law, in consultation with 
BESE, to determine a high school level course to be 
equivalent to a course described in the core curricula or to 
authorize the name change of a core curricula course, 
including necessary changes to equivalencies and course 
names for advanced placement and International 

Baccalaureate courses as prescribed by the College Board 
or the International Baccalaureate Foundation. 

B. The determination of a course as equivalent to a 
course included in the definition of core curriculum shall be 
limited to those courses identified in the secondary programs 
of study contained in the Louisiana Handbook for School 

Administrators (LDE Bulletin 741). 
C. Only those recommendations for a name change or 

for the designation of an equivalent course which have been 
submitted by a local school board or other equivalent
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education agency for private schools will be considered by 
the board and such recommendations shall be submitted 
directly to the Louisiana Office of Student Financial 
Assistance, Attention: Legal Division. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:5001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:1921 (October 
1998), amended LR 27:1220 (August 2001), repromulgated LR 
27:1871 (November 2001), amended LR 41:657 (April 2015), 
amended by the Board of Regents, Office of Student Financial 
Assistance, LR 44:570 (March 2018), LR 44: 

 

Robyn Rhea Lively 
Senior Attorney 

1807#063 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Louisiana Tuition Trust Authority 

Office of Student Financial Assistance 

START Saving Program 
(LAC 28:VI.107, 311, and Chapter 7) 

The Louisiana Tuition Trust Authority is exercising the 
emergency provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act 
[R.S. 49:953(B)] to amend rules of the Student Tuition 
Assistance and Revenue Trust (START Saving) Program 
(R.S. 17:3091 et seq.).   

This rulemaking implements Act 53 of the 2018 Regular 
Session of the Legislature.  It also adds Chapter 7 to 
implement HB650 of the 2018 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which creates the START K-12 
Program.  

The Emergency Rule is necessary to allow the Louisiana 
Office of Student Financial Assistance and educational 
institutions to effectively administer these programs. A delay 
in promulgating rules would have an adverse impact on the 
financial welfare of the eligible students and the financial 
condition of their families. LATTA has determined that these 
emergency rules are necessary in order to prevent imminent 
financial peril to the welfare of the affected students. 

This Declaration of Emergency is effective June 20, 2018, 
and shall remain in effect for the maximum period allowed 
under the Administrative Procedure Act. (ST18183ER) 

Title 28 

EDUCATION 

Part VI.  Student Financial Assistance—Higher 

Education Savings 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 

Subchapter A. Tuition Trust Authority 

§107. Applicable Definitions 

A. Words and terms not otherwise defined in these rules 
shall have the meanings ascribed to such words and terms in 
this Section. Where the masculine is used in these rules, it 
includes the feminine, and vice versa; where the singular is 
used, it includes the plural, and vice versa. 

* * * 
Eligible Educational Institution―either: 

a. a state college or university or a technical college 
or institute or an independent college or university located in 

this state that is approved by the U.S. Secretary of Education 
to participate in a program under title IV of the Higher 
Education Act of 1965 (20 U.S.C. 1088), as amended; or 

b. a public or independent college or a university 
located outside this state that is approved by the U.S. 
secretary of education to participate in a program under title 
IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965 (20 U.S.C. 1088), as 
amended; or 

c. a Louisiana licensed proprietary school, licensed 
pursuant to R.S. chapter 24-A of title 17, and any subsequent 
amendments thereto and is eligible to participate in a 
program under title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965 
(20 U.S.C. 1088), as amended. 

d. beginning in the 2018 academic year, a 
proprietary school located outside the state of Louisiana that 
is licensed by an out of state public postsecondary education 
board, is accredited by a recognized national or regional 
accrediting body, and is eligible to participate in a program 
under title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965 (20 
U.S.C. 1088), as amended. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3091-3099.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 

Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:712 (June 
1997), amended LR 24:1268 (July 1998), LR 25:1794 (October 
1999), LR 26:2260 (October 2000), LR 27:37 (January 2001), LR 
27:1222 (August 2001), LR 27:1876 (November 2001), LR 28:450 
(March 2002), LR 28:777 (April 2002), LR 28:2334 (November 
2002), LR 29:556 (April 2003), LR 30:786 (April 2004), LR 
30:1169 (June 2004), LR 30:2302 (October 2004), LR 31:639 
(March 2005), LR 32:1433 (August 2006), LR 32:2240 (December 
2006), LR 33:443 (March 2007), LR 34:1885 (September 2008), 
LR 35:1491 (August 2009), LR 38:3162 (December 2012), LR 
42:1071 (July 2016), LR 44: 

Chapter 3. Education Savings Account 

§311. Termination, Refund, and Rollovers of an 

Education Savings Account 

A. - A.6. … 
B. Refunds 

1. A partial refund of an account may only be made as 
described in §311.E.3 and 4. 

B.2 - D.3. … 
E. Voluntary Termination of an Account 

1. Refunds shall be equal to the redemption value of 
the ESA at the time of the refund, and shall be made to the 
person designated in the owner's agreement or by rule. 

2. The person receiving the refund shall be 
responsible for any state or federal income tax that may be 
payable due to the refund. 

3. Except for accounts classified in accordance with 
§711.A.6, accounts may be terminated and fully refunded for 
the following reasons: 

a. the death of the beneficiary in which case the 
refund shall be equal to the redemption value of the account 
and shall be made to: 
 i. the account owner, if the account owner is a 
natural person; or 
 ii. the beneficiary's estate, if the account owner is 
a legal entity; 

b. the disability of the beneficiary, in which case the 
refund shall be equal to the redemption value of the account 
and shall be made to: 
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 i. the account owner or the beneficiary, as 
designated in the owner's agreement, if the account owner is 
a natural person; or 
 ii. the beneficiary, if the account owner is a legal 
entity; 

c. the beneficiary receives a scholarship, waiver of 
tuition, or similar subvention that the LATTA determines 
cannot be converted into money by the beneficiary, to the 
extent the amount of the refund does not exceed the amount 
of the scholarship, waiver of tuition, or similar subvention 
awarded to the beneficiary. In such case, the refund shall be 
equal to the scholarship, waiver of tuition, or similar 
subvention that the LATTA determines cannot be converted 
into money by the beneficiary of the account, or the 
redemption value, whichever is less, and shall be made to: 
 i. the account owner or the beneficiary, as 
designated in the owner's agreement, if the account owner is 
a natural person; or 
 ii. the beneficiary, if the account owner is a legal 
entity. 

4. For the 2018 calendar year only, an account owner 
may request a refund in order to pay the tuition expenses 
related to the beneficiary’s enrollment in kindergarten 
through twelfth grade in the following circumstances: 

a. the account was opened prior to December 31, 
2017; 

b. the amount requested to be refunded is less than 
or equal to the balance of the account as of December 31, 
2017;  

c. the amount requested to be refunded does not 
exceed $10,000. 

5. Refunds made under §311.E.3 and 4 are currently 
exempt from additional federal taxes. 

F. Effective Date of Account Termination. Account 
termination shall be effective at midnight on the business 
day on which the request for account termination and all 
supporting documents are received. Accounts will be 
credited with interest earned on principal deposits through 
the effective date of the closure of the account. 

G. Refund Payments. Payment of refunds for voluntary 
termination under §311.E or partial refunds of accounts 
pursuant to §311.E.3 shall be made within 30 days of the 
date on which the account was terminated. The termination 
refund shall consist of the principal remaining in the account 
and interest remaining in the account accrued on the 
principal through the end of the calendar year preceding the 
year in which the request to terminate an account is made. 
Interest earned in excess of $10 during the calendar year of 
termination will be refunded within 45 days of the date the 
state treasurer announces the interest rate for the preceding 
calendar year. Interest earned of $10 or less during the 
calendar year of termination will be forfeited to the 
Louisiana Education and Tuition Savings Fund. 

H. Rollovers 
1. Rollovers among ESAs of the Same Account 

Owner 
a. Beginning October 1, 2009, an account owner 

may rollover any part or all of the value of an ESA to 
another ESA if the beneficiary of the account receiving the 
funds is a member of the family of the beneficiary of the 
original account. 

b. If the current value of an ESA is transferred, all 
EEs and earnings thereon shall be included in the transfer. 

2. Rollover to another Qualified Tuition Program 
a. An account owner may request a rollover of the 

current value of the account less EEs and earnings thereon to 
another qualified tuition program. 

b. EEs and the earnings thereon allocated to an ESA 
that is rolled over to another qualified tuition program are 
forfeited. 

3. Rollover to a Qualified ABLE Program Account 
a. Beginning May 1, 2018, an account owner may 

rollover any part or all of the value of an ESA to a qualified 
ABLE program account if the beneficiary of the account 
receiving the funds is a member of the family of the 
beneficiary of the ESA. 

b. EEs and the earnings thereon allocated to an ESA 
that is transferred to a qualified ABLE program are forfeited. 

c. A rollover by a Louisiana resident to any 
qualified able program account will be subject to Louisiana 
Tax Table Income in accordance with state law. 

4.  An account owner may not rollover any part or all 
of the value of an ESA to a START K12 account. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
17:3091-3099.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 
Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:717 (June 
1997), amended LR 24:1273 (July 1998), repromulgated LR 
26:2265 (October 2000), amended LR 27:38 (January 2001), LR 
27:1882 (November 2001), LR 28:779 (April 2002), LR 30:790 
(April 2004), LR 31:639 (March 2005), LR 32:1434 (August 
2006), LR 32:2240 (December 2006), LR 33:444 (March 2007), 
LR 35:236 (February 2009), LR 36:492 (March 2010), LR 36:2551 
(November 2010), LR 39:2238 (August 2013), LR 42:1080 (July 
2016), LR 44: 

Chapter 7. START K12 

§701. General Provisions 

A. The Student Tuition and Revenue Trust Kindergarten 
through Twelfth Grade Program (START K12) was enacted 
in 2018 to implement provisions of the Tax Cuts and Jobs 
Act which allows Internal Revenue Code Section 529 
college savings account funds to be used for tuition expenses 
related to enrollment in kindergarten through twelfth grade.   

B. The purposes of the START K12 are the following: 
1. To allow account owners to save for the tuition 

expenses related to enrollment in kindergarten through 
twelfth grade; and 

2. To comply fully with Internal Revenue Code 
Section 529. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3100.1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 
Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 44: 

§703. Legislative Authority 

A. Act Number 687 of the 2018 Regular Legislative 
Session, effective May 30, 2018, enacted the Louisiana 
Student Tuition Assistance and Revenue Trust START 
Saving Kindergarten Through Twelfth Grade Program 
(START K12) as chapter 22-B, title 17 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes (R.S. 17:3100.1-3100.10). 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3100.1 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 

Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 44: 
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§705. Program Administration 

A. The Louisiana Tuition Trust Authority (LATTA) is a 
statutory authority whose membership consists of the 
Louisiana Board of Regents, plus one member from the 
Louisiana Bankers Association, the state treasurer, and one 
member each from the House of Representatives and Senate. 

B. The LATTA administers the START K12 Program 
through the Louisiana Board of Regents, Office of Student 
Financial Assistance (LOSFA). 

C. LOSFA, a program of the Board of Regents, performs 
the functions of the state relating to programs of financial 
assistance and certain scholarship programs for higher 
education in accordance with directives of its governing 
bodies and applicable law, and as such is responsible for 
administering the START K12 Program under the direction 
of the LATTA. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3100.1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 
Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 44: 

§707. Applicable Definitions 

A. Words and terms not otherwise defined in these rules 
shall have the meanings ascribed to such words and terms in 
this Section. Where the masculine is used in these rules, it 
includes the feminine, and vice versa; where the singular is 
used, it includes the plural, and vice versa. 

Account Owner―the person(s), organization or group 
that completes the START K12 Program owner's agreement 
on behalf of a beneficiary and is the account owner of record 
of all funds credited to the account. 

Beneficiary―the person named by the account owner in 
the START K12 owner's agreement or the person named by 
the LATTA when authorized to make such a designation by 
the owner of an account that is classified under §711.A.5 as 
the individual entitled to apply the account balance, or 
portions thereof, toward payment of their qualified education 
expenses. 

Beneficiary's Family―for the purpose of §711.A.5 one 
of the following persons: 

a. the beneficiary's parent(s) or court ordered 
custodian; or 

b. a person who claims the beneficiary as a 
dependent on his or her federal income tax return for the 
previous year; or 

c. a person who certified that the beneficiary lives 
with him, that he provides more than 50 percent of the 
beneficiary's support for the previous year and that he was 
not required to file an income tax return for the previous 
year. 

Current Value―the value of an education savings 
account at a given point in time. 

a. The current value of fixed earnings investment 
options includes the accumulated value of the principal 
deposited and earnings on deposits. 

b. The current value of variable earnings investment 
options includes the number of units in the investment 
option purchased multiplied by the current value of each 
unit. This value may be more or less than the amount 
originally deposited. 

Deposits―the actual amount of money received from 
an account owner for investment in a START K12 account. 
Deposits do not include earnings on deposits. 

Disabled or Disability―an individual who is considered 
to be disabled because he/she is unable to engage in any 
substantial gainful activity by reason of any medically 
determinable physical or mental impairment which can be 
expected to result in death or to be of long-continued and 
indefinite duration. An individual shall not be considered 
disabled unless he furnishes proof of the existence thereof in 
such form and manner as the LATTA may require. 

Educational Term―a semester, quarter, term, summer 
session, inter-session, or an equivalent unit. 

Eligible Educational Institution―a public or approved 
nonpublic elementary or secondary school in Louisiana that 
contains any of the grades kindergarten through twelve. 

False or Misleading Information―a statement or 
response made by a person, which is knowingly false or 
misleading, and made for the purpose of establishing a 
program account and/or receiving benefits to which the 
person would not otherwise be entitled. 

Fixed Earnings―the placement of all deposits in a 
START K12 Account, including the interest earned thereon, 
in investments that normally provide a fixed rate of return 
for a specific period of time. 

Legal Entity―juridical person including, but not limited 
to, groups, trusts, estates, associations, organizations, 
partnerships, and corporations that are incorporated, 
organized, established, or authorized to conduct business in 
accordance with the laws of one or more states or territories 
of the United States. A natural person is not a legal entity. 

Louisiana Education Tuition and Savings Fund (the 

Fund)―is a special permanent fund maintained by the 
Louisiana state treasurer for the purpose of the START 
Saving Program and the START K12 Program and is the 
account into which all initial deposits made to START K12 
Program accounts are deposited. 

Louisiana Office of Student Financial Assistance 

(LOSFA)―the agency of state government responsible for 
administering the START K12 Program under the direction 
of the Louisiana Tuition Trust Authority. 

Louisiana Resident― 
a. any person who resided in the state of Louisiana 

on the date of the application and who has manifested intent 
to remain in the state by establishing Louisiana as legal 
domicile, as demonstrated by compliance with all of the 
following: 
 i. if registered to vote, is registered to vote in 
Louisiana; 
 ii.  if licensed to drive a motor vehicle, is in 
possession of a Louisiana driver's license; 
 iii. if owning a motor vehicle located within 
Louisiana, is in possession of a Louisiana registration for 
that vehicle; 
 iv. if earning an income, has complied with state 
income tax laws and regulations; 

b. a member of the Armed Forces stationed outside 
of Louisiana who claims Louisiana on his/her official DD 
Form 2058 as his/her legal residence for tax purposes, and is 
in compliance with state income tax laws and regulations, 
shall be considered eligible for program participation; 

c. a member of the Armed Forces stationed in 
Louisiana under permanent change of station orders shall be 
considered eligible for program participation; 
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d. persons less than 21 years of age are considered 
Louisiana residents if they reside with and are dependent 
upon one or more persons who meet the above requirements; 

e. a legal entity is considered to be a Louisiana 
resident if it is incorporated, organized, established or 
authorized to conduct business in accordance with the laws 
of Louisiana or registered with the Louisiana Secretary of 
State to conduct business in Louisiana and has a physical 
place of business in Louisiana. 

Louisiana Tuition Trust Authority (LATTA)―the 
statutory body responsible for the administration of the 
START Saving Program. 

Maximum Allowable Account Balance―$180,000.  
Member of the Family (with respect to the designated 

beneficiary)― 
a. an individual who bears one of the following 

relationships to such beneficiary: 
 i. a son or daughter of the beneficiary, or a 
descendant of either; 
 ii. a stepson or stepdaughter of the beneficiary; 
 iii. a brother, sister, stepbrother, or stepsister of the 
beneficiary; 
 iv. the father or mother of the beneficiary, or an 
ancestor of either; 
 v. a stepfather or stepmother of the beneficiary; 
 vi. a son or daughter of a brother or sister of the 
beneficiary; 
 vii. a brother or sister of the father or mother of the 
beneficiary; or 
 viii. a son-in-law, daughter-in-law, father-in-law, 
mother-in-law, brother-in-law, or sister-in-law of the 
beneficiary; or 
 ix. a first cousin of the beneficiary; or 

b. the spouse of an individual listed in Clauses a.i-
viii. 

Natural Person―a human being. 
Other Person (with respect to any designated 

beneficiary)―any person, other than the beneficiary, 
whether natural or juridical, who is not a member of the 
family, including but not limited to individuals, groups, 
trusts, estates, associations, organizations, partnerships, 
corporations, and custodians under the Uniform Transfer to 
Minors Act (UTMA). 

Owner's Agreement―the agreement for program 
participation that the account owner completes and signs. It 
incorporates, by reference, R.S. 17:3100.1 et seq., and the 
rules promulgated by the LATTA to implement this statutory 
provision and any other state or federal laws applicable to 
the agreement and the terms and conditions as set forth 
therein. 

Person―a human being or a juridical entity. 
Qualified Education Expenses—expenses for tuition in 

connection with enrollment or attendance at an elementary 
or secondary school in grades kindergarten through twelve. 

Redemption Value―the cash value of the money in a 
START K12 Program account invested in a fixed earnings 
option that are attributable to the sum of the principal 
deposited and the earnings on principal authorized to be 
credited to the account by the LATTA, less any 
disbursements and refunds. The redemption value is not 
applicable to a START K12 Program account invested in 
variable earnings. 

Refund Recipient―the person designated by the account 
owner in the START K12 Program owner's agreement or by 
operation of law to receive refunds from the account. The 
refund recipient can only be the account owner or the 
beneficiary. 

START K12 Account―a savings account established by 
a natural person or a legal entity to pay qualified education 
expenses of the designated beneficiary. 

Trade Date―the date that a deposit to an investment 
option that includes variable earnings is assigned a value in 
units, the date a disbursement or refund from an investment 
option that includes variable earnings is assigned a value, or 
the date of a change in investment options that includes 
variable earnings is assigned a value, whichever is 
applicable. 

Tuition―the mandatory educational charge required as 
a condition of enrollment.  

Variable Earnings—refers to that portion of funds in a 
START K12 Program account invested in equities, bonds, 
short-term fixed income investments or a combination of 
any of the three. 

Variable Earnings Transaction Fund—the subaccount 
established within the Louisiana Education Tuition and 
Savings Fund to receive funds as directed by rule. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3100.1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 
Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 44: 

§709. START K12 Program Accounts 

A. A START K12 Program account is established on 
behalf of a designated beneficiary to provide the funding for 
tuition necessary for the beneficiary to attend public or 
private school for any of kindergarten through twelfth grade. 

1. The account owner classified under §711.A.1, 2, 3, 
and 4 shall designate the beneficiary in the owner's 
agreement. 

2. The account owner classified under §711.A.5 may 
designate the beneficiary in the owner's agreement, provided 
the beneficiary is not a member of the account owner's 
family, or authorize the LATTA to select a beneficiary for 
the account. 

3. A beneficiary selected by the LATTA must meet the 
following criteria: 

a. the beneficiary is a Louisiana resident; 
b. the federal adjusted income of the beneficiary's 

family is less than $30,000 or the beneficiary is eligible for a 
free lunch under the Richard B. Russell National School Act 
(42 USC 1751 et seq.); 

c. the beneficiary is not a member of the account 
owner's family nor a member of the family of any member 
or employee of the authority or LOSFA; 

4. Procedure for Selection (Reserved) 
B. Program Enrollment Period. An account may be 

opened and an eligible beneficiary may be enrolled at any 
time during the calendar year. 

C. Completing the Owner's Agreement 
1. This agreement must be completed in full by the 

account owner. 
2. The account owner shall designate a beneficiary, 

except as provided in Paragraph A.2 above. 
3. The account owner may designate a limited power 

of attorney to another person who would be authorized to act 
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on the account owner's behalf, in the event the account 
owner becomes incapacitated. 

4. Transfer of account ownership is only permitted as 
set forth in §719.  

D. Agreement to Terms. Upon executing an owner's 
agreement, the account owner agrees to the following 
statements. 

1. Admission to a particular eligible educational 
institution―that participation in the START K12 Program 
does not guarantee that a beneficiary will be admitted to the 
beneficiary’s eligible educational institution of choice. 

2. Payment of qualified education expenses―that no 
more than $10,000 may be withdrawn from a START K12 
account annually and that this amount is not guaranteed to 
pay all qualified education expenses.   

3. Maintenance of continuous enrollment―that once 
admitted to an eligible educational institution, participation 
in the START K12 Program does not guarantee that the 
beneficiary will be permitted to remain at the school 
throughout the beneficiary’s kindergarten through twelfth 
grade education. 

4. Guarantee of redemption value―that the LATTA 
does not guarantee the value of a START K12 Account that 
is invested in variable earnings. 

5. Conditions for payment of qualified education 
expenses―that payments for qualified education expenses 
under the START K12 Program are conditional upon the 
beneficiary's enrollment at an eligible educational institution. 

6. Fees 
a. That fees imposed by investment institutions for 

opening or maintenance of variable earnings accounts may 
be charged to the account owner. 

b. That financial and investment institutions may be 
authorized by the LATTA to offer prospective owners 
information and assistance in opening a START K12 
account. 

7. That an account whose owner is a legal entity or is 
classified under §711.A.5. cannot be terminated and the 
funds deposited in the account will not be refunded to the 
account owner. 

8. That an account owner who is a legal entity or is 
classified under §711.A.5, can change the beneficiary of an 
account to one or more persons who are not members of the 
family of the beneficiary in accordance with §719.A.3.b, 
however, in such case: 

a. these transfers may be treated as refunds under 
federal and state tax laws in which case the account owner 
will be subject to any associated tax consequences; and 

b. the provisions of §709.A.2 shall apply to account 
owners classified in accordance with §711.A.5. 

9. Only the account owner or the beneficiary may be 
designated to receive refunds from the account owned by an 
account owner who is a natural person other than a natural 
person classified as an account owner under §711.A.5. In the 
event of the death of the account owner when the account 
owner is designated to receive the refund and there is no 
substitute account owner named, the refund shall be made to 
the account owner's estate. 

10. That in the event an account owner who is a legal 
entity classified as an account owner under §711.A.3 or 4 is 
dissolved, the beneficiary will become the owner of the 
account. 

11. No refunds shall be paid to account owner 
classified under §711.A.5. If such an account is terminated 
by the LATTA in accordance with §717.E, the beneficiary 
shall become the owner of the account, provided that, all the 
rights and restrictions provided in law and these rules 
regarding account owners classified under §711.A.5, 
including, but not limited to, use of the funds, refunds, 
terminations, designation of beneficiary, etc., shall be 
applicable to the beneficiary that becomes the owner of such 
an account. If an account owner classified under §711.A.5 
dies or is dissolved and the beneficiary has died or failed to 
graduate high school by age 21, and no substitute 
beneficiary has been designated by the account owner, the 
authority shall designate a new beneficiary who must meet 
the requirements of §709.A.3 and §711.A.5. 

E. Acceptance of the Owner's Agreement 
1. A properly completed and submitted owner's 

agreement will be accepted upon receipt. 
2. Upon acceptance of the owner's agreement, the 

LATTA will establish the account of the named beneficiary. 
F. Citizenship Requirements. Both an account owner 

who is not a legal entity and the beneficiary must meet the 
following citizenship requirements: 

1. be a United States citizen; or 
2. be a permanent resident of the United States as 

defined by the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services 
(USCIS) or its successor and provide copies of USCIS 
documentation with the submission of the owner's 
agreement; or 

3. be lawfully residing in the United States and have a 
valid Social Security number. 

G. Residency Requirements 
1. On the date an account is opened, either the account 

owner or his designated beneficiary must be a Louisiana 

resident, as defined in §707 of these rules. 
2. The LATTA may request documentation to clarify 

circumstances and formulate a decision that considers all 
facts relevant to residency. 

H. Providing Personal Information 
1. The account owner is required to disclose personal 

information in the owner's agreement, including: 
a. his Social Security number; 
b. the designated beneficiary's Social Security 

number; 
c. the beneficiary's date of birth; 
d. the familial relationship between the account 

owner and the designated beneficiary, if any; 
e. the account owner's prior year's federal adjusted 

gross income as reported to the Internal Revenue Service; 
and 

f. in the case of an account owner classified under 
§711.A.5: 
 i. the Social Security number of the beneficiary's 
family and authorization from that person for the LATTA to 
access his annual tax records through the Louisiana 
Department of Revenue, for the purpose of verifying federal 
adjusted gross income; and 
 ii. if applicable, proof that the beneficiary is a 
ward of the court; or 
 iii. if applicable, proof the beneficiary is eligible 
for a free lunch under the Richard B. Russell National 
School Act (42 USC 1751 et seq.). 
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2. By signing the owner's agreement, the account 
owner who is classified under §711.A.1 or 2 (does not 
include legal entities or other persons classified as account 
owners under §711.A.5) provides written authorization for 
the LATTA to access his annual tax records through the 
Louisiana Department of Revenue, for the purposes of 
verifying federal adjusted gross income. 

3. By signing the owner's agreement: 
a. the account owner who is a natural person, other 

than a natural person classified as an account owner under 
§711.A.5, certifies that: 
 i. both account owner and beneficiary are United 
States citizens or permanent residents of the United States as 
defined by the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services 
(USCIS) or its successor or be lawfully residing in the 
United States and have a valid Social Security number; and 

(a). if permanent residents have provided copies 
of USCIS documentation with the submission of the 
application and owner's agreement; or 

(b). if in the United States lawfully with a valid 
Social Security number have provided the visa or other 
document(s) from the USCIS evidencing lawful residency 
and a copy of the Social Security card from the Social 
Security Administration; and 
 ii. the information provided in the application is 
true and correct; 

b. the person signing on behalf of an account owner 
who is a legal entity certifies that: 
 i. the account owner is a legal entity as defined in 
rule and the application; 
 ii. he or she is the designated agent of the legal 
entity; 
 iii. he or she is authorized to take any action 
permitted the account owner; 
 iv. the account owner acknowledges and agrees 
that once funds are deposited in a START account, neither 
the deposits nor the interest earned thereon can be refunded 
to the account owner; 
 v. the information provided in the application is 
true and correct; and 
 vi. if the beneficiary is not a Louisiana resident, 
the legal entity fulfills the definition of Louisiana resident as 
found in rule and the application; 

c. the natural person classified as an account owner 
under §711.A.5 certifies that: 
 i. the beneficiary is a Louisiana resident; 
 ii. the federal adjusted income of the beneficiary's 
family is less than $30,000 or the beneficiary is eligible for a 
free lunch under the Richard B. Russell National School Act 
(42 USC 1751 et seq.); 
 iii. the beneficiary is not a member of the account 
owner's family nor a member of the family of any member 
or employee of the authority or LOSFA; 
 iv. the account owner acknowledges and agrees 
that once funds are deposited in a START account, neither 
the deposits nor the interest earned thereon can be refunded 
to the account owner; and 
 v. the information provided in the application is 
true and correct. 

4. Social Security numbers and federal and state 
employer identification numbers will be used for purposes of 
federal and state income tax reporting and to access 

individual account information for administrative purposes 
(see §721). 

I. Number of Accounts for a Beneficiary. There is no 
limit on the number of START K12 accounts that may be 
opened for one beneficiary by different account owners; 
however, the cumulative credits in all accounts for the same 
beneficiary may not exceed the maximum allowable account 
balance for that beneficiary and the cumulative credits in all 
START K12 accounts for the same beneficiary will be used 
to determine when these accounts are fully funded. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3100.1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 
Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 44: 

§711. Account Owner Classifications 

A. An account owner shall be classified by the authority 
under one of the following classifications: 

1. a person or persons determined by the authority to 
be the parent, grandparent, or court ordered custodian of the 
person being designated as beneficiary of the account or who 
claim the person being designated as beneficiary as a 
dependent on their federal income tax return, and, at the time 
of the initiation of the agreement, the person or beneficiary 
is a resident of the state; or 

2. a person determined by the authority to be a 
member of the family of the beneficiary and, at the time of 
the initiation of the agreement, the person or the beneficiary 
is a resident of the state; or 

3. any other person and, at the time of the initiation of 
the agreement, the beneficiary is a resident of the state; or 

4. any other person who, at the time of the initiation of 
the agreement, is a resident of the state and the beneficiary is 
not a resident of the state; 

5. any other person or any government entity, and at 
the time of the initiation of the agreement: 

a. the beneficiary is a resident of the state; 
b. the federal adjusted income of the beneficiary's 

family is less than $30,000 or the beneficiary must be 
eligible for a free lunch under the Richard B. Russell 
National School Act (42 USC 1751 et seq.); 

c. the beneficiary is not a member of the account 
owner's family nor a member of the family of any member 
or employee of the authority or LOSFA; 

d. the deposits to the account are an irrevocable 
donation by the owner. 

B. In order to qualify as an account owner in any 
classification, a natural person, to include an independent 
student, must be of the age of majority under Louisiana law. 

C. Account owner classification is made at the time of 
the initiation of the agreement. Changes in the residency of 
the account owner or beneficiary after the initiation of the 
agreement do not change the account owner's classification. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3100.1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 
Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 44: 

§713. Deposits to Education Savings Accounts 

A. Application Fee and Initial Deposit Amount 
1. No application fee will be charged to participants 

applying for a START K12 account directly to the LATTA. 
2. Financial and investment institutions may be 

authorized by the LATTA to offer assistance in establishing a 
START K12 account. (See fees in §709.D.6.) 
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3. An initial deposit is not required to open an START 
K12 account; however, a deposit of at least $10 must be 
made within 180 days from the date on the letter of 
notification of approval of the account. 

4. A lump sum deposit may not exceed the maximum 
allowable account balance (see §707). 

B. Deposit Options 
1. The account owner shall select one of the following 

deposit options during the completion of the owner's 
agreement; however, the account owner may change the 
monthly deposit amount at any time and the payment 
method by notifying the LATTA: 

a. occasional lump sum payment(s) made directly to 
the LATTA or to a LATTA-approved investment institution; 

b. monthly payments made directly to the LATTA 
or to a LATTA-approved financial or investment institution; 

c. automatic account debit, direct monthly transfer 
from the account owner's checking or savings account to the 
LATTA or a LATTA-approved investment institution; 

d. payroll deduction, if available through the 
account owner's employer. 

2. Account owners are encouraged to maintain a 
schedule of regular monthly deposits. 

C. Limitations on Deposits 
1. All deposits must be rendered in amounts of at least 

$10 and must be made in cash, check, money order, 
automatic account debit or payroll deduction, defined as any 
of the deposit options listed in §713.B.1. 

2. Once the cumulative contributions and earnings on 
contributions has reached or exceeded the maximum 
allowable account balance (see §707), principal deposits will 
no longer be accepted to the account until a qualified 
distribution is made which reduces the account balance 
below the maximum allowable account balance. 

D. Investment Options 
1. The state treasurer shall select fixed earnings and 

variable earnings investment options. 
2. The authority shall furnish each account owner with 

information that discloses each of the investment options 
offered by the program. 

3. The account owner shall select the investment 
options in completing the owner's agreement, and  

4. The investment option may be changed two times 
each calendar year. 

5. Once a selection is made, all deposits shall be 
directed to the last investment option selected. 

E. Effective Date of Deposits 
1. Deposits for investment options that are limited to 

fixed earnings will be considered to have been deposited on 
the date of receipt. 

2. Deposits for investment options that include 
variable earnings will be assigned a trade date based on the 
method of deposit and the date of receipt. 

a. Deposits by check will be assigned a trade date 
three business days after the business day during which they 
were received. 

b. Deposits made by electronic funds transfer 
through the Automated Clearing House (ACH) Network, or 
its successor, will be assigned a trade date of three business 
days after the business day during which they were received. 

c. Deposits made by all other means of electronic 
funds transfer, including deposits made by transferring funds 
from a variable earnings option in which they are currently 
deposited to another option, will be assigned a trade date of 
one business day after the business day during which they 
were received. 

3. Deposits for investment options that include 
variable earnings which are received via check or electronic 
funds transfer through the Automated Clearing House 
Network will be deposited into the fixed earnings option 
until the trade date. Earnings accrued on these deposits prior 
to the trade date shall be deposited in the Variable Earnings 
Transaction Fund. 

4. Deposits received on weekends and holidays will 
be considered received on the next business day. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3100.1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 
Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 44: 

§715. Disbursement of Account Funds for Payment of 

Qualified Education Expenses of a Beneficiary 
A. Request for Disbursement 

1. For each term the account owner intends to fund the 
beneficiary's qualified education expenses, the account 
owner shall submit a request for disbursement. 

2. The request for disbursement must include: 
a. the START K12 account number; 
b. the account owner's name, address, Social 

Security number and signature (may be electronic); 
c. the beneficiary's name, address, and Social 

Security number; 
d. the amount to be disbursed and to whom; and 
e. the name and address of the eligible educational 

institution. 
3. In the event funds are invested in more than one 

investment option, the disbursement shall be made 
proportionally from each investment option in the account. 

4. If there is more than one account with the same 
beneficiary, each account owner requesting a disbursement 
must complete a request for disbursement and the 
disbursements shall be made from each account, in turn, in 
the order the disbursement requests were received. 

B. Disbursements from all accounts with the same 
beneficiary shall not exceed $10,000 in one calendar year. 

C. Disbursements shall be made to the account owner. If 
LOSFA determines that the beneficiary is not enrolled in an 
eligible educational institution during the semester or term 
for which the disbursement was intended, LOSFA shall 
notify the account owner that the disbursement will 
constitute a refund for state and federal income tax purposes 
unless returned to the START K12 account. If the 
disbursement is not returned to the account within 60 days of 
the original notice, LOSFA, in the authority’s sole discretion, 
may refund any balance remaining thereafter and close the 
account. 

7. Disbursements from investment options with 
variable earnings shall be assigned a trade date of one 
business day after the business day of receipt of the transfer 
request. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3100.1 et seq. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 44, No. 07   July 20, 2018 1223

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 
Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 44: 

§717. Termination, Refund, and Rollovers of a START 

K12 Account 

A. Account Termination 
1. The account owner who is a natural person, other 

than a natural person classified as an account owner under 
§711.A.5, may terminate an account at any time. 

2. The LATTA may terminate an account in 
accordance with this Subsection, §717.D or §717.E. 

3. The LATTA may terminate an account if no deposit 
of at least $10 has been made within 180 days from the date 
on the letter of notification of approval of the account. 

4. The LATTA may terminate an account if the 
beneficiary dies and a new beneficiary is not named within 
60 days of the death. 

5. The LATTA may terminate an account if the 
beneficiary becomes disabled and a new beneficiary is not 
named by the time the beneficiary who has become disabled 
reaches age 21. 

6. The account owner who is a legal entity or is 
classified under §711.A.5, may not terminate an account; 
however, the account owner who is a legal entity or is 
classified under §711.A.5 may designate a substitute 
beneficiary in accordance with §719.A.3.b. 

B. Refunds 
1. A partial refund of an account may only be made as 

described in §717.E.3. 
2. All other requests for refund may result in the 

termination of the account and in the refund of: 
a. the deposits invested in fixed earnings, if the 

account has been open for less than 12 months; 
b. the redemption value, if the account has been 

open for 12 or more months; 
c. the deposits to or the current value of an account 

invested in a variable earnings option, whichever is less. Any 
increase in the value of an account invested in a variable 
earnings option over the amount deposited shall be forfeited 
by the account owner and deposited in the Variable Earnings 
Transaction Fund, if the account was invested in a variable 
earnings option and terminated within 12 months of the date 
the account was opened; 

d. the current value of an account invested in 
variable earnings, if the account has been open for 12 or 
more months. 

3. No refunds shall be made to an account owner who 
is a legal entity classified under §711.A.3 or 4. If an account 
owned by a legal entity classified as an account owner under 
§711.A.3 or 4 is terminated by the LATTA or by the account 
owner in accordance with §717.D or E, the refund will be 
made to the beneficiary or to the estate of the beneficiary if 
no substitute beneficiary has been designated by the account 
owner. 

4. No refunds shall be paid to account owner 
classified under §711.A.5. If such an account is terminated 
by the LATTA in accordance with §717.E, the beneficiary 
shall become the owner of the account, provided that, all the 
rights and restrictions provided in law and these rules 
regarding account owners classified under §711.A.5, 
including, but not limited to, use of the funds, refunds, 
terminations, designation of beneficiary, etc., shall be 
applicable to the beneficiary that becomes the owner of such 

an account. If an account owner classified under §711.A.5 
dies or is dissolved and the beneficiary has died or failed to 
graduate high school by age 21, and no substitute 
beneficiary has been designated by the account owner, the 
authority shall designate a new beneficiary who must meet 
the requirements of §709.A.3 and §711.A.5. 

5. Refunds from investment options with variable 
earnings shall be assigned a trade date of one business day 
after the business day of receipt. 

C. Designation of a Refund Recipient 
1. In the owner's agreement, the account owner who is 

a natural person, except one who is classified under 
§711.A.5, may designate himself or the beneficiary to 
receive refunds from the account.  

2. Refunds of interest earnings will be reported as 
income to the individual receiving the refund for both 
federal and state tax purposes. 

3. The beneficiary of an account owned by a legal 
entity classified as an account owner under §711.A.3 or 4 is 
automatically designated as the refund recipient. 

5. Funds in an account classified under §711.A.5 shall 
not be refunded. 

D. Involuntary Termination of an Account with Penalty 
1. The LATTA may terminate an owner's agreement if 

it finds that the account owner provided false or misleading 
information (see §707). 

2. If the LATTA terminates an owner's agreement 
under this Section, all interest earnings on principal deposits 
may be withheld and forfeited, with only principal being 
refunded. 

3. An individual who obtains program benefits by 
providing false or misleading information will be prosecuted 
to the full extent of the law. 

E. Voluntary Termination of an Account 
1. Refunds shall be equal to the redemption value of 

the START K12 account at the time of the refund, and shall 
be made to the person designated in the owner's agreement 
or by rule. 

2. The person receiving the refund shall be 
responsible for any state or federal income tax that may be 
payable due to the refund. 

3. Except for accounts classified in accordance with 
§711.A.5, accounts may be terminated and fully refunded for 
the following reasons: 

a. the death of the beneficiary in which case the 
refund shall be equal to the redemption value of the account 
and shall be made to: 
 i. the account owner, if the account owner is a 
natural person; or 
 ii. the beneficiary's estate, if the account owner is 
a legal entity; 

b. the disability of the beneficiary, in which case the 
refund shall be equal to the redemption value of the account 
and shall be made to: 
 i. the account owner or the beneficiary, as 
designated in the owner's agreement, if the account owner is 
a natural person; or 
 ii. the beneficiary, if the account owner is a legal 
entity; 

c. the beneficiary receives a scholarship, waiver of 
tuition, or similar subvention that the LATTA determines 
cannot be converted into money by the beneficiary, to the 
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extent the amount of the refund does not exceed the amount 
of the scholarship, waiver of tuition, or similar subvention 
awarded to the beneficiary. In such case, the refund shall be 
equal to the scholarship, waiver of tuition, or similar 
subvention that the LATTA determines cannot be converted 
into money by the beneficiary, or the redemption value, 
whichever is less, and shall be made to: 
 i. the account owner or the beneficiary, as 
designated in the owner's agreement, if the account owner is 
a natural person; or 
 ii. the beneficiary, if the account owner is a legal 
entity. 

4. Refunds made under this §717.E.3 are currently 
exempt from additional federal taxes. 

F. Effective Date of Account Termination. Account 
termination shall be effective at midnight on the business 
day on which the request for account termination and all 
supporting documents are received. Accounts will be 
credited with interest earned on principal deposits through 
the effective date of the closure of the account. 

G. Refund Payments. Payment of refunds for voluntary 
termination under §717.E or partial refunds of accounts 
pursuant to §717.E.3 shall be made within 30 days of the 
date on which the account was terminated. The termination 
refund shall consist of the principal remaining in the account 
and interest remaining in the account accrued on the 
principal through the end of the calendar year preceding the 
year in which the request to terminate an account is made. 
Interest earned in excess of $10 during the calendar year of 
termination will be refunded within 45 days of the date the 
state treasurer announces the interest rate for the preceding 
calendar year. Interest earned of $10 or less during the 
calendar year of termination will be forfeited to the 
Louisiana Education and Tuition Savings Fund. 

H. Rollovers 
1. Rollovers among START K12 Accounts of the 

Same Account Owner. An account owner may rollover any 
part or all of the value of an START K12 account to another 
START K12 account if the beneficiary of the account 
receiving the funds is a member of the family of the 
beneficiary of the original account. 

2. Rollover to a START Saving Program Account.  In 
the event funds remain in a START K12 account after all 
qualified education expenses for enrollment in kindergarten 
through twelfth grade have been paid, an account owner 
classified under §711.A.1, 2, 3, 4, or 5 may rollover any 
remaining funds to a START Saving Program Education 
Savings Account (ESA) for use by the beneficiary in an 
eligible postsecondary institution.   

3. Rollover to another Qualified Tuition Program. An 
account owner may request a rollover of the current value of 
the account to another qualified tuition program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3100.1et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 
Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 44: 

§719. Substitution, Assignment, and Transfer 

A. Substitute Beneficiary. The beneficiary of a START 
K12 account may be changed to a substitute beneficiary 
provided the account owner completes a beneficiary 
substitution form and the following requirements are met: 

1. the substitute beneficiary is a member of the family 
as defined under §707; 

2. the substitute beneficiary meets the citizen/resident 
alien requirements of §709.F, and, if the account owner is a 
nonresident of the state of Louisiana, the substitute 
beneficiary meets the applicable residency requirements (see 
§709.G); 

3. if the substitute beneficiary is not a member of the 
family of the previous beneficiary: 

a. and the account owner is a natural person 
classified under §711.A.1-4, the account must be refunded to 
the account owner and a new account must be opened; 

b. and the account owner is a legal entity classified 
under §711.A.3 or 4, a new account shall be opened in the 
name of the new beneficiary.  These transfers may be treated 
as refunds under federal and state tax laws in which case the 
account owner will be subject to any associated tax 
consequences; and 

c. and the account owner is classified under 
§711.A.5, a new account shall be opened in the name of the 
new beneficiary only if the beneficiary meets all the 
requirements of §711.A.5; and 
 i. these transfers may be treated as refunds under 
federal and state tax laws in which case the account owner 
will be subject to any associated tax consequences; and 
 ii. the provisions of §709.A.2 shall apply to 
account owners classified in accordance with §711.A.5. 

B. Substitution/Transfer of Account Ownership. The 
ownership of an START K12 account is transferable only 
with the written approval of the LATTA and only as follows. 

1. The account owner who is a natural person, other 
than a natural person classified as an account owner under 
§711.A.5, may designate a person who will become the 
substitute account owner in the event of the original account 
owner's death.  

2. In the event of the death of an account owner who 
is a natural person, other than a natural person classified as 
an account owner under §711.A.5, who has not named a 
substitute account owner, the account shall be terminated 
and the account shall be refunded to the beneficiary, if 
designated to receive the refund by the account owner, or the 
account owner's estate. 

3. An account owner who is a legal entity classified 
under §711.A.3 or 4 may indicate in the owner’s agreement 
that upon the beneficiary’s graduation from high school, the 
account shall be rolled over into a START Saving ESA and 
ownership of the ESA shall be transferred to the beneficiary 
of the account upon his 18th birthday, or upon his enrollment 
in an eligible postsecondary institution full time, whichever 
is later. If the account owner transfers the account in 
accordance with this section, disbursements may only be 
made for payment of the qualified higher education expenses 
of the beneficiary. 

4. In the event of the dissolution of an account owner 
who is a legal entity classified as an account owner under 
§711.A.3 or 4, the beneficiary shall become the substitute 
account owner. If the account owner who is a legal entity 
classified as an account owner under §711.A.3 or 4 is 
dissolved, the beneficiary designated to receive the refund 
has died, and there is no substitute beneficiary named, the 
refund shall be made to the beneficiary's estate. 

5. No refunds shall be paid to account owner 
classified under §711.A.5. If such an account is terminated 
by the LATTA in accordance with §717.E, the beneficiary 
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shall become the owner of the account, provided that, all the 
rights and restrictions provided in law and these rules 
regarding account owners classified under §711.A.5, 
including, but not limited to, use of the funds, refunds, 
terminations, designation of beneficiary, etc., shall be 
applicable to the beneficiary that becomes the owner of such 
an account. If an account owner classified under §711.A.5 
dies or is dissolved and the beneficiary has died or failed to 
graduate high school by age 21, and no substitute 
beneficiary has been designated by the account owner, the 
authority shall designate a new beneficiary who must meet 
the requirements of §709.A.3 and §711.A.5.. 

C. Assignment of Account Ownership. Ownership of an 
START K12 account cannot be assigned. 

D. Changes to the Owner's Agreement 
1. The account owner may request changes to the 

owner's agreement. 
2. Changes must be requested in writing and be signed 

by the account owner. 
3. Changes, if accepted, will take effect as of the date 

the notice is received by the LATTA. 
4. The LATTA shall not be liable for acting upon 

inaccurate or invalid data which was submitted by the 
account owner. 

5. The account owner will be notified by the LATTA 
in writing of any changes affecting the owner's agreement 
which result from changes in applicable federal and state 
statutes and rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3100.1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 
Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 44: 

§721. Miscellaneous Provisions 

A. Account Statements and Reports 
1. The LATTA will forward to each account owner an 

annual statement of account which itemizes the: 
a. date and amount of deposits and interest earned 

during the prior year; and 
b. total principal and interest accrued to the 

statement date; and 
2. The account owner must report errors on the annual 

statement of account to the LATTA within 60 days from the 
date on the account statement or the statement will be 
deemed correct. 

B. Earned Interest 
1. Interest earned on principal deposits during a 

calendar year will be credited to accounts and reported to 
account owners after the conclusion of the calendar year in 
which the interest was earned. 

2. The rate of interest earned shall be the rate of return 
earned on the fund as reported by the state treasurer and 
approved by the LATTA. 

C. Refunded Amounts 
1. Interest earned on a START K12 account which is 

refunded to the account owner or beneficiary will be taxable 
for state and federal income tax purposes. 

2. No later than January 31 of the year following the 
year of the refund, the LATTA will furnish the State 
Department of Revenue, the Internal Revenue Service and 
the recipient of the refund an Internal Revenue Service Form 
1099, or whatever form is appropriate according to 
applicable tax codes. 

D. Rule Changes. The LATTA reserves the right to 
amend the rules regulating the START K12 Program's 
policies and procedures; however, any amendments to rules 
affecting participants will be published in accordance with 
the Administrative Procedure Act.  

E. Determination of Facts. The LATTA shall have sole 
discretion in making a determination of fact regarding the 
application of these rules. 

F. Individual Accounts. The LATTA will maintain an 
individual account for each beneficiary, showing the 
redemption value of the account. 

G. Confidentiality of Records. All records of the LATTA 
identifying account owners and designated beneficiaries of 
START K12 accounts, amounts deposited, expended or 
refunded, are confidential and are not public records. 

H. No Investment Direction. No account owner or 
beneficiary of a START K12 account may direct the 
investment of funds credited to an account, except to make 
an annual election among investment options that offer fixed 
earnings, variable earnings or both. Deposits will be invested 
on behalf of the START K12 Program by the state treasurer. 

I. No Pledging of Interest as Security. No interest in an 
START K12 account may be pledged as security for a loan. 

J. Excess Funds 
1. Principal deposits to an START K12 account are no 

longer accepted once the account total reaches the maximum 
allowable account balance (see §713.C); however, the 
principal and interest earned thereon may continue to earn 
interest. 

2. Funds in excess of the maximum allowable account 
balance may remain in the account and continue to accrue 
interest and may be disbursed in accordance with §715, or 
will be refunded in accordance with §717 upon termination 
of the account. 

K. Withdrawal of Funds. Funds may not be withdrawn 
from an START K12 ACCOUNT except as set forth in §715 
and §717. 

L. NSF Procedure 
1. A check received for deposit to an START K12 

ACCOUNT which is returned due to insufficient funds in 
the owner's account on which the check is drawn, will be 
redeposited and processed a second time by the START K12 
Program's financial institution. 

2. If the check is returned due to insufficient funds a 
second time, the check will be returned to the depositor. 

3. Earnings reported by the state treasurer on deposits 
made by check or an ACH transfer which is not honored by 
the financial institution on which it was drawn subsequent to 
the trade date shall be forfeited by the account owner and 
deposited into the Variable Earnings Transaction Fund. 

M. Effect of a Change in Residency. On the date an 
account is opened, either the account owner or beneficiary 
must be a resident of the state of Louisiana (see §709.G); 
however, if the account owner or beneficiary, or both, 
temporarily or permanently move to another state after the 
account is opened, they may continue participation in the 
program in accordance with the terms of the owner's 
agreement. 

N. Abandoned Accounts. Abandoned accounts will be 
defined and treated in accordance with R.S. 9:151 et seq., as 
amended, the Louisiana Uniform Unclaimed Property Act. 
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O. Investment in Variable Earnings. When an account 
owner selects a variable earnings account, up to 100 percent 
of the deposits may be invested in equity securities. 

P. Variable Earnings Transaction Fund 
1. Monies in the Variable Earnings Transaction Fund 

shall be used to pay any charges assessed to the START K12 
Program by a financial institution and to pay any loss of 
value between the purchase and redemption of units in a 
variable earnings option that are incurred when a check or 
ACH transfer is dishonored after the trade date by the 
financial institution on which it was drawn. 

2. After the payment of expenses as provided in 
Paragraph 1, above, the LATTA may declare monies 
remaining in the Variable Earnings Transaction Fund as 
surplus.. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
17:3100.1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 
Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 44: 

 

Robyn Rhea Lively 
Senior Attorney 

1807#007 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Disproportionate Share Hospital Payments 
Major Medical Centers 

Specialized Burn Care Units 
(LAC 50:V.2717) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing adopts LAC 50:V.2717 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953 (B)(1) et seq., 
and shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under 
the Act. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing has determined that it is necessary to amend the 
provisions governing disproportionate share hospital (DSH) 
payments for major medical centers in order to establish 
qualification criteria and a DSH payment methodology for 
large private hospitals located in the southwestern area of the 
state (LDH Region 4) which provide specialized intensive 
care burn units. This action is being taken to promote the 
health and welfare of Medicaid recipients by maintaining 
recipient access to intensive burn care and other tertiary 
inpatient and outpatient services. It is estimated that 
implementation of this Emergency Rule will increase 
expenditures in the Medicaid Program by approximately 
$12,110,817 for state fiscal year 2017-2018. 

Effective June 30, 2018, the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the provisions 
governing DSH payments to major medical centers in 
southwest Louisiana. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 

Subpart 3.  Disproportionate Share Hospital Payments 

Chapter 27. Qualifying Hospitals 

§2717. Major Medical Centers with Specialized Burn 

Care Units Located in Southwestern Area of the 

State 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after June 30, 
2018, hospitals qualifying for payments as major medical 
centers located in the southwestern area of the state shall 
meet the following criteria: 

1. be a private, non-rural hospital located in 
Department of Health administrative region 4; 

2. have at least 175 inpatient beds as reported on the 
Medicare/Medicaid cost report, Worksheet S-3, column 2, 
lines 1-18, for the state fiscal year ending June 30, 2017. For 
qualification purposes, inpatient beds shall exclude nursery 
and Medicare-designated distinct part psychiatric unit beds; 

3. have a burn intensive care unit that is reported on 
Medicare/Medicaid cost report, Worksheet S-3, line 10, 
columns 1-8, for the state fiscal year ending June 30, 2017;  

4. does not qualify as a Louisiana low-income 
academic hospital under the provisions of §3101; and 

5. does not qualify as a party to a low income and 
needy care collaboration agreement with the Department of 
Health under the provisions of §2713. 

B. Payment Methodology. Effective for dates of service 
on or after June 30, 2018, each qualifying hospital shall be 
paid a DSH adjustment payment which is the pro rata 
amount calculated by dividing their hospital specific 
allowable uncompensated care costs by the total allowable 
uncompensated care costs for all hospitals qualifying under 
this category and multiplying by the funding appropriated by 
the Louisiana Legislature in the applicable state fiscal year 
for this category of hospitals.  

1. Costs, patient specific data and documentation that 
qualifying criteria is met shall be submitted in a format 
specified by the department.  

2. Costs and lengths of stay shall be reviewed by the 
department for reasonableness before payments are made. 

3. Aggregate DSH payments for hospitals that receive 
payment from this category, and any other DSH category, 
shall not exceed the hospital’s specific DSH limit. If 
payments calculated under this methodology would cause a 
hospital’s aggregate DSH payment to exceed the limit, the 
payment from this category shall be capped at the hospital’s 
specific DSH limit. 

4. A pro rata decrease, necessitated by conditions 
specified in §2501.B.1 above for hospitals described in this 
Section, will be calculated based on the ratio determined by 
dividing the hospital's uncompensated costs by the 
uncompensated costs for all of the qualifying hospitals 
described in this Section, then multiplying by the amount of 
disproportionate share payments calculated in excess of the 
federal DSH allotment. 

a. Additional payments shall only be made after 
finalization of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services’ (CMS) mandated DSH audit for the state fiscal 
year.  
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b. Payments shall be limited to the aggregate 
amount recouped from the qualifying hospitals described in 
this Section, based on the reported DSH audit results.  

c. If the hospitals' aggregate amount of 
underpayments reported per the audit results exceeds the 
aggregate amount overpaid, the payment redistribution to 
underpaid hospitals shall be paid on a pro rata basis 
calculated using each hospital’s amount underpaid, divided 
by the sum of underpayments for all of the hospitals 
described in this Section. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 44: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 
Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1807#010 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Healthcare Services Provider Fees 
Emergency Ground Ambulance and Hospital Provider Fees 

(LAC 48:I.4001) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing amends LAC 48:I.4001 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 46:2625. 
This Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953 
(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum period 
allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final Rule, 
whichever occurs first. 

House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 6 of the 2018 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature enacted an 
annual hospital stabilization formula and directed the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing 
to calculate, levy and collect an assessment for each assessed 
hospital, with the exception of facilities prohibited from 
participating in the Medicare Program. In addition, Act 272 
of the 2018 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature 
directed the department to increase provider fees for 
emergency ground ambulance service providers. This 
Emergency Rule is being promulgated to amend the 
provisions governing provider fees for emergency ground 
ambulance and hospital services providers in order to 
comply with HCR 6 and Act 272.  

This action is being taken to avoid a budget deficit in the 
Medical Assistance Program. It is estimated that 
implementation of this Emergency Rule will increase 
collections by the department by approximately $6,146,480 
for state fiscal year 2018-2019. 

Effective July 1, 2018, the Department of Health, Bureau 
of Health Services Financing amends the provisions 
governing provider fees for emergency ground ambulance 
and hospital services providers. 

Title 48 

PUBLIC HEALTH—GENERAL 

Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 1.  General 

Chapter 40. Provider Fees 

§4001. Specific Fees 

A. - D. ... 
E. Emergency Ground Ambulance Services. Effective 

August 1, 2016, a fee shall be imposed on emergency ground 
ambulance service providers in accordance with R.S. 
46:2626. 

1. - 3. ... 
a. the maximum fee allowable in any year shall not 

exceed the percentage of net patient service revenues 
permitted by federal regulation pursuant to 42 CFR 433.68 
as determined by the department, as reported by the provider 
and subject to audit for the previous fiscal year of the 
provider. The department will arrive at net patient services 
revenue by using net operating revenue as defined in R.S. 
46:2626. 

4. ... 
F. Hospital Services 

1. - 4. ... 
5. No licensed facility which is prohibited from 

participating in the Medicare Program set forth in 42 U.S.C. 
1396, shall be assessed or levied any fee for the hospital 
stabilization authorized in Article VII, Section 10.13 of the 
Constitution of Louisiana. This provision is specifically 
subject to the approval of any waiver required by the Centers 
for Medicare and Medicaid Services and approval by the 
Louisiana Department of Health. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
Chapter 45 of Title 46 as enacted in 1992, 46:2601-2605, 
redesignated as Chapter 47 of Title 46, containing R.S. 46:2621 to 
46:2625 and P.L. 102-234. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Management and Finance, LR 
19:347 (March 1993), amended LR 20:51 (January 1994), LR 
26:1478 (July 2000), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 33:100 (January 2007), amended by the Department 
of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 42:1887, 1888 
(November 2016), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau 
of Health Services Financing, LR 43:73 (January 2017), 
repromulgated LR 43:323 (February 2017), amended LR 44:1015 
(June 2018), LR 44: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 
Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box
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91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1807#009 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medicaid Program 
Repeal of Reimbursement Rate Reductions and 

Program and Services Terminations 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing hereby rescinds the July 1, 2018 Emergency Rules 
implementing reimbursement rate reductions and program 
and services terminations in the Medical Assistance Program 
as authorized by R.S. 36:254. These Emergency Rules were 
adopted on May 7, 2018, published in the major daily 
newspapers and the May 20, 2018 edition of the Louisiana 

Register. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, the Office of Aging and Adult Services, the 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, and the 
Office of Behavioral Health adopted provisions which 
reduced the reimbursement rates for designated services and 
terminated certain programs and services covered in the 
Medicaid Program (Louisiana Register, Volume 44, Number 
5). The department has now determined that it is necessary 
to rescind all of the July 1, 2018 Emergency Rules which 
reduced the Medicaid reimbursement rates for designated 
services and terminated certain programs and services. 
Effective immediately, upon adoption of this Emergency 
Rule, the department shall return to the provisions in place 
governing these services and programs in the Louisiana 

Administrative Code. 
Effective June 16, 2018, the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing rescinds the following 
Emergency Rules which were published in the May 20, 2018 
edition of the Louisiana Register on pages 895-904: 

1. Adult Behavioral Health Services—Termination of 
Community Psychiatric Support and Treatment Services and 
Psychosocial Rehabilitation Services (LAC 
50:XXXIII.Chapters 63 and 65); 

2. Ambulatory Surgical Centers (LAC 50:XI.Chapter 
75); 

3. Behavioral Health Services—Elimination of 
Outpatient Substance Use Disorders Services (LAC 
50:XXXIII.14101, 14303 and 14501); 

4. Disproportionate Share Hospital Payments (LAC 
50:V.2707 and 3103); 

5. Medicaid Eligibility—Medically Needy Program 
Termination (LAC 50:III.939 and 2313); 

6. Medicaid Eligibility—Provisional Medicaid 
Program Termination (LAC 50:III.2305); 

7. Medicaid Eligibility—Special Income Level 
Eligibility Termination; 

8. Nursing Facilities—Reimbursement Methodology 
(LAC 50:II.20001); 

9. Nursing Facilities—Reimbursement Methodology - 
Leave of Absence Days (LAC 50:II.10147 and 20021); and 

10. Pediatric Day Health Care Program Termination 
(LAC 50:XV.Chapters 275-281).  

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 
Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1807#001 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Nursing Facilities—Reimbursement Methodology 
Transition of Private Facilities to State-Owned or 
Operated Facilities through Change of Ownership 

(LAC 50:II.20023 and 20024) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing amends LAC 50:II.20023 and adopts LAC 
50:II.20024 in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized 
by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social 
Security Act. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R. S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act. 

In compliance with the directives of Act 933 of the 2010 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing 
currently provides reimbursement for the transition of a 
state-owned or operated nursing facility to a private nursing 
facility. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2018-2019, the department has now determined that it is 
necessary to amend the provisions governing the 
reimbursement methodology for nursing facilities in order to 
adopt provisions governing the transition of a private 
nursing facility to a state-owned or operated nursing facility 
through a change of ownership. This action is being taken to 
avoid a budget deficit in the Medical Assistance Program. It 
is estimated that implementation of this Emergency Rule 
will increase expenditures in the Medicaid Program by 
approximately $793,946 initially, but will result in a net cost 
avoidance for state fiscal year 2018-2019 which will be 
realized in state fiscal year 2019-2020.  

Effective July 5, 2018, the Department of Health, Bureau 
of Health Services Financing amends the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for nursing 
facilities. 
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Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH─MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part II.  Nursing Facilities 

Subpart 5.  Reimbursement 

Chapter 200. Reimbursement Methodology 

§20023. Transition of State-Owned or Operated Nursing 

Facility to a Private Facility 

A. - D.7. ... 
E. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
37:903 (March 2011), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 44: 

§20024. Transition of Private Nursing Facility to a State-

Owned or Operated Nursing Facility through a 

Change of Ownership 

A. Any private nursing facility that undergoes a change 
of ownership (CHOW) to a state-owned or operated nursing 
facility will be exempt from the prospective reimbursement 
system for public nursing facilities during the transitional 
period. 

1. The transitional period will be effective from the 
date of the CHOW until the July 1 rate setting period 
following when the state-owned or operated nursing facility 
has an audited or reviewed 12 month or greater cost 
reporting period available for use in rate setting. 

2. After the transitional period, the nursing facility 
will be reimbursed pursuant to the requirements of the 
prospective reimbursement system for public nursing 
facilities. 

B. Effective for dates of service on or after July 5, 2018, 
the reimbursement amount paid to a public nursing facility 
during the transitional period shall be as follows: 

1. Public nursing facilities transitioning from private 
ownership shall receive a monthly interim payment based on 
occupancy, which shall be a per diem rate of $365.68. 

2. For each cost reporting period ending during the 
transitional period a cost settlement process shall be 
performed. The cost settlement process shall ensure that 
Medicaid reimbursement for each public nursing facility 
transitioning from private ownership is equal to 100 percent 
of the nursing facility’s Medicaid allowable cost for the 
applicable cost reporting period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 44: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Public Comments 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 
Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A

copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1807#019 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 

Office of Public Health 

Added Controlled Dangerous Substances 
(LAC 46:LIII.2704) 

The Department of Health, Office of Public Health 
(LDH/OPH), pursuant to the rulemaking authority granted to 
the Secretary of LDH by R.S. 40:962(C) and (H), hereby 
adopts the following Emergency Rule for the protection of 
public health. This Rule is being promulgated in accordance 
with the Administrative Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950, et seq.), 
effective June 27, 2018, and shall remain in effect for the 
maximum period allowed under the Act or until adoption of 
a final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

Based on the criteria, factors, and guidance set forth in 
R.S. 40:962(C) and 40:963, the Secretary, under this 
rulemaking, has determined that the below listed substances 
have a high potential for abuse and should be scheduled as 
controlled dangerous substances to avoid an imminent peril 
to the public health, safety, or welfare. In reaching the 
decision to designate the below listed substances as 
controlled dangerous substances under Schedule I, the 
secretary has considered the criteria provided under R.S. 
40:963 and the specific factors listed under R.S. 40:962(C). 
The secretary has determined that Schedule I is the most 
appropriate due to her findings that the substances added 
herein have a high potential for abuse, the substances have 
no currently accepted medical use for treatment in the 
United States, and there is a lack of accepted safety for use 
of the substances under medical supervision. 

Title 46 

PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 

Part LIII.  Pharmacists 

Chapter 27. Controlled Dangerous Substances 

Subchapter A. General Provisions 

§2704. Added Controlled Dangerous Substances 

A. The following drugs or substances are added to 

Schedule I of the Louisiana Uniform Controlled Dangerous 

Substances Law, R.S. 40:961 et seq.: 
1. methoxyacetylfentanyl (2-methoxy-N-(1-

phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-phenylacetamide); 
2. para-fluorobutrylfentanyl (N-(4-fluorophenyl)-N-

[1-(2-phenylethyl)piperidin-4-yl]butanamide); 
3. tetrahydrofuranylfentanyl (N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-

phenylethyl)piperidin-4-yl]tetrahydrofuran-2-carboxamide); 
4. deschloro-N-Ethyl-ketamine (2-(ethylamino)-2-

phenyl-cyclohexanone); 
5. U-49900 (3,4-dichloro-N-[2-(diethylamino) 

cyclohexyl]-N-methyl-benzamide); 
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6. U-51754 (3,4-dichloro-N-[2-(dimethylamino) 
cyclohexyl]-N-methyl-benzeneacetamide); 

7. U-48800 (2,4-dichloro-N-[2-(dimethylamino) 
cyclohexyl]-N-methyl-benzeneacetamide). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:962, R.S. 40:963, and R.S. 49:953(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1807#021 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 

Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Closure of Spring Inshore Shrimp Season  
in a Portion of Zone 1 and Zone 2 

The secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
has been notified that the total number, geographic 
distribution and percentage of small juvenile white shrimp 
collected in biological samples within a portion of Zone 1 
and in Zone 2 have rapidly increased in recent weeks. 
Closing these waters would protect developing white 
shrimp. 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953 of the Administrative Procedure Act which allows 
the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to use emergency 
procedures to set shrimp seasons and R.S. 56:497 which 
provides that the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission shall 
fix no less than two open seasons each year for all or part of 
inside waters and a Declaration of Emergency adopted by 
the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission on May 3, 2018 
which authorized the secretary of the Department of Wildlife 
and Fisheries to close the 2018 spring inshore shrimp season 
in any portion of Louisiana’s inside waters to protect small 
white shrimp if biological and technical data indicate the 
need to do so, or enforcement problems develop, the 
secretary hereby declares: 

That portion of Shrimp Management Zone 1 in state inside 
waters from the Mississippi/Louisiana state line to the 
eastern shore of South Pass of the Mississippi River to close 
at 6 p.m. June 27, 2018 except for the following waters: 
Lake Pontchartrain, Chef Menteur and Rigolets Passes, Lake 
Borgne, the Louisiana portion of Mississippi Sound, and the 
open waters of Breton and Chandeleur Sounds as bounded 
by the double-rig line described in R.S. 56:495.1(A)2. 

That portion of Shrimp Management Zone 2 in state inside 
waters from the eastern shore of South Pass of the 
Mississippi River westward to the western shore of 
Freshwater Bayou Canal to close at 6:00 pm June 27, 2018. 

All state outside waters seaward of the Inside/Outside 
Shrimp Line, as described in R.S. 56:495 will remain open 
to shrimping until further notice. 

 
Jack Montoucet 
Secretary 

1807#005 

 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 

Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Closure of Spring Inshore Shrimp Season  
in a Portion of Zone 1 and Zone 3 

The secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
has been notified that the total number, geographic 
distribution and percentage of small juvenile white shrimp 
collected in biological samples within a portion of Zone 1 
and in Zone 3 have rapidly increased in recent weeks. 
Closing these waters would protect developing white 
shrimp. 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953 of the Administrative Procedure Act which allows 
the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to use emergency 
procedures to set shrimp seasons and R.S. 56:497 which 
provides that the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission shall 
fix no less than two open seasons each year for all or part of 
inside waters and a Declaration of Emergency adopted by 
the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission on May 3, 2018 
which authorized the Secretary of the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries to close the 2018 spring inshore 
shrimp season in any portion of Louisiana’s inside waters to 
protect small white shrimp if biological and technical data 
indicate the need to do so, or enforcement problems develop, 
the Secretary hereby declares: 

That portion of Shrimp Management Zone 1 in state inside 
waters of Lake Pontchartrain, Chef Menteur and Rigolets 
Passes, Lake Borgne, and the Louisiana portion of 
Mississippi Sound shall close on Monday, July 2, 2018, at 
6:00 p.m.  

That portion of Shrimp Management Zone 3 in state inside 
waters from the western shore of Freshwater Bayou Canal 
westward to the Louisiana/Texas state line shall close on 
Monday, July 2, 2018, at 6:00 p.m. 

The open waters of Breton and Chandeleur Sounds as 
bounded by the double-rig line described in R.S. 
56:495.1(A)2 shall remain open to shrimping until further 
notice.  

All state outside waters seaward of the Inside/Outside 
Shrimp Line, as described in R.S. 56:495 shall remain open 
to shrimping until further notice. 

 
Jack Montoucet 
Secretary 

1807#022 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 

Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Modification of the 2018 Private  
Recreational Red Snapper Season 

Louisiana’s private recreational red snapper season was 
previously set by the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission at 
its regular meeting on May 3, 2018 to be open daily
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beginning on May 25, 2018. LA creel data indicate that 
harvest rates are such that the state recreational allocation 
will be met soon without action to modify the current 
structure of the recreational season. One method to extend 
that season is to limit fishing to weekends only. 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953, which allows the Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries and the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to use 
emergency rules to set finfish seasons, R.S. 56:326.3 which 
provides that the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission may set 
seasons for saltwater finfish, and in accordance with the 
Declaration of Emergency passed by the commission on 
May 3, 2018 which set the private recreational red snapper 
season, the Commission hereby declares: 

The season for the recreational harvest of red snapper in 
Louisiana state waters shall close at 11:59 p.m. on Sunday, 
July 8, 2018, and re-open thereafter as follows: 

The recreational harvest of red snapper in Louisiana state 
waters shall be for weekends only (Friday, Saturday, and 
Sunday) on the first weekend of every month beginning with 
August 3, 2018. Size and bag limits shall remain at the 
currently established limits in LAC 76:VII.335 of 16 inches 
total length and 2 fish per person per day. This season will 
be in accordance with the provisions of the Louisiana EFP 
that allows for take within State and Federal waters out to 
200 nautical miles. 

The commission further authorizes the Secretary of the 
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, upon notification of 
the Chairman of the Commission, to modify the recreational 
season for the harvest of red snapper in accordance with the 
provisions of the Louisiana EFP when LA Creel data warrant 
a season modification to ensure compliance with the 
allocation of red snapper indicated in the Louisiana EFP.  

Any such closure shall prohibit the possession and/or 
landing of red snapper in state waters, except for federally 
permitted charter boats or commercial Individual Fishing 
Quota holders operating under federal law during federally 
established seasons and rules for those vessels.  

 
Robert J. Samanie, III 
Chairman 

1807#011 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 

Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Modification of the 2018 Private Recreational 
Red Snapper Season 

Louisiana’s private recreational red snapper season was 
previously set by the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission at 
its regular meeting on May 3, 2018 to be open daily 
beginning on May 25, 2018. The daily season was further 
modified at a June 26, 2018 special meeting to be closed on 
July 8, 2018 and re-open, for weekends only (Friday, 
Saturday, and Sunday) on the first weekend of every month 
beginning August 3, 2018. LA Creel data indicate that 
harvest rates are such that the state recreational allocation 
may not be met as soon as anticipated and more opportunity 
may be available for Louisiana anglers by extending the 
season. 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953, which allows the Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries and the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to use 
emergency rules to set finfish seasons, R.S. 56:326.3 which 
provides that the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission may set 
seasons for saltwater finfish, the Commission hereby 
declares: 

The season for the recreational harvest of red snapper in 
Louisiana state waters shall close at 11:59 p.m. on Sunday, 
July 8, 2018, and re-open thereafter as follows: 

The recreational harvest of red snapper in Louisiana state 
waters shall be for weekends only (Friday, Saturday, and 
Sunday, including the Monday of Labor Day) beginning at 
12:01 a.m. on Friday, July 13, 2018, until further notice. Size 
and bag limits shall remain at the currently established limits 
in LAC 76:VII.335 of 16 inches total length and 2 fish per 
person per day. This season will be in accordance with the 
provisions of the Louisiana EFP that allows for take within 
State and Federal waters out to 200 nautical miles. 

The commission further authorizes the Secretary of 
LDWF, upon notification of the Chairman of the 
Commission, to modify the recreational season for the 
harvest of red snapper as he deems appropriate.  

Any closure shall prohibit the possession and/or landing 
of red snapper in state waters, except for federally permitted 
charter boats or commercial Individual Fishing Quota 
holders operating under federal law during federally 
established seasons and rules for those vessels.  

 
Robert J. Samanie, III 
Chairman 

1807#024 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Workforce Commission 

Plumbing Board 

PlumbersIntroductory Information; Licenses  
(LAC 46:LV.101) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953, the Louisiana State Plumbing 
Board (board), hereby determines that the adoption of an 
Emergency Rule for the implementation of an amendment to 
LAC 46:LV.101 is necessary to be in compliance with recent 
legislative changes designated as Act No. 253 of 2018. The 
proposed Rule change clarifies applicable law to specify 
what “works or business” is excluded from the statutory 
definition of “gas fitting”, R.S. 37:1377(K). This adjustment 
will be effective upon final publication in the Louisiana 

Register. 
Title 46 

PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 

Part LV.  Plumbers 

Chapter 1. Introductory Information 

§101. Definitions 

* * * 
Gas Fitting—the work or business of installing, repairing, 

improving, altering, or removing natural gas piping, fittings, 
valves, or tanks used for conveying fuel gas for appliances
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on or in premises or in buildings annexed to immovable 
property. For purposes of this Chapter, gas fitting does not 
include the following: 

1. the installation or maintenance of piping by any 
entity of a municipal or gas district system that is subject to 
the regulatory authority of the Public Service Commission, 
the New Orleans City Council, or the Office of Pipeline 
Safety in the Department of Natural Resources; 

2. any work done by a person who is licensed by the 
Louisiana Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission or any 
other services performed pursuant to such a license. 

3.a. piping connection, disconnection, or reconnection 
from the outlet side of the appliance shutoff valve to the 
appliance inlet; 

b. the following persons or entities shall not be 
construed as a gas fitter or master gas fitter for any purpose 
of this Chapter solely due to the performance of services 
described in 3.a: 
 i. any person or business entity licensed by the 
State Licensing Board for Contractors as a mechanical 
contractor. 
 ii. any person or business entity classified under 
the heating, air conditioning, ventilation, duct work, and 
refrigeration subclassification of mechanical contractors 
pursuant to R.S. 37:2156.2. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1366(D). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Labor, 

Plumbing Board, 1968, amended and promulgated by the 
Department of Employment and Training, Plumbing Board, LR 
17:49 (January 1991), amended by the Department of Labor, 
Plumbing Board, LR 21:1348 (December 1995), LR 26:329 
(February 2000), amended by the Workforce Commission, 
Plumbing Board, LR 42:575 (April 2016). LR 43:541 (March 
2017), LR 43:972 (May 2017, LR 44:633 (March 2018), amended 
by the Workforce Commission, Plumbing Board, LR 44: 

All currently stated rules of the board, unless amended 
herein, shall remain in full force and effect. 

 
Ashley Jones Tullier 
Executive Director 

1807#027 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Abortion Facilities 
Licensing Standards 

(LAC 48:I.4431) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing amends LAC 48:I.4431 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 40:2175.1 et 
seq. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the 
maximum period allowed under the Act or until adoption of 
the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing repealed and replaced the 
provisions governing the licensing standards for abortion 

facilities in order to incorporate the changes imposed by 
legislation, and further revise and clarify those provisions 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 41, Number 4). 

Act 97 of the 2016 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature increased the time period required for certain 
pre-operative services. Act 563 of the 2016 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature provides that at least 72 hours 
before the abortion, the pregnant woman seeking an abortion 
shall be given a copy of certain printed information, 
including resources, programs and services for pregnant 
women who have a diagnosis of fetal genetic abnormality, 
and given printed information about resources, programs and 
services for infants and children born with disabilities, as 
well as other related matters. Act 593 of the 2016 Regular 
Session of the Louisiana Legislature provides for the 
disposal, by interment or cremation, of fetal remains and 
designates procedures for giving patients options for 
arrangements. The department promulgated an Emergency 
Rule which amended the provisions governing outpatient 
abortion clinics in order to comply with the provisions of 
Acts 97, 563 and 593 (Louisiana Register, Volume 42, 
Number 12).  

This Emergency Rule is being promulgated in order to 
continue the provisions of the December 3, 2016 Emergency 
Rule. This action is being taken to protect the health and 
welfare of Louisiana citizens by assuring the health and 
safety of women seeking health care services at licensed 
abortion facilities.  

Effective July 31, 2018, the Department of Health, Bureau 
of Health Services Financing amends the provisions 
governing the licensing standards for abortion facilities. 

Title 48 

PUBLIC HEALTH―GENERAL 

Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing and Certification 

Chapter 44. Abortion Facilities 

Subchapter C. Pre-operative, Intra-operative, and Post-

Operative Procedures 

§4431. Screening and Pre-Operative Services 

A. - E.1. ... 
2. Requirements 

a. Except as provided in Subparagraph b below, at 
least 72 hours prior to the pregnant woman having any part 
of an abortion performed or induced, and prior to the 
administration of any anesthesia or medication in 
preparation for the abortion on the pregnant woman, the 
physician who is to perform the abortion or a qualified 
person who is the physician’s agent shall comply with all of 
the following requirements: 
 i. perform an obstetric ultrasound on the pregnant 
woman, offer to simultaneously display the screen which 
depicts the active ultrasound images so that the pregnant 
woman may view them and make audible the fetal heartbeat, 
if present, in a quality consistent with current medical 
practice. Nothing in this Section shall be construed to 
prevent the pregnant woman from not listening to the sounds 
detected by the fetal heart monitor, or from not viewing the 
images displayed on the ultrasound screen; 
 ii. provide a simultaneous and objectively 
accurate oral explanation of what the ultrasound is depicting, 
in a manner understandable to a layperson, which shall 
include the presence and location of the unborn child within 
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the uterus and the number of unborn children depicted, the 
dimensions of the unborn child, and the presence of cardiac 
activity if present and viewable, along with the opportunity 
for the pregnant woman to ask questions; 
 iii. offer the pregnant woman the option of 
requesting an ultrasound photograph or print of her unborn 
child of a quality consistent with current standard medical 
practice that accurately portrays, to the extent feasible, the 
body of the unborn child including limbs, if present and 
viewable; 
 iv. from a form that shall be produced and made 
available by the department, staff will orally read the 
statement on the form to the pregnant woman in the 
ultrasound examination room prior to beginning the 
ultrasound examination, and obtain from the pregnant 
woman a copy of a completed, signed, and dated form; and 
 v. retain copies of the election form and 
certification prescribed above. The certification shall be 
placed in the medical file of the woman and shall be kept by 
the outpatient abortion facility for a period of not less than 
seven years. If the woman is a minor, the certification shall 
be placed in the medical file of the minor and kept for at 
least ten years from the time the minor reaches the age of 
majority. The woman's medical files shall be kept 
confidential as provided by law. 

b. If the pregnant woman certifies in writing that 
she currently lives 150 miles or more from the nearest 
licensed outpatient abortion facility that is willing and able 
to perform the abortion at the particular woman’s stage of 
pregnancy, then the physician who is to perform the abortion 
or a qualified person who is the physician’s agent shall 
comply with all of the requirements of §4431.E.2.a at least 
24 hours prior to the woman having any part of an abortion 
performed or induced. 

c. - e. Repealed. 
E.3. - G.1. ... 

a. Except as provided in Subparagraph b below, at 
least 72 hours before the abortion the physician who is to 
perform the abortion or the referring physician shall provide 
informed consent to the pregnant woman seeking an 
abortion, pursuant to all laws, rules and regulations 
regarding informed consent. The informed consent shall be 
communicated both orally and in-person, and in writing, and 
shall be provided in a private room. Documentation of all 
such informed consent provided shall be maintained in the 
patient’s medical record. 

b. If the woman certifies in writing that she 
currently lives 150 miles or more from the nearest licensed 
outpatient abortion facility that is willing and able to 
perform the abortion at the particular woman’s stage of 
pregnancy, then the physician who is to perform the abortion 
or the referring physician shall comply with all of the 
requirements of §4431.G.1 at least 24 hours prior to the 
abortion. 

1.c. - 3. ... 
a. Except as provided in Subparagraph b below, at 

least 72 hours before a scheduled abortion the physician who 
is to perform the abortion, the referring physician, or a 
qualified person shall inform the pregnant woman seeking 
an abortion, orally and in-person that: 

i. - iv. ... 

b. If the woman certifies in writing that she 
currently lives 150 miles or more from the nearest licensed 
outpatient abortion facility that is willing and able to 
perform the abortion at the particular woman’s stage of 
pregnancy, then the physician who is to perform the abortion 
the referring physician, or a qualified person shall comply 
with all of the requirements of §4431.G.3 at least 24 hours 
prior to the abortion. 

4. ... 
a. At least 72 hours before the abortion, the 

pregnant woman seeking an abortion shall be given a copy 
of the printed materials, pursuant to any applicable state 
laws, rules, and regulations, by the physician who is to 
perform the abortion, the referring physician, or a qualified 
person. These printed materials shall include any printed 
materials necessary for a voluntary and informed consent, 
pursuant to R.S. 40:1061.17. However, if the pregnant 
woman certifies in writing that she currently lives 150 miles 
or more from the nearest licensed outpatient abortion facility 
that is willing and able to perform the abortion at the 
particular woman’s stage of pregnancy, she shall be given a 
copy of the printed materials at least 24 hours prior to an 
elective abortion procedure by the physician who is to 
perform the abortion or a qualified person as defined in R.S. 
40:1061.17(B)(4)(c). 

i. - NOTE. Repealed. 
b. At least 72 hours before the abortion, the 

pregnant woman or minor female considering an abortion 
shall be given a copy of the department’s Point of Rescue 
pamphlet and any other materials described in R.S. 
40:1061.16 by the physician who is to perform the abortion 
or a qualified person as defined in R.S. 40:1061.17(B)(4)(c), 
except in the case of medical emergency defined by 
applicable state laws. However, if the pregnant woman or 
minor female considering an abortion certifies in writing that 
she currently lives 150 miles or more from the nearest 
licensed outpatient abortion facility that is willing and able 
to perform the abortion at the particular woman’s stage of 
pregnancy, she shall be given a copy of these printed 
materials at least 72 hours prior to an elective abortion 
procedure by the physician who is to perform the abortion or 
a qualified person as defined in R.S. 40:1061.17(B)(4)(c), 
except in the case of medical emergency defined by 
applicable state laws. 
 i. The physician or qualified person shall provide 
to the woman, or minor female seeking an abortion, such 
printed materials individually and in a private room for the 
purpose of ensuring that she has an adequate opportunity to 
ask questions and discuss her individual circumstances. 
 ii. The physician or qualified person shall obtain 
the signature of the woman or minor female seeking an 
abortion on a form certifying that the printed materials were 
given to the woman or minor female. 
 iii. In the case of a minor female considering an 
abortion, if a parent accompanies the minor female to the 
appointment, the physician or qualified person shall provide 
to the parent copies of the same materials given to the 
female. 
 iv. The signed certification form shall be kept 
within the medical record of the woman or minor female for 
a period of at least seven years. 
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c. At least 72 hours before the abortion, the 
pregnant woman seeking an abortion shall be given a copy 
of a printed informational document including resources, 
programs and services for pregnant women who have a 
diagnosis of fetal genetic abnormality and resources, 
programs and services for infants and children born with 
disabilities. However, if the pregnant woman certifies in 
writing that she currently lives 150 miles or more from the 
nearest licensed outpatient abortion facility that is willing 
and able to perform the abortion at the particular woman’s 
stage of pregnancy, she shall be given a copy of these 
printed materials at least 24 hours prior to an elective 
abortion procedure by the physician who is to perform the 
abortion or a qualified person as defined in R.S. 
40:1061.17(B)(4)(c). 

d. If the pregnant woman seeking an abortion is 
unable to read the materials, the materials shall be read to 
her. If the pregnant woman seeking an abortion asks 
questions concerning any of the information or materials, 
answers shall be provided to her in her own language. 

 
NOTE: The provisions of this Section requiring a physician or 
qualified person to provide required printed materials to a 
woman considering an abortion shall become effective 30 
days after the department publishes a notice of the availability 
of such materials. 
 

5. ... 
a. Prior to the abortion, the outpatient abortion 

facility shall ensure the pregnant woman seeking an abortion 
has certified, in writing on a form provided by the 
department that the information and materials required were 
provided at least 72 hours prior to the abortion, or at least 24 
hours prior to the abortion in the case of a woman who has 
given prior certification in writing that she currently lives 
150 miles or more from the nearest licensed outpatient 
abortion facility that is willing and able to perform the 
abortion at the particular woman’s stage of pregnancy. This 
form shall be maintained in the woman’s medical record. 

b. ... 
c. The pregnant woman seeking an abortion is not 

required to pay any amount for the abortion procedures until 
the 72-hour period has expired, or until expiration of the 24-
hour period applicable in the case of a woman who has given 
prior certification in writing that she currently lives 150 
miles or more from the nearest licensed outpatient abortion 
facility that is willing and able to perform the abortion at the 
particular woman’s stage of pregnancy. 

6. - 7.b. ... 

8. Disposition of Fetal Remains 
a. Each physician who performs or induces an 

abortion which does not result in a live birth shall ensure that 
the remains of the fetus are disposed of by interment or 
cremation, in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 8:651 
et seq., and the provisions of LAC 51:XXVI.102 of the 
Sanitary Code. 

b. Prior to an abortion, the physician shall orally 
and in writing inform the pregnant woman seeking an 
abortion in the licensed abortion facility that the pregnant 
woman has the following options: 
 i. the option to make arrangements for the 
disposition and/or disposal of fetal remains by interment or 
cremation, in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 8:651 
et seq.; or 
 ii. the option to have the outpatient abortion 
facility/physician make the arrangements for the disposition 
and/or disposal of fetal remains by interment or cremation, 
in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 8:651 et seq. 

c. The pregnant woman shall sign a consent form 
attesting that she has been informed of these options, and 
shall indicate on the form whether she wants to make 
arrangements for the disposition of fetal remains or whether 
she wants the facility to make arrangements for the 
disposition and/or disposal of fetal remains. 

d. the requirements of §4431.G.8 regarding 
dispositions of fetal remains, shall not apply to abortions 
induced by the administration of medications when the 
evacuation of any human remains occurs at a later time and 
not in the presence of the inducing physician or at the 
facility in which the physician administered the inducing 
medications. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2175.1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:700 (April 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 44: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Cecile 
Castello, Health Standards Section, P.O. Box 3767, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70821 or by email to MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. 
Ms. Castello is responsible for responding to inquiries 
regarding this Emergency Rule. A copy of this Emergency 
Rule is available for review by interested parties at parish 
Medicaid offices. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1807#049 
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Rules 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 

Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences 

Structural Pest Control Commission 

Structural Pest Control (LAC 7:XXV.Chapter 1) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., and pursuant to the authority set forth in R.S. 
3:1652, the Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
(department), through the Office of Agricultural and 
Environmental Sciences and Structural Pest Control 
Commission, has amended the rules set forth herein. The 
amendments to §101 define and clarify regulated terms used 
by the structural pest control industry. The amendments to 
§107 add the following requirements for those applying to 
become a structural pest control licensee: that the required 
four years of work experience shall be within the past six 
years, applicants for structural fumigation shall have 
completed a minimum of 30 jobs before applying, and 
applicants for ship fumigation shall have completed a 
minimum of 200 jobs before applying. The amendments to 
§113 change the time period for registered technicians to 
complete their continuing education requirements from July 
1-June 30 to January 1-December 31. The amendments to 
§117 clarify the timeframe in which licensees shall make 
records available to LDAF employees and the requirements 
for fumigation records. The amendments to §147 clarifies 
requirements for fumigation equipment calibration. This 
Rule is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 7 

AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XXV.  Structural Pest Control 

Chapter 1. Structural Pest Control Commission  

§101. Definitions 

A. The definitions in R.S. 3:3362 are applicable to this 
Part. 

B. The following words and terms are defined for the 
purposes of this Part. 

* * * 
Termites―all species of the order Isoptera which infest 

timbers and/or other materials containing cellulose in 
buildings and/or contents thereof, subdivided into two 
groups according to their habits, as follows. 

a. Subterranean Termites―all species of termites 
which make tubes, but not pellets, and normally require 
contact with soil; especially species of the genera 
Reticulitermes and Coptotermes. 

b. Dry-Wood Termites―any of various termites that 
live and feed in dry wood without a soil connection and 
includes some which are destructive pests in domestic 
constructions, of the genera Kalotermes, Cryptotermes and 
Incisitermes. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3362 and R.S. 3:3366. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 11:323 (April 
1985), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 15:954 (November 1989), 
17:251 (March 1991), LR 23:855 (July 1997), LR 30:1143 (June 
2004), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences, LR 31:26 
(January 2005), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 32:796 (May 
2006), repromulgated LR 32:1015 (June 2006), amended LR 33:39 
(January 2007), LR 35:204 (February 2009), LR 35:1468 (August 
2009), LR 37:272 (January 2011), amended by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agriculture and Environmental 
Sciences, Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 39:300 
(February 2013), LR 41:333 (February 2015), LR 42:213 (February 
2016), LR 44:1235 (July 2018). 

§107. License to Engage in Structural Pest Control 

Work Required 

A. No person shall perform structural pest control work 
until licensed and permitted to do so by the commission. 

B. Each applicant for license shall possess one of the 
following qualifications in order to take the examination(s): 

1. general pest control commercial vertebrate control 
and commodity fumigation: 

a. a degree from an accredited four-year college or 
university with a major in entomology; or 

b. a degree from an accredited four-year college or 
university with at least 12 semester hours or the equivalent 
in quarter hours of course work in entomology and at least 
one year of experience within the last six years as a 
registered technician under the supervision of a licensee in 
the licensee phase for which the applicant desires to take the 
examination; or 

c. four years of experience within the last six years 
as a registered technician under the supervision of a licensee 
in the licensee phase for which the applicant desires to take 
the examination; or 

d. four years of experience within the last six years 
as a technician under the supervision of a structural pest 
control operator in another state in the licensee phase for 
which the individual desires to take the examinations. 
Experience with an out-of-state structural pest control 
operator shall be substantiated by evidence acceptable to the 
commission; 

2. termite control: 
a. a degree from an accredited four-year college or 

university with a major in entomology and complete a 
commission approved comprehensive termite program; or 

b. a degree from an accredited four-year college or 
university with at least 12 semester hours or the equivalent 
in quarter hours of course work in entomology and at least 
one year of experience within the last six years as a 
registered technician under the supervision of a licensee in 
the licensee phase for which the applicant desires to take the 
examination and complete a commission approved 
comprehensive termite program; or 

c. four years of experience within the last six years 
as a registered technician under the supervision of a licensee
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in the licensee phase for which the applicant desires to take 
the examination and complete a commission approved 
comprehensive termite program; or 

d. four years of experience within the last six years 
as a technician under the supervision of a structural pest 
control operator in another state in the licensee phase for 
which the individual desires to take the examinations and 
complete a commission approved comprehensive termite 
program. Experience with an out-of-state structural pest 
control operator shall be substantiated by evidence 
acceptable to the commission; 

3. structural fumigation: 
a. a degree from an accredited four-year college or 

university with a major in entomology and having completed 
30 jobs in structural fumigation within the last six years, as a 
registered technician under the supervision of a licensee in 
structural fumigation; or 

b. a degree from an accredited four-year college or 
university with at least 12 semester hours or the equivalent 
in quarter hours of course work in entomology and at least 
one year of experience within the last six years, having 
completed 30 jobs in structural fumigation as a registered 
technician under the supervision of a licensee in structural 
fumigation; or 

c. four years of experience within the last six years, 
having completed 30 jobs in structural fumigation as a 
registered technician under the supervision of a licensee in 
structural fumigation; or 

d. four years of experience within the last six years, 
having completed 30 jobs in structural fumigation as a 
technician under the supervision of a structural pest control 
operator in another state in the licensee phase for which the 
individual desires to take the examinations. Experience with 
an out-of-state structural pest control operator shall be 
substantiated by evidence acceptable to the commission. 

C. Each applicant for a ship fumigation license shall 
possess one of the following qualifications in order to take 
the examination: 

1. a degree from an accredited four-year college or 
university with a major in entomology and having completed 
200 jobs in ship fumigation working under the supervision 
of a licensee in ship fumigation; or 

2. a degree from an accredited four-year college or 
university with at least 12 semester hours or the equivalent 
in quarter hours of course work in entomology and at least 
one year of experience, having completed 200 jobs in ship 
fumigation within the last six years as a registered technician 
under the supervision of a licensee in ship fumigation; or 

3. experience as a registered technician having 
completed 200 jobs in ship fumigation, working under the 
supervision of a licensee in ship fumigation, during a two-
year period within the last six years; 

4. four years of experience, having completed 200 
jobs in ship fumigation within the last six years as a 
technician under the supervision of a structural pest control 
operator in another state in ship fumigation. Experience with 
an out-of-state structural pest control operator shall be 
substantiated by evidence acceptable to the commission. 

D. - F.3. … 

G. Out-of-state applicants for licensure shall meet the 
educational requirements shown in Paragraph B.1 of this 
Section or produce evidence satisfactory to the commission 
of four years of experience within the last six years, under 
the supervision of a recognized and reputable pest control 
operator. Experience in pest control work in another state 
will be verified with the appropriate regulatory agency of the 
other state before out-of-state applicant will be allowed to 
take the examination for licensure in Louisiana. 

H. - R. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3366 and 3:3368. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 11:326 (April 
1985), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 15:955 (November 1989), 
LR 19:1009 (August 1993), LR 23:855 (July 1997), LR 23:1493 
(November 1997), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, 
Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 31:2761 (November 
2005), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 32:796 (May 2006), 
repromulgated LR 32:1016 (June 2006), amended LR 37:276 
(January 2011), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, 
Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 42:213 (February 2016), 
LR 44:1235 (July 2018). 

§113. Registration of Employees; Duties of Licensee 

and Registered Employee with Respect to 

Registration 

A. - O. … 
P. Each registered technician shall participate in an 

entire continuing education program as a condition of 
maintaining his or her status as a registered technician at 
least once annually (January 1 to December 31). 

1. - 3. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3366, 3368, and 3369. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 11:327(April 
1985), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 15:956 (November 1989), 
LR 32:797 (May 2006), repromulgated LR 32:1016 (June 2006), 
amended LR 35:207 (February 2009), LR 37:279 (January 2011), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 
Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Structural Pest Control 
Commission, LR 39:301 (February 2013), LR 42:213 (February 
2016), LR 44:1236 (July 2018). 

§117. Obligations of the Licensee/Permittee 

A. - G. … 
H. Any person applying pesticides for a fee and the 

permittee or the primary licensee shall maintain records 
according to LAC 7:XXV.117.H, at the physical address 
listed on the place of business permit of all applications of 
pesticides on a record keeping form or in a format approved 
by the director of Pesticide and Environmental Programs of 
the department. These records shall be retained for a period 
of two years after the date of the pesticide application for 
ship and commodity fumigation, general pest control and 
commercial vertebrate control and a period of two years 
after the expiration of applicable contracts for termite and 
other wood destroying insect control. The licensee shall
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make a copy of these records available to any employee of 
the department for inspection during normal working hours 
within 48 hours upon notification, excluding legal holidays. 

1. - 3.m. … 

* * * 
n. applicator, department I.D. number; and 
o. fumigation instrument calibration. 

H.4. - Q. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3366 and 3:3368. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 11:327 (April 
1985), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Structural Pest Control Commission, LR15:956 (November 1989), 
LR 21:930 (September 1985), :R 23:855 (July 1997), LR 26:2437 
(November 2000), LR 29:1062 (July 2003), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural and 
Environmental Sciences, Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 
30:196 (February 2004), LR 31:2761 (November 2005), LR 
35:1468 (August 2009), LR 37:280 (January 2011), LR 39:301 
(February 2013), LR 42:214 (February 2016), LR 44:1236 (July 
2018). 

§147. Fumigation 

A. - A.6. … 
7. The licensee shall have all gas detection/monitoring 

instruments for the fumigant being used properly calibrated 
to meet manufacturer standards prior to the application of 
the fumigant. 

B. - D.5. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3306. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 
11:332 (April 1985), amended LR 17:251 (March 1991), LR 
37:293 (January 2011), LR 44:1237 (July 2018). 

 
Mike Strain, DVM 
Commissioner 

1807#047 

 
RULE 

Department of Civil Service 

Board of Ethics 

Food and Drink Limit (LAC 52:I.1703) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of Civil 
Service, Louisiana Board of Ethics, has amended the rules 
for the Board of Ethics to bring the rules into compliance 
with current statutory provisions and section 1115.1C of the 
Code of Governmental Ethics. This Rule is hereby adopted 
on the day of promulgation. 

Title 52 

ETHICS 

Part I.  Board of Ethics 

Chapter 17. Code of Governmental Ethics 

§1703. Food and Drink Limit 

A. In accordance with R.S. 42:1115.1(C), beginning on 
July 1, 2018, the limit for food, drink or refreshments 
provided in R.S. 42:1115.1(A) and (B) is $61. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:1115.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Civil 
Service, Board of Ethics, LR 36:304 (February 2010), amended LR 
36:1466 (July 2010), LR 38:1951 (August 2012), LR 39:3062 
(November 2013) LR 40:1678 (September 2014), LR 41:1262 (July 
2015), LR 44:1237 (July 2018). 

 
Kathleen M. Allen 
Ethics Administrator 

1807#032 

 
RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 118―Statewide Assessment 
Standards and Practices (LAC 28:XI.6913) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education (BESE) has amended Bulletin 118―Statewide 

Assessment Standards and Practices: §6913, Performance 
Standards, regarding LEAP connect scaled score ranges. 
This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 28 

EDUCATION 

Part XI.  Accountability/Testing 

Subpart 3.  Bulletin 118―Statewide Assessment 

Standards and Practices 

Chapter 69. LEAP Alternate Assessment, Level 1 

Subchapter D. Alternate Achievement Levels and 

Performance Standards 

§6913. Performance Standards 

[Formerly LAC 28:CXI.1913] 

A. … 
B. LAA 1 Alternate Achievement Levels and Scaled-

Score Growth Ranges 
1. English Language Arts and Mathematics Scaled 

Score Ranges 
a. English Language Arts 
 

Performance 

Level 

English Language Arts 

Grade 

3 

Grade 

4 

Grade 

5 

Grade 

6 

Grade 

7 

Grade 

8 

Grade 

11 

Level 4 

1251-
1290 

1258-
1290 

1256-
1290 

1253-
1290 

1255-
1290 

1250-
1290 

1255-
1290 

Level 3 

1240-
1250 

1240-
1257 

1240-
1255 

1240-
1252 

1240-
1254 

1240-
1249 

1240-
1254 

Level 2 

1234-
1239 

1234-
1239 

1232-
1239 

1231-
1239 

1236-
1239 

1230-
1239 

1236-
1239 

Level 1 

1200-
1233 

1200-
1233 

1200-
1231 

1200-
1230 

1200-
1235 

1200-
1229 

1200-
1235 

 
b. Mathematics 
 

Performance 

Level 

Mathematics 

Grade 

3 

Grade 

4 

Grade 

5 

Grade 

6 

Grade 

7 

Grade 

8 

Grade 

11 

Level 4 

1254-
1290 

1251-
1290 

1255-
1290 

1249-
1290 

1254-
1290 

1249-
1290 

1249-
1290 

Level 3 

1240-
1253 

1240-
1250 

1240-
1254 

1240-
1248 

1240-
1253 

1240-
1248 

1240-
1248 

Level 2 

1236-
1239 

1233-
1239 

1231-
1239 

1234-
1239 

1232-
1239 

1234-
1239 

1234-
1239 

Level 1 

1200-
1235 

1200-
1232 

1200-
1230 

1200-
1233 

1200-
1231 

1200-
1233 

1200-
1233 
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2. … 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4(F)(3) and R.S. 17:183.1-17:183.3. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, Office 
of Student and School Performance, LR 33:426 (March 2007), 
amended LR 35:209 (February 2009), amended by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 44:472 (March 2018), 
LR 44:1237 (July 2018). 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

1807#023 

 
RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 

Office of the Secretary 

Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division 

Fee Increase (LAC 33:I.1203 and 1911; III.211, 223, 307, 
309, and 319; V.5123 and 5139; and IX.1309)(MM020) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary has amended the nonapplicable regulations, LAC 
33:I.1203 and 1911; III.211, 223, 307, 309, and 319; V.5123 
and 5139; and IX.1309 (MM020). 

This Rule provides for miscellaneous amendments and 
corrections neceassary for fee changes authorized by Act 
451 of the 2016 Regular Legislative Session. This Act 
authorized certain fee increases, new fees and other changes 
to the regulations pertaining to fees. This Rule is required to 
correct errors found during the implementation of MM018, 
the original fee increase Rule. The basis and rationale for 
this Rule are to implement the fee changes authorized in Act 
451 of the 2016 Regular Legislative Session. This Rule 
meets an exception listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) and R.S. 
49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report regarding environmental/ 
health benefits and social/economic costs is required. This 
Rule is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 33 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part I.  Office of the Secretary 

Subpart 1.  Departmental Administrative Procedures 

Chapter 12. Requests for Review of Environmental 

Conditions  

§1203. Procedure for Submittal of Request 

A. All requests for reviews by the department of reports 
of environmental conditions shall be accompanied by an 
initial $1,650 minimum fee. 

A.1. - E.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and specifically 2011(D)(25), and R.S. 
49:316.1(A)(2)(a) and (c). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 33:447 (March 2007), amended LR 33:2079 (October 
2007), LR 35:2178 (October 2009), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Division, LR 38:2749 (November 2012), amended 

by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal 
Investigations Division, LR43:2136 (November 2017), LR 44:1238 
(July 2018). 

 

Chapter 19. Facility Name and Ownership/Operator 

Changes Process 

§1911. Fees for Name and Ownership/Operator 

Changes 

A. Notifications of name or ownership/operator changes 
at a facility shall be submitted by the new owner or operator 
with the appropriate fees. The fees listed below cover the 
cost of reviewing, evaluating, and processing a name or 
ownership/operator change that has occurred at the facility. 

 

Name and Ownership/Operator Change Fees 

Program  LAC Citation for Fee 

Air  LAC 33:III.223, Fee Number 2000  

Solid Waste: Type I, I-A, II, and 
II-A Facilities  

LAC 33.VII.1501.C 
(N/A for name change alone) 

Solid Waste: Type III Facilities or 
Beneficial Use Facilities  

LAC 33.VII.1501.D 
(N/A for name change alone) 

LPDES 
LAC 33:IX.1309.D.4 
(N/A for name change alone) 

 
B. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and R.S. 49:316.1(A)(2)(a) and (c). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 31:2429 (October 2005), amended LR 35:2178 
(October 2009), LR 36:2552 (November 2010), amended by the 
Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations 
Division, LR 44:1238 (July 2018). 

Part III.  Air 

Chapter 2. Rules and Regulations for the Fee System 

of the Air Quality Control Programs 

§211. Methodology 

A. - B.13.d. … 
 i. if the minor modification fee is greater than 
$2,000, then the minimum minor modification fee is equal to 
25 percent of the minor modification fee; and 
 ii. if the minor modification fee is $500 to $2,000, 
then the minimum minor modification fee is $500. 

13.e. - 15.b. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended LR 
14:611 (September 1988), amended by the Office of Air Quality 
and Radiation Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 17:1205 
(December 1991), LR 18:706 (July 1992), LR 19:1419 (November 
1993), amended by the Office of Management and Finance, Fiscal 
Services Division, LR 22:17 (January 1996), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 26:264 (February 2000), LR 26:2444 (November 
2000), LR 29:2776 (December 2003), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2435 (October 2005), LR 
33:2082 (October 2007), LR 33:2620 (December 2007), LR 
37:1145 (April 2011), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Division, LR 43:935 (May 2017), amended by the Office of 
the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, 
LR 44:1238 (July 2018). 

 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 44, No. 07   July 20, 2018 1239

§223. Fee Schedule Listing 

A. Table 1Fee Schedule Listing 
 

Table 1 

Fee Schedule Listing 

Fee 

Number 
Air Contaminant Source SICC 

Annual 

Maintenance 

Fee 

New Permit 

Application 

Fee 

Modified Permit Fees 

Major Minor 

* * * 

0050  Natural Gas Liquids per Unit  1321 
MIN. 

$417.00 $2,082.00 $1,248.00 $417.00 
$500.00 

* * * 

0410 Commercial Printing: Color per Press 2752 
MIN. 

$416.00 
$2,053.00 

$2,079.00 
$10,274.00 

$1,249.00 
$6,164.00 

$416.00 
$2,053.00 

* * * 

0590  Charcoal per Oven  2861 
MIN. 

$417.00 $2,082.00 $1,248.00 $417.00 
$500.00 

* * * 

0775  Plastics Injection Moulding and Extrusion per Line  3079 
MIN. 

$417.00 $2,082.00 $1,248.00 $417.00 
$500.00 

* * * 

0990 Secondary Smelting of Non-Ferrous Metals per Furnace 3341 
MIN. 

$1,248.00 
$2,569.00 

$6,241.00 
$12,843.00 

$3,745.00 
$7,706.00 

$1,248.00 
$2,569.00 

* * * 

1010 Aluminum Foundries (Castings) per Unit 3361 
MIN. 

$332.00 $1,665.00 $997.00 $332.00 
$500.00 

1020  Brass/Bronze/Copper-Based Alloy Foundry per Furnace  3362 
MIN. 

$417.00 $2,082.00 $1,248.00 $417.00 
$500.00 

* * * 

1130 Painting Topcoat per Line 3479 
MIN. 

$417.00 $2,082.00 $1,248.00 $417.00 
$500.00 

1140 Potting per Line 3479 
MIN. 

$250.00 $1,248.00 $748.00 $250.00 
$500.00 

1150 Soldering per Line 3479 
MIN. 

$250.00 $1,248.00 $748.00 $250.00 
$500.00 

* * * 

1430 
*Note 
11* 

Natural Gas Comp per 100 H.P. (Turbines)  4922 
MIN. 

$8.29 
$250.00 

$41.58 
$500.00 

$24.95 
$500.00 

$8.29 
$500.00 

* * * 

1500  
*Note 
10* 

Coal Gassification per $100,000 Capital Cost 4925 
MIN. 
MAX. 

$8.29 
$1,317.00 
$66,614.00 

$41.58 
$6,587.00 

$333,067.00 

$24.95 
$3,952.00 

$199,840.00 

$8.29 
$1,317.00 
$66,614.00 

1510 
*Note 
10* 

Co-Generation per $100,000 Capital Cost 4939 
MIN. 
MAX. 

$8.29 
$1,317.00 
$41,612.00 

$41.58 
$6,587.00 

$208,060.00 

$24.95 
$3,952.00 

$124,836.00 

$8.29 
$1,317.00 
$41,612.00 

1520 Incinerators: A) 1,000 Lb/Hr and Greater Capacity 4953 $526.00 $2,634.00 $1,580.00 $526.00 

* * * 

1525 Sanitary Landfill per Million Mg of Planned Capacity 4953 
MIN. 

$146.00 
$291.00 

$726.00 
$1,452.00 

$436.00 
$872.00 

$146.00 
$500.00 

* * * 

1540 Steam Gen. Units per 1000 Lb/Hr Steam Cap: Natural Gas or Comb 
Non-Fossil Fuels 

4961 
MIN. 

$2.06 
$341.00 

$10.41 
$1,712.00 

$6.22 
$1,027.00 

$2.06 
$500.00 

* * * 

 

B. Table 2Additional Fees 
 

Table 2 

Additional Fees 

Fee 

Number 
Fee Description Amount 

2000 
*Note 
22* 

Name and Company Ownership/Operator Changes under LAC 33:I.Chapter 19 $500.00 

2010 The Issuance or Denial of Variances, and Permit Exemptions. The fee for a variance shall be waived for sources operating under an air 
permit. 

$500.00 

* * * 
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Table 2 

Additional Fees 

Fee 

Number 
Fee Description Amount 

2300 
*Note 
14* 

Criteria Pollutant Annual Fee per Ton Emitted on an Annual Basis  
(Non-Title V Facility): 
Nitrogen oxides (NOx) 
Sulfur dioxide (SO2) 
Non-toxic organic (VOC) 
Particulate (PM10) 

$14.11/ton 

2310 
*Note 
14* 

Criteria Pollutant Annual Fee per Ton Emitted on an Annual Basis  
(Title V Facility): 
Nitrogen oxides (NOx) 
Sulfur dioxide (SO2) 
Non-toxic organic (VOC) 
Particulate (PM10) 

$14.11/ton 

* * * 

 
NOTE: Explanatory Notes for Fee Schedule 

NOTE 1. - NOTE 22. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2054, 2341, and 2351 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended LR 
14:613 (September 1988), LR 15:735 (September 1989), amended 
by the Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Air Quality 
Division, LR 17:1205 (December 1991), repromulgated LR 18:31 
(January 1992), amended LR 18:706 (July 1992), LR 18:1256 
Section 223 Section 223 Title 33, Part III 32 October 2017 
Environmental Regulatory Code (November 1992), LR 19:1373 
(October 1993), LR 19:1420 (November 1993), LR 19:1564 
(December 1993), LR 20:421 (April 1994), LR 20:1263 
(November 1994), LR 21:22 (January 1995), LR 21:782 (August 
1995), LR 21:942 (September 1995), repromulgated LR 21:1080 
(October 1995), amended LR 21:1236 (November 1995), LR 
23:1496, 1499 (November 1997), LR 23:1662 (December 1997), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:267 (February 2000), LR 
26:485 (March 2000), LR 26:1606 (August 2000), repromulgated 
LR 27:192 (February 2001), amended LR 29:672 (May 2003), LR 
29:2042 (October 2003), LR 30:1475 (July 2004), amended by the 
Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 33:2620 
(December 2007), LR 34:2560 (December 2008), LR 37:1145 
(April 2011), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Division, LR 43:936 (May 2017), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 
44:1239 (July 2018). 

Chapter 3. Regulatory Permits 

§307. Regulatory Permit for Oil and Gas Well Testing 

A. - F.3. … 
G. In accordance with LAC 33:III.Chapter 2, the fee for 

this regulatory permit shall be $500. There shall be no 
annual maintenance fee associated with this regulatory 
permit. 

H. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 35:457 (March 2009), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43:942 (May 2017), amended by the 
Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations 
Division, LR 43:1898 (October 2017), LR 44:1240 (July 2018). 

§309. Regulatory Permit for Release of Natural Gas 

from Pipelines and Associated Equipment 

A. - H.3. … 

I. In accordance with LAC 33:III.Chapter 2, the fee for 
this regulatory permit shall be $500. There shall be no 
annual maintenance fee associated with this regulatory 
permit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 35:458 (March 2009), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43:942 (May 2017), amended by the 
Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations 
Division, LR 44:1240 (July 2018). 

§319. Regulatory Permit for Flaring of Materials 

Other than Natural Gas 

A. - H.2.c. … 
I. In accordance with LAC 33:III.223, Table 1, the fee 

for this regulatory permit shall be $500. There shall be no 
annual maintenance fee associated with this regulatory 
permit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2054.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
39:1039 (April 2013), LR 43:942 (May 2017), amended by the 
Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations 
Division, LR 44:1240 (July 2018). 

Part V.  Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Materials 

Subpart 1.  Department of Environmental Quality—

Hazardous Waste 

Chapter 51. Fee Schedules 

§5111. Treaters, Storers, and/or Disposers Application 

Fees 

A. The applicant is required to calculate the appropriate 
application fee and, if applicable, siting fee according to the 
schedule included in the permit application form. Payment 
shall be made in accordance with the requirements of LAC 
33:V.5127. 

B. Application Fee Schedule 
 

Item Fee 

Site Analysis—per acre site size $4131 

Process and Plan Analysis $1,650 

Facility Analysis—per unit2 $825 

Management/Financial Analysis $1,650 

[Note: Fee equals total of the four items.] 
1 Up to 100 acres, no additional fee thereafter. 
2 Incinerator, land farm, treatment pond, etc., each counted as a unit. 
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C. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2014 et seq., and R.S. 49:316.1(A)(2)(a) and (c). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 
11:533 (May 1985), LR 12:318 (May 1986), LR 12:676 (October 
1986), LR 13:433 (August 1987), LR 18:724 (July 1992), amended 
by the Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental 
Planning Division, LR 27:288 (March 2001), LR 29:685 (May 
2003), LR 29:2048 (October 2003), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 35:2179 (October 2009), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43:943 
(May 2017), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 44:1240 (July 2018). 

§5119. Treaters, Storers, and/or Disposers Annual 

Maintenance Fees 

A. Fee per Facility 

 

Off-Site Disposer (Commercial) $131,670 

Reclaimer (compensated for waste removed) $57,750 

Reclaimer (uncompensated for waste removed or pays for 
waste removed) 

$41,250 

Off-Site Disposer (Noncommercial) $33,000 

On-Site Disposer $16,500 

NOTE: The higher fee for off-site disposal is due to the cost of 
the manifest system and emergency response to transport 
spills (neither cost is applicable to on-site disposers) 

 

B. Fee per Hazardous Waste Unit Type 
 

Unit Type Fee 

Storage: 

  Container/Tank/Waste Pile/etc. $5,400 

Treatment: 

  Incinerator/Boiler/Industrial Furnace/Filtration Unit/etc. $8,695 

Disposal: 

  Landfill/Miscellaneous Unit/etc. $13,645 

 
C. - H.2. … 

* * * 
I. Formula to Apportion Fees 
 

Annual Maintenance Fee = Fee per Facility + Fee per Unit + Fee based 
on Volume + Administrative Cost Fee + Land Disposal Prohibitions 
Fee + Groundwater Protection Annual Fee + Incineration Inspection 
and Monitoring Fee + Boiler/Industrial Furnace Inspection and 
Monitoring Fee + Annual Landfill Inspection and Monitoring Fee + 
Annual Land Treatment Unsaturated Zone Monitoring Inspection Fee 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2014 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 
11:533 (May 1985), LR 12:318 (May 1986), LR 12:676 (October 
1986), LR 13:433 (August 1987), LR 15:378 (May 1989), LR 
16:684 (August 1990), LR 16:1057 (December 1990), LR 18:723 
(July 1992), LR 18:1375 (December 1992), amended by the Office 
of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, 
LR 29:685 (May 2003), LR 29:2049 (October 2003), amended by 
the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 35:2179 
(October 2009), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Division, LR 43:943 (May 2017), amended by the Office of the

Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 
44:1241 (July 2018). 

§5123. Annual Fee for Facilities with Closed Hazardous 

Waste Units in Post Closure 

A. Post Closure Annual Fee. This is an annual fee 
applied to defray the cost of annually inspecting the facilities 
with closed hazardous waste units in post-closure care and 
with no operating unit/permit. This fee shall be $4,125 
annually. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2014 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
43:945 (May 2017), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 44:1241 (July 
2018). 

§5139. Groundwater Protection Permit Review Fee 

A. … 

* * * 
B. Oversight of Abandonment Procedures. This fee 

covers the cost of reviewing plans to plug and abandon all 
permitted groundwater monitoring systems (monitoring 
wells, piezometers, observations wells, and recovery wells) 
to ensure that they do not pose a potential threat to 
groundwater: 

1. casing pulled$146 each; 

2. casing reamed out$291 each; 

3. casing left in place$726 each. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

30:2014 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Groundwater Division, LR 14:621 (September 1988), amended LR 
16:685 (August 1990), amended by the Hazardous Waste Division, 
LR 18:725 (July 1992), LR 18:1256 (November 1992), amended by 
the Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 29:687 (May 2003), LR 29:2050 (October 2003), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43:945 
(May 2017), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 44:1241 (July 2018). 

Part IX.  Water Quality 

Subpart 1.  Water Pollution Control 

Chapter 13. Louisiana Water Pollution Control Fee 

System Regulation 

§1309. Fee System 

A. - M.3. … 
N. Other Fees 
 

Permit Type Amount 

Gen-LAG 03-Barge Cleaner  I: $380 
II: $2,750  
III: $5,500  
IV: $11,000  

* * * 

Gen-LAR10-Construction  $291  

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and in particular Section 2014(B), and R.S. 
49:316.1(A)(2)(a) and (c).  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Water Resources, LR 11:534 
(May 1985), amended LR 14:626 (September 1988), LR 18:731
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(July 1992), LR 21:798 (August 1995), amended by the Office of 
Management and Finance, Fiscal Services Division, LR 22:19 
(January 1996), amended by the Office of Water Resources, LR 
24:326 (February 1998), amended by the Office of Management 
and Finance, Fiscal Services Division, LR 25:427 (March 1999), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:689 (May 2003), LR 
29:2052 (October 2003), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs Division, LR 35:1493 (August 2009), LR 35:2181 
(October 2009), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Division, LR 43:948 (May 2017), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 
44:1241 (July 2018). 

 
Herman Robinson 
General Counsel 

1807#017 

 
RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 

Office of the Secretary 

Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division 

Stage II Vapor Recovery Systems 
Decommissioning Vapor Recovery Equipment 

(LAC 33:III.2132)(AQ377) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary has amended the Air regulations, LAC 33:III.2132 
(AQ377). 

Previously, LAC 33:III.2132 stage II required certain 
motor vehicle fuel dispensing facilities (MVFDF) to install 
vapor recovery equipment as required by section 202(a)(6) 
of the Clean Air Act. The U.S. Environmental Protection 
Agency (EPA) determined that the systems used at gas 
station pumps to capture gasoline vapors while refueling 
cars could be phased out. Modern vehicles are equipped to 
capture those emissions with onboard refueling vapor 
recovery (ORVR) technologies. 

This Rule amends §2132 to: 
(1) terminate the requirement to install stage II vapor 

recovery systems at new MVFDF; 
(2) provide standards and requirements for 

decommissioning existing stage II equipment at MVFDF; 
and 

(3) require the decommissioning of existing stage II 
equipment within 18 months of final approval of a SIP 
revision by the U.S. EPA to eliminate stage II requirements. 

The basis and rationale are to update the regulations to 
reflect the EPA dertermination that stage II vapor recovery 
equipment can be phased out. This Rule meets an exception 
listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); 
therefore, no report regarding environmental/health benefits 
and social/economic costs is required. This Rule is hereby 
adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 33 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part III.  Air 

Chapter 21. Control of Emission of Organic 

Compounds 

Subchapter F. Gasoline Handling 

§2132. Stage II Vapor Recovery Systems for Control of 

Vehicle Refueling Emissions at Gasoline 

Dispensing Facilities 

A. - B.1. … 
2. Except as provided in Subsection J of this Section, 

new facilities constructed after promulgation of this 
regulation shall comply with the requirements of this 
regulation upon start-up of the facility. 

3. Except as provided in Subsection J of this Section, 
all facilities existing when these rules are promulgated that 
dispense greater than 10,000 gallons of gasoline per month 
(50,000 gallons of gasoline per month in the case of an 
independent small business marketer of gasoline) are subject 
to this regulation and shall demonstrate to the administrative 
authority their average monthly volume of motor vehicle 
fuel dispensed. This information shall be submitted to the 
administrative authority no later than 90 days after 
promulgation of this regulation. The criteria that mandate the 
installation of gasoline vapor recovery equipment are 
determined by calculating the average volume of motor 
vehicle fuel dispensed per month, without facility shutdown, 
for the most recent two-year period, and shall be calculated 
monthly. If data for two years is not available, this 
calculation shall be based on the monthly average for the 
most recent 12 calendar months, including only those 
months for which the facility was operating. 

4. Except as provided in Subsection J of this Section, 
facilities subject to the provisions of this Section shall 
demonstrate compliance according to the following 
schedule: 

a. - d. … 
5. Except as provided in Subsection J of this Section, 

no owner or operator as described in Paragraphs B.1, 2, and 
3 of this Section shall cause or allow the dispensing of motor 
vehicle fuel at any time unless all fuel dispensing operations 
are equipped with and utilize a stage II vapor recovery 
system certified by CARB on or before March 31, 2001, that 
is properly installed and operated in accordance with the 
corresponding CARB executive order. The vapor recovery 
equipment must also be installed and operated within the 
guidelines of the National Fire Protection Association 
(NFPA) 30. The vapor recovery equipment utilized shall be 
certified by CARB or equivalent certification authority 
approved by the administrative authority* to attain a 
minimum of 95 percent gasoline vapor control efficiency. 
This certified equipment shall have coaxial hoses and shall 
not contain remote check valves. In addition, only CARB or 
equivalent approved aftermarket parts and CARB or 
equivalent approved rebuilt parts shall be used for 
installation or replacement use. CARB certified enhanced
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vapor recovery systems and/or individual parts are 
approvable by the administrative authority* as equivalent 
alternatives. 

6. Except as provided in Subsection J of this Section, 
the regulated facility shall submit the following application 
information to the Office of Environmental Assessment prior 
to installation of the stage II vapor recovery system: 

a. - c.iv. … 
7. Once a facility becomes subject to this regulation, 

that facility shall continue to be subject to this regulation 
even if throughput drops back below the throughput 
exemption level until the facility decommissions its stage II 
equipment in accordance with Paragraph J.4 of this Section. 

8. - 9. … 
C. Training 

1. Except as provided in Subsection J of this Section, 
at least one owner/operator/employee from each facility 
shall receive training in the categories listed in this Section. 
For each person who successfully completes training, a 
certificate or other proof of training shall be required. The 
required training shall be completed prior to the initiation of 
operation of a facility's stage II vapor recovery equipment. 
Training shall include the following areas: 

1.a. - 2. … 
D. Testing 

1. Except as provided in Subsection J of this Section, 
the owner/operator of the facility shall have the installed 
vapor recovery equipment tested prior to the start-up of the 
facility. The owner or operator shall notify the Office of 
Environmental Assessment at least five calendar days in 
advance of the scheduled date of testing. Testing must be 
performed by a contractor that is certified with the 
Department of Environmental Quality. Compliance with the 
emission specification for stage II equipment shall be 
demonstrated by passing the following required tests or 
equivalent for each type of system: 

1.a. - 3. … 
E. Labeling. Except as provided in Subsection J of this 

Section, the facility owner/operator shall post operating 
instructions conspicuously on the front of each gasoline 
dispensing pump using a stage II vapor recovery system. The 
instructions shall include: 

1. - 3. … 
F. Inspection 

1. Until the stage II equipment is decommissioned in 
accordance with Paragraph J.4 of this Section, the facility 
owner or operator shall maintain the stage II vapor recovery 
system in proper operating condition as specified by the 
manufacturer and free of defects that could impair the 
effectiveness of the system, including but not limited to: 

F.1.a. - H.2.b. … 
I. Fees. The fees are defined in LAC 33:III.223. 
J. Termination of Stage II Program 

1. The provisions of this Subsection shall be effective 
upon the effective date of final approval by the EPA of a 
revision to the state implementation plan (SIP) to 
incorporate this Subsection. 

2. Notwithstanding any other provision, a new facility 
constructed after EPA approval of the SIP revision in 
Paragraph J.1 of this Section is exempt from requirements of 
this Section. 

3. An existing facility with stage II vapor recovery 
equipment shall complete decommissioning of the stage II 
equipment no later than 18 months from EPA approval of the 
SIP revision in Paragraph 1 of this Subsection. The failure to 
properly and timely decommission a stage II vapor recovery 
system in accordance with this Subsection shall be a 
violation of the Act and these regulations and subject to an 
enforcement action, which may include requiring 
decommissioning of the stage II vapor recovery system 
and/or the prohibition of the sale/dispensing of gasoline at 
the facility. Once the decommission of the stage II vapor 
recovery system has been completed in accordance with this 
Subsection, the facility is no longer subject to the 
requirements of this Section, except to comply with 
notifications, procedures, and recordkeeping associated with 
decommissioning. 

4. Decommissioning  
a. All decommissioning shall be performed in 

accordance with this Paragraph. 
 i. Notice 

(a). The owner or operator of a facility shall 
submit written notification of intent to decommission the 
stage II vapor recovery equipment at least 30 calendar days 
prior to the beginning of any decommissioning activity to the 
Louisiana Department Environmental Quality. The notice of 
intent shall include: 
 (i). gasoline dispensing facility name and 
location address; 
 (ii). owner name, address, and phone 
number;  
 (iii). operator name, address, and phone 
number;  
 (iv). on-site supervisor/contractor name, 
address, and phone number; and 
 (v). planned decommissioning start date. 

(b). If decommissioning activities are not 
initiated within 180 calendar days after the date the notice of 
intent to decommission is received by the department, the 
owner or operator of the gasoline dispensing facility shall 
refile the notice of intent to decommission for the gasoline 
dispensing facility location. 

(c). The owner or operator of the gasoline 
dispensing facility shall notify the department in writing no 
later than 10 calendar days after completion of all 
decommissioning activity at the gasoline dispensing facility. 

b. Required Decommissioning Activities 
 i. Only technicians who have received 
appropriate training, have all of the required tools, and 
possess the required regulatory and equipment-manufacturer 
certifications shall perform the stage II decommissioning 
procedure. 
 ii. The owner or operator of the gasoline 
dispensing facility shall perform and complete all of the 
following decommissioning activities, as applicable, in a 
manner consistent with the 2009 Petroleum Equipment 

Institute Recommended Practices 300-09 (PEI/RP 300-09), 
section 14 for the particular stage II vapor recovery system 
equipment installed at the gasoline dispensing facility, 
including:  

(a). initiate safety procedures appropriate to the 
facility; 
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(b). relieve pressure in the tank ullage by 
removing all pressure/vacuum vent valves; 

(c). drain all liquid collection points and vapor 
pumps for individual dispensers; 

(d). remove all centrally located vapor pumps; 
(e). disconnect all electrical components of the 

stage II system so that no electrical hazards are created (e.g., 
all vapor pumping or processing units and dispenser 
electronics); 

(f). reprogram the dispenser electronics to reflect 
that stage II vapor recovery is no longer in service; 

(g). securely seal the below-grade vapor piping 
at a height below the level of the base of the dispenser using 
only threaded plugs, threaded caps, or glued fittings; 

(h). disconnect and seal off the vapor piping at 
the tank top if this can be done without excavation and 
without interfering with the vent line using only threaded 
plugs, threaded caps, or glue fittings; 

(i). securely seal the lower end of the vapor 
piping inside the dispenser cabinet using only threaded 
plugs, threaded caps, or glue fittings; 

(j). replace the stage II hanging hardware 
including hoses, nozzles, swivels, and breakaway 
components with conventional, industry-standard hanging 
hardware; 

(k). install appropriate pressure/vacuum vent 
valve(s); 

(l). remove any stage II instructions from the 
dispenser cabinet; 

(m). conduct a visual check to verify that the 
visible components of the storage system are left in a 
condition that will reliably prevent the release of any vapors 
or liquids from any components of the storage system; 

(n). conduct a pressure decay test; 
(o). disconnect the central vacuum motor if 

present on the stage II system and seal piping using only 
threaded plugs, threaded caps, or glue fittings; 

(p). provide written documentation, as provided 
on the department website, including the stage II 
decommissioning checklist and any contracts, work orders, 
certifications, or other appropriate record that the 
appropriate work to decommission Stage II equipment was 
performed; and 

(q). complete all decommissioning activity at a 
gasoline dispensing facility location within 30 calendar days 
after the date decommissioning activity was initiated. 
 iii. Stage II dispensers may be removed and 
replaced with conventional dispensers, provided any 
applicable procedures in Clause ii of this Subparagraph are 
performed in a manner consistent with the Petroleum 

Equipment Institute Recommended Practices 300-09 (PEI/RP 
300-09), section 14 for the particular stage II vapor recovery 
system equipment installed at the gasoline dispensing 
facility.  

c. Decommissioning Completion Notice 
 i. The owner or operator of the gasoline 
dispensing facility shall notify, in writing, the department no 
later than 10 calendar days after completion of all 
decommissioning activity at the gasoline dispensing facility. 
Notification shall include: 

(a). gasoline dispensing facility name and 
location address; 

(b). owner name, address, and telephone number; 
(c). operator name, address, and telephone 

number; and 
(d). provide a copy of the documentation, 

including the checklist, demonstrating the appropriate 
actions for decommissioning of stage II equipment. 

d. The stage II equipment shall be considered as 
decommissioned upon receipt of the decommissioning 
completion notice by the department. 

e. The facility owner/operator shall maintain all 
documents related to decommissioning activities for at least 
four years and present them to an authorized representative 
of the department upon request. These documents may 
include: 
 i. checklists, contracts and invoices associated 
with decommissioning of the stage II vapor recovery system; 
and 
 ii. contracts, invoices, check lists, and results for 
required testing for decommissioning of the stage II vapor 
recovery system. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 18:1254 (November 1992), 
repromulgated LR 19:46 (January 1993), amended LR 23:1682 
(December 1997), LR 24:25 (January 1998), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 26:2453 (November 2000), LR 29:558 (April 2003), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
31:2440 (October 2005), LR 33:2086 (October 2007), LR 34:1890 
(September 2008), LR 34:2397 (November 2008), LR 37:1147 
(April 2011), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Division, LR 38:2752 (November 2012), amended by the Office of 
the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, 
LR 43:2138 (November 2017), LR 44:1242 (July 2018). 

 
Herman Robinson 
General Counsel 

1807#016 

 
RULE 

Department of Health 

Board of Optometry Examiners 

Optometry 
(LAC 46:LI.Chapter 1, 301, 501, 503, 701, and 801) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., the Louisiana State Board of Optometry 
Examiners, pursuant to authority vested in the Louisiana 
State Board of Optometry Examiners by the Optometry 
Practice Act, R.S. 37:1041-1068, has amended Title 46, Part 
LI by adopting the following amendments to the rules set 
forth below. This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of 
promulgation. 

A preamble which explains the basis and rationale for the  
action, and summarizing the information and data supporting 
the action has not been prepared. A description of the 
subjects and issues involved is as follows:  

Section 107(B)(3)(i) adds schedule II of the uniform 
controlled dangerous substances law to this list of schedules
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which may be prescribed by a licensed optometrist within 
the limitations provided therein. 

Section 107(B)(3)(i) changes the length of time a licensed 
optometrist may prescribe a diagnostic and therapeutic 
pharmaceutical agent listed in schedule I, II, IV and V of the 
uniform controlled dangerous substances law from 48 hours 
to seven days.  

Section 107(B)(3)(ii) removes Schedule II of the uniform 
controlled dangerous substances law provided in Louisiana 
Revised Statute 40:963 from the list of substances which 
shall be prohibited from use by a licensed optometrist. 

Section 107(B)(3)(iii) allows a licensed optometrist to 
prescribe one additional seven day prescription if warranted 
by a follow-up exam, whereas the old rule only allowed a 
licensed optometrist to prescribe one additional 48 hour 
prescription.  

Section 109(A) subsections (4), (5), (6) and (7) allow an 
optometrist to accept employment from a licensed hospital 
or hospital affiliate, a licensed ambulatory surgical treatment 
center owned in full or in part by Louisiana-licensed 
physicians or optometrists, a government sponsored 
healthcare program or facility and an entity which is a 
combination or joint venture of any entity authorized under 
Rule 109(A).  

Section 109(B) is deleted and replaced with new §112 
dealing with Controlling Professional Judgment of 
Optometrists.  

Section 109(C) is deleted.  
Section 111(A) adds multiple exceptions to the prohibition 

against splitting fees with persons and entities which are not 
licensed to practice optometry in the state of Louisiana by 
allowing an optometrist to split fees with (a) a professional 
optometric corporation or professional medical corporation 
organized pursuant to Title 12 of the Louisiana Revised 
Statutes and domiciled in the state of Louisiana; (b) a 
partnership or limited liability company domiciled in the 
state of Louisiana and for whom each partner or member is 
either an optometrist or physician duly licensed in the state 
of Louisiana or a professional optometric or medical 
corporation; (c) an optometrist or physician licensed in the 
State of Louisiana; (d) a licensed hospital or hospital 
affiliate; (e) a licensed ambulatory surgical center owned in 
full or in part by Louisiana-licensed physicians or 
optometrists; (f) a government sponsored healthcare 
program or facility; (g) an entity that is a combination or 
joint venture any and of the foregoing entities.  

Section 111(B) allows an optometrist to (a) pay an 
employee in the regular course of employment and (b) pay a 
fair market value fee to a person or entity organized or 
operating for the primary purpose of providing billing 
services, collection services, administrative preparation, 
practice management, marketing materials, cooperative 
buying and/or group purchasing options for or on behalf of 
an entity listed in Section 111(A) based upon a percentage of 
professional service fees billed or collected, a flat fee or any 
other arrangement that directly or indirectly divides 
professional fees, so long as (a) the optometrist at all times 
controls the amount of the fees charged and collected for 
professional services; (b) the fee paid to the service provider 
is not for the solicitation or referral of a patient; and (c) no 
significant function of the service provider involves 
activities other than the provision of billing services, 

collection services, administrative preparation, practice 
management, marketing materials, cooperative buying 
and/or group purchasing options.  

Section 111(C) makes it clear that the prohibitions in Rule 
111 do not prohibit a licensed optometrist from participating 
in a government-approved shared savings or alternative 
payment model such as an accountable care organization, 
physician specialty model or Medicare Advantage 
Innovation model. 

Section 111(D) makes any violation of Rule 111 a 
violation of Louisiana Revised Statute 37:1061.  

Section 115(F) makes it a violation for an optometrist to 
falsely create or alter a medical record or destroy a medical 
record except as authorized by law.  

Section 301(A)(2)(c) removes certain organizations from 
the list of entities from which optometrists may use to obtain 
the required hours of continuing education relating to ocular 
and systematic pharmacology and/or current diagnosis and 
treatment of ocular disease.  

Section 501 adds several new actions which constitute a 
failure to abide by the minimal standards of acceptable and 
prevailing optometry practice, including, (1) interdiction or 
commitment by due process of law; (2)sexual misconduct, 
including, but not limited to, any improper act of sexual 
intimacy, contact, exposure, gratification, abuse, exploitation 
or other sexual behavior with or in the presence of a patient 
or any other individual related to the practice of optometry; 
(3) the practice of optometry while under the influence of a 
mood-altering substance that compromises or has the 
potential to compromise an optometrist’s medical judgment 
or practice, irrespective of whether or not prescribed by an 
optometrist or authorized practitioner; (4) using the term 
“board certified” or “Board Certified” in connection with 
their title, name, business or practice except to reference 
certification by organizations approved by the Louisiana 
State Board of Optometry Examiners. 

Section 503(F)(1) adds a requirement that if a doctor 
maintains a current certificate to treat ocular pathology, that 
doctor must complete 16 hours of continuing education on 
an annual basis. 

Old §503(G) relating to Certification to Use Diagnostic 
and Therapeutic Drugs to Treat Ocular Pathology has been 
deleted.  

New §503(G) makes certain changes to the list of course 
topics which may be taken in order to be credentialed to use 
and perform authorized ophthalmic surgery procedures. The 
changes are as follows: (1) “laser application on clinical 
optometry” has been changed to “laser application;” (2) 
“common complications: lids, lashes, lacrimal system” has 
been changed to “common complications;” (3) “medicolegal 
aspects of anterior segment procedures” has been changed to 
“medicolegal aspects of procedures;” (4) “surgery anatomy 
of the eyelids” has been changed to “relevant surgery 
anatomy;” and (5) “epilumeninesence microscopy” has been 
removed from the list.  

New §503(K) has been added regarding the placement of 
a licensed optometrist on inactive status. This provision 
allows a licensed optometrist to make a request to the 
Louisiana State Board of Optometry Examiners for their 
license to be placed on inactive status. An optometrist may 
subsequently have his or her license placed on active status 
so long as the reinstatement fee is paid, any applicable 
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license renewal fees are paid and 16 hours of board 
approved continuing education classes must be taken for 
each year the license was on inactive status. If an inactive 
license holder fails to practice optometry in any state for 
greater than five consecutive years from the date the license 
was granted, the applicant may be required to take an 
examination acceptable to the Louisiana State Board of 
Optometry Examiners.  

Old §701 will be replaced by new Rule 701 in its entirety. 
New Rule 701 adds the following pre-examination 
requirements: (1) be of good moral character; (2) have 
graduated from an approved high school or school 
maintaining a similar standard; (3) have graduated from a 
school or college of optometry approved by the board and 
hold the graduate level Doctor of Optometry degree; (4) file 
with the secretary of the board upon the form furnished an 
application under oath stating that he fulfills each 
requirement of this section and include with the application 
the papers required by R.S. 37:1050; (5) have reached the 
required level of performance on those parts of the 
examination administered by the National Board of 
Examiners in Optometry required by the board and cause to 
be furnished to the secretary of the board a true written copy 
of the score report of such national board examination; (6) 
have demonstrated that they have reached the qualification 
level necessary to become certified to treat abnormal 
conditions and pathology of the human eye and its adnexa as 
set forth in R.S. 37:1051, and the rules and regulations 
established, published and administered by the board; and 
(7) meet the credentialing requirements of the board to 
perform authorized ophthalmic surgery procedures.  

New §701(B) gives discretion to the board to “allow an 
applicant to take the examination required by R.S. 37:1051 
prior to having satisfied the requirements of Section 701.A 
for circumstances beyond the control of the applicant.”  

Section 801 changes some of the required fees. These new 
fees are as follows: (1) fee for application for examination 
changed from $100 to $500; (2) annual license renewal fee 
changed from $100 to $200; (3) license delinquency fee 
changed from $150 to $300; (4) license reinstatement fee 
changed from $150 to $300; and (5) a new inactive license 
annual renewal fee set at $100. This Rule is hereby adopted 
on the day of promulgation. 

Title 46 

PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 

Part LI.  Optometrists 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 

§107. Organization of the Board 

A. … 
B. Definitions 

1. As used in this Part, the following terms have the 
meaning ascribed to them in this Section, unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise. 

2. Masculine terms shall include the feminine and, 
when the context requires, shall include partnership and/or 
professional corporations. 

3. Where the context requires, singular shall include 
the plural or plural shall include the singular. 

Act—the Optometry Practice Act, R.S. 37:1041 et seq. 
Board—the Louisiana State Board of Optometry 

Examiners. 

Diagnostic and Therapeutic Pharmaceutical Agent—
any prescription or nonprescription drug delivered by any 
route of administration, used or prescribed for the diagnosis, 
prevention, treatment, or mitigation of abnormal conditions 
and pathology of the human eye and its adnexa, or those 
which may be used for such purposes, and certain approved 
narcotics, only when used in treatment of disorders or 
diseases of the eye and its adnexa. Licensed pharmacists of 
this state shall fill prescriptions for such pharmaceutical 
agents of licensed optometrists certified by the board to use 
such pharmaceutical agents.  
 i. Any diagnostic and therapeutic 

pharmaceutical agent as defined above listed in schedules II, 
III, IV and V of the uniform controlled dangerous substances 
law shall be limited to use or to be prescribed by a licensed 
optometrist for a maximum of seven days when used in 
treatment or disorders or diseases of the eye and its adnexa.  
 ii. Diagnostic and therapeutic pharmaceutical 

agent shall not include any drug or other substances listed in 
Schedule I of the uniform controlled dangerous substances 
law provided in R.S. 40:963 and 964 which shall be 
prohibited from use by a licensed optometrist. 
 iii. A licensed optometrist may prescribe one 
additional seven day prescription only if warranted by a 
follow-up exam.  

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1048. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Optometry Examiners, LR 32:629 
(April 2006), amended LR 34:872 (May 2008), LR 40:2249 
(November 2014), repromulgated LR 40:2578 (December 2014), 
amended by the Department of Health, Board of Optometry 
Examiners, LR 44:1246 (July 2018). 

§109. Employment Restrictions 

A. - A.3. … 
B. Notwithstanding the provisions of Paragraph A of 

Section 109, an optometrist, duly licensed under the 
provisions of the Louisiana Optometry Law as set forth in 
R.S. 37:1041 et seq., may accept employment from: 

1. a licensed hospital or hospital affiliate;  
2. a licensed ambulatory surgical treatment center 

owned in full or in part by Louisiana-licensed physicians or 
optometrists;  

3. government sponsored healthcare programs or 
facilities; or 

4. the entity is a combination or joint venture of the 
entities authorized under this §109.A. 

C. Violation of the provisions of this §109 by an 
optometrist shall be considered a violation of provisions of 
R.S. 37:1061, and as such the board may refuse to renew the 
license of any such optometrist on its annual renewal date of 
March 1 of each year (R.S. 37:1056) and/or subject such 
optometrist to suspension or revocation of his or her license 
to practice optometry upon due notice and hearing as 
provided in R.S. 37:1062. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1048. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Optometry Examiners, LR 32:630 
(April 2006), amended LR 35:1111 (June 2009), amended by the 
Department of Health, Board of Optometry Examiners, LR 44:1246 
(July 2018). 
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§111. Prohibition of Fee Splitting 

A. An optometrist, duly licensed under the provisions of 
the Louisiana optometry law as set forth in R.S. 37:1041 et 
seq. shall not divide, share, split, or allocate, either directly 
or indirectly, any fee for optometric services or materials 
with any person, corporation, partnership, or other entity, 
other than through an affiliation with: 

1. a professional optometric corporation or 
professional medical corporation organized pursuant to title 
12 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes and domiciled in the 
state of Louisiana;  

2. a partnership or limited liability company 
domiciled in the state of Louisiana and for whom each 
partner or member, as the case may be, is: 

a. an optometrist or physician duly licensed as an 
optometrist or physician in the state of Louisiana; or  

b. a professional optometric corporation or 
professional medical corporation described above in 
Paragraph A.1 of this Section;  

3. an optometrist or physician duly licensed as an 
optometrist or physician in the state of Louisiana;  

4. a licensed hospital or hospital affiliate;  
5. a licensed ambulatory surgical center owned in full 

or in part by Louisiana-licensed physicians or optometrists;  
6. a government sponsored healthcare program or 

facility;  
7. an entity that is a combination or joint venture of 

the entities authorized under this §111.A. 
B. Nothing contained in this Section prohibits an 

optometrist from paying: 
1. an employee in the regular course of employment; 

or  
2. a fair market value fee to a person or entity 

organized and operated for the primary purpose of providing 
billing services, collection services, administrative 
preparation, practice management, marketing materials, 
cooperative buying and/or group purchasing options for or 
on behalf of an optometrist or entity described above in 
§111.A based upon a percentage of professional service fees 
billed or collected, a flat fee, or any other arrangement that 
directly or indirectly divides professional fees, so long as: 

a. the optometrist at all times controls the amount of 
the fees charged and collected for professional services;  

b. the fee paid to the service provider is not for the 
solicitation or referral of a patient; and  

c. no significant function of the service provider 
involves activities other than the provision of billing 
services, collection services, administrative preparation, 
practice management, marketing materials, cooperative 
buying and/or group purchasing options. 

C. Nothing in this Section shall be construed as to 
prohibit a licensed optometrist from participating in a 
government-approved shared savings or alternative payment 
model such as an accountable care organization, physician 
specialty model, or Medicare Advantage innovation model. 

D. Violation of the provisions of this §111 by an 
optometrist shall be considered a violation of provisions of 
R.S. 37:1061, and as such the board may refuse to renew the 
license of any such optometrist on its annual renewal date of

March 1 of each year (R.S. 37:1056) and/or subject such 
optometrist to suspension or revocation of his or her license 
to practice optometry upon due notice and hearing as 
provided in R.S. 37:1062. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1048. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Optometry Examiners, LR 32:630 
(April 2006), amended by the Department of Health, Board of 
Optometry Examiners, LR 44:1247 (July 2018). 

§112. Controlling Professional Judgment of 

Optometrist 

A. Notwithstanding §§109 or 111 of this Part, it shall be 
unlawful and constitute a violation of this Section for any 
optometrist to enter into any contract, agreement or other 
arrangement that allows any person, corporation, 
partnership, or other entity, to control or attempt to control 
the professional judgment, the manner of practice, or the 
practice of an optometrist. For purposes of this Section, 
“control or attempt to control the professional judgment, the 
manner of practice, or the practice of an optometrist” shall 
include, but not be limited to: 

1. setting, dictating or attempting to influence the 
professional fees charged for patient care, other than through 
a contract, agreement or other arrangement with a person or 
entity described in §111.A; 

2. exerting or attempting to influence independent 
professional judgment, patient care, or any matter affecting 
the health and well-being of a patient, or the ability of an 
optometrist to provide such care;  

3. restricting or attempting to restrict an optometrist’s 
freedom to see patients on an appointment basis; 

4. terminating or threatening to terminate any lease, 
agreement, or other relationship in an effort to control the 
professional judgment and/or manner of practice of an 
optometrist; 

5. making or guaranteeing a loan to an optometrist in 
excess of the value of the collateral securing the loan; 

6. regulation of the optometrist’s business hours, other 
than through a contract, agreement or other arrangement 
with a person or entity described in §111.A; 

7. taking custody or control of the optometrist’s 
business and patient records; or 

8. the specification of particular treatments, drugs, 
products, services, procedures, or optical goods to be 
dispensed or prescribed for a patient.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1048. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Optometry Examiners, LR 44:1245 (July 2018).  

§115. Patient Records 

A. - E. … 
F. An optometrist shall not falsely create or alter a 

medical record or destroy a medical record except as 
authorized by law.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1048. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Optometry Examiners, LR 32:630 
(April 2006), amended by the Department of Health, Board of 
Optometry Examiners, LR 44:1247 (July 2018). 
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Chapter 3. License 

§301. Continuing Education 

A. - A.2.b. … 
c. Great Western Council of Optometry, Mountain 

West Council of Optometrists, North Central States 
Optometric Council, and Southern Council of Optometrists;  

2.d - 4.a. …. 
b. On or before July 1 shall be cause for the 

temporary suspension of a Louisiana optometry license as 
provided below and shall require payment of both the 
delinquency fee and reinstatement fee, in addition to the 
applicable annual renewal fee, as set forth in §801. Payment 
of the renewal fee, delinquency fee and reinstatement fee 
where the license has been suspended shall be accompanied 
by any costs or expenses, including attorney fees, which may 
be caused by the need for the institution of disciplinary or 
other proceedings, fines imposed in disciplinary or other 
proceedings, and all other applicable fees; and 

4.c. - 6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1048. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Optometry Examiners, LR 32:630 
(April 2006), amended LR 35:1111 (June 2009), LR 38:1590 (July 
2012), amended by the Department of Health, Board of Optometry 
Examiners, LR 44:1248 (July 2018). 

Chapter 5. Practicing Optometry 

§501. Professional Conduct 

A. The following acts or omissions constitute a failure by 
the optometrist to abide by the minimal standards of 
acceptable and prevailing optometry practice, as set forth in 
R.S. 37:1061(10). 

1. Failure to keep the visual welfare of the patient 
uppermost at all times, promote the best care of the visual 
needs of mankind, strive continuously to develop 
educational, professional, clinical and technical proficiency 
and keep informed as to the new developments within his 
profession. 

2. Failure to conduct his or her practice in a decorous, 
dignified and professional manner and in keeping with the 
rules, regulations and ethics as promulgated by this board. 

3. Engaging in conduct which endangers the public 
health or renders the licensee unable to practice optometry 
with safety to the public, including inability to practice 
optometry with reasonable skill or safety to patients because 
of mental illness, interdiction or commitment by due process 
of law, or deficiency or physical illness, including but not 
limited to deterioration through the aging process or loss of 
motor skills, shall be grounds for suspension or revocation 
of any optometry license. 

4. Sexual misconduct, including, but not limited to, 
any improper act of sexual intimacy, contact, exposure, 
gratification, abuse, exploitation or other sexual behavior 
with or in the presence of a patient or any other individual 
related to the practice of optometry. 

5. Engaging in the practice of optometry while under 
the influence of a mood-altering substance that compromises 
or has the potential to compromise an optometrist’s medical 
judgment or practice, irrespective of whether or not 
prescribed by an optometrist or authorized practitioner. 

6. Using the term “board certified” or “Board 
Certified” in connection with their title, name, business or 
practice except to reference certification by organizations 

approved by the Louisiana State Board of Optometry 
Examiners. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1048. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Optometry Examiners, LR 32:630 
(April 2006), amended LR 35:1111 (June 2009), amended by the 
Department of Health, Board of Optometry Examiners, LR 44:1248 
(July 2018). 

§503. License to Practice Optometry 

A. - E. … 
F. Continuing Education. In order to qualify for the 

annual license renewal required by R.S. 37:1057, the 
following information shall be presented to the secretary of 
the board: 

1. Written certification that the doctor requesting 
license renewal has completed 12 hours of continuing 
education, or 16 hours of continuing education if the doctor 
maintains a current certificate to treat ocular pathology, 
between January 1 and December 31 of each year 
immediately preceding the March 1 renewal date set forth in 
R.S. 37:1057 by attendance and completion of courses 
approved by the Louisiana State Board of Optometry 
Examiners  

2 - 5. … 
G. Qualifications for a Louisiana Licensed Optometrist 

to be Credentialed to Utilize and Perform Authorized 
Ophthalmic Surgery Procedures 

1. Louisiana licensed optometrists shall be 
credentialed to perform authorized ophthalmic surgery 
procedures if: 

a. the applicant provides proof of holding a 
Louisiana license to practice therapeutic optometry and is in 
good standing, or in the case of a new applicant for 
licensure, has satisfied the requirements of R.S.  
37:1049(1)-(8); and 

b. the applicant provides proof of satisfactory 
completion of a course of instruction approved by the board 
that may include: 
 i. the following didactic classroom instructions: 

(a). laser physics, hazards, and safety; 
(b). biophysics of lasers; 
(c). laser application; 
(d). laser tissue interactions; 
(e). laser indications, contraindications, and 

potential complications; 
(f). gonioscopy; 
(g). laser therapy for open angle glaucoma; 
(h). laser therapy for angle closure glaucoma; 
(i). posterior capsulotomy; 
(j). common complications, lids, lashes, lacrimal 

system; 
(k). medicolegal aspects of procedures; 
(l). peripheral iridotomy; 
(m). laser trabeculoplasty; 
(n). minor surgical procedures; 
(o). overview of surgical instruments, asepsis, 

and O.S.H.A.; 
(p). relevant surgical anatomy; 
(q). emergency surgical procedures; 
(r). chalazion management; 
(s). local anesthesia: techniques and 

complications; 
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(t). anaphalaxsis and other office emergencies; 
(u). radiofrequency surgery; 
(v). post-operative wound care; and 

c. the applicant satisfactorily completes a written 
test approved by the board on aspects of the Louisiana 
Optometry Practice Act pertaining to authorized ophthalmic 
surgery procedures. 

2. A board-approved course of instruction shall be: 
a. provided by an accredited optometry, osteopathy 

or medical school; 
b. a minimum of 32 clock hours in length; and  
c. sponsored by an organization approved by the 

board. 
3. Prohibitions and Referrals 

a. Performing authorized ophthalmic surgery 
procedures without credentialing based upon the education 
requirements outlined in this administrative regulation shall 
be grounds for suspension or revocation of an optometry 
license and/or credentialing to perform authorized 
ophthalmic surgery procedures as per section 1061 of the 
Optometry Practice Act. 

4. Outcomes Reporting 
a. Every optometrist who has met the requirements 

for certification to perform authorized ophthalmic surgery 
procedures shall report to the board the outcome of 
authorized ophthalmic surgery procedures performed in such 
form as required or directed by the board. 

5. Beginning with the graduating class of 2015 any 
optometrist who provides proof that he/she graduated from 
an optometry school whose program includes all of the 
training and testing requirements established by the board 
may be deemed to have met the requirements for 
certification to perform authorized ophthalmic surgery 
procedures. 

6. Performance of authorized ophthalmic surgery 
procedures by any person without a valid and current 
certificate issued by the board to perform such procedures 
shall be considered a violation of section 1061(A)(1) of the 
Optometry Practice Act.  

H. Prescriptions for Eyeglasses or Contact Lenses 
1. Every written prescription shall contain an 

expiration date and the signature of the optometrist issuing 
the prescription. The expiration date may not exceed 18 
months, unless the optometrist documents a valid medical 
reason in the chart for doing so. 

2. Contact lenses may not be sold or dispensed 
without a written, signed, unexpired prescription. Every 
contact lens prescription shall contain information 
specifying the curvature, diameters, refractive power, 
pertinent measurement, and the number of lenses to be 
dispensed. An optometrist, when issuing a prescription for 
contact lenses, shall issue to the patient a notice that states 
the number of refills allowed and the expiration date of the 
prescription. 

3. An optometrist, when filling a prescription for 
eyeglasses or contact lenses, shall be required to keep the 
original prescription. An optometrist may not refuse to 
release to a patient a copy of the patient's prescription if 
requested by the patient; provided, however, an optometrist 
shall not be required to release a prescription that has 
expired. 

4. A spectacle prescription shall not be construed to be 
or substituted for a contact lens prescription nor shall a 
contact lens prescription be construed to be or substituted for 
a spectacle prescription. 

I. Participation in Student Extern Program. An 
optometrist may participate in student extern programs in 
accordance with rules and regulations promulgated from 
time to time by the board.  

1. The level of responsibility assigned to a student 
extern shall be at the discretion of the supervising 
optometrist who shall be ultimately responsible for the 
duties, actions or work performed by such student extern.  

2. The duties, actions and work performed by a 
student extern in accordance with the provisions of this §503 
and §603 shall not be considered the practice of optometry 
without a license as set forth in R.S. 37:1061(14). 

J. Retirement of License. A duly licensed optometrist 
who is in good standing and no longer desires to practice in 
Louisiana may choose to retire their license rather have it 
revoked for failure to complete the renewal requirements. 
Notice of retirement of an optometrist shall be in writing and 
effective upon delivery to the board. In the event that a 
retired optometrist wishes to practice, the optometrist must 
apply for and complete the requirements for initial licensure 
in order to again become licensed to practice in Louisiana.  

K. Inactive Status 
1. Upon request by a duly licensed Optometrist whose 

license is in good standing, the board by rule may provide 
for a license holder's license to be placed on inactive status. 
The request to have a license be considered inactive must be 
in writing and delivered to the board. The request for 
inactive status will be placed on the board agenda for 
consideration at the next scheduled board meeting and the 
effective date of inactive status determined by the board will 
be set and may be retroactive. A person who holds an 
inactive license may not practice optometry in any manner in 
Louisiana until such time the license is reactivated and 
current. A person holding an inactive license is exempt from 
the continuing education requirements of Section 301. A 
violation of this section has the same effect as, and is subject 
to the penalties for, practicing optometry without holding a 
license. The holder of an inactive license must renew the 
inactive license annually and pay appropriate renewals fees 
to avoid revocation. 

2. Re-Activation of Inactive License. For an inactive 
license to be re-activated, the license holder must pay the 
reinstatement fee set forth in §801.A.6 plus any and all 
license renewal fee(s) and comply with all continuing 
education requirements. To re-activate an inactive license the 
license holder must show 16 hours of board approved 
continuing education for each year of inactive license status. 
The required continuing education may be obtained at any 
time during the inactive status period. If the inactive license 
holder fails to practice optometry in any state for greater 
than five consecutive years from the date the license was 
granted inactive status, an examination acceptable to the 
board may be required to re-activate the original license. For 
holders of an inactive license with authorized ophthalmic 
surgery procedures, if the inactive license holder fails to 
practice authorized ophthalmic surgery procedures in any 
state for greater than five consecutive years from the date the
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license was granted inactive status, a recertification of 
advanced procedure proficiency and examination acceptable 
to the board may be required to re-activate the original 
license.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1048. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Optometry Examiners, LR 32:632 
(April 2006), amended LR 34:873 (May 2008), LR 38:1590 (July 
2012), LR 40:2250 (November 2014), repromulgated LR 40:2580 
(December 2014, amended by the Department of Health, Board of 
Optometry Examiners, LR 44:1248 (July 2018). 

Chapter 7. Examination  

§701. Examination Requirements 

A. In order to take the examination required by R.S. 
37:1051, an applicant must satisfy the following licensing 
requirements set forth in R.S. 37:1049:  

1. be of good moral character;  
2. have graduated from an approved high school or 

school maintaining a similar standard;  
3. have graduated from a school or college of 

optometry approved by the board and hold the graduate level 
doctor of optometry degree;  

4. file with the secretary of the board upon the form 
furnished an application under oath stating that he fulfills 
each requirement of this Section and include with the 
application the papers required by R.S. 37:1050;  

5. have reached the required level of performance on 
those parts of the examination administered by the National 
Board of Examiners in Optometry required by the board and 
cause to be furnished to the secretary of the board a true 
written copy of the score report of such national board 
examination;  

6. have demonstrated that they have reached the 
qualification level necessary to become certified to treat 
abnormal conditions and pathology of the human eye and its 
adnexa as set forth in R.S. 37:1051, and the rules and 
regulations established, published, and administered by the 
board; and  

7. meet the credentialing requirements of the board to 
perform authorized ophthalmic surgery procedures.  

B. The Louisiana State Board of Optometry Examiners 
shall have the discretion to allow an applicant to take the 
examination required by R.S. 37:1051 prior to having 
satisfied the requirements of §701.A for circumstances 
beyond the control of the applicant. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1048 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Optometry Examiners, LR 32:635 
(April 2006), amended by the Department of Health, Board of 
Optometry Examiners, LR 44:1250 (July 2018). 

Chapter 8. Fees and Expenses 

§801. Fees 

A. The board shall charge and collect the following fees, 
consistent with R.S. 37:1058: 

1. application for examination—$500; 
2. original license fee—$300; 
3. duplicate license fee—$50; 
4. annual license renewal fee—$200; 
5. license delinquency fee—$300; 
6. license reinstatement fee—$300; 
7. original authorized ophthalmic surgery procedure 

certificate—$50; 

8. inactive license annual renewal fee—$100. 
B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1048. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Optometry Examiners, LR 32:635 
(April 2006), amended LR 40:2252 (November 2014), 
repromulgated LR 40:2580 (December 2014), amended by the 
Department of Health, Board of Optometry Examiners, LR 44:1250 
(July 2018). 

 
Dr. James Sandefur, O.D. 
Secretary 

1807#008 

 
RULE 

Department of Health 

Office of Public Health 

Water Supplies (LAC 51:XII.101, 105, 302, 319, and 355) 

Under the authority of R.S. 40:4, 40:4.13, and 40:5 and in 
accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the state health officer, acting through the 
Louisiana Department of Health, Office of Public Health 
(LDH-OPH), has amended Part XII (Water Supplies) of the 
Louisiana state Sanitary Code (LAC 51). When effective, 
the amendments to Part XII assist LDH-OPH in ensuring the 
continued protection of public health from contaminated 
drinking water. The amendments added four requirements to 
the list of significant deficiencies (see §319) as approved by 
the Water Committee on March 8, 2018. Public water 
systems are required to correct significant deficiencies 
identified by LDH-OPH personnel during a sanitary survey. 
Sanitary surveys (onsite inspections) are required by federal 
regulations to be conducted every 3 to 5 years depending on 
the water system type, and therefore the compliance deadline 
for the new requirements will vary by water system and may 
be extended on an as needed basis. The §302 amendments 
clarify that the new design standards in Chapter 1 and 2 as 
published in the February 20, 2018 Louisiana Register 

supersede Chapter 3 design standards for new public water 
systems or any proposed new construction or modification to 
an existing public water system. The remaining amendments 
are just clarifications and do not impose any new 
requirements. The effective date of the below amendments is 
planned to be on August 1, 2018 to coincide with the 
effective date of the previously mentioned new design 
standards. For these reasons set forth above, Part XII (Water 
Supplies) of the Louisiana state Sanitary Code (LAC 51:XII) 
is amended as follows. This Rule is hereby adopted on the 
day of promulgation. 

Title 51 

PUBLIC HEALTH―SANITARY CODE 

Part XII.  Water Supplies 

Chapter 1. General 

§101. Definitions 

[formerly paragraph 12:001] 

A. Unless otherwise specifically provided herein, the 
following words and terms used in this Part of the Sanitary 

Code, and all other Parts which are adopted or may be 
adopted, are defined for the purposes thereof as follows. 

* * * 
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Critical Component―a component is considered critical if 

failure is expected to result in a quality or quantity of 

finished water that fails to meet the requirements of this Part. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:258(B), R.S. 36:254(B)(7), R.S. 40:4(A)(8), R.S. 
40:4.13(D)(1)(2), R.S. 40:5(A) (2)(3)(5)(6)(17)(20), and R.S. 
40:1148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1318 (June 
2002), amended LR 28:2513 (December 2002), LR 30:1194 (June 
2004), LR 30:2326 (October 2004), LR 35:484 (March 2009), LR 
35:1240 (July 2009), LR 38:2375 (September 2012), LR 38:2793 
(November 2012), LR 38:3232 (December 2012), amended by the 
Department of Health, Office of Public Health, LR 43:84 (January 
2017), LR 44:1248 (July 2018).296 (February 2018), effective 
August 1, 2018, LR 44:1251 (July 2018). 

§105. Permit Requirements for a Potable Water 

Supply 

[formerly paragraph 12:002-2] 

A. - B. … 
C. Submission of plans for maintenance and replacement 

of existing facilities in-kind shall not be required. 
1. Interior coating of potable water storage tanks is 

not considered maintenance and shall be submitted to the 
state health officer for approval. Submission for pre-
approval of materials for minor repairs is allowable. 

D. - F. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:4(A)(8), 40:4.13(D)(1)(2) and R.S. 40:5(A)(2)(3) 
(5)(6)(7)(17)(19). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1320 (June 
2002), amended LR 38:2376 (September 2012), amended by the 
Department of Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44:297 (July 
(February 2018), effective August 1, 2018, LR 44:1251 (July 
2018). 

Chapter 3. Water Quality Standards 

§302. Relationship with this Part  

A. Effective August 1, 2018, LAC 51:XII.111-191 and 
§§201-277 of this Part supersede, for any new public water 
system or any proposed new construction or modification to 
an existing public water system, any other design provisions 
in this Chapter. 

B. Nothing in this Section shall be construed to allow 
any exception to compliance with the significant deficiency 
requirements of §319 of this Part, which is applicable to all 
public water systems, irrespective of construction date. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4(A)(8), 40:4.13(D)(1)(2) and 
40:5(A)(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44:1251 (July 2018). 

§319. Significant Deficiencies Identified in Sanitary 

Surveys 

A. - C. … 
D. For all public water systems, except as otherwise 

specified in this Part, failure to comply with any of the 
following requirements has been determined by the state 
health officer to be a significant deficiency and shall be 
corrected in accordance with §319.B of this Part: 

1. §§105.A, 105.B or 105.D of this Part;  
2. §135.A of this Part [standby power] for any 

community water supply and non-community water supply 
serving a hospital. A standby power supply shall be provided 

through a dedicated portable or in-place auxiliary power of 
adequate supply and connectivity; 

3. §161.A of this Part [flood protection] for any 
community water supply. Use of a levee system or flood 
walls are acceptable for meeting §161.A of this Part; 

4. §169.B.2 of this Part [secondary source] for any 
community water supply and non-community water supply 
serving a hospital. Connection to another public water 
supply of sufficient capacity or providing an LDH-approved 
annual public notice to customers may be considered in lieu 
of meeting §169.B.2 of this Part; 

5. §237.A of this Part [minimum system pressure of 
20 psig]; 

6. §309.A of this Part;  
7. there shall be no pathway for contamination into 

the well casing or discharge piping. The well site grading, 
the well slab and all well appurtenances including casing, 
sanitary seal, vent, and drawdown tube shall be maintained 
to prevent the introduction of contamination into the well 
casing and discharge piping; 

8. every potable water well, and the immediate 
appurtenances thereto that comprise the well, shall be 
located at a safe distance from all possible sources of 
contamination. The state health officer has deemed that due 
to the horizontal distance to a possible source of pollution 
that is currently causing, or may reasonably be expected to 
cause contamination to be introduced into the water being 
delivered to consumers, action is necessary to eliminate or 
mitigate this potential source of contamination; 

9. §315.A of this Part;  
10. §325.A of this Part;  
11. §327.A.15 of this Part;  
12. §329.A.6 of this Part;  
13. §331.A of this Part;  
14. §337.C of this Part;  
15. §343.A of this Part;  
16. §344.A of this Part;  
17. general equipment design shall be such that feeders 

will be able to supply, at all times, the necessary amounts of 
chemicals at an accurate rate throughout the range of feed; 

18. for fluoride only, day tanks shall be provided where 
bulk storage of liquid chemical is provided, meet all the 
requirements of §203.J, hold no more than a 30-hour supply, 
and be scale mounted or have a calibrated gauge painted or 
mounted on the side if liquid levels can be observed in a 
gauge tube or through translucent sidewalls of the tank. In 
opaque tanks, a gauge rod extending above a reference point 
at the top of the tank, attached to a float can be used. The 
ratio of the area of the tank to its height shall be such that 
unit readings are meaningful in relation to the total amount 
of chemical fed during a day; 

19. no drain on a water storage structure shall have a 
direct connection to a sewer or storm drain. The design shall 
allow draining the storage facility for cleaning or 
maintenance without causing loss of pressure in the 
distribution system; 

20. system shall have a monitoring plan that includes a 
list of all routine compliance samples required on a daily, 
weekly, monthly, quarterly, and annual basis and identify the 
sampling location where samples are to be collected. The 
public water system shall revise and re-submit its monitoring 
plan if changes to a plant or distribution system require
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changes to the sampling locations or if any significant 
changes to the disinfection methods are made. In addition, 
the public water system shall update and re-submit its 
monitoring plan when the system's sampling requirements or 
protocols change; 

21. §1503.A.1 of this Part;  
22. §1503.C of this Part;  
23. storage tanks and pipelines for liquid chemicals 

shall be specified for use with individual chemicals and shall 
not be used for different chemicals. Offloading areas shall be 
clearly labeled to prevent accidental cross-contamination; 

24. system shall ensure that no critical water system 
component is in poor condition or defective;  

25. all potable water systems shall be designed, 
constructed, and maintained so as to prevent leakage of 
water due to defective materials, improper jointing, 
corrosion, settling, impacts, freezing, or other causes. Valves 
and blow-offs shall be provided so that necessary repairs can 
be made with a minimum interruption of service; and 

26. other condition which is deemed by the state health 
officer to be a significant deficiency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:4(A)(8), 40:13(D)(1)(2) and R.S. 40:5(A)(2)(3)(5)(6)(17)(20). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 43:85 (January 2017), amended 
LR 44:1249 (July 2018).345 (February 2018), effective August 1, 
2018, LR 44:1251 (July 2018). 

§355. Mandatory Disinfection 

[formerly paragraph 12:021-1] 

A. - A.2.b. … 
B. All new groundwater systems installed after July 1, 

1996 shall provide at least 30 minutes contact time prior to 
the first customer. It is recommended that all existing 
systems provide the 30 minutes contact time prior to the first 
customer. Additions to or extensions of existing systems are 
exempt from the 30 minutes contact time. 

C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:4(A)(8)(13) and R.S. 40:5(2)(3)(5)(6)(17)(20). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1326 (June 
2002), amended LR 28:2514 (December 2002), LR 35:1240 (July 
2009), LR 38:2376 (September 2012), LR 42:408 (March 2016), 
amended by the Department of Health, Office of Public Health, LR 
44:1252 (July 2018). 

 
Jimmy Guidry, MD  
State Health Officer 
and 
Rebekah E. Gee, MD, MPH, 
Secretary 

1807#030 

 
 

RULE 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Adult Residential Care Providers 
Licensing Standards 

Involuntary Termination of Residency Agreement 
(LAC 48:I.6837) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing has amended LAC 48:I.6837 governing the 
licensing standards for adult residential care providers as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 40:2166.1-2166.8 et seq. 
This Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 
This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 48 

PUBLIC HEALTH—GENERAL 

Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing and Certification 

Chapter 68. Adult Residential Care Providers 

Subchapter C. Residency Criteria, Person-Centered 

Service Plans, and Residency Agreements 

§6837. Termination of Residency Agreements 

A. - B.2.d.iii. ... 
3. The resident and/or the resident’s representative, if 

applicable, shall have the right to dispute any involuntary 
termination of the residency agreement in accordance with 
§6833.G.6-7.  

B.4. - C.3. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2166.1-2166.8. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:1097 (June 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 44:1252 (July 2018). 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1807#057 
 

RULE 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Federally-Qualified Health Centers 
Reimbursement Methodology—Cost Reporting 

(LAC 50:XI.10503 and 10701) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing has amended LAC 50:XI.10503 and 10701 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254
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and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. This Rule 
is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

 
Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XI.  Clinic Services 

Subpart 13.  Federally-Qualified Health Centers 

Chapter 105. Provider Participation 

§10503. Standards for Participation 

[Formerly §10303] 

A. - D. ... 
1. Each member of the instructional team must: 

a. be a certified diabetes educator certified by the 
National Certification Board for Diabetes Educators; or 

b. ... 
2. At a minimum, the instructional team must consist 

of one of the following professionals who is a certified 
diabetes educator: 

2.a. - 3. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:2328 (October 2004), repromulgated LR 
30:2488 (November 2004), amended LR 32:1901 (October 2006), 
amended LR 37:2630 (September 2011), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
44:1253 (July 2018). 

Chapter 107. Reimbursement Methodology 

§10701. Prospective Payment System 

A. - F. ... 
G. Cost Reports. FQHCs shall submit cost reports when 

there is an increase or decrease in their scope of services. 
1. Change in Scope of Services—an addition, removal 

or relocation of services sites, and the addition or deletion of 
specialty and non-primary care services that were not 
included in the base line rate calculation. 

2. The final PPS rate shall be calculated using the first 
two years of audited Medicaid cost reports, which shall 
include documentation of the change in scope. 

3. Cost reports shall not be accepted for rate changes 
without a change in the scope of service. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1902 (October 2006), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 37:2630 (September 2011), LR 39:3076 (November 
2013), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 44:1253 (July 2018). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1807#058 

 
 

RULE 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Managed Care for Physical and Behavioral Health 
Applied Behavior Analysis-Based Therapy Services 

(LAC 50:I.3103 and 3507) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing has amended LAC 50:I.3103 and §3507 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. This Rule 
is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part I.  Administration 

Subpart 3.  Managed Care for Physical  

and Behavioral Health 

Chapter 31. General Provisions 

§3103. Recipient Participation 

A. - A.1.k. ... 
B. Mandatory, Voluntary Opt-In Participants 

1. Participation in an MCO for the following 
participants is mandatory for specialized behavioral health, 
applied behavior analysis (ABA)-based therapy and non-
emergency medical transportation (NEMT) services 
(ambulance and non-ambulance) only, and is voluntary for 
physical health services: 

B.1.a. - I. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
37:1573 (June 2011), amended LR 40:310 (February 2014), LR 
40:1096 (June 2014), LR 40:2258 (November 2014), LR 41:929 
(May 2015), LR 41:2363 (November 2015), LR 42:754 (May 
2016), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 42:1522 (September 2016), LR 43:663 
(April 2017), LR 43:1553 (August 2017), LR 44:1253 (July 2018). 

Chapter 35. Managed Care Organization 

Participation Criteria 

§3507. Benefits and Services 

A. - C.4. ... 
D. The following is a summary listing of the core 

benefits and services that an MCO is required to provide: 
1. - 5. ... 
6. EPSDT/well child visits, excluding dental services; 

D.7. - H.5. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
37:1585 (June 2011), amended LR 39:92 (January 2013), 
repromulgated LR 39:318 (February 2013), LR 41:936 (May 
2015), LR 41:2367 (November 2015), LR 42:755 (May 2016), 
amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 44:61 (January 2018), LR 44:1253 (July 2018). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of
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Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1807#059 

 
RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 

Office of State Fire Marshal 

Amusement Attractions and Ride Safety  
(LAC 55:V.Chapter 25) 

Under the authority of R.S. 40:1484.2(B) et seq., and in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of Public 
Safety, Public Safety Services, Office of State Fire Marshal, 
has repealed §§2501 through 2059 in their entirety and has 
adopted §§2501 through 2593. Act 462 of the 2016 Regular 
Session created a new regulatory scheme for the testing, 
inspection, and operation of inflatable amusement devices, 
amusement attractions, and amusement rides, including the 
registering of all inflatable amusement devices, amusement 
attractions, and amusement rides being operated in the state 
of Lousiana. These regulations set forth the procedures and 
requirements for becoming licensed to perform testing, 
inspections, and the operation of inflatable amusement 
devices, amusement attractions, and amusement rides and a 
fine schedule for any violation of the statute or regulation. 
These regulations also provide basic safety measures for 
certain inflatable amusement devices, amusement 
attractions, and amusement rides and a mechanism for 
reporting accidents resulting in injury or death. This Rule is 
hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 55 

PUBLIC SAFETY 

Part V.  Fire Protection 

Chapter 25. Amusement Attractions and Rides 

§2501. Purpose 

A. The purpose of these rules is to regulate the activity of 
firms, employees of firms, and individuals who own, 
operate, set-up, and/or inspect inflatable amusement devices, 
amusement attractions, or amusement rides in the interest of 
protecting and preserving human lives pursuant to the 
authority of R.S. 40:1484.1 et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1254 (July 2018). 

§2503. Administration 

A. The Office of State Fire Marshal, which administers 
the provisions of R.S. 40:1484.1 et seq., relating to the 
amusement rides safety law, is located at 8181 Independence 
Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA 70806. 

B. The following nationally recognized standards are to 
be used in the formulation and enforcement of these rules 
and regulations. Should there arise a conflict between these 
standards and R.S. 40:1484.1 et seq., or the rules and 

regulations, the provisions of R.S. 40:1484.1 et seq., and/or 
these rules shall apply: 

1. ASTM F2374-10, Standard Practice for Design, 

Manufacture, Operation, and Maintenance of Inflatable 

Amusement Devices; (approved Feb. 1, 2010; published 
March 2010); 

2. ASTM F1159-15b, Standard Practice for Design of 

Amusement Rides and Devices that are Outside the Purview 

of Other F24 Design Standards; (approved Nov. 1, 2015; 
published November 2015); 

3. ASTM F1193-16, Standard Practice for Quality, 

Manufacture, and Construction of Amusement Rides and 

Devices; (approved Feb. 15, 2016; published March 2016); 
4. ASTM F2959-16, Standard Practice for Aerial 

Adventure Courses; (approved May 1, 2016; published May 
2016); 

5. ASTM F2970-15, Standard Practice for Design, 

Manufacture, Installation, Operation, Maintenance, 

Inspection and Major Modification of Trampoline Courts; 
(approved Feb. 15, 2015; published April 2015); 

6. ASTM F2291-15, Standard Practice for Design of 

Amusement Rides and Devices; (approved Aug. 1, 2015; 
published October 2015); 

7. ASTM F2375-09, Standard Practice for Design, 

Manufacture, Installation and Testing of Climbing Nets and 

Netting/Mesh used in Amusement Rides, Devices, Play Areas 

and Attractions; (approved March 1, 2009; published April 
2009); 

8. ASTM F2974-15, Standard Guide for Auditing 

Amusement Rides and Devices; (edition approved Sept. 1, 
2015; published December 2015); 

9. ASTM F3099-14, Standard Practices for 

Parasailing; (edition approved Sept. 1, 2014; published 
September 2014); 

10. ASTM F770-15, Standard Practice for Ownership, 

Operation, Maintenance, and Inspection of Amusement 

Rides and Devices; (edition approved May 1, 2015; 
published May 2015); 

11. ASTM F2007-12, Standard Practice for Design, 

Manufacture, and Operation of Concession Go-Karts and 

Facilities; (approved March 1, 2012; published March 
2012); 

12. ASTM F2460-11, Standard Practice for Special 

Requirements for Bumper Boats; (edition approved March 1, 
2011; published April 2011); 

13. ASTM F2960-16, Standard Practice for Permanent 

Amusement Railway Ride Tracks and Related Devices; 
(edition approved Nov. 1, 2016; published November 2016); 

14. ASTM F3054-15, Standard Practice for Operations 

of Amusement Railway Rides, Devices, and Facilities; 
(edition approved Dec. 1, 2015; published January 2016); 

15. ASTM F747-15, Standard Terminology Relating to 

Amusement Rides and Devices; (edition approved Oct. 1, 
2015; published November 2015); 

16. ASTM F1957-99 (Reapproved 2011), Standard Test 

Method for Composite Foam Hardness-Durometer 

Hardness; (edition approved Jan. 15, 2011; published June 
2011); 

17. ASTM F2137-16, Standard Practice for Measuring 

the Dynamic Characteristics of Amusement Rides and 

Devices; (edition approved Oct. 15, 2016; published 
November 2016); 
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18. ASTM F2376-13, Standard Practice for 

Classification, Design, Manufacture, Construction, and 

Operation of Water Slide Systems; (edition approved June 1, 
2013; published May 2014); 

19. ASTM F2461-09, Standard Practice for 

Manufacture, Construction, Operation, and Maintenance of 

Aquatic Play Equipment; (edition approved March 15, 2009; 
published May 2009); 

20. ASTM F1957-99 (Reapproved 2011), Standard Test 

Method for Composite Foam Hardness-Durometer 

Hardness; (edition approved Jan. 15, 2011; Published June 
2011); 

21. NFPA 101 (2015 edition), Life Safety Code; and 
22. NFPA 70 (2014 edition), National Electrical Code. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1254 (July 2018). 

§2505. Applicability of Rules 

A. These rules shall apply to all firms and persons 
engaged in the activity of owning, operating, setting up of, 
and/or inspecting inflatable amusement devices, amusement 
attractions, or amusement rides. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1255 (July 2018).  

§2507. Notices of Violations and Penalties; Cease and 

Desist Orders 

A. Any notice required to be given by the state fire 
marshal or his designee to any firm, owner, or operator 
found to have violated the provisions of R.S. 40:1484 et 
seq., or these rules shall include any proposed penalty and 
may be provided in the following manner: 

1. by personal service, to include hand delivery to the 
firm, owner, operator, employee, or individual;  

2. by domiciliary service, to include hand delivery to a 
person of suitable age and discretion who resides with the 
owner, operator, employee, or individual;  

3. when mailed, postage prepaid, to the subject 
person's residence or entity address as it appears in the 
records in the Office of State Fire Marshal;  

4. by electronic transmission or electronic mail 
(email) if the electronic transmission or email is retrievable 
in a perceivable form and the Office of State Fire Marshal 
and the recipient have consented in writing to the use of such 
form of electronic transmission or email for purposes of 
notice or communication between the parties; or 

5. on the seventh calendar day after it is mailed with 
correct postage to the most recent address of the firm, owner, 
operator, employee, or individual furnished in writing or 
electronically to the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

B. It is the responsibility of the person or entity involved 
to ensure that the office has a correct email address or 
electronic notification information for the person or firm. It 
is the responsibility of the person or entity involved to 
ensure that the office has a correct address for the person or 
firm. 

C. Any cease and desist order issued by the Office of 
State Fire Marshal in accordance to R.S. 40:1484.1 et seq., 
or these rules must be given in the following manners: 

1. personal service; or 
2. mail, certified return receipt. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1255 (July 2018). 

§2509. Definitions 

A. As used in this Part, the following terms have the 
meanings specified in this Section, except where the context 
expressly indicates otherwise. 

AIMS—the Amusement Industry Manufacturers and 
Suppliers association. 

ANSI—the American National Standards Institute. 
ASTM—the American Society of the International 

Association for Testing and Materials. 
Certificate of Licensure—that document issued by the 

Office of State Fire Marshal to a firm or individual 
authorizing it or him to engage in such activities as defined 
in R.S. 40:1484.1 et seq., and these rules. 

Employee—a person who works for a "firm" as defined 
by R.S. 40:1484.1 et seq., in return for financial or other 
compensation.  

a. For the purposes of the licensing requirements, 
contained in R.S. 40:1484.1 et seq., employees shall not 
include secretaries, drivers, accounting, or other 
administrative personnel. 

b. For the purposes of licensing requirements, the 
firm owner or owners shall be considered an "employee" if 
he or she is or will be inspecting or operating an inflatable 
amusement device, amusement attraction, or amusement 
ride. 

Endorsement—a category of license authorizing its 
holder to operate, and/or perform inspections of inflatable 
amusement devices, amusement attractions, or amusement 
rides. 

Event Foreman—that employee at least 18 years of age 
or older designated by an inflatable amusement device, 
amusement attraction, or amusement ride operating firm as 
the person responsible for amusement event operations. A 
foreman is not required to be licensed, but the employing 
firm shall provide to the Office of State Fire Marshal the 
name and contact information of at least one foreman for 
each event. The foreman shall also be knowledgeable of the 
required notification procedures involving reportable 
accidents at an event.  

Event Tag—a tag that is affixed to inflatable amusement 
devices, amusement attractions, or amusement rides 
designating the duration of an individual event. The color of 
the tag determines whether the ride is approved for use or 
identifies impairments. 

Go-Kart Track—a fixed course, either open to the public 
or operated on a private or semi-public basis, whether or not 
operated for profit, wherein the use of go-karts (karts) for 
rides, rentals, demonstrations, and/or testing is the principal 
use of such business. It does not include tracks or courses 
solely operated for competitive racing, time trials, or similar 
activities reasonably connected therewith.  

Limited Third-Party Specialty Inspector Endorsement—
that document issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal 
authorizing its holder to test and inspect only inflatable 
amusement devices. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 44, No. 07   July 20, 2018 1256

Major Modification—any change in the structural or 
operational characteristics of the inflatable amusement 
device, amusement attraction, or amusement ride which may 
alter the safety or performance characteristics from that 
specified in the original design criteria of the manufacturer. 

Material and/or Structural Testing—the nondestructive 
testing of inflatable amusement devices, amusement 
attractions, or amusement rides, conducted by licensed third-
party inspectors at least annually for safety in accordance 
with ASTM-F-24 and other applicable standards, 
regulations, manuals, service bulletins, and notices. This 
differs from the set-up and functional status of inflatable 
amusement devices, amusement attractions, or amusement 
rides at an individual event. 

Minor Modification—a change that does not affect the 
original manufacturer safety or performance characteristics 
or criteria of an inflatable amusement device, amusement 
attraction, or amusement ride. Examples of minor 
modifications are changes in signage or the thematic 
references of an inflatable amusement device, amusement 
attraction, or amusement ride. 

NAARSO—the National Association of Amusement 
Ride Safety Officials. 

NFPA—the National Fire Protection Association. 
OSFM-IMS—the Office of State Fire Marshal 

information management system. 
Operator—a person who possesses the appropriate 

training or experience enabling an inflatable amusement 
device, amusement attraction, or amusement ride firm to 
obtain an operator firm license. An operator shall be a paid 
employee of the firm and shall be actively engaged in the 
direct supervision of operations of the licensed firm and its 
employees. Every operating firm shall employ and license at 
least one operator. 

Office—the Office of State Fire Marshal. 
Operator Endorsement—that document issued by the 

Office of State Fire Marshal authorizing its holder to 
manage, coordinate, or possess the duty to control the 
operation of the inflatable amusements devices, amusement 
attractions, or amusement rides at an event. 

Reidentification—the creation by an operator or owner 
of a new name, number, or both of an inflatable amusement 
device, amusement attraction, or amusement ride that has 
been the subject of a major modification. 

Reinspection—an inspection conducted by a licensed 
inspector subsequent to an initial inspection during which 
deficiencies were identified. The purpose of a reinspection is 
to ensure corrective measures have been taken that will 
result in bringing the inflatable amusement device, 
amusement attraction, or amusement ride into compliance 
with R.S. 40:1484.1 et seq., manufacturer specifications, and 
these rules. 

Set-Up Inspector Endorsement—that document issued 
by the Office of State Fire Marshal authorizing its holder to 
conduct the set-up inspection prior to the opening of an 
amusement attraction or prior to the operation of an 
inflatable amusement device or amusement ride at each 
event in accordance with R.S. 40:1484.1 et seq., and these 
rules. 

Third-Party Inspector Endorsement—that document 
issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal authorizing its 
holder to test and inspect inflatable amusement devices, 
amusement attractions, and amusement rides in accordance 
with R.S. 40:1484.1 et seq., and these rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1255 (July 2018). 

§2511. Registration of Inflatable Amusement Devices, 

Amusement Attractions, Amusement Rides; 

Registration Requirements  

A. Required 
1. Any owner of an inflatable amusement device, 

amusement attraction, or amusement ride shall register each 
of his inflatable amusement devices, amusement attractions, 
or amusement rides with the Office of State Fire Marshal in 
accordance with these rules prior to its use in this state.  

B. Registration Requirements 
1. To register the inflatable amusement device, 

amusement attraction, or amusement ride being used in this 
state, the owner shall electronically submit the following 
information utilizing the Office of State Fire Marshal 
information management system (OSFM-IMS) or in writing 
on the forms provided by the Office of State Fire Marshal 
and accompanied by the required fee as specified in R.S. 
40:1484.18 et seq., and these rules: 

a. a registration application;  
b. a certificate of inspection dated no earlier than 60 

days prior to the date of submission of a registration 
application; and 

c. a copy of the general liability insurance policy in 
which all inflatable amusement devices, amusement 
attractions, and amusement rides being registered are listed 
on the submitted insurance declaration page. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1256 (July 2018). 

§2513. Certificate of Registration; Registration Plates; 

Placement; Annual Decals; Replacement Fees 

A. Certificate of Registration  
1. Upon approval of the firm or individual to be 

licensed by the Office of State Fire Marshal, a certificate of 
registration shall be issued to the owner of each inflatable 
amusement device, amusement attraction, or amusement ride 
registered. The certificate or a copy thereof shall be kept 
where it is accessible upon demand by the state fire marshal 
or his representative. 

B. Registration Plates 
1. Once an inflatable amusement device, amusement 

attraction, or amusement ride is registered, a registration 
plate shall be issued bearing a permanent registration 
number. The plate is to be permanently affixed to the 
amusement attraction or amusement ride in a conspicuous 
location. 

2. To prevent damage to inflatable devices, owners 
and operators shall be allowed to temporarily affix the plate
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to or near the inflating mechanism or to a grommet at or near 
the inflating mechanism for the duration of each event where 
the device is in use. It shall be the responsibility of the 
owner and operator to ensure that the correct plate is affixed 
to the registered inflatable device. 

C. Annual Decals 
1. Annual Registration Renewal. After renewing the 

annual registration of an inflatable amusement device, 
amusement attraction, or amusement ride, a decal signifying 
the month and year of the annual renewal shall be issued by 
the Office of State Fire Marshal.  

2. The registration decal shall be affixed to the front, 
bottom-right corner of the registration plate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1256 (July 2018). 

§2515. License Required; Firm Applicability; 

Individual Applicability; Types of Endorsement 

A. Each firm engaged in the activity of operating, and/or 
inspecting inflatable amusement devices, amusement 
attractions, or amusement rides shall obtain a certificate of 
licensure from the Office of State Fire Marshal, as provided 
by R.S. 40:1481.1 et seq., and these rules prior to conducting 
any such activity in this state.  

B. Firm License Applicability 
1. The following shall apply to firms. 

a. Changes of Ownership. The change of a firm’s 
majority ownership invalidates the current license. To ensure 
continuance of the firm’s ability to operate and/or inspect 
inflatable amusement devices, amusement attractions, or 
amusement rides in the state, an application for a new 
certificate shall be submitted to the Office of State Fire 
Marshal within 10 days after any change in ownership. 

b. Change of Firm Officers. Any change in 
corporate officers of an incorporated firm or members and/or 
managers of a limited liability corporation or similar entities 
within the licensure period, must be reported in writing to 
the Office of State Fire Marshal within 10 days of the 
change. 

c. Changes in Firm Address. The firm shall give 
written or electronic notification to the Office of State Fire 
Marshal of the physical location of their principal place of 
business. If, after notification, the location of their principal 
place of business changes, the firm shall notify the Office of 
State Fire Marshal within 10 days of the change.  

d. Duplicates. A duplicate certificate of licensure 
must be obtained from the Office of State Fire Marshal to 
replace a lost or destroyed certificate. The firm must submit 
written or electronic notification of the loss or destruction 
within 10 days, accompanied by the required fee pursuant to 
R.S. 40:1484.1 et seq. 

e. Revisions/Changes to License. The change of a 
firm's name, location, or mailing address or operating status 
requires a revision of the certificate of registration. Licenses 
requiring changes must be surrendered to the Office of State 
Fire Marshal within 10 days after the change requiring the 
revision. The firm must submit written or electronic 
notification of the change with the surrendered license, 
accompanied by the required fee specified in by R.S. 
40:1484.1 et seq.  

f. Non-Transferability. A certificate of licensure is 
not transferable from one firm to another.  

g. Validity. A certificate of licensure is valid for one 
year from date of issue, and must be renewed annually. 

C. Each person or employee engaged in the activity of 
operating and/or inspecting inflatable amusement devices, 
amusement attractions, or amusement rides shall obtain a 
license from the Office of State Fire Marshal, as provided by 
R.S. 40:1484.1 et seq., and these rules prior to conducting 
any such activity in this state. This does not apply to ride 
operators as defined in R.S. 40:1484.3. 

D. Applications for individual licenses shall be deemed 
as an acknowledgement from the employer certifying the 
applicant's competency to perform inspections of inflatable 
amusement devices, amusement attractions, and amusement 
rides authorized by the endorsements applied for and that the 
individual is an employee who receives a W-2 or K-1 tax 
form from the firm. 

E. Individual License Applicability 
1. The following shall apply to individual persons. 

a. Changes in Licensed Individual’s Address. An 
individual licensed with the Office of State Fire Marshal to 
inspect inflatable amusement devices, amusement 
attractions, or amusement rides shall give written or 
electronic notification to the Office of State Fire Marshal of 
his home address. If, after notification, the location of their 
principal place of business changes, the individual 
responsible shall immediately notify the Office of State Fire 
Marshal of the change.  

b. Pocket Licenses issued by the Office of State Fire 
Marshal are for immediate identification purposes and shall 
be kept on the recipient’s person at all times when 
conducting regulated activity. The pocket license need not be 
visibly displayed when working in areas where the license 
may be damaged or lost. The license must still be available 
for inspection upon request. The license shall bear the name 
of firm that employs the person. 

c. Duplicate Licenses. A duplicate license must be 
obtained from the Office of State Fire Marshal to replace a 
lost or destroyed license. The license holder or his employer 
must submit written or electronic notification within 10 days 
of the loss or destruction of a license, accompanied by the 
required fee as specified in R.S. 40:1484.18(H).  

d. Revised Licenses. The change of a licensee's 
employer, home or mailing address, or employment status 
requires a revised license. Licenses requiring revision must 
be surrendered to the Office of State Fire Marshal within 10 
days after the change. The license holder or his employer 
must submit written or electronic notification of the 
necessary change with the surrendered license, accompanied 
by the required fee as specified in R.S. 40:1484.18(H). 

e. Non-Transferable. A license is not transferable 
from one person to another.  

f. Validity. A license is valid for one year from date 
of issue, and must be renewed annually.  

g. Transfer of Employer. When a currently licensed 
employee transfers to a new employer, a revised license shall 
be required indicating the new firm’s information. Upon 
receipt of the revision application by the Office of State Fire 
Marshal, the individual may go to work for the new 
employer while waiting for the processing of the license.
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This go-to-work allowance shall not authorize the employee 
to engage in any activity for which he/she was not 
previously licensed to perform or for which the firm is not 
currently licensed to perform.  

h. Age Limitations. For the purpose of licensing, no 
one under the age of 21 shall be eligible for a license.  

F. Types of Endorsement 
1. Each license shall be identified by endorsement, 

which indicates the authorized act or acts which may be 
performed by the licensee. The endorsements are as follows: 

a. operator endorsement (firm; individual); 
b. third-party inspector endorsement (firm; 

individual); 
c. limited third-party specialty inspector 

endorsement (firm; individual); 
d. set-up inspector endorsement (firm; individual). 

G. Any firm and/or person described in this Section, 
which or who has not applied for and received a current and 
valid license, shall immediately cease and desist such 
activities. The Office of State Fire Marshal shall take all 
steps necessary to enforce an order to cease and desist. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1257 (July 2018). 

§2517. Application for Certificates of Licensure 

A. Applications for a certificate of licensure for firms, 
employees of firms, and individuals who operate, and/or 
inspect inflatable amusement devices, amusement 
attractions, or amusement rides shall be submitted and 
processed electronically utilizing the Office of State Fire 
Marshal information management system (OSFM-IMS), or 
in writing on the forms provided by the State Fire Marshal 
and accompanied by the required fee as specified in these 
rules. 

B. The application for certificates of licensure shall:  
1. be executed by the sole proprietor, each partner of a 

partnership, member or manager, if a limited liability 
company, or by the authorized officer of the firm;  

2. identify the type of license and endorsement 
applied for;  

3. identify the physical and mailing address, if 
different, from the firm’s operating location;  

4. identify any and all names by which the firm may 
conduct activity regulated by R.S. 40:1484.1 et seq., and 
these rules. Only one trade or "doing business as" name shall 
be permitted per each certificate of licensure;  

5. identify each principal, officer, and member of the 
firm;  

6. identify the contact person and email address of 
such, as defined by these rules;  

7. identify any and all past violations or pending 
administrative or legal action(s) against the firm in other 
state or local jurisdictions; 

8. include a separate employee application for each 
person along with the requisite training and/or 
certification(s), as established by these rules, an originally 
signed and notarized affidavit detailing the training and/or

certification(s), and digital photographs of each applicant’s 
unobscured face/head; 

9. be accompanied by: 
a. an original certificate of insurance showing the 

minimum of $1,000,000 coverage insuring the operator 
against liability for injury suffered by persons riding the 
amusement attraction or ride; or 

b. a bond in a like amount, provided the aggregate 
liability of the surety under any such bond shall not exceed 
the face amount thereof; and 

c. an original certificate of insurance documenting 
that the firm has a current and valid worker’s compensation 
insurance policy as required by state law. 

C. Errors and Omissions Coverage. In compliance with 
R.S. 40:1484.16(5), the state fire marshal has suspended the 
requirement to obtain errors and omissions coverage by 
those firms and individuals who engage in the inspections of 
inflatable amusement devices, amusement attractions, or 
amusement rides.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1258 (July 2018). 

§2519. Fees—General Information 

A. Every fee required in accordance with the provisions 
of R.S. 40:1484.18 et seq., and these rules shall be paid in 
the following manners: 

1. by firm check or certified funds made payable to 
the "Office of State Fire Marshal." Fees shall be paid at or 
mailed to the Office of State Fire Marshal, Attention 
Licensing Section, at 8181 Independence Blvd., Baton 
Rouge, LA 70806; or  

2. by credit card when submitting an application(s) 
electronically using the Office of State Fire Marshal 
information management system (OSFM-IMS). 

B. Late fees are required on all licenses which are not 
timely renewed as outlined in R.S. 40:1484.18 et seq.  

C. A renewal application accompanied by the required 
renewal fee and deposited with the United States Postal 
Service is deemed to be timely filed, regardless of actual 
date of delivery, when its envelope bears a legible postmark 
date which is on or before the expiration date of the 
certificate or license being renewed.  

D. Licenses which have been expired for more than 60 
days will be suspended. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1258 (July 2018). 

§2521. Alteration of Certificates and Licenses  

A. Any alteration of a certificate of licensure or 
individual license renders it invalid and such alteration shall 
be the basis for administrative action in accordance with 
penalties set forth in R.S. 40:1484.1 et seq., and these rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1258 (July 2018). 
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§2523. Event Tags; Required; Design and Color 

Significance; Impairment Notification 

Requirement and Procedure 

A. Required 
1. Every inflatable amusement device, amusement 

attraction, or amusement ride in operation in this state shall 
have an event tag placed thereon after it has been inspected 
by a licensed set-up inspector. 

2. Event tags shall be valid only for the dates of the 
event’s duration and shall be removed at the end of each 
event. The dates of the event shall be clearly indicated and 
written in indelible ink, or with a permanent marker. 

3. In the event of an annual inspection, the licensed 
third party inspector shall only affix a red event 
(impairment) tag when the inflatable amusement device, 
amusement attraction, or amusement ride has been found to 
be not in compliance with all applicable adopted laws, rules, 
standards, and corresponding manufacturer's installation 
manuals, maintenance and service repair bulletins, or 
notices. The inspector shall detail on the reverse of the tag 
the deficiencies. 

4. A red event tag shall have the same effect as a cease 
and desist order issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

B. Design and Color Significance 
1. Event tags shall be constructed of a material able to 

withstand inclement weather or placed in a clear plastic 
sleeve that is able to withstand inclement weather. 

2. The dimensions of the tag shall be 3 inches by 5 
inches and shall contain the following information printed 
thereon: 

a. “DO NOT REMOVE BY ORDER OF THE STATE 

FIRE MARSHAL” (all letters capitalized and in bold face 
type); 

b. the operating firm’s name, physical address, and 
telephone number; 

c. the firm’s Office of State Fire Marshal license 
number; 

d. the printed name of the licensed inspector and his 
Office of State Fire Marshal license number; 

e. the signature of the licensed inspector. (Pre-
printed or stamped signatures are not permitted); 

f. the name of the inflatable amusement device, 
amusement attraction, and/or amusement ride and its serial 
number; and 

e. the dates of the event during which the inflatable 
amusement device, amusement attraction, or amusement ride 
will be in operation or not in operation if not approved for 
use. 

3. For inflatable amusement devices, amusement 
attractions, and amusement rides that are approved for 
operation by a licensed inspector, the event tags shall be 
green in color. 

4. For inflatable amusement devices, amusement 
attractions, and amusement rides that are not approved for 
operation by a licensed inspector, the event tags shall be red 
in color. A red event tag shall have the same effect as a cease 
and desist order issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

5. Where only individual units of a ride, such as cars, 
seats, or other carriers are defective and not in compliance 
with R.S. 40:1484.1 et seq., and/or these rules, such units 
shall be taken out of service and clearly marked with a 
yellow impairment tag reading "Out of Service;" provided, 

however, such defects do not jeopardize the safety of the 
entire ride.  

6. The tags shall be conspicuously placed on or as 
close as possible to the operator controls of the amusement 
ride in a location that limits access to the tag by patrons. For 
inflatable devices, the tag shall be conspicuously placed at or 
near the inflating mechanism. For amusement attractions, the 
tag shall be conspicuously placed at or near the entrance to 
the attraction in a location that limits access to the tag by 
patrons. 

C. Impairment Notification Requirement and Procedure  
1. When a red event (impairment) tag is affixed to an 

inflatable amusement device, amusement attraction, or 
amusement ride, or to an individual unit of an inflatable 
amusement device, amusement attraction, or amusement ride 
after a set-up inspection has been conducted, the licensed 
inspector shall notify the Office of State Fire Marshal within 
two hours of affixation of the tag.  

2. If, during an annual inspection, a licensed third 
party inspector finds that the inflatable amusement device, 
amusement attraction, or amusement ride does not comply 
with all applicable adopted laws, rules, standards, and its 
corresponding manufacturer's installation manuals, 
maintenance and service bulletins, and notices, the licensed 
third-party inspector shall notify the Office of State Fire 
Marshal within two hours of his findings. The third party 
inspector shall include in the notification a copy of his 
inspection report detailing his findings. 

3. Notification of findings as listed in Paragraphs 1 
and 2 of this Subsection shall be made by calling the Office 
of State Fire Marshal at 1-800-256-5452. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1259 (July 2018). 

§2525. Certificate of Inspection Form  

A. Certificate of Inspection Form 
1. A certificate of inspection form shall be provided 

by the Office of State Fire Marshal for use by licensed third-
party and/or set-up inspectors. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1259 (July 2018). 

§2527. Prohibited Acts 

A. The following acts are prohibited and shall be 
considered grounds for administrative and/or legal action to 
be taken against firms, persons and/or employees 
committing such: 

1. charging a customer for an inspection that was not 
performed; 

2. misrepresenting oneself and/or one’s firm to a 
patron, the Office of State Fire Marshal or designated 
representative, or other public official; 

3. impersonating the state fire marshal, his designated 
representative, or any other public official; 

4. operating, certifying, testing, or inspecting an 
inflatable amusement device, amusement attraction, or 
amusement ride without a valid license obtained from the 
Office of State Fire Marshal; 
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5. certifying, testing, or inspecting an inflatable 
amusement device, amusement attraction, or amusement ride 
contrary to applicable manufacturer standards and/or 
specifications, or NAARSO, ASTM, or other standards 
adopted by the Office of State Fire Marshal; 

6. falsifying an application or any other document 
submitted to obtain a license, or other documentation 
requested by or submitted to the Office of State Fire 
Marshal; 

7. falsifying tags; inspection reports; device, 
attraction, or ride reports; or other relative documents; 

8. operating an inflatable amusement device, 
amusement attraction, and/or amusement ride without it first 
being inspected and approved for use by a licensed 
inspector; 

9. operating an inflatable amusement device, 
amusement attraction, and/or amusement ride prior to or 
without a set-up inspection being conducted by a licensed 
inspector; 

10. operating an inflatable amusement device, 
amusement attraction, and/or amusement ride without it 
being registered with the Office of State Fire Marshal; 

11. operating an inflatable amusement device, 
amusement attraction, and/or amusement ride with an 
expired license; 

12. failing to notify the Office of State Fire Marshal of 
any changes that affect licensure; 

13. failure to notify the Office of State Fire Marshal of 
an inflatable amusement device, amusement attraction, or 
amusement ride accident, or an accident resulting in an 
injury or fatality; 

14. failing to abide by the tagging requirements of the 
Office of State Fire Marshal; 

15. engaging in false, misleading, or deceptive 
practices; 

16. aiding and abetting an unlicensed firm or individual 
in the operation, certifying, testing, or inspecting of an 
inflatable amusement device, amusement attraction, or 
amusement ride; 

17. failure to adhere to all applicable laws and rules 
governing the owning, licensing, registering, inspection, and 
operation of inflatable amusement devices, amusement 
attractions, or amusement rides; 

18. working an employee without the appropriate 
license endorsement; and 

19. working without the proper license endorsement. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1484.2(B). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1259 (July 2018). 

§2529. Enforcement; Investigations 

A. The state fire marshal or his designated representative 
shall make, or cause to be made, from time to time, 
inspections of a firm's physical locations or operational sites 
to verify required certificates, employee lists, employee 
licenses, business records and insurances, equipment, tools, 
compliance with applicable NFPA codes, standards, and 
manufacturer's manuals, and as circumstances dictate, to 
determine that firms and their employees are engaging in 
activity in accordance with the requirements of R.S. 
40:1484.1 et seq., and these rules.  

B. The state fire marshal shall investigate all complaints 
of alleged violations of R.S. 40:1484.1 et seq., and these 
rules. Complaints of alleged violations shall be made in 
writing to the Office of State Fire Marshal. The office shall 
make available a complaint form to be used as needed. 
Penalties shall be administered to those firms and/or 
employees found to have violated these laws and/or rules. 
Proposed administrative penalty letters shall act as official 
notification of alleged violations.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1260 (July 2018). 

§2531. Administrative Actions; Enhanced Fine 

Amounts; Fine Schedule 

A. The Office of State Fire Marshal may refuse the 
issuance or renewal of, suspend, or revoke a license and 
impose administrative penalties, if, after notice, as required 
by the Administrative Procedures Act, it is found that a 
person, licensed firm, or licensee, or an applicant for 
licensure, failed to comply with the provisions of R.S. 
40:1484.1, et seq., or these rules. The State Fire Marshal 
may consider violations in other states or failing to pay 
outstanding fine amounts as grounds for refusing the 
issuance of or the renewing of a license. Additionally, where 
it is brought to the attention of the Office of State Fire 
Marshal, violations in other states or failing to pay 
outstanding fine amounts may result in the suspension of or 
revocation of a license.  

B. In the event that a firm or individual is found to be in 
violation of R.S. 40:1484.1 et seq., and these rules, the 
Office of State Fire Marshal reserves the right to assess 
enhanced administrative fines for repeated substantiated 
violations over a period of the preceding 36 months. 

C. The following fine schedule shall be used to assess 
fines to persons, firms, and/or employees who violate the 
laws and rules governing the amusement industry. Penalties 
will be imposed to persons, firms and/or employees based on 
the classification of the offense. Other administrative 
penalty(ies) may also be imposed. 

 
 

Violation 

Fine Amount 

1st Offense 2nd Offense 3rd Offense 

(1) Failure to register an inflatable amusement device, amusement attraction, or amusement ride. $100.00 $200.00 $300.00 

(2) Operation of inflatable amusement device, amusement attraction, or amusement ride without a 
certificate of inspection issued by a licensed third-party inspector. 

$250.00 $500.00 $750.00 

(3) Notifying the Office of State Fire Marshal of the intent to operate an amusement attraction, or 
amusement ride less than five days of the operation of the attraction or ride. 

250.00 
(Per device) 

500.00 
(Per device) 

1,500.00 
(Per device) 

(4) Failure to immediately notify the Office of State Fire Marshal of any change in schedule of location 
or date that occurs less than five days prior to the commencement of operation of the attraction or 
ride. 

250.00 
(Per device) 

500.00 
(Per device) 

1,500.00 
(Per device) 
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Violation 

Fine Amount 

1st Offense 2nd Offense 3rd Offense 

(5) Failure to submit to the State Fire Marshal or his designee the set-up and annual reports and any 
other documentation relating to the set-up inspection or annual inspection of an amusement 
attraction, amusement ride, or amusement inflatable device during an Office of State Fire Marshal 
event inspection or audit. 

WARNING $150.00 
and 30 DAY 

DEVICE 
SUSPENSION 

$350.00 
and 90 DAY 

DEVICE 
SUSPENSION 

(6) Denying access to the State Fire Marshal or his designee to any premises in the state where an 
inflatable amusement device, amusement attraction, or amusement ride is being installed, built, 
repaired, or operated for the purpose of ascertaining whether such inflatable amusement device, 
amusement attraction, or amusement ride is being installed, built, repaired, or operated in accordance 
with the provisions of this Part and adopted standards, rules, regulations, and applicable manuals, 
service bulletins, and notices. 

$500.00 $1000.00 $2500.00 

(7) Notifying the Office of State Fire Marshal of the intent to operate an inflatable amusement device 
less than five days of the operation of the device. 

200.00 
(Per device) 

400.00 
(Per device) 

1,200.00 
(Per device) 

(8) Failure to immediately notify the Office of State Fire Marshal of any change in schedule of location 
or date that occurs less than five days prior to the commencement of operation of the inflatable 
amusement device. 

200.00 
(Per device) 

400.00 
(Per device) 

1,200.00 
(Per device) 

(9) Failure to submit to the State Fire Marshal or his designee the set-up report and any other 
documentation relating to the set-up inspection or an annual inspection of an inflatable amusement 
device during an Office of State Fire Marshal event inspection or audit. 

WARNING $150.00 
and 30 DAY 

DEVICE 
SUSPENSION 

$350.00 
and 90 DAY 

DEVICE 
SUSPENSION 

(10) Denying access to the State Fire Marshal or his designee to any premises in the state where an 
inflatable amusement device is being installed, built, repaired, or operated for the purpose of 
ascertaining whether such inflatable amusement device is being installed, built, repaired, or operated 
in accordance with the provisions of this Part and adopted standards, rules, regulations, and 
applicable manuals, service bulletins, and notices. 

$500.00 $1000.00 $2500.00 

(11) Failure to conduct a set-up inspection of an inflatable amusement device, amusement attraction, or 
amusement ride prior to operating the device, attraction, or ride at each event in the state. 

$500.00 
(Per device) 

$750.00 
(Per device) 

$750.00 
(Per device) 

(12) Failure to affix a green event tag on an inflatable amusement device, amusement attraction, or 
amusement ride that has been inspected and found to be in compliance pursuant to the findings of a 
set-up inspection and corresponding adopted rules and regulations. 

$50.00 $100.00 $200.00 

(13) Failure to notify the Office of State Fire Marshal within two hours after finding that an inflatable 
amusement device, amusement attraction, or amusement ride is not in compliance pursuant to the 
findings of a set-up inspection and corresponding adopted rules and regulations; or affixing an 
impairment tag on the device, attraction, or ride. 

$100.00 $250.00 $500.00 

(14) Failure to properly affix an impairment tag on an inflatable amusement device, amusement attraction, 
or amusement ride that is not in compliance pursuant to the findings of a set-up inspection and 
corresponding adopted rules and regulations. 

$100.00 $250.00 $500.00 

(15) Inspecting or testing of an inflatable amusement device, amusement attraction, or amusement ride by 
the owner or operator of the same. 

$500.00 $750.00 $1000.00 

(16) Failure to notify the Office of State Fire Marshal of a change in the business address of the firm 
within 10 days of the change. 

WARNING $100.00 $250.00 

(17) Failure to notify the Office of State Fire Marshal of a change in the ownership of or interest in the 
firm within 10 days of the change. 

$250.00 $250.00 $250.00 

(18) Failure to notify the Office of State Fire Marshal of a change in home address within 10 days of the 
change (Individual). 

WARNING $25.00 $50.00 

(19) Failure to notify the Office of State Fire Marshal of a separation from an employer or change in 
employer within 10 days of the change (Individual). 

WARNING $25.00 $50.00 

(20) Licensed individual contracting his services as an independent contractor or agent with any other 
firm, whether such firm is engaged in testing, inspection, or operation. 

$750.00 $1000.00 $1250.00 

(21) Engaging in the operation of an inflatable amusement device, amusement attraction, or amusement 
ride without a valid license issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal (Operator). 

$1000.00 $1250.00 $1500.00 

(22) Aiding and abetting an unlicensed individual, employee, or firm in the testing, inspection, or 
operation of an inflatable amusement device, amusement attraction, or amusement ride (Operator). 

$500.00 $750.00 $1000.00 

(23) Operating an inflatable amusement device, amusement attraction, or amusement ride contrary to 
applicable codes, standards, or manufacturer's specifications without specific written authorization 
from the Office of State Fire Marshal (Operator). 

$500.00 $750.00 $1000.00 

(24) Submitting an application or any other document to the Office of State Fire Marshal when the person 
reasonably should have known the document contained false or misleading information (Operator). 

$500.00 $750.00 $1000.00 

(25) Engaging in false, misleading, or deceptive acts or practices (Operator). $500.00 (can 
include 

suspension or 
revocation of 

license) 

$750.00 
(can include 

suspension or 
revocation of 

license) 

$1000.00 
(can include 

suspension or 
revocation of 

license) 

(26) Failure to maintain a valid license (Operator). $500.00 $1000.00 $2500.00 

(27) Failure to maintain valid insurance coverage as required (Operator). $500.00 $750.00 $1000.00 

(28) Refusal to admit the state fire marshal or his designated representative to any operating location or to 
cooperate in the purposes of such admittance (Operator). 

$500.00 $750.00 $1000.00 

(29) Failure to maintain his license on his person and present it for inspection (Operator). WARNING $100.00 $250.00 

(30) Refusal to cooperate with any lawful investigation by the Office of State Fire Marshal (Operator). $500.00 
(can include 

suspension or 
revocation of 

license) 

$1000.00 
(can include 

suspension or 
revocation of 

license) 

$2500.00 
(can include 

suspension or 
revocation of 

license) 

(31) Failure to abide by the administrative rules (Operator). $500.00 $750.00 $1000.00 
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Violation 

Fine Amount 

1st Offense 2nd Offense 3rd Offense 

(32) Engaging in the inspection or testing of an inflatable amusement device, amusement ride, or 
amusement attraction without a valid license issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal (Third-Party 
Inspector). 

$750.00 $1000.00 $1250.00 

(33) Aiding and abetting an unlicensed operator in the operation of an inflatable amusement device, 
amusement attraction, or amusement ride (Third-Party Inspector). 

$250.00 $500.00 $750.00 

(34) Aiding and abetting an unlicensed individual or firm in the inspection or testing of an inflatable 
amusement device, amusement ride, or amusement attraction (Third-Party Inspector). 

$250.00 $500.00 $750.00 

(35) Certifying, testing, or inspecting an inflatable amusement device, amusement attraction, or 
amusement ride contrary to the provisions of this Part and adopted standards, regulations, and 
applicable manuals, service bulletins, and notices (Third-Party Inspector). 

$1000.00 $2500.00 $3500.00 

(36) Submitting an application or any other document to the Office of State Fire Marshal when the third-
party inspector reasonably should have known the document contained false or misleading 
information (Third-Party Inspector). 

$500.00 $1000.00 $2500.00 

(37) Engaging in false, misleading, or deceptive acts or practices (Third-Party Inspector). $1000.00 
(can include 

suspension or 
revocation of 

license) 

$2500.00 
(can include 

suspension or 
revocation of 

license) 

$5000.00 
(can include 

suspension or 
revocation of 

license) 

(38) Failure to maintain valid license (Third-Party Inspector). $500.00 $1000.00 $2500.00 

(39) Failure to maintain valid insurance coverage as required (Third-Party Inspector). $500.00 $1000.00 $2500.00 

(40) Refusal to admit the state fire marshal or his designated representative to any operating location or to 
cooperate in the purposes of such admittance (Third-Party Inspector). 

$250.00 $500.00 $100.00 

(41) Failure to maintain his license on his person and present it for inspection (Third-Party Inspector). WARNING $100.00 $250.00 

(42) Refusal to cooperate with any lawful investigation by the Office of State Fire Marshal (Third-Party 
Inspector). 

$ 
(can include 

suspension or 
revocation of 

license) 

$ 
(can include 

suspension or 
revocation of 

license) 

$ 
(can include 

suspension or 
revocation of 

license) 

(43) Failure to abide by the administrative rules (Third-Party Inspector). $500.00 $750.00 $1000.00 

(44) Engaging in the set-up inspection of an inflatable amusement device, amusement ride, or amusement 
attraction without a valid license issued by the Office of State Fire Marshal (Set-Up Inspector). 

$500.00 $750.00 $1000.00 

(45) Aiding and abetting an unlicensed operator in the operation of an inflatable amusement device, 
amusement attraction, or amusement ride (Set-Up Inspector). 

$150.00 $250.00 $350.00 

(46) Certifying or inspecting an inflatable amusement device, amusement attraction, or amusement ride 
contrary to the provisions of this Part and adopted standards, regulations, and applicable manuals, 
service bulletins, and notices (Set-Up Inspector). 

$1000.00 $2500.00 $5000.00 

(47) Submitting an application or any other document to the Office of State Fire Marshal when the set-up 
inspector reasonably should have known the document contained false or misleading information 
(Set-Up Inspector). 

$500.00 $1000.00 $2500.00 

(48) Engaging in false, misleading, or deceptive acts or practices (Set-Up Inspector). $1000.00  
(can include 

suspension or 
revocation of 

license) 

$2500.00  
(can include 

suspension or 
revocation of 

license) 

$5000.00  
(can include 

suspension or 
revocation of 

license) 

(49) Failure to maintain a valid license (Set-Up Inspector). $250.00 $500.00 $750.00 

(50) Refusal to admit the state fire marshal or his designated representative to any operating location or to 
cooperate in the purposes of such admittance (Set-Up Inspector). 

$150.00 $250.00 $350.00 

(51) Failure to maintain his license on his person and present it for inspection (Set-Up Inspector). WARNING $100.00 $250.00 

(52) Refusal to cooperate with any lawful investigation by the Office of State Fire Marshal (Set-Up 
Inspector). 

$500.00 
(can include 

suspension or 
revocation of 

license) 

$1000.00 
(can include 

suspension or 
revocation of 

license) 

$2500.00 
(can include 

suspension or 
revocation of 

license) 

(53) Altering a license, certificate, or other document received from the Office of State Fire Marshal. $1000.00 
(can include 

suspension or 
revocation of 

license) 

$2500.00 
(can include 

suspension or 
revocation of 

license) 

$5000.00 
(can include 

suspension or 
revocation of 

license) 

(54) Failure to abide by the administrative rules (Set-Up Inspector). $500.00 $750.00 $1000.00 

(55) Violation of a cease and desist order by operating an inflatable amusement device, amusement 
attraction, or amusement ride that was the subject of a red tag affixation or the removal of a red tag 
by person(s) other than the state fire marshal or his designee. 

$1000.00 $2500.00 $5000.00 

(56) Failure to notify the Office of State Fire Marshal after affixing a red event (impairment) tag on an 
inflatable amusement device, amusement attraction, or amusement ride. 

$500.00 $1000.00 $2500.00 

(57) Modification of the passenger restraints, cushioning, or containing devices of an inflatable 

amusement device, amusement attraction, or amusement ride without prior approval of the 

manufacturer and the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

$500.00 $1000.00 $2500.00 
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Violation 

Fine Amount 

1st Offense 2nd Offense 3rd Offense 

(58) Failure to maintain an inflatable amusement device, amusement attraction, or amusement ride in 

accordance with the manufacturers’ designs and recommendations. 

$500.00 $1000.00 $2500.00 

(59) Failure to immediately notify the Office of State Fire Marshal in the event of an inflatable 

amusement device, amusement attraction, or amusement ride accident that resulted in serious injury 

or death. 

$1000.00 $2000.00 $3000.00 

(60) Failure to notify the Office of State Fire Marshal in the event of an inflatable amusement device, 

amusement attraction, or amusement ride accident. 

$500.00 $1000.00 $2000.00 

(61) Altering a certificate of licensure or individual license. $100.00 $250.00 $500.00 

 
D. The state fire marshal may deviate from this fine 

schedule where circumstances and/or evidence warrant a 
more stringent or more lenient penalty. 

E. In lieu of fine payments, the state fire marshal may 
require remedial or additional training be obtained by those 
found in violation. 

F. Those offenses not enumerated in this list shall 
receive penalties for violations of similar nature. 

G. The Office of State Fire Marshal may also pursue 
injunctive relief for any of the above enumerated offenses. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1260 (July 2018). 

§2533. Severability  

A. If any provision of these rules or the application 
thereof to any firm, person, employee or circumstance is 
held invalid for any reason, the invalidity shall not affect the 
other provisions or any other application of these rules 
which can be given effect without the invalid provisions or 
application. To this end, all provisions of these rules are 
declared to be severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1263 (July 2018). 

§2535. Third-Party Inspectors; Required Certification; 

Equivalent Certification; Licensed Engineers; 

Continuing Education Requirements  

A. Required Certification 
1. Applicants for third-party inspectors’ licenses are 

required to meet the certification requirements pursuant to 
R.S. 40:1484.10, et seq., and these rules. 

B. Equivalent Certification 
1. The Office of State Fire Marshal establishes AIMS 

Associate Ride Inspector Certification, Level 1 as an 
equivalent certification, which satisfies the requirements 
established in R.S. 40:1487.10, et seq. 

C. Licensed Engineers 
1. Education and Experience Requirements  

a. Applicants shall provide documented evidence 
that the license field and experience in materials testing are 
relevant to the materials and structural components inherent 
in the inflatable amusement device, amusement attraction, 
and amusement ride industry. 

D. Continuing Education Requirements 
1. The Office of State Fire Marshal reserves the right 

to establish continuing education requirements for licensees 
in accordance with R.S. 40:1484.14, et seq., and these rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1263 (July 2018). 

§2537. Limited Third-Party Specialty Inspector 

Endorsement 

A. In order to conduct material and/or structural testing 
and perform inspections of inflatable amusement devises 
within this limited endorsement, a firm and individual must 
obtain a license from the Office of State Fire Marshal in 
accordance R.S. 40:1484.1 et seq. and these rules.  

B. Required Certification 
1. Applicants for Limited Third-Party Specialty 

Inspector are required to have a NAARSO Limited Specialty 
Certification. 

C. Continuing Education Requirements 
1. The Office of State Fire Marshal reserves the right 

to establish continuing education requirements for licensees 
in accordance with R.S. 40:1484.14, et seq., and these rules. 

D. Insurance Requirements: 
1. to engage in the material and/or structural testing 

and inspection of inflatable amusement devices, firms and 
individuals are required to obtain a minimum of general 
liability insurance in the amount of $300,000 coverage 
insuring the operator against liability for injury suffered by 
persons occupying, traversing, or otherwise utilizing 
inflatable amusement devices; or 

2. a bond in a like amount; provided, the aggregate 
liability of the surety under any such bond shall not exceed 
the face amount thereof; and 

3. an original certificate of insurance documenting 
that the firm has a current and valid worker’s compensation 
insurance policy as required by state law. 

E. Errors and Omissions Coverage 
1. Pursuant to R.S. 40:1484.16(5), the state fire 

marshal has suspended the requirement to obtain errors and 
omissions coverage by those firms and individuals who 
engage in the material and/or structural testing and 
inspection of amusement rides, amusement attractions, and 
inflatable amusement devices. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1263 (July 2018). 

§2539. Set-Up Inspectors; Minimum Qualification 

Requirements 

A. In order to obtain a license from the Office of State 
Fire Marshal to conduct set-up inspections of inflatable 
amusement devices, amusement attractions, and amusement 
rides, individuals are required to provide the following 
documented evidence of education or experience that is 
relevant to the amusement ride industry. 
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1. Education Requirements: 
a. shall provide a certified transcript detailing 

specialized schooling or training (i.e. trade, vocational, 
armed forces, or business). The name and location of school 
and/or training courses including dates attended, subjects 
studied, numbers of classroom hours, certificate(s), and any 
other pertinent information demonstrating the qualifications 
of the individual to be licensed as a set-up inspector shall be 
included in the transcript; or 

b. shall provide documentation that the individual 
holds a current Level 1 certification by the National 
Association of Amusement Ride Safety Officials 
(NAARSO); or 

c. shall provide documentation that the individual 
holds a current AIMS Associate Ride Inspector, Level 1 
certification. 

2. Experience Requirements: 
a. two years of experience with an insurance 

company as an inspector of inflatable amusement devices, 
amusement attractions, and amusement rides;  

b. two years of experience inspecting inflatable 
amusement devices, amusement attractions, and amusement 
rides and enforcing applicable codes while employed by a 
state or other governmental body regulating inflatable 
amusement devices, amusement attractions, and amusement 
rides;  

c. a minimum of three years of experience in the 
design, repair, operation, or inspection of inflatable 
amusement devices, amusement attractions, and amusement 
rides; or 

d. a minimum of five years documented field 
operation and maintenance experience in inflatable 
amusement devices, amusement attractions, and amusement 
rides, including responsibility for erection, assembly, and 
disassembly. 

B. In addition to education or experience, the candidate 
must attest to meeting the following basic requirements: 

1. shall be at least 21 years of age and provide date of 
birth; 

2. shall possess a high school diploma or equivalent 
general education development (GED) diploma; 

3. shall possess basic knowledge of ASTM 
requirements for amusement rides and devices; and 

4. the candidate will identify the following 
supplemental requirements which apply to him or her: 

a. possess knowledge of nondestructive testing 
methods and procedures; 

b. possess knowledge of the requirements of the 
American Welding Society pertaining to the welding of 
parts; 

c. possess basic knowledge of requirements of 
NFPA 70 (2014 edition), National Electrical Code, article 
525, Carnivals, Circuses, Fairs and Similar Events; and/or 

d. possess basic principles of mechanical and 
structural engineering. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1263 (July 2018). 

§2541. Set-Up Inspections; Individual Ride Units 

A. At each event, prior to the operation of an inflatable 
amusement device, amusement attraction, or amusement 

ride, licensed set-up inspectors shall utilize the set-up 
inspection form provided by the Office of State Fire Marshal 
when conducting inspections. One form shall be completed 
by each licensed inspector listing the device(s) inspected. 
Inspection forms shall be maintained for a minimum period 
of 24 months and be available upon request. 

B. Inspections shall include, but are not limited to, a 
review of necessary documents, observation of and/or 
examination of the inflatable amusement device, amusement 
attraction, or amusement ride. 

C. Inspections of inflatable amusement devices, 
amusement attractions, and amusement rides shall include, at 
a minimum, the foundation, blocking, fuel containers, 
mechanical and electrical condition and visual operation of 
the inflatable amusement device, amusement attraction, and 
amusement ride. 

D. Where only individual units of a ride, such as cars, 
seats, or other carriers are defective and not in compliance 
with R.S. 40:1484.1 et seq., and/or these rules, such units 
shall be taken out of service and clearly marked with a 
yellow event (impairment) tag, provided, however, such 
defects do not jeopardize the safety of the entire ride.  

1. When a red event (impairment) tag is affixed to an 
individual unit(s) of a ride, the licensed inspector shall notify 
the Office of State Fire Marshal within two hours of 
affixation of the tag. Notification shall be made by calling 
the Office of State Fire Marshal emergency contact number, 
1-866-946-1097. 

E. The state fire marshal or his designee, upon 
presenting credentials to the owner and/or operator of the 
inflatable amusement device, amusement attraction, or 
amusement ride, is authorized without prior notice to inspect 
and investigate at reasonable times, and within reasonable 
limits and manner, any area where inflatable amusement 
devices, amusement rides or amusement attractions are 
assembled or are in use. 

F. Inflatable amusement devices, amusement attractions, 
and amusement rides shall be operated in accordance with 
the manufacturer recommended restrictions and limitations, 
such as, but not limited to height, weight, age, or passenger 
placement. In the event the manufacturer has not provided 
such recommended restrictions, such restrictions and 
limitations must be established by the operator and shall be 
submitted to the Office of State Fire Marshal for approval. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1264 (July 2018). 

§2543. Prohibited Use 

A. If the state fire marshal, his designee, or a licensed 
inspector finds that an inflatable amusement device, 
amusement attraction, or amusement ride, presents an 
imminent danger to life, of injury, or of 
mechanical/electrical failure, he will attach to such device, 
attraction, or ride a red event (impairment) tag/cease and 
desist order. The device, attraction, or ride shall not be used 
until it is made safe to the satisfaction of a licensed third-
party inspector, the state fire marshal, or his designee, and 
the tag has been removed by the licensed third-party 
inspector, the state fire marshal, or his designee and replaced 
with a green event tag with the requisite information 
thereon. 
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B. No person shall use or permit to be used, an inflatable 
amusement device, amusement attraction, or amusement ride 
which is not properly assembled or which is defective or 
unsafe in any of its parts, components, controls, or safety 
equipment. 

C. During a lightning storm, a period of tornado alert or 
warning, or fire, or when violence, riot, or other civil 
disturbance occurs or threatens an inflatable amusement 
device, amusement attraction, or amusement ride, or in an 
area adjacent thereto, passengers shall be unloaded or 
evacuated from the device, attraction, or ride and the device, 
attraction, or ride shall be shut down and secured 
immediately. Operation shall not resume until the situation 
has returned to a normal, safe operating condition. 

D. An inflatable amusement device, amusement 
attraction, or amusement ride which is exposed to wind or 
storm with lightning or wind gust above that recommended 
by the manufacturer, shall not be operated except to release 
or discharge occupants. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1264 (July 2018). 

§2545. Medical and First Aid 

A. The owner and/or operator of an inflatable 
amusement device, amusement attraction, or amusement ride 
shall ensure the availability of medical aid. In the absence of 
an infirmary, clinic, or hospital used for the treatment of an 
injured person, within a 10-mile radius of the device, 
attraction, or ride, the owner and/or operator shall ensure 
that a person(s) shall be trained to render first aid. First aid 
supplies, recommended by the American Red Cross are 
obtainable from the local Red Cross office, shall be readily 
available. 

1. The operator shall have conspicuously posted at the 
park, carnival, fair or festival office, the telephone numbers 
and locations for local physicians, hospitals, ambulance 
services, and fire departments to be called in the event of an 
emergency. 

2. In the event of a reportable accident involving an 
inflatable amusement device, amusement attraction, or 
amusement ride incident resulting in serious injury, the 
operator or event foreman shall immediately notify the 
Office of State Fire Marshal by calling the Office of State 
Fire Marshal emergency contact number, 1-866-946-1097. 

3. A reportable accident is defined as: 
a. any fatality resulting from the victim’s inclusion 

or participation on, or proximity to an inflatable amusement 
device, amusement attraction, or amusement ride;  

b. bodily injuries resulting from the victim’s 
proximity to the structural collapse or mechanical failure 
(e.g., flying parts, fragments, etc.) of an inflatable 
amusement device, amusement attraction, or amusement 
ride;  

c. an injury resulting from the boarding or off-
boarding from a stationary amusement attraction or ride; or 

d. an injury resulting from the traversing of patrons 
utilizing stairs, ramps, etc., onto and from an inflatable 
amusement device, amusement attraction, or amusement 
ride. 

4. After determination and consultation with the 
owner and/or operator, the Office of State Fire Marshal may 
require the scene of such incident to be secured and not 
disturbed to any greater extent than necessary for the 
removal of the deceased or injured person or persons. If the 
ride is removed from service by the state fire marshal or his 
designee, an immediate investigation shall be completed and 
the ride shall not be released for repair and operation until 
after a complete investigation has been made by the Office 
of State Fire Marshal. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1265 (July 2018). 

§2547. Operation of Amusement Rides or Attractions  

A. The ride operator shall be at least 18 years of age. 
B. A ride operator may, however, be between the ages of 

15 and 17 only if the subject ride’s manual allows a person 
of that age to perform operations and only if documents are 
presented to the Office of State Fire Marshal evidencing that 
the person has received training as to the operation of that 
ride. 

C. The operator of an inflatable amusement device, 
amusement attraction, or amusement ride shall operate the 
inflatable amusement device, amusement attraction, or 
amusement ride in compliance with adopted, applicable 
standards and these rules, or the equivalence thereof as 
submitted to and approved by the Office of State Fire 
Marshal. 

D. The operator shall refuse a passenger seeking 
admission to an inflatable amusement device, amusement 
attraction, or amusement ride if the passenger cannot meet a 
guardian or height restriction if the ride is subject to such a 
restriction. Legible signs to this effect shall be posted in full 
view of the public seeking admission to inflatable 
amusement devices, amusement attractions, or amusement 
rides. 

E. The operator of an inflatable amusement device, 
amusement attraction, or amusement ride shall deny entry to 
any person, if in the opinion of the operator, the entry may 
cause above normal exposure to risk of discomfort or injury 
to the person who desires to enter, or if in the opinion of the 
operator, the entry may jeopardize the safety of other patrons 
or employees. 

F. All parts of inflatable amusement devices, amusement 
attractions, or amusement rides, and temporary structures 
used by passengers or customers shall be maintained in a 
clean condition. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1265 (July 2018). 

§2549. Maintenance and Inspection Records 

A. The operator shall retain, for a period of 24 calendar 
months, maintenance and inspection records for each 
inflatable amusement device, amusement attraction, and 
amusement ride. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1265 (July 2018). 

§2551. Notification Requirement Regarding 

Modification of Inflatable Amusement Devices, 

Amusement Attractions, Amusement Rides; 

Reidentification 

A. If an inflatable amusement device, amusement 
attraction, or amusement ride is subjected to a minor 
modification, the owner or operator shall notify the Office of 
State Fire Marshal prior to the operation of the inflatable 
amusement device, amusement attraction, or amusement ride 
and submit an application for a revision of the device, 
attraction, or ride. 

B. In the event of a major modification of an inflatable 
amusement device, amusement attraction, or amusement 
ride, the owner or operator shall notify the Office of State 
Fire Marshal and submit the appropriate registration 
application in which the owner shall reidentify the inflatable 
amusement device, amusement attraction, or amusement ride 
by a different name or identification number, or both. In 
addition, the owner shall submit for approval documentation 
equivalent to that required in ASTM Standard F1159-15b, 
detailing the modification(s). The inflatable amusement 
device, amusement attraction, or amusement ride shall also 
be subject to all other provisions of all applicable rules, 
regulations and statutes as if it were a new ride not 
previously used.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1266 (July 2018). 

§2553. Assembly and Disassembly 

A. The operator of an inflatable amusement device, 
amusement attraction, or amusement ride shall comply with 
the construction manual or the equivalency thereof as 
determined by the Office of State Fire Marshal, for the 
assembly and disassembly of the inflatable amusement 
device, amusement attraction, or amusement ride. The 
construction manual or the equivalency thereof as 
determined by the Office of State Fire Marshal, shall be kept 
with the inflatable amusement device, amusement attraction, 
or amusement ride and shall be available by request of a 
licensed inspector, the state fire marshal, or his designee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1266 (July 2018). 

§2555. Brakes and Stops 

A. On an amusement attraction or amusement ride where 
coasting renders the operation dangerous, either during the 
period while the ride or attraction is being loaded or 
unloaded, or in the case of power failure or other 
unforeseeable situation a method of braking shall be 
provided. 

B. If cars or other components of an amusement 
attraction or amusement ride may collide in such a way as to 
cause injuries upon failure of normal controls, emergency 
brakes sufficient to prevent these collisions shall be provided 
in accordance with the manufacturer's design, or the 

equivalency thereof as determined by the Office of State Fire 
Marshal. 

C. On amusement attractions or amusement rides that 
make use of inclined tracks, automatic anti-rollback devices 
shall be installed to prevent backward movement of the 
passenger carrying units in case of failure of the propelling 
mechanism. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1266 (July 2018). 

§2557. Internal Combustion Engines 

A. Internal combustion engines for amusement 
attractions or amusement rides shall be capable of handling 
the assigned load. 

B. Where fuel tanks of internal combustion engines for 
amusement rides are not of adequate capacity to permit 
uninterrupted operation during normal operating hours, the 
amusement ride shall be closed down and unloaded or 
evacuated during the refueling procedure. The fuel supply 
shall not be replenished while the engine is running. 

C. Where an internal combustion engine for an 
amusement attraction or amusement ride is operated in an 
enclosed area, the exhaust fumes shall be discharged to 
outside the enclosed area, as required by NFPA 70 (2014 
edition), National Electrical Code. 

D. Internal combustion engines for amusement 
attractions or amusement rides shall be located to permit 
proper maintenance and shall be protected by guards, 
fencing or enclosure in accordance with NFPA 70 (2014 
edition), National Electrical Code. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1266 (July 2018). 

§2559. Wire Rope 

A. Wire rope on amusement attractions or amusement 
rides shall be thoroughly examined weekly. Wire rope found 
to be damaged shall be replaced with new rope of proper 
design and capacity as per the manufacturer's data tag or as 
approved by the Office of State Fire Marshal. Any of the 
following conditions shall be cause for rope replacement: 

1. In running ropes, six randomly distributed broken 
wires in one rope lay or three broken wires in one strand of 
one rope lay; 

2. In pendants or standing ropes, evidence of more 
than one rope lay or three broken wires in one strand of one 
rope lay; 

3. abrasion, scrubbing or peening causing loss of more 
than 1/3 of the original diameter of the outside diameter of 
the outside individual wires; 

4. corrosion; 
5. kinking, crushing, birdcaging, or other damage 

resulting in distortion of the rope structure; 
6. heat damage; 
7. reduction from normal diameter of more than 3/64 

inch for diameters up to and including 3/4 inch, 1/16 inch for 
diameters 7/8 inch to 1 1/8 inches, 3/32 inch for diameters 1-
1/4 inch to 1 1/2 inches; 
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8. birdcaging or other distortion resulting in some 
members of the rope structure carrying more load than 
others; or 

9. noticeable rusting or development of broken wires 
in the vicinity of attachments. When this condition is 
localized in an operational rope, it may be eliminated by 
making a new attachment. 

B. Wire ropes used to support, suspend, bear or control 
forces and weights involved in the movement and utilization 
of tubs, cars, chairs, seats, gondolas, other carriers, the 
sweeps, or other supporting members of an amusement ride 
or attraction shall not be lengthened or repaired by splicing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1266 (July 2018). 

§2561. Hydraulic Systems 

A. Hydraulic systems and other related equipment used 
in connection with amusement attractions or amusement 
rides shall be free of leaks and maintained to ensure safe 
operation at all times. 

B. An amusement attraction or amusement ride that 
depends upon hydraulic pressure to maintain safe operation 
shall be provided with a positive means of preventing loss in 
hydraulic pressure that could result in injury to passengers. 

C. Hydraulic lines shall be guarded so that sudden leaks 
or breakage will not endanger the passengers or the public. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1267 (July 2018). 

§2563. Protection against Moving Parts 

A. The interior and exterior parts of all amusement 
attractions or amusement rides with which a passenger may 
come in contact shall be smooth and rounded, free from 
sharp, rough or splintered edges and corners, with no 
protruding studs, bolts, screws, or other projections which 
might cause injury. 

B. Interior parts of passenger carrying apparatus upon 
which a passenger may be forcibly thrown by the action of 
the ride or attraction shall be adequately padded. 

C. Amusement attractions or amusement rides which are 
self-powered and which are operated by a passenger shall 
have the driving mechanism guarded and the guard secured 
in place as to prevent passengers from gaining access to the 
driving mechanism.  

D. Handholds, bars, footrests, and other equipment, as 
may be necessary for safe entrance and exit to and from 
amusement attractions or amusement rides, shall be provided 
and maintained in a safe condition. Such equipment shall be 
of sufficient strength to support the passengers. 

E. Restraining, containing, or cushioning devices, or a 
combination of these, shall comply with this Subsection and 
be provided and used on all amusement attractions or 
amusement rides where: 

1. centrifugal and other forces mechanical 
malfunction could unseat or dislodge a passenger; 

2. inadvertent movement of a passenger could cause 
injury to the passenger or any other passenger; or 

3. the speed of the ride presents a hazard to a 
passenger. 

F. Restraining, containing or cushioning devices shall be 
designed, constructed, installed and maintained so as to 
provide safe support for passengers. 

G. Anchorage for the restraining, containing, or 
cushioning devices shall have a strength at least equal to the 
strength of such devices. 

H. All passenger restraints, cushioning, or containing 
devices shall be provided and maintained in accordance with 
the manufacturers’ designs and recommendations and shall 
not be modified without the approval of the manufacturer 
and the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

I. All exposed mechanical parts shall have guards 
installed to prevent possible personal contact while in 
operation. Any means of safeguarding, which may cause 
injury, shall not be used.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1267 (July 2018). 

§2565. Electrical Equipment 

A. The National Electrical Code, NFPA 70 (2014 
edition), shall be considered as the standard for application 
in the enforcement of the provisions of R.S. 40:1484.1, et 
seq. This document may be purchased from the: 

National Fire Protection Association 
1 Batterymarch Park 
Quincy, MA 02169-7471 

B. All electrical wiring and equipment used for 
amusement rides or attractions or for lighting shall be 
installed and maintained in accordance with the National 
Electrical Code, NFPA 70 (2014 edition). 

1. The outlets of electrical power lines carrying more 
than 120 volts shall be clearly marked to show their voltage. 

2. All electrical transformer substations shall be 
properly enclosed and proper warning signs shall be posted. 

3. Electrical wiring and equipment located outdoors 
shall be of such quality and construction or protection that 
exposure to weather will not interfere with its normal 
operation. 

4. Elevated power lines crossing access or other roads 
within the proximity of an amusement ride or attraction shall 
be so suspended as to provide a vertical clearance of at least 
15 feet from the road surface or three 3 above any vehicle 
used within the grounds of a carnival or amusement park, 
whichever is greater. A horizontal clearance of at least three 
feet shall be provided on each side of the normal passage 
space of vehicles. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1267 (July 2018). 

§2567. Temporary Wiring 

A. If temporary wiring is used it shall be in compliance 
with the applicable section of the National Electrical Code, 
NFPA 70 (2014 edition).  

B. Temporary electrical power and lighting installations 
shall be permitted during the period of construction and 
remodeling of buildings, structures, equipment or similar 
activities. 

C. Temporary electrical power and lighting installations 
shall be permitted for a period not to exceed 90 days. 
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D. All lamps for general illumination shall be protected 
from accidental contact or breakage. Protection shall be 
provided by elevation of at least 7 feet from normal working 
surface or by a suitable fixture or lamp holder with a guard. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1267 (July 2018). 

§2569. Grounding 

A. All grounding shall comply with Article 525 of the 
National Electrical Code, NFPA 70 (2014 edition). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1268 (July 2018). 

§2571. Construction 

A. All amusement attractions or amusement rides shall 
meet the requirements of the ASTM Standard for the Design 

and Manufacture of Amusement Rides and Devices and the 
NFPA 101 Life Safety Code (2015 edition). 

B. Water ride data plates shall contain a location number 
of the ride or flume and the maximum dispatch time interval. 

C. The ride operator shall maintain all of the information 
as required by ASTM F770-15 Standard Practice for 

Ownership, Operation, Maintenance, and Inspection of 

Amusement Rides and Devices, and make it available to the 
state fire marshal, or his designee, upon request. If this 
information is not available, it shall be developed by the 
owner/operator and submitted to the Office of State Fire 
Marshal for approval. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1268 (July 2018). 

§2573. Means of Access and Egress 

A. Safe and adequate means of access and egress from 
amusement attractions or amusement rides shall be provided 
as required by the NFPA Life Safety Code 101 (2015 
edition), and the ASTM Standard F1159-15b Standard 

Practice for Design of Amusement Rides and Devices that 

are Outside the Purview of Other F24 Design Standards. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1484.2(B). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1268 (July 2018). 

§2575. Walkways and Ramps 

A. Walkways and ramps shall be erected with a slope not 
greater than 1 in 10 except that when nonslip surfaces are 
provided, the grade may be increased to a maximum of 1 in 
8. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1268 (July 2018). 

§2577. Fire Prevention 

A. All buildings over one story in height shall be 
constructed or protected in accordance with NFPA 101 (2015 
edition), Chapter 8. 

B. All buildings located within 20 feet of lot lines or 
other buildings on the same lot, shall be of protected 

noncombustible or protected masonry enclosed construction 
or better. 

C. Fabrics constituting part of an amusement ride or 
attraction shall be flame resistant to meet the provisions of 
NFPA 101 (2015 edition), Chapter 8. 

D. Approved fire extinguishers in accordance with NFPA 
10 (2013 edition) and certified by a Louisiana contractor 
licensed through the Office of State Fire Marshal to inspect 
and service portable fire extinguishers, shall be provided at 
the following locations to secure reasonable and adequate 
protection from fire hazards: 

1. at or near all operating gasoline or diesel engines; 
2. at or near all amusement attraction or amusement 

ride stands, excluding water flumes; and 
3. at each food handling booth where cooking is done. 

E. Flammable waste such as oily rags and other 
flammable materials shall be placed in covered metal 
containers which shall be kept in easily accessible locations. 
Such containers shall not be kept at or near exits. 

F. Gasoline and other flammable liquids and flammable 
gases when stored shall be kept in reasonably cool and 
ventilated places. Such liquids shall be in containers as 
prescribed by NFPA 30 (2015 edition), Chapter 4. Smoking 
and the carrying of lighted cigars, cigarettes, or pipes is 
prohibited within 50 feet of any area where such liquids or 
gases are stored, or are transferred from one container to 
another. Signage shall be posted stating "No Smoking". 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1268 (July 2018). 

§2579. Water Flumes, Structural Design 

A. Structural Design. The flumes' structural design and 
materials shall be in accordance with ASTM Standard 
F1159-15b Standard Practice for Design of Amusement 

Rides and Devices that are Outside the Purview of Other 

F24 Design Standards. The flumes and pools shall be 
watertight and their surfaces shall be smooth and easy to 
clean. 

B. All stairways used as part of an amusement attraction 
or amusement ride shall be constructed to meet the 
requirements of NFPA 101 (2015 edition). 

C. Visitor and Spectator Areas. The space used by 
visitors and spectators shall be distinctly and absolutely 
separated from those spaces used by sliders. Visitors and 
spectators in street clothes may be allowed within the 
perimeter enclosure if they are confined to an area separated 
from the space the sliders use. 

D. Typical posted user safety warnings for slide 
operational use: 
 i. no running, standing, kneeling, rotating, 
tumbling, or stopping in flumes or tunnels; 
 ii. no diving from flume at any time; 
 iii. never use this slide when under the influence 
of alcohol or drugs; 
 iv. only one person at a time. Obey instructions of 
top pool supervisor and lifeguard at all times; 
 v. never form chains unless authorized by slide 
manager or by posted instructions; 
 vi. keep hands inside the flume; 
 vii. leave the landing pool promptly after exiting 
from slide; and 
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 viii. keep all glasses, bottles and food away from 
pools. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1268 (July 2018). 

§2581. Pumps 

A. Pumps and motors shall be provided to circulate the 
water in the splash pool and slide. 

B. Pump units shall be accessible for inspection and 
service in accordance with NFPA 70 (2014 edition). 

C. All motors shall have thermal overload protection in 
accordance with NFPA 70 (2014 edition). 

D. The motor frame shall be properly grounded, in 
accordance with NFPA 70 (2014 edition). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1269 (July 2018). 

§2583. Water Quality 

A. Water quality shall be maintained to meet the 
requirements established by the Louisiana Department of 
Health and Hospitals. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1269 (July 2018). 

§2585. Electrical Safety and Lighting 

A. The 2011 edition of the National Electrical Code, as 
published by the National Fire Protection Association, shall 
be used for the wiring and grounding of all electrical 
equipment associated with a flume and for the grounding of 
all metallic appurtenances. 

B. Whenever flumes are operated after dark, artificial 
lighting shall be provided in upper and lower pool and deck 
areas, walkways, stairways, and flumes. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1269 (July 2018). 

§2587. Operation, Water Flumes 

A. The manufacturer or the general contractor of the 
flume shall provide the operator with a detailed written 
operational manual, or guide, for all phases of operations 
and normal maintenance of each component of the system as 
per ASTM Standard F770-15 Standard Practice for 

Ownership, Operation, Maintenance, and Inspection of 

Amusement Rides and Devices. 
B. The guide shall be kept in a secure area and made 

available to each employee or inspector as needed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1484.2(B). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1267 (July 2018). 

§2589. Responsibility of Flume Operators 

A. Flume operators shall meet the requirements of 
ASTM Standard F770-15 Standard Practice for Ownership, 
Operation, Maintenance, and Inspection of Amusement 
Rides and Devices. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1269 (July 2018). 

§2591. Fixed Operation Location Emergency 

Procedures 

A. For fixed operation locations, a written plan for 
emergencies shall be carefully devised, kept current, and a 
copy of which shall be readily available upon demand. All 
employees shall be trained and drilled periodically in the 
execution of the plan. 

B. The emergency plan shall encompass crowd control 
and safe evacuation, drownings, electrical shock, heat 
prostration, fractures, poisonings, cuts and burns, neck and 
back or spinal injuries, and exposure to chlorine gas.  

C. All water flume locations shall have posted by the 
phones a list of current emergency numbers, to include the 
nearest available ambulance service, hospital, rescue squad, 
police assistant secretaries, and fire department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1269 (July 2018). 

§2593. Go-Kart Rules and Regulations 

A. Kart Design 
1. The speed of each kart shall be limited or governed 

to not exceed the following: The maximum adult track speed 
shall not exceed 25 mph and kiddie track speed shall not 
exceed 10 mph. Speeds other than defined will require 
approval from the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

2. Whenever the design of a kart enables the 
readjustment of the governing speed, the means of 
adjustment shall not be accessible to the patron of the kart. 

3. The seat, backrest, seat belts, and leg area of every 
kart shall be designed to retain the patron inside the kart in 
the event of a collision or overturn. 

4. Karts shall be fitted with a shoulder harness and/or 
belt restraint system as required by the kart manufacturer 
and acceptable to the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

5. Karts shall be provided with sufficient guards to 
prevent anyone from coming in contact with the drive 
chains, belts, hot mufflers, engines or rotating parts. 

6. Karts shall have bumpers, wheels, and body parts 
that are comparable to that installed by the original 
manufacturer. 

7. Kart wheels shall be enclosed, guarded, or operated 
so the wheels of a kart cannot interlock with or ride over the 
wheels of another kart. 

8. The kart steering wheel, hub, and all exposed 
components shall be padded or helmets and face shields 
worn to minimize the risk of injury to any patron in the 
event of a collision or overturn. 

9. The kart fuel tank shall be designed and mounted to 
prevent it from damage or leaking in the event of a collision 
or overturn. 

10. Headrests or roll bars on a kart shall extend above 
the patron's head and be capable of supporting the weight of 
the kart and patron as required by the manufacturer. In the 
event the manufacturer fails to recommend or address this 
area, the karts shall be equipped with roll bars acceptable to
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the Office of State Fire Marshal. Any deviations from this 
requirement shall be submitted to and approved by the 
Office of State Fire Marshal. 

11. Karts shall be provided with impact absorbing 
bumpers, or energy absorption body parts. 

12. Karts shall have sufficient muffler systems installed 
to prevent any noise levels which will interfere with the 
track operations, adjacent businesses, residential areas, or 
damage the hearing of employees or patrons. 

13. The brake and throttle controls on a kart shall be 
clearly identified. The brake and throttle controls shall be 
foot operated and return automatically to a non-operational 
position when released. 

14. Karts shall be individually identified either by 
numbers, alpha characters, or other markings acceptable to 
the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

15. Karts shall be inspected and maintained in 
accordance to manufacturer standards to include, but not 
limited to, the frame, engine, body, safety restraints, tires, 
etc.  

16. Records of kart inspections and maintenance shall 
be retained by the operator for a period of 24 calendar 
months. 

B. Track Design 
1. The design of the kart track shall be consistent with 

the kart manufacturers' recommendations. In the absence of 
any manufacturers' recommendations, the track design shall 
comply with the current industry standards acceptable to the 
Office of State Fire Marshal. 

2. Cones may be used on tracks as a warning device 
and to notify the patron of upcoming changes in the track 
conditions and are used for the following specific reasons: 

a. to notify drivers of impending course changes; 
b. to outline the track and mark key points such as 

the apex of the turns; and 
c. as a warning device to notify the drivers of the 

severity of upcoming turns by the location and number of 
cones prior to the turn; 

d. cone placement: 
 i. on the inside corners; one cone to alert the 
driver and locate the apex; 
 ii. on the outside corner; two cones to identify 
minor course changes; 
 iii. three cones to identify course changes which 
requires a slower speed to safely negotiate the turn; and 
 iv. four and five cones to identify areas where 
both slower speed and applied braking will be necessary to 
safely complete the course. 

e. once the proper cone locations have been located 
for the track, these locations shall be marked with high 
visibility paint under the proper location of the cone. This 
will alert racing attendants to the correct location of the 
cones when they are displaced. 

3. The track shall have a hard, smooth surface. 
4. The track shall provide road grip sufficient to 

enable the kart to be driven safely at maximum speed and 
shall be free of ruts, holes, bumps, water, oil, dirt, or other 
debris. 

5. Track surface and design not covered by 
manufacturers' recommendations or in the absence of such 
recommendations must be approved by the Office of State 
Fire Marshal. 

6. The width of the track must be a minimum of 16 
feet and maximum of 25 feet. The turns on an oval track 
must be a minimum of 5 feet wider than the straight away. 
The minimum radius of the turns is 15 feet. Any deviations 
from these requirements shall be submitted to and approved 
by the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

7. The track shall have signs that indicate one 
direction of travel and no U-turns permitted. These signs 
shall be posted at various locations around the track 
perimeter. Signs, signal lights and other safety equipment 
shall be maintained in operational condition at all times 
when open to the public. 

8. The track shall have no intersecting course 
configurations. Pit entrances and exits are allowed but 
appropriate clearly posted signage indicating the entry and 
exit locations are required to prevent collisions. 

9. The shoulder shall be level with the track and 
marked with cones. White or yellow lines at least 4 inches in 
width shall be used to mark all inside and outside edges of 
the kart track except where barriers are provided along the 
inside and outside edges of the kart track. 

10. Barriers shall be designed to prevent a kart from 
overturning or running over or under the barrier and 
designed to bring a kart safely to a full stop or guide the kart 
safely back onto the track. 

a. Barriers shall be placed: 
 i. between tracks or sections of tracks within 30 
feet of each other and constructed of materials that will not 
readily ignite; 
 ii. between the track and obstructions or hazards 
located with 30 feet from the track; 
 iii. along all non-access and non-egress edges of 
the pit area; and 
 iv. between the track and any area accessible to 
spectators. 

11. Fencing shall be at least 48 inches in height. The 
fence and gates shall be designed so a 4-inch sphere cannot 
pass through any opening. Fencing shall be located around 
every kart track. 

12. Pit area for loading and unloading must be 
separated from the track by a fence or barrier. The pit area 
must be the same surface as the track and have separate, 
clearly marked entrance and exit lanes. 

13. Electrical installations must comply with the 
National Electrical Code, NFPA 70 (2014 edition), and 
include lighting for night operation, if operations are 
conducted after dark. 

14. Proposals for construction of new kart tracks and 
proposals for the renovation, alteration, or modification of 
existing tracks in the State of Louisiana shall be submitted to 
the Office of State Fire Marshal and other appropriate 
agencies before beginning construction. The following 
information shall accompany any application or proposal 
and shall include but not be limited to: 

a. one copy of site plans and all accompanying 
documentation; 

b. a copy of all required local, parish or state 
permits such as (but not limited to) business licenses, and/or 
electrical, building, or plumbing permits. When all 
inspections are completed by local, parish or state agencies 
one copy of the completed inspection report shall be sent to 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 44, No. 07   July 20, 2018 1271

the Office of State Fire Marshal for enclosure in the facility's 
permanent file.  

15. Fire Protection 
a. Kart tracks shall be equipped with ABC dry 

chemical fire extinguishers with a 4A 80BC rating with a 
travel distance not to exceed 50 feet as provided for in NFPA 
10 (2013 edition), Standard for Portable Fire Extinguishers. 

b. The required fire extinguisher shall be readily 
accessible from all areas of the track and one fire 
extinguisher shall be kept in the pit and refueling area(s). 
The fire extinguisher location shall be prominently marked, 
easily accessible and approximately 36 inches above the 
ground. 

16. Refueling Area 
a. Karts shall be refueled in a designated location 

remote from any area accessible to the public. Fuel storage 
and transfer cans must meet the requirements of NFPA 30 
(2015 edition). Any fuel spillage must be promptly cleaned 
and prevented from running onto the track or any area 
accessible to the public. Warning signs must be prominently 
displayed stating that smoking is prohibited in the refueling 
area. 

b. All kart motors shall be turned off during 
refueling. 

17. Track Operation 
a. Karts may only be operated by patrons within 

height limits set by the manufacturer. If no height limit is set 
by the manufacturer, patrons shall be at least 52 inches tall 
and have a leg length that can reach the brake and throttle 
controls from the patron's seat in order to drive an adult kart. 

b. Only patrons less than 52 inches in height with a 
leg length sufficient to reach the brake and throttle controls 
from the patron's seat shall be permitted to operate a kiddie 
kart. 

c. Adult karts and kiddie karts shall not be operated 
on the same track at the same time. 

d. No kart shall be operated during a lightning 
storm, a period of tornado warning, fire, riot, or other civil 
disturbance in the area of the track or in an adjacent area. If 
any of these events occur while the track is in operation, 
patrons shall be unloaded and evacuated from the ride and 
the ride shut down until normal, safe operational conditions 
are established. 

e. Kart tracks shall be monitored during operation 
either directly by attendants, or indirectly by electronic 
visual and audio means acceptable to the Office of State Fire 
Marshal. 

f. A kart losing oil or fuel shall immediately be 
removed from the kart track. All karts must be stopped 
immediately and the track cleaned prior to restarting. 

g. When the kart manufacturer recommends, or they 
are deemed necessary by the Office of State Fire Marshal, 
the use of helmets must be provided for all patrons to use. 
Helmets, if used, must fit the patron's head correctly. All 
helmets must be cleaned with disinfectant twice daily. 

h. Karts designed for single or multiple riders shall 
use a shoulder harness and/or belt restraint system as 
required by the kart manufacturer. When deemed necessary 
for additional protection of kart patrons, the Office of State 
Fire Marshal may require the addition and use of a shoulder 
harness or belt restraint system on all karts. 

i. Patron's loose clothing and hair longer than 
shoulder length must be secured prior to operating any kart. 
Fully enclosed shoes must be worn by kart patrons at all 
times during operation of a kart. 

j. Patrons are prohibited from smoking during kart 
operation. 

k. Track attendants shall not allow patrons to leave 
their karts either in the pit or on the track unless assisted by 
track or pit attendants. 

l. The kart track operator shall post a conspicuous 
warning sign at the entrance to the kart track. The sign shall 
be at least 2 feet by 2 feet in sharply contrasting colors and 
shall contain manufacturer warnings regarding medical 
restrictions, if any, for ride patrons.  

m. The kart track operator must have a sign posted at 
the ticket window or track entrance and in the pit area that 
conveys, at a minimum, the following rules and regulations: 
 i. The patron height limit specified by the 
manufacturer, or no less than 52 inches for adult karts and no 
more than 52 inches for kiddie karts. 
 ii. Keep both hands on the wheel and both feet in 
the kart at all times. Do not get out of the kart unless track 
attendant is present. 
 iii. All loose clothing and hair longer than 
shoulder length must be secured. Fully enclosed shoes must 
be worn by kart patrons at all times during operation of kart. 
 iv. No smoking in kart or pit area. 
 v. Persons under the influence of intoxicants will 
not be allowed to operate karts. 
 vi. The use of private karts or vehicles will be 
prohibited on kart track when they are open to the public.  

C. All plans and accompanying documents and any 
requests for deviations from the requirements herein can be 
submitted online to the Office of State Fire Marshal by 
utilizing the agency’s Information Management System 
(OSFM-IMS), which is accessible via the agency’s website 
(www.lasfm.org). 

D. Record Retention and Inspection 
1. Daily inspections must be made on all karts prior to 

operation. Inspections shall include but not be limited to: 
tires, padding, steering wheel, frame welds, spindles, axles, 
seat or shoulder belts, roll bars, gasoline tank condition, 
brake and gas pedal operation, and other parts as 
recommended by the kart manufacturer or the Office of State 
Fire Marshal. 

2. Weekly, monthly and annual inspections shall be 
performed as recommended by the kart manufacturer or the 
Office of State Fire Marshal. 

3. A track operation manual shall be written in the 
English language and available for review by the Office of 
State Fire Marshal. 

4. The kart track shall have and demonstrate an 
emergency plan for evacuation of patrons and employees in 
the event of an emergency. This shall include, but not be 
limited to, fires, kart collisions, dangerous weather, 
obstructions on the track, handling intoxicated patrons, and 
emergency first aid. 

5. The kart track shall maintain records of all required 
inspections for a period of 24 months. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1484.2(B). 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
44:1269 (July 2018). 

 
Jason Starnes 
Undersecretary 

1807#039 

 
RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 

Office of State Police 

Breath and Blood Alcohol Analysis Methods  
and Techniques (LAC 55:I.583) 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 32:663 relative 
to the authority of the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections to promulgate and enforce rules pursuant to 
approval of testing methods, the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police has amended 
rules under LAC 55:I.583, in relation to breath and blood 
alcohol analysis to provide for LCMSMS testing for drugs of 
impairment found in urine and blood by permitted 
laboratories. Modification was needed to allow for permitted 
laboratories to have standardized criteria. This Rule is 
hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 55 

PUBLIC SAFETY 

Part I.  State Police 

Chapter 5. Breath and Blood Alcohol Analysis 

Methods and Techniques 

Subchapter C. Analysis of Blood and Urine for 

Controlled Dangerous Substances 

§583. Analytical Procedures 

A. … 
B. Positive identification of an analyte shall at a 

minimum be based on the possible presence of the analyte or 
the analyte class in the screening test and its presence in the 
confirmatory test. Confirmation shall be based on the 
identification of at least three major ions with that of a 
reference analyte. Correlation between ion ratios of the base 
peak and another major peak shall be within 20 percent for 
gas chromatography/mass spectrometry procedures and 
within 30 percent for liquid chromatography/mass 
spectrometry procedures. Retention times between the 
analyte in question and the reference analyte shall be “within 
+ or - 2 percent” for gas chromatography/mass spectrometry 
procedures and “within + or - 6 seconds or + or - 10 percent” 
for liquid chromatography/mass spectrometry procedures. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:663. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety, Office of State Police, LR 26:2625 (November 
2000), amended LR 37:1417 (May 2011), LR 44:1272 (July 2018). 

 
Jason Starnes 
Chief Administration Officer 

1807#002 

 
 

RULE 

Department of Revenue 

Policy Services Division 

Mandatory Electronic Filing of Telecommunication 
Tax for the Deaf Tax Returns (LAC 61:III.1529) 

Under the authority of Act 150 of the 2017 Regular 
Session of the Louisiana Legislature which authorizes the 
secretary the discretion to require electronic filing of tax 
returns or reports by administrative rule promulgated with 
legislative oversight in accordance with the Administrative 
Act, R.S. 47:1511, 1520, and, in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq., the Department of Revenue, Policy Services 
Division, has adopted LAC 61:III.1529 to provide for 
mandatory electronic filing requirements for the 
telecommunication tax for the deaf tax returns. This Rule is 
hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 61 

REVENEUE AND TAXATION 

Part III.  Administrative and Miscellaneous Provisions 

Chapter 15. Mandatory Electronic Filing of Tax 

Returns and Payment 

§1529. Telecommunication Tax for the Deaf—Electronic 

Filing Requirements 

A. R.S. 47:1520(A)(2) allows the secretary to require 
electronic filing of any return or report required by the 
Department of Revenue for the administration of the 
telecommunications for the deaf fund filed by a local or 
wireless telecommunication service company operating in 
Louisiana. 

B. Effective for the third quarter of the 2018 taxable 
calendar and all other taxable calendar quarters thereafter, all 
reports and returns filed by a local or wireless 
telecommunication service company operating in Louisiana 
shall be filed electronically with the Department of Revenue 
on or before the thirtieth day following the close of the 
reporting period using the electronic format provided by the 
department. 

C.1. Failure to comply with the electronic filing 
requirement of this section in the absence of an undue 
hardship exemption will result in the assessment of a penalty 
as provided for in R.S. 47:1520(B). 

2. Waiver of the penalty provided for in Paragraph 1 
of this Subsection shall only be allowed as provided for in 
R.S. 47:1520(B). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1511, 1061, and 1520. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 44:1272 (July 2018). 

 
Kimberly Lewis Robinson 
Secretary 

1807#037 
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RULE 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 

Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

2018-2020 Hunting Regulations and Seasons  
(LAC 76:XIX.Chapter 1) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission has amended the 
general and wildlife management area rules and regulations 
for the 2018-2019 season, the resident game hunting season 
for the 2018-2020 hunting seasons, the general and wildlife 
management area rules and regulations for the turkey season, 
the turkey hunting areas, and seasons, and bag limits for the 
2019 turkey season, and the migratory bird seasons, 
regulations, and bag limits for the 2018-2020 hunting 
season. This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of 
promulgation. 

Title 76 

WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part XIX.  Hunting and WMA Regulations 

Chapter 1. Resident Game Hunting Season 

§101. General 

A. The resident game hunting season regulations have 
been adopted by the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission. A 

complete copy of the regulations pamphlet may be obtained 
from the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
21:707 (July 1995), amended LR 22:585 (July 1996), LR 23:871 
(July 1997), LR 24:1324 (July 1998), LR 25:1290 (July 1999), LR 
26:1506 (July 2000), LR 27:1061 (July 2001), LR 28:1615 (July 
2002), LR 29:1122 (July 2003), LR 30:1493 (July 2004), LR 
31:1627 (July 2005), LR 32:1253 (July 2006), LR 33:1399 (July 
2007), LR 34:1447 (July 2008), LR 35:1278 (July 2009), LR 
36:1580 (July 2010), LR 37:2206 (July 2011), LR 38:1747 (July 
2012), LR 39:2307 (August 2013), LR 40:1534 (August 2014), LR 
41:958 (May 2015), LR 42:1107 (July 2016), LR 44:1273 (July 
2018). 

§103. Resident Game Birds and Animals  

A. Shooting Hoursone-half hour before sunrise to one-
half hour after sunset. 

B. Consult Regulation Pamphlet for Seasons or Specific 

Regulations on Wildlife Management Areas or Specific 

Localities. 
 

 
 

Species Season Dates Daily Bag Limit Possession Limit 

Quail OPENS: 3rd Saturday of November 
CLOSES: Last Day of February 

10 30 

Rabbit and Squirrel OPENS: 1st Saturday of October 
CLOSES: Last Day of February 

8 24 

Squirrel* OPENS: 1st Saturday of May for 23 days 3 9 

Deer 
2018-2020 

See Schedule 1 antlered and 1 
antlerless (when legal) 

Deer Areas 1,2,3,5,6,7,8, and 9 6/season (not to 
exceed 3 antlered deer or 4 antlerless deer). 
Deer Area 4 limit 3/season (not to exceed 2 
antlered or 2 antlerless deer). Deer Area 10 
limit 3/season (not to exceed 2 antlered or 2 
antlerless deer). 

 
*NOTE: Spring squirrel season is closed on the Kisatchie National Forest, National Wildlife Refuges, U.S. Army Corps of 
Engineers property. Some state wildlife management areas will be open, check WMA season schedule. 

 

C. Deer Hunting Schedule 2018-2019 
 

Area Archery 

Primitive Firearms  

(All Either Sex  

Except as Noted) 

Still Hunt  

(No dogs allowed) With or Without Dogs 

1 OPENS: 1st day of Oct. 
CLOSES: Last day of 
Jan. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. after 2nd Sat. of 
Nov. 
OPENS: Mon. after the next to last 
Sun. of Jan. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan. 

OPENS: Sat. before Thanksgiving 
Day  
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov., then it will open on the 3rd 
Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of 
Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov. and then it will close on the Fri. 
before the 1st Sat. of Dec. 
OPENS: Mon. after 1st Sat. of Jan. 
CLOSES: next to last Sun. of Jan. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. 
in Nov., then it will open on the 
1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 1st Sat. of 
Jan. 
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Area Archery 

Primitive Firearms  

(All Either Sex  

Except as Noted) 

Still Hunt  

(No dogs allowed) With or Without Dogs 

2 OPENS: 1st day of Oct. 
CLOSES: Last day of 
Jan. 

OPENS: Next to last Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before last Sat. of 
Oct. 
OPENS: Mon. after the last day of 
Modern Firearm Season in Jan. 
CLOSES: After 7 days. 

OPENS: Last Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Tues. before 2nd Sat. of 
Dec. in odd numbered years and on 
Wed. during even numbered years 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov. and then it will close on the 
Tues. in odd numbered years or 
Wed. during even numbered years 
before the 1st Sat. of Dec. 

OPENS: Wed. before the 2nd Sat. 
of Dec. in odd numbered years 
and on Thurs. during even 
numbered years 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. 
in Nov., then it will open on the 
Wed. before the 1st Sat. of Dec. 
on odd years and Thurs. during 
even numbered years 
CLOSES: 40 days after opening 
in odd numbered years or 39 days 
after opening in even numbered 
years 

3 OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Sept. 
CLOSES: Jan. 15 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of 
Oct. 
OPENS: Mon. after Thanksgiving 
Day 
CLOSES: Fri. before 1st Sat. of 
Dec. 

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving 
Day 
OPENS: 1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: After 37 days  

 OPENS: 1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: After 37 days. 

4 OPENS: 1st day of Oct. 
CLOSES: Last day of 
Jan. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. after 2nd Sat. of 
Nov. 
OPENS: Mon. after the next to last 
Sun. of Jan. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan.  

OPENS: Sat. before Thanksgiving 
Day  
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov., then it will open on the 3rd 
Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of 
Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov. and then it will close on the Fri. 
before the 1st Sat. of Dec. 
OPENS: Mon. after 1st Sat. of Jan. 
CLOSES: next to last Sun. of Jan.  

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. 
in Nov., then it will open on the 
1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 1st Sat. of 
Jan.  

5 OPENS: 1st day of Oct. 
CLOSES: Feb. 15 
(1st 15 days are BUCKS 
ONLY) 

(All Either Sex except as noted.) 
OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of 
Nov. 
OPENS: Mon. after next to last 
Sun. of Jan. Bucks Only 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan. 

OPENS: Sat. before Thanksgiving 
Day  
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov., then it will open on the 3rd 
Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov. and then it will close on the Fri. 
before the 1st Sat. of Dec. (BUCKS 
ONLY UNLESS EITHER SEX 
SEASON IS IN PROGRESS)  
OPENS: Sat. before Thanksgiving 
Day 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. In 
Nov., then it will open on the 3rd 
Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Sun. of the same weekend. 
EITHER SEX: 
OPENS: Fri. after Thanksgiving 
Day. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving 
day. (EITHER SEX) 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. 
in Nov., then it will open on the 
1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Next to last Sun. of 
Jan. (BUCKS ONLY UNLESS 
EITHER SEX SEASON IS IN 
PROGRESS)  
OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 2nd Sat. of 
Dec. (EITHER SEX) 
OPENS: Sat. before Christmas. 
CLOSES: Sun. before Christmas 
(EITHER SEX). 
 

6 OPENS: 1st day of Oct. 
CLOSES: Feb. 15 
(1st 15 days are BUCKS 
ONLY) 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of 
Nov. 
OPENS: Mon. after the next to last 
Sun. of Jan. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan. 

OPENS: Sat. before Thanksgiving 
Day  
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov., then it will open on the 3rd 
Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov. and then it will close on the Fri. 
before the 1st Sat. of Dec. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. 
in Nov., then it will open on the 
1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Next to last Sun. of 
Jan. 

7 OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Sept. 
CLOSES: Jan. 15. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of 
Oct. 
OPENS: 1st Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of 
Nov.  

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 1st Sat. of Nov.  
OPENS: 2nd Sat of Nov. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving  

OPENS: Mon. after Thanksgiving 
Day 
CLOSES: After 35 days 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 44, No. 07   July 20, 2018 1275

Area Archery 

Primitive Firearms  

(All Either Sex  

Except as Noted) 

Still Hunt  

(No dogs allowed) With or Without Dogs 

8 OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Sept. 
CLOSES: Jan. 15 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of 
Oct.  
OPENS: Mon. after Thanksgiving 
Day 
CLOSES: Fri. before 1st Sat. of 
Dec. 

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving 
Day. 

OPENS: 1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: After 37 days. 

9 OPENS: 1st day of Oct. 
CLOSES: Feb. 15 
(1st 15 days are BUCKS 
ONLY) 

OPENS: Mon. after the next to last 
Sun. of Jan. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan. 
OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of 
Nov. 
OPENS: Mon. after next to last 
Sun. of Jan. Bucks Only 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan. Bucks 
Only 

OPENS: Sat. before Thanksgiving 
Day  
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov., then it will open on the 3rd 
Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of 
Dec. EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. 
in Nov. and then it will close on the 
Fri. before the 1st Sat. of Dec. 
(BUCKS ONLY UNLESS EITHER 
SEX SEASON IS IN PROGRESS)  
OPENS: Sat. before Thanksgiving 
Day  
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov., then it will open on the 3rd Sat. 
of Nov. 
CLOSES: Sunday of the same 
weekend. EITHER SEX:  
OPENS: Fri. after Thanksgiving 
Day. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving 
day. (EITHER SEX)  

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. 
in Nov., then it will open on the 
1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Next to last Sun. of 
Jan. (BUCKS ONLY UNLESS 
EITHER SEX SEASON IS IN 
PROGRESS)  
OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 2nd Sat. of 
Dec. (EITHER SEX) 
OPENS: Sat. before Christmas.  
CLOSES: Sun. before Christmas.  
 

10 OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Sept. 
CLOSES: Jan. 15 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of 
Oct.  
OPENS: Mon. after Thanksgiving 
Day 
CLOSES: Fri. before 1st Sat. of 
Dec.  

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving 
Day 
OPENS: 1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: After 37 days 

  

 
D. Deer Hunting Schedule 2019-2020 
 

Area Archery 

Primitive Firearms (All Either Sex 

Except as Noted) Still Hunt (No dogs allowed) With or Without Dogs 

1 OPENS: 1st day of Oct. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. after 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
OPENS: Mon. after the next to last 
Sun. of Jan. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan. 

OPENS: Sat. before Thanksgiving 
Day  
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov., then it will open on the 3rd 
Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of 
Dec.  
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov. and then it will close on the 
Fri. before the 1st Sat. of Dec. 
OPENS: Mon. after 1st Sat. of Jan. 
CLOSES: next to last Sun. of Jan. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov., then it will open on the 1st 
Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 1st Sat. of 
Jan. 

2 OPENS: 1st day of Oct. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan. 

OPENS: Next to last Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before last Sat. of Oct. 
OPENS: Mon. after the last day of 
Modern Firearm Season in Jan. 
CLOSES: After 7 days. 

OPENS: Last Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Tues. before 2nd Sat. of 
Dec. in odd numbered years and on 
Wed. during even numbered years 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov. and then it will close on the 
Tues. in odd numbered years or 
Wed. during even numbered years 
before the 1st Sat. of Dec. 

OPENS: Wed. before the 2nd Sat. 
of Dec. in odd numbered years 
and on Thurs. during even 
numbered years  
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov., then it will open on the 
Wed. before the 1st Sat. of Dec. 
on odd years and Thurs. during 
even numbered years 
CLOSES: 40 days after opening in 
odd numbered years or 39 days 
after opening in even numbered 
years 

3 OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Sept. 
CLOSES: Jan. 15 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
OPENS: Mon. after Thanksgiving 
Day 
CLOSES: Fri. before 1st Sat. of Dec. 

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving 
Day 
OPENS: 1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: After 37 days 

OPENS: 1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: After 37 days. 
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Area Archery 

Primitive Firearms (All Either Sex 

Except as Noted) Still Hunt (No dogs allowed) With or Without Dogs 

4 OPENS: 1st day of Oct. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. after 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
OPENS: Mon. after the next to last 
Sun. of Jan. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan.  

OPENS: Sat. before Thanksgiving 
Day  
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov., then it will open on the 3rd 
Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of 
Dec.  
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov. and then it will close on the 
Fri. before the 1st Sat. of Dec. 
OPENS: Mon. after 1st Sat. of Jan. 
CLOSES: next to last Sun. of Jan.  

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov., then it will open on the 1st 
Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 1st Sat. of 
Jan.  

5 OPENS: 1st day of Oct. 
CLOSES: Feb. 15 
(1st 15 days are BUCKS 
ONLY) 

(All Either Sex except as noted.) 
OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of 
Nov. 
OPENS: Mon. after next to last Sun. 
of Jan. Bucks Only 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan. 
 

OPENS: Sat. before Thanksgiving 
Day  
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov., then it will open on the 3rd 
Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of 
Dec. EXCEPT when there are 5 
Sats. in Nov. and then it will close 
on the Fri. before the 1st Sat. of 
Dec. (BUCKS ONLY UNLESS 
EITHER SEX SEASON IS IN 
PROGRESS)  
OPENS: Sat. before Thanksgiving 
Day  
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov., then it will open on the 3rd 
Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Sun. of the same 
weekend. 
EITHER SEX: 
OPENS: Fri. after Thanksgiving 
Day. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving 
day. (EITHER SEX) 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov., then it will open on the 1st 
Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Next to last Sun. of Jan. 
(BUCKS ONLY UNLESS 
EITHER SEX SEASON IS IN 
PROGRESS)  
OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 2nd Sat. of 
Dec. (EITHER SEX) 
OPENS: Sat. before Christmas. 
CLOSES: Sun. before Christmas. 
 

6 OPENS: 1st day of Oct. 
CLOSES: Feb. 15 
(1st 15 days are BUCKS 
ONLY) 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of Nov. 
OPENS: Mon. after the next to last 
Sun. of Jan. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan. 

OPENS: Sat. before Thanksgiving 
Day  
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov., then it will open on the 3rd 
Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of 
Dec.  
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov. and then it will close on the 
Fri. before the 1st Sat. of Dec. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov., then it will open on the 1st 
Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Next to last Sun. of Jan. 

7 OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Sept. 
CLOSES: Jan. 15. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
OPENS: 1st Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of 
Nov.  

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri Before 1st Sat. of 
Nov.  
OPENS: 2nd Sat of Nov. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving 

OPENS: Mon. after Thanksgiving 
Day 
CLOSES: After 35 days 

8 OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Sept. 
CLOSES: Jan. 15 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
OPENS: Mon. after Thanksgiving 
Day 
CLOSES: Fri. before 1st Sat. of Dec. 

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving 
Day. 

OPENS: 1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: After 37 days. 
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Area Archery 

Primitive Firearms (All Either Sex 

Except as Noted) Still Hunt (No dogs allowed) With or Without Dogs 

9 OPENS: 1st day of Oct. 
CLOSES: Feb. 15 
(1st 15 days are BUCKS 
ONLY) 

OPENS: Mon. after the next to last 
Sun. of Jan. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan.  
OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of Nov. 
OPENS: Mon. after next to last Sun. 
of Jan. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan. Bucks 
Only 

OPENS: Sat. before Thanksgiving 
Day  
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov., then it will open on the 3rd 
Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of 
Dec.  
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov. and then it will close on the 
Fri. before the 1st Sat. of Dec. 
(BUCKS ONLY UNLESS EITHER 
SEX SEASON IS IN PROGRESS) 
OPENS: Sat before Thanksgiving 
Day  
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov., then it will open on the 3rd 
Sat. of Nov.  
CLOSES: Sunday of the same 
weekend. EITHER SEX:  
OPENS: Fri. after Thanksgiving 
Day. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving 
day. (EITHER SEX) 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov., then it will open on the 1st 
Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Next to last Sun. of Jan. 
(BUCKS ONLY UNLESS 
EITHER SEX SEASON IS IN 
PROGRESS) 
OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 2nd Sat. of 
Dec. (EITHER SEX) 
OPENS: Sat. before Christmas. 
CLOSES: Sun. before Christmas 

10 OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Sept. 
CLOSES: Jan. 15 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
OPENS: Mon. after Thanksgiving 
Day 
CLOSES: Fri. before 1st Sat. of Dec.  

  

 
E. Farm-raised white-tailed deer on supplemented 

shooting preserves: 

1. archery, firearm, primitive firearmsOctober 1-
January 31 (either-sex). 

F. Exotics on supplemented shooting preserves: 

1. either sexno closed season. 
G. Spring squirrel hunting: 

1. season datesopens 1st Saturday of May for 23 
days; 

2. closed areas: 
a. Kisatchie National Forest, national wildlife 

refuges, and U.S. Army Corps of Engineers property and all 
WMAs except as provided in Paragraph 3 below; 

3. wildlife management area scheduleopens first 
Saturday of May for nine days on all WMAs except Fort 
Polk, Peason Ridge, Camp Beauregard, Pass-a-Loutre and 
Salvador. Dogs are allowed during this season for squirrel 
hunting; 

4. limitsdaily bag limit is three and possession limit 
is nine. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:115, R.S. 56:109(B) and R.S. 56:141(C). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
21:707 (July 1995), amended LR 22:585 (July 1996), LR 23:871 
(July 1997), LR 24:1324 (July 1998), LR 25:1290 (July 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1526 (August 1999), LR 26:1506 (July 
2000), LR 27:1061 (July 2001), LR 28:1615 (July 2002), LR 
29:1122 (July 2003), repromulgated LR 29:1521 (August 2003), 
amended LR 30:1494 (July 2004), LR 31:1627 (July 2005), LR 
32:1254 (July 2006), LR 33:115 (January 2007), LR 33:1399 (July 
2007), LR 34:1447 (July 2008), LR 35:1278 (July 2009), LR 
35:2856 (December 2009), LR 36:1580 (July 2010), LR 37:2207 
(July 2011), LR 38:1747 (July 2012), LR 39:2307 (August 2013), 
LR 40:1535 (August 2014), LR 41:958 (May 2015), LR 42:1108 
(July 2016), LR 43:1420 (July 2017), LR 44:1273 (July 2018). 

§105. Physically Challenged Hunters Permit 

A. Definitions 
ATV—an off-road vehicle (not legal for highway use) 

with factory specifications not to exceed the following: 
weight—750 lbs.; length—85”; width—48”. ATV tires are 
restricted to those no larger than 26x12 with a maximum 1” 
lug height and a maximum allowable tire pressure of 12 psi 
as indicated on the tire by the manufacturer. 

* * * 
B. - E.3.h. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 

1226 of the 1995 Louisiana Legislative Session. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
22:856 (September 1996), amended LR 34:1444 (July 2008), LR 
36:2051 (September 2010), LR 44:1277 (July 2018). 

§111. General and Wildlife Management Area 

Hunting Rules and Regulations 

A. Hunting Seasons and Wildlife Management Area 
(WMA) Regulations 

1. The rules and regulations contained within this 
digest have been officially approved and adopted by the 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission under authority vested 
by sections 115 and 116 of title 56 of the Louisiana Revised 

Statutes of 1950 and are in full force and effect in 
conjunction with all applicable statutory laws. The secretary 
of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) has the 
authority to close or alter seasons in emergency situations in 
order to protect fish and wildlife resources. 

2. Pursuant to section 40.1 of title 56 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes of 1950, the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission has adopted monetary values which are 
assigned to all illegally taken, possessed, injured or 
destroyed fish, wild birds, wild quadrupeds and other 
wildlife and aquatic life. Anyone taking, possessing, injuring 
or destroying fish, wild birds, wild quadrupeds and other
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wildlife and aquatic life shall be required to reimburse the 
LDWF a sum of money equal to the value of the wildlife 
illegally taken, possessed, injured or destroyed. This 
monetary reimbursement shall be in addition to any and all 
criminal penalties imposed for the illegal act. 

B. Resident Game Birds and Animals 
1. Shooting hours: one-half hour before sunrise to 

one-half hour after sunset. 
C. Other Season Dates 

1. Turkey. Please refer to turkey regulations. 
2. Raccoon and Opossum. No closed season. Raccoon 

and opossum can be taken at night by one or more licensed 
hunters with one or more dogs and one .22 caliber or smaller 
rimfire firearm. A licensed hunter may take raccoon or 
opossum with .22 caliber or smaller rimfire firearm, .36 
caliber or smaller muzzleloader rifle or shotgun during 
daylight hours. Hunting from boats or motor vehicles is 
prohibited. No bag limit for nighttime or daytime raccoon or 
opossum hunting during the open trapping season except on 
certain WMAs as listed. The remainder of the year, the 
raccoon and opossum bag limit for daytime or nighttime is 
two per person per day or night. No one who hunts raccoons 
or opossums as prescribed above shall pelt during the closed 
trapping season nor sell skins or carcasses of raccoons and 
opossums taken during the open trapping season unless he is 
the holder of a valid trapping license which shall be required 
in addition to his basic hunting license. Pelting or selling 
carcasses is illegal during closed trapping season. 

3. Nutria. On WMAs and private property nutria may 
be taken recreationally by licensed hunters from September 
1 through the last day of February, during legal shooting 
hours by any legal hunting method with a daily limit of five. 
Except nutria may be taken on Atchafalaya Delta, 
Salvador/Timken, Pointe-Aux-Chenes and Pass-a-Loutre 
WMAs from September 1 to March 31. When taken with a 
shotgun, non-toxic shot must be used. On WMAs during 
waterfowl seasons, nutria may be taken only with the use of 
shotguns with shot no larger than F steel, and during gun 
deer seasons, anyone taking nutria must display 400 square 
inches of “hunter orange” and wear a “hunter orange” cap or 
hat. Recreational nutria hunters must remove each nutria 
carcass in whole condition from the hunting area, except that 
nutria may be gutted. Possession of detached nutria parts, 
including nutria tails, by recreational hunters is illegal. 
Nutria harvested recreationally may not be pelted nor may 
such nutria or any nutria parts from recreationally taken 
nutria be sold, including the tail. Trespassing upon private 
property for the purpose of taking nutria or other furbearing 
animals is punishable by fines and possible jail time (R.S. 
56:265). The Coastwide Nutria Control Program is a 
separate program and is in no way related to the nutria 
recreational season. For questions on the Coastwide Nutria 
Control Program, call the New Iberia office: (337) 373-0032. 

4. Blackbirds and Crows. The season for crows shall 
be September 1 through January 1 with no limit; however 
crows, blackbirds, cowbirds and grackles may be taken year 
round during legal shooting hours if they are depredating or 
about to depredate upon ornamentals or shade trees, 
agricultural crops, livestock, wildlife, or when concentrated 
in such numbers as to cause a health hazard. Louisiana has 
determined that the birds listed above are crop depredators 
and that crows have been implicated in the spread of the 

West Nile virus in humans. As described in 50 CFR part 21, 
non-toxic shot must be used for the take of crows, 
blackbirds, cowbirds and grackles under the special 
depredation order. In addition an annual report has to be 
submitted to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service for those that 
participate in the take of these species. 

5. Pheasant. Open concurrently with the quail season; 
no limit. 

6. Falconry. Special permit required. Resident and 
migratory game species may be taken except turkeys. 
Seasons and bag limits are the same as for statewide and 
WMA regulations. Refer to LAC 76:V.301 for specific 
falconry rules. 

7. Licensed Hunting Preserve, October 1-April 30, 
Pen-Raised Birds Only. No limit entire season. Refer to LAC 
76:V.305 for specific hunting preserve rules. 

8. Deer Management Assistance Program (DMAP). 
Refer to LAC 76:V.111 for specific DMAP rules. Deer 
management assistance tags must be in the possession of the 
hunter in order to harvest an antlerless deer. The tag shall be 
attached through the hock in such a manner that it cannot be 
removed before the deer is transported (including those 
taken on either-sex days and those taken with approved 
archery equipment or primitive firearms). Failure to do so is 
a violation of R.S. 56:115. Deer harvested on property 
enrolled in DMAP do not count in the season or daily bag 
limit for hunters when legally tagged with DMAP tags. 
Failing to follow DMAP rules and regulations may result in 
suspension and cancellation of the program on those lands 
involved.  

9. Farm Raised White-tailed Deer and Exotics on 
Licensed Supplemented Shooting Preserves 

a. Definitions 
  Exotics—for purposes of this Section means 
any animal of the family Bovidae (except the Tribe Bovini 
[cattle]) or Cervidae which is not indigenous to Louisiana 
and which is confined on a supplemented hunting preserve. 
Exotics shall include, but are not limited to, fallow deer, red 
deer, elk, sika deer, axis deer, and black buck antelope. 
  Hunting—in its different tenses and for 
purposes of this Section means to take or attempt to take, in 
accordance with R.S. 56:8. 
  Same as Outside—for purposes of this Section 
means hunting on a supplemented hunting preserve must 
conform to applicable statutes and rules governing hunting 
and deer hunting, as provided for in title 56 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes and as established annually by the Wildlife 
and Fisheries Commission. 
  Supplemented Hunting Preserve—for purposes 
of this Section means any enclosure for which a current 
farm-raising license has been issued by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry (LDAF) with concurrence of the 
LDWF and is authorized in writing by the LDAF and LDWF 
to permit hunting. 
  White-Tailed Deer—for purposes of this Rule 
means any animal of the species Odocoileus virginianus 
which is confined on a supplemented hunting preserve. 

b. Seasons: 
 i. farm-raised white-tailed deer: consult the 
regulations pamphlet; 
 ii. exotics: year round. 
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c. Methods of take: 
 i. white-tailed deer: same as outside; 
 ii. exotics: exotics may be taken with traditional 
bow, compound bow and crossbow or any bow drawn, held 
or released by mechanical means; shotguns not larger than 
10 gauge, loaded with buckshot or rifled slug; handguns and 
rifles no smaller than .22 caliber centerfire; or 
muzzleloading rifles or pistols, .44 caliber minimum, or 
shotguns 10 gauge or smaller, all of which must load 
exclusively from the muzzle or cap and ball cylinder, using 
black powder or an approved substitute only, and using ball 
or bullet projectile, including saboted bullets only and other 
approved primitive firearms. 

d. Shooting hours: 
 i. white-tailed deer: same as outside; 
 ii. exotics: one-half hour before sunrise to one-
half hour after sunset. 

e. Bag limit: 
 i. farm-raised white-tailed deer: same as outside; 
 ii. exotics: no limit. 

f. Hunting licenses: 
 i. white-tailed deer: same as outside; 
 ii. exotics: no person shall hunt any exotic 
without possessing a valid basic and big game hunting 
license. 

g. Tagging. White-tailed deer and exotics: each 
animal shall be tagged in the left ear or left antler 
immediately upon being killed and before being moved from 
the site of the kill with a tag provided by the LDAF. The tag 
shall remain with the carcass at all times. 

10. Bobcat. No person other than the holder of a valid 
big game license may take or possess bobcat, except 
licensed trappers who may take or possess bobcat during the 
open trapping season. A big game licensee shall only take 
bobcat during the time period from one-half hour before 
sunrise to one-half hour after sunset with approved archery 
equipment, shotgun, muzzleloader or centerfire firearm. A 
big game licensee shall not take more than one bobcat per 
calendar year. This regulation applies only to property that is 
privately owned, state WMAs, Kisatchie National Forest, 
and the Bayou des Ourses, Bodcau, Bonnet Carre, and 
Indian Bayou tracts owned by the Corps of Engineers, but 
does not apply to state wildlife refuges, or other federally 
owned refuges and lands. On state WMAs and Kisatchie 
National Forest, the take of bobcat is restricted to those open 
seasons on the WMAs which require the respective legal 
weapons noted above. 

D. HuntingGeneral Provisions 
1. A basic resident or non-resident hunting license is 

required of all persons to hunt, take, possess or cause to be 
transported by any other person any wild bird or quadruped. 
See information below for exceptions. 

2. No person born on or after September 1, 1969, shall 
hunt unless that person has first been issued a certificate of 
satisfactory completion of a firearm and hunter education 
course approved by the department, except any active or 
veteran member of the United States armed services or any 
POST-certified law enforcement officer. Application for the 
exemption shall be filed in person at the LDWF main office 
building in the city of Baton Rouge. A person under 16 years 
of age may hunt without such certificate if he/she is 
accompanied by and is under the direct supervision of a 

person who was born before September 1, 1969, and has a 
valid hunting license or who is 18 years of age or older and 
has proof of successful completion of a firearm and hunter 
education course approved by the department. 

3. A big game license is required in addition to the 
basic hunting license to hunt, take, possess or cause to be 
transported any deer. A separate wild turkey license is 
required in addition to the basic hunting license and the big 
game license to hunt, take, possess or cause to be transported 
any turkey. 

4. Taking game quadrupeds or birds from aircraft or 
participating in the taking of deer with the aid of aircraft or 
from automobiles or other moving land vehicles is 
prohibited. 

5. Methods of Taking Resident Game Birds and 
Quadrupeds 

a. It is illegal to intentionally feed, deposit, place, 
distribute, expose, scatter, or cause to be fed, deposited, 
placed, distributed, exposed, or scattered raw sweet potatoes 
to wild game quadrupeds. 

b. Use of a traditional bow, compound bow and 
crossbow or any bow drawn, held or released by mechanical 
means or a shotgun not larger than a 10 gauge fired from the 
shoulder shall be legal for taking all resident game birds and 
quadrupeds. Also, the use of a handgun, rifle and falconry 
(special permit required) shall be legal for taking all game 
species except turkey. It shall be illegal to hunt or take 
squirrels or rabbits at any time with a breech-loaded rifle or 
handgun larger than .22 caliber, any centerfire firearm, or a 
muzzleloading firearm larger than .36 caliber. It shall be 
legal to hunt or take squirrels, rabbits, and outlaw 
quadrupeds with air rifles.  

c. Still hunting is defined as stalking or stationary 
stand hunting without the use of dog(s). Pursuing, driving or 
hunting deer with dogs is prohibited when or where a still 
hunting season or area is designated, and will be strictly 
enforced. Shotguns larger than 10 gauge or capable of 
holding more than three shells shall be prohibited. Plugs 
used in shotguns must be incapable of being removed 
without disassembly. Refer to game schedules contained 
within these regulations for specific restrictions on the use of 
firearms and other devices. 

d. No person shall take or kill any game bird or wild 
quadruped with a firearm fitted with an infrared sight, laser 
sight, or except as provided in R.S. 56:116(A)(8) any 
sighting device which projects a beam of light to the target 
or otherwise electronically illuminates the target, or device 
specifically designed to enhance vision at night [R.S. 
56:116.1(B)(3)]. 

6. Nuisance Animals. Landowners or their designees 
may remove beaver and nutria causing damage to their 
property without a special permit. Water set traps and 
firearms may be used to remove beaver; nutria may be 
removed by any means except that nutria cannot be taken by 
the use of headlight and gun between the hours of sunset and 
sunrise. With a special permit issued by the LDWF, beavers 
may be taken between one-half hour after official sunset to 
one-half hour before official sunrise for a period of three 
consecutive calendar evenings from the effective date of the 
permit. Any nuisance beaver or nutria trapped or shot 
outside open trapping season cannot be pelted or sold. A 
trapping license is required to sell or pelt nuisance beavers 
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or nutria taken during open trapping season. Squirrels found 
depredating commercial crops of pecans may be taken year-
round by permit issued by the LDWF. This permit shall be 
valid for 30 days from the date of issuance. Contact the local 
region office for details. 

7. Threatened and Endangered Species. Louisiana 
pearl shell (mussel), sea turtles, gopher tortoise, ringed 
sawback turtle, brown pelican, bald eagle, peregrine falcon, 
whooping crane, Eskimo curlew, piping plover, interior least 
tern, ivory-billed woodpecker, red-cockaded woodpecker, 
Bachman's warbler, West Indian manatee, Florida panther, 
pallid sturgeon, Gulf sturgeon, Atwater’s greater prairie 
chicken, whales and red wolf. Taking or harassment of any 
of these species is a violation of state and federal laws. 

8. Outlaw Quadrupeds. Holders of a legal hunting 
license may take coyotes, feral hogs, and armadillos year 
round during legal daylight shooting hours. The running of 
coyotes with dogs is prohibited in all turkey hunting areas 
during the open turkey season. Coyote hunting is restricted 
to chase only when using dogs during still hunting segments 
of the firearm and archery only seasons for deer. Foxes are 
protected quadrupeds and may be taken only with traps by 
licensed trappers during the trapping season. Remainder of 
the year "chase only" allowed by licensed hunters. 

9. Nighttime Take of Nuisance Animals and Outlaw 
Quadrupeds. On private property, the landowner, or his 
lessee or agent with written permission from the landowner 
and the landowner’s contact information in his possession, 
may take outlaw quadrupeds (coyotes, armadillos and feral 
hogs), nutria, or beaver during the nighttime hours from one-
half hour after official sunset on the last day of February to 
one-half hour after official sunset the last day of August of 
that same year. Such taking may be with or without the aid 
of artificial light, infrared or laser sighting devices, or night 
vision devices. In addition, pursuant to R.S. 56:116(D)(3) 
any person who is authorized to possess a firearm suppressor 
may use a firearm fitted with a sound suppressor when 
taking outlaw quadrupeds, nutria, or beaver. Any person 
attempting to take outlaw quadrupeds under the provisions 
of the paragraph, within 24 hours prior to the attempted 
taking, shall notify the sheriff of the parish in which the 
property is located and the LDWF Enforcement Division by 
calling (800) 442-2511 of their intention to attempt to take 
outlaw quadrupeds under the provision of this Paragraph. 

10. Hunting and/or Discharging Firearms on Public 
Roads. Hunting, standing, loitering or shooting game 
quadrupeds or game birds while on a public road or public 
road right-of-way is prohibited. Hunting or the discharge of 
firearms on roads or highways located on public levees or 
within 100 feet from the centerline of such levee roads or 
highways is prohibited. Spot lighting or shining from public 
roads is prohibited by state law. Hunting from all public 
roads and public road rights-of-way is prohibited. 

11. Tags. Any part of the deer or wild turkey divided 
shall have affixed thereto the name, date, address and big 
game license number of the person killing the deer or wild 
turkey and the sex of that animal. This information shall be 
legibly written in pen or pencil, on any piece of paper or 
cardboard or any material, which is attached or secured to or 
enclosing the part or parts. On lands enrolled in DMAP, deer 
management assistance tags must be attached and locked 
through the hock of antlerless deer, (including those taken 

with approved archery and primitive firearms, and those 
antlerless deer taken on either-sex days) in a manner that it 
cannot be removed, before the deer is moved from the site of 
the kill. 

12. Sex Identification. Positive evidence of sex 
identification, including the head or sex organs, shall remain 
on any deer taken or killed within the state of Louisiana, or 
on all turkeys taken or killed so long as such deer or turkey 
is kept in camp or field, or is in route to the domicile of its 
possessor, or until such deer or turkey has been stored at the 
domicile of its possessor or divided at a cold storage facility 
and has become identifiable as food rather than as wild 
game. 

E. General Deer Hunting Regulations 
1. Prior to hunting deer, all deer hunters, regardless of 

age or license status, must obtain deer tags and have in 
possession when hunting deer. Immediately upon harvesting 
a deer, the hunter must tag the deer with the appropriate 
carcass tag and document the kill on the deer tag license. 
Within 72 hours of the kill, the hunter must validate the kill. 
Hunters harvesting deer on DMAP lands can validate deer 
per instructions by LDWF using the DMAP harvest data 
sheets. Hunters on WMAS can validate deer during 
mandatory deer check hunts, when deer check stations are in 
operation. Hunters may validate deer by calling the 
validation toll free number or using the validation website.  

2. 2018-2019 Season. One antlered and one antlerless 
deer per day (when legal) except on Kisatchie National 
Forest, Indian Bayou Area owned by the US Army Corps of 
Engineers, and some federal refuges (check refuge 
regulations) where the daily limit shall be one deer per day. 
Antlerless deer may be harvested during entire deer season 
on private lands (all seasons included) except as specified in 
deer hunting schedule. This does not apply to public lands 
(WMAs, national forest lands, and federal refuges) which 
will have specified either-sex days. 

3. 2019-2020 Season. One antlered and one antlerless 
deer per day (when legal) except on Kisatchie National 
Forest, Indian Bayou area owned by the US Army Corps of 
Engineers, and some federal refuges (check refuge 
regulations) where the daily limit shall be one deer per day. 
Antlerless deer may be harvested during entire deer season 
on private lands (all seasons included) except as specified in 
deer hunting schedule. This does not apply to public lands 
(WMAs, national forest lands, and federal refuges) which 
will have specified either-sex days. 

4. A legal antlered deer is a deer with at least one 
visible antler of hardened bony material, broken naturally 
through the skin. Killing antlerless deer is prohibited except 
where specifically allowed. 

5. Either-sex deer is defined as male or female deer. 
Taking or possessing spotted fawns is prohibited. 

6. It is illegal to hunt or shoot deer with firearms 
smaller than .22 caliber centerfire or a shotgun loaded with 
anything other than buckshot or slug. Handguns may be used 
for hunting. 

7. Taking game quadrupeds or birds from aircraft, 
participating in the taking of deer with the aid of aircraft or 
from automobiles or other moving land vehicles is 
prohibited. 

8. Still hunting is defined as stalking or stationary 
stand hunting without the use of dog(s). Pursuing, driving or 
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hunting deer with dogs or moving vehicles, including ATVs, 
when or where a still hunting season or area is designated, is 
prohibited and will be strictly enforced. The training of deer 
dogs is prohibited in all still hunting areas during the gun 
still hunting and archery only season. Deer hunting with 
dogs is allowed in all other areas having open deer seasons 
that are not specifically designated as still hunting only. A 
leashed dog may be used to trail and retrieve wounded or 
unrecovered deer during legal hunting hours. Any dog used 
to trail or retrieve wounded or unrecovered deer shall have 
on a collar with owner’s name, address, and phone number. 
In addition, a dog may be used to trail and retrieve 
unrecovered deer after legal hunting hours; however, no 
person accompanying a dog after legal hunting hours may 
carry a firearm of any sort. 

9. It is illegal to take deer while deer are swimming or 
while the hunter is in a boat with motor attached in operating 
position; however, the restriction in this Paragraph shall not 
apply to any person who has lost one or more limbs. 

10. Areas not specifically designated as open are 
closed. 

11. Primitive Firearms Season: Still Hunt Only. 
Specific WMAs will also be open, check WMA schedule for 
specific details. Primitive firearms license is required for 
resident hunters between the ages of 16 and 59 inclusive and 
non-residents 16 years of age and older. Either-sex deer may 
be taken in all deer hunting areas except as otherwise 
specified. 

a. Legal firearms for primitive firearms season: 
 i. rifles or pistols, .44 caliber minimum, or 
shotguns 10 gauge or smaller, all of which must load 
exclusively from the muzzle, use black powder or approved 
substitute only, take ball, shot, or bullet projectile only, 
including saboted bullets, and may be fitted with magnified 
scopes; 
 ii. single shot, breech loading rifles or single shot, 
breech loading pistols, .35 caliber or larger, having an 
exposed hammer, that use metallic cartridges loaded either 
with black powder or modern smokeless powder, and may 
be fitted with magnified scopes; 
 iii. single shot, breech loading shotguns, 10 gauge 
or smaller, having an exposed hammer, loaded with buckshot 
or slug; 
 iv. youths 17 or younger may hunt deer with any 
legal weapon during the primitive firearms season in each 
deer hunting area. 

12. Archery Season. Archery license required for 
resident bow hunters between the ages of 16 and 59 
inclusive and non-residents 16 years of age and older. Either-
sex deer may be taken in all areas open for deer hunting 
except when a bucks only season is in progress for gun 
hunting, and except in areas 6 and 9 from October 1-15. 
Archers must conform to the bucks only regulations. Either-
sex deer may be taken on WMAs at any time during archery 
season except when bucks only seasons are in progress on 
the respective WMA. Also, archery season restricted on 
Atchafalaya Delta, Salvador, Lake Boeuf, and Pointe-aux-
Chenes WMAs (see schedule). 

a. Bow and Arrow Regulations. Traditional bow, 
compound bow and crossbow or any bow drawn, held or 
released by mechanical means will be a legal means of take 
for all properly licensed hunters. Hunting arrows for deer 

must have well-sharpened broadhead points. Bow and arrow 
fishermen must have a sport fishing license and may not 
carry any arrows with broadhead points unless a big game 
season is in progress. 
 i. It is unlawful: 

(a). to have in possession or use any poisoned or 
drugged arrow or arrows with explosive tips; 

(b). to hunt deer with a bow having a pull less 
than 30 pounds; 

(c). to hunt with a bow or crossbow fitted with 
an infrared, laser sight, electrically-operated sight or device 
specifically designed to enhance vision at night (does not 
include non-projecting red dot sights) [R.S. 56:116.1.B.(4)]. 

13. Hunter Orange or Blaze Pink. Any person hunting 
any wildlife during the open gun deer hunting season and 
possessing buckshot, slugs, a primitive firearm, or a 
centerfire rifle shall display on his head, chest and/or back a 
total of not less than 400 square inches of “hunter orange” or 
“blaze pink”. Persons hunting on privately owned land may 
wear a hunter orange or blaze pink cap or hat in lieu of the 
400 square inches. These provisions shall not apply to 
persons hunting deer from elevated stands on property that is 
privately owned or to archery deer hunters hunting on lands 
where firearm hunting is not allowed by agreement of the 
landowner or lessee. However, anyone hunting deer on such 
lands where hunting with firearms is allowed shall be 
required to display the 400 square inches or a hunter orange 
or blaze pink cap or hat while walking to and from elevated 
stands. While a person is hunting from an elevated stand, the 
400 square inches or cap or hat may be concealed. Warning: 
deer hunters are cautioned to watch for persons hunting 
other game or engaged in activities not requiring “hunter 
orange” or “blaze pink”. 

14. Physically Challenged Season on Private Lands 

(Either-Sex)first Saturday of October for two days. 
Restricted to individuals with physically challenged hunter 
permit. 

15. Youth and Honorably Discharged Veterans Season 
on Private Lands (Either-Sex). Areas 1, 4, 5, 6 and 9: last 
Saturday of October for seven days; area 2: second Saturday 
of October for seven days; and areas 3, 7, 8 and 10: fourth 
Saturday of September for seven days. Youths 17 or younger 
only. Youths must be accompanied by an adult 18 years of 
age or older. Youths must possess a hunter safety 
certification or proof of successful completion of a hunter 
safety course. If the accompanying adult is in possession of 
hunter safety certification, a valid hunting license or proof of 
successful completion of a hunter safety course, this 
requirement is waived for the youth. Adults may not possess 
a firearm. Youths may possess only one firearm while 
hunting. Legal firearms are the same as described for deer 
hunting. The supervising adult shall maintain visual and 
voice contact with the youth at all times. Except properly 
licensed youths 16-17 years old and youths 12 years old or 
older who have successfully completed a hunter safety 
course may hunt without a supervising adult. One of the 
following must be carried by veterans while hunting: 

a. Louisiana OMV issued U.S. Veterans Driver’s 
License; or 

b. U.S. Department of Defense Form 214 or one of 
the following DD_214 equivalents: 
 i. pre DD 214 era documents (1941_1950): 
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(a). WE AGO (war department adjutant general) 
forms, to include WD AGO 53, WD AGO 55, WD AGO 
53_55; 

(b). JAVPERS (naval personnel) discharge 
documents, to include NAVPERS 553, NAVMC78PD, 
NAVCG 553; 
 ii. National Personnel Records Center NPRC 
"statement of service," issued as a result of a destroyed 
discharge record during the 1973 National Archives fire; 
 iii. National Guard/Air National Guard must have 
NGB_22 with 6 or more years of service. 

F. Description of Areas, 2018-2020 
1. Area 1 

a. All of the following parishes are open: 
Concordia, East Carroll, Franklin, Madison, Richland, 
Tensas, West Carrol. 

b. Portions of the following parishes are also open: 

 i. Catahoulaeast of Boeuf River to Ouachita 
River, east of Ouachita River from its confluence with Boeuf 
River to LA 8, south and east of LA 8 southwesterly to 
parish line; 

 ii. Granteast of US 165 and south of LA 8; 

 iii. LaSallesouth of a line beginning where 
Little River enters Catahoula Lake following the center of 
the lake eastward to Old River then to US 84, east of US 84 
northward to LA 8, south of LA 8 eastward to parish line; 

 iv. Ouachitasouth of US 80 and east of Ouachita 
River, east of LA 139 from Sicard to junction of LA 134, 
south of LA 134 to Morehouse line at Wham Bake; 

 v. Rapideseast of US 165 and north of Red 
River. 

c. Still hunting only in all or portions of the 
following parishes: 

 i. Catahoulasouth of Deer Creek to Boeuf 
River, east of Boeuf and Ouachita Rivers to LA 8 at 
Harrisonburg, west of LA 8 to LA 913, west of LA 913 and 
LA 15 to Deer Creek; 

 ii. East Carrollall; 

 iii. Franklinall; 

 iv. Morehouseeast of US 165 (from Arkansas 
state line) to Bonita, south and east of LA 140 to junction of 
LA 830-4 (Cooper Lake Road), east of LA 830-4 to Bastrop, 
east of LA 139 at Bastrop to junction of LA 593, east and 
north of LA 593 to Collinston, east of LA 138 to junction of 
LA 134 and south of LA 134 to Ouachita line at Wham 
Brake; 

 v. Ouachitasouth of US 80 and east of Ouachita 
River, east of LA 139 from Sicard to junction of LA 134, 
south of LA 134 to Morehouse line at Wham Bake; 

 vi. Richlandall; 
 vii. West Carroll. 

2. Area 2 
a. All of the following parishes are open:  

 i. Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Caldwell, Claiborne, 
DeSoto, Jackson, Lincoln, Natchitoches, Red River, Sabine, 
Union, Webster, Winn; 
 ii. except: Kisatchie National Forest which has 
special regulations. Caney, Corney, Middlefork tracts of 
Kisatchie have the same regulations as area 2, except still 
hunting only for deer. 

b. Portions of the following parishes are also open: 

 i. Allennorth of US 190 from parish line 
westward to Kinder, east of US 165 from Kinder northward 
to LA 10 at Oakdale, north of LA 10 from Oakdale westward 
to the parish line; 

 ii. Avoyellesthat portion west of I-49; 

 iii. Catahoulawest of Boeuf River to Ouachita 
River, west of Ouachita River from its confluence with 
Boeuf River to LA 8, north and west of LA 8 southwesterly 
to parish line; 

 iv. Evangelineall except the following portions: 
east of I-49 to junction of LA 29, east of LA 29 south of I-49 
to Ville Platte, and north of US 167 east of Ville Platte; 

 v. Grantall except that portion south of LA 8 
and east of US 165; 

 vi. Jefferson Davisnorth of US 190; 

 vii. LaSallenorth of a line beginning where Little 
River enters Catahoula Lake, following the center of the lake 
eastward to Old River then to US 84, west of US 84 
northward to LA 8, north of LA 8 eastward to parish line; 

 viii. Morehousewest of US 165 (from Arkansas 
state line) to Bonita, north and west of LA 140 to junction of 
LA 830-4 (Cooper Lake Road), west of LA 830-4 to 
Bastrop, west of LA 139 to junction of LA 593, west and 
south of LA 593 to Collinston, west of LA 138 to junction of 
LA 134 and north of LA 134 to Ouachita Parish line at 
Wham Brake; 

 ix. Ouachitaall except south of US 80 and east 
of Ouachita River, east of LA 139 from Sicard to junction of 
LA 134, south of LA 134 to Morehouse Parish line at Wham 
Brake; 

 x. Rapidesall except north of Red River and 
east of US 165, south of LA 465 to junction of LA 121, west 
of LA 121 and LA 112 to Union Hill, and north of LA 113 
from Union Hill to Vernon Parish line, and that portion south 
of Alexandria between Red River and US 167 to junction of 
US 167 with I-49 at Turkey Creek exit, east of I-49 
southward to parish line; 

 xi. Vernonnorth of LA 10 from the parish line 
westward to LA 113, south of LA 113 eastward to parish 
line. Also the portion north of LA 465 west of LA 117 from 
Kurthwood to Leesville and north of LA 8 from Leesville to 
Texas state line.  

c. Still hunting only in all or portions of the 
following parishes: 

 i. Claiborne and WebsterCaney, Corney and 
Middlefork tracts of Kisatchie National Forest (see Kisatchie 
National Forest regulations); 

 ii. Ouachitaeast of Ouachita River; 

 iii. Rapideswest of US 167 from Alexandria 
southward to I-49 at Turkey Creek exit, west of I-49 
southward to parish line, north of parish line westward to US 
165, east of US 165 northward to US 167 at Alexandria. 
North of LA 465 from Vernon Parish line to LA 121, west of 
LA 121 to I-49, west of I-49 to LA 8, south and east of LA 8 
to LA 118 (Mora Road), south and west of LA 118 to 
Natchitoches Parish line; 

 iv. Vernoneast of Mora-Hutton Road from 
Natchitoches Parish line to Hillman Loop Road, south and 
east of Hillman Loop Road to Comrade Road, south of 
Comrade Road to LA 465, east and north of LA 465 to 
Rapides Parish line. 
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3. Area 3 
a. Portions of the following parishes are open: 

 i. Acadianorth of I-10; 

 ii. Allenwest of US 165 and south of LA 10; 

 iii. Beauregardeast of LA 27 from the parish 
line northward to DeRidder and north of US 190 westward 
from DeRidder to Texas state line; 

 iv. Calcasieueast of LA 27 from Sulphur 
northward to the parish line, and north of I-10; 

 v. Jefferson Davisnorth of I-10 and south of US 
190; 

 vi. Lafayettewest of I-49 and north of I-10; 

 vii. Rapidessouth of LA 465 to junction of LA 
121, west of LA 121 and LA 112 to Union Hill and north of 
LA 113 from Union Hill to Vernon Parish line; 

 viii. St. Landrywest of US 167; 

 ix. Vernon east of LA 113 to Pitkin, south of LA 
10 to Allen Parish line, west and north of LA 113, south of 
LA 465, east of LA 117 from Kurthwood to Leesville, and 
south of LA 8 from Leesville to Texas state line. 

b. Still hunting only for portions of the following 
parishes: 

 i. Acadianorth of I-10; 

 ii. Allensouth of US 190 and west of LA 113; 

 iii. Beauregardwest of LA 113 and east of LA 
27 from the parish line northward to DeRidder and north of 
US 190 westward from DeRidder to Texas state line; 

 iv. Calcasieueast of LA 27 from Sulphur 
northward to the parish line, and north of I-10; 

 v. Jefferson Davisnorth of I-10 and south of US 
190; 

 vi. Lafayettewest of I-49 and north of I-10; 

 vii. Rapidessouth of LA 465 to junction of LA 
121, west of LA 121 and LA 112 to Union Hill and north of 
LA 113 from Union Hill to Vernon Parish line; 

 viii. St. Landrywest of US 167; 

 ix. Vernonwest and north of LA 113, south of 
LA 465, east of LA 117 from Kurthwood to Leesville, and 
south of LA 8 from Leesville to Texas state line. 

4. Area 4 
a. All of St. Helena and Washington Parishes are 

open. 
b. Portions of the following parishes are also open: 

 i. East Baton Rougeall except that portion west 
of I-110 and west of US 61; 

 ii. East Felicianaeast of US 61; 

 iii. Livingstonnorth of I-12; 

 iv. Tangipahoanorth of I-12; 

 v. St. Tammanyall except that portion south of 
I-12, west of LA 1077 to LA 22, south of LA 22 to 
Tchefuncte River, west of Tchefuncte River southward to 
Lake Pontchartrain. 

c. Still hunting only in all or portions of the 
following parishes: 

 i. East Feliciana and East Baton Rougeeast of 
Thompson Creek from the Mississippi state line to LA 10, 
north of LA 10 from Thompson Creek to LA 67 at Clinton, 
west of LA 67 from Clinton to Mississippi state line, south 
of Mississippi state line from LA 67 to Thompson Creek. 
Also that portion of East Baton Rouge Parish east of LA 67 
from LA 64 north to Parish Line, south of Parish Line from 

LA 64 eastward to Amite River, west of Amite River 
southward to LA 64, north of LA 64 to LA 37 at Magnolia, 
east of LA 37 northward to LA 64 at Indian Mound, north of 
LA 64 from Indian Mound to LA 67. Also, that portion of 
East Feliciana Parish east of LA 67 from parish line north to 
LA 959, south of LA 959 east to LA 63, west of LA 63 to 
Amite River, west of Amite River southward to parish line, 
north of parish line westward to LA 67; 

 ii. St. Helenanorth of LA 16 from Tickfaw 
River at Montpelier westward to LA 449, east and south of 
LA 449 from LA 16 at Pine Grove northward to Rohner 
Road, south of Rohner Road to LA 1045, south of LA 1045 
to the Tickfaw River, west of the Tickfaw River from LA 
1045 southward to LA 16 at Montpelier; 

 iii. Tangipahoathat portion of Tangipahoa Parish 
north of LA 10 from the Tchefuncte River to LA 1061 at 
Wilmer, east of LA 1061 to LA 440 at Bolivar, south of LA 
440 to the Tchefuncte River, west of the Tchefuncte River 
from LA 440 southward to LA 10; 

 iv. Washington and St. Tammanyeast of LA 21 
from the Mississippi state line southward to the Bogue 
Chitto River, north of the Bogue Chitto River from LA 21 
eastward to the Pearl River Navigation Canal, east of the 
Pearl River Navigation Canal southward to the West Pearl 
River, north of the West Pearl River from the Pearl River 
Navigation Canal to Holmes Bayou, west of Holmes Bayou 
from the West Pearl River northward to the Pearl River, west 
of the Pearl River from Holmes Bayou northward to the 
Mississippi state line, south of the Mississippi state line from 
the Pearl River westward to LA 21. Also, that portion of 
Washington Parish west of LA 25 from the Mississippi state 
line southward to the Bogue Chitto River, then west of the 
Bogue Chitto River to its junction with the St. Tammany 
Parish line, north of the St. Tammany Parish line to the 
Tangipahoa Parish line, east of the Tangipahoa Parish line to 
the Mississippi state line, south of the Mississippi state line 
to its junction with LA 25; 

5. Area 5 
a. Portions of the following parishes are open: 

 i. St. Martin Parish south of I-10 and east of the 
West Atchafalaya Basin Protection Levee and west of the 
East Atchafalaya Basin Protection Levee; 

 ii.  Iberville Parishsouth of I-10 and west of the 
East Atchafalaya Basin Protection Levee; 

 iii. Iberia Parisheast of the West Atchafalaya 
Basin Protection Levee and west of the East Atchafalaya 
Basin Protection Levee; 

 iv. St. Mary Pariseast of the West Atchafalaya 
Basin Protection Levee; 
 v. high water benchmark closure. Deer hunting in 
those portions of Iberville and St. Martin parishes south of I-
10, west of the East Atchafalaya Basin Protection Levee, 
east of the West Atchafalaya Basin Protection Levee, and 
north of Alligator Bayou and Bayou Sorrel will be closed 
when the river stage of the Atchafalaya River reaches 18 feet 
msl at Butte LaRose, and will reopen when the river stage 
recedes to 17 feet msl at Butte LaRose. Deer hunting in 
those portions of Iberville, St. Martin, St. Mary and Iberia 
parishes west of the East Atchafalaya Basin Protection 
Levee, east of the West Atchafalaya Basin Protection Levee 
and south of Alligator Bayou and Bayou Sorrel will be 
closed when the river stage of the Atchafalaya River reaches 
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15 feet msl at Butte LaRose, and will reopen when the river 
stage recedes to 14 feet msl at Butte LaRose. 

6. Area 6 
a. All of West Feliciana and Pointe Coupee Parish 

is open. 
b. Portions of the following parishes are also open: 

 i. Avoyellesall except that portion west of I-
49; 

 ii. East Baton Rougethat portion west of I-110 
and west of US 61. 

 iii. Evangelinethat portion east of I-49 to 
junction of LA 29, east of LA 29 south of I-49 to Ville Platte 
and north of US 167 east of Ville Platte; 

 iv. Ibervilleall north of I-10, and that portion 
south of I-10 at the Atchafalaya Basin protection levee south 
to Upper Grand River, then north of Upper Grand River to 
the Intracoastal Canal at Jack Miller, then west of the 
Intracoastal Canal northward to Bayou Plaquemine, then 
north of Bayou Plaquemine to the Mississippi River; 

 v. Lafayettenorth of I-10 and east of I-49; 

 vi. Rapidessouth of Alexandria between Red 
River and US 167 to the junction of US 167 with I-49 at 
Turkey Creek Exit, east of I-49 southward to parish line; 

 vii. St. Landryeast of US 167; 

 viii. St. Martinnorth of I-10; 

 ix. East Baton Rougewest of I-110 and west of 
US 61; 

 x. East Felicianawest of US 61; 

 xi. West Baton Rougenorth I-10. 
c. Still hunting only in all or portions of the 

following parishes: 

 i. Avoyellesnorth of LA 1 from Simmesport 
westward to LA 115 at Marksville, east of LA 115 from 
Marksville northward to the Red River near Moncla, south 
and west of the Red River to LA 1 at Simmesport; 

 ii. Rapidessouth of Alexandria between Red 
River and US 167 to the junction of US 167 with I-49 at 
Turkey Creek Exit, east of I-49 southward to parish line; 

 iii. West Felicianawest of Thompson Creek to 
Illinois-Central Railroad, north of Illinois-Central Railroad 
to Parish Road #7, east of Parish Road #7 to the junction of 
US 61 and LA 966, east of LA 966 from US 61 to Chaney 
Creek, south of Chaney Creek to Thompson Creek. 

7. Area 7 
a. Portions of the following parishes are open: 

 i. Iberiasouth of LA 14 and west of US 90; 

 ii. St. Maryall except that portion north of US 
90 from Iberia Parish line eastward to Wax Lake Outlet, east 
of Wax Lake Outlet southward to Intracoastal Waterway, 
north of Intracoastal Waterway eastward to the Atchafalaya 
River, east of the Atchafalaya River. 

8. Area 8 
a. Portions of the following parishes are open: 

 i. Beauregardthat portion west of LA 27 from 
parish line northward to DeRidder, south of US 190 from 
DeRidder to Texas state line; 

 ii. Calcasieuthat portion west of LA 27 from 
the parish line southward to Sulphur and north of I-10 from 
Sulphur to the Texas state line. 

9. Area 9 
a. All of the following parishes are open: 

 i. Ascension, Assumption, Jefferson, Lafourche, 
Orleans, Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St. Charles, St. James, St. 
John, Terrebonne. 

b. Portions of the following parishes are open: 

 i. Iberiaeast of US 90 and west of the West 
Atchafalaya Basin Protection Levee and east of the East 
Atchafalaya Basin Protection Levee; 

 ii. Ibervilleeast of the East Atchafalaya Basin 
Protection Levee and south of Upper Grand River to the 
Intracoastal Canal to Bayou Plaquemines, then south of 
Bayou Plaquemines to the Mississippi River; 

 iii. Lafayettesouth of I-10 and east of US 90; 

 iv. Livingstonsouth of I-12; 

 v. St. Martinwest of the Atchafalaya Basin 
Protection Levee and south of I-10. East of the East 
Atchafalaya Basin Protection Levee and south of I-10; 

 vi. St. Maryeast of US 90 from Iberia Parish 
line to the Wax Lake Outlet, east of Wax Lake Outlet 
southward to Intracoastal Waterway, north of Intracoastal 
Waterway eastward to the Atchafalaya River, east of the 
Atchafalaya River except for portion within the East and 
West Atchafalaya Basin Protection Levees; 

 vii. St. Tammanythat portion south of I-12, west 
of LA 1077 to LA 22, south of LA 22 to Tchefuncte River, 
west of Tchefuncte River southward to Lake Pontchartrain; 

 viii. Tangipahoasouth of I-12. 
c. Still hunting only in all or portions of the 

following parishes: 

 i. Ibervilleeast of the Mississippi River; 

 ii. Plaquemineseast of the Mississippi River; 

 iii. St. Bernardall of the parish shall be still 
hunting only except that portion of St. Bernard known as the 
spoil area between the MRGO on the east and Access Canal 
on the west, south of Bayou Bienvenue and north of Bayou 
la Loutre; 

 iv. St. Johnsouth of Pass Manchac from Lake 
Pontchartrain to US 51, east of US 51 from Pass Manchac to 
LA 638 (Frenier Beach Road). North of LA 638 from US 51 
to Lake Pontchartrain, west of Lake Pontchartrain from LA 
638 to Pass Manchac. 

10. Area 10 
a. All of Cameron and Vermillion Parishes are 

open. 
b. Portions of the following parishes are open: 

 i. Acadiasouth of I-10; 

 ii. Calcasieusouth of I-10; 

 iii. Iberiawest of US 90 and north of LA 14; 

 iv. Jefferson Davissouth of I-10; 

 v. Lafayettesouth of I-10 and west of Hwy 90. 
G. WMA Regulations 

1. General 
a. The following rules and regulations concerning 

the management, protection and harvest of wildlife have 
been officially approved and adopted by the Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission in accordance with the authority 
provided in Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, section 109 
of title 56. Failure to comply with these regulations will
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subject individual to citation and/or expulsion from the 
management area. 

b. Citizens are cautioned that by entering a WMA 
managed by the LDWF they may be subjecting themselves 
and/or their vehicles to game and/or license checks, 
inspections and searches. 

c. WMA seasons may be altered or closed anytime 
by the LDWF secretary in emergency situations (floods, fire 
or other critical circumstances). 

d. Hunters may enter the WMA no earlier than 4 
a.m. unless otherwise specified. Hunters must check out and 
exit the WMA no later than two hours after sunset, or as 
otherwise specified. 

e. Lands within WMA boundaries will have the 
same seasons and regulations pertaining to baiting and use of 
dogs as the WMA within which the lands are enclosed; 
however, with respect to private lands enclosed within a 
WMA, the owner or lessee may elect to hunt according to 
the regular season dates and hunting regulations applicable 
to the geographic area in which the lands are located, 
provided that the lands are first enrolled in DMAP. 
Interested parties should contact the nearest LDWF region 
office for additional information. 

f. Dumping garbage or trash on WMAs is 
prohibited. Garbage and trash may be properly disposed of 
in designated locations if provided. 

g. Disorderly conduct or hunting under influence of 
alcoholic beverages, chemicals and other similar substances 
is prohibited. 

h. Damage to or removal of trees, shrubs, hard mast 
(including but not limited to acorns and pecans), wild plants, 
non-game wildlife (including reptiles and amphibians) or 
any species of butterflies, skippers or moths is prohibited 
without a permit from the LDWF. Gathering and/or removal 
of soft fruits, mushrooms and berries shall be limited to five 
gallons per person per day. 

i. Burning of marshes is prohibited. Hunting 
actively burning marsh is prohibited. 

j. Nature Trails. Trails shall be limited to 
pedestrians only. No vehicles, ATVs, horses, mules, bicycles, 
etc. allowed. Removal of vegetation (standing or down) or 
other natural material prohibited. 

k. Deer seasons are for legal buck deer unless 
otherwise specified. 

l. Small game, when listed under the WMA 
regulations may include both resident game animals and 
game birds as well as migratory species of birds. 

m. Oysters may not be harvested from any WMA, 
except that oysters may be harvested from private oyster 
leases and state seed grounds located within a WMA, when 
authorized by the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission and 
upon approval by the Department of Health. 

n. Free ranging livestock prohibited. 
o. Operation of drones on WMAs is prohibited. 

2. Permits 
a. A WMA hunting permit is required for persons 

ages 18 through 59 to hunt on WMAs. 
b. Self-Clearing Permits. A self-clearing permit is 

required for all activities (hunting, fishing, hiking, bird 
watching, sightseeing, etc.) on WMAs unless otherwise 
specified. The self-clearing permit will consist of two 
portions: check in, check out. On WMAs where self-clearing 

permits are required, all persons must obtain a WMA self-
clearing permit from an information station. The check in 
portion must be completed and put in a permit box before 
each day's activity on the day of the activity (except if 
hunting from a private camp adjacent to the WMA being 
hunted or if camping on the WMA, users need only to check 
in once during any 72 hour period). Users may check-in one 
day in advance of use. The check-out portion must be carried 
by each person while on the WMA and must be completed 
and put in a permit box immediately upon exiting the WMA 
or within 72 hours after checking in if hunting from a private 
camp adjacent to the WMA being hunted or if camping on 
the WMA. No permit is required of fishers and boaters who 
do not travel on a WMA road and/or launch on the WMA as 
long as they do not get out of the boat and onto the WMA. 
When mandatory deer checks are specified on WMAs, 
hunters must check deer at a check station. When mandatory 
check-in for deer seasons is specified on WMAs, hunters 
must check in at designated locations, and obtain a daily 
hunt permit. Self-clearing permits are not required for 
persons only traveling through the WMA provided that the 
most direct route is taken and no activities or stops take 
place.  

c. Persons using WMAs or other LDWF 
administered lands for any purpose must possess one of the 
following: a valid wild Louisiana stamp, a valid Louisiana 
fishing license, or a valid Louisiana hunting license. Persons 
younger than 16 or older than 60 years of age are exempt 
from this requirement. Also a self-clearing WMA permit, 
detailed above, may be required (available at most entrances 
to each WMA). Check individual WMA listings for 
exceptions. 

3. Special Seasons 
a. Youth Deer Hunt (youths 17 or younger only). 

Youths must be accompanied by an adult 18 years of age or 
older. Youths must possess a hunter safety certification or 
proof of successful completion of a hunter safety course. If 
the accompanying adult is in possession of hunter safety 
certification, a valid hunting license or proof of successful 
completion of a hunter safety course, this requirement is 
waived for the youth. Adults may not possess a firearm. 
Youths may possess only one firearm while hunting. Legal 
firearms are the same as described for deer hunting. The 
supervising adult shall maintain visual and voice contact 
with the youth at all times, except properly licensed youths 
and youths 12 years old or older who have successfully 
completed a hunter safety course may hunt without a 
supervising adult. Contact the appropriate region office for 
maps of specific hunting areas. Either-sex deer may be taken 
on WMAs with youth hunts. Consult the regulations 
pamphlet for WMAs offering youth hunts.  

NOTE:  Some hunts may be by pre-application lottery. 

b. Youth Squirrel Hunt (on selected WMAs only). 
Only youths 17 or younger may hunt. Squirrel, rabbit, 
raccoon, hogs and opossum may be taken. No dogs allowed. 
All other seasons will remain open to other hunters. Youths 
must possess a hunter safety certification or proof of 
successful completion of a hunter safety course. Youths must 
be accompanied by one adult 18 years of age or older. If the 
accompanying adult is in possession of hunter safety 
certification, a valid hunting license or proof of successful 
completion of a hunter safety course, this requirement is
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waived for the youth. Adults may not possess a firearm. 
Youths may possess only one firearm while hunting. The 
supervising adult shall maintain visual and voice contact 
with the youth at all times, except properly licensed youths 
and youths 12 years old or older who have successfully 
completed a hunter safety course may hunt without a 
supervising adult. Self-clearing permits are required. Consult 
the regulations pamphlet for WMAs offering youth squirrel 
hunts. 

c. Youth Mourning Dove Hunt. A youth mourning 
dove hunt will be conducted on specific WMAs and will 
follow the same regulations provided for youth deer hunts on 
the first or second weekend of the mourning dove season 
(Saturday and/or Sunday only). Consult the regulations 
pamphlet for WMAs offering youth mourning dove hunts. 

d. Physically Challenged Season. An either-sex deer 
season will be held for hunters possessing a physically 
challenged hunter permit on WMAs during the dates 
specified under the individual WMA. Participants must 
possess a physically challenged hunter permit. Contact 
region office for permit application and map of specific 
hunting area. Consult the regulations pamphlet for WMAs 
offering physically challenged seasons.  

e. Turkey Lottery Hunts. Hunts restricted to those 
persons selected by lottery. Consult the regulations pamphlet 
for deadlines. Contact region offices for more details. 

f. Waterfowl Lottery Hunts. Hunts restricted to 
those persons selected by lottery. Consult the regulations 
pamphlet for deadline. Consult regulations pamphlet for 
individual WMA schedules or contact any wildlife division 
office for more details. 

g. Mourning Dove Lottery Hunts. Consult 
regulations pamphlet for individual WMA schedules or 
contact any wildlife division office for more details. 

h. Trapping. Consult annual trapping regulations for 
specific dates. All traps must be run daily. Traps with teeth 
are illegal. Hunter orange required when a deer gun season is 
in progress.  

i. Raccoon Hunting. A licensed hunter may take 
raccoon or opossum, one per person per day, during daylight 
hours only, during the open rabbit season on WMAs. 

 Nighttime Experimentalall nighttime raccoon 
hunting where allowed is with dogs only. There is no bag 
limit. Self-clearing permit required. 

j. Sport Fishing. Sport fishing, crawfishing and 
frogging are allowed on WMAs when in compliance with 
current laws and regulations except as otherwise specified 
under individual WMA listings. 

k. Small Game Emphasis Areas. Specially 
designated areas on certain WMAs will allow small game 
hunting with dogs, confined to that specific area when the 
remainder of the WMA is restricted to still hunt only. 
Additionally, off season training of rabbit and bird dogs may 
be allowed on some of the small game emphasis areas. Small 
game emphasis areas are offered on Big Colewa Bayou, 
Bayou Macon, Bayou Pierre, Boeuf, Dewey W. Wills, Marsh 
Bayou, Pomme de Terre, Richard K. Yancey, Russell Sage, 
Sandy Hollow, Sherburne, Tunica Hills and Walnut Hill 
WMAs. 

4. Firearms 
a. Firearms having live ammunition in the chamber, 

magazine, cylinder or clip when attached to firearms and 
crossbows cocked in the ready position are not allowed in or 
on vehicles, boats under power, motorcycles, ATVs, UTVs, 
ATCs or in camping areas on WMAs. Firearms may not be 
carried on any area before or after permitted hours except in 
authorized camping areas and except as may be permitted 
for authorized trappers. 

b. Firearms and bows and arrows are not allowed on 
WMAs during closed seasons except on designated shooting 
ranges or as permitted for trapping and except as allowed 
pursuant to R.S. 56:109(C) and R.S. 56:1691. Bows and 
broadhead arrows are not allowed on WMAs except during 
deer archery season, turkey season or as permitted for 
bowfishing. Active and retired law enforcement officers in 
compliance with POST requirements, federal law 
enforcement officers and holders of Louisiana concealed 
handgun permits or permit holders from a reciprocal state 
who are in compliance with all other state and federal 
firearms regulations may possess firearms on WMAs 
provided these firearms are not used for any hunting 
purpose. 

c. Encased or broken down firearms and any game 
harvested may be transported through the areas by the most 
direct route provided that no other route exists except as 
specified under WMA listing. 

d. Loaded firearms are not allowed near WMA 
check stations. 

e. The following cannot be carried onto any WMA 
except during modern and primitive firearm deer seasons 
and during special shotgun season for feral hogs on 
Atchafalaya Delta, Pass-a-Loutre, Pointe-aux-Chenes and 
Salvador WMAs (consult regulations pamphlet for specific 
WMA regulations): 
 i. centerfire rifles; 
 ii. centerfire break-action and centerfire bolt-
action handguns; 
 iii. centerfire scoped handguns; 
 iv. shotgun slugs or shot larger than BB lead or F 
steel.  

f. Target shooting and other forms of practice 
shooting are prohibited on WMAs except as otherwise 
specified. 

g. Discharging of firearms on or across, or hunting 
from designated roads, ATV/UTV trails, nature trails, hiking 
trails, and their rights-of-way is prohibited during the 
modern firearms and primitive firearms deer seasons. 

5. Methods of Taking Game 
a. Moving deer or hogs on a WMA with organized 

drives and standers, drivers or making use of noises or noise-
making devices is prohibited. 

b. On WMAs the daily limit shall be one antlered 
deer and one antlerless deer (when legal) per day, not to 
exceed the deer area limit for the deer area that a WMA is 
contained within (all segments included) by all methods of 
take. 

c. Baiting, hunting over bait, or possession of bait is 
prohibited on all WMAs, except bait may be kept in a 
vehicle traversing a WMA road or parked on a WMA road. 
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 Baitany substance used to attract game via 
ingestion. 

d. During mandatory deer check hunts, deer may 
not be skinned nor have any external body parts removed 
including but not limited to feet, legs, tail, head or ears 
before being checked out. 

e. Deer hunting on WMAs is restricted to still 
hunting only.  

f. Construction of and/or hunting from permanent 
tree stands or permanent blinds on WMAs is prohibited. Any 
permanent stand or permanent blind will be removed and 
destroyed. A permanent blind is any blind using non-natural 
materials or having a frame which is not dismantled within 
two hours after the end of legal shooting time each day. 
Blinds with frames of wood, plastic, metal poles, wire, 
mesh, webbing or other materials may be used but must be 
removed from the WMA within two hours after the end of 
legal shooting time each day. Blinds made solely of natural 
vegetation and not held together by nails or other metallic 
fasteners may be left in place but cannot be used to reserve 
hunting locations. Natural vegetation (including any material 
used as corner posts) is defined as natural branches that are 2 
inches or less in diameter. All decoys must be removed from 
the WMA daily. Permanent tree stands are any stands that 
use nails, screws, spikes, etc., to attach to trees and are 
strictly prohibited. Deer stands may not be left on WMAs 
unless the stands are removed from trees, placed flat on the 
ground, and left in a non-hunting position (a non-hunting 
position is one in which a hunter could not hunt from the 
stand in its present position). Also, all stands left must be 
legibly tagged with the user’s name, address, phone number 
and LDWF ID number. No stand may be left on any WMA 
prior to the day before deer season opens on that WMA and 
all stands must be removed from the WMA within one day 
after the close of deer hunting on that WMA. Free standing 
blinds must be disassembled when not in use. Stands left 
will not reserve hunting sites for the owner or user. All 
portable stands, blinds, tripods, etc., found unattended in a 
hunting position, not placed flat on the ground, or untagged 
will be confiscated and disposed of by the LDWF. LDWF is 
not responsible for unattended stands left on an area. 

g. Physically Challenged Wheelchair Confined 
Deer and Waterfowl Hunting Areas. Special deer and 
waterfowl hunting areas, blinds and stands identified with 
LDWF logos, have been established for physically 
challenged hunter permit (PCHP) wheelchair confined 
hunters on WMAs. Hunters must obtain a PCHP permit and 
are required to make reservations to use blinds and stands. 
PCHP wheelchair hunting areas are available on Alexander 
State Forest, Bayou Pierre, Big Colewa Bayou, Buckhorn, 
Clear Creek, Floy McElroy, Fort Polk-Vernon, Maurepas 
Swamp, Russell Sage, Sandy Hollow, and Sherburne 
WMAs. Check WMA hunting schedules or call the LDWF 
field offices in Pineville, Lake Charles, Opelousas, Minden, 
Monroe or Hammond for information. 

h. Hunting from utility poles and structures, and oil 
and gas exploration facilities or platforms is prohibited. 

i. It is illegal to save or reserve hunting locations 
using permanent stands or blinds. Stands or blinds attached 
to trees with screws, nails, spikes, etc. are illegal. 

j. Tree climbing spurs, spikes or screw-in steps are 
prohibited. 

k. Unattended decoys will be confiscated and 
forfeited to the LDWF and disposed of by the LDWF. This 
action is necessary to prevent preemption of hunting space. 

l. Spot lighting (shining) from vehicles is 
prohibited on all WMAs. 

m. Horses and mules may be ridden on WMAs 
except where prohibited and except during gun seasons for 
deer and turkey. Riding is restricted to designated roads and 
trails depicted on WMA map, self-clearing permit is 
required. Organized trail rides prohibited except allowed by 
permit only on Camp Beauregard. Hunting and trapping 
from horses and mules is prohibited except for quail hunting 
or as otherwise specified. Horse-drawn conveyances are 
prohibited. 

n. All hunters (including archers and small game 
hunters) except waterfowl hunters and mourning dove 
hunters on WMAs must display 400 square inches of "hunter 
orange" or “blaze pink” and wear a “hunter orange” or 
“blaze pink” cap during open gun season for deer. Quail and 
woodcock hunters and hunters participating in special dog 
seasons for rabbit, squirrel and feral hogs are required to 
wear a minimum of a “hunter orange” or “blaze pink” cap. 
All other hunters and archers (while on the ground) except 
waterfowl hunters also must wear a minimum of a “hunter 
orange” or “blaze pink” cap during special dog seasons for 
rabbit and squirrel and feral hogs. Also all persons afield 
during hunting seasons are encouraged to display "hunter 
orange" or “blaze pink”. Hunters participating in special 
shotgun season for feral hogs on Atchafalaya Delta, Pass-a-
Loutre, Pointe-aux-Chenes and Salvador WMAs must 
display 400 square inches of “hunter orange” or “blaze pink” 
and wear a “hunter orange” or “blaze pink” cap. 

o. Deer hunters hunting from concealed ground 
blinds must display a minimum of 400 square inches of 
“hunter orange” or “blaze pink” above or around their blinds 
which is visible from 360 degrees. 

p. Archery Season for Deer. The archery season on 
WMAs is the same as outside and is open for either-sex deer 
except as otherwise specified on individual WMAs. Archery 
season restricted on Atchafalaya Delta and closed on certain 
WMAs when special seasons for youth or physically 
challenged hunts are in progress. Consult regulations 
pamphlet for specific seasons. 

q. Either-sex deer may be taken on WMAs at any 
time during archery season except when bucks only seasons 
are in progress on the respective WMAs. Archers must abide 
by bucks only regulations and other restrictions when such 
seasons are in progress. 

r. Primitive Firearms Season for Deereither-sex 
unless otherwise specified (see WMA deer schedule), except 
youths 17 or younger may use any legal weapon during the 
primitive firearm season. 

6. Camping 
a. Camping on WMAs, including trailers, 

houseboats, vessels, recreational vehicles and tents, is 
allowed only in designated areas and for a period not to 
exceed 16 consecutive days, regardless if the camp is 
attended or unattended. At the end of the 16-day period, 
camps must be removed from the area for at least 48 hours. 
Camping area use limited exclusively to outdoor recreational 
activities. Camping is available on a first-come, first-serve 
basis unless otherwise specified. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 44, No. 07   July 20, 2018 1288

b. Houseboats and vessels utilized for recreational 
activities are prohibited from overnight mooring within 
WMAs except on stream banks adjacent to designated 
camping areas. Overnight mooring of vessels that provide 
lodging for hire are prohibited on WMAs. Houseboats and 
vessels shall not impede navigation. On Atchafalaya Delta 
WMA houseboats may be moored by permit only in 
designated areas during hunting season. Permits are 
available by lottery annually or by five year lease through a 
bid program. 

c. Discharge of human waste onto lands or waters 
of any WMA is strictly prohibited by state and federal law. 
In the event public restroom facilities are not available at a 
WMA, the following is required. Anyone camping on a 
WMA in a camper, trailer, or other unit (other than a 
houseboat or tent) shall have and shall utilize an operational 
disposal system attached to the unit. Tent campers shall have 
and shall utilize portable waste disposal units and shall 
remove all human waste from the WMA upon leaving. 
Houseboats moored on a WMA shall have a permit or letter 
of certification from the health unit (Department of Health) 
of the parish within which the WMA occurs verifying that it 
has an approved sewerage disposal system on board. Further, 
that system shall be utilized by occupants of the houseboats 
when on the WMA. 

d. No refuse or garbage may be dumped from these 
boats. 

e. Firearms may not be kept loaded or discharged in 
a camping area unless otherwise specified. 

f. Campsites must be cleaned by occupants prior to 
leaving and all refuse placed in designated locations when 
provided or carried off by campers. 

g. Trash must be contained at all times while 
camping.  

h. Burning of trash is prohibited. 
i. Glass containers prohibited on campgrounds.  
j. Non-compliance with camping regulations will 

subject occupant to immediate expulsion and/or citation, 
including restitution for damages. 

k. Swimming is prohibited within 100 yards of boat 
launching ramps. 

7. Restricted Areas 
a. For your safety, all oil and gas production 

facilities (wells, pumping stations and storage facilities) are 
off limits. 

b. No unauthorized entry or unauthorized hunting in 
restricted areas, refuges, or limited use areas unless 
otherwise specified. 

8. Dogs. All use of dogs on WMAs, except for bird 
hunting and duck hunting, is experimental as required by 
law. Having or using dogs on any WMA is prohibited except 
for nighttime experimental raccoon hunting, squirrel 
hunting, rabbit hunting, bird hunting, duck hunting, hog 
hunting and bird dog training when allowed; see individual 
WMA season listings for WMAs that allow dogs. Dogs 
running at large are prohibited on WMAs. The owner or 
handler of said dogs shall be liable. Only recognizable 
breeds of bird dogs and retrievers are allowed for quail and 
migratory bird hunting. Only beagle hounds which do not 
exceed 15 inches at the front shoulders and which have 
recognizable characteristics of the breed may be used on

WMAs having experimental rabbit seasons. A leashed dog 
may be used to trail and retrieve wounded or unrecovered 
deer during legal hunting hours. Any dog used to trail or 
retrieve wounded or unrecovered deer shall have on a collar 
with owner’s name, address and phone number. In addition, 
a dog may be used to trail and retrieve unrecovered deer 
after legal hunting hours; however, no person accompanying 
a dog after legal hunting hours may carry a firearm of any 
sort. 

9. Vehicles 
a. An all-terrain vehicle is an off-road vehicle (not 

legal for highway use) with factory specifications not to 
exceed the following: weight-750 pounds, length-85", and 
width-48". ATV tires are restricted to those no larger than 26 
x 12 with a maximum l” lug height and a maximum 
allowable tire pressure of 12 psi. as indicated on the tire by 
the manufacturer. Use of all other ATVs or ATV tires are 
prohibited on a WMA. 

b. Utility Type Vehicle (UTV, also Utility Terrain 

Vehicle)any recreational motor vehicle other than an ATV, 
not legal for highway use, designed for and capable of travel 
over designated unpaved roads, traveling on four or more 
low-pressure tires, with factory specifications not to exceed 
the following: weight-1900 pounds, length-128" and width-
68". UTV tires are restricted to those no larger than 27 x 12 
with a maximum 1" lug height and a maximum allowable 
tire pressure of 12 psi. UTV’s are commonly referred to as 
side by sides and may include golf carts. 

c. Vehicles having wheels with a wheel-tire 
combination radius of 17 inches or more measured from the 
center of the hub and horizontal to ground are prohibited. 

d. The testing, racing, speeding or unusual 
maneuvering of any type of vehicle is prohibited within 
WMAs due to property damages resulting in high 
maintenance costs, disturbance of wildlife and destruction of 
forest reproduction. 

e. Tractor or implement tires with farm tread 
designs Rl, R2 and R4 known commonly as spade or lug 
grip types are prohibited on all vehicles.  

f. Airboats, aircraft, personal water craft, “mud 
crawling vessels” (commonly referred to as crawfish 
combines which use paddle wheels for locomotion) and 
hover craft are prohibited on all WMAs and refuges, except 
type A personal water craft, model year 2003 and beyond, 
which are eight feet in length and greater, may be operated 
within WMAs from April 1 until the Monday of Labor Day 
weekend, from sunrise to sunset only, and except personal 
water craft allowed on designated portions of Alexander 
State Forest WMA year-round. Personal water craft are 
defined as a vessel which uses an inboard motor powering a 
water jet pump as its primary source of propulsion and is 
designed to be operated by a person sitting, standing or 
kneeling on the vessel rather than in the conventional 
manner of sitting or standing inside the vessel. No person 
shall operate such water craft at a speed greater than slow/no 
wake within 100 feet of an anchored or moored vessel, 
shoreline, dock, pier, persons engaged in angling or any 
other manually powered vessel. 

g. Driving or parking vehicles on food or cover 
plots and strips is prohibited. 
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h. Blocking the entrance to roads and trails is 
prohibited. 

i. Licensed motorized vehicles (LMVs) legal for 
highway use, including motorcycles, are restricted entirely to 
designated roads as indicated on WMA maps. UTVs are 
restricted to marked UTV trails only, except that those UTVs 
in which the manufacturer’s specifications do not exceed the 
weight, length, width, and tire restrictions for ATVs are 
allowed on ATV trails. ATVs are restricted to marked ATV 
trails only when WMA roads are closed to LMVs, ATVs and 
UTVs may then use those roads when allowed. This 
restriction does not apply to bicycles.  

NOTE: Only ATV and UTV trails marked with signs and/or 
paint, and depicted on WMA maps are open for use. 

j. Use of special ATV trails for physically 
challenged persons is restricted to ATV physically 
challenged permittees. Physically challenged ATV 
permittees are restricted to physically challenged ATV trails 
or other ATV trails only as indicated on WMA maps or as 
marked by sign and/or paint. Persons 60 years of age and 
older, with proof of age, are also allowed to use special 
physically challenged trails and need not obtain a permit. 
However, these persons must abide by all rules in place for 
these trails. Physically challenged persons under the age of 
60 must apply for and obtain a physically challenged hunter 
program permit from the LDWF. 

k. Entrances to ATV trails will be marked with 
peach colored paint. Entrances to physically challenged-only 
ATV trails will be marked with blue colored paint. Entrances 
to ATV trails that are open year round will be marked with 
purple paint. The end of all ATV trails will be marked by red 
paint. WMA maps serve only as a general guide to the route 
of most ATV trails, therefore all signage and paint marking 
as previously described will be used to determine 
compliance. 

l. Roads and trails may be closed due to poor 
condition, construction or wet weather. 

m. ATVs, and motorcycles cannot be left overnight 
on WMAs except on designated camping areas. ATVs are 
prohibited from two hours after sunset to 4 a.m., except 
raccoon hunters may use ATVs during nighttime raccoon 
take seasons only. ATVs are prohibited from March 1 
through August 31 except squirrel hunters are allowed to use 
ATV trails during the spring squirrel season on the WMA 
and except certain trails may be open during this time period 
to provide access for fishing or other purposes and some 
ATV trails will be open all year long on certain WMAs.  

n. Caution. Many LDWF-maintained roadways on 
WMAs are unimproved and substandard. A maximum 20 
mph speed limit is recommended for all land vehicles using 
these roads, unless specific signage otherwise allows or 
restricts. 

o. Hunters are allowed to retrieve their own downed 
deer and hogs with the aid of an ATV except on 
Thistlethwaite, Sherburne, Atchafalaya Delta, Pass-a-Loutre, 
Pointe-aux-Chenes, Salvador, Timken, Lake Boeuf, and 
Biloxi WMAs under the following conditions: 
 i. no firearms or archery equipment is in 
possession of the retrieval party or on the ATV; 
 ii. the retrieval party may consist of no more than 
one ATV and one helper; 
 iii. ATVs may not be used to locate or search for 
wounded game or for any other purpose than retrieval of 

deer and hogs once they have been legally harvested and 
located; 
 iv. UTV’s may not be used to retrieve downed 
deer or hogs. 

10. Commercial Activities 
a. Hunting Guides/Outfitters. No person or group 

may act as a hunting guide, outfitter or in any other capacity 
for which they are paid or promised to be paid directly or 
indirectly by any other individual or individuals for services 
rendered to any other person or persons hunting on any 
WMA, regardless of whether such payment is for guiding, 
outfitting, lodging or club memberships. 

b. Except for licensed activities otherwise allowed 
by law, commercial activities are prohibited without a permit 
issued by the secretary of the LDWF. 

c. Commercial Fishing. Permits are required of all 
commercial fishermen using Grassy Lake, Pomme de Terre 
and Spring Bayou WMAs. Drag seines (except minnow and 
bait seines) are prohibited except experimental bait seines 
allowed on Dewey Wills WMA north of LA 28 in Diversion 
Canal. Commercial fishing is prohibited during regular 
waterfowl seasons on Grand Bay, Silver Lake and Lower 
Sunk Lake on Richard K. Yancey WMA. Commercial 
fishing is prohibited on Salvador/Timken, Pointe-aux-
Chenes, and Russell Sage WMAs except commercial fishing 
on Pointe-aux-Chenes is allowed in Cut Off Canal and 
Wonder Lake. No commercial fishing activity shall impede 
navigation and no unattended vessels or barges will be 
allowed. Non-compliance with permit regulations will result 
in revocation of commercial fishing privileges for the period 
the license is issued and one year thereafter. Commercial 
fishing is allowed on Pass-a-Loutre and Atchafalaya Delta 
WMAs. See Pass-a-Loutre for additional commercial fishing 
regulations on mullet. 

11. WMAs Basic Season Structure. For season dates, 
bag limits, shooting hours, special seasons and other 
information consult the annual regulations pamphlet for 
specific details. 

12. Resident Small Game (squirrel, rabbit, quail, 
mourning dove, woodcock, snipe, rail and gallinule). Same 
as outside except closed during modern firearm either-sex 
deer seasons on certain WMAs (see WMA schedule) and 
except non-toxic shot, size 6 or smaller must be used for 
dove, rail, snipe, and gallinule. Unless otherwise specified 
under a specific WMA hunting schedule, the use of dogs for 
rabbit and squirrel hunting is prohibited. Spring squirrel 
season with or without dogs: first Saturday of May for nine 
days. Consult regulations pamphlet for specific WMAs. 

13. Waterfowl (ducks, geese and coots). Consult 
regulations pamphlet. Hunting after 2 p.m. prohibited on all 
WMAs except for Atchafalaya Delta, Attakapas, Biloxi, 
Lake Boeuf, Pass-a-Loutre, Pointe-aux-Chenes, and 
Salvador/Timken WMAs. Consult specific WMA 
regulations for shooting hours on these WMAs. 

14. Archery. Consult regulations pamphlet. 
15. Hogs. Feral hogs may be taken during any open 

hunting season on WMAs by properly licensed and/or 
permitted hunters using only guns or bow and arrow legal 
for specified seasons in progress, except take of hogs is 
prohibited during nighttime raccoon seasons. Hogs may not 
be taken with the aid of dogs, except feral hogs may be taken 
with the aid of dogs during the month of February on 
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Attakapas, Bodcau, Clear Creek, Little River, Pearl River, 
Sabine, Sabine Island, and West Bay and that portion of 
Dewey W. Wills north of the Catahoula Lake Diversion 
Canal by self-clearing permit. All hogs must be killed 
immediately and may not be transported live under any 
conditions. During the February dog season hunters may use 
centerfire pistols in addition to using guns allowed for 
season in progress. Additionally, feral hogs may be taken on 
Atchafalaya Delta, Pass-a-Loutre, Pointe-aux-Chenes and 
Salvador/Timken WMAs from February 16 through March 
31 with archery equipment, shotguns loaded with buckshot 
or slugs or rimfire rifles no larger than .22 caliber. Additional 
requirements may be specified under individual WMAs, see 
regulation pamphlet. 

16. Outlaw Quadrupeds and Birds. Consult regulations 
pamphlet. During hunting seasons specified on WMAs, 
except the turkey and spring squirrel seasons, take of outlaw 
quadrupeds and birds, with or without the use of electronic 
calls, is allowed by properly licensed hunters and only with 
guns or bows and arrows legal for season in progress on 
WMA. However, crows, blackbirds, grackles and cowbirds 
may not be taken before September 1 or after January 1. As 
described in 50 CFR part 21, non-toxic shot must be used for 
the take of crows, blackbirds, cowbirds and grackles under 
the special depredation order. In addition an annual report 
has to be submitted to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service for 
those that participate in the take of these species. 

17. WMAs Hunting Schedule and Regulations 
a. Acadiana Conservation Corridor. Self-clearing 

permit required for all activities. 
 i. Archery only: Oct. 1-15 bucks only, Oct. 16-
Feb. 15, either sex. 
 ii. All other seasons closed. No motorized 
vehicles allowed and no access via I-49 right-of-way. 

b. Alexander State Forest. From December through 
February all hunters must check daily with the Office of 
Forestry for scheduled burning activity. No hunting or other 
activity will be permitted in burn units the day of the 
burning. Call 318-487-5172 or 318-487-5058 for 
information on burning schedules. Attaching stands to red 
cockaded woodpecker cavity trees is prohibited. Cavity trees 
are marked with painted, double white bands. Self-clearing 
permits required for hunters only. Vehicles restricted to 
paved and graveled roads. No parking on or fishing or 
swimming from bridges. No open fires except in recreational 
areas. Physically challenged wheelchair confined deer 
hunting area: access restricted. Check WMA map for 
location and call Minden or Baton Rouge offices for details 
and applications. Hunting by reservation for wheelchair 
confined PCHP permittees only. Same deer seasons listed 
below.  
 i. Deer: 

(a). archery: Oct. 1-Jan. 31, either-sex; 
(b). firearms: Fri. after Thanksgiving day for 3 

days, bucks only; 
(c). primitive firearms: 2nd Sat. of Oct. for 2 

days; first Sat. of Nov. for 2 days; mandatory deer check. 
 ii. Small Game: same as outside except closed 
during primitive firearms season and open to squirrel 
hunting during the spring season, 1st Sat. of May for 9 days. 
Beagles allowed for rabbits and dogs allowed for squirrel 
hunting Sat. before Christmas to the last day of Feb. 

 iii. Waterfowl: same as outside. (Certain areas may 
be closed as posted.) 

c. Atchafalaya Delta. Self-clearing permit required 
for deer hunting, feral hog hunting and tent camping only. 
Self-clearing permits available from Main Delta 
campground, Wax Delta Campground, Cul-de-sac on Big 
Island, and Berwick Public Boat Launch (Jesse Fontenot 
Boat Launch). Camping and houseboat mooring allowed 
only in designated campgrounds. Houseboat mooring 
allowed by permit only (see Subparagraph G.6.b for details). 
Limited access area: operation of internal combustion 
engines prohibited from September through January. See 
WMA map for specific locations. Vessels/vehicles: 
mudboats or air-cooled propulsion vessels powered by more 
than 36 total horsepower are prohibited on the WMA. All 
ATVs/UTVs, motorcycles, horses and mules prohibited 
except as permitted for authorized WMA trappers. Big 
Island: closed to all activities during the month of October, 
except LDWF lottery hunts. 
 i. Deer Archery (either-sex): Oct. 1-Jan. 31 on 
Main Delta only (Big Island closed during October); no deer 
hunting on Wax Lake Delta. All harvested deer must be 
checked in at Atchafalaya Delta headquarters. 
 ii. Deer Youth Lottery (either-sex): Oct. 14-15 
and 21-22, daily youth hunt permit required. Call the New 
Iberia field office, Coastal and Nongame Resources 
Division, 337-373-0032 for details. 
 iii. Small Game: same as outside except Rabbit 
Only: 

(a). Wax Lake Delta: Oct. 7-31 and Feb. 1-28, 
with or without beagles. Nov. 1-Jan. 31 without beagles 
only. 

(b). Main Delta: Feb. 1-28, with or without 
beagles. closed October through January. 
 iv. Waterfowl: same as outside, except shooting 
hours shall be 1/2 hour before sunrise to 2 p.m. during 
opening weekends of teal and duck season and 1/2 hour 
before sunrise to sunset the remainder of the season, and 
except shooting hours are the same as outside for the youth 
hunt weekend. 
 v. Feral Hogs: May be taken by properly licensed 
hunters Oct. 1-Feb. 28. In addition, hunters may hunt feral 
hogs with archery equipment, shotguns loaded with 
buckshot or slugs or rimfire rifles no larger than .22 caliber 
from Feb. 16-March 31. Hunters must also display 400 
square inches of “hunter orange” or “blaze pink” and wear a 
“hunter orange” or “blaze pink” cap during special shotgun 
season for feral hogs. All harvested hogs must be checked in 
at the Atchafalaya Delta WMA headquarters. 

d. Attakapas. Area closed to all except youth deer 
hunters when the youth deer season is open. Self-clearing 
permits required for hunters only. 
 i. Deer 

(a). Deer hunting will be closed when the river 
stage of the Atchafalaya River reaches 15 feet msl at Butte 
LaRose and will reopen when the river stage recedes to 14 
feet msl at Butte LaRose. 

(b). Archery: Oct. 1-15 bucks only, Oct. 16-Feb. 
15, either sex. 

(c). Youth: Last Sat. of Oct. for 2 days, either-
sex. 
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(d). Firearms Either-Sex: Fri. after Thanksgiving 
Day for 2 days 

(e). Firearms Bucks Only: 4th Sat. of Dec. for 9 
days.  

(f). Primitive Firearms (Bucks only): 3rd 
Saturday of January for 2 days. 
 ii. Turkey: opening day of statewide season for 9 
days, except season will open for 10 days when statewide 
season opens on Good Friday. 
 iii. Small Game and Waterfowl: same as outside 
except small game hunting closed during either-sex modern 
firearms seasons closed during youth deer seasons and Open 
to squirrel hunting during the spring season, 1st Sat. of May 
for 9 days, with or without dogs. Beagles allowed for rabbits 
and dogs allowed for squirrel hunting the day after primitive 
firearms season ends to the last day of Feb.  
 iv. Raccoon (nighttime): 2nd Sat. of Sept. for 16 
days and the day after the last deer firearms season (bucks 
only or primitive) to the last day of Feb. 

e. Bayou Macon. Area closed to all except youth 
deer hunters last Sat. of Oct. for 2 days. All night activities 
prohibited except as otherwise provided. 
 i. Deer: 

(a). archery: Oct. 1-Jan. 31, either-sex; 
(b). youth: last Sat. of Oct. for 2 days, either-sex; 
(c). firearms: Sat. prior to Thanksgiving for 2 

days, mandatory deer check, either-sex; 
(d). primitive firearms: 3rd Sat. of Dec. for 9 

days. 

 ii. TurkeyGeneral Lottery: last Sat. of Area B 
season for 2 days. 
 iii. Small Game and Waterfowl: same as outside 
except closed during firearms season and Open to squirrel 
hunting during the spring season, 1st Sat. of May for 9 days, 
with or without dogs. Beagles allowed for rabbits and dogs 
allowed for squirrel hunting the day after the last deer 
firearms season (bucks only or primitive) to the last day of 
Feb. On that portion designated as small game emphasis 
area, beagles are allowed for rabbit and dogs are allowed for 
squirrel Mon. after 3rd Sat. of Oct.-Sun. prior to firearms 
either-sex deer, and training of beagles for rabbit and dogs 
for squirrel allowed June 1- August 31.  
 iv. Raccoon: (nighttime): Sept. 1st for 16 days and 
1st Sat. of Jan. to the last day of Feb.  

f. Bayou Pierre. Waterfowl refuge is closed to all 
hunting, trapping and fishing except for archery hunting for 
deer, which is allowed on the entire area. Refuge is marked 
with “Waterfowl Refuge” signs. Contact Minden office, for 
details for lottery hunts listed below at 318-371-3050. 
 i. Deer: 

(a). archery only: Oct. 1-Jan. 31, either-sex. 
Archery hunting is allowed in the waterfowl refuge.  
 ii. Dove: Same as outside. 
 iii. Waterfowl Lottery Only: (designated portion)  

(a). Lottery Youth Hunt: same as outside youth 
waterfowl hunt. 

(b). General Lottery Hunt: 2nd weekend of 1st 
split and 1st and 4th weekends of 2nd split of the west zone 
season. 
 iv. Other Small Game: same as outside and Open 
to squirrel hunting during the spring season, 1st Sat. of May 
for 9 days, with or without dogs. Beagles allowed for rabbits 

and dogs allowed for squirrel hunting Sat. before Christmas 
to last day of Feb. On that portion designated as small game 
emphasis area, training of beagles for rabbit and dogs for 
squirrel allowed June 1- August 31. 
 v. Raccoon (nighttime): Sat. before Christmas to 
last day of Feb. 

g. Big Colewa Bayou. Self-clearing permit not 
required. physically challenged wheelchair confined deer 
hunting area: access restricted. Check WMA map for 
location and call Monroe or Baton Rouge offices for details 
and applications. Hunting by reservation for wheelchair 
confined PCHP permittees only. Fri. after Thanksgiving for 
3 days, either-sex and 2nd Sat. of Dec. for 16 days, bucks 
only. 
 i. Deer: 

(a). archery only: Oct. 1-Jan. 31, either-sex. 
 ii. Small Game and Waterfowl: same as outside 
and Open to squirrel hunting during the spring season, 1st 
Sat. of May for 9 days, with or without dogs. Beagles 
allowed for rabbit hunting Jan. 1st to last day of Feb. On that 
portion designated as small game emphasis area, beagles are 
allowed for rabbit and dogs are allowed for squirrel Mon. 
after 3rd Sat. of Oct.-Sun. prior to Thanksgiving, and 
training of beagles for rabbit and dogs for squirrel allowed 
June 1- August 31.  
 iii. All nighttime activities prohibited.  

h. Big Lake. Area closed to all except youth deer 
hunters during the youth deer hunt only on that portion of 
the area south of Big Lake and Crystal Roads. Remainder of 
area open for all activities. 
 i. Deer: 

(a). Archery: Oct. 1-Jan. 31, either-sex. 
(b). Youth: Last Sat. of Oct. for 2 days, either-

sex. Youth hunt on designated portion. See WMA map for 
specific location. 

(c). Firearms Either-sex: Fri. after Thanksgiving 
day for 3 days, Fri. and Sat. mandatory deer check, Sun. 
self-clearing permit. 

(d). Firearms Bucks Only: 2nd Sat. of Dec. for 
14 days. 

(e). Primitive Firearms: day after firearms bucks 
only season closes for 14 days. 
 ii. Turkey: opening day of statewide season for 16 
days, except season will open for 17 days when statewide 
season opens on Good Friday. 

(a). Youth: Sat. before opening day of statewide 
season for 2 days, except when that Sat. falls on Easter 
weekend then season will open on Good Friday for 3 days. 
 iii. Small Game: same as outside except closed 
during either-sex firearms seasons and Open to squirrel 
hunting during the spring season, 1st Sat. of May for 9 days, 
with or without dogs. Beagles allowed for rabbits and dogs 
allowed for squirrel hunting the day after primitive firearms 
season ends to the last day of Feb. 
 iv. Waterfowl: same as outside except closed 
during either-sex firearms seasons. 
 v. Raccoon (Nighttime): the day after primitive 
firearms season ends to the last day of Feb. 
 vi. Sport Fishing: yoyos and trotlines allowed on 
Big and Chain Lakes. 

i. Biloxi. Self-Clearing permits not required. 
Vessels/vehicles: all ATVs/UTVs, motorcycles, horses, and 
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mules are prohibited. Mud boats or air cooled propulsion 
vessels can only be powered by straight shaft “long-tail” air-
cooled mud motors that are 25 total horsepower or less. All 
other types of mud boats or air cooled propulsion vessels, 
including “surface-drive” boats, are prohibited. Overnight 
mooring of all vessels 50 feet in length or more is 
prohibited. 
 i. Deer 

(a).  Archery (bucks only): Oct. 1-15 
(b). Deer Archery (either-sex): Oct. 16 - Jan. 31 

 ii. Small Game and Waterfowl: Same as outside 
except beagles allowed for rabbits when duck season is 
closed and except closed to squirrel hunting during the 
spring season. 

j. Bodcau. Area Closed: Closed to all except youth 
deer hunters during the youth deer hunt on designated 
portion.  
 i. Deer 

(a). Archery: Oct. 1-Jan. 31, either-sex. 
(b). Youth: Sat. after 2nd Fri. of Oct. for 2 days, 

either-sex on designated portion. 
(c). Firearms either-sex: Last Sat. of Oct. to the 

Sun. after Thanksgiving day. Last Sat. of Oct. and Sun. after 
last Sat. of Oct., mandatory deer check. 

(d). Primitive Firearms: Mon. after Thanksgiving 
day for 7 days.  
 ii. Turkey 

(a). Opening day of statewide season for 16 
days, except season will open for 17 days when statewide 
season opens Good Friday. 

(b). Youth: Sat. before opening day of statewide 
season for 2 days except when that Sat. falls on Easter 
weekend, then season will open on Good Friday for 3 days. 
4th Sat. of April for 2 days. 
 iii. Small Game and Waterfowl: same as outside 
except closed during the youth deer hunt on designated 
portion and entire area 1st 2 days of modern firearms deer 
season except spring squirrel season will be open the 1st Sat. 
of May for 9 days only, with or without dogs. Beagles 
allowed for rabbits and dogs allowed for squirrel hunting 
day after firearms deer season ends to the last day of Feb.  

(a). Youth Squirrel Hunt: 4th Sat. of Sept. for 2 
days. 
 iv. Raccoon: (nighttime) day after firearms deer 
season ends to the last day of Feb. 
 v. Bird Dog Training Area: permit required. Open 
all year except closed during WMA turkey season. Contact 
Minden office for permits and information. 
 vi. Fishing: nets and traps prohibited on Ivan 
Lake. 

k. Boeuf. Area closed to all south of LA 4 except 
youth deer hunters when youth deer season is open. North of 
LA 4 open to all activities. Limited access area: no 
motorized vessels or vehicles allowed Nov. 1-Jan. 31. 
Internal combustion engines and craft limited to 10 hp rating 
or less in the Greentree Reservoir. 
 i. Deer 

(a). Archery: Oct. 1-Jan. 31, either-sex. 
(b). Youth: 2nd Sat. of Oct. for 2 days, either-

sex. 

(c). Firearms Either-Sex: Fri. after Thanksgiving 
Day for 3 days, Fri. and Sat.; mandatory deer check, 

Sun.self-clearing permit. 
(d). Firearms Bucks Only: 1st Sat. of Dec. for 14 

days.  
(e). Primitive Firearms: day after the close of 

Firearms Bucks Only for 14 days. 2nd Sat. of Nov. for 7 
days. 
 ii. Turkey: opening day of statewide season for 16 
days, except season will open for 17 days when statewide 
season opens Good Friday. 
 iii. Small Game and Waterfowl: same as outside 
except closed during deer firearms either-sex season, and 
except spring squirrel season will be open the 1st Sat. of 
May for 9 days only, with or without dogs. Beagles allowed 
for rabbits and dogs allowed for squirrel hunting the day 
after the last deer firearms season (bucks only or primitive) 
to the last day of Feb. Youth squirrel hunt: 4th Sat. of Sept. 
for 2 days. On that portion designated as small game 
emphasis area, beagles are allowed for rabbit and dogs are 
allowed for squirrel Mon. after 3rd Sat. of Oct.-Sun. prior to 
Thanksgiving, and training of beagles for rabbit and dogs for 
squirrel allowed June 1- August 31. 
 iv. Raccoon (nighttime): 2nd Sat. of Sept. for 16 
days and the day after the last deer firearms season (bucks 
only or primitive) to the last day of Feb. 

l. Buckhorn. Area closed last Sat. of Oct. for 2 days 
to all except youth and physically challenged deer hunters. 
 i. Deer 

(a). Archery: Oct. 1-Jan. 31, either-sex. 
(b). Youth and Physically Challenged: last Sat. of 

Oct. for 2 days, either-sex. 
(c). Firearms Either-Sex: Fri. after Thanksgiving 

Day for 3 days, Fri. and Sat. mandatory deer check, Sun. 
self-clearing permit; and 2nd Sat. of Dec. for 2 days.  

(d). Firearms Bucks Only: 3rd Sat. of Dec. for 14 
days. 

(e). Primitive Firearms: day after firearms bucks 
only season ends for 14 days.  

(f). Youth and Physically Challenged 
Wheelchair Confined Deer Hunting Area: check map for 
location. Access restricted. Call Monroe or Baton Rouge 
offices for further details. 

(g). Youth Lottery: 2nd weekend and last 
consecutive Sat. and Sun. of Dec. and 1st consecutive Sat. 
and Sun. in Jan. Either-sex. Hunting by pre-application 
lottery only. 

(h). Physically Challenged Wheelchair Confined: 
2nd and 3rd weekend of Dec. and 1st consecutive Sat. and 
Sun. in Jan. Either-sex. Hunting by reservation for 
wheelchair confined. PCHP permittees only.  
 ii. Small Game and Waterfowl: same as outside 
except closed during either-sex gun hunts and Open to 
squirrel hunting during the spring season, 1st Sat. of May for 
9 days, with or without dogs. Beagles allowed for rabbits 
and dogs allowed for squirrel hunting the day after primitive 
firearms season ends to the last day of Feb. 
 iii. Raccoon (nighttime): day after primitive 
firearms season ends to the last day of Feb. 
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m. Bussey Brake. Area closed to all activities, no 
hunting allowed, until further notice. 

n. Camp Beauregard. All or portions of the area 
may be closed daily due to military activities. All game 
harvested must be reported on self-clearing checkout permit. 
No hunting in restricted areas. Swimming in Twin Lakes 
prohibited. Retriever training allowed on selected portions of 
the WMA. Area closed to all except youth deer hunters and 
permitted disabled veterans hunters Sat. and Sun. preceding 
Veterans Day. 
 i. Deer: 

(a). Archery: Oct. 1-Jan. 31, either-sex. 
(b). Youth Deer Hunt: Sat. and Sun. preceding 

Veterans Day, either-sex on designated portion of the WMA.  
(c). Disabled Veterans Deer Hunt: Sat. and Sun. 

preceding Veterans Day, by lottery only, either-sex on 
designated portion of the WMA. Call Minden office for 
details and application. 

(d). Firearms Bucks Only: Dec. 26-Jan. 1. 
(e). Primitive Firearms: Fri. after Thanksgiving 

day for 2 days, mandatory deer check. All deer harvested 
must be brought to Rifle Range Road Weigh Station. 2nd 
Sat. of Dec. for 2 days self-clearing permit.  
 ii. Turkey: Opening day of statewide season for 9 
days, except season will open for 10 days when statewide 
season opens Good Friday. 
 iii. Small Game and Waterfowl: same as outside, 
except closed during either-sex gun hunts for deer and 
except closed to squirrel hunting during the spring season. 
Beagles allowed for rabbits and dogs allowed for squirrel 
hunting Sat. after Jan. 1 to the last day of Feb. 
 iv. Raccoon (nighttime): last consecutive Sat. and 
Sun. in Jan. to last day of Feb. 
 v. Fishing: special regulations to be posted at 
Twin Lakes. 

o. Clear Creek. Area closed: to all except youth deer 
hunters when the youth deer season is open. physically 
challenged wheelchair confined deer hunting area: access 
restricted. Check WMA map for location and call Lake 
Charles or Baton Rouge offices for details and applications. 
Hunting by reservation for wheelchair confined PCHP 
permittees only. Same deer seasons listed below. 
 i. Deer 

(a). Archery: 3rd Sat. of Sept. to Jan. 15, either-
sex. 

(b). Youth Deer Hunt: next to last Sat. of Oct. for 
2 days, either-sex. 

(c). Firearms Either-sex: last Sat. of Oct. for 2 
days, mandatory deer check and Fri. after Thanksgiving for 
3 days, self-clearing permit. 

(d). Firearms Bucks Only: Mon. after close of 
primitive season to Thanksgiving day, and 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
to Jan. 1.  

(e). Primitive Firearms: Mon. after 1st either-sex 
firearms weekend for 7 days.  
 ii. Turkey 

(a). Mon. after 2nd Sat. of April for 21 days. 
(b). General Lottery: opening day of statewide 

season for 2 days, 2nd Sat. of April for 2 days. 
(c). Youth Lottery: Sat. before opening day of 

statewide season. 

 iii. Small Game and Waterfowl: same as outside 
except closed during either-sex gun hunts and except spring 
squirrel season will be open 1st Sat. of May for 9 days only, 
with or without dogs. Beagles allowed for rabbits and dogs 
allowed for squirrel hunting the day after firearms bucks 
only season closes to the last day of Feb.  

(a). Youth Squirrel Hunt: 4th Sat. of Sept. for 2 
days. 
 iv. Raccoon (Nighttime): day after firearms bucks 
only season closes to the last day of Feb.  

p. Dewey Wills. Limited access area, no motorized 
vessels or vehicles allowed from November through January. 
Area closed to all except youth and physically challenged 
deer hunters during the physically challenged and youth deer 
hunt only on that portion of the area north of the Diversion 
Canal. 

i. Deer 
 (a). Archery: Oct. 1-Jan. 31, either-sex. 
 (b). Physically Challenged and Youth: last Sat. of 
Oct. for 2 days, either-sex. Only that portion of the area 
north of the Diversion Canal shall be open only to physically 
challenged and youth deer hunters. The remainder of the 
area is open to all. 
 (c). Youth Lottery: 1st Sat. of Dec. for 2 days, 1st 
Sat. of Jan. for 2 days, 2nd Sat. of Jan. for 2 days, and 3rd 
Sat. of Jan. for 2 days, either-sex. Contact Opelousas office 
(337-948-0255) for details and applications. 
 (d). Firearms Either-Sex: Fri. after Thanksgiving 
day for 3 days, Fri. and Sat. mandatory deer check, Sun. 
self-clearing permit. No hunting allowed in the greentree 
impoundment or within 100 feet of the greentree levee if 
duck season is in progress. 
 (e). Firearms Bucks Only: 4th Sat. of Dec. for 16 
days. 
 (f). Primitive Firearms: 2nd Sat of Dec. for 2 days. 
 ii. Turkey 

(a). General Lottery: opening day of statewide 
season for 2 days, 2nd Sat. of April for 2 days. 
 iii. Small Game and Waterfowl: same as outside 
except closed during physically challenged and youth deer 
season north of the Diversion Canal and the entire area 
during the either-sex firearm hunt except waterfowl hunting 
will be allowed in the greentree impoundment during the 
firearm either-sex season and Open to squirrel hunting 
during the spring season 1st Sat. of May for 9 days, with or 
without dogs. Beagles allowed for rabbits and dogs allowed 
for squirrel hunting day after firearms bucks-only season 
ends to the last day of Feb. On that portion designated as 
small game emphasis Area, beagles are allowed for rabbit 
and dogs are allowed for squirrel 1st Sat. of Oct., 3rd Sun. of 
Nov., and training of beagles for rabbit and dogs for squirrel 
allowed June 1-August 31.  
 iv. Raccoon 

(a). Nighttime: day after primitive firearms 
season ends to the last day of Feb.  

(b). Nighttime Chase Only: May 1-Sept. 25, 
Tuesdays and Thursdays only. Raccoon hunters may use 
ATVs on designated trails during take season only. 
 v. Crawfish: limited to 100 pounds per person per 
day.  
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 vi. Larto Tracts: all season dates on Larto Tracts 
(see WMA map) same as outside, except still hunt only and 
except deer hunting restricted to archery only. All vehicles 
including ATVs prohibited. 

q. Elbow Slough.  
 i. Mourning Dove: Saturdays, Sundays and 
Wednesdays only during Sept. and Oct. of the outside 
season, except by lottery only opening weekend of 1st split. 
Applications available at Minden office and online. Contact 
Pineville office for details. 
 ii. Rabbit: Feb. 1 to the last day of Feb. Beagles 
allowed. 
 iii. All other seasons closed. Non-toxic (minimum 
size #6) shot only for all hunting. All motorized vehicles 
prohibited. 

r. Elm Hall. Self-clearing permits required for 
hunters only. ATVs/UTVs prohibited. 
 i. Deer 

(a). Archery: Oct. 1-15 bucks only, Oct. 16-Feb. 
15, either sex. 

(b). Firearms Either-Sex: Fri. after Thanksgiving 
Day for 2 days. 

(c). Firearms Bucks Only: Sun. after 
Thanksgiving Day and the 4th Sat. of Dec. for 9 days. 

(d). Primitive Firearms: Next to last Sat. in Jan. 
for 2 days. 
 ii. Small Game and Waterfowl: Same as outside 
except closed during either-sex firearm seasons for deer, 
beagles allowed for rabbits and dogs allowed for squirrel 
hunting the day after the close of primitive firearms to the 
end of Feb. and open to squirrel hunting during the spring 
season, 1st Sat. of May for 9 days, with or without dogs.  

s. Floy Ward McElroy. Access restricted. Contact 
Monroe wildlife field office at 318-343-4045 for 
information. 
 i. Deer 

(a). Youth Lottery: 2nd weekend and last 
consecutive Sat. and Sun. of Dec., and 1st consecutive Sat. 
and Sun. in Jan., either-sex. Restricted to those selected as a 
result of the pre-application lottery. 

(b). Physically Challenged Wheelchair Confined 
Lottery: 1st Sat. of Nov. for 2 days, either-sex. Restricted to 
wheelchair confined PCHP permittees only selected as a 
result of the pre-application lottery. 

(c). Beyond Becoming an Outdoors Woman 
(BOW) Lottery Deer Hunt: any weekend prior to youth 
lottery hunts and except weekend of physically challenged 
wheel-chair hunt. Hunt restricted to those that have 
successfully completed the becoming an outdoors woman 
deer management course. Must be hunter education certified. 
Contact LDWF Education Section, 318-343-1241, for more 
information. 

t. Fort Polk-Vernon. Self-clearing permit required 
daily for all activities. All or portions of the area may be 
closed daily due to military activities. Information on open 
areas and special ATV regulations can be accessed at the 
following website: http://www.jrtc-
polk.army.mil/hunt2/hunt/default.htm. Hunters are cautioned 
not to pick up any foreign material or objects while hunting 
on the WMA. Also, it is mandatory for hunters to check the 
open area maps, located at check stations, daily for sudden 
closures. Physically challenged wheelchair confined deer 

hunting area access restricted. Check WMA map for location 
and call Lake Charles office for details and applications. 
Hunting by reservation for wheelchair confined PCHP 
permittees only. Same deer seasons listed below. 
 i. Deer: 

(a). Archery: 3rd Sat. of Sept. to Jan. 15, either-
sex. Special Archery regulations for Cantonment Area, check 
locally at Building 2396 on 22nd St., either-sex deer legal 
the entire season. Remainder of WMA restricted to bucks 
only when bucks only gun season is in progress. 

(b). Primitive Firearms: 2nd Sat. of Oct. for 7 
days, self-clearing permit required.  

(c). Firearms Either-Sex: last Sat. of Oct. for 2 
days, and Fri. after Thanksgiving day for 3 days, mandatory 
deer check. 

(d). Firearms Bucks Only: Mon. after last Sat. of 
Oct. to Thanksgiving Day, 2nd Sat. of Dec. to Jan. 1. 
 ii. Turkey: same as outside. 

(a). Youth Lottery: Sat. before opening day of 
statewide season. 
 iii. Small Game and Waterfowl: same as outside 
except closed during either-sex firearms hunts for deer and 
except closed to squirrel hunting during the spring season. 
Hunter orange or blaze pink must be worn when bucks only 
gun hunts for deer are in progress. Squirrel hunting with 
dogs allowed Mon. after Thanksgiving day for 12 days and 
Jan. 2 to the last day of Feb.  
 iv. Feral Hogs: may be taken by properly licensed 
hunters from beginning of archery season to Jan. 1. Hunters 
may hunt feral hogs with shotguns loaded with buckshot or 
slugs from Jan. 2 to the end of Feb. Hunters must also 
display 400 square inches of hunter orange or blaze pink and 
wear a “hunter orange” or “blaze pink” cap during special 
shotgun season for hogs. 
 v. Fishing: Special regulations pertaining to 
fishing are posted at specific lakes. 
 vi. Experimental Hunting Area: refer to Fort Polk 
WMA hunting map: small game and squirrel hunting with 
dogs allowed Mon. after Thanksgiving day to last day of 
Feb. in Mill Creek 2 Alpha (MC2A) and Mill Creek 2 Bravo 
(MC2B) Mill Creek Unit. This area will be closed to deer 
and hog hunting during this time. 

u. Grassy Lake. Area closed to all except youth deer 
hunters during youth deer hunt. 
 i. Deer 

(a). Archery: Oct. 1-15 bucks only, Oct. 16-Feb. 
15 either-sex. 

(b). Youth: last Sat. of Oct. for 2 days. 
(c). Firearms Either-Sex: Fri. after Thanksgiving 

day for 3 days, Fri. and Sat. mandatory deer check, Sun. 
self-clearing permit. 

(d). Firearms Bucks Only: 4th Sat. of Dec. for 9 
days. 

(e). Primitive Firearms (either-sex): 2nd 
Saturday of Dec. for 2 days.  
 ii. Turkey: opening day of statewide season for 9 
days, except season will open for 10 days when statewide 
season opens Good Friday. 
 iii. Small Game and Waterfowl: same as outside 
except closed during either-sex firearms hunts for deer and 
Open to squirrel hunting during the spring season 1st Sat. of 
May for 9 days, with or without dogs. Beagles allowed for 
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rabbits and dogs allowed for squirrel hunting day after 
primitive firearms season ends to last day of Feb.  

(a). Youth Squirrel Hunt: 4th Sat. of Sept. for 2 
days.  
 iv. Sport Fishing: same as outside except 
permitted only after 2 p.m. during waterfowl season on 
Smith Bay, Red River Bay and Grassy Lake proper. 
 v. Commercial Fishing: permitted except on 
Smith Bay, Red River Bay and Grassy Lake proper on 
Saturday and Sunday and during waterfowl season. Permits 
available from area supervisor Spring Bayou headquarters or 
Opelousas field office. 
 vi. Raccoon (nighttime): 2nd Sat. of Sept. for 16 
days and day after primitive firearms season ends to last day 
of Feb. 
 vii. Crawfishing: March 15-July 31. Recreational 
only. 100 pounds per person daily. No nets or traps may be 
left overnight. 

v. Hutchinson Creek 
 i. Deer: same as outside, archery only, either-sex. 
 ii. Turkey: same as outside. 
 iii. Small Game and Waterfowl: same as outside. 
Open to squirrel hunting during the spring season 1st Sat. of 
May for 9 days. Beagles allowed for rabbits and dogs 
allowed for squirrel hunting 1st Sat. of Jan to the last day of 
Feb. 
 iv. Raccoon: 2nd Sat. of Sept. for 16 days and 1st 
Sat. of Jan to the last day of Feb. 

w. J.C. Sonny Gilbert. Area closed last Sat. of Oct. 
for 2 days to all except youth deer hunters.  
 i. Deer 

(a). Archery: Oct. 1-Jan. 31, either-sex. 
(b). Youth: Last Sat. of Oct. for 2 days, either-

sex. 
(c). Firearms Either-Sex: Fri. after Thanksgiving 

Day for 3 days, mandatory deer check Fri. after 
Thanksgiving.  

(d). Firearms Bucks Only: 1st Sat. of Dec. for 14 
days. 

(e). Primitive Firearms: day after close of 
firearms bucks only for 14 days. 
 ii. Turkey 

(a). General Lottery: opening day of statewide 
season for 2 days, 2nd Fri. of April for 3 days, 3rd Fri. of 
April for 3 days, 4th Fri. of April for 3 days, 1st Fri. of May 
for 3 days. 

(b). Youth Lottery: Sat. before opening day of 
statewide season. General lottery (15 kid draw, 1 day) 
 iii. Small Game and Waterfowl: same as outside 
except closed during either-sex firearms hunts for deer and 
Open to squirrel hunting during the spring season, 1st Sat. of 
May for 9 days, with or without dogs. Beagles allowed for 
rabbits and dogs allowed for squirrel hunting the day after 
the last deer firearms season (bucks only or primitive) to the 
last day of Feb. 
 iv. Raccoon (nighttime): the day after the last deer 
firearms season (bucks only or primitive) to last day of Feb. 
 v. Sport Fishing: restricted to rod and reel, and 
pole fishing only. All other gear prohibited. 

x. Joyce. Swamp Walk: closed from 30 minutes 
after sunset to 30 minutes before sunrise. No loaded firearms

or hunting allowed within 100 yards of walkways. Check 
hunting schedule and use walkway at your own risk. Limited 
access area: No internal combustion engines allowed year 
round. See WMA map for specific location. 
 i. Deer 

(a). Archery: Oct. 1-15 bucks only, Oct. 16-Feb. 
15 either-sex. 

(b). Youth: 1st Sat. of Nov. for 2 days, either-sex.  
(c). Firearms Either-Sex: Fri. after Thanksgiving 

day for 3 days, self-clearing permit.  
(d). Firearms Bucks Only: 3rd Sat. of Dec. for 16 

days. 
(e). Primitive Firearms (either-sex): 2nd Sat. of 

Jan. for 2 days and Mon. after the next to last Sun. of Jan for 
7 days. 
 ii. Small Game and Waterfowl: same as outside 
and open to squirrel hunting during the spring season, 1st 
Sat. of May for 9 days, with or without dogs. Beagles 
allowed for rabbits and dogs allowed for squirrel hunting 
day after primitive firearms ends to the last day of Feb.  

(a). Youth Squirrel Hunt: 4th Sat. of Sept. for 2 
days.  
 iii. Raccoon (nighttime): day after primitive 
firearms ends to last day of Feb.  
 iv. Crawfish: limited to 100 pounds per person per 
day.  

y. Lake Boeuf. Self-clearing permit required for all 
activities. Self-clearing permit available at Theriot Canal 
boat landing off LA 308. Hunting until 12 p.m. (noon) for all 
game, except deer may be hunted until one-half hour after 
sunset. All nighttime activities prohibited. ATVs/UTVs, 
motorcycles, horses and mules are prohibited. 
 i. Deer 

(a). Archery (bucks only): Oct. 1-15. 
(b). Archery (either-sex): Oct. 16 - Jan. 31. 

 ii. Waterfowl: same as outside. 
 iii. Small Game: Nov. 1-Feb. 28 and open to 
squirrel hunting during the spring season, May 5-13, with or 
without dogs. Beagles prohibited November and December. 

z. Lake Ramsey. All vehicles restricted to Parish 
Roads and designated parking areas. 
 i. Deer 

(a). Archery only, Oct. 1-Jan. 31, either-sex. 
 ii. Turkey: opening day of statewide season for 16 
days, except season will open for 17 days when statewide 
season opens Good Friday. 
 iii. Small Game and Waterfowl: same as outside 
and open to squirrel hunting during the spring season, 1st 
Sat. of May for 9 days, with or without dogs. Beagles 
allowed for rabbits and dogs allowed for squirrel hunting 
Sat. after Jan. 1 to last day of Feb.  
 iv. Foot Traffic Only: all vehicles restricted to 
parish roads, except ATVs allowed for hunters retrieving 
downed deer or feral hogs. 
 v. Bird Dog Training Area: open all year except 
closed during WMA turkey season. Contact Hammond 
office (985-543-4777) for information. 

aa. Little River 
 i. Deer 

(a). Archery: Oct. 1-Jan. 31, either-sex. 
(b). Firearms Bucks Only: last Sat. of Oct. for 16 

days. 
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(c). Primitive Firearms: Fri. after Thanksgiving 
day for 3 days, and 2nd Sat. of Dec. for 2 days. 
 ii. Turkey: opening day of statewide season for 16 
days, except season will open for 17 days when statewide 
season opens Good Friday. 
 iii. Raccoon 

(a). Nighttime: Mon. after 2nd Sat. of Jan. to last 
day of Feb.  

(b). Nighttime Chase Only: May 1-Sept. 25, 
Tuesdays and Thursdays only. Raccoon hunters may use 
ATVs on designated trails during take seasons only. 
 iv. Small Game and Waterfowl: same as outside 
except spring squirrel season will be open the 1st Sat. of 
May for 9 days only, with or without dogs. Beagles allowed 
for rabbits and dogs allowed for squirrel hunting Mon. after 
Sat. before Christmas to the last day of Feb.  

(a). Youth Squirrel Hunt: 4th Sat. of Sept. for 2 
days.  

bb. Loggy Bayou. Limited Use Area: small game 
same as rest of WMA. Deer hunting archery only. See WMA 
map for specific location. 
 i. Deer 

(a). Archery: Oct. 1-Jan. 31, either-sex. 
(b). Firearms Either-Sex: Fri. after Thanksgiving 

day for 3 days, Fri. and Sat. mandatory deer check, Sun. 
self-clearing permit. 

(c). Primitive Firearms: Mon. after Thanksgiving 
day for 7 days.  
 ii. Small Game and Waterfowl: same as outside 
except youth hunt only on opening Saturday of first split of 
dove season (following regulations for youth deer hunt on 
WMAs), and except closed during either-sex firearms 
seasons for deer and open to squirrel hunting during the 
spring season, 1st Sat. of May for 9 days, with or without 
dogs. Beagles allowed for rabbits and dogs allowed for 
squirrel hunting Sat. before Christmas to the last day of Feb.  
 iii. Raccoon (nighttime): Sat. before Christmas to 
the last day of Feb. 

cc. Manchac. Limited Access Area: no internal 
combustion engines allowed from September through 
January. See WMA map for specific location. 
 i. Deer 

(a). Archery: Oct. 1-15 bucks only; Oct. 16-Feb. 
15 either-sex.  
 ii. Small Game and Waterfowl: same as outside 
except steel shot required for rails, snipe and gallinules and 
open to squirrel hunting during the spring season, 1st Sat. of 
May for 9 days, with or without dogs. Beagles allowed for 
rabbits and dogs allowed for squirrel hunting Feb. 1 to the 
last day of Feb.  
 iii. Raccoon (Nighttime): Feb. 1 to the last day of 
Feb. 
 iv. Crabs: No crab traps allowed. Attended lift nets 
are allowed. 

dd. Marsh Bayou 
 i. Deer: same as outside, archery only, either-sex. 
 ii. Small Game: same as outside. Open to squirrel 
hunting during the spring season 1st Sat. of May for 9 days. 
Beagles allowed for rabbits and dogs allowed for squirrel 
hunting 1st Sat. of Jan to the last day of Feb. On that portion 
designated as small game emphasis area, beagles are allowed 
for rabbit and dogs are allowed for squirrel 1st Sat. of Oct.-

Feb. 28, and training of beagles for rabbit and dogs for 
squirrel allowed June 1- August 31. 
 iii. Raccoon: 2nd Sat. of Sept. for 16 days and 1st 
Sat. of Jan to the last day of Feb. 

ee. Maurepas Swamp. Camping limited to tent 
camping in designated areas. See WMA map for locations. 
No loaded firearms or hunting allowed within 100 yards of 
nature trail. Benchmark closure: area closed to all deer 
hunting when USGS water level gauge CRMS 5373, 
available at http://waterdata.usgs.gov/la/nwis/rt is at or 
above 3.0 ft. msl and reopens to deer hunting when water 
levels recede to 2.5 ft. msl following a closure. Motorized 
vehicles prohibited on crusel tract (see WMA map for crusel 
tract). Limited use area: small game same as outside except 
shotgun only. Deer hunting archery only. See WMA map for 
specific location. Area closed to all hunters except youth 
deer hunters during youth deer season. Physically challenged 
wheelchair confined deer hunting area: access restricted. 
Check WMA map for location and call Hammond office for 
details and applications. Hunting by reservation for 
wheelchair confined PCHP permittees only. Same deer 
seasons listed below. 
 i. Deer 

(a). Archery: Oct. 1-15 bucks only; Oct. 16-Feb. 
15 either sex. 

(b). Youth: 1st Sat. of Nov. for 2 days, either-sex. 
(c). Firearms Either-Sex: Fri. after Thanksgiving 

day for 3 days, Fri. and Sat. mandatory deer check, and Sun. 
self-clearing permit. 

(d). Firearms Bucks Only: 3rd Sat. of Dec. for 16 
days. 

(e). Primitive Firearms: 2nd Sat. of Jan. for 2 
days and Mon. after the next to last Sun. of Jan for 7 days. 
 ii. Small Game and Waterfowl: same as outside 
except closed Friday after Thanksgiving day for 3 days 
during either-sex firearms hunts and closed during youth 
deer season and except spring squirrel season will be open 
the 1st Sat. of May for 9 days, with or without dogs. Beagles 
allowed for rabbits and dogs allowed for squirrel hunting 
day after primitive firearms ends to the last day of Feb.  

(a). Youth Squirrel Hunt: 4th Sat. of Sept. for 2 
days.  
 iii. Raccoon (nighttime): day after primitive 
firearms ends to last day of Feb. 
 iv. Crawfish: limited to 100 pounds per person per 
day.  

ff. Pass-A-Loutre. Self-clearing permit required for 
deer, feral hog hunting and camping only. Permits available 
at Pass-a-Loutre headquarters, Camp Canal and all 
designated camping areas. Oyster harvesting is prohibited. 
Camping allowed only in designated areas. See self-clearing 
permit station at headquarters and WMA map for designated 
camping areas. Vessels/vehicles: all ATVs/UTVs, 
motorcycles, horses and mules are prohibited. Mud boats or 
air-cooled propulsion vessels powered by more than 36 total 
horsepower prohibited. Operation of mud boats and air-
cooled propulsion engines prohibited after 2:00 p.m. Sept. 1-
Jan. 31, except allowed after 2:00 p.m. in South pass, Pass-a-
Loutre, Southeast Pass, Loomis Pass, Dennis Pass, and 
Cadro Pass. Limited access area: operation of internal 
combustion engines prohibited from September through 
January. See WMA map for specific location. 
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 i. Deer 
(a). Archery (bucks only): Oct. 1- Feb.15. 
(b). Youth Shotgun (bucks only): second to last 

Sat in Oct. for 2 days. 
(c). Deer Shotgun: bucks only may be taken with 

shotguns with either slugs or buckshot from the day after the 
first split of the duck season closes for seven days. 
 ii. Small Game and Waterfowl: same as outside. 
Beagles prohibited October through last day of waterfowl 
season. 
 iii. Feral hogs may be taken by properly licensed 
hunters from Oct. 1-Feb. 28. In addition, hunters may hunt 
feral hogs with archery equipment, shotguns loaded with 
buckshot or slugs, or rimfire rifles no larger than .22 caliber 
from Feb. 16-March 31. Hogs may be taken with the aid of 
dogs Feb. 16-March 15. Hunters must also display 400 
square inches of “hunter orange” or “blaze pink” and wear a 
“hunter orange” or “blaze pink” cap during special shotgun 
season for feral hogs. 
 iv. Commercial Fishing: same as outside. 
Commercial mullet fishing open only in: 

(a). South Pass, Pass-a-Loutre, North Pass, 
Southeast Pass, Northeast Pass, Dennis Pass, Johnson Pass, 
Loomis Pass, Cadro Pass, Wright Pass, Viveats Pass, 
Cognevich Pass, Blind Bay, Redfish Bay, Garden Island Bay, 
Northshore Bay, East Bay (west of barrier islands) and oil 
and gas canals as described on the LDWF Pass-a-Loutre 
WMA map. 

gg. Pearl River. Shooting Range: self-clearing permit 
not required but all range users must obtain a daily check-in 
validation slip at the range upon sign-in at the range. For 
dates, time or more information call 985-643-3938 or 
www.honeyisland.org. No loaded firearms or hunting within 
100 yards of boardwalk. All roads closed 8 p.m.-4 a.m. to all 
vehicles. Old Hwy. 11 will be closed when river gauge at 
Pearl River, LA, reaches 16.5 feet. All hunting except 
waterfowl hunting will be closed when the river stage at 
Pearl River reaches 16.5 feet. No hunting in the vicinity of 
the nature trail. Observe “no hunting” signs. Area closed to 
all hunters except youth hunters during youth deer hunt. 
 i. Deer: 

(a). Archery: Oct. 1-Jan. 31, either-sex. 
(b). Youth Deer Hunt: 1st Sat. of Nov. for 2 days, 

either-sex. 
(c). Firearms Either-Sex: Fri. after Thanksgiving 

day for 3 days, self-clearing permit. 
(d). Firearms Bucks Only: 1st Sat. of Dec. for 16 

days. 
(e). Primitive Firearms: 2 Sats. prior to 

Thanksgiving for 7 days and day after firearms bucks only 
season closes for 14 days.  
 ii. Turkey 

(a). General Lottery: opening day of statewide 
season for 2 days. 

(b). Youth Lottery: Sat. before opening day of 
statewide season. 
 iii. Small Game: same as outside except closed the 
Friday after Thanksgiving day for 3 days during either-sex 
firearms hunts for deer, and closed during youth deer hunt, 
and open to squirrel hunting during the spring season, 1st 
Sat. of May for 9 days, with or without dogs. Beagles 

allowed for rabbits and dogs allowed for squirrel hunting 
day after primitive firearms season ends to last day of Feb. 

(a). Youth Squirrel Hunt: 4th Sat. of Sept. for 2 
days. 
 iv. Waterfowl: same as outside except no hunting 
in waterfowl refuge area and except closed Fri. after 
Thanksgiving for 3 days, and during youth deer hunt north 
of U.S. Hwy. 90.  
 v. Raccoon (nighttime): 2nd Sat. of Sept. for 16 
days and day after primitive firearms season ends to last day 
of Feb.  
 vi. Crawfish: commercial crawfishing prohibited. 
Limited to 100 pounds per person per day.  

hh. Peason Ridge. Self-clearing permit required daily 
for all activities. All or portions of the area may be closed 
daily due to military activities. Information on open areas 
and special ATV regulations can be accessed at the following 
website: http://www.jrtc-polk.army.mil/hunt2/hunt/ 
default.htm. Hunters are cautioned not to pick up any foreign 
material or objects while hunting on the WMA. Also, it is 
mandatory for hunters to check the open area maps, located 
at check stations, daily for sudden closures. 
 i. Deer 

(a). Archery: 3rd Sat. of Sept. to Jan. 15, either-
sex except restricted to bucks only when bucks only gun 
season is in progress. 

(b). Primitive Firearms: 2nd Sat. of Oct. for 7 
days. Self-clearing permit required. 

(c). Firearms Either-Sex: last Sat. of Oct. for 2 
days, and Fri. after Thanksgiving Day for 3 days, mandatory 
deer check. 

(d). Firearms Bucks Only: Mon. after last Sat. of 
Oct. to Thanksgiving day, 2nd Sat. of Dec. to Jan. 1. 
 ii. Turkey: same as outside. 

(a). Youth Lottery: Sat. before opening day of 
statewide season. 
 iii. Small Game and Waterfowl: same as outside 
except closed during either-sex firearms hunts for deer and 
except closed to squirrel hunting during the spring season. 
Hunter orange or blaze pink must be worn when bucks only 
gun hunts for deer are in progress. Squirrel hunting with 
dogs allowed Mon. after Thanksgiving day for 12 days and 
Jan. 2 to last day of Feb. 
 iv. Feral hogs may be taken by properly licensed 
hunters from beginning of archery season to Jan. 1. Hunters 
may hunt feral hogs with shotguns loaded with buckshot or 
slugs from Jan. 2 to the end of Feb. Hunters must also 
display 400 square inches of hunter orange or blaze pink and 
wear a “hunter orange” or “blaze pink” cap during special 
shotgun season for hogs. 

ii. Pointe-Aux-Chenes. All nighttime activities 
prohibited EXCEPT fishing adjacent to the road side of 
Island Road. Possession of more than one daily limit of 
fish/crab/shrimp while on the WMA is prohibited. Nighttime 
use of vessels to access any other areas of the WMA, other 
than the immediate roadside of Island Road is prohibited. 
Self-clearing permit required for deer and feral hog hunting 
only except required for all activities on Point Farm Unit. 
Self-clearing permits available at Grand Bayou Boat Launch 
and at Point Farm gate behind Montegut Middle School. 
Hunting until 12 p.m. (noon) on all game except for youth
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lottery deer hunts. Trapping is allowed only by written 
agreement with LDWF, Coastal and Non-Game Resources 
Division. Parking of vehicles on levees prohibited. 
Vessels/vehicles: all boats powered by internal combustion 
engines having total horsepower above 25 Hp are not 
allowed in the Grand Bayou, Montegut and Pointe-aux-
Chenes water management units. Public is permitted to 
travel anytime through the WMA for access purposes only, 
in the waterways known as Grand Bayou, Humble Canal, 
Little Bayou Blue, Grand Bayou Blue, St. Louis Canal, and 
Bayou Pointe-aux-Chenes unless authorized by LDWF. All 
ATVs/UTVs, motorcycles, horses and mules are prohibited. 
Limited Access Areas: operation of internal combustion 
engines prohibited from September through January. See 
WMA map for specific location. 
 i. Feral hogs may be taken by properly licensed 
hunters from Oct. 1-Feb. 28. In addition, hunters may hunt 
feral hogs with archery equipment, shotguns loaded with 
buckshot or slugs, or rimfire rifles no larger than .22 caliber 
from Feb. 16-March 31. Hunters must also display 400 
square inches of “hunter orange” or “blaze pink” and wear a 
“hunter orange” or “blaze pink” cap during special shotgun 
season for feral hogs. All Point-aux-Chenes property except 
Point Farm Unit and restricted areas 
 ii. Deer 

(a). Archery (bucks only): Oct. 1-15. 
(b). Archery (either-sex): Oct. 16 - Feb. 15. 
(c). Firearms (bucks only): Nov. 24-26 and Dec. 

9-15. 
 iii. Waterfowl: same as outside. 
 iv. Small Game: same as outside except closed 
during bucks only firearms season and open to squirrel 
hunting during the spring season, May 5-13, with or without 
dogs. Beagles prohibited October through December. 
 v. Recreational Fishing. The harvest of all fish, 
shrimp, crabs and crawfish is for recreational purposes only 
and any commercial use is prohibited. All castnet contents 
shall be contained and bycatch returned to the water 
immediately. 
 vi. Shrimp: may be taken by the use of cast nets 
only. During the inside open shrimp season, 25 lbs. per boat 
or vehicle per day (heads on) maximum shall be permitted. 
Size count to conform with open season requirements. 
During the inside closed season, 10 lbs. per boat or vehicle 
per day (heads on) may be taken for bait. 
 vii. Oyster harvesting prohibited. 
 viii. Fish may be taken only by rod and reel or hand 
lines for recreational purposes only. 
 ix. Crabs may be taken only through the use of 
hand lines or nets; however, none are to remain set 
overnight. Twelve dozen crabs maximum are allowed per 
boat or vehicle per day. 
 x. Crawfish may be harvested in unrestricted 
portions of the WMA and shall be limited to 100 lbs. per 
person per day. Gear used to catch crawfish shall not remain 
set overnight. 
 xi. Point Farm Unit (Pointe-aux-Chenes). Self-
clearing permit required for all activities on Point Farm Unit. 
An approximately 1,000-acre area inside the Pointe-aux-
Chenes WMA which is generally bounded on the west by the 
double gates behind the Montegut Middle School and the 
WMA boundary, and on the north by the WMA boundary 

and Point Farm ridge levee, and is bounded on the east and 
south by the Point Farm ridge levee. The boundary of Point 
Farm is more accurately marked with signs. Point Farm gate 
will be open all Saturdays during the month of February, 
weather permitting. Parking in designated areas required for 
mourning dove hunting. No motorized vessels allowed in the 
drainage ditches. except for mourning dove hunting, 
(provided for below) all other hunting activities closed until 
after the last day of youth deer hunts. 

(a). Deer 
 (i). Youth Lottery (either-sex): Oct. 7-8 
and 14-15, daily youth hunt permit required. Call the New 
Iberia field office, Coastal and Nongame Resources 
Division, 337-373-0032 for details. 
 (ii). Archery (either-sex): Oct. 16 - Dec. 31. 

(b). Waterfowl: closed. 
(c). Small Game: same as outside, except closed 

until the day after the last youth deer hunt day and open to 
squirrel hunting during the spring season, May 5-13, with or 
without dogs. Beagles prohibited October and November. 
Non-toxic shot only south of the dove field gate. 

(d). Mourning dove hunting will be permitted 
each day during the September split and each day of the 
second and third splits (after the last youth deer hunt day). 
Shooting hours will be from 1/2 hour before sunrise until 12 
p.m., except opening day of the first split, which will be 12 
p.m. until sunset. Gates will be opened on Saturdays during 
the first and second segments, weather permitting, except 
during waterfowl season and youth deer hunt weekends. 
Parking will be allowed in designated areas only. Non-toxic 
shot only south of the dove field gate. 

jj. Pomme de Terre. Area closed: to all except youth 
deer hunters during youth deer hunt. 
 i. Deer 

(a). Archery: Oct. 1-15 bucks only, Oct. 16-Feb. 
15 either sex. 

(b). Youth: last Sat. of Oct. for 2 days, either-sex. 
(c). Firearms Either-sex: Fri. after Thanksgiving 

day for 3 days, Fri. and Sat. mandatory deer check, Sun. 
self-clearing permit. 

(d). Firearms Bucks Only: 4th Sat. of Dec. for 16 
days. 

(e). Primitive Firearms: day after firearms bucks 
only season ends for 7 days. 
 ii. Turkey: 4th Sat. of April for 9 days. 

(a). Youth Lottery: 3rd Sat. of April for 2 days. 
 iii. Small Game and Waterfowl: same as outside 
except closed during either-sex firearms hunt for deer and 
Open to squirrel hunting during the spring season, 1st Sat. of 
May for 9 days, with or without dogs. Beagles allowed for 
rabbits and dogs allowed for squirrel hunting day after 
primitive firearms season ends to last day of Feb. On that 
portion designated as small game emphasis area, beagles are 
allowed for rabbit and dogs are allowed for squirrel 1st Sat. 
of Oct.-Oct. 31, and Mon. after Thanksgiving for 21 days, 
and training of beagles for rabbit and dogs for squirrel 
allowed June 1- August 31.  

(a). Youth Squirrel Hunt: 4th Sat. of Sept. for 2 
days.  
 iv. Raccoon (nighttime): 2nd Sat. of Sept. for 16 
days and day after primitive firearms season ends to last day 
of Feb. 
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 v. Commercial fishing permitted Monday through 
Friday except closed during duck season. commercial 
fishing permits available from area supervisor, Opelousas 
wildlife field office or Spring Bayou headquarters. 
 vi. Sport Fishing: same as outside except allowed 
only after 2 p.m. only during waterfowl season. 
 vii. Crawfish: March 15-July 31. Recreational only. 
100 lbs. per person daily. No nets or traps may be left 
overnight. 

kk. Richard K. Yancey. Area Closed: only that 
portion of the area south of Black Hawk Acme Levee Road, 
west of LA Hwy. 15, southward to Old River Control 
Structure, thence south to Sugar Mill Chute, last Sat. of Oct. 
for 2 days to all except youth and physically challenged deer 
hunters. 
 i. Deer 

(a). Archery: Oct. 1-Jan. 31, either-sex. 
(b). Youth Lottery: 3rd and 4th Sat of Dec. 

except if the 4th Sat. is Christmas day, then the hunt will be 
the 2nd and 3rd Sat. of Dec. and the 1st and 2nd Sat. in Jan 
except when the 1st Sat. of Jan. is New Year’s day then the 
hunt will be the 2nd and 3rd Sat. of Jan., either-sex. 

(c). Youth and Physically Challenged: last Sat. of 
Oct. for 2 days, either-sex, area closed only that portion of 
the area south of Black Hawk Acme Levee Road, west of LA 
Hwy. 15, southward to Old River Control Structure, thence 
south to Sugar Mill Chute, last Sat. of Oct. for 2 days to all 
except youth and physically challenged deer hunters. 

(d). Firearms Either-sex: Fri. after Thanksgiving 
day for 3 days, Fri. and Sat. mandatory deer check, Sun. 
self-clearing permit. 

(e). Firearms Bucks Only: last Sat. of Dec. for 9 
days. 

(f). Primitive Firearms (Either-Sex): 2nd 
Saturday in December for 2 days.  
 ii. Turkey: opening day of statewide season for 16 
days except season will open for 17 days when statewide 
season opens Good Friday. 

(a). Youth Lottery: Sat. before opening day of 
statewide season for 2 days, except when that Sat. falls on 
Easter weekend, then season will open on Good Friday for 3 
days. 
 iii. Small Game and Waterfowl: same as outside 
except closed during the either-sex firearms season and open 
to squirrel hunting during the spring season, 1st Sat. of May 
for 9 days, with or without dogs. Beagles allowed for rabbits 
and dogs allowed for squirrel hunting day after primitive 
firearms season ends to last day of Feb. On that portion 
designated as small game emphasis area, beagles are allowed 
for rabbit and dogs are allowed for squirrel 1st Sat. of Oct.-
Oct. 31, and Mon. after Thanksgiving for 21 days, and 
training of beagles for rabbit and dogs for squirrel allowed 
June 1- August 31.  
 iv. Raccoon (nighttime): 2nd Sat. of Sept. for 16 
days and day after primitive firearms season ends to last day 
of Feb. 
 v. Recreational crawfishing allowed west of the 
Mississippi River Levee only Mar. 15 to July 31, 
recreational crawfishing only. Crawfish harvested limited to 
100 pounds per person per day. No traps left overnight. No 
motorized watercraft allowed.  

 vi. Sport Fishing and Commercial Fishing: same 
as outside except closed from 30 minutes before sunrise until 
2 p.m. on: Grand Bay, Silver Lake, Lower Sunk Lake, Lac A’ 
Sostien, Moreau Lake, and Hog Pen Lake during open 
waterfowl seasons. 

ll. Russell Sage. AREA closed: last Sat. of Oct. for 2 
days South of I-20 only to all except youth and physically 
challenged deer hunters. North of I-20 open to all other 
allowable activities. Limited Access Areas: motorized 
vessels and vehicles prohibited: Nov. 1-Jan. 31. Wham 
Brake: September 1-Jan-31 all motorized vessels prohibited 
2 p.m.-4 a.m., and all nighttime activities prohibited during 
open waterfowl season. Waterfowl Refuge: north of LA 
Highway 15 closed to all hunting, fishing, trapping and ATV 
use during duck season including early teal season, except 
hunting allowed during falconry waterfowl season. 
Transporting trash or garbage on WMA roads is prohibited. 
All nighttime activities prohibited except as otherwise 
provided. Chauvin Tract: all season dates on Chauvin tract 
(US 165 North) same as outside, except still hunt only, 
except deer hunting restricted to archery only, and except 
small game shotgun only. All vehicles including ATVs 
prohibited. Wham Brake Area: waterfowl hunting open 
during either-sex deer season. 
 i. Deer 

(a). Archery: Oct. 1-Jan. 31, either-sex. 
(b). Youth and Physically Challenged: last Sat. of 

Oct. for 2 days, either-sex, south of I-20 only. 
(c). Firearms Either-sex: Fri. after Thanksgiving 

day for 3 days, Fri. and Sat. Mandatory Deer Check, Sun. 
self-clearing permit. 

(d). Firearms Bucks Only: 2nd Sat. of Dec. for 
14 days. 

(e). Primitive Firearms: Monday after firearms 
bucks only season for 7 days. 
 ii. Small Game and Waterfowl: same as outside 
except closed during either-sex firearms deer seasons, except 
Wham Brake area and Pintail Alley area will remain open 
during either-sex firearms deer seasons, and except spring 
squirrel season will be open the 1st Sat. of May for 9 days 
only, with or without dogs. Beagles allowed for rabbits and 
dogs allowed for squirrel hunting the day after the last deer 
firearms season (bucks only or primitive) to last day of Feb. 
On that portion designated as small game emphasis area, 
beagles are allowed for rabbit and dogs are allowed for 
squirrel Mon. after 3rd Sat. of Oct.-Sun. prior to 
Thanksgiving, and training of beagles for rabbit and dogs for 
squirrel allowed June 1- August 31. Snipe hunting after 2 
p.m. prohibited during duck season. 
 (a). Youth Squirrel Hunt: 4th Sat. of Sept. for 2 
days. 
 iii. Raccoon (nighttime): 1st Sat. of Sept. for 16 
days and the day after the last deer firearms season (bucks 
only or primitive) to last day of Feb.  
 iv. Crawfish: 100 pounds per person per day limit. 

mm. Sabine. Area Closed: that portion 
designated as the physically challenged deer hunting area 
closed to all activities the Fri. before 2nd Sat. of Oct. for 3 
days to all but physically challenged deer hunters. 
Remainder of area closed to all activities 2nd Sat. of Oct. for 
2 days to all but youth deer hunters. Physically challenged 
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deer hunt limited to those chosen by lottery. Contact LDWF 
Pineville Field office for details. 
 i. Deer 

(a). Archery: Oct. 1-Jan. 31, either-sex. 
(b). Youth and Physically Challenged: 3rd Sat. of 

Oct. for 2 days, either-sex. 
(c). Firearms Either-sex: 4th Sat. of Oct. for 2 

days, mandatory deer check, Fri. after Thanksgiving day for 
3 days, self-clearing permit. 

(d). Firearms Bucks Only: day after primitive 
firearm season to day before Thanksgiving day. First Sat. of 
December for 9 days.  

(e). Primitive Firearms: Monday after the 4th 
Sat. in Oct for 7 days. 
 ii. Turkey 

(a). General Lottery: 2nd Fri. of April for 3 days, 
4th Fri. of April for 3 days. 
 iii. Small Game and Waterfowl: same as outside 
except closed during either-sex firearms hunts for deer and 
Open to squirrel hunting during the spring season, 1st Sat. of 
May for 9 days, with or without dogs. Beagles allowed for 
rabbits and dogs allowed for squirrel hunting Sat. before 
Christmas to last day of Feb.  
 iv. Raccoon (Nighttime): Sat. before Christmas to 
last day of Feb.  

nn. Sabine Island. Sabine Island boundaries are 
Sabine River on the west, Cut-Off Bayou on the north, and 
Old River and Big Bayou on the south and east. Self-
clearing permits required for hunters only. Area closed: 4th 
Sat. of Sept. for 2 days to all except youth deer hunters.  
 i. Deer 

(a). Same as area 8 deer season except still hunt 
only. 

(b). Archery: 3rd Sat. of Sept. to Jan. 15, either-
sex. 

(c). Youth: 4th Sat. of Sept. for 2 days, either-
sex. 
 ii. Small Game and Waterfowl: same as outside 
except closed 4th Sat. of Sept. for 2 days and Open to 
squirrel hunting during the spring season, 1st Sat. of May for 
9 days, with or without dogs. Squirrel hunting with dogs 
allowed day after area 8 deer season ends to last day of Feb.  
 iii. Raccoon (nighttime): day after area 8 deer 
season ends to last day of Feb.  
 iv. Feral hogs may be taken by properly licensed 
hunters from 3rd Sat. of Sept. to last day of Feb. Hogs may 
be taken with the aid of dogs Feb. 1 to last day of Feb.  

oo. Salvador/Timken. Self-clearing permit required 
for deer, feral hog, and all activities permitted during the 
experimental nighttime activity season. Permits available at 
Pier 90, Bayou Gauche, Bayou Segnette State Park landings, 
and at Airboat Adventures in Lafitte. Hunting until 12 p.m. 
(noon) only for all game, except deer and experimental 
nighttime activity season. Vessels/Vehicles: All ATVs/UTVs, 
motorcycles, horses and mules prohibited. Use of mud boats 
powered by internal combustion engines with more than four 
cylinders is prohibited. Pulling boats over levees, dams or 
water control structures or any other activities which cause 
detriment to the integrity of levees, dams and water control 
structures is prohibited. Area closed: During the month of 
October to all activities except fishing, youth deer hunters 
and youth waterfowl hunters, if the latter is provided for. 

 i. Deer 
(a). Archery (either-sex): Nov. 1 - Jan. 31 
(b). Youth (either-sex): last 4 Sats. of Oct. for 2 

days each except when the last Sat. is the 31st in which case 
the season will be the 1st four Sats. of Oct. for 2 days each, 
either sex. 

(c). Firearms (either-sex): Fri. before 
Thanksgiving Day for 3 days. 

(d). Firearms (bucks only): Mon. before 
Thanksgiving day for 28 days. 

(e). Deer Primitive Firearms (either-sex): day 
after firearms bucks only for 7 days. 
 ii. Waterfowl: same as outside. 
 iii. Small Game: same as outside except closed 
October through December. Beagles allowed for rabbits Jan. 
1-Feb. 28. 
 iv. Feral hogs may be taken by properly licensed 
hunters from Oct. 1-Feb. 28. In addition, hunters may hunt 
feral hogs with archery equipment, shotguns loaded with 
buckshot or slugs, or rimfire rifles no larger than .22 caliber 
from Feb. 16-March 31. Hunters must also display 400 
square inches of “hunter orange” or “blaze pink” and wear a 
“hunter orange” or “blaze pink” cap during special shotgun 
season for feral hogs. 

v. Recreational Fishing: the harvest of all fish, 
shrimp, crabs and crawfish are for recreational purposes only 
and any commercial use is prohibited. 
 vi. Shrimp may be taken by the use of cast nets 
only. During the inside open shrimp season, 25 lbs. per boat 
per day (heads on) maximum shall be permitted. Size count 
to conform with open season requirements. During the inside 
closed season, 10 lbs. per boat per day (heads on) maximum 
may be taken for bait. All castnet contents shall be contained 
and bycatch returned to the water immediately. 
 vii. Fish may be taken only by rod and reel or hand 
lines for recreational purposes. 
 viii. Crabs may be taken only through the use of 
hand lines or nets; however, none are to remain set 
overnight. Twelve dozen crabs maximum are allowed per 
boat or vehicle per day. 
 ix. Crawfish may be harvested in unrestricted 
portions of the WMA and shall be limited to 100 lbs. per 
person per day. Fishing gear used to catch crawfish shall not 
remain set overnight. 
 x. Experimental nighttime activity season:  

(a). 12 a.m., June 1 through official sunrise Aug. 
15. Nighttime activities limited to the take of frogs and 
fishing with a rod and reel. All other nighttime activities 
prohibited. Daily limit of 50 frogs per vessel in aggregate 
(bull frogs/pig frogs). If engaged in frogging on or while 
traversing the WMA, all frogs in possession will be deemed 
to have been taken from the WMA. At no time may anyone 
possess more than one daily limit of frogs while on the 
water. 

(b). Size Limit: (measured from the tip of the 
muzzle to the posterior end of the body between the hind 
legs). Bull frogs harvested must be 5 inches or larger. Pig 
frogs harvested must be 3 inches or larger. 

(c). Check out portion of self-clearing permit 
must include boat registration number under the comments 
section. Possession of firearms while participation in any 
experimental nighttime activity is prohibited. 
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pp. Sandy Hollow. No hunting with any firearm 
south of Jackson Road, except school board tract, on days of 
scheduled field trials. Dates of field trials are listed on the 
check stations or can be obtained from the Hammond office 
(985-543-4777). Area Closed: north tract closed to all 
hunters 1st Sat. of Nov. for 2 days, except youth and 
physically challenged deer hunters. 
 i. Deer 

(a). Youth/Physically Challenged: 1st Sat. of 
Nov. For 2 days, either-sex, North Tract only. 

(b). Archery: Oct. 1-Jan. 31, either-sex. 
(c). Firearms Either-Sex: Fri. after Thanksgiving 

day for 3 days, and 3rd Sat. of Dec. for 2 days.  
(d). Primitive Firearms: 2nd Sat. of Dec. for 7 

days, 4th Sat. of Dec. for 7 days, and the 1st Sat. of Jan. for 
2 days. 
 ii. Turkey: opening day of statewide season for 16 
days, except season will open for 17 days when statewide 
season opens Good Friday. 
 iii. Small Game and Waterfowl: same as outside 
except closed Fri. after Thanksgiving for 3 days and 
youth/physically challenged hunt, and open to squirrel 
hunting during the spring season, 1st Sat. of May for 9 days, 
with or without dogs. Beagles allowed for rabbits and dogs 
allowed for squirrel hunting day after primitive firearms 
season ends to last day of Feb.  

(a). Youth Squirrel Hunt: 4th Sat. of Sept. for 2 
days. On that portion designated as small game emphasis 
area, training of beagles for rabbit and dogs for squirrel 
allowed June 1-August 31. 
 iv. Raccoon (nighttime): day after primitive 
firearms season ends to last day of Feb. 
 v. Mourning Dove: 1st day and 2nd Sat. through 
end of 1st split. Closed remainder of 1st split. Second and 
third splits are same as outside except youth hunt on 
northern tract during the opening day of the first segment. 
Hunt restricted to youths younger than 18 years of age and 
supervising adult who must be 18 years of age or older. The 
supervising adult must maintain visual and voice contact 
with the youth at all times. 
 vi. Bird Dog Training: Mon. after opening day of 
mourning dove season to the Sun. before opening of quail 
season and Feb. 1 to last day of Feb., except restricted to that 
portion south of LA Hwy. 10 only and except blank pistols 
only. Wild birds only (use of pen-raised birds prohibited). 
 vii. Bird Dog Training Area: an area has been 
designated to allow use of released birds for dog training 
purposes. Open all year except closed during either-sex 
modern firearm hunts for deer, WMA turkey season and 
opening weekend of the 1st segment of dove season. Contact 
Hammond office (985-543-4777) for information. 
 viii. Bird Dog Field Trials: permit required from 
Hammond office. 
 ix. Horseback Riding: self-clearing permit 
required. Organized trail rides prohibited. Riding allowed 
only on designated roads and trails (see WMA map). Horses 
and mules are specifically prohibited during turkey and gun 
season for deer except as allowed for bird dog field trials. 
No horses and mules on green planted areas. Horse-drawn 
conveyances prohibited. 

qq. Sherburne. The area known as the South Farm is 
located on the east side of Sherburne WMA. No hunting will 

be allowed except specified lottery hunts, within the levee 
system of the farm from the Fri. before the 1st lottery youth 
deer hunt on the South Farm until the close of the day after 
the last lottery duck hunt on the South Farm. Waterfowl 
hunting will be allowed by lottery only during the open 
regular duck hunting season. Hunting will be allowed in the 
wooded portions east of the waterfowl impoundments. 
Consult the WMA maps for exact locations. No hunting 
allowed within the levee system of the farm. Area closed last 
Sat. of Oct. for 2 days except to youth and physically 
challenged deer hunters and South Farm closed to all hunters 
except youth lottery deer hunters. Physically challenged 
wheelchair confined deer hunting area: access restricted. 
Check WMA map for location and call Opelousas or Baton 
Rouge offices for details and applications. Hunting by 
reservation for wheelchair confined PCHP permittees only. 
Same deer seasons as listed below. Physically challenged 
wheelchair confined waterfowl hunting area: access 
restricted. Call Opelousas or Baton Rouge offices for further 
details. Hunting by reservation for wheelchair confined 
PCHP permittees only. 
 i. Deer 

(a). Archery: Oct. 1-15 bucks only, Oct. 16-Feb. 
15 either sex. 

(b). Youth and Physically Challenged: Last Sat. 
of Oct. for 2 days, either-sex, all other seasons closed. Self-
clearing permit. 

(c). Youth Lottery: last Sat. and Sun. of Oct., 4th 
Mon. of Dec., and 1st and 2nd Sun. of Jan. except no hunt 
on Christmas day or Christmas Eve, either-sex. Contact 
Opelousas office 337-948-0255 for details and applications. 

(d). Firearms Either-Sex: Fri. after Thanksgiving 
day for 2 days mandatory deer check and Sun. after 
Thanksgiving, Self-clearing permit, and 2nd Fri. after 
Thanksgiving for 8 days, self-clearing permit.  

(e). Firearms Bucks Only: 4th Sat. of Dec. for 16 
days. 

(f). Primitive Firearms: Mon. after close of 
firearms bucks only for 7 days. 
 ii. Turkey: Mon. after 3rd Sat. of April for 5 days. 

(a). General Lottery: 3rd Sat. of April for 2 days. 
(b). Youth Lottery: 2nd Sat. in April. 

 iii. Small Game: same as outside except closed 
during firearms either-sex deer and except spring squirrel 
season will be open the 1st Sat. of May for 9 days only, with 
or without dogs. Beagles allowed for rabbits and dogs 
allowed for squirrel hunting day after primitive firearms 
season ends to last day of Feb.  

(a). Youth Squirrel Hunt: 4th Sat. of Sept. for 2 
days. On that portion designated as small game emphasis 
area, beagles are allowed for rabbit and dogs are allowed for 
squirrel 1st Sat. of Oct.-Oct. 31, and Mon. after close of 2nd 
firearms either-sex deer season for 9 days, except closed last 
Sat. of Oct. for 2 days, and training of beagles for rabbit and 
dogs for squirrel allowed June 1- August 31. 
 iv. Waterfowl, Snipe, Rail, and Gallinules: same 
as outside except closed during firearms either-sex deer and 
except hunting after 2 p.m. prohibited except no hunting in 
waterfowl refuge. That portion of Sherburne WMA known 
as the South Farm restricted to lottery hunts only. South 
Farm waterfowl hunting limited to one hunt per calendar 
week per person. All other hunting closed on South Farm 
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complex from the last Saturday of October until the day after 
the last waterfowl hunt on the South Farm. Contact the 
wildlife field office for details and description of “South 
Farm.”  

(a). Youth Waterfowl Lottery: contact Opelousas 
office for details and applications. 

(b). Disabled Veterans Waterfowl Lottery: 
contact Opelousas office for details and applications. 
 v. Quail: closed. 
 vi. Raccoon (nighttime): 2nd Sat. of Sept. for 16 
days and day after primitive firearms season ends to last day 
of Feb. 
 vii. Crawfishing: March 15-July 31, recreational 
crawfishing only. Crawfish harvest limited to 100 pounds 
per person per day. No traps or nets left overnight. No 
motorized water craft allowed on farm complexes. Retriever 
training allowed on selected portions of the WMA. Contact 
the wildlife field office for specific details. 
 viii. Vehicular traffic prohibited on East 
Atchafalaya River levee within Sherburne WMA boundaries. 
 ix. Rifle and pistol range open daily. Skeet ranges 
open by appointment only, contact Hunter Education Office, 
telephone 225-765-2931. No trespassing in restricted areas 
behind ranges. 

Note: Atchafalaya National Wildlife Refuge and U.S. Army 
Corps of Engineers land holdings adjacent to the Sherburne 
Wildlife Management Area will have the same rules and 
regulations as Sherburne WMA. No hunting or trapping in 
restricted area. 

 x. Bird Dog Training Area: open to bird dog 
training all year except closed during either-sex modern 
firearm hunts for deer, WMA turkey season, and opening 
weekend of 1st and 2nd segments of dove season.  

rr. Soda Lake. Bicycles allowed. Vehicle parking 
allowed only in designated parking area on LA 173 at 
Twelve Mile Bayou and LA 169 adjacent to levee. All 
trapping and hunting prohibited except: 
 i. deer: 

(a). archery only, Oct. 1-Jan. 31, either-sex; 
 ii. small game: portion west of Twelve Mile 
Bayou same as outside, falconry only and open to squirrel 
hunting during the spring season, 1st Sat. of May for 9 days, 
falconry only. Portion east of Twelve Mile Bayou open same 
as outside. Beagles allowed for rabbits and dogs allowed for 
squirrel Sat. before Christmas to end of Feb. Open to 
squirrel hunting during the spring season, 1st Sat. of May for 
9 days, with or without dogs. 
 ss. Spring Bayou. Area closed: last Saturday of 
October for two days to all except youth deer hunters. No 
hunting allowed in headquarters area. Only overnight 
campers allowed in the improved Boggy Bayou camping 
area. Rules and regulations posted at campsite. A fee is 
assessed for use of this campsite. Water skiing permitted 
only in Old River and Grand Lac. 
 i. Deer 

(a). Archery: October 1-15 bucks only, October 
16-February 15, either sex. 

(b). Youth: last Saturday of October for two 
days, either-sex. 

(c). Firearms either-sex: Friday after 
Thanksgiving day, mandatory deer check, Saturday after 
Thanksgiving day for two days, self-clearing permit. 

(d). Firearms bucks only: fourth Saturday of 
December for 16 days. 

(e). Primitive firearms: Monday after close of 
firearms bucks only for seven days. 
 ii. Turkey 

(a). Youth lottery: fourth Saturday of April for 
two days. 
 iii. Small game and waterfowl: same as outside 
except small game closed during either-sex firearms hunts 
for deer. Waterfowl to remain open during either-sex 
firearms hunts for deer. Open to squirrel hunting during the 
spring season, first Saturday of May for nine days, with or 
without dogs. Beagles allowed for rabbits and dogs allowed 
for squirrel hunting day after primitive firearms season ends 
to last day of February. 

(a). Youth squirrel hunt: fourth Saturday of 
September for two days. 
 iv. Raccoon (nighttime): second Saturday of 
September for 16 days and day after primitive firearms 
season ends to last day of February. 
 v. Commercial fishing: gill nets and trammel nets 
3.5 inches and greater permitted Monday through Friday 
except slat traps and hoop nets permitted any day. The take 
and possession of grass carp is prohibited. Permits available 
from area supervisor or Opelousas wildlife field office. 
Closed until after 2 p.m. during waterfowl season. 
 vi. Sport fishing: same as outside except only 
allowed after 2 p.m. during waterfowl season, except during 
early Teal season, recreational fishing allowed after 10 a.m. 
 vii. Crawfish: March 15-July 31. Recreational only, 
100 lbs. per person per day. 

tt. Tangipahoa Parish School Board. Self-clearing 
permits required for all activities. No horseback riding 
during gun season for deer or turkey. ATVs are not allowed 
except as otherwise specified. 
 i. Deer: same as outside. 
 ii. Turkey: same as outside. 
 iii. Small Game and Waterfowl: same as outside 
and open to squirrel hunting during the spring season, 1st 
Sat. of May for 9 days, with or without dogs. Beagles 
allowed for rabbits and dogs allowed for squirrel hunting 
day after primitive firearms season ends to the last day of 
Feb. 
 iv. Raccoon (nighttime): day after primitive 
firearms season ends to last day of Feb. 

uu. Thistlethwaite. Restricted Area: small game 
hunting allowed with shotgun only loaded with shot no 
larger than BB lead or F steel. Deer hunting allowed by 
archery only. Area closed last Sat. of Oct. for 2 days, except 
to youth deer hunters. All motorized vehicles restricted to 
improved roads only. All users must enter and leave through 
main gate only.  
 i. Deer: mandatory deer check for all deer 
seasons except archery.  

(a). Archery: Oct. 1-15 bucks only, Oct. 16-Feb. 
15 either-sex. 

(b). Youth Deer Hunt: last. Sat. of Oct. for 2 
days, either-sex. 

(c). Firearms Either-Sex: Fri. after Thanksgiving 
day for 3 days, 1st Saturday of Dec. for 9 days, and 4th 
Saturday of Dec. for 2 days.  
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(d). Firearms Bucks Only: Monday after the last 
Either-Sex Firearm hunt in Dec. for 14 days. 

(e). Primitive Firearms (Either-Sex): 2nd 
Saturday in November for 2 days and Monday after close of 
firearms bucks only for 7 days.  
 ii. Small Game and Waterfowl: same as outside 
except closed during either-sex firearms hunts for deer and 
open to squirrel hunting during the spring season, 1st Sat. of 
May for 9 days. Beagles allowed for rabbits and dogs 
allowed for squirrel hunting February 1-28. 

vv. Tunica Hills. Area Closed: 1st Sat. of Nov. for 2 
days to all except youth deer hunters. Camping limited to 
tents only in designated areas. 
 i. Deer 

(a). Archery: Oct. 1-15, bucks only, Oct. 16-Jan. 
31, either sex. 

(b). Youth Hunt: 1st Sat. of Nov. for 2 days, 
either-sex. 

(c). Primitive Firearms: Fri. after Thanksgiving 
day for 17 days. Fri. after Thanksgiving day mandatory deer 
check, remainder of season self-clearing permit. 
 ii. Turkey: Mon. after 3rd Sat. of April for 7 days. 

(a). General Lottery: opening day of statewide 
season for 2 days, 2nd Sat. of April for 2 days, 3rd Sat. of 
April for 2 days. 

(b). Youth Lottery: Sat. before opening day of 
statewide season. 
 iii. Small Game and Waterfowl: Same as outside 
except closed during youth deer hunt and primitive firearms 
deer hunt and open to squirrel hunting during the spring 
season, 1st Sat. of May for 9 days, with or without dogs, 
south tract only. Beagles allowed for rabbits and dogs 
allowed for squirrel hunting 3rd Saturday of Oct. for 7 days 
and Feb. 1 to last day of Feb. on South Tract only. On that 
portion designated as small game emphasis area (south tract 
only), training of beagles for rabbit and dogs for squirrel 
allowed June 1-August 31. 
 iv. Raccoon (nighttime): Feb. 1 to last day of Feb. 
on south tract only. 

ww. Walnut Hills.  
 i. Deer: same as outside, archery only, either-sex. 
 ii. Turkey: same as outside. 
 iii. Small Game: same as outside. Open to squirrel 
hunting during the spring season 1st Sat. of May for 9 days. 
Beagles allowed for rabbits and dogs allowed for squirrel 
hunting 1st Sat. of Jan to the last day of Feb. On that portion 
designated as small game emphasis area, beagles are allowed 
for rabbit and dogs are allowed for squirrel 1st Sat. of Oct.-
Feb. 28, and training of beagles for rabbit and dogs for 
squirrel allowed June 1- August 31. 
 iv. Raccoon: 2nd Sat. of Sept. for 16 days and 1st 
Sat. of Jan to the Last day of Feb. 

xx. West Bay. Area closed: next to last Sat. of Oct. 
for 2 days to all except youth and physically challenged deer 
hunters. Limited use area: small game same as outside 
except shotgun only. Deer hunting: archery only. See WMA 
map for specific location. 
 i. Deer 

(a). Archery: 3rd Sat. of Sept. to Jan. 15, either-
sex. 

(b). Youth and Physically Challenged: next to 
last Sat. of Oct. for 2 days, either-sex, for physically 
challenged and youth hunters only. 

(c). Firearms Either-Sex: last Sat. of Oct. for 2 
days mandatory deer check and Fri. after Thanksgiving day 
for 3 days, self-clearing. 

(d). Firearms Bucks Only: Mon. after close of 
primitive season to Thanksgiving day, and 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
to Jan. 1.  

(e). Primitive Firearms: Mon. after 1st either-sex 
firearms weekend for 7 days.  
 ii. Turkey:  

(a). General Lottery: opening day of statewide 
season for 2 days, 2nd Sat. of April for 2 days, 3rd Sat. of 
April for 2 days. 

(b). Youth Lottery: Sat. before opening day of 
statewide season. 
 iii. Small Game and Waterfowl: same as outside 
except closed during either-sex firearms hunts and open to 
squirrel hunting during the spring season, 1st Sat. of May for 
9 days, with or without dogs. Beagles allowed for rabbits 
and dogs allowed for squirrel hunting day after firearms 
bucks only season closes to last day of Feb.  

(a). Youth Squirrel Hunt: 4th Sat. of Sept. for 2 
days. 
 iv. Raccoon (nighttime): day after firearms bucks 
only season closes to last day of Feb. 

18. Other Areas 
a. Camp Avondale Scout Reservation 

 i. Deer 
(a). Firearms either-sex: second Saturday in 

November for three days. Restricted to scout program. 
AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56:115 and R.S. 56:116. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
25:1279 (July 1999), amended LR 26:1494 (July 2000), LR 
27:1049 (July 2001), LR 28:1603 (July 2002), LR 29:1124 (July 
2003), repromulgated LR 29:1522 (August 2003), amended LR 
30:1495 (July 2004), LR 31:1611 (July 2005), LR 32:1251 (July 
2006), LR 33:1382 (July 2007), LR 34:1429 (July 2008), LR 
35:1264 (July 2009), LR 36:1566 (July 2010), LR 37:2190 (July 
2011), LR 38:1732 (July 2012), LR 39:2292 (August 2013), LR 
40:1540 (August 2014), LR 41:963 (May 2015), LR 42:1112 (July 
2016), LR 43:1423 (July 2017), LR 44:1277 (July 2018). 

§113. General and WMA Turkey Hunting Regulations 

A. General Regulations. Only gobblers (male turkeys) 
may be taken. Taking of hen (female) turkeys, including 
bearded hens, is prohibited; still hunting only. Use of dogs, 
electronic calling devices and live decoys is illegal. Turkeys 
may be hunted with shotguns, including muzzleloading 
shotguns, using shot not larger than #2 lead, #2 non-toxic, or 
BB steel shot, and approved archery equipment but by no 
other means. Shooting turkeys from a moving or stationary 
vehicle is prohibited. Shotguns capable of holding more than 
three shells prohibited. The running of coyote with dogs is 
prohibited in all turkey hunting areas during the open turkey 
season. No person shall hunt, trap or take turkeys by the aid 
of baiting or on or over any baited area. Baiting means 
placing, exposing, depositing or scattering of corn (shelled, 
shucked or unshucked), wheat or other grain, salt, or other
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feed so as to constitute a lure, attraction or enticement to, on 
or over any areas where hunters are attempting to take 
turkeys. A baited area is any area where corn (shelled, 
shucked or unshucked), wheat or other grain, salt, or other 
feed capable of luring, attracting or enticing turkeys is 
directly or indirectly placed, exposed, deposited, distributed 
or scattered. Such areas remain baited areas for 15 days 
following complete removal of all such corn, wheat or other 
grain, salt, or other feed. Wildlife agents are authorized to 
close such baited areas and to place signs in the immediate 
vicinity designating closed zones and dates of closures. No 
person hunting turkeys more than 200 yards from a baited 
area will be in violation of the turkey baiting regulation. 

B. Tags 
1. Prior to hunting turkeys, all turkey hunters, 

regardless of age or license status, must obtain turkey tags 
and have them in their possession while turkey hunting. 
Immediately upon killing a turkey, hunters must attach a 
carcass tag to the turkey before it is moved from the site of 
the kill and must document the kill on the turkey harvest 
report card. The date of kill and parish of kill must be 
recorded on the carcass tag. The tag must remain attached to 
the turkey while kept at camp or while it is transported to the 
domicile of the hunter or to a cold storage facility. Hunters 
who keep the carcass or meat at a camp must also comply 
with game possession tag regulations. Within 72 hours of the 
kill, the hunter must report the kill. Hunters may report 
turkeys by calling the validation phone number or using the 
validation website. 

2. Turkey hunters purchasing licenses by phone or 
internet will be given an authorization number and a LDWF 
identification number that will serve as their license and tags 
until the physical license and tags arrive by mail. Turkey 
hunters who have purchased a license with tags, but have not 
yet received their physical license and tags, must 
immediately tag their kill with a possession tag before 
moving it from the site of the kill. The authorization number 
and LDWF identification number must be recorded on the 
possession tag. Hunters must retain documentation of any 
turkeys killed and upon receiving their physical tags and 
harvest report card, validate their kill as required in these 
regulations. The tags for turkeys killed prior to receiving the 
physical tags must be removed from the turkey harvest 
report card and discarded. 

3. Tags removed from the turkey harvest report card 
prior to killing a turkey are no longer valid and if lost will 
not be replaced. Duplicate tags and turkey harvest report 
cards are available to replace lost report cards and attached 
tags. Hunters will be charged a fee for duplicate turkey 
harvest report cards and tags. Hunters that have killed a 
turkey prior to losing their remaining tag and harvest report 
card must remove and discard the duplicate tag to account 
for the original tag that was used and validated. Hunters 
must record any previously validated turkey on the duplicate 
turkey harvest report card. 

C. Possession of Live Wild Turkeys. No person shall 
take live wild turkeys or their eggs from the wild. No person 
shall possess captive live wild turkeys, (Meleagris gallopavo 

silvestris, M.g. osceola, M.g. intermedia, M.g. merriami, 

M.g. mexicana) or their eggs, regardless of origin, without a

valid game breeder license. No pen-raised turkeys from 
within or without the state shall be liberated (released) 
within the state. 

D. Statewide Youth and Physically Challenged Season 
Regulations. Only youths 17 years of age or younger or 
hunters possessing a physically challenged hunter permit 
with wheelchair classification may hunt. Youth must possess 
a hunter safety certification or proof of successful 
completion of a hunter safety course. Youths must be 
accompanied by one adult 18 years of age or older. If the 
accompanying adult is in possession of hunter safety 
certification, a valid hunting license or proof of successful 
completion of a hunter safety course, this requirement is 
waived for youth younger than 16 years of age. Adults 
accompanying youth may not possess a firearm or bow. 
Youths may possess only one firearm or bow while hunting. 
The supervising adult shall maintain visual and voice contact 
with the youth at all times, except properly licensed youths 
16-17 years old and youths 12 years old or older who have 
successfully completed a hunter safety course may hunt 
without a supervising adult. Only one gobbler per day may 
be taken and any gobbler taken by the hunter during this 
special season counts towards their season bag limit of two. 

E. Shooting Hours—one-half hour before sunrise to one-
half hour after sunset. 

F. Turkey Hunting Area Descriptions 
1. Area A 

a. All of the following parishes are open: 
 i. Beauregard; 
 ii. Bienville; 
 iii. Claiborne; 

EXCEPTION: see federal lands hunting schedule for 
Kisatchie National Forest dates. 

 iv. East Baton Rouge; 
 v. East Feliciana; 
 vi. Grant; 

EXCEPTION: see federal lands hunting schedule for 
Kisatchie National Forest dates; 

 vii. Jackson; 
 viii. LaSalle; 
 ix. Lincoln; 
 x. Livingston; 
 xi. Natchitoches; 

EXCEPTION: see federal lands hunting schedule for 
Kisatchie National Forest dates. 

 xii. Pointe Coupee; 
EXCEPTION: see Sherburne WMA for special season dates 
on all state, federal, and private lands within Sherburne 
boundaries. 

 xiii. Rapides; 
EXCEPTION: see federal lands hunting schedule for 
Kisatchie National Forest dates. 

 xiv. Sabine; 
 xv. St. Helena; 
 xvi. Tangipahoa; 
 xvii. Union; 
 xviii. Vernon; 

EXCEPTION: see federal lands hunting schedule for 
Kisatchie National Forest dates. 

 xix. West Baton Rouge; 
 xx. West Feliciana (including Raccourci Island); 
 xxi. Winn. 

EXCEPTION: see federal lands hunting schedule for 
Kisatchie National Forest dates. 
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b. Portions of the following parishes are also open: 
 i. Allen—north of US 190 east of Kinder, west of 
US 165 south of Kinder; 
 ii. Avoyelles—that portion bounded on the east 
by the Atchafalaya River, on the north by Red River to the 
Brouillette Community, on the west by LA 452 from 
Brouillette to LA 1, on the south by LA 1, eastward to 
Hamburg, thence by the west Atchafalaya Basin protection 
levee southward; 
 iii. Calcasieu—north of I-10;  
 iv. Caldwell—west of Ouachita River southward 
to Catahoula Parish line; 
 v. Catahoula—south and west of the Ouachita 
River from the Caldwell Parish line southward to LA 8 at 
Harrisonburg, north and west of LA 8 from Harrisonburg to 
the LaSalle Parish line, also that portion lying east of LA 15; 
 vi. Evangeline—north and west of LA 115, north 
of LA 106 west of LA 115 to US 167, west of US 167 south 
to LA 10, north of LA 10 west of US 167 to LA 13, west of 
LA 13 south of LA 10 to Mamou and north of LA 104 west 
of Mamou; 
 vii. Franklin—that portion lying east of LA 17 and 
east of LA 15 from its juncture with LA 17 at Winnsboro; 
 viii. Iberville—west of the Mississippi River; 

EXCEPTION: see Sherburne WMA for special season dates 
on all state, federal and private lands within Sherburne 
boundaries. 

 ix. Jefferson Davis—north of US 190 from 
junction with LA 26 to Kinder, west of US 165 and north of 
I-10 west from junction of US 165; 
 x. Madison—that portion lying east of US 65 
from East Carroll Parish line to US 80 and south of US 80. 
Also, all lands east of the main channel of the Mississippi 
River; 
 xi. Morehouse—west of US 165 from the 
Arkansas line to the junction of LA 140 at Bonita, north and 
west of LA 140 to junction of LA 830-4 (Cooper Lake 
Road), west of LA 830-4 to US 165 at Bastrop, south of US 
165 to junction of LA 3051 (Grabault Road) south of LA 
3051 to junction of LA 138, west of LA 138 to junction of 
LA 134, north of LA 134 to the Ouachita Parish line; 
 xii. Ouachita—all west of the Ouachita River. That 
portion east of the Ouachita River lying north of US 80; 
 xiii. Richland—that portion south of US 80 and east 
of LA 17; 
 xiv. St. Landry—that portion bounded on the west 
by the west Atchafalaya Basin Protection Levee and on the 
east by the Atchafalaya River; 

EXCEPTION: the Indian Bayou area; see federal lands 
hunting schedule for Indian Bayou area dates. 

 xv. Upper St. Martin—all within the Atchafalaya 
Basin; in addition, that area bounded on the North by LA 
352; on the West by LA 349, to LA 3039, to LA 347, to the 
Catahoula Hwy. (LA 96), to LA 679, to LA 345; and on the 
South by LA 3242; 

EXCEPTIONS: Sherburne WMA and Indian Bayou area, see 
WMA Turkey Hunting Schedule for special season dates on 
all state, federal and private lands within Sherburne WMA 
boundaries and see federal lands hunting schedule for Indian 
Bayou dates. 

 xvi. Tensas—that portion west of US 65 from the 
Concordia Parish line to its juncture with LA 128, north of 
LA 128 to St. Joseph; west and north of LA 605, 604 and 

3078 northward to Port Gibson Ferry; also all lands east of 
the main channel of the Mississippi River. 

2. Area B 
a. All of the following parishes are open: 

 i. Ascension; 
 ii. Bossier; 
 iii. DeSoto; 
 iv. Red River; 
 v. St. Tammany; 
 vi. Washington; 
 vii. Webster. 

b. Portions of the following parishes are open: 
 i. Caddo—all except that portion north of I-20 
from the Texas state line to I-220. west of I-220 to LA 1. 
west of LA 1 to Caddo Lake, south of Caddo Lake to the 
Texas state line;  
 ii. East Carroll—east of US 65 from Arkansas 
state line to Madison Parish line; 
 iii. Iberville—all east of the Mississippi River; 

EXCEPTION: see federal lands hunting schedule for 
Kisatchie National Forest dates. 

3. Area C 
a. All of the following parishes are open: 

 i. Concordia. 
b. Portions of the following parishes are open: 

 i. Caldwell—all east of the Ouachita River; 
 ii. Catahoula—all of the parish except for that 
portion located in area A; 
 iii. Franklin—west of LA 17 from the Richland 
Parish line southward to Winnsboro, west of LA 15 
southward to the Catahoula Parish line; 
 iv. Iberia—east of the west Atchafalaya Basin 
protection levee; 
 v. Richland—west of LA 17 from Franklin Parish 
line to Ringle Road, south of Ringle Road to Ferguson Road, 
south of Ferguson Road to Little Road, south of Little Road 
to Big Creek, east of Big Creek to Franklin Parish line; 
 vi. Tensas—east and south of US 65 from 
Concordia Parish line to LA 128, south of LA 128 to St. 
Joseph, east and south of LA 605, 604 and 3078 northward 
to Port Gibson Ferry. 

4. Turkey season dates on wildlife management areas, 
national wildlife refuges, Kisatchie National Forest and U.S. 
Army Corps of Engineers land located within areas A, B, 
and C may vary from the season set for the parish in which 
they are located. Seasons for these lands are specified in 
LAC 76:XIX.115. 

G. WMA Turkey Hunting Regulations 
1. WMAs with youth turkey hunts are closed to all 

activities except turkey hunting by authorized youth hunt 
participants, shooting range use, and fishing on the day(s) of 
the youth hunt.  

2. Rules Specific to Certain WMAs 
a. Sandy Hollow. No turkey hunting within 100 

yards of food plots identified by two yellow paint rings 
around the nearest tree. 

b. Sherburne. All turkeys taken must be checked at 
the WMA headquarters. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
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25:2263 (November 1999), amended LR 26:2634 (November 
2000), LR 27:2270 (December 2001), LR 28:2375 (November 
2002), LR 29:2512 (November 2003), LR 30:2874 (December 
2004), LR 31:3167 (December 2005), LR 32:2272 (December 
2006), LR 33:2469 (November 2007), LR 35:91 (January 2009), 
LR 35:2478 (November 2009), LR 36:2581 (November 2010), LR 
37:3535 (December 2011), LR 38:2941 (November 2012), LR 
40:96 (January 2014), LR 40:1554 (August 2014), LR 41:977 (May 
2015), LR 42:1127 (July 2016), LR 43:1426 (July 2017), LR 
44:1303 (July 2018). 

§115. Turkey Hunting Areas, Seasons, and Bag Limits 

A. Daily limit is one gobbler. Season limit is two 
gobblers. Turkeys taken on WMAs are part of the season bag 
limit. Only one turkey may be taken during spring WMA 
lottery hunts. 

B. Turkey season will open on the first Saturday in April. 
The area A turkey season will be 30 consecutive days in 
length, the area B turkey season will be 23 consecutive days 
in length, and the area C turkey season will be 16 
consecutive days in length. Wildlife management areas, 
national forests, national wildlife refuges, and U.S. Army 
Corps of Engineers land may vary from this framework. On 
those years when the first Saturday in April falls the day 
before Easter, then the season will open the Friday before the 
first Saturday in April. 

C. Statewide youth turkey and physically challenged 
season on private lands shall be the weekend prior to the 
start of the regular turkey season. On those years when the 
weekend prior to the start of regular turkey seasons falls on 
Easter weekend, then the youth and physically challenged 
season will open on Good Friday. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
25:2264 (November 1999), amended LR 26:2634 (November 
2000), LR 27:2270 (December 2001), LR 28:2376 (November 
2002), LR 29:2512 (November 2003), LR 30:2875 (December 
2004), LR 31:3167 (December 2005), LR 32:2272 (December 
2006), LR 33:2470 (November 2007), LR 35:90 (January 2009), 
LR 35:2481 (November 2009), LR 36:2583 (November 2010), LR 
37:3541 (December 2011), LR 38:2944 (November 2012), LR 
40:99 (January 2014), LR 40:1556 (August 2014), LR 41:980 (May 
2015), LR 42:1129 (July 2016), LR 43:1426 (July 2017), LR 
44:1306 (July 2018). 

§117. Migratory Bird Seasons, Regulations, and Bag 

Limits 

A. Seasons and Bag Limits 
 

Species Season Dates Daily Bag Limit Possession Limit 

Mourning 
and White 
Winged 
Doves and 
fully-dressed 
Eurasian and 
Collared 
Doves 

South Zone: 
Sept. 1-9 
Oct. 6-Nov. 25 
Dec. 16-Jan.14 

North Zone: 
Sept. 1-23 
Oct. 6-Nov. 11 

Dec. 16-Jan. 14 

15 (in aggregate) 45 (in aggregate) 

Woodcock Dec. 18-Jan. 31 3 9 

Teal (Blue-
winged, 
Green-
winged and 
Cinnamon) 

Sept. 15-30 6 18 

King and 
Clapper 
Rails 

Sept. 15-30 
Nov.10-Jan. 2 

15 (in aggregate) 45 (in aggregate) 

Species Season Dates Daily Bag Limit Possession Limit 

Sora and 
Virginia Rails 

Sept. 15-30 
Nov.10-Jan. 2 

25 (in aggregate) 75 (in aggregate) 

Gallinules Sep. 15-30 
Nov.10-Jan. 2 

15 45 

Snipe Coastal Zone: 
Nov. 2-Dec. 2 
Dec. 15-Feb. 28 

West Zone: 
Nov. 2-Dec. 2 
Dec. 15-Feb. 28 

East Zone: 
Nov. 2-Dec. 2 

Dec. 15-Feb. 28 

8 24 

Ducks, 
Coots and 
Mergansers 

Coastal Zone: 
Nov. 3-4 (youth 

only) 
Nov. 10-Dec. 2 
Dec. 15-Jan. 20 

West Zone: 
Nov. 3 (youth 

only) 
Nov. 10-Dec. 2 
Dec. 15-Jan.20 
Jan. 26 (youth 

only) 
East Zone: 

Nov. 10 (youth 
only) 

Nov. 17-Dec. 2 
Dec. 15-Jan. 27 

Feb. 2 (youth 
only 

Daily bag limit on 
ducks is 6 and 
may include no 
more than 4 
mallards (no more 
than 2 of which 
may be females), 
2 canvasbacks, 1 
mottled duck, 1 
black duck, 3 
wood ducks, 3 
scaup, 2 redheads, 
and 2 pintails. 
Daily bag limit on 
coots is 15. 
Daily bag limit on 
mergansers is 5, 
only 2 of which 
may be hooded 
mergansers. 
Merganser limits 
are in addition to 
the daily bag limit 
for ducks. 

Three times the 
daily bag limit. 

Light Geese 
(Snow, 
Blue, and 
Ross’) and 
White-
Fronted 
Geese 

North Zone: 
Nov. 3-Dec.2 
Dec. 15-Feb. 10 

South Zone: 
Nov. 3-Dec. 2 

Dec. 15-Feb. 10 

Daily bag limit on 
Light Geese 
(snow, blue, and 
ross’) is 20. 
Daily bag limit on 
White-Fronted 
Geese is 2. 

No possession 
limit on Light 
Geese (snow, blue, 
and ross’) 
Possession limit 
on White-Fronted 
Geese is 6.  

Canada 
Geese 

North Zone: 
Nov. 3-Dec.2 
Dec. 15-Jan. 31 

South Zone: 
Nov. 3-Dec. 2 

Dec. 15-Jan. 31 

1 3 

 

B. Conservation Order for Light Geese Seasons and Bag 
Limits 

 

Species Season Dates Daily Bag Limit Possession Limit 

Light Geese 
(Snow, Blue, 
and Ross’) 

North Zone: 
Dec. 3-14 
Feb. 11-Mar. 10 

South Zone: 
Dec. 3-14 
Feb. 11-Mar. 10 

No daily bag 
limit. 

No possession 
limit. 

 

C. Extended Falconry Seasons and Bag Limits 
 

Species Season Dates Daily Bag Limit 

Mourning and White 
Winged Doves and 
fully-dressed Eurasian 
and Collared Doves 

Sept. 15-Oct. 1 Falconry daily bag and 
possession limit for all 
permitted migratory game 
birds must not exceed 3 and 
9 birds, respectively, singly 
or in aggregate, during the 
extended falconry seasons 
and regular hunting 
seasons. 

Woodcock Nov. 2-Jan. 31 

Rails and Gallinule Nov. 2-Jan. 31 

Ducks Nov. 2-Jan. 31 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 44, No. 07   July 20, 2018 1307

D. Dove Hunting Regulations 
1. Shooting hours one-half hour before sunrise to 

sunset except on opening day of the first split on wildlife 
management areas and on fields leased through the LDWF 
experimental dove field leasing program, where hunting will 
be from 12 p.m. to sunset, except for Elbow Slough Wildlife 
Management Area which will be open one-half hour before 
sunrise to sunset. 

2. There is no bag limit on Eurasian collared-doves or 
ringed turtle-doves provided that a fully feathered wing and 
head remain attached to the carcass of the bird. Fully dressed 
Eurasian collared-doves and ringed turtle doves (those 
without a fully feathered wing and head naturally attached to 
the carcass) shall be included in the aggregate bag. 

3. The following boundary divides the dove season 
zones: beginning at the Texas-Louisiana order on LA Hwy. 
12; thence east along LA Hwy 12 to its intersection with 
U.S. Hwy 190; thence east along U.S. Hwy 190 to its 
intersection with I-12; thence east along I-12 to its 
intersection with I-10; then east along I-10 to the Mississippi 
state line. 

E. Snipe Hunting Regulations. Shooting hours one-half 
hour before sunrise to sunset, except at the Spanish Lake 
recreation area in Iberia Parish where shooting hours, 
including the conservation end at 2 p.m.  

F. Conservation Order for Light Geese. Only snow, blue, 
and Ross’ geese may be taken under the terms of the 
conservation order. Electronic calls and unplugged shotguns 
allowed. No daily bag or possession limit. Shooting hours 
one-half hour before sunrise until one-half hour after sunset. 

G. Canada Goose Season Closure. The Canada goose 
season will be open statewide except for a portion of 
southwest Louisiana described as follows: beginning at the 
Texas State Line, proceeding east along LA Hwy. 82 to the

Calcasieu Ship Channel, then north along the Calcasieu Ship 
Channel to its junction with the Intracoastal Canal, then east 
along the Intracoastal Canal to its juncture with LA Hwy. 82, 
then south along LA Hwy. 82 to its juncture with Parish 
Road 3147, then south and east along Parish Road 3147 to 
Freshwater Bayou Canal, then south to the Gulf of Mexico, 
then west along the shoreline of the Gulf of Mexico to the 
Texas State Line, then north to the point of beginning at LA 
Hwy. 82. Open waters of Lake Arthur and the Mermentau 
River, from the Hwy 14 bridge southward, will also be 
closed. 

H. Statewide Youth Waterfowl Season Regulations. Only 
youths 17 years of age or younger may hunt. Youth must 
possess a hunter safety certification or proof of successful 
completion of a hunter safety course. Youths must be 
accompanied by one adult 18 years of age or older. If the 
accompanying adult is in possession of hunter safety 
certification, a valid hunting license or proof of successful 
completion of a hunter safety course, this requirement is 
waived for youth younger than 16 years of age. Adults 
accompanying youth may not possess a firearm. Youths may 
possess only one firearm while hunting. The supervising 
adult shall maintain visual and voice contact with the youth 
at all times.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
42:1130 (July 2016), amended LR 43:1427 (July 2017), LR 
44:1306 (July 2018). 

 
Jack Montoucet 
Secretary 

1807#006  
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Notices of Intent 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Children and Family Services 

Division of Child Welfare 

Payments, Reimbursables, and Expenditures 

(LAC 67:V.3501) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act R.S. 49:953 (A), the Department of Children 
and Family Services (DCFS) proposes to amend LAC 67: V, 
Subpart 5, Foster Care, Chapter 35 Payments, 
Reimbursables, and Expenditures. 

Chapter 35 is being amended to advise a parent or 
individual that child support payments shall be forwarded to 
the department upon removal or voluntary placement of a 
child into foster care in accordance with R.S. 46:236.1.5. 

Title 67 

SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part V.  Child Welfare 

Subpart 5.  Foster Care 

Chapter 35. Payments, Reimbursables, and 

Expenditures 

§3501. Procedures for Determining the Amount of 

Contribution Required by Parents Whose 

Children are in the Care and/or Custody of the 

State of Louisiana 

A. - C ... 
D. By removal or voluntary placement into foster care of 

a child from the parent or another individual, the parent or 
individual shall be deemed, without the necessity of signing 
any document, to have made an assignment to the 
department of his entire right, title, and interest to any 
support obligation such parent or individual may have in his 
own behalf or on behalf of any family member for whom the 
parent is applying for or receiving foster care services which 
has accrued at the time of the placement of the child in foster 
care and which accrues during the time the child is in foster 
care. The assigned support rights shall constitute an 
obligation owed to the department by the person responsible 
for providing such support, and said obligation shall be 
established by an order of a court of competent jurisdiction, 
and the department may thereafter collect by appropriate 
process any outstanding debt thus created. Voluntary child 
support payments made to the parent or individual at the 
time of the placement of the child in foster care shall be 
deemed to have been assigned to the department, unless such 
is contrary to a valid court order. The department may 
thereafter collect such support payments by appropriate 
services. The parents or individual shall also be deemed, 
without the necessity of signing any document, to have 
consented to the designation of the department as payee in 
an initial or amended order of support and to have appointed 
the Child Support Enforcement administrator as his or her 
true and lawful attorney-in-fact to act in his or her name, 
place, and stead to perform the specific act of endorsing any 
and all drafts, checks, money orders, or other negotiable 

instruments representing support payments which are 
received on behalf of such individual or his parent. The 
department shall be an indispensable party to any proceeding 
involving a support obligation or arrearages owed under this 
Subpart. The provisions of this Subpart shall apply 
retrospectively to all support rights assigned, whether by 
written assignment or by operation of law, prior and 
subsequently to the effective date of this rule. The parent or 
individual of services shall also be deemed without the 
necessity of signing any document to have appointed the 
Child Support Enforcement administrator as his or her true 
and lawful attorney-in-fact to act in his or her name, place, 
and stead to perform the specific act of endorsing any and all 
drafts, checks, money orders, or other negotiable instruments 
representing support payments which are received on behalf 
of such individual or caretaker. No parent or individual who 
has had a child removed from the parent(s) custody or 
voluntarily placed the child in foster care on behalf of the 
parent or another individual shall be permitted to enter into a 
contract for the collection of support pursuant to R.S. 
21:1441 et seq. Any such contract shall be considered a 
violation of public policy and shall be void.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:51.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 17:1225 
(December 1991), amended LR 36:73 (January 2010), amended by 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of Child 
Welfare, LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. What effect will this Rule have on the stability of the 

family? The proposed Rule may have an effect on the 
financial resources for the parent to sustain their living 
arrangements.  

2. What effect will this have on the authority and rights 
of persons regarding the education and supervision of their 
children? The proposed Rule will not affect the authority and 
rights of persons regarding the education and supervision of 
their children. 

3. What effect will this have on the functioning of the 
family? The Rule will have no effect on the functioning of 
the family as the child will already have been removed.  

4. What effect will this have on family earnings and 
family budget? The proposed Rule will not have an impact 
on earnings, just on budget. Parents or individuals receiving 
child support payments will no longer be eligible for child 
support payments upon the removal or voluntary placement 
of the child into foster care.  

5. What effect will this have on the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? The Rule should not 
affect the behavior or personal responsibility of children. 

6. Is the family or local government able to perform the 
function as contained in this proposed Rule? Yes, Louisiana 
law prescribes that upon removal or voluntary placement 
into foster care child support payments should be provided 
to the department with the rights and responsibilities for the 
care of the child.  



Louisiana Register   Vol. 44, No. 07   July 20, 2018 1309

Poverty Impact Statement 

The proposed Rulemaking may have an impact on poverty 
as defined by R.S. 49:973 by eliminating child support 
payments a parent received on the behalf of the child and 
used to sustain their living situation. 

Small Business Analysis 

The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an adverse 
impact on small businesses as defined in the Regulatory 
Flexibility Act. 

Provider Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 
providers of services funded by the state as described in 
HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. 

Public Comments 
All interested persons may submit written comments 

through, August 28, 2018 to Rhenda Hodnett, Assistant 
Secretary of Child Welfare, Department of Children and 
Family Services, P.O. Box 3118, Baton Rouge, LA, 70821. 

Public Hearing 

A public hearing on the proposed Rule will be held on 
August 28, 2018 at the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Iberville Building, 627 North Fourth Street, 
Seminar Room 1-127, Baton Rouge, LA beginning at 9 a.m. 
All interested persons will be afforded an opportunity to 
submit data, views, or arguments, orally or in writing, at said 
hearing. Individuals with disabilities who require special 
services should contact the DCFS Appeals Unit at least 
seven working days in advance of the hearing. For 
assistance, call 225-342-4120 (Voice and TDD). 

 
Marketa Garner Walters 
Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Payments, Reimbursables,  

and Expenditures 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule change is anticipated to increase 

expenditures for the Department of Children and Family 
Services (DCFS) by approximately $1,065 in FY 19 for the 
publication of the proposed rule.  It is not anticipated that any 
other state or local governmental units will incur costs or 
savings as a result of this rule change.   

The proposed rule amends LAC 67: V, Subpart 5, Foster 
Care, Chapter 35 Payments, Reimbursables, and Expenditures. 
This rule change is being proposed to codify procedures for 42 
USC 671a17, which provides that the state shall take all steps 
necessary to secure assignment of child support payments on 
behalf of children receiving foster care.  The procedures 
established in this rule change align with the procedures that 
the department follows to secure assignment of FITAP 
payments on behalf of children receiving foster care (R.S. 
46:236.1.5). 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Implementation of the proposed rule will have no effect on 
revenue collections of state or local governmental units. The 
department already has policies in place to secure assignment 
of child support payments on behalf of children receiving foster 
care; however, the procedures on how to secure this assignment 
is not currently established in rule.  This rule serves to codify a 
procedure. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Implementation of the proposed rule will have no cost or 
economic benefit to directly affected persons or 
nongovernmental groups. The department already has policies 
in place to secure assignment of child support payments on 
behalf of children receiving foster care; however, the 
procedures on how to secure this assignment is not currently 
established in rule.  This rule serves to codify a procedure. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Rhenda Hodnett Evan Brasseaux 
Assistant Secretary Staff Director 
1807#026 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Economic Development 

Office of the Secretary 

The Veteran Initiative (LAC 19:IX.301) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., notice is hereby given 
that the Department of Economic Development proposes to 
amend the Certification Rules for the Veteran Initiative, in 
accordance with the revised requirements of Act 585 of the 
2018 Regular Session. 

Title 19 

CORPORATIONS AND BUSINESS 

Part IX.  The Veteran Initiative 

Subpart 1.  Certification Program 

Chapter 3. Certification 

§301. Eligibility Requirements for Certification 

A. Eligibility. An applicant for certification must meet 
two sets of requirements: 

1 - 2.b. … 
c. together with any of its affiliates, has fewer than 

50 full-time employees with average annual gross receipts 
not exceeding $10,000,000 per year for construction 
operations and $6,000,000 per year for non-construction 
operations, for each of the previous three tax years.  

B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

R.S. 39:2006, R.S. 39:2171 et seq., and R.S. 51:931. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 36:472 
(March 2010), amended LR 38:2741 (November 2012), LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 
family formation, stability, and autonomy as described in 
R.S. 49:972. 

Poverty Statement 

The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 
poverty as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

providers of services as described in HCR 170 of the 2014 
Regular Legislative Session. 
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Small Business Statement 

The proposed Rule is anticipated to have a positive impact 
on small businesses as defined in the Regulatory Flexibility 
Act, by expanding eligibility for non-construction companies 
with gross receipts more than five million dollars but less 
than six million dollars per year. 

Public Comments 

Interested persons should submit written comments on the 
proposed Rules to John Mathews through the close of 
business on Tuesday, August 28, 2018 at 617 North Third 
Street,11th Floor, Baton Rouge, LA 70802 or via email to 
john.mathews@la.gov.  

Public Hearing 

A meeting for the purpose of receiving the presentation of 
oral comments will be held at 11 a.m. on Wednesday, August 
29, 2018 at the Department of Economic Development, 617 
North Third Street, 11th Floor, Baton Rouge, LA 70802. 

 
Mandi D. Mitchell 
Assistant Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  The Veteran Initiative 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule change is not anticipated to result in any 

significant expenditures or savings for state or local 
governmental units. Any additional administrative expenditures 
that may be incurred are anticipated to be marginal and will be 
absorbed within the LA Dept. of Economic Development’s 
(LED) existing budget authority. 

The proposed rule change codifies provisions of Act 585 of 
the 2018 Regular Session, which increases the maximum gross 
receipts threshold for small businesses applying to the Veterans 
Initiative program by $1.0 M, from $5.0 M to $6.0 M per year 
for non-construction operations.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will not affect revenue 
collections for state or local governmental units.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Veteran-owned businesses may benefit as a result of the 
increased eligibility threshold. By increasing the eligibility 
threshold, more companies may be able to participate in the 
program. However, the increase in activity in the Veterans 
Initiative will likely be marginal, as the average revenue of all 
certified veterans companies is $451,232, with only 1 company 
having average revenue over $5.0 M annually.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

Companies receiving benefits under this program will gain 
competitively over companies that do not receive the program’s 
benefits. 

 
Mandi D. Mitchell Evan J. Brasseaux 
Assistant Secretary Staff Director 
1807#041 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 118―Statewide Assessment Standards and 
Practices—Test Security (LAC 28:XI.Chapter 53) 

In accordance with R.S. 17:6 and R.S. 49:950, the 
Administrative Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the 
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE) 
approved for advertisement revisions to Bulletin 

118―Statewide Assessment Standards and Practices.  
Title 28 

EDUCATION 

Part XI.  Accountability/Testing 

Subpart 3.  Bulletin 118―Statewide Assessment 

Standards and Practices 

Chapter 53. Test Security 

§5305. Test Security Policy 

[Formerly LAC 28:CXI.305] 

A. - A.9.h. … 
i. School systems wishing to contest any LDE void 

determinations resulting from LDE data forensic findings or 
other LDE investigations must submit, from the school 
system leader, an appeal request in writing and a report 
resulting from an investigation of the voids in accordance 
with Paragraph 3 of this Subsection to the LDE within 30 
days of void notification. 
 i. LDE shall provide a list of recommended 
investigators that may be used by school systems to support 
this process. 
 ii. The investigation shall produce verifiable 
evidence that corroborates, with a high degree of certainty, 
that a testing irregularity did not occur. Investigations failing 
to meet this standard shall not be considered before the 
committee. 
 iii. LDE shall convene, annually, a test irregularity 
review committee, on or before August 31, in accordance 
with R.S. 42:11 et seq. The test irregularity review 
committee shall conduct a records review of the 
investigative results from the school system as well as any 
additional relevant evidence from the LDE. 
 iv. The test irregularity review committee shall 
consists of the following members approved by BESE, 
coterminous with the board members: 

(a). the LDE director of assessment or his/her 
designee; 

(b). a degreed, experienced, large-scale 
assessment psychometrician; 

(c). a nationally-recognized large-scale 
assessment expert; 

(d). a nationally-recognized large-scale 
assessment test security expert; and 

(e). a school system assessment and 
accountability representative. 
 v. The test irregularity review committee shall 
make recommendations, as determined by a majority vote of 
all members of the review committee, regarding any 
necessary reversals of voids to the state superintendent. 
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 vi. The state superintendent shall issue a written 
determination regarding review committee recommendations 
to reverse voids. 
 vii. In the event the state superintendent determines 
not to accept a recommendation to reverse a void, the school 
system may appeal to BESE, which may determine whether 
to reverse the voids. 
 viii. This process shall not supersede or interfere 
with any investigations administered by state or federal law 
enforcement officials. 

10. - 17. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 and 17:391.7(C)-(G). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 
31:1528 (July 2005), amended LR 32:233 (February 2006), LR 
33:255 (February 2007), LR 33:424 (March 2007), LR 33:2033 
(October 2007), LR 34:65 (January 2008), LR 34:431 (March 
2008), LR 34:1351 (July 2008), LR 35:217 (February 2009), LR 
37:858 (March 2011), repromulgated LR 37:1123 (April 2011), 
amended LR 38:747 (March 2012), LR 39:1018 (April 2013), LR 
40:2510 (December 2014), LR 43:634 (April 2017), LR 44:463 
(March 2018), LR 44: 

§5309. Erasure Analysis and Online Answer Changes 

[Formerly LAC 28:CXI.309] 

A. - A.4. … 
5. A summary report of erasure analysis irregularities 

will be presented to BESE after each test administration. 
6. Erasure—online answer-changing as well as 

erasing answers on a paper and pencil test. 
7. Repealed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 and 17:24 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1530 (July 2005), 
amended LR 32:234 (February 2006), LR 33:257 (February 2007), 
LR 35:217 (February 2009), LR 35:443 (March 2009), LR 40:2512 
(December 2014), LR 43:634 (April 2017), LR 44:463 (March 
2018), LR 44: 

§5311. Addressing Suspected Violations of Test Security 

and Troubling Content in Written Responses 

[Formerly LAC 28:CXI.311] 

A. - A.3.d. … 
 i. If the district and/or parent(s)/guardian(s) wish 
to discuss the situation further or to examine the student 
responses, a meeting may be scheduled at the LDE offices 
between staff members from the Division of Assessments 
and Accountability district representatives and 
parent(s)/guardian(s). 

4. - 4.b. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 and 17:24 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1531 (July 2005), 
amended LR 33:257 (February 2007), LR 35:217 (February 2009), 
LR 43:635 (April 2017), LR 44:464 (March 2018), LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 

In accordance with section 953 and 974 of title 49 of the 
Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 973 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Poverty Impact 
Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, amendment, or 
repeal. All Poverty Impact Statements shall be in writing and 
kept on file in the state agency which has adopted, amended, 
or repealed a Rule in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the law relating to public records. For the 
purposes of this section, the word “poverty” means living at 
or below 100 percent of the federal poverty line. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the household 
income, assets, and financial security? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect early childhood 
development and preschool through postsecondary education 
development? Yes. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect employment and 
workforce development? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect taxes and tax credits? 
No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect child and dependent 
care, housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, and 
utilities assistance? No. 

Small Business Analysis 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there should 
be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or 

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until noon, August 9, 2018, to Shan N. Davis, 
Executive Director, Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education, P.O. Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, 
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LA 70804-9064. Written comments may also be hand-
delivered to Shan Davis, Executive Director, Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, Suite 5-190, 1201 
North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802 and must be 
date stamped by the BESE office on the date received. 
Public comments must be dated and include the original 
signature of the person submitting the comments. 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 118―Statewide Assessment 

Standards and Practices—Test Security 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There may be an increase in expenditures for the 

Department of Education (LDE) to provide support to the 
Testing Irregularity Review Committee, however, the 
department does not believe those expenses will be material. 
There may also be costs associated with securing national 
experts and school system representatives to serve on the 
Testing Irregularity Review Committee. The LDE estimates 
those costs to be approximately $8,000 per year.  The LDE 
anticipates these expenses will be funded with federal funds. 

The Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
(BESE) directed the Louisiana Department of Education (LDE) 
to create a mechanism for school systems wishing to appeal test 
security decisions by the LDE. Per the proposed revisions, 
school systems are no longer required to investigate every void 
(results excluded); however, school systems wishing to contest 
a void must submit a request in writing, including a report 
resulting from an investigation pursuant to Bulletin 118. 
Appeals will be heard annually, at a public meeting, by the test 
irregularity review committee. The committee will consist of 
the following members: (1) LDE Director of Assessment or 
his/her designee; (2) a degreed, experienced large-scale 
assessment psychometrician; (3) a nationally-recognized large-
scale assessment expert; (4) a nationally-recognized large-scale 
assessment test security expert; and (5) a school system 
assessment and accountability representative.  

There may be indeterminable savings to local school 
districts due to the elimination of the requirement that certain 
irregularities must be investigated and written reports must be 
submitted to the superintendent within 30 calendar days. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed policy revisions will have no effect on 
revenue collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs and/or economic benefits to 

directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 
IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 
There are no estimated impacts on competition and 

employment. 
 

Beth Scioneaux Evan Brasseaux 
Deputy Superintendent Staff Director 
1807#062 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 137―Louisiana Early Learning  
Center Licensing Regulations  

(LAC 28:CLXI.Chapters 1, 3, 7,  
9, 11, 13, 15, 17, 18, and 19) 

In accordance with R.S. 17:6 and R.S. 49:950, the 
Administrative Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the 
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education approved 
proposed amendments to Bulletin 137―Louisiana Early 

Learning Center Licensing Regulations.  
Title 28 

EDUCATION 

Part CLXI.  Bulletin 137Louisiana Early Learning 

Center Licensing Regulations 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 

§101. Purpose and Authorization 

A. The purpose of this bulletin is to set forth the rules 
and regulations necessary to implement the provisions of 
R.S. 17:407.31 et seq., that require the state Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE) to establish 
statewide minimum standards for the health, safety and well-
being of children in early learning centers, ensure 
maintenance of these standards, and regulate conditions in 
early learning centers through a program of licensing 
administered by the Department of Education (department). 

B. The state superintendent of education (state 
superintendent), in order to carry out functions otherwise 
vested in the state superintendent by law, or by delegation of 
authority pursuant to law, is authorized to make, issue, 
rescind, and amend department guidelines, interpretive 
guidance and procedures governing the early childhood 
licensing program administered by the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 and 17:407.32. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:616 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 44: 

§103. Definitions 

* * * 

Academic Approvalverification by the department that a 
type III early learning center is meeting the performance and 
academic standards required in Bulletin 140—The Louisiana 

Early Childhood Care and Education Network. 

* * * 

Childperson who has not reached age 13, or a person 
with special needs who has not yet reached age 18. 

* * * 

Child Care Health Consultantqualified health and 
safety professional approved by LDH to provide training, 
consultation, and technical assistance to in- and out-of-home 
child care facilities and early childhood education staff (and 
parents) on health and safety topics. 

* * * 

DHHRepealed. 

* * * 
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Federal Food and Nutrition Programsfederal nutrition 
reimbursement programs funded by the U.S. Department of 
Agriculture through the department. 

* * * 

Head Start and Early Head Start Programsfederally-
funded early childhood care and education programs that 
promote and teach school readiness to children ages birth to 
five from low-income families and provide services in the 
areas of education, services to children with disabilities, 
social services for families, nutrition, family engagement, 
health and mental health, as well as providing the physical 
plant and instructional staff members for such purposes. 

Independent Contractorsindividuals who are not 
employees of the center, but who render professional, 
therapeutic, or enrichment services within an early learning 
center. Independent contractors include, but are not limited 
to, dance instructors, gymnastic or sports instructors, 
computer instructors, speech therapists, nutritionists, early 
interventionists, nurses and other licensed health care 
professionals, local school district staff, departmental staff 
other than those responsible for inspecting centers, 
contracted bus drivers, cafeteria and maintenance personnel, 
electricians, plumbers and photographers, and other outside 
contractors. 

* * * 

LDHLouisiana Department of Health. 

Licenseany license issued by the department to operate 
an early learning center. 

* * * 

Licensing DivisionRepealed. 

* * * 

Office of Early ChildhoodRepealed. 

* * * 

Parentparent or legal custodian. 

* * * 
Special Needs Care—for licensing purposes, child care for 

a child birth through age 17 who has a current individualized 
family services plan (IFSP) or individual education plan 
(IEP) in accordance with the Individual’s with Disabilities 
Education Act (IDEA) or who receives supplemental 
security income (SSI). 

* * * 

Staff-in-Chargethe on-site staff member appointed by 
the director as responsible for supervising the operation of 
the center during the temporary absence of less than 11 
consecutive business days of the director or during nighttime 
hours. 

* * * 

Therapeutic Professionalsindependent contractors who 
provide therapeutic services in an early learning center, 
including but not limited to speech therapists, nutritionists, 
early interventionists, nurses and other licensed health care 
professionals who are employed by a local school district or 
the Department of Health (LDH) or who are working 
pursuant to an EarlySteps contract with LDH, to provide 
therapeutic services in an early learning center to a child 
with a disability that has an active individual education plan 
(IEP) or individual family service plan (IFSP). Therapeutic 
professionals are not required to be under the supervision of 
center staff when providing such services. 

* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 and 17:407.31 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:616 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 41:2103 (October 2015), LR 
43:638 (April 2017), LR 44:247 (February 2018), effective March 
1, 2018, LR 44: 

Chapter 3. Licensure 

§305. Operating Without a License; Registry; 

Penalties 

A. Whoever operates any early learning center without a 
valid license shall be fined by the department not less than 
$1,000 per day for each day of such offense.  

B. If an early learning center is operating without a valid 
license, the department shall file suit for injunctive relief in 
the district court in the parish in which the center is located 
to enjoin the owner or operator from continuing the 
violation.  

C. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 and 17:407.37. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:619 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 41:2104 (October 2015), LR 
44: 

§307. Types of Licenses 

A. - A.2. … 
3. Repealed. 

B. - B.1. … 
2. Repealed. 

C. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 and 17:407.36. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:619 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 44: 

§309. Term of License 

A. The department is authorized to determine the period 
for which a license shall be valid. A license is valid for the 
period for which it is issued unless it is revoked or 
suspended by the department for non-compliance with the 
licensing laws, regulations or minimum standards. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 and 17:407.39(A). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:619 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 44: 

§315. Inspections 

A. The department, through its duly authorized agents, 
shall inspect at regular intervals not to exceed one year, and 
as deemed necessary by the department and without 
previous notice, all early learning centers subject to the 
provisions of this bulletin. 

B. Whenever the department is advised or has reason to 
believe that any person, agency or organization is operating 
a non-exempt early learning center without a license, the 
department shall initiate an investigation to ascertain the 
facts. 

C. Whenever the department is advised or has reason to 
believe that any person, agency or organization is operating 
in violation of licensing laws, regulations or minimum 
standards, the department shall complete a complaint 
investigation. All reports of mistreatment of children coming 
to the attention of the department shall be referred to the 
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appropriate agencies, and law enforcement personnel if 
applicable.  

D. The department may apply for an administrative 
search warrant to obtain entry to an early learning center, if 
necessary. 

E. The department shall post results of inspection reports 
online.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 and 17:407.43. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:620 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 44: 

§317. Transitional Provisions 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6, 17:407.36, and 17:407.38(c). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:620 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, repealed LR 44: 

§319. Waivers 

A. - B. … 
C. An application for a waiver and all supporting 

documentation shall be submitted in writing to the 
department using the request for waiver form. 

D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 and 17:407.40(D). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:620 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 44: 

Chapter 7. Licensing Process and Procedures 

§701. Initial Application Process  

A. Forms. Applications for licensure of new early 
learning centers shall be submitted using the department’s 
online electronic system. 

B. Each center shall provide a current email address to 
the department on its initial application for licensure. The 
center shall maintain a current email address and notify the 
department immediately upon a change in such email 
address by submitting a change of email address form to 
amend the existing licensing application. All communication 
from the department shall be sent via email to the most 
recent email address provided to the department on the 
center’s current application for licensure or renewal. 

C. Initial Licensing Packet. After the center’s location 
has been established, a completed initial licensing packet 
shall be submitted to the department. 

D. Review of Licensing Packet  
1. If a submitted application is incomplete, the 

department shall notify the applicant of the missing 
information.  

a. ... 
b. If the department does not receive the additional 

information within 21 calendar days of notification, the 
application shall be closed and the application fee shall be 
forfeited. 

c. Once an application has been closed, an applicant 
still interested in obtaining a license must submit a new 
application and application fee, electronically. 

2. If the application is complete, the department will 
notify the applicant and will request the Office of State Fire 
Marshall, city fire (if applicable), Office of Public Health, 
and its academic approval section to make an inspection of

the center, as per their standards. However, it is the 
applicant’s responsibility to obtain these inspections and 
approvals. 

a. Upon receipt of notification that an application is 
complete, the applicant has 45 calendar days in which to 
coordinate an on-site inspection of the center by the 
department.  

b. If the applicant fails to coordinate the inspection 
within 45 calendar days, the application shall be closed and 
the application fee shall be forfeited. 

c. Once an application has been closed, an applicant 
still interested in obtaining a license must submit a new 
application and application fee, electronically. 

E. Initial Licensure. A license shall be issued on a 
completed initial application when the following items have 
been met and written verification has been received by the 
department:  

1. - 3. … 
4. zoning approval/certificate of occupancy, if 

applicable; 
5. academic approval by the department, if it is a type 

III center; 
6. … 
7. licensure inspection verifying compliance with all 

minimum standards; 
8. CCCBC-based determination of eligibility for child 

care purposes from the department for all owners, operators, 
and staff; and 

9. written documentation establishing ownership of 
the center.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 and 17:407.39. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:622 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 41:2104 (October 2015), LR 
44:248 (February 2018), effective March 1, 2018, LR 44: 

§703. Initial Inspection Process 

A. … 
1. If the center in operation is in violation of the law, 

the initial licensing inspection shall not be conducted, the 
application shall be denied, and the department shall pursue 
appropriate legal remedies. 

2. If the initial inspection indicates that an early 
learning center is in compliance with all licensing laws, 
regulations and minimum standards, the department may 
issue a license. 

3. If an initial inspection indicates that an early 
learning center is not in compliance with all minimum 
standards, with the exception of the standards listed in 
Paragraph 4 of this Subsection, the department may deny the 
application. 

4. - 4.c. … 
d.  academic approval by the department, if type III 

center; and 
e. … 

B. Once it has been determined that a center is in 
compliance with all licensing laws, regulations and 
minimum standards, the department shall notify the center of 
its total licensure fee based on its capacity.  

1. - 3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 and 17:407.39. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:623 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 41:2105 (October 2015), LR 
44:248 (February 2018), effective March 1, 2018, LR 44: 

§705. Access 

A. An early learning center shall allow the department 
staff access to the center, the children, all files, records, and 
recordings, upon request at any time during any hours of 
operation or any time a child is present. 

B. Departmental staff shall: 
1. not view video recordings for annual inspections; 
2. only be allowed to view video recordings as part of 

an investigation of a complaint or incident: 
a. in order to view a video recording for a 

complaint or incident, departmental staff shall provide in 
writing information about the complaint or incident, 
including the approximate date, time, location and 
description; 

3. be allowed to interview any center staff personnel 
deemed necessary by the department; 

4. be admitted into a center immediately and without 
delay and shall be given free access to all areas of a center, 
including its grounds; 

5. be permitted to verify that no children are present in 
that portion of the center and that such private areas are 
inaccessible to children if any portion of a center is set aside 
for private use by an owner of the center. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 and 17:407.43. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:623 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 44:248 (February 2018), 
effective March 1, 2018, LR 44: 

§709. Validity of Licenses 

A. - B. … 
C. When a business is sold, discontinued, the operation 

has moved to a new location, or the license has been 
revoked, the existing license immediately becomes null and 
void and the licensee shall surrender the existing license to the 
department. 

D. A new application shall not be processed if an 
application or license is currently on file with the department 
for the same location, with the exception of a change of 
ownership application 

E. - G. … 
H. All new construction or renovation of a center 

requires approval from the Office of State Fire Marshal, the 
Office of Public Health and the department prior to 
occupying the new or renovated space.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6, 17:407.39(C), and 17:407.40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:624 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 42:554 (April 2016), LR 44: 

§711. Renewal Applications 

A. … 
B. An application for renewal of a license shall be 

submitted using the department’s online electronic system.  
C. Each center is solely responsible for timely 

completing the online license renewal application. Notice of 
time for renewal shall not be sent by the department. 

D. … 

E. If a complete renewal application, including the total 
annual licensure fee and all required documentation, is not 
received by the last day of the month in which the license 
expires, the license expires and shall not be renewed.  

F. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6, 17:407.40, and 17:407.43. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:624 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 44: 

§713. Renewal and Other Inspection Procedures 

A. Annual licensing inspections by the department, 
current approvals by the Office of Public Health, Office of 
State Fire Marshal, and city fire (if applicable), and 
academic approval by the department (if type III center) 
shall be required before the expiration of an existing license. 
However, if a center has documentation establishing that the 
center requested an inspection by the Office of Public Health 
or the Office of State Fire Marshal prior to the expiration of 
the existing license, these approvals may be submitted to the 
department within 90 calendar days of the date of the license 
renewal. 

1. Required approvals from these agencies may be 
extended by such authorized agencies through written 
communication with the center or the department. 

2. A renewal inspection by the department is similar 
to the initial licensing inspection. 

a. ... 
B. After initial licensure, inspections shall be conducted 

as deemed necessary by the department at regular intervals 
not to exceed one year, and without notice to the early 
learning center.  

C. The director/director designee/staff-in-charge shall 
have an opportunity to review inspection deficiencies (if 
any) in consultation with departmental staff. 

1. If the director/director designee/staff-in-charge is 
not present at the center or is unable or unwilling to review 
the inspection deficiencies, the departmental staff shall 
review with any staff at the center. 

2. If departmental staff are unable to conduct such a 
review due to the absence or refusal of staff to participate, 
the licensing staff shall leave a copy of the deficiencies at 
the center, and this shall constitute notice of the deficiencies 
to the center and its owners and director. 

D. Licensing Deficiency Review 
1. Managerial Review 

a. A center may submit a written request to the 
department, on a form provided by the department, for a 
managerial review of the accuracy of a cited deficiency or 
the accuracy of a statement within a cited deficiency. The 
written request for a managerial review must be received by 
the department within 10 calendar days of the center’s 
receipt of the cited deficiency. 

1.b. - 2.c. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 and 17:407.40. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:624 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 44:249 (February 2018), 
effective March 1, 2018, LR 44: 
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Chapter 9. Changes Requiring a New License 

§901. Change in Location  

A. - B.1. … 
2. The license at the existing location shall not 

transfer to the temporary location. The existing license shall 
be suspended on the last day care was provided at that 
location.  

3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:407.39 and R.S. 17:6 and 17:407.40. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:625 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 44: 

§905. Change in License Type 

A. To change license type, an early learning center shall 
submit a written request to change its license type and a $25 
change fee using the department’s online electronic system. 

B. Upon receipt of the written request and fee, and 
verification of substantial compliance with the applicable 
licensing regulations, the department shall issue a 
replacement license of the new type to the center and the 
center shall surrender its existing license to the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.36, R.S. 17:6, and 17:407.38-39. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:625 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 42:554 (April 2016), LR 44: 

§907. Notification of Temporary or Permanent Closure 

A. A center shall notify the department in writing of a 
temporary closure (closure of more than 5 calendar days, but 
less than 30 calendar days) within 1 day of closure of the 
center. 

B. The provider shall notify the department in writing of 
a permanent closure of center (closure of more than 30 
calendar days) within 7 calendar days of closure of the 
center. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6, 17:407.39, and 17:407.40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:625 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 44: 

Chapter 11. Operating Violations and Incidents; 

Fines; Appeals 

§1101. Non-Critical Operating Violations 

A. When non-critical violations are identified during an 
on-site inspection, the department may allow the center an 
opportunity to immediately remedy the violation or 
deficiency, if the department determines that allowing such 
remedy does not endanger the health, safety, or well-being of 
any child. The department may consider the remedy as 
acceptable corrective action.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6, 17:407.39, and R.S. 17:407.40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:625 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 44: 

§1103. Critical Incidents and Required Notifications 

A. - B. … 
C. The department and other appropriate agencies shall 

be notified via email within 24 hours of the incident. 
D. The department shall be notified by written report 

within 24 hours of the incident or the next business day. This

written notification shall be made on the department’s 
critical incidents report form and shall contain all 
information requested on the form. 

E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 and 17:407.40. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:625 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 44: 

§1105. Identified Violations and Fines 

A. For violations related to the following licensing 
standards, when such violation does not pose an imminent 
threat to the health, safety, rights, or welfare of a child, the 
department may issue a written warning in lieu of revoking 
or refusing to renew the license: 

1. - 5. … 
B. Where such a violation does not result in the 

revocation of or refusal to renew a license, the department 
shall issue a written warning/notice of violation of the 
standards listed in Subsection A of this Section that shall 
include: 

1. - 2. … 
C. Second Violation or Deficiency. If the CAP is not 

timely implemented or if a second violation related to the 
same standard occurs within a 24-month period and does not 
result in the revocation of or refusal to renew a license, the 
department shall issue a written notice of violation that: 

1. - 3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 and 17:407.46. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:626 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 41:2105 (October 2015), LR 
44:249 (February 2018), effective March 1, 2018, LR 44: 

§1107. Departmental Reconsideration of Assessment of 

Fine 

A. A request for departmental reconsideration of an 
assessment of fine for a violation of the licensing standards 
listed in §1105.A of this Chapter must be received by the 
department within 10 calendar days of the center’s receipt of 
a written notice of assessment of fine. 

B. If a request for departmental reconsideration is not 
timely received by the department, the center shall not have 
any further right to appeal the assessment of fine. 

C. - C.2. … 
3. provide specific reasons as to why the department 

should reconsider the assessment of fine. 
D. The department shall provide notice to a center in 

writing of its decision after reconsidering the assessment of 
fine.  

E. If the department determines that the assessment of 
fine is justified, the department shall provide the center with 
written notice of the decision that includes notice of the 
center’s right to request an appeal to the Division of 
Administrative Law (DAL) within 15 calendar days of 
receipt of said notice and the procedures for requesting an 
appeal.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 17:6 
and 17:407.46. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:626 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 44: 
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§1109. Administrative Appeal of Assessment of Fine 

A. A written request for an appeal to the Division of 
Administrative Law (DAL) of a civil fine for a violation of 
the licensing standards listed in §1105.A of this Chapter 
must be received by the department within 15 calendar days 
of the center’s receipt of notice of the department’s decision 
upon reconsideration. 

B. - B.1. … 
2. a copy of the decision from the department upon 

reconsideration; and 
3. the specific reasons the center believes the decision 

of the department was reached in error. 
C. The department shall notify the DAL of an appeal 

request within 10 calendar days of receipt of the request.  
D. - F. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 and 17:407.46. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:626 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 44: 

§1111. Payment of Fines 

A. … 
B. If the department notifies a center that its decision 

upon reconsideration is that the original decision is justified, 
the fine remains due within 30 calendar days of the original 
notice of assessment of fines or within 14 calendar days of 
notice of the decision upon reconsideration, whichever is 
later, unless the center timely submits a request for an 
administrative appeal to the department. 

C. - E.1. … 
2. the department shall refer uncollected fines to the 

Office of the Attorney General for collection, and the 
organization owing the fine shall be assessed, and shall be 
required to pay, the additional collection fee assessed by the 
Office of the Attorney General; 

3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 and 17:407.46. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:626 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 41:2105 (October 2015), LR 
44: 

Chapter 13. Denial, Revocation, or Non-Renewal of 

License 

§1301. Reasons for Denial, Revocation, or Refusal to 

Renew 

A. - A.4. … 
5. failure to timely comply with a corrective action 

plan approved by the department; 
6. - 7. …  
8. denial of center access to departmental staff or 

failure or refusal to cooperate with department staff in the 
performance of official duties; 

9. - 18. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 and 17:407.44. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:627 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 41:2105 (October 2015), LR 
44:249 (February 2018), effective March 1, 2018, LR 44: 

§1303. Notice of Denial, Revocation, or Refusal to 

Renew 

A. The department shall provide written notice to a 
center of its reasons for the denial of an application for 
licensure or the revocation of or refusal to renew a license 
and of the right to appeal the decision to the Division of 
Administrative Law (DAL). 

B. The denial, revocation or refusal to renew shall be 
effective when notice is given and the center shall surrender 
its existing license to the department.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 and 17:407.44. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:627 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 41:2105 (October 2015), LR 
42:554 (April 2016), LR 44: 

§1305. Posting of Notice of Revocation 

A. The department shall prominently post notice of a 
revocation action at each public entrance of the center within 
one business day of such action. 

B. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 and 17:407.44. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:627 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 44: 

§1307. Appeal of Denial, Revocation, or Refusal to 

Renew 

A. A center has 15 calendar days to request an appeal of 
the denial of its application for licensure and 15 calendar 
days to request an appeal of the revocation of or the refusal 
to renew its license.  

B. The department must receive a written request for an 
appeal within 15 calendar days of the center’s receipt of 
notice of the denial of its application and within 15 calendar 
days of the center’s receipt of notice of revocation of or 
refusal to renew its license. 

C. A center may continue to operate during the appeals 
unless the department determines that the health, safety or 
welfare of children in care imperatively requires immediate 
closure of the center and incorporates that finding in its 
notice of revocation. 

1. If a center with a revoked license is continuing to 
operate during its appeals process, and the department 
determines that the health, safety, or welfare of the children 
in care is at risk due to continuing violations of licensing 
standards and minimum requirements or the occurrence of a 
critical incident, the department may require immediate 
closure of the center by providing written notice of required 
immediate closure that includes notice of the continuing 
violations of licensing standards and minimum requirements 
or the occurrence of a critical incident. There shall be no 
appeal of the required immediate closure, but the appeal of 
the revocation of the license shall continue. If the decision to 
revoke the center’s license is not upheld in the pending 
appeal, the center may reopen upon receipt of notice of such 
a decision. 

D. A request for an appeal submitted to the department 
shall include: 

1. - 2. … 
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E. The department shall notify the Division of 
Administrative Law (DAL) within 10 calendar of receipt of 
a timely request for an appeal of the denial of an application 
or the revocation of or refusal to renew a license. 

F. … 
G. If the DAL affirms the decision of the department, or 

if the appeal is dismissed, the center shall terminate 
operations immediately. 

H. The department shall have the right to seek judicial 
review of any final decision or order rendered by DAL in 
any appeal hearing arising under this Chapter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 and 17:407.45. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:627 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 41:2106 (October 2015), LR 
42:554 (April 2016), LR 44:249 (February 2018), effective March 
1, 2018, LR 44: 

§1309. Disqualification Period Following Revocation or 

Refusal to Renew 

A. - B.2. … 
C. Any unlicensed operation during the disqualification 

period shall interrupt running of the 24-month prescriptive 
period until the department has verification that the 
unlicensed operations have ceased. 

D. - F. … 
G. If an applicant has a history of non-compliance with 

licensing laws, regulations or minimum standards, including 
but not limited operating without a license, or has been 
denied one or more previous applications for licensure, the 
department may refuse to accept a subsequent application 
from the applicant for the minimum disqualification period 
after the effective date of the most recent adverse action. 

H. - H.1.e. … 
I. If a license is revoked due solely to the disapproval 

from any agency whose approval is required for licensure, or 
due solely to the center being closed and with no immediate 
plans for re-opening within 30 calendar days and with no 
means for the department to verify compliance with 
minimum standards for licensure, the disqualification period 
may be partially or totally waived at the discretion of the 
department. 

1. The department may accept a subsequent 
application for a license that shall be reviewed by the 
department prior to a decision being made to grant a license. 

2. The department reserves the right to determine, at 
its sole discretion, whether to issue any subsequent license. 

J. - J.1. … 
2. The department, at its sole discretion, may 

determine if a longer period of disqualification is warranted 
based upon the facts of each case.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6, 17:407.44, and 17:407.45. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:628 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 44: 

§1311. Licensure Process Following Disqualification 

Period 

A. Only centers and affiliates that have completed the 
24-month disqualification period and/or other 
disqualification sanctions imposed by the department, may 
apply for a new license in accordance with this bulletin. 

B. Any application for a new license submitted after the 
minimum disqualification period shall be reviewed by the 
department for any unresolved matters pertaining to the 
disqualification prior to making a determination to grant a 
license. The right to deny a subsequent application for 
licensure rests solely in the discretion of the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17.6, R.S. 17:407.44, and R.S. 17:407.45. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:628 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 44: 

Chapter 15. Minimum General Requirements and 

Standards 

§1507. Daily Attendance Records 

A. - B.3. … 
C. Independent Contractors. A daily attendance record 

for all extracurricular personnel, therapeutic professionals 
and other independent contractors, to include the first and 
last name of the contractor, date of visit, arrival and 
departure times, name of staff member that accompanied 
contractor (if required), and purpose of the visit. 

D. - E. ... 
F. Daily attendance records shall be maintained on site 

for three years. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 and 17:407.40. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:629 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 44: 

§1509. Policies 

A. An early learning center shall establish in writing, 
prominently post or show parent’s signature of receipt, and 
implement the following policies and minimum provisions 
of such policies: 

1. - 3. … 
4. disclosure of information policy that provides 

notice to parents of the licensing authority of the department 
and the availability of licensing surveys/inspections, 
regulations and information regarding early learning centers 
from the department’s website; 

5. complaint policy: 
a. parents shall be advised of the licensing authority 

of the department along with the current telephone number 
and email address. Parents shall also be advised that they 
may call or write the department should they have 
significant, unresolved licensing complaints; 

6. - 9. … 
a. electronic device activities for children under age 

two are prohibited; and 
b. time allowed for electronic device activities for 

children ages two and above shall not exceed two hours per 
day, with the exception that television, DVD, or video 
viewing shall be limited to no more than one hour per day; 

10. - 12.d. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 and 17:407.40(A)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:629 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 44:250 (February 2018), 
effective March 1, 2018, LR 44: 

§1511. Procedures 

A. An early learning center shall establish in writing and 
implement procedures for: 
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1. physical activity: 
a. children under age two shall be provided time 

and space for age-appropriate physical activity, both indoors 
and outdoors, weather permitting, for a minimum of 60 
minutes per day; 

b. children age two and older shall be provided 
physical activity that includes a combination of both teacher- 
led and free play, both indoors and outdoors, weather 
permitting, for a minimum of 60 minutes per day; 

2. - 3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 and 17:407.40(A)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:630 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 41:2106 (October 2015), LR 
44: 

Chapter 17. Minimum Staffing Requirements and 

Standards 

§1707. Required Staff 

A. Director or Director Designee. Each center shall have 
a qualified director or qualified director designee. 

1. The director or director designee shall be an on-site, 
full-time staff person at the center during the daytime hours 
of operation (prior to 9 p.m.). When the director is not an on-
site full-time employee at the licensed location, there shall 
be a qualified director designee who is an on-site full-time 
employee at the licensed location. 

2. … 
B. Staff-in-Charge. When the director or director 

designee is not on the premises due to a temporary absence 
of less than 11 consecutive business days, or during 
nighttime care hours, there shall be an individual appointed 
as staff-in-charge. 

B.1. - D.2. … 
3. Repealed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 and 17:407.40(A)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:633 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 41:2107 (October 2015), LR 
44:. 

§1709. Director Qualifications 

A. … 
B. The director/director designee shall have 

documentation of at least one of the following upon date of 
hire as director or director designee: 

1. an early childhood ancillary certificate and one year 
of experience in teaching or care in a licensed early learning 
center or comparable setting, subject to approval by the 
department; 

2. a national administrator credential and one year 
experience in teaching or care in a licensed early learning 
center, or comparable setting, plus 6 credit hours or 90 clock 
hours of training in child care, child development, early 
childhood, or management/administration, subject to 
approval by the department; or 

3. three years of experience as a director or staff in a 
licensed early learning center, or comparable setting, subject 
to approval by the department plus 6 credit hours or 90 clock 
hours of training in child care, child development, early 
childhood, or management/administration approved by the 
department. 

C. A director who was qualified on the director’s date of 
hire remains qualified as long as the director remains 
continuously employed at the licensed center or at another 
licensed center without a break in service of more than 90 
days. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 and 17:407.40(A)(1) and (3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:633 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 44:250 (February 2018), 
effective March 1, 2018, LR 44: 

§1711. Child-to-Staff Minimum Ratios 

A. - B.2. … 
C. The department's form noting required child-to-staff 

ratios shall be posted in each room included in the center’s 
licensed capacity. 

D. Minimum child-to-staff ratios for type II and type III 
centers are as follows. 

 

Minimum Child-to-Staff Ratios—Types II and III Centers 

Ages of Children Ratio 

Infants under 1 year 5:1 

1 year 7:1 

2 years 11:1 

3 years 13:1 

4 years 15:1 

5 years 19:1 

6 years and up 23:1 

 
E. Future Minimum Child-to-Staff Ratios for Two-Year-

Olds in Type I, Type II, and Type III Centers. If the 
Louisiana Child Care Assistance Program subsidy rate 
reaches the seventy-fifth percentile of the 2017 Louisiana 
child care market rate survey for weekday care of toddlers 
by December 1, 2021, the child-to-staff ratio for two-year-
olds shall decrease to 10:1 as of July 1, 2022. 

F. Minimum Child-to-Staff Ratios—Type I Centers 
1. Minimum child-to-staff ratios for type I centers 

shall be in accordance with Paragraph 2 of this Subsection 
until July 1, 2020, at which time minimum child-to-staff 
ratios for children ages 3 and up shall be the same for type I 
centers as those provided for in Subsection D of this Section 
for type II and type III centers.  

2. Minimum child-to-staff ratios for children ages 2 
and under for type I centers shall be the following until July 
1, 2021, at which time minimum child-to-staff ratios for 
children ages 2 and under shall be the same for type I centers 
as those provided for in Subsection D of this Section for type 
II and type III centers. 

 

Minimum Child-to-Staff Ratios—Types II and III Centers 

(Effective until July 1, 2021) 

Ages of Children Ratio 

Infants under 1 year 6:1 

1 year 8:1 

2 years 12:1 

3 years 14:1 

4 years 16:1 

5 years 20:1 

6 years and up 25:1 

 
G. - M. … 
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N. Maximum Group Sizes—Types I, II, and III Centers 
1. Maximum group sizes for type II and type III 

centers are as follows. 
 

Maximum Group Sizes—Types II and III Centers 

Age of Children Maximum Group Size 

Infants under 1 year 15 

1 year 21 

2 years 22 

3 years 26 

4 years 30 

5 years 38 

6 years and up 46 

 
2. Type I Centers 

a. Maximum group sizes for type I centers shall be 
in accordance with Subparagraph b of this Paragraph until 
July 1, 2020, at which time maximum group sizes for type I 
centers for children ages 3 and up shall be the same as those 
provided for in Paragraph 1 of this Subsection for type II and 
type III centers. 

b. Maximum group sizes for type I centers for 
children ages 2 and under shall be the following until July 1, 
2021, at which time maximum group size for children ages 2 
and under shall be the same for type I centers as those 
provided for in Paragraph 1 of this Subsection for type II and 
type III centers. 

 

Maximum Group Sizes—Type I Centers 

(Effective until July 1, 2021) 

Age of Children Maximum Group Size 

Infants under 1 year 18 

1 year 24 

2 years 24 

3 years 28 

4 years 32 

5 years 40 

6 years and up 50 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 and 17:407.40(A)(3). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:633 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 43:638 (April 2017), LR 
44:250 (February 2018), effective March 1, 2018, LR 44: 

§1715. Staff Records and Personnel Files 

A. Staff Members. Personnel files for each staff member 
shall be maintained at the center and shall include the 
following: 

1. an application or staff information form containing 
the following information: 

a. name; 
b. date of birth; 
c. home address and phone number; 
d. training, 
e. work experience; 
f. educational background; 
g. hire date; and 
h. first day onsite working with children; 

A.2. - B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 and 17:407.40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:635 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 44:251 (February 2018), 
effective March 1, 2018, LR 44: 

§1717. Records for Independent Contractors and 

Student Trainees 

A. Independent Contractors. The following information 
shall be maintained for all independent contractors 
including, but not limited to, therapeutic professionals, 
extracurricular personnel, contracted transportation drivers, 
local school district staff, and departmental staff other than 
those responsible for inspecting centers: 

A.1. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6, 17:407.40(A)(1), 17:407:40, and 17:407.42. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:635 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 44:251 (February 2018), 
effective March 1, 2018, LR 44: 

§1719. Orientation Training 

A. Within seven calendar days of the first day present at 
the center, and prior to assuming sole responsibility for any 
children, each staff member shall receive orientation to the 
policies and practices of the center that at a minimum shall 
include: 

A.1. - C.5. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 and 17:407.40(A)(1) and (3). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:635 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 42:555 (April 2016), LR 44: 

§1721. Continuing Education 

A. - B. … 
C. Continuing education for all types of centers shall be 

conducted by trainers approved by the department. The 
department shall keep a registry of approved trainers. 

D. - D.10. … 
11. management/administrative education; or 

D.12. - H. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 and 17:407.40(A)(1) and (3). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:636 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 41:2108 (October 2015), LR 
42:555 (April 2016), LR 44:251 (February 2018), effective March 
1, 2018, LR 44: 

§1723. CPR and First Aid Certifications 

A. Infant and Child CPR. Fifty percent of staff members 
on the premises of a center and accessible to children, or at 
least four staff members on the premises and accessible to 
children, whichever is less, shall have current certification in 
infant and child CPR through training approved by the 
department. 

B. Adult CPR. Fifty percent of staff members on the 
premises of a center and accessible to children, or at least 
four staff members on the premises and accessible to 
children, whichever is less, shall have current certification in 
adult CPR through training approved by the department. 

C. Pediatric First Aid. Fifty percent of staff members on 
the premises of a center and accessible to children, or at least 
four staff members on the premises and accessible to
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children, whichever is less, shall have current certification in 
pediatric first aid through training approved by the 
department. 

D. When a center has more than one building, each 
building shall have at least one staff member present at all 
times certified in the CPR and first aid appropriate for the 
age of the children present in the building. 

E. Certification. A copy of the certification for each such 
staff member shall be on-site at all times and available for 
inspection by the department. 

F. First Responder. Staff members who maintain current 
certification as a first responder are considered to have 
current certification in CPR and pediatric first aid. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 and 17:407.40(A)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:636 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 44:251 (February 2018), 
effective March 1, 2018, LR 44: 

§1725. Medication Management Training 

A. ... 
B. Whether the center is administering medication or 

not, each early learning center shall have at least two staff 
members trained in medication administration and at least 
one trained staff member on the premises during the hours of 
operation. A staff member who is a licensed practical nurse 
(LPN) or registered nurse (RN) with a valid nursing license 
shall be considered to have medication administration 
training. 

C. ... 
D. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 and 17:407.40(A)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:636 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 44:251 (February 2018), 
effective March 1, 2018, LR 44: 

Chapter 18. Child Care Criminal Background Checks 

(CCCBC) 

§1805. Persons Ineligible for Child Care Purposes 

A. - C. ... 
D. In addition, for type III centers an owner, director, or 

director designee shall not have been convicted of, or pled 
guilty or nolo contendere to a felony, within the past 10 
years, for any of the following crimes of fraud: 

1. 18 USC 287 and 1341 and R.S. 14:67.11, R.S. 
14:68.2, R.S. 14:70.1, R.S. 14:70.4, R.S. 14:70.5, R.S. 
14:70.7, R.S. 14:70.8, R.S. 14:71, R.S. 14:71.1, R.S. 
14:71.3, R.S. 14:72, R.S. 14:72.1.1, R.S. 14:72.4, R.S. 
14:73.5, and R.S. 14:133. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 45 
CFR 98.43 and R.S. 15:587.1, 17:6, and 407.42. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 44:252 (February 2018), 
effective March 1, 2018, amended LR 44: 

§1807. CCCBC-Based Determinations of Eligibility for 

Child Care Purposes Required for Owners, 

Volunteers, Staff, Visitors and Contractors of 

Early Learning Centers 

A. Owners. An early learning center shall obtain a 
CCCBC-based determination of eligibility for child care 
purposes from the department for each owner prior to 
submitting an initial application for licensure and shall 
provide documentation of said determination for each owner 

with an initial application for licensure. The center shall 
have documentation of said determinations available at all 
times for inspection upon request by the department. 

1. - 2. … 
B. Volunteers and Staff. An early learning center shall 

obtain a CCCBC-based determination of eligibility for child 
care purposes from the department for each volunteer, staff 
member, or employee of any kind, and shall have 
documentation of said determination available at all times 
for inspection upon request by the department. 

C. Visitors and Contractors. An early learning center 
shall obtain a CCCBC-based determination of eligibility for 
child care purposes from the department for each visitor or 
independent contractor of any kind, and shall have 
documentation of said determination available at all times 
for inspection upon request by the department, unless the 
visitor or independent contractor, other than a therapeutic 

professional as defined in §103 of this Part, will be 
accompanied at all times while at the center when children 
are present, by an adult staff member who is not being 
counted in child-to-staff ratios. The center shall have 
documentation of said determination of eligibility, or 
documentation of the accompanying staff member, available 
at all times for inspection upon request by the department. 

C.1. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 45 

CFR 98.43 and R.S. 15:587.1, 17.6, and 17:407.42. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 44:252 (February 2018), 
effective March 1, 2018, amended LR 44: 

Chapter 19. Minimum Health, Safety, and 

Environmental Requirements and 

Standards 

§1901. General Safety 

A. - E. … 
F. The owner or director of an early learning center shall 

immediately notify law enforcement personnel and the 
department verbally if there is a known registered sex 
offender on the premises of the center. The verbal report 
shall be followed by a written report to the department 
within 24 hours. 

G. - R. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 and 17:407.40(A)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:636 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 42:555 (April 2016), LR 44: 

§1915. Health Services 

A. - E. … 
F. Influenza Information. Centers shall provide each 

parent information concerning influenza immunization by 
November 1 of each year. The department shall provide 
information about influenza annually to each licensed center. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 and 17:407.40(A)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:639 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, LR 44: 

§1919. Food Service and Nutrition 

A. All meals and snacks provided by the center, and their 
preparation, service and storage, shall meet the requirements 
for meals of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) 
Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP), 7 CFR 
226.20, and LAC 51:XXIII. 
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B. - D.5. … 
E. Parents shall be allowed to provide breast milk or 

provided space to breastfeed their child on site. 
F. - J. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 and 17:407.40(A)(4). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:640 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 44:257 (February 2018), 
effective March 1, 2018, LR 44: 

§1921. Emergency Preparedness and Evacuation 

Planning 

A. - A.2. … 
3. include specific procedures for handling infants 

through two year olds, including food and formula; 
A.4. - C.5. … 

6. a battery-powered flashlight and radio and batteries 
or a crank flashlight and radio; and 

7. disposable cups and bottled water. 
D. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 and 17:407.40(A)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:641 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 41:2108 (October 2015), LR 
42:2173 (December 2016), LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 953 and 974 of title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 973 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Poverty Impact 
Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, amendment, or 
repeal. All Poverty Impact Statements shall be in writing and 
kept on file in the state agency which has adopted, amended, 
or repealed a Rule in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the law relating to public records. For the 
purposes of this section, the word “poverty” means living at 
or below 100 percent of the federal poverty line. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the household 
income, assets, and financial security? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect early childhood 
development and preschool through postsecondary education 
development? Yes. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect employment and 
workforce development? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect taxes and tax credits? 
No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect child and dependent 
care, housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, and 
utilities assistance? No. 

Small Business Analysis 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule should not have any known or 
foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there should 
be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the staffing level requirements or qualifications 
required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or 

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 12 p.m., August 9, 2018, to Shan N. Davis, 
Executive Director, Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education, P.O. Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, 
LA 70804-9064. Written comments may also be hand-
delivered to Shan Davis, Executive Director, Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, Suite 5-190, 1201 
North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802 and must be 
date stamped by the BESE office on the date received. 
Public comments must be dated and include the original 
signature of the person submitting the comments. 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 137―Louisiana Early Learning 

Center Licensing Regulations 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There are no estimated costs or savings to state or local 

governmental units as a result of this proposed revision. 
Proposed changes establish consistent child to staff ratios 

and group sizes for all licensed early learning centers; align 
Director Requirements with the new Ancillary Teaching 
Certificate; ensure that video recordings are reviewed in 
response to investigations of specific complaints or incidents; 
allow more flexibility for obtaining necessary approvals from 
Department of Health and Fire Marshal; align screen time with 
new recommendations from the American Academy of
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Pediatrics; and establish consistent age requirements for staff to 
be a minimum of 17 years old.  The revisions also limit crimes 
of fraud to felonies within the past 10 years for owners, 
directors and director-designees of Type III centers. The 
revisions also provide for a BESE review for these crimes if the 
conviction was less than 10 years ago. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed policy revisions will have no effect on 

revenue collections of state or local governmental units. 
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There may be costs to early child care centers to meet the 
revisions to staffing requirements and ratios.  The requirement 
for qualified director designees to be on-site, full-time 
employees when the director is not may require centers to 
increase full-time staff.  Additionally, the alignment of child to 
staff ratios for Type I centers beginning July 1, 2020 and July 
1, 2021 may require staff increases for those centers to meet the 
new requirements. However, the extent of such impacts is 
indeterminable at this time. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There may be increased demand for qualified staff as a 
result of the changes in staff requirements for certain centers, 
however, the extent of such impacts is indeterminable at this 
time.   

 
Beth Scioneaux Evan Brasseaux 
Deputy Superintendent Staff Director 
1807#060 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators—Curriculum and Instruction 

(LAC 28:CXV.Chapter 23) 

In accordance with R.S. 17:6 and R.S. 49:950, the 
Administrative Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the 
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement to revise Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook 

for School Administrators. The proposed revisions pertain to 
diploma requirements, personal financial literacy, and 
technical edits. 

Title 28 

EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook for 

School Administrators 

Chapter 23. Curriculum and Instruction 

Subchapter A. Standards and Curricula 

§2305. Ancillary Areas of Instruction 

A. … 
B. Each public school student shall receive age- and 

grade-appropriate instruction in personal financial 
management based on the concept of achieving financial 
literacy through the teaching of personal management skills 
and the basic principles involved with income, money 
management, spending and credit, and saving and investing. 
Such instruction may be integrated into an existing course of 
study. 

C. - K.1.b. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6, 17:154, 17:261 et seq., 17:270, 17:280, 17:281 et seq., 
17:404, 17:405 et seq., 17:263, and 17:81 and 36 USC §106. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1288 (June 2005), 
amended LR 33:2353 (November 2007), LR 39:2214 (August 
2013), LR 39:3259 (December 2013), LR 40:2531 (December 
2014), LR 44: 

§2318. The TOPS University Diploma 
A. - C.3.b.iv.(l). … 

(m). probability and statistics;  
(n). AP computer science A; or 
(o). statistical reasoning. 

c. - c.iii.(a). … 
(b). one of: 

 (i). environmental science; 
 (ii). environmental awareness; 

(c). one of: 
 (i). physical science; 
 (ii). principles of engineering; 

c.iii.(d). - d.iii.(b).(iii). … 
 (iv). physical geography; 

d.iii.(c). - f.x. … 
 xi. digital design (§2338); 

C.3.g. - D.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6, 17:7, 17:24.4, 17:183.2, and 17:395. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1291 (June 2005), 
amended LR 31:2211 (September 2005), LR 31:3070 (December 
2005), LR 31:3072 (December 2005), LR 32:1414 (August 2006), 
LR 33:429 (March 2007), LR 33:432 (March 2007), LR 33:2050 
(October 2007), LR 33:2354 (November 2007), LR 33:2601 
(December 2007), LR 34:1607 (August 2008), LR 36:1486 (July 
2010), LR 37:547 (February 2011), LR 37:1128 (April 2011), LR 
37:2129 (July 2011), LR 37:2132 (July 2011), LR 37:3193 
(November 2011), LR 38:754, 761 (March 2012), LR 38:1001 
(April 2012), LR 38:1584 (July 2012), LR 40:994 (May 2014), LR 
40:1328 (July 2014), LR 40:1679 (September 2014), LR 40:2525 
(December 2014), LR 41:915 (May 2015), LR 41:1482 (August 
2015), LR 41:2126 (October 2015), LR 42:232 (February 2016), 
LR 42:1062 (July 2016), LR 42:1878 (November 2016), LR 
42:2176 (December 2016), LR 43:1287 (July 2017), LR 43:2132 
(November 2017), LR 43:2483 (December 2017), LR 44:263 
(February 2018), LR 44: 

§2319. The Career Diploma 

A - C.2.b.ii.(i). … 
(j). probability and statistics;  
(k). statistical reasoning; 
(l). transition to college mathematics; or 
(m). comparable Louisiana technical college 

courses offered by Jump Start regional teams as approved by 
BESE; 

(n). integrated mathematics I, II, and III may 
be substituted for algebra I, geometry, and algebra II and 
shall count as three math credits; 

2.c. - 4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6, 17:7, 17:24.4, 17:183.2, 17:183.3, 17:274, 17:274.1, and 
17:395. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1291 (June 2005), 
amended LR 31:2211 (September 2005), LR 31:3070 (December 
2005), LR 31:3072 (December 2005), LR 32:1414 (August 2006), 
LR 33:429 (March 2007), LR 33:432 (March 2007), LR 33:2050
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(October 2007), LR 33:2354 (November 2007), LR 33:2601 
(December 2007), LR 34:1607 (August 2008), LR 35:1230 (July 
2009), LR 35:1876 (September 2009), LR 35:2321 (November 
2009), LR 35:2750 (December 2009), LR 36:1490 (July 2010), LR 
37:548 (February 2011), LR 37:1130 (April 2011), LR 37:2130 
(July 2011), LR 37:3197 (November 2011), LR 38:761 (March 
2012), LR 38:1005 (April 2012), LR 40:2522 (December 2014), 
LR 41:1482 (August 2015), LR 41:2594 (December 2015), LR 
42:232 (February 2016), LR 43:1287 (July 2017), LR 43:2132 
(November 2017), LR 43:2484 (December 2017), LR 44: 

Subchapter B. Academic Programs of Study 

§2338. Digital Design 

A. Digital design course offerings shall be as follows. 
 

Digital Design Courses 

Course Title(s) Units 

Engineering Design and Development 1 

Digital Story Telling 1 

Sound Design 1 

Digital Image and Motion Graphics 1 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6, 17:7 and 17:24.4. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 44: 

§2353. Mathematics 

A. The mathematics course offerings for the college 
diploma shall be as follows. 

 

Mathematics Courses—College Diploma 

Course Title(s) Units 

* * * 

Math Essentials 1 

Statistical Reasoning 1 

AP Calculus BC 1 

* * * 

 
B. The mathematics course offerings for the career 

diploma shall be as follows. 
 

Mathematics Courses—Career Diploma 

Course Title(s) Units 

* * * 

Math Essentials 1 

Statistical Reasoning 1 

Transition to College Mathematics 1 

Course(s) developed by the LEA and approved by BESE 1 

 
C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6, 17:7 and 17:24.4. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1296 (June 2005), 
amended LR 33:2605 (December 2007), LR 34:1609 (August 
2008), LR 35:2322 (November 2009), LR 36:1493 (July 2010), LR 
38:760 (March 2012), LR 40:999 (May 2014), LR 40:2527 
(December 2014), LR 42:1063 (July 2016), LR 43:2134 
(November 2017), LR 44: 

§2361. Science 

A. The science course offerings for the college diploma 
shall be as follows. 

 

Science Courses—College Diploma 

Course Title(s) Units 

* * * 

Environmental Science 1 

Environmental Awareness 1 

Science Courses—College Diploma 

Course Title(s) Units 

Integrated Science 1 

Physical Science 1 

Principles of Engineering 1 

Physics I, II 1 each 

* * * 

 
B. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6, 17:7, and 17:24.4. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1297 (June 2005), 
amended LR 33:2605 (December 2007), LR 36:1494 (July 2010), 
LR 40:1000 (May 2014), LR 40:2528 (December 2014), LR 
43:1288 (July 2017), LR 44: 

§2363. Social Studies 

A. The social studies course offerings for the college 
diploma shall be as follows. 

 

Social Studies Courses—College Diploma 

Course Title(s) Units 

* * * 

Sociology 1 

World Geography 1 

Physical Geography 1 

AP European History 1 

* * * 

 
B. - E.2.c. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6, 17:7, 17:24.4, 17:183.3, 17:274, 17:274.1, and 17:274-274.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1298 (June 2005), 
amended LR 31:3072 (December 2005), LR 33:431 (March 2007), 
LR 33:2606 (December 2007), LR 36:1495 (July 2010), LR 
37:1131 (April 2011), LR 40:1000 (May 2014), LR 40:2529 
(December 2014), LR 41:2595 (December 2015), LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 953 and 974 of title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 973 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Poverty Impact 
Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, amendment, or 
repeal. All Poverty Impact Statements shall be in writing and 
kept on file in the state agency which has adopted, amended, 
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or repealed a Rule in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the law relating to public records. For the 
purposes of this section, the word “poverty” means living at 
or below 100 percent of the federal poverty line. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the household 
income, assets, and financial security? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect early childhood 
development and preschool through postsecondary education 
development? Yes. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect employment and 
workforce development? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect taxes and tax credits? 
No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect child and dependent 
care, housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, and 
utilities assistance? No. 

Small Business Analysis 

The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 
defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there should 
be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or 

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until noon, August 9, 2018, to Shan N. Davis, 
Executive Director, Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education, P.O. Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, 
LA 70804-9064. Written comments may also be hand-
delivered to Shan Davis, Executive Director, Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, Suite 5-190, 1201 
North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802 and must be 
date stamped by the BESE office on the date received. 
Public comments must be dated and include the original 
signature of the person submitting the comments. 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook for 

School Administrators—Curriculum and Instruction 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There is no anticipated direct material effect on 

governmental expenditures as a result of the proposed changes.  

The revisions create course equivalencies for science, 
technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) coursework 
for both the TOPS University and Career Diplomas.  

Additionally, the proposed revisions align current policy 
with Act 154 of the 2018 Regular Legislative Session, related 
to instruction in personal financial literacy.  Current law 
requires the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education to 
establish and maintain a clearinghouse for instructional 
materials and information regarding model financial education 
programs and best practices.  To the extent traditional public 
schools are not currently providing this instruction, there may 
be increases to provide the instruction as required in proposed 
changes. However, these increases are not expected to be 
significant as materials may be obtained from the Department 
of Education and the curriculum may be incorporated into 
existing instruction. Such increases would be funded using state 
MFP funding and local revenues. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed policy revisions will have no effect on 
revenue collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

To the extent public charter schools are not currently 
providing this instruction, there may be increases to provide the 
instruction as required in proposed changes. However, these 
increases are not expected to be significant as materials may be 
obtained from the Department of Education and the curriculum 
may be incorporated into existing instruction. Such increases 
would be funded using state MFP funding and local revenues. 

Students pursuing the pathways outlined in the proposed 
policy will be positively affected by the enhanced STEM-
related learning opportunities.  Financial literacy instruction 
will further serve to ensure students are prepared to enter the 
workforce with the ability to manage their finances. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There are no estimated impacts to competition and 
employment. 

 
Beth Scioneaux Evan Brasseaux 
Deputy Superintendent Staff Director 
1807#061 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Regents 

Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Scholarship/Grant Programs—2018 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature and TOPS Core Curriculum 
Equivalents (LAC 28:IV.509, 703, 803, and 2113) 

The Louisiana Board of Regents announces its intention to 
amend and re-promulgate the rules of the Scholarship/Grant 
programs [R.S. 17:3021-3025, R.S. 3041.10-3041.15, R.S. 
17:3042.1.1-3042.8, R.S. 17:5001 et seq., and R.S. 
56:797.D(2)]. 

This rulemaking implements Act 671 of the 2018 Regular 
Session of the Louisiana Legislature. In addition, it adds the 
following TOPS core curriculum equivalents: Statistical 
Reasoning, Principals of Engineering, Digital Image and 
Motion Graphics, Digital Storytelling, Engineering Design 
and Development. It also adds Sound Design as an 
equivalent to Math to the TOPS Tech core curriculum. 
(SG18182NI) 
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Title 28 

EDUCATION 

Part IV.  Student Financial Assistance―Higher 

Education Scholarship and Grant Programs 

Chapter 5. Applications, Federal Grant Aid and ACT 

Test 

§509. ACT Testing Deadline 

A.1. The student must take the official ACT test (including 
national, international, military or special test types) on or 
before the official April test date in the academic year (high 
school) in which the student graduates or completes a home 
study program approved by BESE. 

2. A student may submit a request for exception to the 
deadline established in §509.A.1, which will be considered 
only under the following circumstances: 

a. the student was prevented from taking the ACT 
test on or prior to the official April test date due to 
circumstances beyond his control and which are attributable 
to the administration of the test; and 

b. the student achieves a qualifying score on or 
before August 1 of the year of the student’s high school 
graduation. 

c. the award for a student whose request for 
exception is approved under this Section shall not be 
reduced as set forth in §509.C. 

d. except for an applicant who has qualified for a 
TOPS-Tech Award on or prior to the April national ACT test 
date, an applicant will not be allowed to use a test score 
obtained after the April national ACT test date to upgrade a 
TOPS Award. 

3. An eligible non-graduate must take the official ACT 
test (including national, international, military or special test 
types) before the first day of the semester the student first 
enrolls in an eligible college or university. 

B.1. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3031, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:5001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 26:1995 (September 2000), amended LR 26:2000 (September 
2000), LR 27:36 (January 2001), LR 27:284 (March 2001), 
repromulgated LR 27:1847 (November 2001), amended LR 
30:1161 (June 2004), LR 31:37 (January 2005), LR 38:3157 
(December 2012), amended by the Board of Regents, Office of 
Student Financial Assistance, LR 44:503 (March 2018), LR 44: 

Chapter 7. Taylor Opportunity Program for Students 

(TOPS) Opportunity, Performance, and 

Honors Awards 

§703. Establishing Eligibility 

A. - A.5.a.i.(f). … 

* * * 
 (g). beginning with the graduates of academic year 
(high school) 2017-2018, at the time of high school 
graduation, an applicant must have successfully completed 
19 units of high school course work that constitutes a core 
curriculum and is documented on the student's official 
transcript as approved by the Louisiana Department of 
Education as follows. 
 

Units Course 

English - 4 Units 

1 English I 

1 English II 

1 English III, AP English Language Arts and Composition, or 
IB English III (Language A or Literature and Performance) 

1 English IV, AP English Literature and Composition, or IB 
English IV (Language A or Literature and Performance) 

Math - 4 Units 

1 Algebra I  

1 Geometry 

1 Algebra II 

1 One unit from:  
Algebra III;  
Advanced Math- Functions and Statistics, Advanced Math-
Pre-Calculus, Pre-Calculus, or Math Methods I IB 
(Mathematical Studies SL); 
Calculus, AP Calculus AB, or Math Methods II IB 
(Mathematics SL); 
AP Calculus BC; Probability and Statistics or AP Statistics; 
IB Further Mathematics HL; 
IB Mathematics HL 

Science - 4 Units 

1 Biology I 

1 Chemistry I 

2 Two units from: 
Earth Science;  
Environmental Science;  
Physical Science;  
Agriscience I and Agriscience II (one unit combined); 
Chemistry II or AP Chemistry or IB Chemistry II; 
AP Environmental Science or IB Environmental Systems; 
Physics I, AP Physics I, AP Physics B, or IB Physics I; 
AP Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism, AP Physics C: 
Mechanics, IB Physics II, or AP Physics II; 
Biology II or AP Biology or IB Biology II 

Social Studies - 4 Units 

1 U.S. History or AP U.S. History or IB U.S. History 

1 Civics, Government, AP US Government and Politics: 
Comparative, or AP US Government and Politics: United 
States 

2 Two units from: 
Western Civilization, European History or AP European 
History;  
World Geography, AP Human Geography, or IB Geography;  
World History, AP World History, or World History IB; 
History of Religion;  
IB Economics 
Economics,  
AP Macroeconomics 
AP Microeconomics 

Foreign Language - 2 Units 

2 Foreign Language, both units in the same language, which 
may include: 
AP Chinese Language and Culture,  
AP French Language and Culture,  
AP German Language and Culture,  
AP Italian Language and Culture,  
AP Japanese Language and Culture,  
AP Latin,  
AP Spanish Language and Culture,  
French IV IB,  
French V IB,  
Spanish IV IB, and  
Spanish V IB 

Art - 1 Unit 
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Units Course 

1 One unit of Art from: 
Performance course in Music, Dance, or Theatre;  
Fine Arts Survey;  
Arts I, II, III, and IV; 
Talented Art I, II, III, and IV;  
Talented Music I, II, III, and IV;  
Talented Theater Arts I, II, III, and IV;  
Speech III and IV (one unit combined);  
AP Art History;  
AP Studio Art: 2-D Design;  
AP Studio Art: 3-D Design;  
AP Studio Art: Drawing;  
AP Music Theory;  
Film Study I IB;  
Film Study II IB;  
Music I IB; Music II IB;  
Art Design III IB;  
Art Design IV IB; 
Theatre I IB; or 
Drafting  

NOTE: AP = Advanced Placement 
 IB = International Baccalaureate 

 
 ii.(a). For students graduating in academic year 
(high school) 2007-2008 and prior, for purposes of satisfying 
the requirements of §703.A.5.a.i above, or §803.A.6.a, the 
following courses shall be considered equivalent to the 
identified core courses and may be substituted to satisfy 
corresponding core courses. 

 

Core Curriculum Course Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

Physical Science General Science, Integrated Science  

Algebra I Algebra I, Parts 1 and 2, Integrated 
Mathematics I 

Applied Algebra IA and IB Applied Mathematics I and II 

Algebra I, Algebra II and 
Geometry 

Integrated Mathematics I, II and III 

Algebra II Integrated Mathematics II  

Geometry Integrated Mathematics III  

Geometry, Trigonometry, 
Calculus, or Comparable 
Advanced Mathematics 

Pre-Calculus, Algebra III, Probability 
and Statistics, Discrete Mathematics, 
Applied Mathematics III*, Advanced 
Mathematics I, Advanced 
Mathematics II 

Chemistry Chemistry Com 

Fine Arts Survey Speech Debate (2 units) 

Western Civilization European History 

Civics AP American Government 

 *Applied Mathematics III was formerly referred to as Applied Geometry 

 
 (b). For students graduating in academic year (high 
school) 2006-2007 through the 2008-2009 academic year 
(high school), for purposes of satisfying the requirements of 
§703.A.5.a.i above, or §803.A.6.a, the following courses 
shall be considered equivalent to the identified core courses 
and may be substituted to satisfy corresponding core 
courses. 
 

Core Curriculum Course Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

Physical Science Integrated Science  

Algebra I Algebra I, Parts 1 and 2, Integrated 
Mathematics I 

Applied Algebra IA and IB Applied Mathematics I and II 

Algebra I, Algebra II and 
Geometry 

Integrated Mathematics I, II and III 

Algebra II Integrated Mathematics II  

Geometry Integrated Mathematics III  

Core Curriculum Course Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

Geometry, Trigonometry, 
Calculus, or Comparable 
Advanced Mathematics 

Pre-Calculus, Algebra III, Probability 
and Statistics, Discrete Mathematics, 
Applied Mathematics III*, Advanced 
Mathematics I [beginning with the 
2008-2009 academic year (high 
school) this course is renamed 
Advanced Math - Pre-Calculus], 
Advanced Mathematics II [beginning 
with the 2008-2009 academic year 
(high school) this course is renamed 
Advanced Math -Functions and 
Statistics] 

Chemistry Chemistry Com 

Fine Arts Survey Speech III and Speech IV (both units) 

Western Civilization European History 

World Geography AP Human Geography 

Civics AP American Government 

*Applied Mathematics III was formerly referred to as Applied Geometry 

 
(c). For students graduating in academic year 

(high school) 2009-2010, for purposes of satisfying the 
requirements of §703.A.5.a.i above, or §803.A.6.a, the 
following courses shall be considered equivalent to the 
identified core courses and may be substituted to satisfy 
corresponding core courses. 

 

Core Curriculum Course Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

Physical Science Integrated Science  

Algebra I Algebra I, Parts 1 and 2, Integrated 
Mathematics I, Applied Algebra I 

Applied Algebra IA and IB Applied Mathematics I and II 

Algebra I, Algebra II and 
Geometry 

Integrated Mathematics I, II and III 

Algebra II Integrated Mathematics II  

Geometry Integrated Mathematics III, Applied 
Geometry  

Geometry, Trigonometry, 
Calculus, or Comparable 
Advanced Mathematics 

Pre-Calculus, Algebra III, Probability 
and Statistics, Discrete Mathematics, 
Applied Mathematics III*, Advanced 
Math - Pre-Calculus**, Advanced 
Math - Functions and Statistics***  

Chemistry Chemistry Com 

Fine Arts Survey Speech III and Speech IV (both units) 

Western Civilization European History 

World Geography AP Human Geography 

Civics AP American Government 

*Applied Mathematics III was formerly referred to as Applied Geometry  
**Advanced Math―Pre-Calculus was formerly referred to as Advanced 
Mathematics II 
***Advanced Math―Functions and Statistics was formerly referred to 
as Advanced Mathematics II 

 
(d).(i). For students graduating in academic year 

(high school) 2010-2011 through academic year (high 
school) 2016-17, for purposes of satisfying the requirements 
of §703.A.5.a.i above, or §803.A.6.a, the following courses 
shall be considered equivalent to the identified core courses 
and may be substituted to satisfy corresponding core 
courses. 

 

Core Curriculum Course Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

Physical Science Integrated Science  

Algebra I Algebra I, Parts 1 and 2, Integrated 
Mathematics I, Applied Algebra I 

Applied Algebra IA and IB Applied Mathematics I and II 

Algebra I, Algebra II and 
Geometry 

Integrated Mathematics I, II and III 
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Core Curriculum Course Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

Algebra II Integrated Mathematics II  

Geometry Integrated Mathematics III, Applied 
Geometry  

Geometry, Trigonometry, 
Calculus, or Comparable 
Advanced Mathematics 

Pre-Calculus, Algebra III, Probability 
and Statistics, Discrete Mathematics, 
Applied Mathematics III*, Advanced 
Math - Pre-Calculus**, Advanced 
Math - Functions and Statistics***  

Chemistry Chemistry Com 

Earth Science, Environmental 
Science, Physical Science, 
Biology II, Chemistry II, 
Physics, Physics II, or Physics 
for Technology or Agriscience I 
and II (both for 1 unit; 

Anatomy and Physiology 

Fine Arts Survey Speech III and Speech IV (both units) 

Western Civilization European History 

World Geography AP Human Geography 

Civics AP American Government 

*Applied Mathematics III was formerly referred to as Applied Geometry  
**Advanced Math―Pre-Calculus was formerly referred to as Advanced 
Mathematics II 
***Advanced Math―Functions and Statistics was formerly referred to as 
Advanced Mathematics II 

 
 (ii). For students graduating in academic 
year (high school) 2013-2014 only, for purposes of 
satisfying the requirements of §703.A.5.a.i above, or 
§803.A.6.a, in addition to the equivalent courses identified 
in §703.A.5.a.ii.(d).(i) above, the following course shall be 
considered equivalent to the identified core courses and may 
be substituted to satisfy corresponding core courses. 
 

Core Curriculum Course Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

World History, Western 
Civilization, World Geography 
or History of Religion 

Law Studies 

 
 (iii). For students graduating in academic 
years (high school) 2013-2014 through 2016-2017, for 
purposes of satisfying the requirements of §703.A.5.a.i 
above, or §803.A.6.a, in addition to the equivalent courses 
identified in §703.A.5.a.ii.(d).(i) above, the following course 
shall be considered equivalent to the identified core courses 
and may be substituted to satisfy corresponding core 
courses. 
 

Core Curriculum Course Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

Algebra III;  
Advanced Math-Functions and 
Statistics, Advanced Math-Pre-
Calculus, Pre-Calculus, or Math 
Methods I IB (Mathematical 
Studies SL); 
Calculus, AP Calculus AB, or 
Math Methods II IB 
(Mathematics SL); 
AP Calculus BC; Probability 
and Statistics or AP Statistics; 
IB Further Mathematics HL; 
IB Mathematics HL 

AP Computer Science A 

 
 (e). For students graduating in academic year (high 
school) 2017-2018 and after, for purposes of satisfying the 
requirements of §703.A.5.a.i above, or §803.A.6.a, the 
following courses shall be considered equivalent to the

identified core courses and may be substituted to satisfy 
corresponding core courses. 
 

Core Curriculum Course(s) Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

Algebra I, Geometry and 
Algebra II 

Integrated Mathematics I, II and III 

Art Media Arts I-IV; Photography I, 
Photography II, and Digital 
Photography; Digital Image and Motion 
Graphics; Digital Storytelling; 
Engineering Design and Development; 
Sound Design 

Algebra III;  
Advanced Math- Functions 
and Statistics, Advanced 
Math-Pre-Calculus, Pre-
Calculus, or Math Methods I 
IB (Mathematical Studies 
SL); 
Calculus, AP Calculus AB, or 
Math Methods II IB 
(Mathematics SL); 
AP Calculus BC; Probability 
and Statistics or AP 
Statistics; 
IB Further Mathematics HL; 
IB Mathematics HL 

AP Computer Science A 

Probability and Statistics Statistical Reasoning 

Biology II Human Anatomy and Physiology  

Environmental Science Environmental Awareness 

Physical Science Principles of Engineering 

Western Civilization, 
European History or AP 
European History;  
World Geography, AP 
Human Geography, or IB 
Geography;  
World History, AP World 
History, or World History IB; 
History of Religion;  
IB Economics 
Economics,  
AP Macroeconomics 
AP Microeconomics 

AP Psychology 

World Geography Physical Geography 

Foreign Language, both units 
in the same language, which 
may include: 
AP Chinese Language and 
Culture,  
AP French Language and 
Culture,  
AP German Language and 
Culture,  
AP Italian Language and 
Culture,  
AP Japanese Language and 
Culture,  
AP Latin,  
AP Spanish Language and 
Culture,  
French IV IB,  
French V IB,  
Spanish IV IB, and  
Spanish V IB 

Mandarin Chinese I, II, III, IV 
Hindi I, II, III, IV 
Portuguese I, II, III, IV 
Vietnamese I, II, III, IV 

Any listed core course or its 
equivalent. 

Any core curriculum course taken by a 
student who has been deemed to be 
gifted and talented pursuant to R.S. 
17:1941 et. seq. as implemented in State 
Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education policy and in fulfillment of 
the student’s Individualized Education 
Program shall be considered a gifted 
and talented course and shall fulfill the 
core curriculum requirement in its given 
subject area. 
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(f). For students graduating in academic year 
(high school) 2017-2018 and after, the courses listed in the 
tables below have been approved by the board and BESE to 
be converted to a 5.00 scale when used to complete the core 
curriculum, and shall be considered equivalent to the 
identified core courses and may be substituted to satisfy 
corresponding core courses for purposes of satisfying the 
requirements of §703.A.5.a.i above, or §803.A.6.a. 
 (i). Advanced Placement Courses 
 

TOPS Core Course Advanced Placement 

Art 

AP Art History 
AP Studio Art: 2-D Design 
AP Studio Art: 3-D Design 
AP Studio Art: Drawing 

Biology II AP Biology 

Calculus 
AP Calculus AB 
AP Calculus BC 

Chemistry II AP Chemistry 

Chinese AP Chinese Language and Culture 

Economics  
AP Macroeconomics 
AP Microeconomics 

English III AP English Language and Composition 

English IV AP English Literature and Composition 

Environmental Science AP Environmental Science 

European History AP European History 

Fine Arts Survey AP Music Theory 

French AP French Language and Culture 

German AP German Language and Culture 

Italian AP Italian Language and Culture 

Japanese AP Japanese Language and Culture 

Latin AP Latin 

Physics I 

AP Physics I: Algebra Based 
AP Physics II: Algebra Based 
AP Physics C: Electricity and 
Magnetism 
AP Physics C: Mechanics 

Probability and Statistics AP Statistics 

Spanish AP Spanish Language and Culture 

US Government or Civics  

AP U.S. Government and Politics: 
Comparative 
AP U.S. Government and Politics: 
United States 

US History AP U.S. History 

World Geography AP Human Geography 

World History AP World History 

 

 (ii). International Baccalaureate Courses 
 

TOPS Core Course International Baccalaureate 

Advanced Math–Pre Calculus IB Math Studies (Math Methods) 

Arabic 
IB Language ab initio: Arabic  
IB Language B: Arabic 

Art IB Visual Arts 

Biology II 
IB Biology I 
IB Biology II 

Calculus 
IB Mathematics SL 
IB Mathematics HL 

Chemistry II 
IB Chemistry I 
IB Chemistry II 

Chinese 
IB Language ab initio: Chinese 
IB Language B: Chinese 

Economics IB Economics 

English III 
IB Literature 
IB Language and Literature 
IB Literature and Performance 

English IV 
IB Literature 
IB Language and Literature 
IB Literature and Performance 

TOPS Core Course International Baccalaureate 

Environmental Science IB Environmental Systems 

French 
IB Language ab initio: French  
IB Language B: French 

German 
IB Language ab initio: German  
IB Language B: German 

Italian 
IB Language ab initio: Italian  
IB Language B: Italian 

Japanese 
IB Language ab initio: Japanese  
IB Language B: Japanese 

Latin IB Classical Language 

Music (Performance) IB Music 

Physics I 
IB Physics I 
IB Physics II 

Pre-Calculus IB Math Studies (Math Methods) 

Spanish 
IB Language ab initio: Spanish  
IB Language B: Spanish 

Theatre (Performance) 
IB Film Study 
IB Theatre 
IB Dance 

US History IB History of the Americas I 

World Geography IB Geography 

World History IB History of the Americas II 

 
 (iii). Gifted and Talented Courses 
 

TOPS Core Course Gifted and Talented 

Art 

Art History 
Talented Visual Arts I 
Talented Visual Arts II 
Talented Visual Arts III 
Talented Visual Arts IV 

Biology II Biology II 

Calculus 
Calculus I 
Calculus II 

Chemistry I Chemistry I 

Chemistry II Chemistry II 

Chinese 
Chinese III 
Chinese IV 

Economics  Economics 

English III English III 

English IV English IV 

Environmental Science Environmental Science 

European History European History 

French 
French III 
French IV 

German 
German III 
German IV 

Italian 
Italian III 
Italian IV 

Japanese 
Japanese III 
Japanese IV 

Latin 
Latin III 
Latin IV 

Music (Performance) 

Talented Music I, II, III, IV 
Small Voice Ensemble II 
Choir: Intermediate 
Choir: Advanced 
Orchestra: Intermediate 
Orchestra: Advanced 

Physics I Physics 

Spanish 
Spanish III 
Spanish IV 

Theatre (Performance) 
Introduction to Film Studies 
Talented Theater I, II, III, IV 

US Government or Civics  Government 

US History U.S. History 

World Geography World/Human Geography 
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 (iv). Dual Enrollment Courses 
 

TOPS Core Course 

Dual Enrollment 

Common Course Name 

Common  

Course Code 

Advanced Math-
Pre Calculus 

Trigonometry 
CMAT 1223 

Advanced Math-
Functions and 
Statistics 

Introductory Statistics 
CMAT 1303 

Algebra III College Algebra CMAT 1213 

Arabic 
Elementary Arabic I 
Elementary Arabic II 

CARB 1013/1014 
CARB 1023/1024 

Art 
Art History I or II 
Art Structure/2-D Design 
Beginning Drawing 

CART 2103/2113 
CART 1113 
CART 2203 

Biology I 
General Biology I 
General Biology I  
(Science Majors) 

CBIO 1013 
CBIO 1033 

Biology II 

General Biology I 
General Biology I  
(Science Majors) 
General Biology II 
General Biology II  
(Science Majors) 

CBIO 1013 
CBIO 1033 
CBIO 1023 
CBIO 1043 

Calculus 
Applied Calculus 
Calculus I 
Calculus II 

CMAT 2103 
CMAT 2113-5 
CMAT 2123-5 

Chemistry I 

General Chemistry Survey 
I 
Chemistry I 
Chemistry I  
(Science Majors) 

CCEM 1013 
CCEM 1103 
CCEM 1123 

Chemistry II 

General, Organic and 
Biochemistry 
General Chemistry Survey 
I 
Chemistry I 
Chemistry I (Science 
Majors) 
Chemistry II 
Chemistry II  
(Science Majors) 

CCEM 1003 
CCEM 1013 
CCEM 1103 
CCEM 1123 
CCEM 1113 
CCEM 1133 

Earth Science 
Physical Geology 
Historical Geology 

CGEO 1103 
CGEO 1113 

Economics 
Economic Principles 
Macroeconomics 
Microeconomics 

CECN 2113 
CECN 2213 
CECN 2223 

English III 

English Composition I 
English Composition II 
American Literature I 
American Literature II 
Major American Writers 

CENL 1013 
CENL 1023 
CENL 2153 
CENL 2163 
CENL 2173 

English IV 

English Composition I 
English Composition II 
British Literature I 
British Literature II 
Major British Writers 
World Literature I 
World Literature II 
Major World Writers  
Introduction to Fiction 
Introduction to Literature 
Introduction to Poetry 
and/or Drama 

CENL 1013 
CENL 1023 
CENL 2103 
CENL 2113 
CENL 2123 
CENL 2203 
CENL 2213 
CENL 2223 
CENL 2303 
CENL 2323 
CENL 2313 

Environmental 
Science 

Environmental Science CEVS 1103 

Fine Arts Survey 

Exploring the Arts 
Introduction to Visual Arts 
Dance Appreciation 
Music Appreciation 

CART 1013 
CART 1023 
CDNC 1013 
CMUS 1013 

French 

Elementary French I 
Elementary French II 
Intermediate French I 
Intermediate French II 

CFRN 1013/1014 
CFRN 1023/1024 
CFRN 2013/2014 
CFRN 2023 

TOPS Core Course 

Dual Enrollment 

Common Course Name 

Common  

Course Code 

German 

Elementary German I 
Elementary German II 
Intermediate German I 
Intermediate German II 

CGRM 1013/1014 
CGRM 1023/1024 
CGRM 2013 
CGRM 2023 

History Of 
Religion 

World Religions CPHL 2213 

Latin 

Elementary Latin I 
Elementary Latin II 
Intermediate Latin I 
Intermediate Latin II 

CLTN 1013/1014 
CLTN 1023/1024 
CLTN 2013 
CLTN 2023 

Physical Science Physical Science I CPHY 1023 

Physics I 

Physics I 
(Algebra/Trigonometry 
Based) 
Physics I (Lecture and Lab) 
Physics I (Calculus Based) 

CPHY 2113 
CPHY 2114 
CPHY 2133 

Pre-Calculus Algebra and Trigonometry CMAT 1233 

Probability and 
Statistics 

Introductory Statistics 
CMAT 1303 

Spanish 

Elementary Spanish I 
Elementary Spanish II 
Intermediate Spanish I 
Intermediate Spanish II 

CSPN 1013/1014 
CSPN 1023/1024 
CSPN 2013/2014 
CSPN 2023 

Theatre 
(Performance) 

Acting I or II 
Introduction to Theatre 

CTHE 2103/2113 
CTHE 1013 

US Government or 
Civics  

Introduction to American 
Government 
Introduction to State and 
Local Government 
Introduction to 
Comparative Government 

CPOL 2013 
CPOL 2113 
CPOL 2213 

US History American History I or II CHIS 2013/2023 

Western 
Civilization 

Western Civilization I or II CHIS 1013/1023 

World Geography 
World Regional Geography 
Physical Geography 

CGRG 2113 
CGRG2213 

World History World Civilization I or II CHIS 1113/1123 

 
A.5.a.iii.(a) - J.4.b.ii. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3025, R.S. 17:3042.1, and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:636 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1902 (October 1998), LR 24:2237 (December 
1998), LR 25:257 (February 1999), LR 25:655 (April 1999), LR 
25:1794 (October 1999), LR 26:64, 67 (January 2000), LR 26:689 
(April 2000), LR 26:1262 (June 2000), LR 26:1602 (August 2000), 
LR 26:1996, 1999, 2001 (September 2000), LR 26:2268 (October 
2000), LR 26:2753 (December 2000), LR 27:36 (January 2001), 
LR 27:702 (May 2001), LR 27:1219, 1219 (August 2001), 
repromulgated LR 27:1850 (November 2001), amended LR 28:772 
(April 2002), LR 28:2330, 2332 (November 2002), LR 29:125 
(February 2003), LR 29:2372 (November 2003), LR 30:1162 (June 
2004), LR 30:1471 (July 2004), LR 30:2019 (September 2004), LR 
31:37 (January 2005), LR 31:2213 (September 2005), LR 31:3112 
(December 2005), LR 32:2239 (December 2006), LR 33:435 
(March 2007), LR 33:2357 (November 2007), LR 33:2612 
(December 2007), LR 34:1389 (July 2008), LR 35:228 (February 
2009), LR 36:312 (February 2010), LR 36:490 (March 2010), LR 
36:2269 (October 2010), LR 36:2855 (December 2010), LR 
37:2987 (October 2011), LR 38:354 (February 2012), LR 38:3158 
(December 2012), LR 39:481 (March 2013), LR 39:2485 
(September 2013), LR 40:54 (January 2014), LR 41:373 (February 
2015, LR 41:657, 664 (April 2015), LR 41:2596, 2599 (Dec. 2015), 
amended by the Board of Regents, Office of Student Financial 
Assistance, LR 42:1657 (October 2016), LR 42:1882 (November 
2016), LR 43:518 (March 2017), LR 44: 
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Chapter 8. TOPS-Tech Award  

§803. Establishing Eligibility 

A. - A.6.a.i. … 
 ii. for students graduating in the 2018 academic 
year (high school) and later, the high school course work 
documented on the student’s official transcript as approved 
by the Louisiana Department of Education constituting the 
following TOPS-Tech core curriculum. 
 

Core Curriculum―TOPS-Tech Award 

Units Course 

1 English I 

1 English II 

2 English III, English IV, AP or IB English courses, 
Business English, Technical Writing, or comparable 
Louisiana Technical College courses offered by Jump 
Start regional teams as approved by the state Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education. 

1 Algebra I; or both Algebra I, Part 1 and Algebra I, Part 2; 
or an applied or hybrid algebra course 

3 Geometry, Algebra II, Math Essentials, Financial 
Literacy, Business Math, Algebra III, Advanced Math -
Functions and Statistics, Advanced Math - Pre-Calculus, 
Pre-calculus, or comparable Louisiana Technical 
College courses offered by Jump Start regional teams as 
approved by the state Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education. Integrated Mathematics I, II, and 
III may be substituted for Algebra I, Geometry, and 
Algebra II, and shall equal three mathematics credits 

1 Biology 

1 Chemistry I, Earth Science, Environmental Science, 
Agriscience I and Agriscience II (both for one unit), 
Physical Science, Physics, or AP or IB science courses 

1 U.S. History, AP U.S. History, or IB U.S. History 

1 Civics, Government, AP U.S. Government and Politics: 
Comparative, or AP U.S. Government and Politics: 
United States 

9 In Jump Start course sequences, workplace experiences, 
and credentials. A student shall complete a regionally 
designed series of Career and Technical Education Jump 
Start coursework and workplace-based learning 
experiences leading to a statewide or regional Jump Start 
credential. This shall include courses and workplace 
experiences specific to the credential, courses related to 
foundational career skills requirements in Jump Start, 
and other courses, including career electives, that the 
Jump Start regional team determines are appropriate for 
the career major. 

 

iii. for students graduating in the 2015-2016 academic 

year (high school) and later, the high school course work 

documented on the student's official transcript as approved 

by the Louisiana Department of Education constituting the 

following TOPS-Tech core curriculum. 

 

Core Curriculum―TOPS-Tech Award 

Units Course 

1 English I 

1 English II 

2 English III, English IV, AP or IB English courses, 
Business English, Technical Writing, or comparable 
Louisiana Technical College courses offered by Jump 
Start regional teams as approved by the state Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education. 

1 Algebra I; or both Algebra I, Part 1 and Algebra I, Part 2; 
or an applied or hybrid algebra course 

Core Curriculum―TOPS-Tech Award 

Units Course 

3 Geometry, Algebra II, Math Essentials, Financial 
Literacy, Business Math, Algebra III, Advanced Math -
Functions and Statistics, Advanced Math - Pre-Calculus, 
Pre-calculus, or comparable Louisiana Technical College 
courses offered by Jump Start regional teams as approved 
by the state Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education. Integrated Mathematics I, II, and III may be 
substituted for Algebra I, Geometry, and Algebra II, and 
shall equal three mathematics credits 

1 Biology 

1 Chemistry I, Earth Science, Environmental Science, 
Agriscience I and Agriscience II (both for one unit), 
Physical Science,or AP or IB science courses 

1 U.S. History, AP U.S. History, or IB U.S. History 

1 Civics, Government, AP U.S. Government and Politics: 
Comparative, or AP U.S. Government and Politics: 
United States 

9 In Jump Start course sequences, workplace experiences, 
and credentials. A student shall complete a regionally 
designed series of Career and Technical Education Jump 
Start coursework and workplace-based learning 
experiences leading to a statewide or regional Jump Start 
credential. This shall include courses and workplace 
experiences specific to the credential, courses related to 
foundational career skills requirements in Jump Start, and 
other courses, including career electives, that the Jump 
Start regional team determines are appropriate for the 
career major. 

 
 iv. for students graduating in the 2000-2001 
school year through the 2012-2013 school year, the high 
school course work documented on the student's official 
transcript as approved by the Louisiana Department of 
Education constituting the following TOPS-Tech core 
curriculum; 
 

Core Curriculum―TOPS-Tech Award 

Units Course 

1 English I 

1 English II 

1 English III 

1 English IV or substitute 1 unit of Business English 

1 Algebra I; or both Algebra I, Part 1 and Algebra I, Part 2; 
or both Applied Mathematics I and Applied Mathematics 
II 

2 Geometry, Applied Mathematics III, Algebra II, Financial 
Mathematics, Advanced Mathematics I [beginning with 
the 2008-2009 academic year (high school) this course is 
renamed Advanced Math – Pre-Calculus], Advanced 
Mathematics II [beginning with the 2008-2009 academic 
year (high school) this course is renamed Advanced Math 
– Functions and Statistics], Discrete Mathematics, or 
Probability and Statistics (2 units). Integrated 
Mathematics I, II, and III may be substituted for Algebra 
I, Geometry and Algebra II, and shall be considered the 
equivalent of the 3 required math units 

1 Biology 

1 Chemistry or Applied Chemistry 

1 Earth Science, Environmental Science, Physical Science, 
Integrated Science, Biology II, Chemistry II, Physics, 
Physics II, or Physics for Technology or Agriscience I 
and II (both for 1 unit) 

1 American History 

1 World History, Western Civilization, or World Geography 

1 Civics and Free Enterprise (1 unit combined) or  
Civics (1 unit, nonpublic) 
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Core Curriculum―TOPS-Tech Award 

Units Course 

Remaining Core Courses shall be Selected  

from One of the Following Options: 

Option 1Total of 17 Units 

1 Fine Arts Survey or substitute 2 units of performance 
courses in music, dance, or theater; or substitute 2 units 
of visual art courses; or substitute 2 units of studio art 
courses; or a course from the Career and Technical 
Program of studies that is approved by the BESE (must 
be listed under the Vocational Education Course 
Offerings in Bulletin 741 or the updates to Bulletin 741); 
or substitute 1 unit as an elective from among the other 
subjects listed in this core curriculum 

2 Foreign Language, Technical Writing,  
Speech I or Speech II 

1 One unit from the secondary computer education 
program of studies that is approved by the BESE 

or 

Option 2Total of 19 Units 

4 In a career major comprised of a sequence of related 
specialty courses. In order for a student to use this option, 
the courses for the career major must be approved by 
BESE. 

1 Credit in a basic computer course. 

1 In related or technical fields. A related course includes 
any course which is listed under the student's major. A 
technical course is one that is listed in the approved 
career option plan for the high school at which the course 
is taken. 

 
 v. for students graduating through the 2001-2002 
school year, the TOPS-Tech core curriculum as follows. 

 

Core Curriculum―TOPS-Tech Award 

Units Course 

1 English I 

1 English II 

1 English III 

1 English IV or Business English 

1 Algebra I (1 unit) or Applied Algebra IA and 1B (2 units)  

1 Algebra II 

1 Geometry or Applied Geometry, Trigonometry, Calculus or 
comparable Advanced Mathematics 

1 Biology  

1 Chemistry or Applied Physics 

1 Earth Science, Environmental Science, Physical Science, 
Biology II, Chemistry II, Physics, Physics II or Physics for 
Technology or Agriscience I and II (both for 1 unit) 

1 American History 

1 World History, Western Civilization or World Geography 

1 Civics and Free Enterprise (1 unit combined) or  
Civics (1 unit, non-public)  

1 Fine Arts Survey or any approved vocational course in the 
areas of Agriscience, Business Education, Family and 
Consumer Science, Health Occupations, Marketing 
Education, Technology Education, or Trade and Industrial 
Education; (or substitute 2 units of performance courses in 
music, dance or theater; or 2 units of studio art or 2 units of 
visual art courses; or 1 elective from among the other 
subjects listed in this core curriculum) 

2 In a single Foreign Language. (1 unit for students graduating 
from high school during the 1996-97 and 1997-98 school 
years.) or Technical Writing, Speech I or Speech II (2 units). 

1/2 Computer Science, Computer Literacy or Business Computer 
Applications (or substitute at least 1/2 unit of an elective 
course related to computers that is approved by the state 
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education; or substitute 
at least 1/2 unit of an elective from among the other subjects 
listed in this core curriculum) 

 

 vi. for students graduating in the 2013-2014 
school year through the 2016-2017 school year, the high 
school course work documented on the student’s official 
transcript as approved by the Louisiana Department of 
Education constituting the following TOPS-Tech core 
curriculum. 

 

Core Curriculum―TOPS-Tech Award 

Units Course 

1 English I 

1 English II 

1 English III 

1 English IV or substitute 1 unit of Business English 

1 Algebra I; or both Algebra I, Part 1 and Algebra I, Part 2; or 
both Applied Mathematics I and Applied Mathematics II 

2 Geometry, Applied Mathematics III, Algebra II, Financial 
Mathematics, Advanced Mathematics I [beginning with the 
2008-2009 academic year (high school) this course is 
renamed Advanced Math – Pre-Calculus], Advanced 
Mathematics II [beginning with the 2008-2009 academic year 
(high school) this course is renamed Advanced Math – 
Functions and Statistics], Discrete Mathematics, or 
Probability and Statistics (2 units). Integrated Mathematics I, 
II, and III may be substituted for Algebra I, Geometry and 
Algebra II, and shall be considered the equivalent of the 3 
required math units  

1 Biology  

2 Earth Science, Environmental Science, Physical Science, 
Integrated Science, Biology II, or Chemistry or Applied 
Chemistry, Chemistry II, Physics, Physics II or Physics for 
Technology or Agriscience I and II (both for 1 unit) 

1 American History 

1 World History, Western Civilization or World Geography 

1 Civics and Free Enterprise (1 unit combined) or  
Civics (1 unit, non-public)  

Remaining Core Courses Shall Be Selected  
from One of the Following Options 

Option 1—Total of 17 Units 

1 Fine Arts Survey or drafting (one unit) or substitute 2 units of 
performance courses in music, dance, or theater; or substitute 
2 units of visual art courses; or substitute 2 units of studio art 
courses; or a course from the Career and Technical Program 
of studies that is approved by the BESE (must be listed under 
the Vocational Education Course Offerings in Bulletin 741 or 
the updates to Bulletin 741); or substitute 1 unit as an elective 
from among the other subjects listed in this core curriculum  

2 Foreign Language, Technical Writing, Speech I or Speech II  

1 One unit from the secondary computer education program of 
studies that is approved by the BESE 

or 

Option 2—Total of 19 Units 

4 In a career major comprised of a sequence of related specialty 
courses. In order for a student to use this option, the courses 
for the career major must be approved by BESE.  

1 Credit in a basic computer course 

1 In related or technical fields. A related course includes any 
course which is listed under the student's major. A technical 
course is one that is listed in the approved career option plan 
for the high school at which the course is taken.  

 

b.i. for students graduating in academic year (high 
school) 2008-2009 and after, for purposes of satisfying the 
requirements of §803.A.6.a above, the following courses 
shall be considered equivalent to the identified core courses 
and may be substituted to satisfy corresponding core 
courses. 

 

Core Curriculum Course Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

Business English Senior Applications in English 

Geometry, Trigonometry, Calculus, or 
Comparable Advanced Mathematics 

Math Essentials 
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 ii. for students graduating in academic year (high 
school) 2018 and after, for purposes of satisfying the 
requirements of §803.A.6.a above, the following courses 
shall be considered equivalent to the identified core courses 
and may be substituted to satisfy corresponding core 
courses. 

 

Core Curriculum Course 
Equivalent (Substitute) 

Course 

Business English Senior Applications in English 

Geometry, Trigonometry, Calculus, 
or Comparable Advanced 
Mathematics 

Math Essentials 

Geometry, Algebra II, Math 
Essentials, Financial Literacy, 
Business Math, Algebra III, 
Advanced Math - Functions and 
Statistics, Advanced Math - Pre-
Calculus, Pre-calculus, or 
comparable Louisiana Technical 
College courses offered by Jump 
Start regional teams as approved by 
the state Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education. Integrated 
Mathematics I, II, and III may be 
substituted for Algebra I, Geometry, 
and Algebra II, and shall equal three 
mathematics credits 

Probability and Statistics; 
Transition to College 
Mathematics; Statistical 
Reasoning 

 
A.6.c - B.4.b.ii. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3025, R.S. 17:3042.1, and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:636 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1902 (October 1998), LR 24:2237 (December 
1998), LR 25:257 (February 1999), LR 25:655 (April 1999), LR 
25:1794 (October 1999), LR 26:64, 67 (January 2000), LR 26:689 
(April 2000), LR 26:1262 (June 2000), LR 26:1602 (August 2000), 
LR 26:1996, 1999, 2001 (September 2000), LR 26:2268 (October 
2000), LR 26:2753 (December 2000), LR 27:36 (January 2001), 
LR 27:702 (May 2001), LR 27:1219, 1219 (August 2001), 
repromulgated LR 27:1850 (November 2001), amended LR 28:772 
(April 2002), LR 28:2330, 2332 (November 2002), LR 29:125 
(February 2003), LR 29:2372 (November 2003), LR 30:1162 (June 
2004), LR 30:1471 (July 2004), LR 30:2019 (September 2004), LR 
31:37 (January 2005), LR 31:2213 (September 2005), LR 31:3112 
(December 2005), LR 32:2239 (December 2006), LR 33:435 
(March 2007), LR 33:2357 (November 2007), LR 33:2612 
(December 2007), LR 34:1389 (July 2008), LR 35:228 (February 
2009), LR 36:312 (February 2010), LR 36:490 (March 2010), LR 
36:2269 (October 2010), LR 36:2855 (December 2010), LR 
37:2987 (October 2011), LR 38:354 (February 2012), LR 38:3158 
(December 2012), LR 39:481 (March 2013), LR 39:2485 
(September 2013), LR 40:54 (January 2014), LR 41:373 (February 
2015, LR 41:657, 664 (April 2015), LR 41:2596, 2599 (December 
2015), LR 42:48 (January 2016), amended by the Board of 
Regents, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 44:523 (March 
2018), amended LR 44: 

Chapter 21. Miscellaneous Provisions and Exceptions 

§2113. Revision of the Core Curricula 

A. The board is authorized by law, in consultation with 
BESE, to determine a high school level course to be 
equivalent to a course described in the core curricula or to 
authorize the name change of a core curricula course, 
including necessary changes to equivalencies and course 
names for advanced placement and International 

Baccalaureate courses as prescribed by the College Board 
or the International Baccalaureate Foundation. 

B. The determination of a course as equivalent to a 
course included in the definition of core curriculum shall be 
limited to those courses identified in the secondary programs 
of study contained in the Louisiana Handbook for School 

Administrators (LDE Bulletin 741). 
C. Only those recommendations for a name change or 

for the designation of an equivalent course which have been 
submitted by a local school board or other equivalent 
education agency for private schools will be considered by 
the board and such recommendations shall be submitted 
directly to the Louisiana Office of Student Financial 
Assistance, Attention: Legal Division. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:5001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:1921 (October 
1998), amended LR 27:1220 (August 2001), repromulgated LR 
27:1871 (November 2001), amended LR 41:657 (April 2015), 
amended by the Board of Regents, Office of Student Financial 
Assistance, LR 44:570 (March 2018), LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule has no known impact on family 

formation, stability, or autonomy, as described in LSA-R.S. 
49:972.  

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed rulemaking will have no impact on poverty 

as described in R.S. 49:973.  
Small Business Analysis 

The proposed Rule will have no adverse impact on small 
businesses as described in LSA-R.S. 49:965.2 et seq. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule will have no adverse impact on 

providers of services for individuals with developmental 
disabilities as described in HCR 170 of 2014. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments on the 

proposed changes (SG18182NI) until 4:30 p.m., August 10, 
2018, by email to LOSFA. Comments@la.gov or to Sujuan 
Williams Boutté, Ed.D., Executive Director, Office of 
Student Financial Assistance, P.O. Box 91202, Baton Rouge, 
LA 70821-9202. 

 
Robyn Rhea Lively 
Senior Attorney 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Scholarship/Grant Programs 

2018 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature  

and TOPS Core Curriculum Equivalents 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There is no anticipated direct material effect on state or 

local governmental expenditures as a result of the proposed rule 
changes. Under current rules, students can take the June ACT 
test with a one-semester penalty that is assessed at the end of 
their TOPS eligibility. The proposed rule changes codify Act 
671 of 2018 that provides students with an exception to the 
April testing deadline that would be available to students only 
in extraordinary and infrequent circumstances. The impact on 
TOPS expenditures as a result of the ACT deadline change for 
extraordinary cases should be negligible and well within the 
normal TOPS projection error. In addition, the proposed rule 
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changes add several high school courses that are equivalent to 
the current required courses in the TOPS core curriculum. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no impact on state or local governmental revenues.  
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes will benefit students by 
increasing the number of eligible courses required for TOPS 
eligibility and will benefit students that were unable to take the 
ACT test on or before the April National ACT test date in the 
event the administering agency (BOR) determines there were 
circumstances beyond the immediate control of the student and 
the administration of the test that prevented testing from taking 
place in April. These students will be able to use an ACT score 
obtained on a test conducted no later than August 1 of the year 
of high school graduation to qualify for TOPS with no penalty 
to their TOPS award. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

Competition and employment will not be affected by the 
proposed change. 

 
Robyn Rhea Lively Evan Brasseaux 
Senior Attorney Staff Director 
1807#012 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Louisiana Tuition Trust Authority 

Office of Student Financial Assistance 

START Saving Program 
(LAC 28:VI.107, 311, and Chapter 7) 

The Louisiana Tuition Trust Authority announces its 
intention to amend its START Saving Program rules (R.S. 
17:3091 et seq.) and to add administrative rules 
implementing HB650 of the 2018 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature (R.S. 17:3100.1 et seq.)  

This rulemaking implements Act 53 of the 2018 Regular 
Session of the Legislature. It also adds Chapter 7 to 
implement Act 687 (HB 650) of the 2018 Regular Session of 
the Louisiana Legislature, which creates the START K-12 
Program. (ST18183NI) 

Title 28 

EDUCATION 

Part VI.  Student Financial Assistance—Higher 

Education Savings 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 

Subchapter A. Tuition Trust Authority 

§107. Applicable Definitions 

A. Words and terms not otherwise defined in these rules 
shall have the meanings ascribed to such words and terms in 
this Section. Where the masculine is used in these rules, it 
includes the feminine, and vice versa; where the singular is 
used, it includes the plural, and vice versa. 

* * * 
Eligible Educational Institution―either: 

a. a state college or university or a technical college 
or institute or an independent college or university located in 
this state that is approved by the U.S. Secretary of Education 
to participate in a program under title IV of the Higher 
Education Act of 1965 (20 U.S.C. 1088), as amended; or 

b. a public or independent college or a university 
located outside this state that is approved by the U.S. 
secretary of education to participate in a program under title 
IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965 (20 U.S.C. 1088), as 
amended; or 

c. a Louisiana licensed proprietary school, licensed 
pursuant to R.S. chapter 24-A of title 17, and any subsequent 
amendments thereto and is eligible to participate in a 
program under title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965 
(20 U.S.C. 1088), as amended. 

d. beginning in the 2018 academic year, a 
proprietary school located outside the state of Louisiana that 
is licensed by an out of state public postsecondary education 
board, is accredited by a recognized national or regional 
accrediting body, and is eligible to participate in a program 
under title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965 (20 
U.S.C. 1088), as amended. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3091-3099.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 

Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:712 (June 
1997), amended LR 24:1268 (July 1998), LR 25:1794 (October 
1999), LR 26:2260 (October 2000), LR 27:37 (January 2001), LR 
27:1222 (August 2001), LR 27:1876 (November 2001), LR 28:450 
(March 2002), LR 28:777 (April 2002), LR 28:2334 (November 
2002), LR 29:556 (April 2003), LR 30:786 (April 2004), LR 
30:1169 (June 2004), LR 30:2302 (October 2004), LR 31:639 
(March 2005), LR 32:1433 (August 2006), LR 32:2240 (December 
2006), LR 33:443 (March 2007), LR 34:1885 (September 2008), 
LR 35:1491 (August 2009), LR 38:3162 (December 2012), LR 
42:1071 (July 2016), LR 44: 

Chapter 3. Education Savings Account 

§311. Termination, Refund, and Rollovers of an 

Education Savings Account 

A. - A.6. … 
B. Refunds 

1. A partial refund of an account may only be made as 
described in §311.E.3 and 4. 

B.2 - D.3. … 
E. Voluntary Termination of an Account 

1. Refunds shall be equal to the redemption value of 
the ESA at the time of the refund, and shall be made to the 
person designated in the owner's agreement or by rule. 

2. The person receiving the refund shall be 
responsible for any state or federal income tax that may be 
payable due to the refund. 

3. Except for accounts classified in accordance with 
§711.A.6, accounts may be terminated and fully refunded for 
the following reasons: 

a. the death of the beneficiary in which case the 
refund shall be equal to the redemption value of the account 
and shall be made to: 
 i. the account owner, if the account owner is a 
natural person; or 
 ii. the beneficiary's estate, if the account owner is 
a legal entity; 

b. the disability of the beneficiary, in which case the 
refund shall be equal to the redemption value of the account 
and shall be made to: 
 i. the account owner or the beneficiary, as 
designated in the owner's agreement, if the account owner is 
a natural person; or 
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 ii. the beneficiary, if the account owner is a legal 
entity; 

c. the beneficiary receives a scholarship, waiver of 
tuition, or similar subvention that the LATTA determines 
cannot be converted into money by the beneficiary, to the 
extent the amount of the refund does not exceed the amount 
of the scholarship, waiver of tuition, or similar subvention 
awarded to the beneficiary. In such case, the refund shall be 
equal to the scholarship, waiver of tuition, or similar 
subvention that the LATTA determines cannot be converted 
into money by the beneficiary of the account, or the 
redemption value, whichever is less, and shall be made to: 
 i. the account owner or the beneficiary, as 
designated in the owner's agreement, if the account owner is 
a natural person; or 
 ii. the beneficiary, if the account owner is a legal 
entity. 

4. For the 2018 calendar year only, an account owner 
may request a refund in order to pay the tuition expenses 
related to the beneficiary’s enrollment in kindergarten 
through twelfth grade in the following circumstances: 

a. the account was opened prior to December 31, 
2017; 

b. the amount requested to be refunded is less than 
or equal to the balance of the account as of December 31, 
2017;  

c. the amount requested to be refunded does not 
exceed $10,000. 

5. Refunds made under §311.E.3 and 4 are currently 
exempt from additional federal taxes. 

F. Effective Date of Account Termination. Account 
termination shall be effective at midnight on the business 
day on which the request for account termination and all 
supporting documents are received. Accounts will be 
credited with interest earned on principal deposits through 
the effective date of the closure of the account. 

G. Refund Payments. Payment of refunds for voluntary 
termination under §311.E or partial refunds of accounts 
pursuant to §311.E.3 shall be made within 30 days of the 
date on which the account was terminated. The termination 
refund shall consist of the principal remaining in the account 
and interest remaining in the account accrued on the 
principal through the end of the calendar year preceding the 
year in which the request to terminate an account is made. 
Interest earned in excess of $10 during the calendar year of 
termination will be refunded within 45 days of the date the 
state treasurer announces the interest rate for the preceding 
calendar year. Interest earned of $10 or less during the 
calendar year of termination will be forfeited to the 
Louisiana Education and Tuition Savings Fund. 

H. Rollovers 
1. Rollovers among ESAs of the Same Account 

Owner 
a. Beginning October 1, 2009, an account owner 

may rollover any part or all of the value of an ESA to 
another ESA if the beneficiary of the account receiving the 
funds is a member of the family of the beneficiary of the 
original account. 

b. If the current value of an ESA is transferred, all 
EEs and earnings thereon shall be included in the transfer. 

2. Rollover to another Qualified Tuition Program 
a. An account owner may request a rollover of the 

current value of the account less EEs and earnings thereon to 
another qualified tuition program. 

b. EEs and the earnings thereon allocated to an ESA 
that is rolled over to another qualified tuition program are 
forfeited. 

3. Rollover to a Qualified ABLE Program Account 
a. Beginning May 1, 2018, an account owner may 

rollover any part or all of the value of an ESA to a Qualified 
ABLE Program account if the beneficiary of the account 
receiving the funds is a member of the family of the 
beneficiary of the ESA. 

b. EEs and the earnings thereon allocated to an ESA 
that is transferred to a Qualified ABLE Program are 
forfeited. 

c. A rollover by a Louisiana resident to any Qualified 
Able Program Account will be subject to Louisiana Tax 
Table Income in accordance with state law. 

4.  An account owner may not rollover any part or all 
of the value of an ESA to a START K12 account. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
17:3091-3099.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 
Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:717 (June 
1997), amended LR 24:1273 (July 1998), repromulgated LR 
26:2265 (October 2000), amended LR 27:38 (January 2001), LR 
27:1882 (November 2001), LR 28:779 (April 2002), LR 30:790 
(April 2004), LR 31:639 (March 2005), LR 32:1434 (August 
2006), LR 32:2240 (December 2006), LR 33:444 (March 2007), 
LR 35:236 (February 2009), LR 36:492 (March 2010), LR 36:2551 
(November 2010), LR 39:2238 (August 2013), LR 42:1080 (July 
2016), LR 44: 

Chapter 7.  START K12 

§701. General Provisions 

A. The Student Tuition and Revenue Trust Kindergarten 
Through Twelfth Grade Program (START K12) was enacted 
in 2018 to implement provisions of the Tax Cuts and Jobs 
Act which allows Internal Revenue Code Section 529 
college savings account funds to be used for tuition expenses 
related to enrollment in kindergarten through twelfth grade.  

B. The purposes of the START K12 are the following: 
1. To allow account owners to save for the tuition 

expenses related to enrollment in kindergarten through 
twelfth grade; and 

2. To comply fully with Internal Revenue Code 
Section 529. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3100.1 et seq 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 
Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 44: 

§703. Legislative Authority 

A. Act Number 687 of the 2018 Regular Legislative 
Session, effective May 30, 2018, enacted the Louisiana 
Student Tuition Assistance and Revenue Trust START 
Saving Kindergarten Through Twelfth Grade Program 
(START K12) as chapter 22-B, title 17 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes (R.S. 17:3100.1-3100.10). 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3100.1 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 

Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 44: 
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§705. Program Administration 

A. The Louisiana Tuition Trust Authority (LATTA) is a 
statutory authority whose membership consists of the 
Louisiana Board of Regents, plus one member from the 
Louisiana Bankers Association, the state treasurer, and one 
member each from the House of Representatives and Senate. 

B. The LATTA administers the START K12 Program 
through the Louisiana Board of Regents, Office of Student 
Financial Assistance (LOSFA). 

C. LOSFA, a program of the Board of Regents, performs 
the functions of the state relating to programs of financial 
assistance and certain scholarship programs for higher 
education in accordance with directives of its governing 
bodies and applicable law, and as such is responsible for 
administering the START K12 Program under the direction 
of the LATTA. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3100.1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 
Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 44: 

§707. Applicable Definitions 

A. Words and terms not otherwise defined in these rules 
shall have the meanings ascribed to such words and terms in 
this Section. Where the masculine is used in these rules, it 
includes the feminine, and vice versa; where the singular is 
used, it includes the plural, and vice versa. 

Account Owner―the person(s), organization or group 
that completes the START K12 Program owner's agreement 
on behalf of a beneficiary and is the account owner of record 
of all funds credited to the account. 

Beneficiary―the person named by the account owner in 
the START K12 owner's agreement or the person named by 
the LATTA when authorized to make such a designation by 
the owner of an account that is classified under §711.A.5 as 
the individual entitled to apply the account balance, or 
portions thereof, toward payment of their qualified education 
expenses. 

Beneficiary's Family―for the purpose of §711.A.5 one 
of the following persons: 

a. the beneficiary's parent(s) or court ordered 
custodian; or 

b. a person who claims the beneficiary as a 
dependent on his or her federal income tax return for the 
previous year; or 

c. a person who certified that the beneficiary lives 
with him, that he provides more than 50 percent of the 
beneficiary's support for the previous year and that he was 
not required to file an income tax return for the previous 
year. 

Current Value―the value of an education savings 
account at a given point in time. 

a. The current value of fixed earnings investment 
options includes the accumulated value of the principal 
deposited and earnings on deposits. 

b. The current value of variable earnings investment 
options includes the number of units in the investment 
option purchased multiplied by the current value of each 
unit. This value may be more or less than the amount 
originally deposited. 

Deposits―the actual amount of money received from 
an account owner for investment in a START K12 account. 
Deposits do not include earnings on deposits. 

Disabled or Disability―an individual who is considered 
to be disabled because he/she is unable to engage in any 
substantial gainful activity by reason of any medically 
determinable physical or mental impairment which can be 
expected to result in death or to be of long-continued and 
indefinite duration. An individual shall not be considered 
disabled unless he furnishes proof of the existence thereof in 
such form and manner as the LATTA may require. 

Educational Term―a semester, quarter, term, summer 
session, inter-session, or an equivalent unit. 

Eligible Educational Institution―a public or approved 
nonpublic elementary or secondary school in Louisiana that 
contains any of the grades kindergarten through twelve. 

False or Misleading Information―a statement or 
response made by a person, which is knowingly false or 
misleading, and made for the purpose of establishing a 
program account and/or receiving benefits to which the 
person would not otherwise be entitled. 

Fixed Earnings―the placement of all deposits in a 
START K12 Account, including the interest earned thereon, 
in investments that normally provide a fixed rate of return 
for a specific period of time. 

Legal Entity―juridical person including, but not limited 
to, groups, trusts, estates, associations, organizations, 
partnerships, and corporations that are incorporated, 
organized, established, or authorized to conduct business in 
accordance with the laws of one or more states or territories 
of the United States. A natural person is not a legal entity. 

Louisiana Education Tuition and Savings Fund (the 

Fund)―is a special permanent fund maintained by the 
Louisiana state treasurer for the purpose of the START 
Saving Program and the START K12 Program and is the 
account into which all initial deposits made to START K12 
Program accounts are deposited. 

Louisiana Office of Student Financial Assistance 

(LOSFA)―the agency of state government responsible for 
administering the START K12 Program under the direction 
of the Louisiana Tuition Trust Authority. 

Louisiana Resident― 
a. any person who resided in the state of Louisiana 

on the date of the application and who has manifested intent 
to remain in the state by establishing Louisiana as legal 
domicile, as demonstrated by compliance with all of the 
following: 
 i. if registered to vote, is registered to vote in 
Louisiana; 
 ii.  if licensed to drive a motor vehicle, is in 
possession of a Louisiana driver's license; 
 iii. if owning a motor vehicle located within 
Louisiana, is in possession of a Louisiana registration for 
that vehicle; 
 iv. if earning an income, has complied with state 
income tax laws and regulations; 

b. a member of the Armed Forces stationed outside 
of Louisiana who claims Louisiana on his/her official DD 
Form 2058 as his/her legal residence for tax purposes, and is 
in compliance with state income tax laws and regulations, 
shall be considered eligible for program participation; 

c. a member of the Armed Forces stationed in 
Louisiana under permanent change of station orders shall be 
considered eligible for program participation; 
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d. persons less than 21 years of age are considered 
Louisiana residents if they reside with and are dependent 
upon one or more persons who meet the above requirements; 

e. a legal entity is considered to be a Louisiana 
resident if it is incorporated, organized, established or 
authorized to conduct business in accordance with the laws 
of Louisiana or registered with the Louisiana Secretary of 
State to conduct business in Louisiana and has a physical 
place of business in Louisiana. 

Louisiana Tuition Trust Authority (LATTA)―the 
statutory body responsible for the administration of the 
START Saving Program. 

Maximum Allowable Account Balance―$180,000.  
Member of the Family (with respect to the designated 

beneficiary)― 
a. an individual who bears one of the following 

relationships to such beneficiary: 
 i. a son or daughter of the beneficiary, or a 
descendant of either; 
 ii. a stepson or stepdaughter of the beneficiary; 
 iii. a brother, sister, stepbrother, or stepsister of the 
beneficiary; 
 iv. the father or mother of the beneficiary, or an 
ancestor of either; 
 v. a stepfather or stepmother of the beneficiary; 
 vi. a son or daughter of a brother or sister of the 
beneficiary; 
 vii. a brother or sister of the father or mother of the 
beneficiary; or 
 viii. a son-in-law, daughter-in-law, father-in-law, 
mother-in-law, brother-in-law, or sister-in-law of the 
beneficiary; or 
 ix. a first cousin of the beneficiary; or 

b. the spouse of an individual listed in Clauses a.i-
viii. 

Natural Person―a human being. 
Other Person (with respect to any designated 

beneficiary)―any person, other than the beneficiary, 
whether natural or juridical, who is not a member of the 
family, including but not limited to individuals, groups, 
trusts, estates, associations, organizations, partnerships, 
corporations, and custodians under the Uniform Transfer to 
Minors Act (UTMA). 

Owner's Agreement―the agreement for program 
participation that the account owner completes and signs. It 
incorporates, by reference, R.S. 17:3100.1 et seq., and the 
rules promulgated by the LATTA to implement this statutory 
provision and any other state or federal laws applicable to 
the agreement and the terms and conditions as set forth 
therein. 

Person―a human being or a juridical entity. 
Qualified Education Expenses—expenses for tuition in 

connection with enrollment or attendance at an elementary 
or secondary school in grades kindergarten through twelve. 

Redemption Value―the cash value of the money in a 
START K12 Program account invested in a fixed earnings 
option that are attributable to the sum of the principal 
deposited and the earnings on principal authorized to be 
credited to the account by the LATTA, less any 
disbursements and refunds. The redemption value is not 
applicable to a START K12 Program account invested in 
variable earnings. 

Refund Recipient―the person designated by the account 
owner in the START K12 Program owner's agreement or by 
operation of law to receive refunds from the account. The 
refund recipient can only be the account owner or the 
beneficiary. 

START K12 Account―a savings account established by 
a natural person or a legal entity to pay qualified education 
expenses of the designated beneficiary. 

Trade Date―the date that a deposit to an investment 
option that includes variable earnings is assigned a value in 
units, the date a disbursement or refund from an investment 
option that includes variable earnings is assigned a value, or 
the date of a change in investment options that includes 
variable earnings is assigned a value, whichever is 
applicable. 

Tuition―the mandatory educational charge required as 
a condition of enrollment.  

Variable Earnings—refers to that portion of funds in a 
START K12 Program account invested in equities, bonds, 
short-term fixed income investments or a combination of 
any of the three. 

Variable Earnings Transaction Fund—the subaccount 
established within the Louisiana Education Tuition and 
Savings Fund to receive funds as directed by rule. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3100.1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 
Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 44: 

§709. START K12 Program Accounts 

A. A START K12 Program account is established on 
behalf of a designated beneficiary to provide the funding for 
tuition necessary for the beneficiary to attend public or 
private school for any of kindergarten through twelfth grade. 

1. The account owner classified under §711.A.1, 2, 3, 
and 4 shall designate the beneficiary in the owner's 
agreement. 

2. The account owner classified under §711.A.5 may 
designate the beneficiary in the owner's agreement, provided 
the beneficiary is not a member of the account owner's 
family, or authorize the LATTA to select a beneficiary for 
the account. 

3. A beneficiary selected by the LATTA must meet the 
following criteria: 

a. the beneficiary is a Louisiana resident; 
b. the federal adjusted income of the beneficiary's 

family is less than $30,000 or the beneficiary is eligible for a 
free lunch under the Richard B. Russell National School Act 
(42 USC 1751 et seq.); 

c. the beneficiary is not a member of the account 
owner's family nor a member of the family of any member 
or employee of the authority or LOSFA; 

4. Procedure for Selection (Reserved) 
B. Program Enrollment Period. An account may be 

opened and an eligible beneficiary may be enrolled at any 
time during the calendar year. 

C. Completing the Owner's Agreement 
1. This agreement must be completed in full by the 

account owner. 
2. The account owner shall designate a beneficiary, 

except as provided in Paragraph A.2 above. 
3. The account owner may designate a limited power 

of attorney to another person who would be authorized to act 
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on the account owner's behalf, in the event the account 
owner becomes incapacitated. 

4. Transfer of account ownership is only permitted as 
set forth in §719.  

D. Agreement to Terms. Upon executing an owner's 
agreement, the account owner agrees to the following 
statements. 

1. Admission to a particular eligible educational 
institution―that participation in the START K12 Program 
does not guarantee that a beneficiary will be admitted to the 
beneficiary’s eligible educational institution of choice. 

2. Payment of Qualified Education Expenses―that no 
more than $10,000 may be withdrawn from a START K12 
account annually and that this amount is not guaranteed to 
pay all qualified education expenses.  

3. Maintenance of Continuous Enrollment―that once 
admitted to an eligible educational institution, participation 
in the START K12 Program does not guarantee that the 
beneficiary will be permitted to remain at the school 
throughout the beneficiary’s kindergarten through twelfth 
grade education. 

4. Guarantee of Redemption Value―that the LATTA 
does not guarantee the value of a START K12 Account that 
is invested in variable earnings. 

5. Conditions for Payment of Qualified Education 
Expenses―that payments for qualified education expenses 
under the START K12 Program are conditional upon the 
beneficiary's enrollment at an eligible educational institution. 

6. Fees 
a. That fees imposed by investment institutions for 

opening or maintenance of variable earnings accounts may 
be charged to the account owner. 

b. That financial and investment institutions may be 
authorized by the LATTA to offer prospective owners 
information and assistance in opening a START K12 
account. 

7. That an account whose owner is a legal entity or is 
classified under §711.A.5. cannot be terminated and the 
funds deposited in the account will not be refunded to the 
account owner. 

8. That an account owner who is a legal entity or is 
classified under §711.A.5, can change the beneficiary of an 
account to one or more persons who are not members of the 
family of the beneficiary in accordance with §719.A.3.b, 
however, in such case: 

a. these transfers may be treated as refunds under 
federal and state tax laws in which case the account owner 
will be subject to any associated tax consequences; and 

b. the provisions of §709.A.2 shall apply to account 
owners classified in accordance with §711.A.5. 

9. Only the account owner or the beneficiary may be 
designated to receive refunds from the account owned by an 
account owner who is a natural person other than a natural 
person classified as an account owner under §711.A.5. In the 
event of the death of the account owner when the account 
owner is designated to receive the refund and there is no 
substitute account owner named, the refund shall be made to 
the account owner's estate. 

10. That in the event an account owner who is a legal 
entity classified as an account owner under §711.A.3 or 4 is 
dissolved, the beneficiary will become the owner of the 
account. 

11. No refunds shall be paid to account owner 
classified under §711.A.5. If such an account is terminated 
by the LATTA in accordance with §717.E, the beneficiary 
shall become the owner of the account, provided that, all the 
rights and restrictions provided in law and these rules 
regarding account owners classified under §711.A.5, 
including, but not limited to, use of the funds, refunds, 
terminations, designation of beneficiary, etc., shall be 
applicable to the beneficiary that becomes the owner of such 
an account. If an account owner classified under §711.A.5 
dies or is dissolved and the beneficiary has died or failed to 
graduate high school by age 21, and no substitute 
beneficiary has been designated by the account owner, the 
authority shall designate a new beneficiary who must meet 
the requirements of §709.A.3 and §711.A.5. 

E. Acceptance of the Owner's Agreement 
1. A properly completed and submitted owner's 

agreement will be accepted upon receipt. 
2. Upon acceptance of the owner's agreement, the 

LATTA will establish the account of the named beneficiary. 
F. Citizenship Requirements. Both an account owner 

who is not a legal entity and the beneficiary must meet the 
following citizenship requirements: 

1. be a United States citizen; or 
2. be a permanent resident of the United States as 

defined by the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services 
(USCIS) or its successor and provide copies of USCIS 
documentation with the submission of the owner's 
agreement; or 

3. be lawfully residing in the United States and have a 
valid Social Security number. 

G. Residency Requirements 
1. On the date an account is opened, either the account 

owner or his designated beneficiary must be a Louisiana 

resident, as defined in §707 of these rules. 
2. The LATTA may request documentation to clarify 

circumstances and formulate a decision that considers all 
facts relevant to residency. 

H. Providing Personal Information 
1. The account owner is required to disclose personal 

information in the owner's agreement, including: 
a. his Social Security number; 
b. the designated beneficiary's Social Security 

number; 
c. the beneficiary's date of birth; 
d. the familial relationship between the account 

owner and the designated beneficiary, if any; 
e. the account owner's prior year's federal adjusted 

gross income as reported to the Internal Revenue Service; 
and 

f. in the case of an account owner classified under 
§711.A.5: 
 i. the Social Security number of the beneficiary's 
family and authorization from that person for the LATTA to 
access his annual tax records through the Louisiana 
Department of Revenue, for the purpose of verifying federal 
adjusted gross income; and 
 ii. if applicable, proof that the beneficiary is a 
ward of the court; or 
 iii. if applicable, proof the beneficiary is eligible 
for a free lunch under the Richard B. Russell National 
School Act (42 USC 1751 et seq.). 
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2. By signing the owner's agreement, the account 
owner who is classified under §711.A.1 or 2 (does not 
include legal entities or other persons classified as account 
owners under §711.A.5) provides written authorization for 
the LATTA to access his annual tax records through the 
Louisiana Department of Revenue, for the purposes of 
verifying federal adjusted gross income. 

3. By signing the owner's agreement: 
a. the account owner who is a natural person, other 

than a natural person classified as an account owner under 
§711.A.5, certifies that: 
 i. both account owner and beneficiary are United 
States citizens or permanent residents of the United States as 
defined by the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services 
(USCIS) or its successor or be lawfully residing in the 
United States and have a valid Social Security number; and 

(a). if permanent residents have provided copies 
of USCIS documentation with the submission of the 
application and owner's agreement; or 

(b). if in the United States lawfully with a valid 
Social Security number have provided the visa or other 
document(s) from the USCIS evidencing lawful residency 
and a copy of the Social Security card from the Social 
Security Administration; and 
 ii. the information provided in the application is 
true and correct; 

b. the person signing on behalf of an account owner 
who is a legal entity certifies that: 
 i. the account owner is a legal entity as defined in 
rule and the application; 
 ii. he or she is the designated agent of the legal 
entity; 
 iii. he or she is authorized to take any action 
permitted the account owner; 
 iv. the account owner acknowledges and agrees 
that once funds are deposited in a START account, neither 
the deposits nor the interest earned thereon can be refunded 
to the account owner; 
 v. the information provided in the application is 
true and correct; and 
 vi. if the beneficiary is not a Louisiana resident, 
the legal entity fulfills the definition of Louisiana resident as 
found in rule and the application; 

c. the natural person classified as an account owner 
under §711.A.5 certifies that: 
 i. the beneficiary is a Louisiana resident; 
 ii. the federal adjusted income of the beneficiary's 
family is less than $30,000 or the beneficiary is eligible for a 
free lunch under the Richard B. Russell National School Act 
(42 USC 1751 et seq.); 
 iii. the beneficiary is not a member of the account 
owner's family nor a member of the family of any member 
or employee of the authority or LOSFA; 
 iv. the account owner acknowledges and agrees 
that once funds are deposited in a START account, neither 
the deposits nor the interest earned thereon can be refunded 
to the account owner; and 
 v. the information provided in the application is 
true and correct. 

4. Social Security numbers and federal and state 
employer identification numbers will be used for purposes of 
federal and state income tax reporting and to access 

individual account information for administrative purposes 
(see §721). 

I. Number of Accounts for a Beneficiary. There is no 
limit on the number of START K12 accounts that may be 
opened for one beneficiary by different account owners; 
however, the cumulative credits in all accounts for the same 
beneficiary may not exceed the maximum allowable account 
balance for that beneficiary and the cumulative credits in all 
START K12 accounts for the same beneficiary will be used 
to determine when these accounts are fully funded. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3100.1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 
Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 44: 

§711. Account Owner Classifications 

A. An account owner shall be classified by the authority 
under one of the following classifications: 

1. a person or persons determined by the authority to 
be the parent, grandparent, or court ordered custodian of the 
person being designated as beneficiary of the account or who 
claim the person being designated as beneficiary as a 
dependent on their federal income tax return, and, at the time 
of the initiation of the agreement, the person or beneficiary 
is a resident of the state; or 

2. a person determined by the authority to be a 
member of the family of the beneficiary and, at the time of 
the initiation of the agreement, the person or the beneficiary 
is a resident of the state; or 

3. any other person and, at the time of the initiation of 
the agreement, the beneficiary is a resident of the state; or 

4. any other person who, at the time of the initiation of 
the agreement, is a resident of the state and the beneficiary is 
not a resident of the state; 

5. any other person or any government entity, and at 
the time of the initiation of the agreement: 

a. the beneficiary is a resident of the state; 
b. the federal adjusted income of the beneficiary's 

family is less than $30,000 or the beneficiary must be 
eligible for a free lunch under the Richard B. Russell 
National School Act (42 USC 1751 et seq.); 

c. the beneficiary is not a member of the account 
owner's family nor a member of the family of any member 
or employee of the authority or LOSFA; 

d. the deposits to the account are an irrevocable 
donation by the owner. 

B. In order to qualify as an account owner in any 
classification, a natural person, to include an independent 
student, must be of the age of majority under Louisiana law. 

C. Account owner classification is made at the time of 
the initiation of the agreement. Changes in the residency of 
the account owner or beneficiary after the initiation of the 
agreement do not change the account owner's classification. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3100.1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 
Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 44: 

§713. Deposits to Education Savings Accounts 

A. Application Fee and Initial Deposit Amount 
1. No application fee will be charged to participants 

applying for a START K12 account directly to the LATTA. 
2. Financial and investment institutions may be 

authorized by the LATTA to offer assistance in establishing a 
START K12 account. (See fees in §709.D.6.) 
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3. An initial deposit is not required to open an START 
K12 account; however, a deposit of at least $10 must be 
made within 180 days from the date on the letter of 
notification of approval of the account. 

4. A lump sum deposit may not exceed the maximum 
allowable account balance (see §707). 

B. Deposit Options 
1. The account owner shall select one of the following 

deposit options during the completion of the owner's 
agreement; however, the account owner may change the 
monthly deposit amount at any time and the payment 
method by notifying the LATTA: 

a. occasional lump sum payment(s) made directly to 
the LATTA or to a LATTA-approved investment institution; 

b. monthly payments made directly to the LATTA 
or to a LATTA-approved financial or investment institution; 

c. automatic account debit, direct monthly transfer 
from the account owner's checking or savings account to the 
LATTA or a LATTA-approved investment institution; 

d. payroll deduction, if available through the 
account owner's employer. 

2. Account owners are encouraged to maintain a 
schedule of regular monthly deposits. 

C. Limitations on Deposits 
1. All deposits must be rendered in amounts of at least 

$10 and must be made in cash, check, money order, 
automatic account debit or payroll deduction, defined as any 
of the deposit options listed in §713.B.1. 

2. Once the cumulative contributions and earnings on 
contributions has reached or exceeded the maximum 
allowable account balance (see §707), principal deposits will 
no longer be accepted to the account until a qualified 
distribution is made which reduces the account balance 
below the maximum allowable account balance. 

D. Investment Options 
1. The state treasurer shall select fixed earnings and 

variable earnings investment options. 
2. The authority shall furnish each account owner with 

information that discloses each of the investment options 
offered by the program. 

3. The account owner shall select the investment 
options in completing the owner's agreement, and  

4. The investment option may be changed two times 
each calendar year. 

5. Once a selection is made, all deposits shall be 
directed to the last investment option selected. 

E. Effective Date of Deposits 
1. Deposits for investment options that are limited to 

fixed earnings will be considered to have been deposited on 
the date of receipt. 

2. Deposits for investment options that include 
variable earnings will be assigned a trade date based on the 
method of deposit and the date of receipt. 

a. Deposits by check will be assigned a trade date 
three business days after the business day during which they 
were received. 

b. Deposits made by electronic funds transfer 
through the Automated Clearing House (ACH) Network, or 
its successor, will be assigned a trade date of three business 
days after the business day during which they were received. 

c. Deposits made by all other means of electronic 
funds transfer, including deposits made by transferring funds 
from a variable earnings option in which they are currently 
deposited to another option, will be assigned a trade date of 
one business day after the business day during which they 
were received. 

3. Deposits for investment options that include 
variable earnings which are received via check or electronic 
funds transfer through the Automated Clearing House 
Network will be deposited into the fixed earnings option 
until the trade date. Earnings accrued on these deposits prior 
to the trade date shall be deposited in the Variable Earnings 
Transaction Fund. 

4. Deposits received on weekends and holidays will 
be considered received on the next business day. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3100.1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 
Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 44: 

§715. Disbursement of Account Funds for Payment of 

Qualified Education Expenses of a Beneficiary 

A. Request for Disbursement 
1. For each term the account owner intends to fund the 

beneficiary's qualified education expenses, the account 
owner shall submit a request for disbursement. 

2. The request for disbursement must include: 
a. the START K12 account number; 
b. the account owner's name, address, Social 

Security number and signature (may be electronic); 
c. the beneficiary's name, address, and Social 

Security number; 
d. the amount to be disbursed and to whom; and 
e. the name and address of the eligible educational 

institution. 
3. In the event funds are invested in more than one 

investment option, the disbursement shall be made 
proportionally from each investment option in the account. 

4. If there is more than one account with the same 
beneficiary, each account owner requesting a disbursement 
must complete a request for disbursement and the 
disbursements shall be made from each account, in turn, in 
the order the disbursement requests were received. 

B. Disbursements from all accounts with the same 
beneficiary shall not exceed $10,000 in one calendar year. 

C. Disbursements shall be made to the account owner. If 
LOSFA determines that the beneficiary is not enrolled in an 
eligible educational institution during the semester or term 
for which the disbursement was intended, LOSFA shall 
notify the account owner that the disbursement will 
constitute a refund for state and federal income tax purposes 
unless returned to the START K12 account. If the 
disbursement is not returned to the account within 60 days of 
the original notice, LOSFA, in the authority’s sole discretion, 
may refund any balance remaining thereafter and close the 
account. 

7. Disbursements from investment options with 
variable earnings shall be assigned a trade date of one 
business day after the business day of receipt of the transfer 
request. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3100.1 et seq. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 
Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 44: 

§717. Termination, Refund, and Rollovers of a START 

K12 Account 

A. Account Termination 
1. The account owner who is a natural person, other 

than a natural person classified as an account owner under 
§711.A.5, may terminate an account at any time. 

2. The LATTA may terminate an account in 
accordance with this Subsection, §717.D or §717.E. 

3. The LATTA may terminate an account if no deposit 
of at least $10 has been made within 180 days from the date 
on the letter of notification of approval of the account. 

4. The LATTA may terminate an account if the 
beneficiary dies and a new beneficiary is not named within 
60 days of the death. 

5. The LATTA may terminate an account if the 
beneficiary becomes disabled and a new beneficiary is not 
named by the time the beneficiary who has become disabled 
reaches age 21. 

6. The account owner who is a legal entity or is 
classified under §711.A.5, may not terminate an account; 
however, the account owner who is a legal entity or is 
classified under §711.A.5 may designate a substitute 
beneficiary in accordance with §719.A.3.b. 

B. Refunds 
1. A partial refund of an account may only be made as 

described in §717.E.3. 
2. All other requests for refund may result in the 

termination of the account and in the refund of: 
a. the deposits invested in fixed earnings, if the 

account has been open for less than 12 months; 
b. the redemption value, if the account has been 

open for 12 or more months; 
c. the deposits to or the current value of an account 

invested in a variable earnings option, whichever is less. Any 
increase in the value of an account invested in a variable 
earnings option over the amount deposited shall be forfeited 
by the account owner and deposited in the Variable Earnings 
Transaction Fund, if the account was invested in a variable 
earnings option and terminated within 12 months of the date 
the account was opened; 

d. the current value of an account invested in 
variable earnings, if the account has been open for 12 or 
more months. 

3. No refunds shall be made to an account owner who 
is a legal entity classified under §711.A.3 or 4. If an account 
owned by a legal entity classified as an account owner under 
§711.A.3 or 4 is terminated by the LATTA or by the account 
owner in accordance with §717.D or E, the refund will be 
made to the beneficiary or to the estate of the beneficiary if 
no substitute beneficiary has been designated by the account 
owner. 

4. No refunds shall be paid to account owner 
classified under §711.A.5. If such an account is terminated 
by the LATTA in accordance with §717.E, the beneficiary 
shall become the owner of the account, provided that, all the 
rights and restrictions provided in law and these rules 
regarding account owners classified under §711.A.5, 
including, but not limited to, use of the funds, refunds, 
terminations, designation of beneficiary, etc., shall be 
applicable to the beneficiary that becomes the owner of such 

an account. If an account owner classified under §711.A.5 
dies or is dissolved and the beneficiary has died or failed to 
graduate high school by age 21, and no substitute 
beneficiary has been designated by the account owner, the 
authority shall designate a new beneficiary who must meet 
the requirements of §709.A.3 and §711.A.5. 

5. Refunds from investment options with variable 
earnings shall be assigned a trade date of one business day 
after the business day of receipt. 

C. Designation of a Refund Recipient 
1. In the owner's agreement, the account owner who is 

a natural person, except one who is classified under 
§711.A.5, may designate himself or the beneficiary to 
receive refunds from the account.  

2. Refunds of interest earnings will be reported as 
income to the individual receiving the refund for both 
federal and state tax purposes. 

3. The beneficiary of an account owned by a legal 
entity classified as an account owner under §711.A.3 or 4 is 
automatically designated as the refund recipient. 

5. Funds in an account classified under §711.A.5 shall 
not be refunded. 

D. Involuntary Termination of an Account with Penalty 
1. The LATTA may terminate an owner's agreement if 

it finds that the account owner provided false or misleading 
information (see §707). 

2. If the LATTA terminates an owner's agreement 
under this Section, all interest earnings on principal deposits 
may be withheld and forfeited, with only principal being 
refunded. 

3. An individual who obtains program benefits by 
providing false or misleading information will be prosecuted 
to the full extent of the law. 

E. Voluntary Termination of an Account 
1. Refunds shall be equal to the redemption value of 

the START K12 account at the time of the refund, and shall 
be made to the person designated in the owner's agreement 
or by rule. 

2. The person receiving the refund shall be 
responsible for any state or federal income tax that may be 
payable due to the refund. 

3. Except for accounts classified in accordance with 
§711.A.5, accounts may be terminated and fully refunded for 
the following reasons: 

a. the death of the beneficiary in which case the 
refund shall be equal to the redemption value of the account 
and shall be made to: 
 i. the account owner, if the account owner is a 
natural person; or 
 ii. the beneficiary's estate, if the account owner is 
a legal entity; 

b. the disability of the beneficiary, in which case the 
refund shall be equal to the redemption value of the account 
and shall be made to: 
 i. the account owner or the beneficiary, as 
designated in the owner's agreement, if the account owner is 
a natural person; or 
 ii. the beneficiary, if the account owner is a legal 
entity; 

c. the beneficiary receives a scholarship, waiver of 
tuition, or similar subvention that the LATTA determines 
cannot be converted into money by the beneficiary, to the 
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extent the amount of the refund does not exceed the amount 
of the scholarship, waiver of tuition, or similar subvention 
awarded to the beneficiary. In such case, the refund shall be 
equal to the scholarship, waiver of tuition, or similar 
subvention that the LATTA determines cannot be converted 
into money by the beneficiary, or the redemption value, 
whichever is less, and shall be made to: 
 i. the account owner or the beneficiary, as 
designated in the owner's agreement, if the account owner is 
a natural person; or 
 ii. the beneficiary, if the account owner is a legal 
entity. 

4. Refunds made under this §717.E.3 are currently 
exempt from additional federal taxes. 

F. Effective Date of Account Termination. Account 
termination shall be effective at midnight on the business 
day on which the request for account termination and all 
supporting documents are received. Accounts will be 
credited with interest earned on principal deposits through 
the effective date of the closure of the account. 

G. Refund Payments. Payment of refunds for voluntary 
termination under §717.E or partial refunds of accounts 
pursuant to §717.E.3 shall be made within 30 days of the 
date on which the account was terminated. The termination 
refund shall consist of the principal remaining in the account 
and interest remaining in the account accrued on the 
principal through the end of the calendar year preceding the 
year in which the request to terminate an account is made. 
Interest earned in excess of $10 during the calendar year of 
termination will be refunded within 45 days of the date the 
state treasurer announces the interest rate for the preceding 
calendar year. Interest earned of $10 or less during the 
calendar year of termination will be forfeited to the 
Louisiana Education and Tuition Savings Fund. 

H. Rollovers 
1. Rollovers among START K12 Accounts of the 

Same Account Owner. An account owner may rollover any 
part or all of the value of an START K12 account to another 
START K12 account if the beneficiary of the account 
receiving the funds is a member of the family of the 
beneficiary of the original account. 

2. Rollover to a START Saving Program Account. In 
the event funds remain in a START K12 account after all 
qualified education expenses for enrollment in kindergarten 
through twelfth grade have been paid, an account owner 
classified under §711.A.1, 2, 3, 4, or 5 may rollover any 
remaining funds to a START Saving Program Education 
Savings Account (ESA) for use by the beneficiary in an 
eligible postsecondary institution.  

3. Rollover to another Qualified Tuition Program. An 
account owner may request a rollover of the current value of 
the account to another qualified tuition program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3100.1et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 
Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 44: 

§719. Substitution, Assignment, and Transfer 

A. Substitute Beneficiary. The beneficiary of a START 
K12 account may be changed to a substitute beneficiary 
provided the account owner completes a beneficiary 
substitution form and the following requirements are met: 

1. the substitute beneficiary is a member of the family 
as defined under §707; 

2. the substitute beneficiary meets the citizen/resident 
alien requirements of §709.F, and, if the account owner is a 
nonresident of the state of Louisiana, the substitute 
beneficiary meets the applicable residency requirements (see 
§709.G); 

3. if the substitute beneficiary is not a member of the 
family of the previous beneficiary: 

a. and the account owner is a natural person 
classified under §711.A.1-4, the account must be refunded to 
the account owner and a new account must be opened; 

b. and the account owner is a legal entity classified 
under §711.A.3 or 4, a new account shall be opened in the 
name of the new beneficiary. These transfers may be treated 
as refunds under federal and state tax laws in which case the 
account owner will be subject to any associated tax 
consequences; and 

c. and the account owner is classified under 
§711.A.5, a new account shall be opened in the name of the 
new beneficiary only if the beneficiary meets all the 
requirements of §711.A.5; and 
 i. these transfers may be treated as refunds under 
federal and state tax laws in which case the account owner 
will be subject to any associated tax consequences; and 
 ii. the provisions of §709.A.2 shall apply to 
account owners classified in accordance with §711.A.5. 

B. Substitution/Transfer of Account Ownership. The 
ownership of an START K12 account is transferable only 
with the written approval of the LATTA and only as follows. 

1. The account owner who is a natural person, other 
than a natural person classified as an account owner under 
§711.A.5, may designate a person who will become the 
substitute account owner in the event of the original account 
owner's death.  

2. In the event of the death of an account owner who 
is a natural person, other than a natural person classified as 
an account owner under §711.A.5, who has not named a 
substitute account owner, the account shall be terminated 
and the account shall be refunded to the beneficiary, if 
designated to receive the refund by the account owner, or the 
account owner's estate. 

3. An account owner who is a legal entity classified 
under §711.A.3 or 4 may indicate in the owner’s agreement 
that upon the beneficiary’s graduation from high school, the 
account shall be rolled over into a START Saving ESA and 
ownership of the ESA shall be transferred to the beneficiary 
of the account upon his 18th birthday, or upon his enrollment 
in an eligible postsecondary institution full time, whichever 
is later. If the account owner transfers the account in 
accordance with this section, disbursements may only be 
made for payment of the qualified higher education expenses 
of the beneficiary. 

4. In the event of the dissolution of an account owner 
who is a legal entity classified as an account owner under 
§711.A.3 or 4, the beneficiary shall become the substitute 
account owner. If the account owner who is a legal entity 
classified as an account owner under §711.A.3 or 4 is 
dissolved, the beneficiary designated to receive the refund 
has died, and there is no substitute beneficiary named, the 
refund shall be made to the beneficiary's estate. 

5. No refunds shall be paid to account owner 
classified under §711.A.5. If such an account is terminated 
by the LATTA in accordance with §717.E, the beneficiary 
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shall become the owner of the account, provided that, all the 
rights and restrictions provided in law and these rules 
regarding account owners classified under §711.A.5, 
including, but not limited to, use of the funds, refunds, 
terminations, designation of beneficiary, etc., shall be 
applicable to the beneficiary that becomes the owner of such 
an account. If an account owner classified under §711.A.5 
dies or is dissolved and the beneficiary has died or failed to 
graduate high school by age 21, and no substitute 
beneficiary has been designated by the account owner, the 
authority shall designate a new beneficiary who must meet 
the requirements of §709.A.3 and §711.A.5.. 

C. Assignment of Account Ownership. Ownership of an 
START K12 account cannot be assigned. 

D. Changes to the Owner's Agreement 
1. The account owner may request changes to the 

owner's agreement. 
2. Changes must be requested in writing and be signed 

by the account owner. 
3. Changes, if accepted, will take effect as of the date 

the notice is received by the LATTA. 
4. The LATTA shall not be liable for acting upon 

inaccurate or invalid data which was submitted by the 
account owner. 

5. The account owner will be notified by the LATTA 
in writing of any changes affecting the owner's agreement 
which result from changes in applicable federal and state 
statutes and rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3100.1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 
Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 44: 

§721. Miscellaneous Provisions 

A. Account Statements and Reports 
1. The LATTA will forward to each account owner an 

annual statement of account which itemizes the: 
a. date and amount of deposits and interest earned 

during the prior year; and 
b. total principal and interest accrued to the 

statement date; and 
2. The account owner must report errors on the annual 

statement of account to the LATTA within 60 days from the 
date on the account statement or the statement will be 
deemed correct. 

B. Earned Interest 
1. Interest earned on principal deposits during a 

calendar year will be credited to accounts and reported to 
account owners after the conclusion of the calendar year in 
which the interest was earned. 

2. The rate of interest earned shall be the rate of return 
earned on the fund as reported by the state treasurer and 
approved by the LATTA. 

C. Refunded Amounts 
1. Interest earned on a START K12 account which is 

refunded to the account owner or beneficiary will be taxable 
for state and federal income tax purposes. 

2. No later than January 31 of the year following the 
year of the refund, the LATTA will furnish the State 
Department of Revenue, the Internal Revenue Service and 
the recipient of the refund an Internal Revenue Service Form 
1099, or whatever form is appropriate according to 
applicable tax codes. 

D. Rule Changes. The LATTA reserves the right to 
amend the rules regulating the START K12 Program's 
policies and procedures; however, any amendments to rules 
affecting participants will be published in accordance with 
the Administrative Procedure Act.  

E. Determination of Facts. The LATTA shall have sole 
discretion in making a determination of fact regarding the 
application of these rules. 

F. Individual Accounts. The LATTA will maintain an 
individual account for each beneficiary, showing the 
redemption value of the account. 

G. Confidentiality of Records. All records of the LATTA 
identifying account owners and designated beneficiaries of 
START K12 accounts, amounts deposited, expended or 
refunded, are confidential and are not public records. 

H. No Investment Direction. No account owner or 
beneficiary of a START K12 account may direct the 
investment of funds credited to an account, except to make 
an annual election among investment options that offer fixed 
earnings, variable earnings or both. Deposits will be invested 
on behalf of the START K12 Program by the state treasurer. 

I. No Pledging of Interest as Security. No interest in an 
START K12 account may be pledged as security for a loan. 

J. Excess Funds 
1. Principal deposits to an START K12 account are no 

longer accepted once the account total reaches the maximum 
allowable account balance (see §713.C); however, the 
principal and interest earned thereon may continue to earn 
interest. 

2. Funds in excess of the maximum allowable account 
balance may remain in the account and continue to accrue 
interest and may be disbursed in accordance with §715, or 
will be refunded in accordance with §717 upon termination 
of the account. 

K. Withdrawal of Funds. Funds may not be withdrawn 
from an START K12 ACCOUNT except as set forth in §715 
and §717. 

L. NSF Procedure 
1. A check received for deposit to an START K12 

ACCOUNT which is returned due to insufficient funds in 
the owner's account on which the check is drawn, will be 
redeposited and processed a second time by the START K12 
Program's financial institution. 

2. If the check is returned due to insufficient funds a 
second time, the check will be returned to the depositor. 

3. Earnings reported by the state treasurer on deposits 
made by check or an ACH transfer which is not honored by 
the financial institution on which it was drawn subsequent to 
the trade date shall be forfeited by the account owner and 
deposited into the Variable Earnings Transaction Fund. 

M. Effect of a Change in Residency. On the date an 
account is opened, either the account owner or beneficiary 
must be a resident of the state of Louisiana (see §709.G); 
however, if the account owner or beneficiary, or both, 
temporarily or permanently move to another state after the 
account is opened, they may continue participation in the 
program in accordance with the terms of the owner's 
agreement. 

N. Abandoned Accounts. Abandoned accounts will be 
defined and treated in accordance with R.S. 9:151 et seq., as 
amended, the Louisiana Uniform Unclaimed Property Act. 
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O. Investment in Variable Earnings. When an account 
owner selects a variable earnings account, up to 100 percent 
of the deposits may be invested in equity securities. 

P. Variable Earnings Transaction Fund 
1. Monies in the Variable Earnings Transaction Fund 

shall be used to pay any charges assessed to the START K12 
Program by a financial institution and to pay any loss of 
value between the purchase and redemption of units in a 
variable earnings option that are incurred when a check or 
ACH transfer is dishonored after the trade date by the 
financial institution on which it was drawn. 

2. After the payment of expenses as provided in 
Paragraph 1, above, the LATTA may declare monies 
remaining in the Variable Earnings Transaction Fund as 
surplus. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
17:3100.1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 
Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance.  

Family Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule has no known impact on family 
formation, stability, or autonomy, as described in LSA-R.S. 
49:972.  

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed rulemaking will have no impact on poverty 

as described in LSA-R.S. 49:973.  
Small Business Analysis 

The proposed Rule will have no adverse impact on small 
businesses as described in LSA-R.S. 49:965.2 et seq.  

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule will have no adverse impact on 

providers of services for individuals with developmental 
disabilities as described in HCR 170 of 2014.  

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments on the 

proposed changes (ST18183NI) until 4:30 p.m., August 10, 
2018, to Sujuan Williams Boutté, Executive Director, Office 
of Student Financial Assistance, P.O. Box 91202, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70821-9202. 

 

Robyn Rhea Lively 
Senior Attorney 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  START Saving Program 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule change will result in a cost to the 

Louisiana Office of Student Financial Assistance (LOSFA) of 
approximately $115,000 for programming, software 
development, and other technology costs to modify and adapt 
the existing START Savings Program applications and 
processes to support the new Student Tuition and Revenue 
Trust Kindergarten Through Twelfth Grade Program (START 
K12) Accounts.  Act 687 of 2018 placed the START K12 
Program under the authority of the Louisiana Tuition Trust 
Authority (LATTA) to implement the program. Due to the 
similarities between the START Savings Program and the 
START K12 Program, LOSFA was able to absorb the initial 
administrative costs, but this $115,000 startup cost is to fully 
implement the program.  

Future increased expenditures for personal services and 
ongoing technical support services may be required for 
additional staff and programming costs if the number of 
START K12 Accounts and/or START K12 disbursements 
grow to a point where the additional workload cannot be 
accomplished with existing personnel resources. At this time, 
the number of accounts opened and the workload associated 
with new accounts cannot be determined. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Revenue collections of state and local governments will not 
be affected by the proposed changes. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will directly benefit START K12 
Program account holders by allowing them to save for the 
tuition expenses related to a student’s enrollment in 
kindergarten through twelfth grade and take advantage of 
federal tax benefits available through participation in the 
program. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There are no anticipated effects on competition and 
employment resulting from these measures.  

 
Robyn Rhea Lively Evan Brasseaux 
Senior Attorney Staff Director 
1807#013 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Environmental Quality 

Office of the Secretary 

Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division 

Water Quality―Appendix I 
(LAC 33:IX.7117) (WQ098ft) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been 
initiated to amend the Water Quality regulations, LAC 
33:IX.7117 (Log #WQ098ft). 

This Rule is identical to federal regulations found in 40 
CFR 122, Appendix I, which are applicable in Louisiana. 
For more information regarding the federal requirement, 
contact the Regulation Development Section at (225) 219-
3985 or P.O. Box 4302, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-4302. No 
fiscal or economic impact will result from the Rule. This 
Rule will be promulgated in accordance with the procedures 
in R.S. 49:953(F)(3) and (4). 

This Rule includes East Baton Rouge Parish as an 
unincorporated urbanized area greater than 100,000, but less 
than 250,000 according to the 1990 Decennial Census by the 
Bureau of the Census. This information can be found at 64 
FR 68849, December 8, 1999. The US Environmental 
Protection Agency finalized the Phase II stormwater 
regulations on December 8, 1999, to address discharges of 
storm water from small municipal separate storm sewer 
systems (MS4s). As part of this rule, EPA also updated the 
list of designated Phase I MS4s, which are included in 40 
CFR 122, Appendix I. This update includes the addition of 
the unincorporated area of East Baton Rouge Parish as a
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Phase I MS4. The incorporated area of Baton Rouge was 
previously listed in the 1990 Phase I storm water rule. 
LDEQ subsequently adopted the Phase II stormwater 
regulations in the rule, Log Number WQ039, finalized on 
October 20, 2000. Updates to LAC 33:IX.7117 (the 
corresponding section to 40 CFR 122, Appendix I) were 
inadvertently omitted from the 2000 rule. The current Rule 
will correct that omission. The basis and rationale for this 
Rule are to mirror existing federal regulations, ensuring 
LDEQ's ability to issue and enforce LPDES permit 
requirements for the East Baton Rouge Parish MS4. This 
Rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) and 
R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report regarding 
environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is 
required. 

Title 33 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part IX.  Water Quality 

Subpart 2.  The Louisiana Pollutant Discharge 

Elimination System (LPDES) Program 

Chapter 71. Appendices 

§7117. Appendix I―Parishes with Unincorporated 

Urbanized Areas Greater than 100,000, But Less 

than 250,000  

A. According to the Latest Decennial Census for the 
State of Louisiana by the Bureau of Census 

 
Table 1. 

Unincorporated Urbanized Parish Population 

East Baton Rouge 102,539 

Jefferson 140,836 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and in particular Section 2074(B)(3) and (B)(4). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Water Resources, LR 21:945 
(September 1995), repromulgated by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 30:233 
(February 2004), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 
This Rule has no known impact on family formation, 

stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972.  
Poverty Impact Statement 

This Rule has no known impact on poverty as described in 
R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 
This Rule has no known impact on providers as described 

in HCR 170 of 2014.  
Public Hearing 

A public hearing will be held on August 28, 2018, at 1:30 
p.m. in the Galvez Building, Oliver Pollock Conference 
Room, 602 N. Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802. 
Interested persons are invited to attend and submit oral 
comments on the proposed amendments. Should individuals 
with a disability need an accommodation in order to 
participate, contact Deidra Johnson at the address given 
below or at (225) 219-3985. Two hours of free parking are 
allowed in the Galvez Garage with a validated parking 
ticket. 

Public Comments 

All interested persons are invited to submit written 
comments on the proposed regulation. Persons commenting 

should reference this proposed regulation by WQ098ft. Such 
comments must be received no later than August 28, 2018, 
at 4:30 p.m., and should be sent to Deidra Johnson, Attorney 
Supervisor, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and 
Criminal Investigations Division, P.O. Box 4302, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70821-4302 or to fax (225) 219-4068 or by e-
mail to deidra.johnson@la.gov. The comment period for this 
rule ends on the same date as the public hearing. Copies of 
this proposed regulation can be purchased by contacting the 
DEQ Public Records Center at (225) 219-3168. Check or 
money order is required in advance for each copy of 
WQ098ft. This regulation is available on the Internet at 
www.deq.louisiana.gov/portal/tabid/1669/default.aspx. 

This proposed regulation is available for inspection at the 
following DEQ office locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.: 
602 N. Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802; 1823 Highway 
546, West Monroe, LA 71292; State Office Building, 1525 
Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA 71101; 1301 Gadwall 
Street, Lake Charles, LA 70615; 111 New Center Drive, 
Lafayette, LA 70508; 110 Barataria Street, Lockport, LA 
70374; 201 Evans Road, Bldg. 4, Suite 420, New Orleans, 
LA 70123. 

 
Herman Robinson 
General Counsel 

1807#018 

 
NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 

Commission on Law Enforcement and 

Administration of Criminal Justice 

Crime Victims Reparations Board 

Compensation to Victims (LAC 22:XIII.301) 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
which is the Administrative Procedure Act, and R.S. 46:1801 
et seq., which is the Crime Victims Reparations Act, the 
Crime Victims Reparations Board hereby gives notice of its 
intent to promulgate rules and regulations regarding the 
awarding of compensation to applicants. There will be no 
impact on family earnings or the family budget as set forth 
in R.S. 49:972.  

Title 22 

CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 

Part XIII.  Crime Victims Reparations Board 

Chapter 3. Eligibility and Application Process 

§301. Eligibility 

A.  To be eligible for compensation, an individual must 
have suffered personal injury, death or catastrophic property 
loss as a result of a violent crime. 

1. Victim Conduct and Behavior  
a. The Crime Victims Reparations Board may vote 

to deny or reduce an award to a claimant who is a victim, or 
who files an application on behalf of a victim, when any of 
the following occurs. 
 i. … 
 ii. The victim committed a felony offense or was 
serving a sentence for a felony offense committed within 
five years prior to the date of victimization or five years 
subsequent to serving the sentence. If the date of 
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victimization occurs on or after August 1, 2018, then the 
Board may deny or reduce an award if the victim committed 
a felony offense within three years prior to the date of 
victimization or three years subsequent to serving the 
sentence. 

1.a.iii. - 3.g. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1801 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of 
Criminal Justice, Crime Victims Reparations Board, LR 20:539 
(May 1994), amended LR 22:710 (August 1996), amended LR 
31:2009 (August 2005), amended LR 35:65(January 2009), LR 
36:2278(October 2010), LR 37:1605(June 2011), LR 41:1487 
(August 2015), amended LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed rule 
has been considered. This proposed Rule will have no 
impact on family functioning, stability, or autonomy as 
described in R.S. 49:972 since it only clarifies the 
procedures for applying for reparations.  

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on any child, individual or family as 
defined by R.S. 49:973.B. In particular, there should be no 
known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on household income, assets, and 
financial security; 

2. the effect on early childhood development and 
preschool through post-secondary education development;  

3. the effect on employment and workforce 
development;  

4. the effect on taxes and tax credits; 
5. the effect on child and dependent care, housing, 

health care, nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 
Provider Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule should not have any known or 
foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there should 
be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect of the staffing level requirement or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or 

3 .the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service.  

Public Comments 

Interested persons may submit written comments on this 
proposed Rule no later than September 1, 2018, at 5 p.m. to 
Bob Wertz, Louisiana Commission on Law Enforcement, 
P.O. Box 3133, Baton Rouge, LA 70821. 

 
Amanda Tonkavitch  
Chair 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Compensation to Victims 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule change is estimated to result in a 

minimal increase in state expenditures such as applications 

involving funeral expense requests. The proposed rule provides 
for an option to the Crimes Victims Reparation Board to deny 
or reduce an award if the victim committed a felony offense 
within three years prior to the date of victimization or three 
years subsequent to serving the sentence. Currently, that 
timeframe is five years. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is estimated that implementation of the proposed rule will 
not increase revenue collections of state or local governmental 
units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

It is estimated that implementation of the proposed rule will 
have little or no effect on directly affected persons or non-
governmental groups. The adoption of the rule seeks to clarify 
the situations in which applicants for reparations would not be 
approved 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no effect on competition or employment in the 
public or private sector as a result of the proposed rule change.   

 
Jim Craft Greg V. Albrecht 
Executive Director Chief Economist 
1807#036 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 

Division of Administration 

Office of State Procurement 

The Veteran Initiative (LAC 19:IX.1101, 1311, and 1313) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., notice is hereby given 
that the Division of Administration proposes to amend the 
procurement rules for the Veteran Initiative, in accordance 
with the revised requirements of Act 585 of the 2018 
Regular Session.  

Title 19 

CORPORATIONS AND BUSINESS 

Part IX.  The Veteran Initiative 

Subpart 2.  Procurement 

Chapter 11. General Provisions 

§1101. Purpose 

A. - B.1.a. … 
b. To participate, VSE’s and DVSE’s must be 

certified by the Department of Economic Development in 
accordance with Subpart 1 of this Part.  

B.1.c. - C.2 … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

39:2171 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Contractual 
Review and Office of State Purchasing, LR 36:507 (March 2010), 
amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 
Administration, and the Office of State Purchasing LR 44: 

Chapter 13. Procedures 

§1311. Procurement Methods 

A. The state utilizes various procurement methods to 
acquire goods, services, major repairs and public works 
including requests for proposals (RFP), invitations to bid 
(ITB), and purchase orders. The procurement method to be 
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used is based upon statutes and regulations applicable to the 
nature of the procurement. 

B. … 
C. Agencies will participate in the program by using any 

or all of the following procurement methods: 
1.  purchasing directly from a certified VSE or 

DVSE within the agency’s discretionary procurement 
authority for goods, operating services, major repairs, 
construction and personal, professional, consulting, and 
social services; 

2. - 3.b.  … 
4. using a request for proposals (RFP) process to 

award a contract to a certified VSE or DVSE or to a 
proposer demonstrating a good faith effort to use certified 
VSE’s and/or DVSE’s as subcontractors; 

a. if an agency decides to issue an RFP to satisfy its 
LAVET goal, the procurement process will include either of 
the following: 
 i. … 
 ii. reserve 12 percent of the total RFP evaluation 
points for otherwise responsive proposers who are 
themselves a certified as either a VSE or DVSE or who have 
made a good faith effort to use one or more VSEs and/or 
DVSE’s in subcontracting. 

b. - d. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

39:2171 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Contractual 
Review and Office of State Purchasing, LR 36:509 (March 2010), 
amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 
Administration, and the Office of State Purchasing LR 44: 

§1313. Procedures for Counting Small 

Entrepreneurship Participation 

A. - C. … 
D. The state may count toward its LAVET goals the total 

dollar value of the contract if the RFP contemplated 
awarding twelve percent of the total evaluation points to a 
proposer who demonstrated good faith efforts to use certified 
VSE’s and/or DVSE’s as subcontractors, but was 
unsuccessful in doing so. 

E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

39:2171 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Contractual 
Review and Office of State Purchasing, LR 36:510 (March 2010), 
amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 
Administration, and the Office of State Purchasing LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

family formation, stability, and autonomy as described in 
R.S. 49:972. 

Poverty Statement 
The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

poverty as described in R.S. 49:973. 
Provider Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 
providers of services as described in HCR 170 of the 2014 
Regular Legislative Session. 

Small Business Analysis 

The proposed Rule is anticipated to have a positive impact 
on small businesses as defined in the Regulatory Flexibility 
Act, by increasing the number of evaluation points reserved 
for Veteran Initiative-certified entrepreneurships in the 
request for proposal (RFP) process from ten percent to 12 
percent, thereby providing such small businesses an 
enhanced competitive advantage in the state’s RFP 
processes. 

Public Comments 

Interested persons should submit written comments on the 
proposed Rules to Paula Tregre by mail to P.O. Box 94095, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9095, or delivered to 1201 N. Third 
St, Suite 2-160, Baton Rouge, LA 70802. All comments 
must be received by the close of business on Tuesday, 
August 28, 2018. 

Public Hearing 

A meeting for the purpose of receiving the presentation of 
oral comments will be held at 11 a.m. on Wednesday, August 
29, 2018 at the Department of Economic Development, 617 
North Third Street, 11th Floor, Baton Rouge, LA 70802. 

 

Paula Tregre 
Director 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  The Veteran Initiative 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change is not anticipated to result in any 
significant expenditures or savings for state or local 
governmental units. Any additional administrative expenditures 
that may be incurred are anticipated to be marginal and will be 
absorbed within the LA Dept. of Economic Development’s 
(LED) existing budget authority. 

The proposed rule change codifies provisions of Act 585 of 
the 2018 Regular Session, which increases the maximum gross 
receipts threshold for small businesses applying to the Veterans 
Initiative program by $1.0 M, from $5.0 M to $6.0 M per year 
for non-construction operations.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will not affect revenue 
collections for state or local governmental units.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Veteran-owned businesses may benefit as a result of the 
increased eligibility threshold. By increasing the eligibility 
threshold, more companies may be able to participate in the 
program. However, the increase in activity in the Veterans 
Initiative will likely be marginal, as the average revenue of all 
certified veterans companies is $451,232, with only 1 company 
having average revenue over $5.0 M annually. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

Companies receiving benefits under this program will gain 
competitively over companies that do not receive the program’s 
benefits. 

 

Paula Tregre Evan Brasseaux 
Director Staff Director 
1807#035 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 

Board of Dietitians and Nutritionists 

Registered Dietitians/Nutritionists 
(LAC 46:LXIX. Chapters 1-7) 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedures Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
and through the authority granted in R.S. 37:3085, that the 
Board of Dietitians and Nutritionists proposes to amend its 
current regulations to make technical changes and 
clarifications, add definitions for telehealth/telepractice, 
remove hearing aid dispensing fee from renewal and initial 
applications, and add telehealth registration fees. 

Title 46 

PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 

Part LXIX.  Registered Dietitians/Nutritionists 

Chapter 1. Dietitians/Nutritionists 

§101. Definitions 

A. … 

* * * 
Academy―Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (AND), 

formerly the American Dietetic Association (ADA). 
Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and 

Dietetics (ACEND)—the accrediting agency for educational 
programs preparing students for careers as dietetic or 
nutrition practitioners. It is recognized by the board as the 
approved credentialing evaluation agency for licensed 
dietitians/ nutritionists. 

* * * 
Applicant—any person who has applied to the board for 

a regular license or provisional license to use the title 
dietitian or nutritionist to engage in the practice of 
dietetics/nutrition in the state of Louisiana. 

* * * 
Application—a request directed to and received by the 

board, upon forms supplied by the board, for a regular 
license or provisional license to practice dietetics/nutrition in 
the state of Louisiana, together with all information, 
certificates, documents, and other materials required by the 
board. 

Board—Louisiana Board of Examiners in Dietetics and 
Nutrition (LBEDN). The entity created by the legislature of 
Louisiana in 1987 to protect the health, safety, and welfare 
of the public by providing for the licensure and regulation of 
persons practicing the profession of dietetics and nutrition. 

Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR)—a 
commission that authors the licensure exam that the board 
accepts. 

Consent Agreement and Order—an agreement between 
the board and applicant or licensee to resolve disciplinary 
action. This document may be public and reportable to the 
National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB). 

* * * 
Diet Instruction—repealed. 
Dietetic Nutrition Practice and Medical Nutrition 

Therapy—deleted. 
Dietetic Practice, Nutrition Counseling, and Medical 

Nutrition Therapy—repealed. 

Dietetic/Nutrition Practitioner—dietitian/nutritionist 
licensee practicing dietetics and nutrition according to R.S. 
37:3081 to R.S. 37:3093, of the Louisiana Dietetic/Nutrition 
Practice Act. 

Direct Supervision—supervision provided by a 
Louisiana licensed dietitian/nutritionist, who is available for 
real-time consultation in order to guide and direct a 
provisionally licensed dietitian/nutritionist. 

Examination for Licensure—the examination 
administered by CDR. The board recognizes the passing 
score set by CDR. 

Incidental to the Practice of their Profession—deleted. 
Licensed Dietitian/Nutritionist—a person licensed under 

R.S. 37:3081-3094. The terms “dietitian”, “dietician”, and 
“nutritionist” may be used interchangeably. 

Louisiana Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (LAND)--
formerly known as Louisiana Dietetic Association (LDA), 
an affiliate of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics 
(AND). 

Medical Nutrition Therapy—nutritional diagnostic, 
therapy, and counseling services for the purpose of disease 
management which are furnished by a licensed and 
registered dietitian. 

Nutrition Care Processa systemic approach to 
providing high-quality nutrition care through assessment, 
nutrition diagnosis, intervention/plan of care, and monitoring 
and evaluation.  

Nutrition Counselinga therapeutic approach to 
treating medical conditions and their associated symptoms 
via the use of a specifically tailored diet devised and 
monitored by a licensed and/or registered 
dietitian/nutritionist. Nutrition counseling provides 
individualized guidance on appropriate food and nutrient 
intake for those with special metabolic needs, taking into 
consideration health, cultural, socioeconomic, functional and 
psychological facts from the nutrition assessment. Nutrition 
counseling may include advice to increase or decrease 
nutrients in the diet; to change the timing, size or 
composition of meals; to modify food textures; and in 
extreme instances, to change the route of administration. 

Nutrition Educationrepealed. 
Nutritional Assessment—the evaluation of the 

nutritional needs of individuals and groups based upon 
appropriate biochemical, anthropometric, physical and 
dietary data to determine nutrient needs including enteral 
and parenteral nutrition regardless of setting, including but 
not limited to ambulatory settings, hospitals, nursing homes 
and other extended care facilities. Assessment also includes 
establishing priorities, goals and objectives that meet 
nutritional needs. 

Provisionally Licensed Dietitian/Nutritionist—a person 
provisionally licensed under the Louisiana Dietetic/ 
Nutrition Practice Act, who must be supervised by a licensed 
dietitian/nutritionist. 

* * * 

Scope of Dietetic/Nutrition Practicethe integration 
and application of principles derived from the sciences of 
nutrition, biochemistry, food, physiology, management, 
behavioral, and social sciences to achieve and maintain 
client health through the provision of nutrition care services, 
which shall include: 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 44, No. 07   July 20, 2018 1349

a. nutritional assessment;  
b. nutrition counseling;  
c. developing, implementing, and managing 

nutrition care systems; and  
d. evaluating, making changes in, and maintaining 

standards of quality in food and nutrition care services. 
e. Within a healthcare facility licensed by the 

Department of Health, ordering appropriate nutritional 
intake, including enteral and parenteral nutrition, and 
ordering appropriate laboratory tests to monitor the 
effectiveness of the dietary plan, subject to the approval of 
and authorization by the licensed healthcare facility's 
medical staff or bylaws. 

Telenutrition—as authorized by and consistent with, 
R.S. 40:1223.4 (“Telehealth”), is the interactive use, by a 
licensed dietitian/ nutritionist of electronic information and 
telecommunication technologies to implement the practice 
of dietetics/nutrition with patients or clients at a remote 
location within Louisiana. The practice of telenutrition takes 
place where the patient or client is located at the time of the 
dietetic practitioner-patient encounter. Real-time 
communication, the primary method of telenutrition, 
consists of a dietetic/nutrition practitioner and the patient 
present at the same time, but in different locations. The 
practice of telenutrition is subject to applicable provisions of 
the Louisiana Dietetic/Nutrition Practice Act and within the 
same standards of care as if the dietetic/nutrition services 
were provided in person. The practice of telenutrition 
requires the application of board rules and regulations §117, 
Code of Ethics for Professional Conduct, including but not 
limited to patient’s or client’s consent for telenutrition 
services and protection of patient or client confidential 
information. The practice of telenutrition does not include 
the consultation of a Louisiana licensed dietitian/nutritionist 
with an out-of-state dietitian/nutritionist. 

Terminology—interchangeable terms related to scope of 
practice may include, but not limited to: dietetic nutrition 
practice, dietetic practice, nutrition counseling, nutrition 
practice, nutrition therapy, and medical nutrition therapy 
(MNT). 

Title—any use of the titles “dietitian”, “dietician”, or 
“nutritionist”, or any abbreviation, cannot be used unless the 
person is licensed in accordance with the provisions of the 
Louisiana Dietetic/Nutrition Practice Act. 

Unprofessional conduct—for purposes of R.S. 37:3090 
A(2) includes, but it not limited to any act or omission which 
is contrary to honesty, justice, good morals, patient safety, or 
the best interest of the patient, whether committed in the 
course of the practitioner’s practice or otherwise and 
specifically includes the departure from, or the failure to 
conform to the standards of acceptable and prevailing 
professional practice of the Code of Ethics for Professional 
Conduct as specified in §115 of these rules, whether the act 
or omission occurred within or without this state. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3081-3093 and R.S. 36:259(Q). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 10:12 
(January 1984), repromulgated by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Board of Examiners in Dietetics and Nutrition, LR 
14:435 (July 1988), amended LR 25:1094 (June 1999), LR 37:2152 
(July 2011), LR 40:302 (February 2014), LR 41:1674 (September 

2015), amended by the Department of Health, Board of Examiners 
in Dietetics and Nutrition, LR 44: 

§103. Qualifications for Licensure 

A. Regular Licensure 
1. Academic Requirements. An applicant for licensure 

shall submit to the board, evidence of having earned a 
baccalaureate or post-baccalaureate degree granted by a U.S. 
regionally accredited college or university, or foreign 
equivalent and meet minimum academic requirements 
approved by the Accreditation Council for Education in 
Nutrition and Dietetics (ACEND). 

2. Professional Experience. An applicant for licensure 
shall submit to the board evidence of having successfully 
completed a planned continuous supervised practice 
program approved by the board of not less than 900 hours 
under the supervision of a registered dietitian or a licensed 
dietitian/nutritionist. The board has designated a supervised 
practice program accredited by ACEND as the board-
approved program of planned supervised practice program. 
Applicant must present verification statement from an 
ACEND accredited program dated no later than five years 
after completion of the academic requirements. 

3. Examination for Licensure. An applicant for 
licensure shall submit to the board evidence of having 
successfully passed an examination approved by the board. 
The board recognizes the registration examination for 
dietitians/nutritionists administered by the CDR as the 
board-approved exam. 

A.4. - B.2 ... 
3. A provisional license may be issued for a period not 

exceeding one year and may be renewed annually for a 
period not to exceed two years upon payment of a fee and 
documentation of evidence that the provisional license 
holder is practicing only under the supervision of a licensed 
dietitian/nutritionist and also provides evidence of at least 15 
hours of continuing education per license year. 

C. Licensing of Qualified Military Commissioned 
Applicants and Spouses of Military Personnel 

1. - 5. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3081-3093 and R.S. 36:259(Q). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 10:12 
(January 1984), repromulgated by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Board of Examiners in Dietetics and Nutrition, LR 
14:435 (July 1988), amended LR 37:2152 (July 2011), LR 40:302 
(February 2014), LR 41:1675 (September 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health, Board of Examiners in Dietetics and 
Nutrition, LR 44: 

§105. Licensing of Dietitians/Nutritionists Practicing 

Telenutrition 

A. The practice of dietetics/nutrition occurs where the 
patient or client is located at the time of the dietetic 
practitioner—patient encounter. Real-time communication, 
the primary method of telenutrition, consists of a dietetic/ 
nutrition practitioner and the patient present at the same 
time, but in different locations. 

B. When telenutrition is used and the dietetic/nutrition 
practitioner and the patient or client are located in different 
states, the dietetic/nutrition practitioner providing the patient 
care services must be licensed in the state where the patient 
is located. 
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C. Dietetic/Nutrition practitioners working in Louisiana 
must be licensed in the State of Louisiana according to R.S. 
37:3081 to R.S. 37:3093. It is the responsibility of the 
dietetic/nutrition practitioner to become aware of the 
licensure laws and regulations in any state in which they 
seek to provide their services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3081-3093 and R.S. 36:259(Q). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Examiners in Dietetics and Nutrition, LR 44: 

§107. Qualifications for Reciprocity (Formerly §105) 

A. The board may grant a license by endorsement to any 
person who presents proof of current licensure as a dietitian 
or nutritionist in another state, District of Columbia, or 
territory of the United States which requires standards for 
licensure considered by the board to be equivalent to the 
requirements for licensure as prescribed in this Chapter. 

B. All application materials shall be completed and the 
reciprocity and license fees shall be paid by the applicant. 
The board may request verification of the applicant's status 
with that agency at the time of application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3081-3093; R.S. 36:259(Q). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 10:12 
(January 1984), repromulgated by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Board of Examiners in Dietetics and Nutrition, LR 
14:435 (July 1988), amended LR 37:2152 (July 2011), amended by 
the Department of Health, Board of Examiners in Dietetics and 
Nutrition, LR 44: 

§109. Licensing of Dietitians/Nutritionists Trained in a 

Foreign Country (Formerly 107) 

A. Any person who has been trained as a 
dietitian/nutritionist in a foreign country and who desires to 
be licensed under the act may make application if the 
individual: 

1. holds a degree from an education program which 
has been evaluated by an approved credentialing evaluation 
agency, ACEND as equivalent to the baccalaureate or higher 
degree conferred by universities or colleges regionally 
accredited by the council on post-secondary accreditation 
and the U.S. Department of Education and meets equivalent 
academic requirements; 

a. submits to the board any diploma or other 
document required for a foreign graduate applicant. A 
diploma or other document which is not in the English 
language must be accompanied by a certified translation 
thereof in English by an approved credentials evaluation 
service; 

2. submits documentary evidence to the board that he 
or she has completed a course of professional experience as 
described in §103.A.2; 

3. successfully completed the prescribed examination 
for licensure; 

4. demonstrates satisfactory proof of proficiency in 
the English language; 

5. applicants who are currently registered by CDR are 
deemed to meet the academic, professional experience, 
examination, and continuing education requirements for 
licensure; 

6. applications for licensure shall be upon the form 
and in the manner prescribed by the board, accompanied by 
the appropriate fees; 

7. at the time of making such application, the 
applicant shall pay the fee prescribed by the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3081-3093 and R.S. 36:259(Q). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 10:12 
(January 1984), repromulgated by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Board of Examiners in Dietetics and Nutrition, LR 
14:435 (July 1988), amended LR 41:1676 (September 2015), 
amended by the Department of Health, Board of Examiners in 
Dietetics and Nutrition, LR 44: 

§111. Application for Licensure and/or Provisional 

Licensure (Formerly §109) 

A. Application for license or provisional license must be 
upon the form and in the manner and fee prescribed by the 
board. 

B. Every application shall be typed or written in ink, 
signed under the penalty of perjury and accompanied by the 
appropriate non-refundable application fee and by such 
evidence, statements or documents showing to the 
satisfaction of the board that applicant meets requirements of 
R.S. 37:3086(A), (B) or (C). 

C. Applications are to be submitted to the address 
designated by the board. 

D. Approved applications and all document files in 
support thereof shall be retained by the board. 

E. The board will not consider an application complete 
until all information is received. 

F. The board will send a notice to an applicant who does 
not fully complete the application, listing the additional 
materials required. 

G. The application for a license shall contain such 
information as the board may reasonably require. 

H. The submission of an application for licensing to the 
board shall constitute and operate as an authorization and 
consent by the applicant to the board to disclose and release 
any information or documentation set forth in or submitted 
with the applicant's application or obtained by the board 
from other sources as required. 

I. An applicant who meets all the requirements of R.S. 
37:3086 or 3087 and who has worked more than 30 days as 
a dietitian/nutritionist in the state of Louisiana and who has 
not otherwise violated any part of R.S. 37:3081-3093 or its 
rules and regulations, may be offered the following options 
in the form of a consent agreement and order to resolve the 
situation: 

1. applicant is reprimanded for practicing as a dietitian 
and/or nutritionist in Louisiana without a license; 

2. within 90 days of the date of the Consent 
Agreement and Order, applicant shall take and pass an open 
book examination covering the Louisiana Dietetic/Nutrition 
Practice Act and the board’s rules and regulations to include 
Code of Ethics for Professional Conduct; 

3. applicant must make a minimum score of 80 
percent on the open book examination and will be allowed 
three hours to complete the examination at the board office. 
Applicant must pay applicable examination fee; 

4. the consent agreement and order shall be 
considered disciplinary action and will be published by 
LBEDN. 

J. Procedures for Applications of Military-trained 
Applicants or Spouses of Military Personnel, Issuance of 
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Temporary Practice Permits and Priority Processing of 
Applications 

1. In addition to the application procedures otherwise 
required by this Section, a military-trained 
dietitian/nutritionist, as specified in §103.E.1, applying for 
licensure, shall submit with the application: 

a. a copy of the applicant's military report of 
transfer or discharge which shows the applicant's honorable 
discharge from military service; 

b. the official military document showing the award 
of a military occupational specialty in dietetics and nutrition 
and a transcript of all military course work, training and 
examinations in the field of dietetics and nutrition; 

c. documentation showing the applicant's 
performance of dietetics/nutritionist services, including dates 
of service in active practice, at a level which is substantially 
equivalent to or exceeds the requirements of the license 
which is the subject of the application; 

d. an affidavit from the applicant certifying that he 
or she has not been disciplined in any jurisdiction for an act 
which would have constituted grounds for refusal, 
suspension, or revocation of a license to practice 
dietetics/nutrition in this state at the time the act was 
committed. 

2. In addition to the application procedures otherwise 
required by this Section, a military-trained 
dietitian/nutritionist, as specified in §103.E.2, applying for 
licensure, shall submit with the application: 

a. a copy of the applicant's military report of 
transfer or discharge which shows the applicant's honorable 
discharge from military service; 

b. the completion of all forms and presentation of 
all documentation required for an application pursuant to 
§105; 

c. an affidavit from the applicant certifying that he 
or she has not been disciplined in any jurisdiction for an act 
which would have constituted grounds for refusal, 
suspension, or revocation of a license to practice 
dietetics/nutrition in this state at the time the act was 
committed. 

3. In addition to the application procedures otherwise 
required by this Section, a spouse of a member of the active-
duty military forces or a spouse of a former member of the 
military forces as specified in §103.E.3, applying for 
licensure, shall submit with the application: 

a. a copy of the current military orders of the 
military spouse of the applicant and the applicant’s military 
identification card or a copy of the military report of transfer 
or discharge of the military spouse of the applicant which 
shows an honorable discharge from military service; 

b. a copy of the applicant’s marriage license and an 
affidavit from the applicant certifying that he or she is still 
married to a military spouse or former military spouse; 

c. the completion of all forms and presentation of 
all documentation required for an application pursuant to 
§105; 

d. an affidavit from the applicant certifying that he 
or she has not been disciplined in any jurisdiction for an act 
which would have constituted grounds for refusal, 
suspension, or revocation of a license to practice 
dietetics/nutrition in this state at the time the act was 

committed and is in good standing and has not been 
disciplined by the agency that issued the license; 

e. documentation demonstrating competency in 
dietetics/nutritionist practice at the level which is the subject 
of the application and/or completion of appropriate 
continuing education units. 

4. Applicants who present completed applications and 
the supporting documentation required by this Rule are 
eligible for a temporary practice permit as a 
dietitian/nutritionist or provisional dietitian/nutritionist, 
whichever is the subject of the application. The board, 
through its staff, will give priority processing to such 
applications and, subject to verification of applications and 
supporting documentation, issue the appropriate temporary 
practice permit not later than 21 days after the completed 
application is submitted. The temporary practice permit 
authorizes the applicant to practice dietetics/nutrition at the 
designated level, consistent with the verified application and 
supporting documentation for a period of 60 days from the 
date of issuance. 

5. As soon as practicable, but not longer than the 
duration of the applicant's temporary practice permit, the 
board will grant the application for the applicable license 
which is the subject of the application or notify the applicant 
of its denial. 

6. Military applicants and/or military spouse 
applicants who are currently registered by the CDR are 
deemed to meet all requirements for licensure. Such 
applicants may provide evidence of CDR registration in lieu 
of other documentation listed above if this is more expedient 
to the licensure process. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3081-3093 and R.S. 36:259(Q). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 10:12 
(January 1984), repromulgated by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Board of Examiners in Dietetics and Nutrition, LR 
14:435 (July 1988), amended LR 37:2153 (July 2011), LR 40:302 
(February 2014), LR 41:1676 (September 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health, Board of Examiners in Dietetics and 
Nutrition, LR 44: 

§113. Issuance and Renewal of Licensure 

(Formerly §111) 

A. The board recognizes two distinct types of licensure. 
Applicants may be issued a regular license or a provisional 
license based on compliance with requirements stated in the 
Louisiana Dietitian/Nutritionist Practice Act and described 
in these regulations. The board shall issue a license to any 
person who meets the requirements upon payment of the 
license fee prescribed. 

B. Regular License 
1. The board may issue a regular license to any 

dietitian/nutritionist who qualifies in accordance with the 
requirements of R.S. 37:3086(A), (B) or (C), and who 
practices in Louisiana, whether resident or nonresident, 
unless otherwise exempted as stated in R.S. 37:3093 of the 
Dietetic/Nutritionist Practice Act and these regulations. The 
board will send each applicant whose credentials have been 
approved a license. 

C. Provisional License 
1. A provisional license shall permit the holder to 

practice only under the direct supervision of a licensed
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dietitian/nutritionist. The board may issue a provisional 
license to any dietitian/nutritionist who meets the following 
requirements: 

a. shall have earned a baccalaureate or post-
baccalaureate degree granted by a U.S. regionally accredited 
college or university, or foreign equivalent, and meet 
minimum academic requirements accredited by ACEND; 

b. the board may issue a provisional license to a 
person before he has taken the examination prescribed by the 
board; 

c. a provisional license may be issued for a period 
not exceeding one year and may be renewed annually for a 
period not to exceed two consecutive years upon payment of 
an annual fee and presentation of evidence satisfactory to the 
board that applicant is meeting the supervision requirements 
and the continuing education requirement of at least 15 
hours of continuing education per license year. 

D. Supervision of Provisional Licensed Dietitian 
1. The purpose of this Section is to set out the nature 

and scope of the supervision provided for provisional 
licensed dietitians/nutritionists. 

2. To meet initial licensure and license renewal 
requirements, a provisionally licensed dietitian/nutritionist 
shall practice under the direct supervision of a licensed 
dietitian/nutritionist. Direct supervision is defined as a 
licensed dietitian/nutritionist providing sufficient guidance 
and direction to enable a provisional licensed 
dietitian/nutritionist to perform competently. The supervising 
licensee needs to be readily available in person or by 
telecommunications and will review the provisionally 
licensed dietitian/nutritionist's work quarterly and submit to 
the board annually on a form provided by the board a written 
report that the applicant is in the process of meeting the 
experience requirements in anticipation of taking the 
examination. 

E. Upgrading a Provisional License  
1. In order to upgrade to a regular license, the 

provisionally licensed dietitian/nutritionist shall submit to 
the board a written request, proof of successful completion 
of the registration examination administered by CDR or 
evidence of current registration with CDR, as well as the 
upgrade fee. 

2. When the upgrade occurs, the licensee shall become 
subject to the renewal requirements for a regular licensed 
dietitian/nutritionist. 

F. License Certificates 
1. The board shall prepare and provide to each 

licensee a license certificate and license identification card. 
2. Official license certificates shall be signed by the 

board chairman, vice-chairman, and secretary-treasurer and 
be affixed with the seal of the board. 

3. Any license certificate and license identification 
card issued by the board remains the property of the board 
and must be surrendered to the board on demand. 

4. The license certificate must be displayed in an 
appropriate and public manner as follows: 

a. shall be displayed in the primary place of 
employment of the licensee; or 

b. in the absence of a primary place of employment 
or when the licensee is employed at multiple locations, the 
licensee shall carry a current, board issued license 
identification card. 

5. Neither the licensee nor anyone else shall display a 
photocopy of a license certificate or carry a photocopy of a 
license identification card in lieu of the original license 
certificate or license identification card. 

6. Neither the licensee nor anyone else shall make any 
alteration on a license certificate or license identification 
card issued by the board. 

7. The board shall replace a lost, damaged or 
destroyed license certificate or ID card upon receipt of a 
written request from the licensee and payment of the license 
replacement fee. 

8. The board, upon receipt of a written request, shall 
reissue a license certificate and/or license identification card 
in the case of name changes. Requests shall be accompanied 
by payment of the license replacement fee and appropriate 
documentation reflecting the change. 

G. Abandonment of Application. An applicant shall be 
deemed to have abandoned the application if the 
requirements for licensure are not completed within one year 
of the date on which the application is received. An 
application submitted subsequently to an abandoned 
application shall be treated as a new application. 

H. Disapproved Applications. The board shall disapprove 
the application if the applicant: 

1. has not completed the requirements of §103 of 
these regulations including academic and experience 
requirements; 

2. has failed to pass the examination prescribed by the 
board; 

3. has failed to remit any applicable fees; 
4. has failed to comply with requests for supporting 

documentation prescribed by the board; 
5. has deliberately presented false information on 

application documents required by the board to verify the 
applicant's qualifications for licensure; 

6. has been convicted of a felony. 
I. Renewal of Licensure 

1. At least 30 days prior to the expiration date of the 
license, the licensee shall be sent written notice of the 
amount of renewal fee due, which must be submitted with 
the required fee. 

2. Licensee’s application for renewal must be 
submitted on or prior to the expiration date in order to avoid 
the late renewal fee. Failure to receive renewal notice shall 
not be justification for late or non-renewal. 

3. The board shall not renew the license of a person 
who is in violation of the act, or board rules at the time of 
application for renewal. 

4. Licensed Dietitian/Nutritionist 
a. Licenses will expire annually on June 30. 
b. Applicants receiving an initial license in the last 

quarter of the fiscal year (April, May, June) are not required 
to renew or provide proof of continuing education until the 
following licensing one year period. 

5. Provisional License 
a. Licenses will expire annually on June 30. 
b. Applicants receiving an initial license in the last 

quarter of the fiscal year (April, May, June) will not be 
required to renew or provide proof of continuing education 
until the following one year licensing period. 
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6. Renewal license identification cards and/or renewal 
validation documents shall be furnished to each licensee 
who meets all renewal requirements by the expiration date. 

7. The board may provide for the late renewal of a 
license upon the payment of a late fee within 60 days of the 
expiration date, July 1 through August 31. 

a. If the license has been expired for 60 days or 
less, the license may be renewed by submitting the license 
renewal with all appropriate fees and documentation to the 
board, on or before the end of the 60-day grace period. 

8. A person whose license has expired may not use the 
title of dietitian or nutritionist or present or imply that he or 
she has the title of "licensed dietitian/nutritionist" or 
“provisional licensed dietitian/nutritionist” or any 
abbreviation of these titles. Additionally, the person with an 
expired license may not continue to engage in the practice of 
dietetics and/or nutrition until the expired license has been 
renewed. 

9. Inactive Status. Inactive status may be granted to 
licensees who are retired or who do not practice 
dietetics/nutrition during the fiscal year, July 1-June 30. 

a. Licensees on inactive status may retain their license 
by payment of the annual renewal fee.  

b. These licensees shall complete the affidavit 
provided at the time of licensure renewal.  

c. Licensees on inactive status or who are retired shall 
not supervise individuals or otherwise engage in the practice 
of dietetics/nutrition.  

d. In order to resume the practice of 
dietetics/nutrition, licensees on inactive status shall 
demonstrate completion of 5 clock hours of continuing 
education in the area of licensure for each year that inactive 
status was maintained. In addition, a letter requesting a 
change to active status must be submitted to the board office 
prior to resuming the practice of dietetics/nutrition. 

10. Continuing Education Requirement for Renewing 
License 

a. For renewal of a regular dietitian/nutritionist 
license, licensees must submit proof of holding current CDR 
registration. The board recognizes the CDR PDP system as 
fulfilling the continuing education requirement for licensure 
renewal. 

b. For renewal of provisional license, provisional 
licensees must submit proof of at least 15 hours of 
continuing education per license year. 

11. Renewal license identification cards and/or renewal 
validation documents shall be furnished to each licensee 
who meets all renewal requirements by the expiration date. 

12. The board may provide for the late renewal of a 
license upon the payment of a late fee within 60 days of the 
expiration date, July 1 through August 31. 

a. If the license has been expired for 60 days or 
less, the license may be renewed by submitting the license 
renewal form with all appropriate fees and documentation to 
the board, on or before the end of the 60-day grace period. 

13. A person whose license has expired may not use the 
title of dietitian or nutritionist or present or imply that he or 
she has the title of "licensed dietitian/nutritionist" or 
“provisional licensed dietitian/nutritionist” or any 
abbreviation of these titles. Additionally, a person with an

expired license may not continue to engage in the practice of 
dietetics and/or nutrition until the expired license has been 
renewed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3081-3093 and R.S. 36:259(Q). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 10:12 
(January, 1984); amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Board of Examiners in Dietetics and Nutrition, LR 
14:436 (July, 1988), LR 26:2613 (November 2000), LR 37:2153 
(July 2011), LR 41:1677 (September 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health, Board of Examiners in Dietetics and 
Nutrition, LR 44: 

§115. Gratuitous Service during a Declared Public 

Health Emergency (Formerly §112) 

A. In a public health emergency lawfully declared as 
such by the governor of Louisiana, the requirement for a 
Louisiana license as a licensed dietitian/nutritionist or 
provisional licensed dietitian/nutritionist may be suspended 
by the board at that time to those out of state licensed 
dietitians/nutritionists or provisional licensed 
dietitian/nutritionists, whose licenses, certifications or 
registrations are current and unrestricted in another 
jurisdiction of the United States, for a period of time not to 
exceed the duration and scope of R.S. 29:769(E), as more 
particularly set forth in this rule. 

B. The following requirements for temporary registration 
may be imposed pursuant to the declared state of emergency 
and shall be in accordance with rules promulgated by the 
board. 

C. A licensed dietitian/nutritionist or provisional licensed 
dietitian/nutritionist not licensed in Louisiana, whose 
licenses and CDR registrations are current and unrestricted 
in another jurisdiction of the United States, may gratuitously 
provide dietetic/nutrition services if: 

1. the licensed dietitian/nutritionist or provisional 
dietitian/nutritionist has photo identification and a license to 
verify a current and unrestricted license, certification or 
registration in another jurisdiction of the United States, and 
properly registers with the board prior to providing 
dietetic/nutrition services in Louisiana as follows: 

a. the dietitian/nutritionist or provisional 
dietitian/nutritionist is engaged in a legitimate relief effort 
during the emergency period, and provides satisfactory 
documentation to the board of the location site(s) that he will 
be providing gratuitous dietetic/nutrition services; 

b. the dietitian/nutritionist or provisional 
dietitian/nutritionist shall comply with the Louisiana 
Dietetic/Nutrition Practice Act, board rules and regulations, 
and other applicable laws, as well as practice in good faith, 
and within the reasonable scope of his skill, training, and 
ability; and 

c. the dietitian/nutritionist or provisional 
dietitian/nutritionist renders services on a gratuitous basis 
with no revenue of any kind to be derived whatsoever from 
the provision of services within the state of Louisiana. 

D. The authority provided for in the emergency rule shall 
be applicable for a period of time not to exceed 60 days at 
the discretion of the board, with the potential extension of up 
to two additional periods not to exceed 60 days for each 
extension as determined appropriate and necessary by the 
board. 
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E. All interested licensed dietitian/nutritionists or 
provisional licensed dietitian/nutritionists shall submit a 
copy of their respective current and unrestricted licenses, or 
CDR registrations issued in other jurisdictions of the United 
States and photographic identification, as well as other 
requested information, to the Louisiana Board of Examiners 
in Dietetics and Nutrition for registration with this agency 
prior to gratuitously providing dietetic/nutrition services in 
Louisiana. 

F. Should a qualified licensed dietitian/nutritionist or 
provisional licensed dietitian/nutritionist registered with the 
board thereafter fail to comply with any requirement or 
condition established by this Rule, the board may terminate 
his or her board registration upon notice and hearing. 

G. In the event a licensed dietitian/nutritionist or 
provisional licensed dietitian/nutritionist fails to register 
with the board, but practices dietetics and/or nutrition, 
whether gratuitously or otherwise, then such conduct will be 
considered unlawful practice of dietetics and nutrition and 
prosecuted accordingly. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3081-3093 and R.S. 36:259(Q). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners in Dietetics and 
Nutrition, LR 37:2153 (July 2011), amended LR 41:1678 
(September 2015), amended by the Department of Health, Board of 
Examiners in Dietetics and Nutrition, LR 44: 

§117. Code of Ethics for Professional Conduct 

(Formerly §113) 

A. Licensees under the Act shall perform their 
professional duties using the code of ethics adopted by the 
board. 

B. The board has adopted the following American 
Dietetic Association/Commission on Dietetic Registration: 

1. Code of Ethics for the Profession of Dietetics and 
Process for Consideration of Ethics Issues as published: Am 
Diet Assoc. 2009;109 (8):1461-1467. 

 

PRINCIPLES OF ETHICS 

Fundamental Principles 
1. The dietetics practitioner conducts himself/herself with 
honesty, integrity, and fairness. 
2. The dietetics practitioner supports and promotes high 
standards of professional practice. The dietetics practitioner 
accepts the obligation to protect clients, the public, and the 
profession by upholding the Code of Ethics for the Profession 
of Dietetics and by reporting perceived violations of the Code 
through the processes established by ADA and its 
credentialing agency, CDR. 
Responsibilities to the Public 

3. The dietetics practitioner considers the health, safety, and 
welfare of the public at all times.  
The dietetics practitioner will report inappropriate behavior or 
treatment of a client by another dietetics practitioner or other 
professionals. 
4. The dietetics practitioner complies with all laws and 
regulations applicable or related to the profession or to the 
practitioner’s ethical obligations as described in this Code. 

a. The dietetics practitioner must not be convicted of a 
crime under the laws of the United States, whether a 
felony or a misdemeanor, an essential element of which is 
dishonesty. 
b. The dietetics practitioner must not be disciplined by a 
state for conduct that would violate one or more of these 
principles. 
c. The dietetics practitioner must not commit an act of 
misfeasance or malfeasance that is directly related to the 
practice of the profession as determined by a court of 
competent jurisdiction, a licensing board, or an agency of 
a governmental body. 

5. The dietetics practitioner provides professional services 
with objectivity and with respect for the unique needs and 
values of individuals. 

a. The dietetics practitioner does not, in professional 
practice, discriminate against others on the basis of race, 
ethnicity, creed, religion, disability, gender, age, gender 
identity, sexual orientation, national origin, economic 
status, or any other legally protected category. 
b. The dietetics practitioner provides services in a manner 
that is sensitive to cultural differences. 
c. The dietetics practitioner does not engage in sexual 
harassment in connection with professional practice. 

6. The dietetics practitioner does not engage in false or 
misleading practices or communications. 

a. The dietetics practitioner does not engage in false or 
deceptive advertising of his or her services. 
b. The dietetics practitioner promotes or endorses specific 
goods or products only in a manner that is not false and 
misleading. 
c. The dietetics practitioner provides accurate and truthful 
information in communicating with the public. 

7. The dietetics practitioner withdraws from professional 
practice when unable to fulfill his or her professional duties 
and responsibilities to clients and others. 

a. The dietetics practitioner withdraws from practice when 
he/she has engaged in abuse of a substance such that it 
could affect his or her practice. 
b. The dietetics practitioner ceases practice when he or 
she has been adjudged by a court to be mentally 
incompetent. 
c. The dietetics practitioner will not engage in practice 
when he or she has a condition that substantially impairs 
his or her ability to provide effective service to others. 

Responsibilities to Clients 

8. The dietetics practitioner recognizes and exercises 
professional judgment within the limits of his or her 
qualifications and collaborates with others, seeks counsel, or 
makes referrals as appropriate. 
9. The dietetics practitioner treats clients and patients with 
respect and consideration. 

a. The dietetics practitioner provides sufficient 
information to enable clients and others to make their own 
informed decisions. 
b. The dietetics practitioner respects the client’s right to 
make decisions regarding the recommended plan of care, 
including consent, modification, or refusal. 

10. The dietetics practitioner protects confidential information 
and makes full disclosure about any limitations on his or her 
ability to guarantee full confidentiality. 
11. The dietetics practitioner, in dealing with and providing 
services to clients and others, complies with the same 
principles set forth above in “Responsibilities to the Public” 
(Principles #3-7). 
Responsibilities to the Profession 
12. The dietetics practitioner practices dietetics based on 
evidence-based principles and current information. 
13. The dietetics practitioner presents reliable and 
substantiated information and interprets controversial 
information without personal bias, recognizing that legitimate 
differences of opinion exist. 
14. The dietetics practitioner assumes a life-long responsibility 
and accountability for personal competence in practice, 
consistent with accepted professional standards, continually 
striving to increase professional knowledge and skills and to 
apply them in practice. 
15. The dietetics practitioner is alert to the occurrence of a real 
or potential conflict of interest and takes appropriate action 
whenever a conflict arises. 
a. The dietetics practitioner makes full disclosure of any real 
or perceived conflict of interest. 
b. When a conflict of interest cannot be resolved by 
disclosure, the dietetics practitioner takes such other action as 
may be necessary to eliminate the conflict, including recusal 
from an office, position, or practice situation. 
16. The dietetics practitioner permits the use of his or her 
name for the purpose of certifying that dietetics services have 
been rendered only if he or she has provided or supervised the 
provision of those services. 
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17. The dietetics practitioner accurately presents professional 
qualifications and credentials. 

a. The dietetics practitioner, in seeking, maintaining, and 
using credentials provided by CDR, provides accurate 
information and complies with all requirements imposed 
by CDR. The dietetics practitioner uses CDR-awarded 
credentials (“RD” or “Registered Dietitian”; “DTR” or 
“Dietetic Technician, Registered”; “CS” or “Certified 
Specialist”; and “FADA” or “Fellow of the American 
Dietetic Association”) only when the credential is current 
and authorized by CDR. 
b. The dietetics practitioner does not aid any other person 
in violating any CDR requirements, or in representing 
himself or herself as CDR-credentialed when he or she is 
not. 

18. The dietetics practitioner does not invite, accept, or offer 
gifts, monetary incentives, or other considerations that affect 
or reasonably give an appearance of affecting his/her 
professional judgment. 
Clarification of Principle: 

a. Whether a gift, incentive, or other item of consideration 
shall be viewed to affect, or give the appearance of 
affecting, a dietetics practitioner’s professional judgment 
is dependent on all factors relating to the transaction, 
including the amount or value of the consideration, the 
likelihood that the practitioner’s judgment will or is 
intended to be affected, the position held by the 
practitioner, and whether the consideration is offered or 
generally available to persons other than the practitioner. 
b. It shall not be a violation of this principle for a dietetics 
practitioner to accept compensation as a consultant or 
employee or as part of a research grant or corporate 
sponsorship program, provided the relationship is openly 
disclosed and the practitioner acts with integrity in 
performing the services or responsibilities. 
c. This principle shall not preclude a dietetics practitioner 
from accepting gifts of nominal value, attendance at 
educational programs, meals in connection with 
educational exchanges of information, free samples of 
products, or similar items, as long as such items are not 
offered in exchange for or with the expectation of, and do 
not result in, conduct or services that are contrary to the 
practitioner’s professional judgment.  
d. The test for appearance of impropriety is whether the 
conduct would create in reasonable minds a perception 
that the dietetics practitioner’s ability to carry out 
professional responsibilities with integrity, impartiality, 
and competence is impaired. 

Responsibilities to Colleagues and Other Professionals 

19. The dietetics practitioner demonstrates respect for the 
values, rights, knowledge, and skills of colleagues and other 
professionals. 

a. The dietetics practitioner does not engage in dishonest, 
misleading, or inappropriate business practices that 
demonstrate a disregard for the rights or interests of 
others. 
b. The dietetics practitioner provides objective 
evaluations of performance for employees and coworkers, 
candidates for employment, students, professional 
association memberships, awards, or scholarships, making 
all reasonable efforts to avoid bias in the professional 
evaluation of others. 
 

C. All licensees shall be responsible for reporting any 
and all alleged misrepresentation or violation of the 
AND/CDR code of ethics and/or board rules to the board. 

D. A failure to adhere to the above code of ethics, 
constitutes unprofessional conduct and a violation of lawful 
rules and regulations adopted by the board and further 
constitutes grounds for disciplinary action specified in R.S. 
37:3090 of the Dietitian/Nutritionist Practice Act and these 
rules and regulations and also constitutes grounds for a 
denial of licensure or a renewal of licensure. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3081-3093 and R.S. 36:259(Q). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary LR 12:12 
(January 1984, repromulgated by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Board of Examiners in Dietetics and Nutrition, LR 
14:435 (July 1988), amended LR 25:1095 (June 1999), LR 41:1678 
(September 2015), amended by the Department of Health, Board of 
Examiners in Dietetics and Nutrition, LR 44: 

§119. Denial, Suspension or Revocation of License 

(Formerly §115) 

A. Certificate denial, suspension or revocation shall be 
accomplished in accordance with Section 3090(A) of R.S. 
37:3081-3094, the state Administrative Procedures Act, and 
the procedural rules provided in Chapter 5 hereof. 

B. The board may refuse to issue a license, or suspend, 
revoke or impose probationary conditions and restrictions on 
the license of a person on a finding of any of the causes 
provided by Section 3090 of the Louisiana Dietetic/Nutrition 
Practice Act. 

C. A suspended license shall be subject to expiration and 
may be renewed as provided in this section, but such 
renewal shall not entitle the licensee, while the license 
remains suspended and until he or she is reinstated, to 
engage in the practice of dietetics and/or nutrition, or in any 
other conduct or activity in violation of the order of 
judgment by which the license was suspended. If a license is 
revoked on disciplinary grounds and is reinstated, the 
licensee, as a condition of reinstatement, shall pay the 
renewal fee and any late fee that may be applicable. 

D. Disciplinary Options for Licensees Available to the 
board. In accordance with R.S. 37:3085, R.S. 37:3088, and 
R.S. 37:3090, the following disciplinary options are 
available to the board: 

1. Revocation. The involuntary termination of the 
licensee's license. 

2. Suspension. The licensee is not permitted to 
practice for a specified period of time. Rehabilitative 
conditions may be imposed to run concurrently with the 
suspension period. 

3. Probation. The licensee is permitted to practice, but 
the board has imposed conditions upon the practice or the 
practitioner. Once the time period has elapsed, and the 
licensee has complied with the terms of probation, the board 
will allow the practitioner to resume practice 
unconditionally.  

4. Restriction of License. A reduction in the scope of 
practice. 

5. Censure. The board makes an official statement of 
censure concerning the individual. 

6. Reprimand. Similar to censure. The board reproves 
the licensee.  

7. Restitution. Requirement imposed upon the 
licensee that he or she makes financial or other restitution to 
a client, the board, or other injured party. 

E. Publication of Disciplinary Action. The board will 
notify the professional community within 30 days of any 
disciplinary action, including the disciplined licensee's 
name, offense and sanction imposed. A notice of disciplinary 
action will also be published by the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3081-3093; R.S. 36:259(Q). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 10:12 
(January 1984), promulgated by the Department of Health and
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Hospitals, Board of Examiners in Dietetics and Nutrition, LR 
14:438 (July 1988), amended LR 25:1095 (June 1999), LR 37:2154 
(July 2011), LR 41:1680 (September 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health, Board of Examiners in Dietetics and 
Nutrition, LR 44: 

§121. Prohibited Practice (Formerly §117) 

A. No person shall engage in the practice of 
dietetics/nutrition in the state of Louisiana unless they have a 
current license duly issued by the board under the provisions 
of Chapter 1 of these rules, unless exempted as defined in 
R.S. 37:3093 of the Act. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3081-3093 and R.S. 36:259(Q). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 10:12 
(January 1984), repromulgated by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Board of Examiners in Dietetics and Nutrition, LR 
14:435 (July 1988), amended LR 41:1680 (September 2015), 
amended by the Department of Health, Board of Examiners in 
Dietetics and Nutrition, LR 44: 

§123. Fees (Formerly §119) 

A. In accordance with the provisions of the Act, the 
following fees, where applicable, are payable to the board. 
All fees are non-refundable. 

 

Application  $100 

Initial License   45 

Provisional License   50 

Application Reinstatement 150 

License Renewal   90 

Late Renewal   50 

Inactive Renewal   45 

Duplicate License   25 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3081-3093; R.S. 36:259(Q). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 10:12 
(January 1984), repromulgated by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Board of Examiners in Dietetics and Nutrition, LR 
14:435 (July 1988), LR 26:2613 (November 2000), LR 37:2154 
(July 2011), amended by the Department of Health, Board of 
Examiners in Dietetics and Nutrition, LR 44: 

Chapter 3. Board Members 

§301. Board Members 

A. Officers. The board shall elect annually at the last 
meeting of the calendar year, a chairman, vice-chairman, and 
secretary/treasurer whose responsibilities are included in the 
policy manual. 

B. Meetings 
B.1. - C.1. … 

2. Board members shall be reimbursed for travel and 
incidental expenses incurred while engaged in official duties.  

2.a. - 2.d. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3081-3093, R.S. 36:259(Q). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners in Dietetics and 
Nutrition, LR 37:2155 (July 2011), amended LR 41:1680 
(September 2015), amended by the Department of Health, Board of 
Examiners in Dietetics and Nutrition, LR 44: 

Chapter 5. Procedural Rules 

§501. Authority 

A. Consistent with the legislative purpose enumerated in 
R.S. 37:3081-3094, and to further protect the safety and 
welfare of the public of this state against unauthorized, 

unqualified and improper practice of dietetics and nutrition, 
the following rules of procedure are established under this 
board's specific rulemaking authority of R.S. 37:3085 and 
R.S. 49:952 et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3081-3093; R.S. 36:259(Q). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 10:12 
(January 1984), promulgated by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Board of Examiners in Dietetics and Nutrition, LR 
25:1095 (June 1999), amended by the Department of Health, Board 
of Examiners in Dietetics and Nutrition, LR 44: 

§503. Investigation of Complaints 

A. The board is authorized to receive complaints from 
any person against dietitian/nutritionist licensees or 
applicants or against persons engaged in the unauthorized 
and unlicensed practice of dietetics and nutrition. Any 
complaint bearing on a licensee's professional competence, 
conviction of a crime, unauthorized practice, violation of 
provisions of the Louisiana Dietetic/Nutrition Practice Act or 
board rules and regulations, mental competence, neglect of 
practice or violation of the state law or ethical standards 
where applicable to the practice of dietetics and nutrition, 
should be submitted to the board. 

B. Once a complaint is submitted on the forms provided 
by the board, the board will initiate a review of the 
allegations. The board may dispose of the complaint 
informally through correspondence or conference with the 
individual and/or the complainant which may result in a 
consent agreement and order. If the party stipulates to the 
complaint and waives his or her right to formal hearing, the 
board may impose appropriate sanctions without delay. If the 
board finds that a complaint cannot be resolved informally, 
the written complaint will be forwarded to the board's 
designated complaint investigation officer (hereinafter 
referred to as the CIO) for investigation. 

C. - K. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3081-3093 and R.S. 36:259(Q). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 10:12 
(January 1984), promulgated by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Board of Examiners in Dietetics and Nutrition, LR 
25:1096 (June 1999), amended LR 37:2155 (July 2011), LR 
41:1680 (September 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Board of Examiners in Dietetics and Nutrition, LR 44: 

§505. Conduct of Hearing 

A. … 
1. Compliance Hearing 

a. The board will provide a compliance hearing to 
an applicant for licensure whose application was rejected by 
the board provided that the request for such compliance 
hearing is submitted to the board in writing within 30 days 
after the applicant receives the notice of rejection. In the 
request for the compliance hearing, the applicant shall state 
the specific reasons for his or her opposition to the board’s 
application rejection. Absent exceptional circumstances, as 
determined by the board, the compliance hearing shall be 
conducted within 90 days following the board’s receipt of 
the hearing request. This time limitation applies to rejected 
applicants, as well as licensees with lapsed licenses. 

b. … 
c. The purpose and intent of the compliance hearing 

is to provide a forum for the applicant or licensee to present 
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documentary evidence in the form of affidavits, court 
records, official records, letters, etc., along with under-oath 
testimony to establish that they do, in fact, meet the lawful 
requirements for the application or the retention of the 
license. The board shall have the authority to administer 
oaths, hear the testimony and conduct the hearing. No 
transcript of the hearing is required. The applicant or 
licensee may be represented by counsel, or may represent 
themselves in proper person. 

d. In any compliance hearing, the burden shall be 
on the applicant or licensee to establish that they meet the 
criteria for licensure or that his or her license was timely 
renewed. 

e. Within 30 days after the compliance hearing, the 
board will forward its final decision, including findings of 
fact and conclusions of law, by certified mail, to denied 
applicant or licensee. 

f. Thereafter, the denied applicant or licensee may 
apply for a rehearing, as provided in R.S. 49:959, subject to 
further judicial review, pursuant to R.S. 49:964, 965. 

2. Formal Disciplinary Hearing 
a. - n. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3081-3093 and R.S. 36:259(Q). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 10:12 
(January 1984), promulgated by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Board of Examiners in Dietetics and Nutrition, LR 
25:1097 (June 1999), amended LR 41:1681 (September 2015), 
amended by the Department of Health, Board of Examiners in 
Dietetics and Nutrition, LR 44: 

Chapter 7. Practitioner Health Program 

§701. Purpose and Scope 

A. Upon voluntary disclosure or proof that an applicant 
or licensee has provided professional services while under 
the influence of alcohol or has used narcotic or controlled 
dangerous substances or other drugs in excess of therapeutic 
amounts or without valid medical indication, the board may 
offer the applicant or licensee the practitioner health 
program in order to receive, renew, or maintain the 
professional license. Participation in the program may be 
required as a prerequisite to initial application for licensure 
or continued practice in accordance with the conditions of 
any consent order, compliance hearing, or adjudication 
hearing. 

B. The board, or its designated program administrator, 
may utilize its discretionary authority to require or exclude 
specific components of this program for participants based 
upon determination of the nature and severity of the 
impairment. Participation in the practitioner health program 
may consist of all or part of the following components: 

1. … 
2. monitoring, including drug/alcohol screenings, with 

results submitted to the board, or its designated program 
administrator, for a specified period of time. The frequency 
of screening and a deadline for submission of the screening 
results will also be specified. The name of the monitoring 
agency shall be submitted as requested by the board, or its 
designated program administrator. Monitoring shall continue 
for a period of up to 36 months, as specified by the board, or 
its designated program administrator; 

3. suspension of the license or other action specified 
by the board, or its designated program administrator, upon 
receipt of any positive, unexplained screening results during 
the monitoring period; 

4. mandatory weekly attendance at a self-help group 
such as Alcoholics Anonymous for a specified period of 
time. Submission of a monthly log which meets the board, or 
its designated program administrator’s specifications will be 
required: 

a. a monthly log must be submitted to and received 
by the board, or its designated program administrator, before 
the final business day of the month following completion of 
the required meetings. It is the licensee’s responsibility to 
ensure that these logs are properly completed and received 
by the board, or its designated program administrator, by the 
designated date; 

4.b. - 5. … 
6. supervision of the licensee by a supervisor 

approved by the board, or its designated program 
administrator; 

7. penalties for noncompliance as determined by the 
board, or its designated program administrator. 

C. The licensee will be responsible for executing all 
required releases of information and authorizations required 
for the board, or its designated program administrator, to 
obtain information from any monitor, treatment or service 
provider concerning the licensee’s progress and participation 
in the program. 

D. … 
E. The licensee shall notify the board and its designated 

program administrator’s office by telephone within 48 hours 
and in writing within five days of any changes of licensee’s 
home address, telephone number, employment status, 
employer, supervisor, and/or change in practice at a facility. 

F. In the event that a licensee relocates to another 
jurisdiction, the licensee will within five days of relocating 
be required to either enroll in the other jurisdiction’s 
practitioner health program and have the reports required 
under the agreement sent to the board, or its designated 
program administrator, or if the other jurisdiction has no 
practitioner health program, the licensee will notify the 
licensing board of that jurisdiction that the licensee is 
impaired and enrolled in the Louisiana program. In the event 
the licensee fails to do so, the license will be suspended. 

G. … 
H. The board, and its designated program administrator, 

will, to the full extent permissible, maintain an agreement or 
consent agreement and order relating to the licensee’s 
participation in the practitioner health program as a 
confidential matter. The board, and its designated program 
administrator, retains the discretion to share information it 
deems necessary with those persons providing 
evaluation/assessment, therapy, treatment, supervision, 
monitoring or drug/alcohol testing or reports. Violation of 
any terms, conditions or requirements contained in any 
consent order, or board decision can result in a loss of the 
confidential status. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3081-3093; R.S. 36:259(Q). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners in Dietetics and
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Nutrition, LR 37:2155 (July 2011), amended by the Department of 
Health, Board of Examiners in Dietetics and Nutrition, LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 

In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 

In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 
170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of services, 
no direct or indirect cost to the provider to provide the same 
level of service, and will have no impact on the provider’s 
ability to provide the same level of service as described in 
HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Jolie 

Jones, Executive Director, Louisiana Board of Examiners in 
Dietetics and Nutrition, 37283 Swamp Road, Suite 3B, 
Prairieville, LA 70769. Mrs. Jones is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. The 
deadline for receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. on 
the day prior to the hearing. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Friday, August 30, 2018 at 8:30 a.m. in the conference room 
at the board office, 37283 Swamp Road, Suite 3B, 
Prairieville, LA 70769. At that time all interested persons 
will be afforded an opportunity to submit data, views or 
arguments either orally or in writing. 

 
Jolie Jones 
Executive Director 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Registered Dietitians/Nutritionists 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule change will result in an estimated 

one-time SGR expenditure of $1,600 in FY 19 for the 
Louisiana Board of Examiners in Dietetics and Nutrition 
(LBEDN) to publish the proposed rule changes in the 
Louisiana Register and upload the rule revisions to the 
LBEDN website. 

The proposed rule changes amend some rule titles and 
make technical revisions to improve grammar, as well as 
add specificity and clarification throughout the 
administrative rules for Registered Dietitians and

Nutritionists. More substantive revisions include guidelines 
for the practice of telenutrition, the creation of an inactive 
license status, and the revision of the LBEDN fee schedule 
to increase certain license and license renewal fees. These 
changes fall within the current regulatory scope of the 
LBEDN and are not anticipated to carry any additional 
costs.   

The proposed rule change will not result in any 
additional expenditures or savings for local governmental 
units. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes will increase SGR collections 
for the LBEDN by an estimated $49,995 annually. Fee 
revisions in the proposed rule changes include the following: 
increasing the application and licensure fee by $55, from 
$90 to $145; increasing the provisional application and 
licensure fee by $45, from $95 to $140; increasing license 
renewal fees by $30, from $60 to $90; increasing late 
renewal fees by $55, from $85 to $140; and increasing 
application reinstatement fees by $60, from $90 to $150. 
Based upon application and renewal activity from FY 17, 
the aggregate SGR increase from the fee revisions is 
estimated to total $49,995 to the extent future application 
and renewal activity is consistent with historical activity. 

Furthermore, the proposed rule changes include a new 
inactive license status that has an accompanying fee of $45. 
Persons seeking inactive status would pay $45 in lieu of a 
license renewal fee. To the extent persons pay the $45 in 
lieu of the existing $60 renewal fee, the LBEDN would 
realize a revenue decrease of $15 per license. Furthermore, 
to the extent persons pay $45 for an inactive license in lieu 
of the new license renewal fee of $90, the LBEDN would 
realize a revenue decrease of $45 per license. The aggregate 
impact of the inactive fee on the LBEDN’s SGR collections 
is indeterminable and dependent upon the number of persons 
seeking inactive status, as well as the timing of when such 
persons enter into inactive status. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes increase license fees for 
practitioners regulated by the LBEDN by an estimated 
$49,995 annually (See Part II, Paragraph 1). Furthermore, 
persons holding Licensed Dietitian or Nutritionist licenses 
who no longer wish to engage in active practice may change 
their license status to inactive, and may retain their licenses 
while also paying a lower fee relative to the license renewal 
fee (See Part 2, Paragraph 2).  

Furthermore, the proposed rule changes include a 
framework for the delivery of telenutrition services, which 
may allow Licensed Dietitians or Nutritionists to deliver 
services in addition to services delivered in a clinical setting. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

To the extent Licensed Dietitians or Nutritionists begin 
delivering telenutrition services as a result of the proposed 
rule changes, those practitioners delivering telenutrition 
services may gain competitively over those who do not. 
Furthermore, the addition of telenutrition services may 
increase employment opportunities for practitioners that 
may have otherwise been limited to practicing in clinical 
settings. 

 
Jolie Jones Greg V. Albrecht 
Executive Director Chief Economists 
1807#029 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Disproportionate Share Hospital Payments 
Major Medical Centers 

Specialized Burn Care Units 
(LAC 50:V.2717) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to adopt LAC 50:V.2717 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R. S. 49:950 
et seq. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing determined that it was necessary to promulgate an 
Emergency Rule to amend the provisions governing 
disproportionate share hospital (DSH) payments for major 
medical centers in order to establish qualification criteria, 
and a DSH payment methodology, for large private hospitals 
located in the southwestern area of the state (LDH Region 4) 
which provide specialized intensive care burn units 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 44, Number 7). This proposed 
Rule is being promulgated to continue the provisions of the 
June 30, 2018 Emergency Rule. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 

Subpart 3.  Disproportionate Share Hospital Payments 

Chapter 27. Qualifying Hospitals 

§2717. Major Medical Centers with Specialized Burn 

Care Units Located in the Southwestern Area of 

the State 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after June 30, 
2018, hospitals qualifying for payments as major medical 
centers located in the southwestern area of the state shall 
meet the following criteria: 

1. be a private, non-rural hospital located in 
Department of Health administrative region 4; 

2. have at least 175 inpatient beds as reported on the 
Medicare/Medicaid cost report, Worksheet S-3, column 2, 
lines 1-18, for the state fiscal year ending June 30, 2017. For 
qualification purposes, inpatient beds shall exclude nursery 
and Medicare-designated distinct part psychiatric unit beds; 

3. have a burn intensive care unit that is reported on 
the Medicare/Medicaid cost report, Worksheet S-3, line 10, 
columns 1-8, for the state fiscal year ending June 30, 2017;  

4. does not qualify as a Louisiana low-income 
academic hospital under the provisions of §3101; and 

5. does not qualify as a party to a low income and 
needy care collaboration agreement with the Department of 
Health under the provisions of §2713. 

B. Payment Methodology. Effective for dates of service 
on or after June 30, 2018, each qualifying hospital shall be 
paid a DSH adjustment payment which is the pro rata 
amount calculated by dividing their hospital specific 
allowable uncompensated care costs by the total allowable 
uncompensated care costs for all hospitals qualifying under 
this category and multiplying by the funding appropriated by 

the Louisiana Legislature in the applicable state fiscal year 
for this category of hospitals.  

1. Costs, patient specific data and documentation that 
qualifying criteria is met shall be submitted in a format 
specified by the department.  

2. Costs and lengths of stay shall be reviewed by the 
department for reasonableness before payments are made. 

3. Aggregate DSH payments for hospitals that receive 
payment from this category, and any other DSH category, 
shall not exceed the hospital’s specific DSH limit. If 
payments calculated under this methodology would cause a 
hospital’s aggregate DSH payment to exceed the limit, the 
payment from this category shall be capped at the hospital’s 
specific DSH limit. 

4. A pro rata decrease, necessitated by conditions 
specified in §2501.B.1 above for hospitals described in this 
Section, will be calculated based on the ratio determined by 
dividing the hospital's uncompensated costs by the 
uncompensated costs for all of the qualifying hospitals 
described in this Section, then multiplying by the amount of 
disproportionate share payments calculated in excess of the 
federal DSH allotment. 

a. Additional payments shall only be made after 
finalization of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services’ (CMS) mandated DSH audit for the state fiscal 
year.  

b. Payments shall be limited to the aggregate 
amount recouped from the qualifying hospitals described in 
this Section, based on the reported DSH audit results.  

c. If the hospitals' aggregate amount of 
underpayments reported per the audit results exceeds the 
aggregate amount overpaid, the payment redistribution to 
underpaid hospitals shall be paid on a pro rata basis 
calculated using each hospital’s amount underpaid, divided 
by the sum of underpayments for all of the hospitals 
described in this Section. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 44: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have a positive impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 as it will ensure that Medicaid recipients in 
southwest Louisiana have continued access to specialized 
intensive care treatment for severe burns. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have a positive impact on child, 
individual, or family poverty in relation to individual or 
community asset development as described in R.S. 49:973 as 
these payments will ensure provider participation and reduce 
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the financial burden on families in need of specialized 
intensive care treatment for burn victims. 

Provider Impact Statement 

In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution 170 of 
the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, the 
provider impact of this proposed Rule has been considered. 
It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will have no impact 
on the staffing level requirements or qualifications required 
to provide the same level of service, and may reduce the 
total direct and indirect cost to the provider to provide the 
same level of service. This proposed Rule may also enhance 
the provider’s ability to provide the same level of service 
since this proposed Rule increases the payment to providers 
for the same services they already render. 

Public Comments 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 
Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. The 
deadline for receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. on 
the next business day following the public hearing. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, August 29, 2018 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing.  

Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Disproportionate Share  

Hospital Payments, Major Medical Centers,  

and Specialized Burn Care Units 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 

rule will result in estimated state general fund programmatic 
costs of $4,462,325 for FY 18-19, $4,595,861 for FY 19-20 and 
$4,733,737 for FY 20-21. It is anticipated that $648 ($324 SGF 
and $324 FED) will be expended in FY 18-19 for the state’s 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule. The state match shall be funded through an 
intergovernmental transfer of funds from the qualifying 
hospital services provider. The numbers reflected above are 
based on a blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage 
(FMAP) rate of 64.23 percent in FYs 18-19, 19-20 and 20-21. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that federal revenue collections will 
increase by approximately $8,012,465 for FY 18-19, 
$8,252,505 for FY 19-20 and $8,500,080 for FY 20-21 and 
self-generated revenue collections will increase by 
approximately $4,462,325 in FY 18-19, $4,595,861 in FY 20-
21 and $4,733,737 in FY 20-21. It is anticipated that $324 will 
be expended in FY 18-19 for the federal administrative 
expenses for promulgation of this proposed rule and the final 
rule. The numbers reflected above are based on a blended 
Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 64.23 
percent in FYs 18-19, 19-20 and 20-21. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule continues the provisions of the June 30, 
2018 Emergency Rule which amended the provisions 
governing disproportionate share hospital (DSH) payments for 
major medical centers in order to establish qualification criteria 
and a DSH payment methodology for a large private hospital 
located in the southwestern area of the state (LDH Region 4) 
which provides specialized intensive care burn unit services (1 
hospital). It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed 
rule will have economic benefits to a qualifying hospital and 
will increase programmatic expenditures for DSH payments by 
approximately $12,474,142 for FY 18-19, 12,848,366 for FY 
19-20 and $13,233,817 for FY 20-21. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition. However, the 
increase in payments may have a positive impact the financial 
standing of the provider and could possibly cause an increase in 
employment opportunities. 

 
Jan Steele Evan Brasseaux 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1807#050 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Federally-Qualified Health Centers 
Reimbursement Methodology 

Long-Acting Reversible Contraceptives 
(LAC 50:XI.10703) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to amend LAC 50:XI.10703 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing currently provides reimbursement for services 
rendered by federally qualified health centers (FQHCs) on a 
per visit basis under a prospective payment system (PPS) 
methodology. The department now proposes to amend the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
FQHCs in order to implement a payment methodology to 
allow reimbursement for long-acting reversible 
contraceptive devices outside of the PPS rate. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XI.  Clinic Services 

Subpart 13.  Federally-Qualified Health Centers 

Chapter 107. Reimbursement Methodology 

§10703. Alternate Payment Methodology 

A. - C. ... 
D. Effective for dates of service on or after January 1, 

2019, FQHCs shall be reimbursed a separate payment 
outside of the prospective payment system (PPS) rate for the 
following services. 

1. Long-Acting Reversible Contraceptives (LARCs)  
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a. Reimbursement for LARCs shall be at the lesser 
of, the rate on file or the actual acquisition cost for entities 
participating in the 340B program. Federally qualified health 
centers eligible for 340B pricing must bill Medicaid at their 
340B actual acquisition cost for reimbursement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE:  Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:1033 (June 2008), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
44: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 

contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 

submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 
Family Impact Statement 

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 

Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 

this proposed Rule may have a positive impact on family 

functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 

49:972, as it provides Medicaid recipients with increased 

access to long-acting reversible contraceptives which aids in 

the prevention of unintended pregnancies and low birth 

outcomes. 
Poverty Impact Statement 

In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 

proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 

proposed Rule may have a positive impact on child, 

individual, or family poverty in relation to individual or 

community asset development as described in R.S. 49:973 as 

it decreases the number of visits required to receive long-

acting reversible contraceptive devices necessary for the 

prevention of unintended pregnancies and low birth 

outcomes, which will reduce unexpected costs and financial 

burdens for families. 
Provider Impact Statement 

In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 

been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 

have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 

qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 

no direct or indirect cost to the provider to provide the same 

level of service, and will have no impact on the provider’s 

ability to provide the same level of service as described in 

HCR 170. 
Public Comments 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 

Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 

91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 

MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 

responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. The 

deadline for receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. on 

the next business day following the public hearing. 
Public Hearing 

A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, August 29, 2018 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 

Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 

LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 

opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 

or in writing. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 
 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Federally-Qualified Health Centers 

Reimbursement Methodology 

Long-Acting Reversible Contraceptives 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 

will result in an estimated state general fund programmatic 
savings to the state of approximately $17,289 for FY 18-19, 
$104,248 for FY 19-20, and $184,866 for 20-21 as a result of a 
direct correlation in increased access to contraception which is 
expected to reduce Medicaid costs for physician services, and a 
reduction in federally qualified health center (FQHC) 
expenditures since fewer visits to the FQHC will be required to 
receive this service. It is anticipated that $432 ($216 SGF and 
$216 FED) will be expended in FY 18-19 for the state’s 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 
will result in an estimated state general fund programmatic 
savings of approximately $1,729 for FY 18-19, $11,583 for 19-
20 and $20,541 for FY 20-21. It is anticipated that $216 will be 
expended in FY 18-19 for the federal administrative expenses 
for promulgation of this proposed rule and the final rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule amends the provisions governing 
federally qualified health center (FQHC) reimbursements in 
order to implement a payment methodology for long-acting 
reversible contraceptive (LARC) devices outside of the 
prospective payment system (PPS) rate. This proposed Rule 
will be beneficial to Medicaid recipients as it is anticipated to 
reduce the number of FQHC visits required for insertion of 
LARC devices. There are no anticipated economic costs to 
FQHC providers; although, there may be a reduction in the 
number of FQHC visits required for LARC insertions which 
could reduce payments to FQHCs. However, we anticipate the 
rule will be beneficial to FQHCs by allowing them to receive 
reimbursement for LARC devices at cost, in addition to the 
current PPS encounter rate. Although this rule increases 
payments for LARC devices, we anticipate it will result in a net 
reduction in Medicaid programmatic expenditures by 
approximately $19,450 for FY 18-19, $115,831 for FY 19-20 
and $205,407 for 20-21 as a result of reduced payments for 
encounter visits associated with the insertion of LARC devices.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Jen Steele Evan Brasseaux 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1807#051 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Healthcare Services Provider Fees 
Emergency Ground Ambulance and Hospital Provider Fees 

(LAC 48:I.4001) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to amend LAC 48:I.4001 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 
46:2625. This proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 6 of the 2018 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature enacted an 
annual hospital stabilization formula and directed the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing 
to calculate, levy and collect an assessment for each assessed 
hospital, with the exception of facilities prohibited from 
participating in the Medicare Program. In addition, Act 272 
of the 2018 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature 
directed the department to increase provider fees for 
emergency ground ambulance service providers. The 
department promulgated an Emergency Rule amending the 
provisions governing provider fees for emergency ground 
ambulance and hospital services providers in order to 
comply with HCR 6 and Act 272 (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 44 Number 7). This proposed Rule is being 
promulgated in order to continue the provisions of the July 
1, 2018 Emergency Rule. 

Title 48 

PUBLIC HEALTH—GENERAL 

PART I.  GENERAL Administration 

Subpart 1.  General 

Chapter 40. Provider Fees 

§4001. Specific Fees 

A. - D. ... 
E. Emergency Ground Ambulance Services. Effective 

August 1, 2016, a fee shall be imposed on emergency ground 
ambulance service providers in accordance with R.S. 
46:2626. 

1. - 3. ... 
a. the maximum fee allowable in any year shall not 

exceed the percentage of net patient service revenues 
permitted by federal regulation pursuant to 42 CFR 433.68 
as determined by the department, as reported by the provider 
and subject to audit for the previous fiscal year of the 
provider. The department will arrive at net patient services 
revenue by using net operating revenue as defined in R.S. 
46:2626. 

E.4. ... 
F. Hospital Services 

1. - 4. ... 
5. No licensed facility, which is prohibited from 

participating in the Medicare Program set forth in 42 U.S.C. 
1396, shall be assessed or levied any fee for the hospital 
stabilization authorized in Article VII, Section 10.13 of the 
Constitution of Louisiana. This provision is specifically 
subject to the approval of any waiver required by the Centers 
for Medicare and Medicaid Services and approval by the 
Department of Health. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
Chapter 45 of Title 46 as enacted in 1992, 46:2601-2605, 
redesignated as Chapter 47 of Title 46, containing R.S. 46:2621 to 
46:2625 and P.L. 102-234. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Management and Finance, LR 
19:347 (March 1993), amended LR 20:51 (January 1994), LR 
26:1478 (July 2000), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 33:100 (January 2007), amended by the Department 
of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 42:1887, 1888 
(November 2016), LR 43:73 (January 2017), repromulgated LR 
43:323 (February 2017), amended LR 44:1015 (June 2018), LR 44: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 
but may increase the total direct and indirect cost to the 
provider to provide the same level of service due to the 
increase in provider fee payments. These provisions may 
have a negative impact on the provider’s ability to provide 
the same level of service as described in HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 

Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, August 29, 2018 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Healthcare Services Provider Fees 

Emergency Ground Ambulance and  

Hospital Provider Fees 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 

will have no programmatic fiscal impact to the state other than 
the cost of promulgation for FY 18-19. It is anticipated that 
$540 ($270 SGF and $270 FED) will be expended in FY 18-19 
for the state’s administrative expense for promulgation of this 
proposed rule and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will increase statutory dedicated revenue collections by 
approximately $6,146,480 for FY 18-19, $6,146,480 for FY 19-
20 and $6,146,480 for FY 20-21. In addition, it is anticipated 
that federal revenue collections will increase by approximately 
$9,504,646 for FY 18-19, $9,342,575 for FY 19-20 and 
$9,342,575 for FY 20-21. It is anticipated that $270 will be 
expended in FY 18-19 for the federal administrative expenses 
for promulgation of this proposed rule and the final rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution 6 and Act 
272 of the 2018 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, 
this proposed Rule continues the provisions of the July 1, 2018 
Emergency Rule which amends the provisions governing 
healthcare services provider fees in order to calculate, levy and 
collect an assessment for each assessed hospital, with the 
exception of facilities prohibited from participating in the 
Medicare Program, and to increase provider fees for emergency 
ground ambulance service providers.  It is anticipated that 
implementation of this proposed rule will result in an increase 
in statutory dedicated revenue collections of approximately 
$6,146,480 for FY 18-19, $6,146,480 for FY 19-20 and 
$6,146,480 for FY 20-21 as a result of the increased emergency 
ground ambulance service provider fee. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition and employment. 

 
Jen Steele Evan Brasseaux 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1807#052 Louisiana Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 

Office of Aging and Adult Services 

Home and Community-Based Services Waivers 
Community Choices Waiver 

(LAC 50:XXI.Chapters 81-87 and 93) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services 
propose to amend LAC 50:XXI.Chapters 81-87 and 93 in 
the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 

36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
This proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services 
(OAAS) propose to amend the provisions governing the 
Community Choices Waiver (CCW) in order to: 1) align the 
provisions governing target population, service definitions 
and provider qualifications with the waiver approved by the 
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services; 2) eliminate the non-
medical transportation service; 3) amend the criteria for 
CCW priority offers to specify priority for individuals 
admitted to, or residing in, nursing facilities for whom 
Medicaid is the sole payer source; 4) change references to 
the minimum data set-home care to the International 
Resident Assessment Instrument (interRAI) assessment tool; 
and 5) allow OAAS to grant exceptions to waiver discharges 
for interruptions due to qualifying circumstances.  

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH-MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XXI.  Home and Community Based Services 

Waivers 

Subpart 7.  Community Choices Waiver 

Chapter 81. General Provisions 

§8101. Introduction 

A. The target population for the Community Choices 
Waiver includes individuals who: 

1. are 65 years of age or older; or 
2. are 21-64 years of age with a physical disability; 

and  
3. meet nursing facility level of care requirements. 
4. Repealed.  

B. – D.2. ... 
3. No individual, unless granted an exception by 

OAAS, may concurrently serve as a responsible 
representative for more than two participants in OAAS-
operated Medicaid home and community-based service 
programs. This includes but is not limited to: 

a. – d. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37:3517 (December 2011), 
amended LR 40:791 (April 2014), amended by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Aging and Adult Services, LR 44: 

§8103. Request for Services Registry 

A. The Department of Health (LDH) is responsible for 
the request for services registry, hereafter referred to as “the 
registry,” for the Community Choices Waiver. An individual 
who wishes to have his or her name placed on the registry 
must contact a toll-free telephone number which shall be 
maintained by the department. 

B. Individuals who desire their name to be placed on the 
Community Choices Waiver registry shall be screened to 
determine whether they meet: 

1. nursing facility level or care; and 
2. are members of the target population as identified 

in the federally-approved waiver document. 
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C. Only individuals who pass the screen required in 
§8103.B.1-2 shall be added to the registry. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37:3517 (December 2011), 
amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 44: 

§8105. Programmatic Allocation of Waiver 

Opportunities 

A. ... 
B. Community Choices Waiver opportunities shall be 

offered to individuals on the registry according to priority 
groups. The following groups shall have priority for 
Community Choices Waiver opportunities, in the order 
listed: 

1. individuals with substantiated cases of abuse or 
neglect referred by protective services who, without 
Community Choices Waiver services, would require 
institutional placement to prevent further abuse or neglect; 

2. - 3. ... 
4. individuals admitted to or residing in a nursing 

facility who have Medicaid as the sole payer source for the 
nursing facility stay; 

5. individuals who are not presently receiving home 
and community-based services (HCBS) under another 
approved Medicaid waiver program, including, but not 
limited to the: 

a. Adult Day Health Care (ADHC) Waiver; 
b. New Opportunities Waiver (NOW); 
c. Supports Waiver, and/or  
d. Residential Options Waiver (ROW); and 

B.6. - C. ...  
D. Notwithstanding the priority group provisions, 75 

Community Choices Waiver opportunities are reserved for 
qualifying individuals who have been diagnosed with 
Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS). Qualifying 
individuals who have been diagnosed with ALS shall be 
offered an opportunity on a first-come, first-serve basis.  

E. Notwithstanding the priority group provisions, up to 
300 Community Choices Waiver opportunities may be 
granted to qualified individuals who require emergency 
waiver services. These individuals shall be offered an 
opportunity on a first-come, first-serve basis. 

1. To be considered for an expedited waiver 
opportunity, the individual must, at the time of the request 
for the expedited opportunity, be approved for the maximum 
amount of services allowable under the long –term personal 
care services and require institutional placement, unless 
offered an expedited waiver opportunity. 

2. – 2.e. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37:3517 (December 2011), 
amended LR 39:319 (February 2013), LR 39:1778 (July 2013), 
amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 44: 

§8107. Resource Assessment Process 

A. Each Community Choices Waiver 
applicant/participant shall be assessed using the uniform

International Resident Assessment Instrument (interRAI) 
designed to verify that an individual meets nursing facility 
level of care and to assess multiple key domains of function, 
health, social support and service use. The interRAI 
assessment generates a score that assigns the individual to a 
resource utilization group (RUG-III/HC). 

B. The following seven primary RUG-III/HC categories 
and subcategories will be utilized to determine the assistance 
needed for various activities of daily living (ADLs) and 
instrumental activities of daily living (IADLs). 

1. Special Rehabilitation. Individuals in this category 
have had at least 120 minutes of rehabilitation therapy 
(physical, occupational and/or speech) within the seven days 
prior to their interRAI assessment. 

2. - 2.c. ... 
3. Special Care. Individuals in this category have a 

medium to high level of need for assistance with ADLs and 
have one or more of the following conditions or require one 
or more of the following treatments: 

a. - f. ... 
g. intravenous (IV) medications; or 

B.3.h. - C.1. ... 
2. The applicant/participant may qualify for an 

increase in the annual services budget amount upon showing 
that: 

a. one or more answers are incorrect as recorded on 
the assessment (except for the answers in the identification 
information, personal intake and initial history, assessment 
date and reason, and/or signature sections); or 

b. ... 
D. Each Community Choices Waiver participant shall be 

re-assessed at least annually. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37:3518 (December 2011), 
amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 44: 

Chapter 83. Covered Services 

§8301. Support Coordination 

A. Support coordination services assist participants in 
gaining access to needed waiver and other state plan 
services, as well as needed medical, social, educational, 
housing, and other services, regardless of the funding source 
for these services. Support coordination agencies shall be 
required to perform the following core elements of support 
coordination services: 

1. intake; 
2. assessment and re-assessment; 
3. plan of care development and revision; 
4. follow-up/monitoring; 
5. critical incident management; and 
6. transition/discharge and closure. 
7. - 12. Repealed. 

B. ... 
1. When participants choose to self-direct their waiver 

services, the support coordinators are responsible for 
informing participants about: 

a. ... 
b. how their activities as an employer are 

coordinated with the fiscal agent; and 
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1.c. - 2. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37:3519 (December 2011), 
amended LR 39:319 (February 2013), LR 39:1778 (July 2013), 
amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 44: 

§8302. Long-Term Personal Care Services 

A. Community Choices Waiver participants cannot also 
receive long-term personal care services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 39:320 (February 2013), 
amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 44: 

§8303. Transition Intensive Support Coordination 

A. Transition intensive support coordination services 
assist participants who are currently residing in nursing 
facilities in gaining access to needed waiver and other state 
plan services, as well as needed medical, social, housing, 
educational and other services, regardless of the funding 
source for these services. Support coordinators shall initiate 
and oversee the process for assessment and reassessment, as 
well as be responsible for ongoing monitoring of the 
provision of services included in the participant’s approved 
POC.  

1. - 2. ...  
B. Support coordinators may assist persons to transition 

for up to six months while the individual still resides in the 
facility. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37:3519 (December 2011), 
amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 44: 

§8305. Environmental Accessibility Adaptations 

A. Environmental accessibility adaptations are necessary 
physical adaptations that will be made to the home to 
reasonably assure the health and welfare of the participant, 
or enable the participant to function with greater 
independence in the home.  

1. There must be an identified need for environmental 
accessibility adaptations as indicated by:  

a. the interRAI assessment; or  
b. supporting documentation of the need. 

2. A credentialed environmental accessibility 
adaptation assessor must complete a written report that 
includes: 

a. verification of the need for the adaptation(s); 
b. draft job specifications; and 
c. cost estimates for completion of the 

environmental accessibility adaptation(s). 
3. The work must be completed by an enrolled, 

licensed contractor. 
4. Environmental accessibility adaptation(s)shall meet 

all job specifications as outlined in the written report before 
payment is made to the contractor that performed the 
environmental accessibility adaptation(s). 

a. If final inspection, either by OAAS staff or the 
assessor, reveals that the adaptation(s) is substandard, the 
costs of correcting the work will be the responsibility of the 
party in error. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37:3519 (December 2011), 
amended LR 39:320 (February 2013), amended by the Department 
of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Aging and Adult Services, LR 44: 

§8307. Personal Assistance Services 

A. Personal assistance services (PAS) provide assistance 
and/or supervision necessary for the participant with 
functional impairments to remain safely in the community. 
PAS include the following services and supports based on 
the approved POC: 

1. supervision or assistance in performing activities of 
daily living (ADL); 

2. supervision or assistance in performing 
instrumental activities of daily living (IADL); 

A.3. - B. ... 
C. The provision of PAS services outside of the 

participant’s home does not include trips outside of the 
borders of the state without prior written approval by OAAS 
or its designee. 

D. PAS may be provided through the “a.m.” and “p.m.” 
delivery option defined as follows: 

1. - 2. ... 
3. a minimum four hours break between the “a.m.” 

and the “p.m.” portions of this PAS delivery method;  
4. - 6. ... 
7. "a.m." and/or "p.m." PAS may not be provided on 

the same calendar day as other PAS delivery methods; 
D.8. - F. ... 
G. Every PAS provider shall ensure that each waiver 

participant who receives PAS has a written individualized 
back-up staffing plan and agreement for use in the event that 
the assigned PAS worker is unable to provide support due to 
unplanned circumstances, including emergencies which arise 
during a shift. 

H. Every PAS provider shall ensure timely completion of 
the emergency plan for each waiver participant they serve. 

I. – I.6. ... 
J. Participants are not permitted to receive PAS while 

living in a home or property owned, operated, or controlled 
by an owner, operator, agent, or employee of a licensed 
provider of long-term care services and providers are 
prohibited from providing and billing for services under 
these circumstances. Participants may not live in the home 
of a direct support worker unless that worker is related by 
blood or marriage to the participant.  

1. ... 
K. It is permissible for the PAS allotment to be used 

flexibly within a prior authorized week in accordance with 
the participant’s preferences and personal schedule and with 
proper documentation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37:3519 (December 2011),
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amended LR 39:320 (February 2013), LR 39:1778 (July 2013), LR 
40:791 (April 2014), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and 
Adult Services, LR 44: 

§8309. Transition Services 

A. ... 
B. Allowable expenses are those necessary to enable the 

individual to establish a basic household (excluding 
expenses for room and board)including, but not limited to:  

1. ... 
2. specific set up fees or deposits;  
3. activities to assess need, arrange for and procure 

needed resources; 
4. essential furnishings to establish basic living 

arrangements; and 
5. health and welfare assurances. 

C. ... 
D. These services do not include monthly rental, 

mortgage expenses, food, recurring monthly utility charges 
and household appliances and/or items intended for purely 
diversional/recreational purposes. These services may not be 
used to pay for furnishing or to set-up living arrangements 
that are owned or leased by a waiver provider. 

E. ... 
F. Funds are available up to the lifetime maximum 

amount identified in the federally-approved waiver 
document.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37:3520 (December 2011), 
amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 44: 

§8311. Adult Day Health Care Services 

A. ... 
B. ADHC services include those core service 

requirements identified in the ADHC licensing standards 
(LAC 48.I.4243), in addition to: 

1. medical care management; and 
2. transportation to and from medical and social 

activities (if the participant is accompanied by the ADHC 
center staff). 

3. – 8. Repealed. 
C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37:3521 (December 2011), 
amended LR 39:321 (February 2013), amended by the Department 
of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Aging and Adult Services, LR 44: 

§8313. Caregiver Temporary Support Services 

A. – H. ... 
I. Caregiver temporary support may be provided for the 

relief of the principal caregiver for participants who receive 
monitored in-home caregiving (MIHC) services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37:3521 (December 2011), 
amended LR 39:321 (February 2013), LR 40:792 (April 2014), 

amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 44: 

§8315. Assistive Devices and Medical Supplies  

A. Assistive devices and medical supplies are specialized 
medical equipment and supplies which include: 

1. devices, controls, appliances or nutritional 
supplements that enable participants to increase their ability 
to perform activities of daily living; or  

2. devices, controls, appliances or nutritional 
supplements that enable participants to perceive, control, or 
communicate with the environment in which they live or 
provide emergency response; 

3. items, supplies and services necessary for life 
support, ancillary supplies and equipment necessary to the 
proper functioning of such items; 

4. supplies and services necessary to assure health and 
welfare; 

5. other durable and non-durable medical equipment 
and medical supplies that are necessary, but not available 
under the state plan;  

6. personal emergency response systems (PERS); 
7. other in-home monitoring and medication 

management devices and technology; 
8. routine maintenance or repair of specialized 

equipment; and 
9. batteries, extended warranties, and service contracts 

that are cost effective and assure health and welfare. 
B. This service includes medical equipment, not 

available under the state plan, that is necessary to address 
participant functional limitations and necessary medical 
supplies not available under the state plan.  

C. Where applicable, participant must use Medicaid 
State Plan, Medicare, or other available payers first. The 
participant’s preference for a certain brand or supplier is not 
grounds for declining another payer in order to access 
waiver services. 

D. All services must be based on a verified need of the 
participant and the service must have a direct or remedial 
benefit to the participant with specific goals and outcomes. 
This benefit must be determined by an independent 
assessment on any items whose cost exceeds the amount 
identified in the federally-approved waiver document and on 
all communication devices, mobility devices, and 
environmental controls. Independent assessments are done 
by individuals who have no fiduciary relationship with the 
manufacturer, supplier, or vendor of the item. 

E. All items must reduce reliance on other Medicaid 
State Plan or waiver services. 

F. All items must meet applicable standards of 
manufacture, design, and installation. 

G. All items must be prior authorized and no 
experimental items shall be authorized. 

H. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37:3521 (December 2011), 
amended LR 39:321 (February 2013), amended by the Department 
of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Aging and Adult Services, LR 44: 

§8319. Non-Medical Transportation 

Repealed.  
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37:3522 (December 2011), 
amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 44: 

§8323. Skilled Maintenance Therapy 

A. Skilled maintenance therapy is therapy services that 
may be received by participants in the home or rehabilitation 
center. 

B. ... 
C. Therapy services provided to participants are not 

necessarily tied to an episode of illness or injury and instead 
focus primarily on the person’s functional need for 
maintenance of, or reducing the decline in, the participant’s 
ability to carry out activities of daily living.  

D. - H. ...  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37:3522 (December 2011), 
amended LR 39:321 (February 2013), amended by the Department 
of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Aging and Adult Services, LR 44: 

§8325. Housing Transition or Crisis Intervention 

Services  

A. Housing transition or crisis intervention services 
enable participants who are transitioning into a permanent 
supportive housing (PSH)unit, including those transitioning 
from institutions, to secure their own housing or provide 
assistance at any time the participant’s housing is placed at 
risk (e.g., eviction, loss of roommate or income). The service 
includes the following components: 

1. conducting a housing assessment identifying the 
participant’s preferences related to housing (type, location, 
living alone or with someone else, accommodations needed, 
and other important preferences), and identifying his/her 
needs for support to maintain housing, including: 

a. ... 
b. becoming familiar with neighborhood, resources, 

and neighbors; 
c. meeting the terms of a lease; 
d. eviction prevention; 
e. budgeting for housing/living expenses; 
f. obtaining/accessing sources of income necessary 

for rent; 
g. home management; and  
h. ... 

2. assisting the participant to view and secure housing 
as needed. This may include arranging or providing 
transportation. The participant shall be assisted in securing 
supporting documents/records, completing/submitting 
applications, securing/seeking waiver of deposits, and 
locating furnishings; 

3. – 5. ... 
6. communicating with the landlord or property 

manager regarding: 
a. accommodations needed by the participant; 
b. components of emergency procedures involving 

the landlord or property manager; and 
c. needs to assist with issues that may place the 

participant’s ability to access or remain in housing at risk. 

B. - C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 39:1779 (July 2013), 
amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 44: 

§8327. Housing Stabilization Services 

A. Housing stabilization services enable waiver 
participants to, once housed, successfully maintain tenancy 
and residence in their own housing as set forth in the 
participant’s approved plan of care. Services must be 
provided in the home or a community setting. This service 
includes the following components: 

1. ... 
2. providing supports and interventions designed to 

maintain ongoing successful and stable tenancy and 
residence;  

3. serving as point of contact for the landlord or 
property manager regarding any accommodations needed by 
the participant, any components of emergency procedures 
involving the landlord or property manager and to assist with 
issues that may place the participant’s housing at risk; and  

A.4. - B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 39:1779 (July 2013), 
amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 44: 

§8329. Monitored In-Home Caregiving Services 

A. ... 
B. The principal caregiver is responsible for supporting 

the participant to maximize the highest level of 
independence possible by providing necessary care and 
supports that may include: 

1. - 4. ... 
5. supervision or assistance while escorting/ 

accompanying the individual outside of the home to perform 
services indicated in the plan of care and to provide the same 
level of supervision or assistance as would be rendered in 
the home; and 

B.6. - C.5. ... 
D. Participants electing monitored in-home caregiving 

services shall not receive the following Community Choices 
Waiver services during the period of time that the participant 
is receiving monitored in-home caregiving services: 

1. - 3. ... 
E. Monitored in-home caregiving providers must be 

licensed HCBS providers with a monitored in-home 
caregiving module who employ professional staff, including 
a registered nurse and a care manager, to support principal 
caregivers to perform the direct care activities performed in 
the home. The provider must assess and approve the home in 
which services will be provided, and shall enter into 
contractual agreements with caregivers who the agency has 
approved and trained. The provider will pay per diem 
stipends to caregivers. 

F. The MIHC provider must use secure, web-based 
information collection from principal caregivers for the 
purposes of monitoring participant health and caregiver 
performance. All protected health information (PHI) must be 
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transferred, stored, and otherwise utilized in compliance 
with applicable federal and state privacy laws. Providers 
must sign, maintain on file, and comply with the LDH 
HIPAA business associate addendum. 

G. The department shall reimburse for monitored in-
home caregiving services based upon a tiered model which 
is designed to address the participant’s acuity. 

1. – 2.d. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 40:792 (April 2014), 
amended LR 41:2642 (December 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 44: 

Chapter 85. Self-Direction Initiative 

§8501. Self-Direction Service Option 

A. The self-direction initiative is a voluntary, self-
determination option which allows the participant to 
coordinate the delivery of personal assistance services 
through an individual direct support professional rather than 
through a licensed, enrolled provider. Selection of this 
option requires that the participant utilize a payment 
mechanism approved by the department to manage the 
required fiscal functions that are usually handled by a 
traditional direct service provider. 

B. – C. ... 
1. Voluntary Termination. A waiver participant may 

choose at any time to withdraw from the self-direction 
service option and return to the traditional direct service 
provider. 

2. Involuntary Termination. The department may 
terminate the self-direction service option for a participant 
and require him/her to receive provider-managed services 
under the following circumstances: 

a. – c. ... 
d. the participant or responsible representative: 
i. – ii. ... 
iii. fails to provide required documentation; 
iv. fails to cooperate with the department fiscal 

agent or support coordinator; 
v. ... 
vi. fails to receive self-directed services for 90 

calendar days or more. 
D. Employee Qualifications. All employees under the 

self-direction option must: 
1. be at least 18 years of age on the date of hire;  
2. pass required criminal background checks; and 
3. be able to complete the tasks identified in the plan 

of care. 
E. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37:3523 (December 2011), 
amended LR 39:321 (February 2013), LR 39:1779 (July 2013), 
amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 44: 

Chapter 86. Organized Health Care Delivery System 

§8601. General Provisions 

A. – B. ... 
C. The OHCDS must attest that all applicable provider 

qualifications are met.  
D. Prior to enrollment, an OHCDS must show the ability 

to provide all of the following community choices services : 
1. personal assistance services (PAS); 
2. home delivered meals; 
3. skilled maintenance therapy; 
4. nursing; 
5. caregiver temporary support services; 
6. assistive devices and medical supplies; 
7. environmental accessibility adaptations (EAA); and 
8. adult day health care (only if there is a licensed 

ADHC provider in the service area). 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 40:792 (April 2014), 
amended LR 41:2643 (December 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 44: 

Chapter 87. Plan of Care 

§8701. Plan of Care 

A. The applicant and support coordinator have the 
flexibility to construct a plan of care that serves the 
participant’s health and welfare needs. The service package 
provided under the POC shall include services covered 
under the Community Choices Waiver in addition to services 
covered under the Medicaid state plan (not to exceed the 
established service limits for either waiver or state plan 
services) as well as other services, regardless of the funding 
source for these services. All services approved pursuant to 
the POC shall be medically necessary and provided in a 
cost-effective manner. The POC shall be developed using a 
person-centered process coordinated by the support 
coordinator. 

B. Reimbursement shall not be made for services 
provided prior to the department’s, or its designee’s, 
approval of the POC. 

C. - C.2. ... 
3. total cost of waiver services covered by the POC. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37:3524 (December 2011), 
amended LR 39:321 (February 2013), amended by the Department 
of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Aging and Adult Services, LR 44: 

Chapter 89. Admission and Discharge Criteria 

§8901. Admission Criteria 

A. Admission to the Community Choices Waiver 
program shall be determined in accordance with the 
following criteria: 

1. - 4. ... 
5. reasonable assurance that the health and welfare of 

the participant can be maintained in the community with the 
provision of Community Choices Waiver services. 
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B. Failure of the individual to cooperate in the eligibility 
determination, plan of care development process or to meet 
any of the criteria above shall result in denial of admission to 
the Community Choices Waiver. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37:3524 (December 2011), 
amended LR 39:322 (February 2013); amended by the Department 
of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Aging and Adult Services, LR 44: 

§8903. Admission Denial or Discharge Criteria 

A. Admission shall be denied or the participant shall be 
discharged from the Community Choices Waiver program if 
any of the following conditions are determined. 

1. The individual does not meet the target population 
criteria as specified in the federally approved waiver 
document.  

2. The individual does not meet the criteria for 
Medicaid financial eligibility. 

3. The individual does not meet the criteria for 
nursing facility level of care. 

4. ... 
5. Continuity of services is interrupted as a result of 

the participant not receiving and/or refusing community 
choices waiver services (exclusive of support coordination 
services) for a period of 30 consecutive days. 

 
EXCEPTION: An exception may be granted by OAAS to 
delay discharge if interruption is due to an acute care hospital, 
rehabilitation hospital, or nursing facility admission. 
 

6. The health and welfare of the individual cannot be 
reasonably assured through the provision of Community 
Choices Waiver services. 

7. – 8. ... 
9. It is not cost effective or appropriate to serve the 

individual in the Community Choices Waiver. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37:3524 (December 2011), 
amended LR 39:322 (February 2013), amended by the Department 
of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Aging and Adult Services, LR 44: 

Chapter 93. Provider Responsibilities 

§9301. General Provisions  

A. ... 
B. The provider shall not request payment unless the 

participant for whom payment is requested is receiving 
services in accordance with the Community Choices Waiver 
program provisions and the services have been prior 
authorized and actually provided. 

C. Any provider of services under the Community 
Choices Waiver shall not refuse to serve any individual who 
chooses their agency unless there is documentation to 
support an inability to meet the individual’s health and 
welfare needs, or all previous efforts to provide service and 
supports have failed and there is no option but to refuse 
services. 

1. – 2. ... 
D. Providers must maintain adequate documentation to 

support service delivery and compliance with the approved 

POC and will provide said documentation at the request of 
the department, or its designee. 

E. Any provider of services under the Community 
Choices Waiver shall not interfere with the eligibility, 
assessment, care plan development, or care plan monitoring 
processes with use of methods including, but not limited to: 

1.- 2. ... 
3. threats against program participants, members of 

their informal support network, LDH staff or support 
coordination staff. 

F. Any provider of services under the Community 
Choices Waiver shall have the capacity and resources to 
provide all aspects of any service they are enrolled to 
provide in the specified service area. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37:3524 (December 2011), 
amended LR 39:322 (February 2013), amended by the Department 
of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Aging and Adult Services, LR 44: 

§9303. Reporting Requirements 

A. Support coordinators and direct service providers are 
obligated to immediately report any changes to the 
department that could affect the waiver participant's 
eligibility including, but not limited to, those changes cited 
in the denial or discharge criteria.  

B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37:3525 (December 2011), 
amended LR 39:322 (February 2013), amended by the Department 
of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Aging and Adult Services, LR 44: 

Chapter 95. Reimbursement 

§9501. Unit of Reimbursement 

A. – A.6. ... 
B. The following services shall be reimbursed at the 

authorized rate or approved amount of the assessment, 
inspection, installation/fitting, maintenance, repairs, 
adaptation, device, equipment, or supply item and when the 
service has been prior authorized by the plan of care: 

1. ... 
2. environmental accessibility adaption assessment 

and inspections; 
3. assistive devices and medical supplies;  
4. home delivered meals (not to exceed the maximum 

limit set by OAAS);  
5. transition services (not to exceed the maximum 

lifetime limit set by OAAS);  
6. monitored in-home caregiving (MIHC) assessment; 

and  
7. certain nursing, and skilled maintenance therapy 

procedures 
C. – D.3. ... 
E. The following services shall be reimbursed on a per-

visit basis: 
1. certain nursing and skilled maintenance therapy 

procedures; and 
2. personal assistance services furnished via “a.m. and 

p.m.” delivery method. 
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F. Reimbursement shall not be made for Community 
Choices Waiver services provided prior to the department’s 
approval of the POC and release of prior authorization for 
the services.  

F.1. – H. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37:3525 (December 2011), 
amended LR 39:322 (February 2013), LR 39:508, 508 (March 
2013), repromulgated LR 39:1048 (April 2013), amended LR 
39:1779 (July 2013), LR 40:793 (April 2014), LR 42:897 (June 
2016), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 
44: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 
no direct or indirect cost to the provider to provide the same 
level of service, and will have no impact on the provider’s 
ability to provide the same level of service as described in 
HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 

Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821—9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. 

Public Hearing 

A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 
Wednesday, August 29, 2018 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 

Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Home and Community-Based Services 

Waivers―Community Choices Waiver 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 

will have no programmatic fiscal impact to the state other than 
the cost of promulgation for FY 18-19. It is anticipated that 
$3,888 ($1,944 SGF and $1,944 FED) will be expended in FY 
18-19 for the state’s administrative expense for promulgation 
of this proposed rule and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
Rule will not affect revenue collections other than the federal 
share of the promulgation costs for FY 18-19. It is anticipated 
that $1,944 will be collected in FY 18-19 for the federal share 
of the expense for promulgation of this proposed rule and the 
final rule.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule amends the provisions governing the 
Community Choices Waiver in order to: 1) align the provisions 
governing target population, service definitions and provider 
qualifications with the waiver approved by the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services; 2) eliminate the non-medical 
transportation service; 3) amend the criteria for CCW priority 
offers to specify priority for individuals admitted to, or residing 
in, nursing facilities for whom Medicaid is the sole payer 
source; 4) change references to the minimum data set-home 
care to the International Resident Assessment Instrument 
(interRAI) assessment tool; and 5) allow OAAS to grant 
exceptions to waiver discharges for interruptions due to 
qualifying circumstances. There is no anticipated impact as a 
result of this proposed rule because there is no change in the 
reimbursement methodology and the service being eliminated 
has never been requested nor utilized since implementation. It 
is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule will not 
have economic costs or benefits to Community Choice Waiver 
providers for FY 18-19, FY 19-20 and FY 20-21. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Jen Steele Evan Brasseaux 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1807#053 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Managed Care for Physical and Behavioral Health 
Skilled Nursing Facility Services 

(LAC 50:I.3507) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to amend LAC 50:I.3507 Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
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provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing currently excludes recipients who receive long-
term care (LTC) services from participation in managed care 
under the Healthy Louisiana program. However, managed 
care organizations (MCOs) currently utilize LTC facilities, 
namely skilled nursing facility providers, to provide 
transitional health care/rehabilitation services as an "in lieu 
of" service to members who are no longer in need of acute 
care hospital services. The department has determined that it 
is necessary to amend the provisions governing managed 
care for physical and behavioral health in order to allow 
MCOs to utilize skilled nursing facilities for members who 
transition from acute care hospital services as a step-down 
continuum of care and to align the governing authorities 
with current operations and practices. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part I.  Administration 

Subpart 3.  Managed Care for Physical and Behavioral 

Health 

Chapter 35. Managed Care Organization 

Participation Criteria 

§3507. Benefits and Services 

A. - F.1. ... 
G. Excluded Services 

1. The following services will continue to be 
reimbursed by the Medicaid Program on a fee-for-service 
basis, with the exception of dental services which will be 
reimbursed through a dental benefits prepaid ambulatory 
health plan under the authority of a 1915(b) waiver. The 
MCO shall provide any appropriate referral that is medically 
necessary. The department shall have the right to incorporate 
these services at a later date if the member capitation rates 
have been adjusted to incorporate the cost of such service. 
Excluded services include: 

a. - c. ... 
d. nursing facility services; 

 
EXCEPTION: Skilled nursing facility services may be utilized 
for members who transition from acute care hospital services 
as a step-down continuum of care. 
 

G.1.e. - H.5. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S. 36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department 

of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 37:1585 (June 2011), amended LR 39:92 
(January 2013), repromulgated LR 39:318 (February 2013), 
LR 41:936 (May 2015), LR 41:2367 (November 2015), LR 
42:755 (May 2016), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 44:61 (January 
2018), LR 44: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 

Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have a positive impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 as it allows members of managed care organizations 
in need of continued health care services to transition from 
acute care hospitals to skilled nursing facilities. 

Poverty Impact Statement 

In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have a positive impact on child, 
individual or family poverty in relation to individual or 
community asset development as described in R.S. 49:973 as 
it allows members of managed care organizations in need of 
continued health care services to transition from acute care 
hospitals to skilled nursing facilities. 

Provider Impact Statement 

In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 
170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 
no direct or indirect cost to the provider to provide the same 
level of service, and will have no impact on the provider’s 
ability to provide the same level of service as described in 
HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 

Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. The 
deadline for receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. on 
the next business day following the public hearing. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, August 29, 2018 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing.  

Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Managed Care for Physical and 

Behavioral Health 

Skilled Nursing Facility Services 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 

will have no programmatic fiscal impact to the state other than 
the cost of promulgation for FY 18-19. It is anticipated that 
$540 ($270 SGF and $270 FED) will be expended in FY 18-19 
for the state’s administrative expense for promulgation of this 
proposed rule and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
Rule will not affect revenue collections other than the federal
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share of the promulgation costs for FY 18-19. It is anticipated 
that $270 will be collected in FY 18-19 for the federal share of 
the expense for promulgation of this proposed rule and the final 
rule.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule amends the provisions governing 
managed care for physical and behavioral health in order to 
allow managed care organizations (MCOs) to continue to 
utilize long-term care facilities, namely skilled nursing facility 
providers, to provide transitional health care/rehabilitation 
services as an "in lieu of" service to MCO members who are no 
longer in need of acute care hospital services, and to align the 
governing authorities with current operations and practices. 
Managed care members who transition from acute care hospital 
services may benefit from this proposed rule since it allows 
skilled nursing facilities services as a step-down continuum of 
care. This proposed Rule may be beneficial to skilled nursing 
facility providers since they will be reimbursed sooner for 
services rendered to managed care members. It is anticipated 
that implementation of this proposed rule will not have 
economic costs or benefits to the Medicaid Program for FY 18-
19, FY 19-20 and FY 20-21 since these “in lieu of” services are 
already calculated and included in the managed care rate 
reimbursed to the health plans. 

 
IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 
This rule has no known effect on competition and 

employment. 
 

Jen Steele Evan Brasseaux 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1807#054 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Outpatient Hospital Services 
Duration of Outpatient Status (LAC 50:V.5107) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to repeal LAC 50:V.5107 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to amend the provisions governing 
outpatient hospital services in order to repeal the provisions 
governing duration of outpatient status to remove these 
procedural requirements from the Louisiana Administrative 

Code. 
Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 

Subpart 5.  Outpatient Hospital Services 

Chapter 51. General Provisions 

§5107. Duration of Outpatient Status 

Repealed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
37:1600 (June 2011), repealed by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 44: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 
functioning, stability or autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 

In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 
no direct or indirect cost to the provider to provide the same 
level of service, and will have no impact on the provider’s 
ability to provide the same level of service as described in 
HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 

Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, August 29, 2018 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 

Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Outpatient Hospital Services 

Duration of Outpatient Status 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 
will have no programmatic fiscal impact to the state other than
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the cost of promulgation for FY 18-19. It is anticipated that 
$324 ($162 SGF and $162 FED) will be expended in FY 18-19 
for the state’s administrative expense for promulgation of this 
proposed rule and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will have no effect on revenue collections other than the 
federal share of the promulgation costs for FY 18-19. It is 
anticipated that $162 will be collected in FY 18-19 for the 
federal share of the expense for promulgation of this proposed 
rule and the final rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule amends the provisions governing 
outpatient hospital services in order to repeal the provisions 
governing duration of outpatient status to remove these 
procedural requirements from the Louisiana Administrative 
Code (LAC) as a technical clean-up of LAC language. There 
are no anticipated costs to providers since the proposed rule 
does not change the current reimbursement methodology or the 
procedures for establishing the duration of outpatient status; 
however, providers will benefit from clearly defined outpatient 
hospital provisions. It is anticipated that this Rule will not 
result in any costs or savings to the Medicaid Program in FY 
18-19, FY 19-20 and FY 20-21. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Jen Steele Evan Brasseaux 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1807#055 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Rural Health Clinics 
Reimbursement Methodology 

Long-Acting Reversible Contraceptives 
(LAC 50:XI.16703) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to amend LAC 50:XI.16703 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing currently provides reimbursement for services 
rendered by rural health clinics (RHCs) on a per visit basis 
under a prospective payment system (PPS) methodology. 
The department now proposes to amend the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for RHCs in 
order to implement a payment methodology to allow 
reimbursement for long-acting reversible contraceptive 
devices outside of the PPS rate. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XI.  Clinic Services 

Subpart 15.  Rural Health Clinics 

Chapter 167. Reimbursement Methodology 

§16703. Alternate Payment Methodology 

A. – C. ... 
D. Effective for dates of service on or after January 1, 

2019, RHCs shall be reimbursed a separate payment outside 
of the PPS rate for the following services: 

1. Long-Acting Reversible Contraceptives (LARCs) 
a. Reimbursement for LARCs shall be at the lesser 

of, the rate on file or the actual acquisition cost for entities 
participating in the 340B program. Rural health clinics 
eligible for 340B pricing must bill Medicaid at their 340B 
actual acquisition cost for reimbursement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1905 (October 2006), repromulgated LR 
32:2267 (December 2006), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37:2632 
(September 2011), LR 40:83 (January 2014), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
44: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 

Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 

this proposed Rule may have a positive impact on family 

functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 

49:972 as it provides Medicaid recipients with increased 

access to long-acting reversible contraceptives which aids in 

the prevention unintended pregnancies and low birth 

outcomes. 
Poverty Impact Statement 

In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 

proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 

proposed Rule may have a positive impact on child, 

individual, or family poverty in relation to individual or 

community asset development as described in R.S. 49:973 as 

it decreases the number of visits required to receive long-

acting reversible contraceptive devices necessary for the 

prevention of unintended pregnancies and low birth 

outcomes, which will reduce unexpected costs and financial 

burdens for families. 
Provider Impact Statement 

In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 

been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 

have no impact on the staffing level requirements or
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qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 

no direct or indirect cost to the provider to provide the same 

level of service, and will have no impact on the provider’s 

ability to provide the same level of service as described in 

HCR 170. 
Public Comments 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 

Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 

91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 

MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 

responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. 
Public Hearing 

A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, August 29, 2018 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 

Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 

LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 

opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 

or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 

comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 

the public hearing. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Rural Health Clinics, 

Reimbursement Methodology, and Long-Acting 

Reversible Contraceptives 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 

will result in estimated state general fund programmatic cost of 
$5,713 for FY 18-19, $12,348 for FY 19-20 and $8,352 for FY 
20-21. It is anticipated that $432 ($216 SGF and $216 FED) 
will be expended in FY 18-19 for the state’s administrative 
expense for promulgation of this proposed rule and the final 
rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
Rule will increase federal revenue collections by $49,691 for 
FY 18-19, $111,127 for FY 19-20 and $75,166 for FY 20-21. It 
is anticipated that $216 will be collected in FY 18-19 for the 
federal share of the expense for promulgation of this proposed 
rule and the final rule.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule amends the provisions governing the 
reimbursement methodology for rural health clinics (RHCs) in 
order to implement a payment methodology to allow 
reimbursement for long-acting reversible contraceptive 
(LARC) devices outside of the prospective payment system 
(PPS) rate. This proposed rule will be beneficial to recipients as 
it reduces the number of RHC visits required for insertion of 
LARC devices. There are no anticipated economic costs or 
benefits to RHC providers since this proposed rule only 
changes the way providers are reimbursed for services they 
already render. It is anticipated that implementation of this 
proposed rule will increase programmatic expenditures in the 
Medicaid program by approximately $54,972 for FY 18-19, 
$123,475 for FY 19-20 and $83,518 for FY 20-21. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Jan Steele Evan Brasseaux 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1807#056 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 

Office of Aging and Adult Services 

Traumatic Head and Spinal Cord Injury 

(LAC 48:I.Chapter 19) 

Under the authority of R.S. 36:259(T) and in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:450 et seq.., the Louisiana Department of Health, 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, gives notice that 
rulemaking procedures have been initiated to amend the 
Traumatic Head and Spinal Cord Injury regulations, LAC 
48:I.Chapter 19.  

This proposed Rule amends language in order to align 
with statute changes to R.S. 46:2631 and R.S 46:2635 (A) 
approved in the 2018 Regular Legislative Session, ACT 424, 
and to codify current processes to ensure timely and efficient 
delivery of services to participants. 

Title 48 

PUBLIC HEALTH—GENERAL 

Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 1.  General 

Chapter 19. Traumatic Head and Spinal Cord Injury 
Editor’s Note: This Chapter, formerly LAC 67:VII.Chapter 
19, was moved to LAC 48:I.Chapter 19. 

§1901. Program Profile 

[Formerly LAC 67:VII.1901] 

A. ... 
B. Program Administration 

1. The Department of Health, Office of Aging and 
Adult Services (OAAS), shall be responsible for 
administration of the Louisiana Traumatic Head and Spinal 
Cord Injury Trust Fund. 

2. OAAS has the responsibility of: 
a. - b. ... 
c. evaluating the needs of head injured and spinal 

cord injured individuals to identify service gaps and needs; 
d. submitting an annual report with 

recommendations to the legislature and governor 60 calendar 
days prior to each Regular Session of the Legislature; and 

e. monitoring, evaluating, and reviewing the 
development and quality of services funded through the trust 
fund. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:2631-2635 and R.S. 36:259(T). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 21:1252 
(November 1995), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 40:84 (January 
2014),amended by the Louisiana Department of Health, Office of 
Aging and Adult Services, LR 44: 
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§1905. Definitions  

[Formerly LAC 67:VII.1905] 

* * * 
Medically Stable—Repealed. 
Medically Unstable―Repealed. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:2631-2635 and R.S. 36:259(T). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 21:1253 
(November 1995), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 40:84 (January 
2014), amended by the Department of Health, Office of Aging and 
Adult Services, LR 42:1669 (October 2016),amended by the 
Louisiana Department of Health, Office of Aging and Adult 
Services, LR 44: 

§1907. General Requirements 

[Formerly LAC 67:VII.1907] 

A. ... 
B. Case Record Documentation. A case record will be 

maintained for each individual served.  
1. The record shall contain the following: 

a.  documentation to support the decision to 
provide, deny, or amend services;  

b. documentation of the amounts and dates of each 
service delivery; 

c. service plans and progress notes; 
d. proof of individual identifications; and 
e. any applicable assessments.  

2. Repeal 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:2631-2635 and R.S. 36:259(T). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 21:1253 
(November 1995), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 40:85 (January 
2014) ,amended by the Louisiana Department of Health, Office of 
Aging and Adult Services, LR 44. 

§1909. Individual Appeals Rights 

[Formerly LAC 67:VII.1911] 

A. Administrative Review. The administrative review is 
the first level appeal process used by individuals for a timely 
resolution of disagreements pertaining to eligibility 
decisions or a denial of services.  

1. All applicants/participants shall be provided written 
notification to inform them of their appeal rights regarding 
eligibility and/or the denial of services. 

a. The written notification shall include: 
 i. the decision being reached; 
 ii. the basis for and effective date of the decision; 
 iii. the specific means for appealing the decision; 
 iv. the individual's right to submit additional 
evidence and information; 
 v. information about the individual's right to 
representation; and 
 vi. the name and address of the trust fund 
program. 

2. The appeal must be requested by the individual (or 
their representative) and shall be: 

a. made in writing; and 
b. post-marked or received in the trust fund 

program office within 15 business days of the date on the 
written notification of denial.  

c. Repealed. 
d. Repealed. 
e. Repealed. 

3. The administrative review may be conducted face-
to-face or via telephone with the program manager of the 
Traumatic Head and Spinal Cord Injury Trust Fund Program. 

4. Services shall continue during the administrative 
review process unless the services being provided have been 
obtained through: 

a. misrepresentation;  
b. fraud; and/or 
c. collusion or criminal conduct on the part of the 

individual. 
5. The administrative review must take place, a 

decision reached, and written notification of the decision 
provided to the individual within 30 calendar days of the 
receipt of the individuals' appeal request. 

6. The written notification of the administrative 
review decision shall include:  

a. the decision being reached; 
b. the basis for and effective date of the decision; 
c. the specific means for appealing the 

administrative review decision; 
7. If the individual fails to attend the administrative 

review either in person or via telephone, the appeal will be 
considered abandoned and the appeal process is exhausted. 

B. Advisory Board Review. In the event that a disputed 
decision is not resolved through the administrative review 
process, the individual may request a second level appeal 
before the advisory board.  

1. Requests for advisory board review shall be: 
a. made in writing to the program manager of the 

trust fund program; 
b.  post-marked or received in the trust fund 

program office within 15 business days of the date on the 
administrative review decision notice. 

c. Repealed. 
d. Repealed. 
e. Repealed. 

2. The advisory board review shall take place at the 
time of the next regularly scheduled advisory board meeting 
following the receipt of the individual's written request, 
unless the program manager deems that it is necessary to 
address the situation sooner, in which case a special meeting 
of the advisory board could be called for the purpose of 
conducting the review. 

3. The individual shall have the right to: 
a. submit additional evidence, and  
b. bring representation to the advisory board review. 

4. The advisory board shall: 
a. make an impartial decision; 
b. provide a written notice of the decision within 10 

business days of the advisory board review.  
5. The decision of the advisory board is final and the 

appeal process is exhausted. 
6. If the individual fails to attend the appeal hearing 

either in person or via telephone, the appeal will be 
considered abandoned and all appeal processes shall be 
exhausted. 

NOTE: Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE; Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S. 46:2631-2635 and R.S. 36:259(T). 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 21:1254 
(November 1995), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 40:85 (January 
2014) ,amended by the Louisiana Department of Health, Office of 
Aging and Adult Services, LR 44: 

§1911. Program Eligibility 

[Formerly LAC 67:VII.1913] 

A. In order for an individual to be determined eligible for 
services, the individual must: 

1. meet the definition of spinal cord injury or 
traumatic brain injury as defined in §1905 above; 

2. be a resident of the state of Louisiana and officially 
domiciled in the state of Louisiana at the time of injury and 
during the provision of services; 

3. have a reasonable expectation to achieve 
improvement in functional outcome with assistance; 

4. have exhausted all other Medicare and Medicaid 
sources; 

5.  be willing to accept services from an approved 
facility/program; and  

6. complete and submit appropriate application for 
services.  

7. Repealed. 
8. Repealed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S. 46:2631-2635 and R.S. 36:259(T). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 21:1255 
(November 1995), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 40:86 (January 
2014) ,amended by the Louisiana Department of Health, Office of 
Aging and Adult Services, LR 44: 

§1913. Ineligibility 

[Formerly LAC 67:VII.1915] 

A. A determination of ineligibility is made when the 
individual does not meet program eligibility as defined in 
§1911 above. 

1. Repealed. 
2. Repealed. 
3. Repealed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S. 46:2631-2635 and R.S. 36:259(T). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 21:1255 
(November 1995), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 40:86 (January 
2014), ,amended by the Louisiana Department of Health, Office of 
Aging and Adult Services, LR 44: 

§1915. Fiscal 

[Formerly LAC 67:VII.1917] 

A. Limitations. Expenditures on behalf of any one 
individual shall not:  

1. exceed $15,000 during the 12-month period based 
on the participant’s eligibility/anniversary date. 

2. exceed the total lifetime maximum of $50,000. 
B. ... 
C. Prior Written Authorization and Encumbrance. The 

proper authorizing document(s) must be written before the 
initiation of goods or services.  

1. Failure to obtain prior authorization will result in a 
denial of products or services.  

a. The program manager may approve items to be 
reimbursed for situations deemed unavoidable/emergency.  

D. All monies collected, but not expended, for the 
Traumatic Head and Spinal Cord Injury Trust Fund Program 
are carried forward to the following fiscal year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S. 46:2631-2635 and R.S.36:259(T). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 21:1255 
(November 1995), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 40:86 (January 
2014) ,amended by the Louisiana Department of Health, Office of 
Aging and Adult Services, LR 44: 

§1917. Service Plan 

[Formerly LAC 67:VII.1919] 

A. Once an individual has been determined eligible for 
services, an appropriate individualized assessment shall be 
completed in order to: 

1. determine the scope of services; 
2. develop, implement, and update service plans as 

appropriate; 
3. Repealed. 
4. Repealed. 

B. The service plan shall: 
1. be individualized: 
2. be outcome oriented; 
3. include (at a minimum) all of the following: 

a. specific services to be delivered or rendered; 
b. frequency of the service(s)  
c. beginning and ending dates; 
d. costs of services; 
e. service provider. 

4. be presented by means understandable to the 
individual served. 

C. The individual or authorized representative must give 
informed written consent to the service plan and all 
amendments.  

D. The case record shall include all updates and 
amendments to the service plan. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with| 
R.S. 46:2631-2635 and R.S. 36:259(T). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 21:1255 
(November 1995), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 40:86 (January 
2014), LR 44: 

§1919. Services 

[Formerly LAC 67:VII.1921] 

A. ... 
B. Service plans shall be written with a goal of achieving 

specific objectives: 
1. related to the participant’s injury, and  
2. to improve participant’s functioning in their home 

and community. 
C.  Additional documentation may be requested to justify 

the need for a particular good/service. 
D. Services may include, but are not limited to: 

1. - 3. ... 
4. medication and medical supplies; 
5. personal care attendant services; 
6. - 7. ... 
8. environmental accessibility modifications ; 
9. vehicle accessibility modifications; 
10. transportation for non-emergency medical 

appointments. 
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E. The trust fund will not pay for the following (this list 
is not all-inclusive): 

1. - 2. ... 
3. routine vehicle maintenance and repairs; 
4. routine home maintenance and repairs; 
5. recreational items or activities;  
6. routine bills or payments; 
7. funeral expenses 
8. legal expenses 

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S. 46:2631-2635 and R.S. 36:259(T). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 21:1255 
(November 1995), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 40:86 (January 
2014) ,amended by the Louisiana Department of Health, Office of 
Aging and Adult Services, LR 44: 

§1923. Conditions for Case Closure 

[Formerly LAC 67:VII.1925] 

A. ... 
1. has shown consistent failure to cooperate with the 

service plan and case managers; 
2. reaches the maximum $50,000 in total lifetime 

expenditures; 
3. has less than $100 of the lifetime balance remaining 

for a period of 12 months or more.  
4. does not meet the program’s eligibility criteria; 
5. resides in another state or moves to another state; 
6. fails to maintain a safe and legal home 

environment; 
7. is unable to be contacted after two phone call 

attempts on two separate days and does not respond to 
written notification within 15 business days of the date on 
the notice; 

8. made misrepresentations in the eligibility 
determination process; 

9. made misrepresentations to obtain goods and 
services; 

10. is incarcerated. 
11. repealed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S. 46.2631-2635 and R.S. 36:259(T). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 21:1256 
(November 1995), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 40:87 (January 
2014) ,amended by the Louisiana Department of Health, Office of 
Aging and Adult Services, LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered as described in R.S 
49:972. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will have a 
positive impact on the stability of the family and on the 
family budget as these changes will allow participants of the 
program to receive services in a more timely manner.  

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered as described in R.S. 
49:973. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will have a

positive effect on health care for the THSCI clients as they 
will be able to obtain services quicker.  

Provider Impact Statement 

In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 
170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 
no direct or indirect cost to the provider to provide the same 
level of service, and will have no impact on the provider’s 
ability to provide the same level of service as described in 
HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to the 

Louisiana Department of Health, Attn: THSCI Trust Fund 
Program, P.O. Box 2031 (Bin 14), Baton Rouge, LA 70821 
or by email to THSCI@La.Gov. The THSCI Program 
Manager is responsible for responding to inquiries regarding 
this proposed Rule.  

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Monday, August 27, 2018 at 9 a.m. in Room 118, Bienville 
Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, LA. At that 
time all interested persons will be afforded an opportunity to 
submit data, views or arguments either orally or in writing. 
The deadline for receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. 
on the next business day following the public hearing. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 
 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Traumatic Head and  

Spinal Cord Injury Definitions 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change is anticipated to increase 
expenditures for the Office of Aging and Adult Services 
(OAAS) by approximately $1,065 in FY 19 for the publication 
of the proposed rule. It is not anticipated that any other state or 
local governmental units will incur costs or savings as a result 
of this rule change.  

The proposed rule amends Louisiana Administrative Code 
(LAC) Title 48, Part I, Chapter 19 – Traumatic Head and 
Spinal Cord Injury (THSCI). This rule change is being 
proposed to codify current practices to ensure applicants and 
participants of the program receive services in compliance with 
Act 424 of the 2018 RLS, which clarifies that services are 
intended to enable participants to return to a reasonable level of 
functioning in their communities with assistance and that funds 
are available through THSCI only after Medicare and Medicaid 
sources have been expended.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The implementation of these proposed rule changes will not 
affect revenue collections.  

Currently, monies deposited into the THSCI trust fund are 
derived from a fee imposed on motor vehicle violations for 
driving under the influence, reckless operation, and speeding.
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Implementation of this rule change does not impact the source 
of revenue or level of revenue collected for this fund. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NON-GOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule may provide an economic benefit to 
participants of the THSCI program. The present rule provides 
that individuals may receive distributions from the THSCI trust 
fund only as a last resort after private and governmental 
funding sources (such as private insurance, Social Security, 
Supplemental Security Income, Medicare, Medicaid, and 
personal resources) have been exhausted. This amendment 
removes the requirement that all private and governmental 
sources must be exhausted before qualifying for assistance 
from the fund and specifies that only Medicare and Medicaid 
sources must be exhausted, which allows participants to access 
services before exhausting all of their financial resources. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Tara A. LeBlanc Greg V. Albrecht 

Assistant Secretary Chief Economist 
1807#031 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health  

Office of Public Health 

Newborn Heel Stick Screening and Laboratory Services 
(LAC 48:V.6303 and LAC 48:V.13703) 

Under the authority of R.S. 40:29, R.S. 40:1081.1 and 
1081.2 and in accordance with the Administrative Procedure 
Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Louisiana Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health (LDH-OPH) proposes to 
amend Section 6303 (Purpose, Scope Methodology) of 
Chapter 63 (Newborn Heel Stick Screening). This Chapter is 
under Subpart 18 (Disability Prevention Program) of Part V 
(Preventive Health Services) of Title 48 (Preventive Health 
Services) of LAC 48 (Public Health—General). The 
proposed Rule adds Severe Combined Immunodeficiency 
(SCID) to the panel of tests for which infants are screened at 
birth to detect genetic diseases. It also proposes to update 
procedures to reflect modern laboratory testing 
methodologies for some screening tests as well as updating 
addresses, phone numbers and fax numbers of the OPH 
Laboratory and Genetic Diseases Program. 

In accordance with law, LDH has consulted with medical 
geneticists from each of Louisiana’s medical schools prior to 
the publication of this Notice of Intent. In 2011, an ad hoc 
meeting of the Louisiana Newborn Screening Advisory 
Committee, recommended to add SCID to the newborn 
screening panel once funding became available. 

Finally, §13703 (Applicability) of Chapter 137 
(Laboratory Services) under Subpart 49 (Community Based 
and Rural Health Services) of Part V of Title 48 of LAC 48 
is proposed to be amended to correct an apparent error of 
applicability (likely dating back to a June 1989 amendment 
of §13703) as it relates to fees currently being collected to 
assist in funding for the newborn heel stick screening 
program. 

Title 48  

PUBLIC HEALTH—GENERAL  

Part V.  Preventive Health Services  

Subpart 18.  Disability Prevention Program 

Chapter 63. Newborn Heel Stick Screening 

§6303. Purpose, Scope, and Laboratory Testing 

Methodology 

A. R.S. 40:1081.1 and 1081.2 requires physicians to test 
Louisiana newborns for the disorders listed below along 
with the abbreviations used by the American College of 
Medical Genetics (ACMG). 

1. Disorders of amino acid metabolism: 
a. phenylketonuria (PKU); 
b. maple syrup urine disease (MSUD); 
c. homocystinuria (HCY 
d. citrullinemia, type I (CIT); 
e. argininosuccinate acidemia (ASA); and 
f. tyrosinemia, type I (TYR I). 

2. Disorders of fatty acid metabolism: 
a. medium-chain acyl-CoA dehydrogenase 

deficiency (MCAD); 
b. trifunctional protein deficiency (TFP); 
c. very long-chain acyl-CoA dehydrogenase 

deficiency (VLCAD); 
d. carnitine uptake defect (CUD); and 
e. long chain-3-hydroxyacyl-CoA dehydrogenase 

deficiency (LCHAD). 
3. Disorders of organic acid metabolism: 

a. isovaleric acidemia (IVA); 
b. methylmalonic acidemia (methylmalonyl-CoA 

mutase, MUT),(cobalamin disorders, CBL A, B); 
c. glutaric acidemia type 1 (GA1); 
d. propionic acidemia (PROP); 
e. 3-hydroxy-3-methylglutaryl–CoA lyase 

deficiency (HMG); 
f. multiple carboxylase deficiency (MCD) 

including, but not limited to, holocarboxylase synthetase 
deficiency; 

g. beta-ketothiolase deficiency (BKT); and 
h. 3-methylcrotonyl CoA carboxylase deficiency (3-

MCC). 
4. Other metabolic disorders: 

a. biotinidase deficiency (BIOT); and 
b. classic galactosemia (GALT). 

5. Endocrine disorders: 
a. congenital hypothyroidism (CH); and 
b. congenital adrenal hyperplasia (CAH). 

6. Hemoglobinopathies (sickle cell diseases): 
a. hemoglobin S,S disease (sickle cell anemia) (Hb 

SS); 
b. hemoglobin S,C disease (Hb SC); 
c. hemoglobin S, beta-thalassemia disease (Hb 

S/βTH); and 
d. other sickling diseases. 

7. Pulmonary disorders: 
a. cystic fibrosis (CF). 

8. Immune Disorders: 
a. severe combined immunodeficiency (SCID). 

B. Methodology 
1. Filter Paper Specimen Form (Lab10), used in blood 

specimen collection for neonatal screening, can be obtained
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from the Genetic Diseases Program by calling 504-568-
8254. There are two different types of Lab-10 forms which 
are color-coded.  

a. For patients covered by Medicaid or Managed 
Care Plans, blue border Lab-10 forms are used. There is no 
charge to private providers for these blue border forms. The 
patient's Medicaid number (or mother's number, if the 
patient has not been issued one) shall be indicated on the 
form. 

b. For private and non-Medicaid patients, red 
border Lab-10 forms are used. These red border Lab-10 
forms are $30 each. The name of the insurance company and 
policy number shall be included on the form. 

2. Private providers should order a mix of red and 
blue Lab-10 forms from the Genetic Diseases Program to 
match the Medicaid/non-Medicaid composition of newborns 
to be screened at their facility. The Lab-10 forms shall be 
completely filled out. 

3. For non-Medicaid patients with a financial status of 
greater than 100 percent of the poverty guidelines as 
established by the Louisiana Department of Health (LDH) 
and who attend a parish health unit for just the newborn 
screening service, the parent or guardian shall be charged 
$30 upon registering at the parish health unit. 

4. To ensure that specimens for testing are received 
within 2 to 3 days by the laboratory approved by the Office 
of Public Health (OPH) to perform newborn screening 
pursuant to the requirements of this Chapter, all such 
laboratories shall provide mailing envelopes to submitting 
hospitals which guarantee a delivery time no longer than 3 
days from mailing. An example of an acceptable minimum 
option would be the use of the United States Postal Service's 
Flat Rate Priority Mailing Envelopes. The use of all other 
companies and courier services providing the required level 
of service stated herein are acceptable.  

C. Policy for Pre-Discharge, Repeat Screening and 
Education to Parents on Repeat Screening 

1. Pre-Discharge Screening. All hospitals that have 
maternity units shall institute and maintain a policy of 
screening all newborns before discharge regardless of their 
length of stay in the hospital. The initial screen should occur 
at greater than 24 hours of birth but shall occur no later than 
7 days after birth. 

2. Repeat Screening for Specimens Collected before 
24 Hours. There is a greater risk of false negative results for 
specimens collected from babies younger than 24 hours of 
age. Therefore, full-term, healthy newborns screened prior to 
24 hours of age must be rescreened at the first medical visit, 
preferably between 1 and 2 weeks of age, but no later than 
the third week of life. Repeat screening should be arranged 
by the primary pediatrician; however, it may be done by any 
primary healthcare provider or clinical facility qualified to 
perform newborn screening specimen collection. For 
preterm, low birth weight, and sick infants admitted to the 
neonatal intensive care unit (NICU), an initial specimen 
should be collected upon admission, a second specimen shall 
be collected at 48-72 hours after admission and a final 
specimen shall be collected at 28 days or upon discharge, 
whichever comes first. 

3. Education to Parents on Repeat Screening. To 
ensure that newborns who need rescreening actually receive 
the repeat test, hospitals with maternity units must establish 
a system for disseminating information to parents about the 
importance of rescreening. This includes infants with an 
initial unsatisfactory specimen, infants with an initial 
collection performed at less than 24 hours of age, and infants 
admitted to the NICU. 

D. Notification of Screening Results 
1. The Genetic Diseases Program follow-up staff shall 

notify the appropriate medical provider of the positive 
screening result by telephone. Otherwise, submitters should 
receive test results from the State Public Health Laboratory 
within 5 days after collection. Test results are available to 
submitters 24 hours a day, 365 days a year through the web-
based Secure Remote Viewer (SRV) which is accessed via 
computer. Information on signing up for and using the SRV 
can be obtained by calling the Genetic Diseases Program 
Office at (504) 568-8254. If test results are not available, 
medical providers may fax in their requests to the following 
numbers: (225) 219-4905 (Public Health Biochemistry 
Laboratory) or (504) 568-8253 (Genetics Office). In order to 
retrieve test results from the SRV, the provider must have the 
infant’s date of birth plus one of the following: mother’s first 
name, mother’s last name, baby’s first name or baby’s last 
name. Test results can also be found by the infant’s medical 
record number or by the Lab 10 form number. 

E. Unsatisfactory Specimens. The accuracy of a test 
depends on proper collection of the blood spot. Specimens 
of unsatisfactory quality for testing shall be indicated on the 
test result slip. Training on collecting adequate specimens 
can be arranged by calling the Genetics Diseases Program at 
telephone number (504) 568-8254. 

F. Medical/Nutritional Management 
1. In order for a patient with PKU or other rare inborn 

errors of metabolism to receive the special formulas for the 
treatment of these disorders from the state's Genetic 
Diseases Program and/or Special Supplemental Nutrition 
Program for Infants, Women, and Children (WIC), the 
following guidelines shall be met: 

a. The patient shall be a resident of the State of 
Louisiana. 

b. The patient shall receive clinical and dietary 
management services through a metabolic center to include a 
medical evaluation at least once annually by a physician who 
is board certified in biochemical genetics or a medical 
geneticist physician with written documentation of a medical 
evaluation and continuing consultation with a physician 
board certified in biochemical genetics. A licensed registered 
dietitian must also be on staff and be readily available for 
both acute and chronic dietary needs of the patient. Children 
less than 1 year of age shall be seen by the dietitian and 
medical geneticist at least twice a year. Children greater than 
1 year of age shall be seen at least once per year by the 
dietitian and medical geneticist. 

c. The patient shall provide necessary blood 
specimens for laboratory testing as requested by the treating 
physician meeting the above requirements. Laboratory test 
result values for phenylalanine and tyrosine shall be
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submitted to the Genetics Program Office by the treating 
medical center within 15 working days after data reduction 
and interpretation. 

d. The patient shall include dietary records with the 
submission of each blood specimen.  

e. All insurance forms relative to charges for 
special formula shall be signed and submitted by the parent 
or appropriate family member. 

f. The parent or guardian shall inform the Genetics 
Program Office immediately of any changes in insurance 
coverage. 

g. If a patient fails to comply with these 
requirements, he/she shall not be able to receive metabolic 
formula, medications and medical services through the 
Office of Public Health. 

G. Acceptable Newborn Screening Testing 
Methodologies and Procedures for Medical Providers Not 
Using the State Laboratory. Laboratories performing or 
intending to perform the state mandated newborn screening 
battery on specimens collected on Louisiana newborns shall 
meet the conditions specified below pursuant to R.S. 
40:1081.2. 

1. The testing battery shall include testing for the 
disorders listed in Subsection A above. 

2. The laboratory shall perform the newborn screening 
testing battery on at least 50,000 specimens a year unless the 
said laboratory has been routinely performing the full 
screening battery since January 1, 1995. 

3. A laboratory shall perform the complete battery at 
one site. Using two laboratories for completion of the total 
battery is unacceptable as this increases the risk of error and 
delay in reporting. 

4. When using dried blood spots, only specimen forms 
using filter paper approved by the Centers for Disease 
Control and Prevention (CDC) are acceptable.  

5. Only the following testing methodologies listed in 
Table 6303.G.5 are acceptable without prior written approval 
from the Genetic Diseases Program. 

 

Table 6303.G.5 

Disease Testing Methodology 

Disorders of Amino Acid Metabolism  
Disorders of Fatty Acid Metabolism 
Disorders of Organic Acid 
Metabolism 
(Specific disorders include those as 
listed under Subsection A) 

Tandem Mass Spectrometry 
(MS/MS) 
 

Biotinidase Deficiency Time-Resolved 
Immunofluorescence assay 
Qualitative or Quantitative 
Enzymatic  
Colorimetric or Fluorometric 

Galactosemia Galt enzyme assay 
Total Galactose 

Hemoglobinopathies 
 (Sickle Cell Diseases) 

Cellulose acetate/citrate agar 
Capillary isoelectric focusing 
(CIEF) 
Gel isoelectric focusing (IEF) 
High Pressure Liquid 
Chromatography 
(HPLC) 
DNA Mutational Analysis 
Sickle Dex – is NOT Acceptable 
Controls must include: F, A, S, C, 
D, E 

Table 6303.G.5 

Disease Testing Methodology 

If controls for hemoglobins D and 
E are not included in the first tier 
testing methodology, then the 
second tier testing must be able to 
identify the presence of these 
hemoglobins. 

Result Reporting: by phenotype 
Positive/negative is NOT 
acceptable 

Congenital Hypothyroidism Radioimmunoassay (RIA), 
Fluorescent Immunoassay (FIA) 
time resolved fluoroimmunoassay, 
Enzyme Immunoassay 
(EIA) methods for T4 and/or 
Thyroid Stimulating Hormone 
(TSH) which have been calibrated 
for neonates 

Congenital Adrenal Hyperplasia 17 hydroxyprogesterone (17OHP), 
time resolved fluoroimmunoassay 

Cystic Fibrosis Primary: Immunoreactive 
Trypsinogen; Time-Resolved 
fluoroimmunoassay 
Second Tier: Deoxyribonucleic 
Acid (DNA) mutation analysis  
Qualitative Sweat Conductivity 
Test is NOT acceptable as a 
primary screening methodology. 
 
Confirmatory Test Methodologies: 
Quantitative Pilocarpine 
Iontophoresis Sweat Chloride Test 
Qualitative Sweat Conductivity 
Test is NOT recommended. 

Severe Combined 
Immunodeficiencies (SCID) 

Real Time Quantitative 
Polymerase Chain Reaction 
(RTQPCR)  

 
a. Alternative Methodologies not listed in Table 

6303.G.5. New Food and Drug Administration (FDA)-
approved methodologies may be used if first found to be 
acceptable by the Genetics Diseases Program. Approval 
shall be requested from the Genetic Diseases Program in 
writing 60 days before the intended date of implementation 
by mailing the request to: 

 
LDH OPH Genetic Diseases Program 
1450 Poydras Street, Suite 2046 
New Orleans, Louisiana 70112 

 
b. Approval Process. Requests for approvals of 

methodologies not listed in Table 6303.G.5 shall be based on 
documentation of FDA-approved methodologies or on 
documentation of OPH Laboratory-developed test 
methodologies, as well as an in-house OPH Laboratory 
validation study of the applicable methodology proposed for 
use. 

6. The laboratory shall comply with the regulations 
for proficiency testing as mandated in the Clinical 
Laboratory Improvement Amendments of 1988 (CLIA 88 
Section §493.1707). When using dried blood spots, the 
laboratory must participate in a proficiency testing program. 
The laboratory must report all proficiency testing results to 
the Genetic Diseases Program Office within 1 month of 
receiving the report from the proficiency testing provider.  

7. The laboratory shall be able to provide test result 
data to physicians and nurses on their specific patients by 
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telephone and by FAX or by use of the internet, 24 hours a 
day 365 days a year.  

8. Mandatory Reporting of Positive Test Results 
Indicating Disease 

a. To ensure appropriate and timely follow-up, 
positive results shall be reported, along with patient 
demographic information as specified below to the Genetic 
Diseases Program Office by fax at (504)568-8253. Receipt 
of faxed results shall be verified by calling the Genetics 
Office at (504) 568-8254. 

b. Described below are specific time deadlines after 
data reduction and interpretation for reporting positive 
results indicating probable disease to the Genetics Diseases 
Program Office. Laboratories shall make arrangements with 
the Genetics Diseases Program Office for reporting after 
hours, weekends and holidays for positive test results from 
tandem mass spectrometry and the assays for galactosemia, 
and congenital adrenal hyperplasia. Notification of 
presumptive positive results for biotinidase deficiency, sickle 
cell disease, congenital hypothyroidism and cystic fibrosis 
shall be made at the beginning of the next business day. 
 i. metabolic disorders identified by tandem mass 
spectrometry and for alactosemia―report results within 2 
hours; 
 ii. biotinidase deficiency―report results within 
24 hours; 
 iii. sickle cell disease―report results of FS, FSC, 
FSA from initial specimens within 24 hours; 
 iv. congenital cypothyroidism―report within 24 
hours; 
 v. congenital adrenal hyperplasia―report within 
2 hours; and 
 vi. cystic fibrosis―report within 24 hours. 

c. The specified information to be reported: 
 i. - xiii. … 
 xiv. transfusion given? 

 
Yes ____  No ____ 
If yes, date of last transfusion (if available):  

 

9. Provision of Follow-up Services. To ensure that 
reporting time deadlines specified under Subparagraph b of 
Paragraph 8 of this Subsection are met for every positive test 
result indicating probable disease, a follow-up system must 
be in operation. The protocol for a follow-up system may 
rely on the submitting hospital for the follow-up action 
which must include the following. 

a. - a.iii. … 
 iv. if there is no response to mail within five days, 
a home visit should be made; and, 

a.v. - b.ii. … 
10. Reporting requirements of private laboratories to 

the Genetic Diseases Program Office for public health 
surveillance and quality assurance purposes. 

a. The laboratory shall submit quarterly statistical 
reports to the Genetic Diseases Program Office that indicate 
the number of specimens screened by method, the number of 
specimens unsatisfactory for testing, the number normal and 
positive, and for screening of hemoglobinopathies, the 
number by phenotype [see the Genetics Diseases Program 
Office’s address near the end of the Diseases/Testing 
Methodology table (which may be found under Paragraph 5 
of this Subsection)]. 

b. The laboratory shall electronically report 
newborn screening results on all Louisiana newborns 
screened to the Genetic Diseases Program Office on a 
monthly basis. The file format and data layout shall be 
determined by the Genetic Diseases Program. Essential 
patient data is the following and is required to be reported 
unless "optional" is indicated: 
 i. - xiii. … 
 xiv. mother's Social Security number (format: 999-
99-9999); and 
 xv. … 

11. The laboratory shall register by letter with the 
OPH’s Genetic Diseases Program each year. This letter shall 
contain the following and shall be received in the Genetic 
Diseases Program Office by February 1 each year: 

a. assurance of compliance with the requirements 
described in Subsection G. −G.9. of this Subsection; 

b. - c. … 
d. the type of specimen(s) used, i.e., filter paper or 

whole blood; and 
G.11.e. - H.2. … 

3. If the specimen was not collected before 
transfusion, the laboratory reporting the results to the 
submitter shall indicate that transfusion may alter all 
newborn screening results and include the above times for 
repeat screening. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1018.1 and 1081.2 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Preventive and Public 
Health Services, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 
17:378 (April 1991), LR 18:1131 (October 1992), LR 20:1386 
(December 1994), LR 23:301 (March 1997), LR 27:545 (April 
2001), LR 29:1490 (August 2003), LR 32:248 (February 2006), LR 
34:442 (March 2008), amended by the Louisiana Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

Subpart 49.  Community Based and Rural Health 

Services 

Chapter 137. Laboratory Services 

§13703. Applicability 

A. Except as otherwise provided under this Title, these 
laboratory fees shall not be charged: 

1. to the Office of Public Health of the Louisiana 
Department of Health (LDH) or for laboratory services for a 
patient at a clinic or health unit operated by the Office of 
Public Health or to any physician, nurse, dentist, 
veterinarian, sanitarian or other licensed health care provider 
who is treating a patient or providing services in an official 
capacity in relation to the treatment of a patient of the Office 
of Public Health of the Louisiana Department of Health, 
including the network of parish health units operated by the 
Office of Public Health; 

2. - 3. … 
4. to any state hospital or institution when the 

secretary of the Louisiana Department of Health requires the 
Office of Public Health laboratory to act for such institution 
in case of emergency. 

B. These fees shall be charged for all tests, procedures, 
functions, or any operations performed by each laboratory 
independently operated by the Office of Public Health of the 
Louisiana Department of Health as a state laboratory on 
human specimens, environmental samples, cultures, 
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analytical and research procedures and related services 
which are submitted by any physician, hospital, clinic or 
health unit not operated by the Office of Public Health, 
nurse, veterinarian, sanitarian or any other licensed health 
care provider authorized to submit specimens for scientific 
analysis by the Division of Laboratories of the Office of 
Public, LDH. The charges or fees for these services will be 
assessed according to the following schedule. 

 

Test Description Fee 

1. - 98. … 

99. Newborn Screening Panel $30 

100. - 373. … 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:29. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of Health Services and 
Environmental Quality, LR 3:245 (May 1977), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, LR 
15:477 (June 1989), amended by the Office of Public Health, LR 
24:942 (May 1998), amended by the Louisiana Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. The effect on the stability of the family. The 

purpose of newborn screening is to identify genetic 
conditions which are treatable, life enhancing and potentially 
life-saving. Newborn screening is a very important service to 
families in detecting diseases at birth which can be identified 
through proper and available screening. Adding SCID to the 
newborn screening panel would enhance the stability of the 
family by detecting this devastating condition early and 
preventing the negative health consequences. 

2. The effect on the authority and rights of parents 
regarding the education and supervision of their children. 
This will not affect the authority, rights or supervision of 
parents over their children. Parents have the choice to “opt 
out” of the testing. 

3. The effect on the functioning of the family. If 
detected and treated early, children affected by this disorder 
can lead long and fulfilling lives. This will contribute to a 
positive family structure. 

4. The effect on the family earnings and family 
budget. Testing for SCID is life-saving as well as cost 
saving. Testing for SCID is approximately $4. However, an 
undiagnosed or late diagnosed case of SCID can result in up 
to 1 million dollars per case in medical bills and can 
ultimately lead to death in the first year of life. Treatment for 
SCID is approximately $200,000 and is covered by most 
health insurance plans and results in a typical life. 

5. The effect on the behavior and personal 
responsibility of children. The addition of SCID would help 
children affected with this condition to lead typical lives. 

6. The ability of the family or local government to 
perform the function as contained in the proposed rule. All 
children in Louisiana are tested at birth for most conditions 
recommended by the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services’ Advisory Committee on Heritable Disorders in 
Newborns and Children. The addition to SCID to the 
newborn screening panel will not call for any additional 
effort of families or local governments. 

Poverty Impact Statement 

1. The effect on household income, assets, and 
financial security. There will be a positive effect on 
household income, assets and financial security through the 
avoidance of health issues for families of children who have 
Severe Combined Immune Deficiency (SCID) and were 
detected at birth. Health issues, if not treated early in life, 
can have huge financial impact to a family as they will have 
extreme medical costs. 

2. The effect on early childhood development and 
preschool through postsecondary education development. If 
detected and treated early, children can develop without the 
burden of continued medical issues. When the disease is not 
identified early, illness and eventually death, will likely 
occur before the child ever reaches pre-school. 

3. The effect on employment and workforce 
development. There could be effect on the employment and 
workforce development of parents of children with SCID. 
Caring for a very sick child could make employment for 
both parents difficult. 

4. The effect on taxes and tax credits. There will be no 
effect on taxes and tax credits. 

5. The effect on child and dependent care, housing, 

health care, nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 
There will be a positive effect on child and dependent care, 
housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, and utilities 
assistance. Early detection and treatment mean that a child, 
and their family, can operate without the burden of increased 
health care costs. Additionally, lost employment and strained 
resources for utilities can be avoided, as well as increased 
difficulties for child and dependent care, due to frequent 
illnesses. 

Small Business Impact Statement 

The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 

considered. The proposed action includes revision of LAC 

48:V.6303 to include Severe Combined Immunodeficiency 

(SCID) on the newborn screening panel of tests. Testing for 

this condition is a life-saving and a cost saving measure that 

will result in a positive impact on affected citizens. The 

Office of Public Health’s Genetic Diseases Section does not 

expect that adoption of the proposed amendments will have 

a significant economic impact on small business entities. 
Provider Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule should have minimal impact on 
providers as defined by HCR 170 of 2014 Regular 
Legislative Session. Per HCR 170, "provider" means an 
organization that provides services for individuals with 
developmental disabilities. In particular, the impact is 
anticipated as follows:  

1. no impact on the effect on the staffing level 
requirements or qualifications required to provide the same 
level of service; 

2. the incidence of SCID is 1 per 58,000 births. For 
that one case, the provider will have additional responsibility 
in following up on the positive result, referring the patient 
for confirmation testing and referring the patient to a more 
specialized provider for treatment. The goal of testing 
newborns is to capture positive cases early in life and 
institute treatment as soon as possible; thus, more costly
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interventions later in life to babies who are not tested and are 
later found to exhibit symptoms of this disease are averted. 
Delay in knowing if a newborn has this disease will likely 
lead to an increase of costs to providers, as well as possibly 
the State. 

3. due the low incidence, particularly when found 
early because of such testing, the total direct and indirect 
effect on the cost to the providers to provide the same level 
of service is minimal; and 

4. there will be no impact on the overall effect on the 
ability of the provider to provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 

Interested persons may submit written comments on the 
proposed Rule. Such comments must be received no later 
than Wednesday, August 29, 2018 at COB, 4:30 pm, and 
should be addressed to Cheryl Harris, Program 
Administrator, Genetic Diseases Program, Office of Public 
Health, 1450 Poydras Street, Suite 2046, New Orleans, LA 
70112, or faxed to (504) 568-8253. 

Public Hearing 

Interested persons may submit a written request to the 

Genetic Diseases Program to conduct a public hearing; 

however, such request must received no later than August 

10, 2018 at COB, 4:30 pm. If request(s) for public hearing is 

received by this deadline date and it (or they) meets the 

minimum criteria specified in R.S. 49:953(A)(2)(a) for 

holding a public hearing, LDH-OPH will conduct a public 

hearing at 10 am on Tuesday, August 28, 2018, in Room 173 

of the Bienville Building, 628 North 4th Street, Baton 

Rouge, LA. Before attending, interested persons should first 

call Ms. Cheryl Harris at (504) 568-8254 after August 10, 

2018 to confirm whether or not a public hearing will be held. 

If a public hearing is to be held, all interested persons are 

invited to attend and present data, views, comments, or 

arguments, orally or in writing. If held, persons attending the 

hearing may have their parking ticket validated when one 

parks in the 7-story Galvez Parking Garage which is located 

between North 6th and North 5th/North and Main Streets. 

(cater-corner and across the street from the Bienville 

Building). 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Newborn Heel Stick Screening  

and Laboratory Services 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule adds Severe Combined 

Immunodeficiency Disease (SCID) testing to the newborn 
screening panel. This rule change is being proposed to comply 
with HCR19 of the 2018 RLS, which urges and requests the 
Louisiana Department of Health (LDH) to take actions 
necessary to add SCID to the newborn screening panel. The 
proposed rule change also updates the newborn screening panel 
charge from $18 to $30 for non-Medicaid patients to reflect 
current practice.  

The proposed rule change is estimated to increase 
expenditures for the Office of Public Health (OPH) by 
approximately $213,000 per year associated with testing cost. 
The cost for OPH to test one newborn for SCID is $4. OPH 
anticipates testing 53,250 total newborns per year (Medicaid 
and non-Medicaid patients). Therefore, the total annual cost of 
testing is projected to be $213,000 (53,250 newborns x $4 per 
test).  

The proposed rule change is also estimated to increase 
expenditures for the Medicaid program by an indeterminable 
amount. The cost to Medicaid will depend on the number of 
SCID tests performed and the reimbursement rate, which has 
not yet been established.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This rule change is anticipated to increase Medicaid 
revenue collections for OPH. Newborn SCID testing is 
reimbursable by Medicaid but the reimbursement rate has not 
yet been determined; therefore, the estimated amount of the 
increase is unknown at this time.  

OPH will not collect additional revenue from non-Medicaid 
patients for SCID testing. The proposed rule change updates 
the newborn screening panel charge from $18 to $30 for non-
Medicaid patients. However, this is being done to reflect 
current practice, which has been in place since 2006.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

OPH estimates that there are approximately 10,000 children 
born each year in Louisiana whose newborn screening panel is 
analyzed by a non-OPH lab. Hospitals that use a non-OPH lab 
to analyze the SCID test will incur a cost of approximately $4 
per test.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no anticipated effect on employment or 
competition. 

 
M. Beth Scalco, MPA, MSW Gregory V. Albrecht 
Assistant Secretary Chief Economist 
1807#048 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Insurance 

Office of the Commissioner 

Regulation 110―Declaratory Orders 
(LAC 37:XIII.Chapter 157) 

The Department of Insurance, pursuant to the authority of 
the Louisiana Insurance Code, R.S. 22:1 et seq., and in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950, et seq., hereby gives notice of its intent to adopt 
Regulation 110―Declaratory Orders.  

R.S. 49:962 provides that “each agency shall provide by 
rule for the filing and prompt disposition of petitions for 
declaratory orders and rulings as to the applicability of any 
statutory provision or of any rule or order of the agency.” 
Additionally, R.S. 22:2(E) provides that “the commissioner 
of insurance shall have the authority to make reasonable 
rules and regulations, not inconsistent with law, to enforce, 
carry out, and make effective the implementation of this 
Code.” The purpose of Regulation 110 is to define
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declaratory orders and to provide for the filing and prompt 
disposition of petitions for declaratory orders.  

Title 37 

INSURANCE 

Part XIII.  Regulations 

Chapter 157. Regulation 110―Declaratory Orders 

§15701. Purpose 

A. The purpose of Regulation 110 is to define 
declaratory orders and to provide for the filing and prompt 
disposition of declaratory orders, as authorized by R.S. 
49:962.  

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:2(E) and 49:962. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 44: 

§15703. Definitions 

A. As used in Regulation 110, the following terms shall 
have the meanings specified. 

Commissioner—the commissioner of the Louisiana 
Department of Insurance. 

Department―the Louisiana Department of Insurance. 
Declaratory Order―a written statement issued by the 

department at the request of a person regulated by the 
department as to the applicability of any statutory provision 
or of any rule or order of the agency. 

Litigation―involvement in any civil, criminal, 
administrative, regulatory, or disciplinary proceeding or 
action.  

Person―any individual, company, insurer, association, 
organization, reciprocal or inter-insurance exchange, 
partnership, business, trust, limited liability company, or 
corporation regulated by the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:2(E) and 49:962. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 44: 

§15705. Declaratory Orders, Generally 

A. A declaratory order is not an agency rule or regulation 
but shall have the same status as a final agency decision or 
an order in an adjudicated case. 

B. A declaratory order shall have effect only upon the 
person requesting it and the commissioner and shall continue 
in effect unless a subsequent bulletin, advisory letter, 
directive, rule/regulation, court case, or statute supersedes it, 
or until the commissioner rescinds it. If a declaratory order is 
superseded or rescinded, such action shall have effect 
prospectively only, and the declaratory order shall cease to 
be effective as of 30 days after the date of the action that 
superseded or rescinded it. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:2(E) and 49:962. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 44: 

§15707. Disposal of Petitions; Form; Reasons to Issue or 

not Issue Declaratory Orders  

A. The commissioner shall decide within 60 days after 
the filing of a petition for a declaratory order whether to 
accept or reject the petition.  

B.  A petition for a declaratory order shall be submitted 
in writing to the commissioner, in the manner specified on 
the department’s website, by a person regulated by the 
department or the person’s legal representative. Petitions 
shall contain the following information: 

1. the title of the petition (e.g., “Petition for 
Declaratory Order”); 

2. the name, address, and telephone number of the 
person regulated by the department requesting the 
declaratory order; 

3. a power of attorney or mandate, if the person is 
represented by a third party; 

4. specific questions to be answered or issues to be 
addressed;  

5. complete statement of all relevant facts;  
6. citations to or copies of relevant statutes, 

rules/regulations, or orders of the department at issue, and, if 
the petitioner takes a specific position on the issue, the 
arguments, reasons, and provisions of law supporting such 
position;  

7. copies of all relevant documents; and  
8. a signed statement stating to the best of the person’s 

knowledge: 
a. whether the person requesting the declaratory 

order has the same issue under examination or review with 
the department or any other insurance regulator;  

b. whether the person requesting the declaratory 
order has been notified in writing that an examination with 
the department or any other insurance regulator is pending;  

c. whether the person requesting the declaratory 
order is litigating the issue in the state of Louisiana or is 
aware of the person’s involvement in litigation on the same 
issue in other jurisdictions;  

d. whether the department or any other insurance 
regulator has previously issued a declaratory order or ruling, 
no-action letter, or similar declaratory statement on the same 
issue (with a copy attached); 

e. whether the attorney general has been, or will be, 
requested to issue an opinion concerning the issue prior to 
the issuance of the declaratory order; and  

f. that, prior to the issuance of a declaratory order, 
if the requesting person is notified of a pending examination 
by the department or any other insurance regulator, the 
requesting person will notify the commissioner of the 
pending examination.  

C. A petition for a declaratory order may not be used to 
delay or interrupt an examination.  

D. Reasons for issuing a declaratory order may include 
but not be limited to: 

1. it has been requested by a person regulated by the 
department, or the person's representative who has a power 
of attorney or mandate; and  

2. the law and rules/regulations or department’s orders 
are not clear. 

E. Reasons for not issuing a declaratory order may 
include but not be limited to: 

1. the law and rules/regulations or department’s orders 
are clear; 

2. a rule/regulation would be more appropriate under 
the Administrative Procedure Act; 

3. the inquiry concerns alternative fact scenarios, 
speculative or supposed facts, or purely hypothetical 
situations; 

4. the inquiry concerns matters scheduled for an 
examination or currently involved in an examination, appeal, 
or litigation; 
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5. the inquiry concerns an issue that is being litigated 
or may be litigated in the near future; 

6. the request is incomplete because it does not 
contain all of the information required by §15707.B; 

7. the request can best be handled by another means, 
such as through issuance of a bulletin, advisory letter, 
directive, or rule/regulation; or 

8. the requesting person withdraws the request at any 
point prior to issuance of the declaratory order. 

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:2(E) and 49:962. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 44: 

§15709. Rescissions 

A. The commissioner reserves the right to change 
positions reflected in prior declaratory orders. If a 
declaratory order is rescinded due to a change in the 
commissioner’s position, the rescinded declaratory order 
ceases to be effective as of 30 days after the date of the 
rescission.  

B. If a declaratory order is rescinded and is subsequently 
reissued due to a change in the commissioner’s position, the 
rescinded declaratory order ceases to be effective as of 30 
days after the date of the rescission, and the reissued 
declaratory order shall be effective as of the effective date of 
the rescission.  

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:2(E) and 49:962. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 44: 

§15711. Confidential or Privileged Treatment 

A. The commissioner shall maintain as confidential or 
privileged any documents, materials, or other information 
submitted with or included in a petition for a declaratory 
order that are required to be maintained as confidential or 
privileged pursuant to any provision of Title 22 of the 
Revised Statutes, any exception to the Public Records Law 
(R.S. 44:1 et seq.), or any applicable federal law.  

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:2(E) and 49:962. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 44: 

§15713. Effective Date 

A. Regulation 110 shall become effective upon 
promulgation in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:2(E) and 49:962. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 44: 

§15715. Severability 

A. If any Section or provision of Regulation 110 or the 
application to any person or circumstance is held invalid, 
such invalidity or determination shall not affect other 
Sections or provisions or the application of Regulation 110 
to any persons or circumstances that can be given effect 
without the invalid section or provision or application, and, 
for these purposes, the Sections and provisions of Regulation 
110 and the application to any persons or circumstances are 
severable.  

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:2(E) and 49:962. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 

1. Describe the effect of the proposed regulation on the 
stability of the family. The proposed amended regulation 
should have no measurable impact upon the stability of the 
family.  

2. Describe the effect of the proposed regulation on the 
authority and rights of parents regarding the education and 
supervision of their children. The proposed amended 
regulation should have no impact upon the rights and 
authority of children regarding the education and supervision 
of their children. 

3. Describe the effect of the proposed regulation on the 
functioning of the family. The proposed amended regulation 
should have no direct impact upon the functioning of the 
family. 

5. Describe the effect of the proposed regulation on 
family earnings and budget. The proposed amended 
regulation should have no direct impact upon family 
earnings and budget. 

6. Describe the effect of the proposed regulation on the 
behavior and personal responsibility of children. The 
proposed amended regulation should have no impact upon 
the behavior and personal responsibility of children. 

7. Describe the effect of the proposed regulation on the 
ability of the family or a local government to perform the 
function as contained in the rule. The proposed amended 
regulation should have no impact upon the ability of the 
family or a local governmental unit to perform the function 
as contained in the rule. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
1. Describe the effect on household income, assets, 

and financial security. The proposed amended regulation 
should have no effect on household income assets and 
financial security. 

2. Describe the effect on early childhood development 
and preschool through postsecondary education 
development. The proposed amended regulation should have 
no effect on early childhood development and preschool 
through postsecondary education development. 

3. Describe the effect on employment and workforce 
development. The proposed amended regulation should have 
no effect on employment and workforce development. 

4. Describe the effect on taxes and tax credits. The 
proposed amended regulation should have no effect on taxes 
and tax credits. 

5. Describe the effect on child and dependent care, 
housing, health care, nutrition, transportation and utilities 
assistance. The proposed amended regulation should have no 
effect on child and dependent care, housing, health care, 
nutrition, transportation and utilities assistance. 

Small Business Analysis 

1. The impact of the proposed regulation on small 
businesses as defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has 
been considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is 
not expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed regulation that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed regulation on small 
businesses. 
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2. Identification and estimate of the number of the small 
businesses subject to the proposed Rule. The proposed 
amended regulation should have no measurable impact upon 
small businesses. 

3. The projected reporting, record keeping, and other 
administrative costs required for compliance with the 
proposed Rule, including the type of professional skills 
necessary for preparation of the report or record. The 
proposed amended regulation should have no measurable 
impact upon small businesses. 

4. A statement of the probable effect on impacted small 
businesses. The proposed amended regulation should have 
no measurable impact upon small businesses. 

5. Describe any less intrusive or less costly alternative 
methods of achieving the purpose of the proposed Rule. The 
proposed amended regulation should have no measurable 
impact on small businesses; therefore, will have no less 
intrusive or less cost alternative methods. 

Provider Impact Statement 

1. Describe the effect on the staffing level requirements 
or qualifications required to provide the same level of 
service. The proposed amended regulation will have no 
effect. 

2. The total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
provider to provide the same level of service. The proposed 
amended regulation will have no effect. 

3. The overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. The proposed amended 
regulation will have no effect. 

Public Comments 
All interested persons are invited to submit written 

comments on the proposed regulation. Such comments must 
be received no later than August 20, 2018, by 4:30 p.m. and 
should be addressed to Lynette Roberson, Louisiana 
Department of Insurance, and may be mailed to P.O. Box 
94214, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9214, faxed to (225) 342-
1632, or emailed to lynette.roberson@ldi.la.gov. If 
comments are to be shipped or hand-delivered, please 
deliver to Poydras Building, 1702 North 3rd Street, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70802.  

 
James J. Donelon 
Commissioner 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Regulation 110―Declaratory Orders 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rules will not result in additional costs or 

savings for state or local governmental units. LA R.S. 49:962 
provides that each agency shall provide by rule for the filing 
and prompt disposition of petitions for declaratory orders and 
rulings as to the applicability of any statutory provision or of 
any rule or order of the agency. Regulation 110 defines 
declaratory orders and provides for the filing and prompt 
disposition of petitions for declaratory orders by the 
Commissioner of Insurance.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rules will not affect revenue collections for 
state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rules will benefit persons regulated by the 
LA Dept. of Insurance by providing guidelines for filing a 
declaratory order with the Commissioner of Insurance. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rules will not affect competition or 
employment. 

 
Nicholas Lorusso Evan Brasseaux 
Chief Deputy Commissioner Staff Director 
1807#044 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Natural Resources 

Office of Conservation 

Commercial Facilities Hours of Operation 
(LAC 43:XIX.533 and 537) 

The Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation proposes to amend LAC 43:XIX, Subpart 1 in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and pursuant to the 
power delegated under the laws of the state of Louisiana. 
The proposed amendment implements Act 191 of the 2018 
Regular Session, which repealed the commissioner’s 
authority to regulate the hours of operation or receiving of 
offsite treatment, storage and disposal facilities of E and P 
Waste.  

Title 43 

NATURAL RESOURCES 

Part XIX.  Office of ConservationGeneral Operations 

Subpart 1.  Statewide Order No. 29-B 

Chapter 5. Off-Site Storage, Treatment and/or 

Disposal of Exploration and Production 

Waste Generated from Drilling and 

Production of Oil and Gas Wells 
 
NOTE: Onsite disposal requirements are listed in  
LAC 43:XIX, Chapter 3. 
 
EDITOR'S NOTE: Statewide Order 29-B was originally 
codified in LAC 43:XIX as §129. In December 2000, §129 
was restructured into Chapters 3, 4 and 5. Chapter 3 contains 
the oilfield pit regulations. Chapter 4 contains the 
injection/disposal well regulations. Chapter 5 contains the 
commercial facility regulations. A cross-reference chart in the 
December 2000 Louisiana Register, page 2798, indicates the 
locations for the rules in each existing Section. 
 
EDITOR'S NOTE: Chapter 5 was amended in November 
2001. A chart showing the restructuring of Chapter 5 is found 
on page 1898 of the Louisiana Register, November 2001. 
 

§533. General Operational Requirements for 

Commercial Facilities and Transfer Stations 

A. … 
B. Commercial facilities and transfer stations shall be 

adequately manned during hours of receiving and off-
loading of E and P Waste. 

C. All facilities and systems for treatment, control, and 
monitoring (and related appurtenances) which are installed 
or used to achieve compliance with the conditions of a 
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permit shall be properly operated and maintained at all 
times. 

D. Inspection and entry by Office of Conservation 
personnel shall be allowed as prescribed in R.S. 30:4. 

E. Discharges from land treatment cells, tanks, tank 
retaining walls and/or barges into man-made or natural 
drainage or directly into state waters will be allowed only 
after the necessary discharge permit has been obtained from 
the appropriate state and/or federal agencies and in 
accordance with the conditions of such permit. 

F. A sign shall be prepared, displayed and maintained 
at the entry of each permitted commercial facility or transfer 
station. Such sign shall utilize a minimum of 1-inch lettering 
to state the facility name, address, phone number, and site 
code shall be made applicable to the activities of each 
facility according to the following example. 

 
"This E and P Waste (storage, treatment and/or disposal) 
facility has been approved for (temporary storage, treatment 
and/or disposal) of exploration and production waste only and 
is regulated by the Office of Conservation. Violations shall be 
reported to the Office of Conservation at (225) 342-5515." 

 
G. A vertical aerial color photograph (or series of 

photographs) with stereoscopic coverage of each Type A 
land treatment facility must be obtained during the month of 
October every two years and provided to the Office of 
Conservation by November 30 of the year the photo is taken. 
Such photograph(s) must be taken at an original photo scale 
of 1" = 1000' to 1" = 500' depending on the size of the 
facility. Photo(s) are to be provided as prints in either 8" x 
10" or 9" x 9" formats. The commissioner may require more 
frequent aerial photos as deemed necessary. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 27:1909 (November 
2001), amended LR 44: 

§537. Hours of Receiving 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 27:1910 (November 
2001), amended LR 31:2262 (September 2005), repealed LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 

This Rule has no known impact on family formation, 
stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
This Rule has no known impact on poverty as described in 

R.S. 49:973. 
Small Business Analysis 

This Rule has no known impact on small businesses as 
described in R.S. 49:965.6. 

Provider Impact Statement 

This Rule has no known impact on providers as described 
in HCR 170 of 2014. 

Public Comments 
All interested parties will be afforded the opportunity to 

submit data, views, or arguments, in writing. Written 
comments will be accepted by hand delivery or USPS only, 
until 4 p.m., August 10, 2018, at Office of Conservation, 
Environmental Division, P.O. Box 94275, Baton Rouge, LA 
70804-9275; or Office of Conservation, Environmental 

Division, 617 North Third Street, Room 830, Baton Rouge, 
LA 70802. Reference Docket No. R A 2018-01. All inquiries 
should be directed to Gary Snellgrove at the above addresses 
or by phone to (225) 342-7222. No preamble was prepared. 

 
Richard P. Ieyoub 
Commissioner 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Commercial Facilities  

Hours of Operation 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There is no anticipated direct material effect on state or 

local governmental expenditures as a result of the proposed rule 
changes. The existing rule provides for the Commissioner’s 
authority to regulate the hours a commercial facility and 
transfer station is allowed to receive Exploration and 
Production Waste (E&P Waste). In addition, the existing rule 
requires that commercial facilities and transfer stations to be 
adequately manned during hours of receiving and off-loading 
of E&P Waste.  

The proposed rule changes remove the Commissioner’s 
authority to regulate the hours of receiving of E&P Waste, 
thereby allowing operators to receive and off-load E&P Waste 
on a twenty-four (24) hour basis. The proposed rule changes do 
not change the requirement that commercial facilities and 
transfer stations are to be adequately manned during hours of 
receiving and off-loading of E&P Waste. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will have no effect on revenue 
collections of state or local government units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no anticipated cost increases associated with the 
proposed rule changes, but the proposed rule changes will 
impact Commercial Exploration and Production (E&P) Waste 
Disposal Facilities by allowing these operators to receive and 
off-load E&P waste on a twenty-four (24) hour basis providing 
them an opportunity to become more efficient and competitive 
in the market. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule changes could allow Louisiana 
Operators to become more competitive in the market place and 
potentially increase employment. 

 

Gary Ross John D. Carpenter 
Assistant Commissioner Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1807#040 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 

Office of Motor Vehicles 

Designations or Restrictions on Driver’s Licenses  
and Identification Cards (LAC 55:I.108) 

Under the authority of R.S. 32:412(O) and R.S. 32:403.3 
and in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of Public
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Safety and Corrections, Public Safety Services, Office of 
Motor Vehicles (department), hereby gives notice of its 
intent to promulgate a Rule regarding persons who need an 
accommodation, or are deaf or hard of hearing. Section 108 
is new and implements the provisions of Act 514 of the 2014 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, which 
provides for the deaf or hard of hearing restriction on a 
driver’s licenses, and Act 74 of the 2017 Regular Session of 
the Louisiana Legislature, which provides for the Need 
Accommodation designation on a driver’s licenses and 
identification cards. This proposed Section is intended to be 
adopted and effective on October 20, 2018. 

Title 55 

PUBLIC SAFETY 

Part III.  Motor Vehicles 

Chapter 1. Driver's License 

Subchapter A. General Requirements 

§108. Designations or Restrictions on Driver’s 

Licenses and Identification Cards 

A. Needs Accommodation 
1. A special Louisiana driver's license or identification 

card shall be issued to any applicant upon request who needs 
accommodation. The designation shall be issued by the 
Department and exhibited on the driver's license or 
identification card. 

2. A “Needs Accommodation” designation shall be 
exhibited on a personal class or chauffer’s class license or 
identification card.  

3. Only applicants with a physical, mental or 
developmental disability documented as required in 
Paragraph A.4. of this section are eligible for the designation 
“Needs Accommodation.” 

4. All applications for a “Needs Accommodation” 
designation shall be accompanied by a statement, on a form 
provided by the Department, from a qualified medical 
professional licensed in Louisiana or another state or 
territory of the United States, stating the medical information 
which establishes the mental, physical, or developmental 
disability required to obtain the designation authorized in 
this section. 

5. If the holder of a driver’s license or identification 
card with a “Needs Accommodation” designation no longer 
wishes to have the designation displayed on the driver's 
license or identification card, the holder shall return the 
credential the department for cancellation. 

6. No additional fee shall be charged to include such a 
designation. The charge for a “Needs Accommodation” 
driver's license or identification card shall be the same as for 
regular driver's license. 

B. Deaf or Hard of Hearing 
1. A special Louisiana driver's license card shall be 

issued to any applicant who is deaf or hard of hearing.  
2. A restriction code will be placed on the driver’s 

license for deaf or hard of hearing and these codes will be 
inclusive of a restriction 41 as well.  

3. Only applicants who are deaf or hard of hearing 
documented as required in Paragraph B.4.of this section are 
eligible to have the restriction code placed on their driver’s 
license 

4. All applications for a deaf or hard of hearing 
restriction shall be accompanied by a medical examination 
form from a qualified medical, audiologist, or speech 

pathologist professional licensed in Louisiana stating the 
medical information which establishes the applicant is deaf 
or hard of hearing. 

5. No additional fee shall be charged to include such 
restriction. The charge for a driver's license inclusive of the 
restrictions shall be the same as for regular driver's license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:412(O) and R.S. 32:403.3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Public Safety Services, Office of 
Motor Vehicles, LR 44: 

Public Comments 

Interested Person. Interested persons may submit written 

comments to Harrietta J. Bridges, Stephen Quidd, or Jennifer 

Del Murray, by mail at Post Office Box 66614, Baton 

Rouge, LA 70896, or by fax at (225) 925-4624. Written 

comments will be accepted through the close of business, 

August 27, 2018.  
Public Hearing 

A public hearing is tentatively scheduled for August 30, 
2018 at 10 a.m. at 7979 Independence Blvd. Suite 301, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70806. Please call or e-mail in advance to 
confirm the time and place of meeting, as the meeting will 
be cancelled if the requisite number of comments is not 
received. 

Family Impact Statement 
1. The effect of this Rule on the stability of the family. 

This Rule should not have any effect on the stability of the 
family.  

2. The effect of this Rule on the authority and rights of 
parents regarding the education and supervision of their 
children. This Rule should not have any effect on the 
authority and rights of parents regarding the education and 
supervision of their children.  

3. The effect of this Rule on the functioning of the 
family. This Rule should not have any effect on the 
functioning of the family.  

4. The effect of this Rule on family earnings and 
family budget. This Rule should not have any effect on 
family earnings and family budget.  

5. The effect of this Rule on the behavior and personal 
responsibility of children. This Rule should not have any 
effect on the behavior and personal responsibility of 
children.  

6. The effect of this Rule on the ability of the family 
or local government to perform the function as contained in 
the proposed rules. This Rule should not have any effect on 
the ability of the family or local government to perform the 
function as contained in the proposed rules. 

Small Business Analysis 
1. The impact of the proposed Rule on small 

businesses has been considered and it is estimated that the 
proposed action is not expected to have a significant adverse 
impact on small businesses as defined in the Regulatory 
Flexibility Act. 

2. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses.  
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Poverty Statement 
1. The impact of the proposed Rule on child, 

individual, or family poverty has been considered and it is 
estimated that the proposed action is not expected to have a 
significant adverse impact on poverty in relation to 
individual or community asset development as provided in 
the R.S. 49:973.  

2. The agency has considered economic welfare 
factors and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in 
the drafting of the proposed rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on poverty. 

Provider Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule should not have any known or 
foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there 
should be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the staffing level requirements or qualifications 
required to provide the same level of service;  

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or  

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

 
Lt. Col. Jason Starnes 
Chief Administrative Officer 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Designations or Restrictions on Driver’s 

Licenses and Identification Cards 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule change will not result in any costs or 

savings to state or local governmental units. The proposed rule 
change codifies the “Need Accommodation” designation on a 
driver’s license and identification card pursuant to Act 74 of 
the 2017 Regular Legislative Session and the deaf or hard of 
hearing restriction on a driver’s license pursuant to Act 514 of 
the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will have no effect on revenue 
collections for state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will have no effect on costs or 
economic benefits to directly affected persons or non-
governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule change will have no effect on 
competition and employment. 

 
LT. Col. Jason Starnes Evan Brasseaux 
Undersecretary Staff Director 
1807#045 Legislative Fiscal Office 

 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 

Office of State Fire Marshal 

Uniform Construction Code Council 

Uniform Construction Code Update 
(LAC 55:VI.701) 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 40:1730.26 and 
R.S. 40:1730.28, relative to the authority of the Louisiana 
State Uniform Construction Code Council (LSUCCC) to 
promulgate and enforce rules and in accordance with R.S. 
49:953(B), the Administrative Procedure Act, the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the 
State Fire Marshal, Louisiana State Uniform Construction 
Code Council (LSUCCC) hereby gives notice that it 
proposes to amend the following Rule. The purpose of 
amending the current Rule is to have a more unified process 
for the registration of code enforcement officers. 

Title 55 

PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORRECTIONS 

Part VI.  Uniform Construction Code Enforcement 

Chapter 7. Certificates of Registration 

§701. General 

A. On and after January 1, 2007, no person shall practice 
as a code enforcement officer in this state unless registered 
with the Louisiana State Uniform Construction Code 
Council (council). A person desiring to be registered as a 
parish or municipality building code enforcement officer or a 
third party provider shall apply to the council for a 
certificate of registration. The applicant shall apply on the 
application form prescribed the by the council. An applicant 
shall furnish satisfactory proof to the council of valid 
certification. A certificate of registration is valid for one year 
and expires on the last day of the month of issuance. Those 
possessing certificates of registration must renew their 
certificates in order to remain in good standing with the 
council. After the initial registration year expires the renewal 
expiration dates shall be as follows. Building code 
enforcement officers whose last names begin with A through 
M will expire on December 31 and last names which begin 
with N through Z will expire on January 31. All third party 
providers and wind mitigation surveyors shall expire on July 
31. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1730.22(C) and (D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, State Uniform Construction Code 
Council, LR 33:292 (February 2007), amended LR 35:2819 
(December 2009), repromulgated LR 36:327 (February 2010); 
amended the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office 
of the State Fire Marshal, State Uniform Construction Code 
Council, LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. The effect of this Rule on the stability of the family. 

This Rule should not have any effect on the stability of the 
family. 

2. The effect of this Rule on the authority and rights of 
parents regarding the education and supervision of their
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children. This Rule should not have any effect on the 
authority and rights of parents regarding the education and 
supervision of their children. 

3. The effect of this Rule on the functioning of the 
family. This Rule should not have any effect on the 
functioning of the family.  

4. The effect of this Rule on family earnings and 
family budget. This Rule should not have any effect on 
family earnings and family budget.  

5. The effect of this Rule on the behavior and personal 
responsibility of children. This Rule should not have any 
effect on the behavior and personal responsibility of 
children.  

6. The effect of this Rule on the ability of the family 
or local government to perform the function as contained in 
the proposed rules. This Rule should not have any effect on 
the ability of the family or local government to perform the 
function as contained in the proposed rules. 

Poverty Impact Statement 

1. The impact of the proposed Rule on child, 
individual, or family poverty has been considered and it is 
estimated that the proposed action is not expected to have a 
significant adverse impact on poverty in relation to 
individual or community asset development as provided in 
the R.S. 49:973.  

2. The agency has considered economic welfare 
factors and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in 
the drafting of the proposed rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on poverty. 

Small Business Analysis 
1. The impact of the proposed Rule on small 

businesses has been considered and it is estimated that the 
proposed action is not expected to have a significant adverse 
impact on small businesses as defined in the Regulatory 
Flexibility Act. 

2. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses.  

Provider Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 

the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there 

should be no known or foreseeable effect on: 
1. the staffing level requirements or qualifications 

required to provide the same level of service;  
2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 

providers to provide the same level of service; or  
3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 

provide the same level of service. 
Public Comments 

Interested persons may submit written comments to 
Melinda L. Long, by mail at Post Office Box 66614, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70896, by fax at (225) 925-4624, or by e-mail at 
Melinda.long@la.gov. 

Written comments will be accepted through the close of 
business, August 27, 2018.  

 

Lt. Col. Jason Starnes, 
Chief Administrative Officer 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Uniform Construction Code Update 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule change will not result in any costs or 

savings to state or local governmental units.  The proposed rule 
change modifies the expiration dates for certificates of 
registration issued by the Louisiana State Uniform Construction 
Code Council (LSUCCC). 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will have no effect on revenue 
collections of state or local governmental units. There is no fee 
associated with the LSUCCC registration. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will have no effect on costs or 
economic benefits to directly affected persons or non-
governmental units. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The propose rule change will have no effect on competition 
and employment. 

 
Lt. Col. Jason Starnes Evan Brasseaux 
Chief Administrative Officer Staff Director 
1807#046 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Workforce Commission 

Plumbing Board 

PlumbersIntroductory Information; Licenses  
(LAC 46:LV.101) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953, the Louisiana State Plumbing 
Board (board), hereby determines that the implementation of 
an amendment to LAC 46:LV.101 is necessary to be in 
compliance with recent legislative changes designated as Act 
No. 253 of 2018. The proposed Rule change clarifies 
applicable law to specify what “works or business” is 
excluded from the statutory definition of “gas fitting”, R.S. 
37:1377(K). This adjustment will be effective upon final 
publication in the Louisiana Register. 

Title 46 

PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 

Part LV.  Plumbers 

Chapter 1. Introductory Information 

§101. Definitions 

* * * 
Gas Fitting―the work or business of installing, repairing, 

improving, altering, or removing natural gas piping, fittings, 
valves, or tanks used for conveying fuel gas for appliances 
on or in premises or in buildings annexed to immovable 
property. For purposes of this Chapter, gas fitting does not 
include the following: 

1. the installation or maintenance of piping by any 
entity of a municipal or gas district system that is subject to 
the regulatory authority of the Public Service Commission, 
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the New Orleans City Council, or the Office of Pipeline 
Safety in the Department of Natural Resources; 

2. any work done by a person who is licensed by the 
Louisiana Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission or any 
other services performed pursuant to such a license. 

3.a. Piping connection, disconnection, or reconnection 
from the outlet side of the appliance shutoff valve to the 
appliance inlet. 

b. The following persons or entities shall not be 
construed as a gas fitter or master gas fitter for any purpose 
of this Chapter solely due to the performance of services 
described in 3.a.: 
 i. Any person or business entity licensed by the 
State Licensing Board for Contractors as a mechanical 
contractor. 
 ii. Any person or business entity classified under 
the heating, air conditioning, ventilation, duct work, and 
refrigeration subclassification of mechanical contractors 
pursuant to R.S. 37:2156.2. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1366(D). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Labor, 

Plumbing Board, 1968, amended and promulgated by the 
Department of Employment and Training, Plumbing Board, LR 
17:49 (January 1991), amended by the Department of Labor, 
Plumbing Board, LR 21:1348 (December 1995), LR 26:329 
(February 2000), amended by the Workforce Commission, 
Plumbing Board, LR 42:575 (April 2016). LR 43:541 (March 
2017), LR 43:972 (May 2017, LR 44:633 (March 2018), amended 
by the Workforce Commission, Plumbing Board, LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. Estimated effect on the stability of the family? 

There is no estimated effect on the stability of the family. 
2. Estimated effect on the authority and rights of 

parents regarding the education and supervision of their 
children? There is no estimated effect on the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children. 

3. Estimated effect on the functioning of the family? 
There is no estimated effect on the functioning of the family. 

4. Estimated effect on family earnings and family 
budget? There is no estimated effect on family earnings and 
family budget. 

5. Estimated effect on the behavior and personal 
responsibility of children? There is no estimated effect on 
the behavior and personal responsibility of children. 

6. Estimated effect on the ability of the family or a 
local government to perform the function as contained in the 
proposed Rule? There is no estimated effect on the ability of 
the family or a local government to perform the function as 
contained in the proposed Rule. 

Poverty Impact Statement 

The proposed amended Rule will have no impact on 

poverty as described in R.S. 49:973. 
Small Business Analysis 

The proposed amended Rule will have no adverse impact 
on small businesses as defined in the Regulatory Flexibility 
Act. 

Provider Impact Statement 

The proposed amended Rule is not anticipated to have any 
impact on providers of services funded by the state as 
described in HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Legislative 
Session. 

Public Comments 

Any interested person may submit written comments 
regarding the content of this proposed Rule change to Ashley 
Jones Tullier, Executive Director of the Board, 11304 
Cloverdale Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA, no later than 5 p.m., 
August 10, 2018. 

 
Ashley Jones Tullier 
Executive Director 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Plumbers 

Introductory Information; Licenses 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 
The board anticipates one-time implementation costs as a 

result of the proposed rule change estimated to be 
approximately $2,000. There are approximately 3,441 gas 
fitters who will need to be notified of the rule change via 
United States Postal Service, plus the cost of materials, and the 
time for board staff to develop and implement the notice. 
Additionally, there will be costs to the board for board counsel 
to review and file both the NOI and Fiscal Impact Statement, 
however those costs are indeterminable until the submittal is 
complete.  

The proposed rule change incorporates the provisions of 
Act 253 of 2018 into the board’s administrative code. This act 
amends the definition of gas fitting and no longer requires 
individuals to hold a gas fitting license if individuals are solely 
providing services related to piping connection, disconnection, 
or reconnection from the outlet side of the appliance to the 
appliance inlet. Affected groups include any person or entity 
licensed by the state Licensing Board for Contractors as a 
mechanical contractor or any person or business entity 
classified under the heating, air conditioning, ventilation, duct 
work, and refrigeration sub classification of mechanical 
contractors pursuant to R.S. 37:2156.2.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The board anticipates a decrease in revenues in FY 19 and 
potentially in future years as a result of the proposed rule 
change, however the exact amount is indeterminable, as it is 
unknown how many of the 3,441 currently licensed gas fitters 
will be impacted by the proposed rule. Because some of the 
currently licensed gas fitters will be relieved of the obligation 
to continue licensure, revenues currently received from exam 
and licensure fees will decrease. Currently, gas fitting licenses 
range from $40 to $190 dependent upon classification and the 
current status of the licensee, and exams range from $100 - 
$500 dependent upon whether special accommodations are 
necessary. Depending upon the cost of the exam, the board 
only collects a portion of the revenues, while the remaining 
dollars go to the testing provider. Additionally, the board 
collects $25 for each licensee from the third party continuing 
education providers. To the extent the individual is not dual 
licensed the board will no longer collect this revenue.  



Louisiana Register   Vol. 44, No. 07   July 20, 2018 1392

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NON-
GOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 

Individuals currently licensed as gas fitters who will no 
longer be required to be licensed will be relieved of the costs 
associated with licensure and the continuing education 
requirements associated with gas fitting.  

Third party providers offering continuing education classes 
and the gas fitting exam will experience a reduction in revenues 
since fewer individuals will participate in the continuing 
education classes, and no longer need to take the exam.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no anticipated impact on competition and 
employment as a result of the proposed rule change. 

 
Louis L. Robein Evan Brasseaux 
Board Attorney Staff Director 
1807#028 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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Administrative Code Update 

CUMULATIVE:  January-July 2018 

 
   Location: 

LAC 

Title Part #.Section # Action Month 

LR 44 

Page # 

7 III.101 Amended Mar. 437 
 III.Chapter 5 Adopted Mar. 437 
 V.Chapter 29 Amended Mar. 440 
 XV.127 Amended Mar. 439 
     
10 XV.111 Amended June 1009 
17 I.Chapter 1 Amended Jan. 75 
     
19 VII.107,109 Amended Feb. 229 
 VII.117 Adopted Feb. 229 
     
22 I.207 Amended Mar. 608 
 III.Chapter 47 Amended June 1007 

 V.203,211 Amended Mar. 574 
 V.203 Amended June 1006 
 XI.102,303,307,510,701,703,711 Amended Mar. 574 
 XIII.503 Amended Feb. 270 
     
28 I.503,1107,1303 Amended Apr. 744 
 III.103,1701,2301 Amended June 1005 
 IV.Chapters 1-23 Amended Mar. 484 
 IV.501,503,1207,1209,1407,1409,1501 Repromulgated Mar. 484 
 IV.703 Amended June 1004 
 IV.1217,1419,1619,1803 Repealed Mar. 484 
 IV.1307 Adopted Mar. 484 
 IV.1507-1513,1603,1611,1617,1803,1809 Repromulgated Mar. 484 

 IV.2003,2301 Repromulgated Mar. 484 
 XI.101,301,405,409,413,601-709,903,1101 Amended Mar. 446 
 XI.303,515-521,611-613,708,1107,1605 Repealed Mar. 446 
 XI.305,411,501,503,901,905-911,1601 Adopted Mar. 446 
 XI.1102,1105,1301,1603,2401,2501,2505 Amended Mar. 446 
 XI.1607,2101,4005,4310 Repealed Mar. 446 
 XI.2901,3101,3103,3301,3303,3901-4301 Amended Mar. 446 
 XI.4503 Amended Feb. 230 
 XI.5105-5109,5305-5312,5315,5501,5511 Amended Mar. 461 
 XI.5701,5901-5907,6101-6115,6803,6811 Amended Mar. 461 
 XI.6155-6801,6804,6831,6900,7000,7001 Repealed Mar. 461 
 XI.6813-6821,6825-6903,6911-7101,7209 Amended Mar. 461 
 XI.7005-7041,7203,7205,7400,7901-8101 Repealed Mar. 461 

 XI.7311-7503,8301-8307,8503,8507 Amended Mar. 461 
 XXXIX.103,305,501,503,507,513,705,707 Amended Mar. 479 
 XXXIX.503,703,705,707 Amended June 1003 
 XXXIX.701,703 Adopted Mar. 479 
 XXXIX.901 Amended Mar. 479 
 XXXIX.903-915,1101 Repealed Mar. 479 
 CXV.333,2318 Amended Feb. 263 
 CXXXI.203,901-911 Amended Feb. 264 
 CXXXI.305,311 Amended Apr. 745 
 CXXXIX.Chapters 3-40 Amended Feb. 230 
 CXXXIX.311,313,519,2805,4001,4003 Adopted Feb. 230 
 CXXXIX.512,518,523,1502,3501 Repealed Feb. 230 
 CXXXIX.4005 Adopted Feb. 230 

 CLXI.103,701-707,713,1105,1301,1307 Amended Feb. 247 
 CLXI.505,507,509,1701,1703,1705 Repealed Feb. 247 
 CLXI.1509,1515,1709-1717,1721-1725 Amended Feb. 247 
 CLXI.Chapter 18 Adopted Feb. 247 
 CLXI.1903,1907,1909,1919,2103 Amended Feb. 247 
 CLXV.103,309,311-315,505,509,513,521 Amended Feb. 257 
 CLXV.310 Adopted Feb. 257 
 CLXV.103,511,515,519 Amended Apr. 800 
 CLXV.512 Adopted Apr. 800 
 CLXV.903 Amended Feb. 262 
     
33 I.501 Amended Jan. 43 

 III.321 Adopted Jan. 42 
 III.502 Amended Apr. 748 
 III.505,507,2160,3003,5116,5122,5311 Amended Apr. 746 
 III.5901 Amended Apr. 746 
 V.108,1101,1109,1111,1113,1901,2245 Amended Jan. 39 
 V.2299,4105,4301 Amended Jan. 39 
 V.10303 Amended May 921 
 V.Chapters 301-305 Amended June 1021 
 V.30139 Repealed June 1021 
 V.30143,30591 Adopted June 1021 
     
34 III.313 Amended Mar. 577 
 V.Chapters 1-33 Amended Apr. 749 

 V.111 Adopted Apr. 770 

   Location: 

LAC 

Title Part #.Section # Action Month 

LR 44 

Page # 

35 III.5704, 5706, 5710, 5714, 5724, 5764 Adopted May 913 
 III.5707, 5709, 5713, 5723 Amended May 913 
 XI.9905, 9909 Amended May 916 
     
37 XIII.Chapter 3 Amended Jan. 64 
 XIII.1945 Repromulgated Apr. 784 
 XIII.325 Adopted Jan. 64 
 XIII.Chapter 155 Adopted Jan. 68 
     
40 I.6605,6613 Amended Jan. 102 
 I.6665 Repromulgated Apr. 798 
 I.6665,6667 Adopted Jan. 102 
 III.501 Adopted Jan. 102 

 III.502 Adopted June 1097 
     
42 I.Chapter 17 Amended Apr. 788 
42 I.1785 Adopted Apr. 788 
     
43 I.133 Adopted Feb. 345 
 XIII.Chapters 1-65 Amended June 1021 
 XIII.329, 1935, 2940, Chapters 67-85 Adopted June 1021 
 XIII.6311 Repealed June 1021 
     
46 I.Chapter 22 Adopted Feb. 268 
 XXXI.Chapter 3 Amended May 908 
 XXXI.308, 507, 1110, 1201 Adopted May 908 

 XXXI.310, 1111 Repealed May 908 
 XXXI.502, 503, 709, 713, 901, 903 Amended May 908 
 XXXI.1101, 1105, 1109, 1705, 1707, 1709 Amended May 908 
 XXXIII.134 Adopted Jan. 45 
 XXXIII.306,706,1607,1611,1613,1709 Amended Jan. 45 
 XXXIII.1505 Repealed Jan. 45 
 XXXIII.1511 Amended June 1010 
 XXXIII.1711 Amended Jan. 45 
 XLI.725 Amended May 915 
 XLV.125,311,404,417 Amended Mar. 585 
 XLV.Chapter 40 Adopted Apr. 771 
 XLV.6931,6933,6935,6937 Adopted Feb. 271 
 XLV.Chapter 79 Adopted Feb. 272 

 XLVII.3331 Amended June 1010 
 XLVII.4505,4513 Amended Feb. 275 
 XLVII.3419 Amended May 919 
 LIII.903 Repromulgated Jan. 49 
 LV.101,312,1001,1002 Amended Mar. 633 
 LXI.Chapters 1-33 Amended Mar. 611 
 LXI.1309 Repromulgated Mar. 611 
 LXVII.1805 Amended Apr. 770 
 LXX.6105,6206,6207,6304,6307 Amended Jan. 44 
 LXX.6312 Adopted Jan. 44 
 LXXXV.403,1015,1227 Amended Mar. 587 
 LXXXV.1019 Repealed Mar. 587 
     

48 I.Chapter 40 Amended June 1015 
 I.Chapter 62 Amended Apr. 773 
 I.6297 Adopted Apr. 773 
 I.Chapter 82 Amended Mar. 588 
 I.8216,8246 Adopted Mar. 588 
 I.8249,8251 Repealed Mar. 588 
 I.Chapter 90 Amended Feb. 287 
 I.12501,12503 Amended Feb. 280 
 I.12524 Adopted Feb. 280 
 I.19707 Amended Jan. 63 
 V.Chapter 85 Amended Jan. 71 
 V.8512,8514 Adopted Jan. 71 

     
50 I.1501 Amended May 920 
 I.3111 Adopted Feb. 283 
 I.3507 Amended Jan. 61 
 I.Chapter 37 Amended Feb. 285 
 II.Chapter 5 Amended June 1018 
 II.10101,10156 Amended June 1019 
 V.115 Adopted Jan. 60 
 V.301 Repealed Mar. 607 
 V.2715 Adopted Feb. 276 
 VII.32917 Repealed Mar. 608 
 VII.32969 Amended Jan. 60 
 VII.32969 Amended Apr. 744 

 VII.33103 Amended Jan. 61 
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   Location: 

LAC 

Title Part #.Section # Action Month 

LR 44 

Page # 

50 IX.15110 Adopted Jan. 62 
 IX.15113 Amended Jan. 62 
 IX.15151, 15153 Amended May 920 
 XIII.101,103,301,303,305,501 Amended Jan. 58 

 XV.10701 Amended Jan. 63 
 XV.25501 Amended Mar. 588 
 XIX.4334 Amended Feb. 283 
 XXI.Chapters 137-143 Amended Jan. 50 
 XXI.13702,14202 Adopted Jan. 50 
 XXI.13931 Repromulgated Feb. 282 
 XXI.13933 Repealed Jan. 50 
 XXIX.949 Amended June 1020 
 XXXIII.6103,6301,6303,6305,6307,6501 Amended June 1014 
51 I.101 Amended Apr. 783 
 I.109,120 Adopted Apr. 783 
 XII.101,105,107,319 Amended Feb. 296 
 XII.111-191,201-279 Adopted Feb. 296 

     
55 I.Chapters 5,27 Amended Jan. 95 
 I.1101 Amended Feb. 347 
     
61 I.103 Adopted Jan. 98 
 I.1115 Adopted Apr. 785 
 I.1501 Amended June 1062 
 V.101,303,304,701,703,907,1103,1307 Amended Mar. 577 
 V.706,1504 Adopted Mar. 577 
 V.907, 2503 Repromulgated May 917 

   Location: 

LAC 

Title Part #.Section # Action Month 

LR 44 

Page # 

61 V.1501,1503,2503,3501 Amended Mar. 577 
     
67 I.201,203 Amended June 997 
 I.Chapter 3 Repealed June 997 

 III.301,307,309,313,1209,1229,1987,1988 Amended Mar. 442 
 III.403 Amended Jan. 23 
 III.1255,5345 Repealed Mar. 442 
 III.1999,2103,2107,5307 Amended Mar. 442 
 III.2514 Amended Jan. 24 
 III.Chapter 69 Adopted Jan. 24 
 V.1101,1111 Adopted June 997 
 V.1103,1105 Amended June 997 
 V.1135 Adopted Jan. 22 
 V.2301 Repealed Mar. 442 
 V.3901 Amended May 908 
 V.3903 Repealed May 908 
70     

 IX.Chapter 15 Adopted May 922 
 IX.1521 Adopted May 822 
 XI.101 Amended Feb. 347 
76     
 I.317 Amended Apr. 798 
 V.130 Amended May 929 
 VII.149 Amended Feb. 347 
 VII.346 Amended Jan. 102 
 VII.367 Amended Jan. 100 
 VII.370 Adopted June 1090 
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Potpourri 
 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Environmental Quality 

Office of the Secretary 

Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division 

State Implementation Plan for Regional Haze Program 
Periodic Progress Report 

Under the authority of the Louisiana Environmental 
Quality Act, R. S. 30:2001 et seq., the secretary gives notice 
that the Office of Environmental Assessment, Air Planning 
and Assessment Division, will submit a proposed revision to 
the State Implementation Plan (SIP) for the Regional Haze 
Program as required under the Clean Air Act (CAA), Part C, 
Section 169, and 40 CFR Part 51.308. Regional haze is 
visibility impairment caused by the cumulative air pollutant 
emissions from numerous sources over a wide geographic 
area. (1807Pot1) 

On December 21, 2017, pursuant to the CAA, the US 
Environmental Protection Agency finalized the SIP revisions 
that addressed the requirements to prevent any future and 
remedy any existing anthropogenic impairment of visibility 
in mandatory Class I areas (national parks and wilderness 
areas) caused by emissions of air pollutants from numerous 
sources located over a wide geographic area. Following this 
approval, the LDEQ is required to provide an evaluation of 
the reasonable progress goal. The state has determined that 
the existing plan requires no further substantive revision. 

All interested persons are invited to submit written 
comments concerning the SIP revision no later than 4:30 
p.m., September 4, 2018, to Vivian H. Aucoin, Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Box 4314, Baton Rouge, LA 
70821-4314, Fax (225) 219-3482, or e-mail at 
vivian.aucoin@la.gov. A public hearing will be held upon 
request. The deadline for requesting a public hearing is 
August 3, 2018. 

A copy of the proposal may be viewed on the LDEQ 

website or at LDEQ headquarters at 602 North 5th Street, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70802. 

 
Herman Robinson 
General Counsel  

1807#015 

 
POTPOURRI 

Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority 

Notice of Availability of the Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill 
Louisiana Trustee Implementation Group Final Restoration 
Plan/Environmental Assessment #2—Provide and Enhance 

Recreational Opportunities 

Action: Notice of Availability 
Summary: In accordance with the Oil Pollution Act of 

1990 (OPA) and the National Environmental Policy Act 
(NEPA), the Federal and State natural resource trustee 

agencies for the Louisiana Trustee Implementation Group 
(Louisiana TIG) have prepared the Final Restoration Plan 
and Environmental Assessment #2: Provide and Enhance 
Recreational Opportunities (Final RP/EA #2). The Final 
RP/EA #2 describes and, in conjunction with the associated 
Finding of No Significant Impact (FONSI), selects four 
preferred project alternatives considered by the Louisiana 
TIG to compensate for recreational use services lost as a 
result of the Deepwater Horizon oil spill. The Louisiana TIG 
evaluated alternatives under criteria set forth in the OPA 
natural resource damage assessment (NRDA) regulations, 
and evaluated the environmental consequences of the 
restoration alternatives in accordance with NEPA. The 
selected projects are consistent with the restoration 
alternatives selected in the Deepwater Horizon oil spill Final 
Programmatic Damage Assessment and Restoration 
Plan/Programmatic Environmental Impact Statement 
(PDARP/PEIS). The Federal Trustees of the Louisiana TIG 
have determined that implementation of the Final RP/EA #2 
is not a major federal action significantly affecting the 
quality of the human environment within the context of 
NEPA. They have concluded a FONSI is appropriate, and, 
therefore, an Environmental Impact Statement will not be 
prepared. The purpose of this notice is to inform the public 
of the approval and availability of the Final RP/EA #2 and 
FONSI.  

Addresses: Obtaining Documents: You may download 
the Final RP/EA #2 and FONSI at any of the following sites:  

• http://www.gulfspillrestoration.noaa.gov 
• http://www.la-dwh.com 

Alternatively, you may request a CD of the Final RP/EA 
#2 and FONSI (see For Further Information Contact). 
You may also view the document at any of the public 
facilities listed at http://www.gulfspillrestoration.noaa.gov.  

For Further Information Contact: 

• LouisianaJoann Hicks, 225-342-5477 

• EPATim Landers, 202-566-2231 
Supplementary Information 

Introduction 
On April 20, 2010, the mobile offshore drilling unit 

Deepwater Horizon, which was being used to drill a well for 
BP Exploration and Production, Inc. (BP), in the Macondo 
prospect (Mississippi Canyon 252–MC252), experienced a 
significant explosion, fire, and subsequent sinking in the 
Gulf of Mexico, resulting in an unprecedented volume of oil 
and other discharges from the rig and from the wellhead on 
the seabed. The Deepwater Horizon oil spill is the largest off 
shore oil spill in U.S. history, discharging millions of barrels 
of oil over a period of 87 days.  

The Trustees conducted the natural resource damage 
assessment for the Deepwater Horizon oil spill under the Oil 
Pollution Act of 1990 (33 U.S.C. 2701 et seq.). Under OPA, 
Federal and State agencies act as trustees on behalf of the 
public to assess natural resource injuries and losses and to 
determine the actions required to compensate the public for 
those injuries and losses. OPA further instructs the 
designated trustees to develop and implement a plan for the 
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restoration, rehabilitation, replacement, or acquisition of the 
equivalent of the injured natural resources under their 
trusteeship, including the loss of use and services from those 
resources from the time of injury until the time restoration to 
baseline (the resource quality and conditions that would 
exist if the spill had not occurred) is complete. 

The Deepwater Horizon oil spill Trustees are: 
• U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA); 
• U.S. Department of the Interior (DOI), as 

represented by the National Park Service, U.S. Fish and 
Wildlife Service, and Bureau of Land Management; 

• National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration 
(NOAA), on behalf of the U.S. Department of Commerce; 

• U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA); 
• State of Louisiana Coastal Protection and 

Restoration Authority (CPRA), Oil Spill Coordinator’s 
Office (LOSCO), Department of Environmental Quality 
(LDEQ), Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF), and 
Department of Natural Resources (LDNR); 

• State of Mississippi Department of Environmental 
Quality; 

• State of Alabama Department of Conservation and 
Natural Resources and Geological Survey of Alabama; 

• State of Florida Department of Environmental 
Protection and Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission; 
and 

• State of Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, 
General Land Office, and Commission on Environmental 
Quality. 

On April 4, 2016, the Trustees reached and finalized a 
settlement of their natural resource damage claims with BP 
in a Consent Decree approved by the United States District 
Court for the Eastern District of Louisiana. Pursuant to that 
Consent Decree, restoration projects in the Louisiana 
Restoration Area are now chosen and managed by the 
Louisiana TIG. The Louisiana TIG is composed of the 
following Trustees: CPRA, LOSCO, LDEQ, LDWF, LDNR, 
EPA, DOI, NOAA, USDA. 

Background 
A Notice of Availability of the Deepwater Horizon Oil 

Spill Louisiana Trustee Implementation Group Draft 
Restoration Plan and Environmental Assessment #2: Provide 
and Enhance Recreational Opportunities (Draft RP/EA #2) 
was published in the Louisiana Register on December 20, 
2017. The Louisiana TIG hosted a public meeting on 
January 24, 2018, in New Orleans, and the public comment 
period for the Draft RP/EA #2 closed on February 2, 2018. 
The Draft RP/EA #2 proposed four restoration projects, 
evaluated in accordance with OPA and NEPA. In response to 
public comments received on the Draft RP/EA #2, the 
Louisiana TIG prepared a Draft Supplemental Restoration 
Plan and Environmental Assessment for the Elmer’s Island 
Access Project Modification (Draft Supplemental RP/EA) to 
evaluate proposed changes to the Elmer’s Island Access 
project. A Notice of Availability of the Draft Supplemental 
RP/EA was published in the Louisiana Register on May 20, 
2018. The Louisiana TIG hosted a public meeting on May 
22, 2018, in New Orleans, and the public comment period 
for the Draft Supplemental RP/EA closed on June 20, 2018. 
The Louisiana TIG considered the public comments received 
on both the Draft RP/EA #2, and Draft Supplemental

RP/EA, which informed the Louisiana TIG’s analyses and 
selection of the restoration projects in the Final RP/EA #2. A 
summary of the public comments received and the Trustees’ 
responses to those comments are included in Section 7 of the 
Final RP/EA #2.  

Overview of the Final RP/EA #2 

The Final RP/EA #2 is being released in accordance with 
OPA NRDA regulations found in the Code of Federal 
Regulations (CFR) at 15 CFR 990, and NEPA (42 U.S.C. 
4321 et seq.). In the Final RP/EA #2, the Louisiana TIG 
selects the following preferred project alternatives: 

• Elmer’s Island Access, as modified 
• Island Road Piers 
• Statewide Artificial Reefs 
• Lake Charles Science Center and Educational 

Complex 
The Louisiana TIG has examined the injuries assessed by 

the Deepwater Horizon Trustees and evaluated restoration 
alternatives to address the injuries. In the Final RP/EA #2, 
the Louisiana TIG presents to the public its plan for 
providing partial compensation for lost recreational use 
services in the Louisiana Restoration Area. The selected 
projects are intended to continue the process of restoring 
recreational use services lost as a result of the Deepwater 
Horizon oil spill. The total estimated cost of the selected 
projects is $22 million.  

Administrative Record 
The documents comprising the Administrative Record for 

the Final RP/EA #2 and FONSI will be available at 
http://www.doi.gov/deepwaterhorizon/administrativerecord. 

Authority 
The authorities for this action are the Oil Pollution Act of 

1990 (33 U.S.C. 2701 et seq.), the National Environmental 
Policy Act (42 U.S.C. 4321 et seq.) the implementing 
Natural Resource Damage Assessment regulations found at 
15 CFR 990, the Louisiana Oil Spill Prevention and 
Response Act (La. R.S. 30:2451 et seq.), and the 
implementing Natural Resource Damage Assessment 
Regulations found at La. Admin. Code 43:101 et seq. 

 
Michael Ellis 
Executive Director 

1807#033 

 
POTPOURRI 

Coastal Protection And Restoration Authority 

Notice of Availability of the Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill 
Louisiana Trustee Implementation Group Final Restoration 
Plan/Environmental Assessment #4—Nutrient Reduction 

(Nonpoint Source) and Recreational Opportunities 

Action: Notice of Availability 
Summary: In accordance with the Oil Pollution Act of 

1990 (OPA) and the National Environmental Policy Act 
(NEPA), the Federal and State natural resource trustee 
agencies for the Louisiana Trustee Implementation Group 
(Louisiana TIG) have prepared the Final Restoration Plan 
and Environmental Assessment #4: Nutrient Reduction 
(Nonpoint Source) and Recreational Opportunities (Final 
RP/EA #4). The Final RP/EA #4 describes and, in
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conjunction with the associated Finding of No Significant 
Impact (FONSI), selects twenty-three preferred project 
alternatives considered by the Louisiana TIG to improve 
water quality by reducing nutrients from nonpoint sources 
and to compensate for recreational use services lost as a 
result of the Deepwater Horizon oil spill. The Louisiana TIG 
evaluated alternatives under criteria set forth in the OPA 
natural resource damage assessment (NRDA) regulations, 
and evaluated the environmental consequences of the 
restoration alternatives in accordance with NEPA. The 
selected projects are consistent with the restoration 
alternatives selected in the Deepwater Horizon oil spill Final 
Programmatic Damage Assessment and Restoration 
Plan/Programmatic Environmental Impact Statement 
(PDARP/PEIS). The Federal Trustees of the Louisiana TIG 
have determined that implementation of the Final RP/EA #4 
is not a major federal action significantly affecting the 
quality of the human environment within the context of 
NEPA. They have concluded a FONSI is appropriate, and, 
therefore, an Environmental Impact Statement will not be 
prepared. The purpose of this notice is to inform the public 
of the approval and availability of the Final RP/EA #4 and 
FONSI.  

Addresses: Obtaining Documents: You may download 
the Final RP/EA #4 and FONSI at any of the following sites:  

• http://www.gulfspillrestoration.noaa.gov 
• http://www.la-dwh.com 

Alternatively, you may request a CD of the Final RP/EA 
#4 and FONSI (see For Further Information Contact).  

You may also view the document at any of the public 
facilities listed at http://www.gulfspillrestoration.noaa.gov.  

For Further Information Contact: 

• LouisianaJoann Hicks, 225-342-5477 

• EPADoug Jacobson, 214-665-6692 
Supplementary Information 

Introduction 
On April 20, 2010, the mobile offshore drilling unit 

Deepwater Horizon, which was being used to drill a well for 
BP Exploration and Production, Inc. (BP), in the Macondo 
prospect (Mississippi Canyon 252–MC252), experienced a 
significant explosion, fire, and subsequent sinking in the 
Gulf of Mexico, resulting in an unprecedented volume of oil 
and other discharges from the rig and from the wellhead on 
the seabed. The Deepwater Horizon oil spill is the largest off 
shore oil spill in U.S. history, discharging millions of barrels 
of oil over a period of 87 days.  

The Trustees conducted the natural resource damage 
assessment for the Deepwater Horizon oil spill under the Oil 
Pollution Act of 1990 (33 U.S.C. 2701 et seq.). Under OPA, 
Federal and State agencies act as trustees on behalf of the 
public to assess natural resource injuries and losses and to 
determine the actions required to compensate the public for 
those injuries and losses. OPA further instructs the 
designated trustees to develop and implement a plan for the 
restoration, rehabilitation, replacement, or acquisition of the 
equivalent of the injured natural resources under their 
trusteeship, including the loss of use and services from those 
resources from the time of injury until the time restoration to 
baseline (the resource quality and conditions that would 
exist if the spill had not occurred) is complete. 

The Deepwater Horizon oil spill Trustees are: 
• U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA); 
• U.S. Department of the Interior (DOI), as 

represented by the National Park Service, U.S. Fish and 
Wildlife Service, and Bureau of Land Management; 

• National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration 
(NOAA), on behalf of the U.S. Department of Commerce; 

• U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA); 
• State of Louisiana Coastal Protection and 

Restoration Authority (CPRA), Oil Spill Coordinator’s 
Office (LOSCO), Department of Environmental Quality 
(LDEQ), Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF), and 
Department of Natural Resources (LDNR); 

• State of Mississippi Department of Environmental 
Quality; 

• State of Alabama Department of Conservation and 
Natural Resources and Geological Survey of Alabama; 

• State of Florida Department of Environmental 
Protection and Fish and Wildlife Conservation 
Commission; and 

• State of Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, 
General Land Office, and Commission on Environmental 
Quality. 

On April 4, 2016, the Trustees reached and finalized a 
settlement of their natural resource damage claims with BP 
in a Consent Decree approved by the United States District 
Court for the Eastern District of Louisiana. Pursuant to that 
Consent Decree, restoration projects in the Louisiana 
Restoration Area are now chosen and managed by the 
Louisiana TIG. The Louisiana TIG is composed of the 
following Trustees: CPRA, LOSCO, LDEQ, LDWF, LDNR, 
EPA, DOI, NOAA, USDA. 

Background 
A Notice of Availability of the Deepwater Horizon Oil 

Spill Louisiana Trustee Implementation Group Draft 
Restoration Plan and Environmental Assessment #4: 
Nutrient Reduction (Nonpoint Source) and Recreational 
Opportunities (Draft RP/EA #4) was published in the 
Louisiana Register on April 20, 2018. The Louisiana TIG 
hosted a public meeting on April 24, 2018, in New Orleans, 
and the public comment period for the Draft RP/EA #4 
closed on May 21, 2018. The Draft RP/EA #4 proposed 
twenty-three restoration projects, evaluated in accordance 
with OPA and NEPA. The Louisiana TIG considered the 
public comments received on the Draft RP/EA #4 which 
informed the Louisiana TIG’s analyses and selection of the 
restoration projects in the Final RP/EA #4. A summary of the 
public comments received and the Trustees’ responses to 
those comments are included in Chapter 7 of the Final 
RP/EA #4.  

Overview of the Final RP/EA #4 

The Final RP/EA #4 is being released in accordance OPA, 
the NRDA regulations, the National Environmental Policy 
Act (42 U.S.C. 4321 et seq.), the DWH Consent Decree, and 
the Final PDARP/PEIS. 

In the Final RP/EA #4, the Louisiana TIG selects the 
following preferred project alternatives: 

Nutrient Reduction (Nonpoint Source): 
• Nutrient Reduction on Dairy Farms in St. Helena 

and Tangipahoa Parishes 
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• Nutrient Reduction on Dairy Farms in Washington 
Parish 

• Nutrient Reduction on Cropland and Grazing Lands 
in Bayou Folse  

• Winter Water Holding on Cropland in Vermilion 
and Cameron Parishes Plus Agricultural Best Management 
Practices 

Recreational Use: 
• Pass-a-Loutre Wildlife Management Area Crevasse 

Access 
• Pass-a-Loutre Wildlife Management Area 

Campgrounds 
•  Grand Isle State Park Improvements 
• Chitimacha Boat Launch 
• Sam Houston Jones State Park Improvements 
• Montegut S1/S2 Access/Pointe-aux-Chenes Fishing 

Piers 
• WHARF Phase 1  
• Bayou Segnette State Park Improvements  
• Atchafalaya Delta Wildlife Management Area 

Access 
• Atchafalaya Delta Wildlife Management Area 

Campgrounds 
• Rockefeller Piers/Rockefeller Signage 
• St. Bernard State Park Improvements 
• Cypremort Point State Park Improvements 
• The Wetlands Center 
• Recreational Use Improvements at Barataria 

Preserve in Jefferson Parish, Jean Lafitte National Historical 
Park and Preserve, Barataria Unit 

• Des Allemands Boat Launch 
• Middle Pearl Boat Launch 
• Improvements to Grand Avoille Boat Launch 
• Belle Chasse Boat Launch 

The Louisiana TIG has examined the injuries assessed by 
the Deepwater Horizon Trustees and evaluated restoration 
alternatives to address the injuries. In the Final RP/EA #4, 
the Louisiana TIG presents to the public its plan for 
providing partial compensation for lost recreational use 
services and reducing nutrients from nonpoint sources in the 
Louisiana Restoration Area. The selected projects are 
intended to continue the process of using restoration funding 
to reduce nutrients (nonpoint source) and restore recreational 
use services lost as a result of the Deepwater Horizon oil 
spill. The total estimated cost of the selected projects is 
$47.5 million.  

Administrative Record 

The documents comprising the Administrative Record for 
the Final RP/EA #4 and FONSI will be available at 
http://www.doi.gov/deepwaterhorizon/administrativerecord. 

Authority 
The authorities for this action are the Oil Pollution Act of 

1990 (33 U.S.C. 2701 et seq.), the National Environmental 
Policy Act (42 U.S.C. 4321 et seq.) the implementing 
Natural Resource Damage Assessment regulations found at 
15 CFR 990, the Louisiana Oil Spill Prevention and 
Response Act (La. R.S. 30:2451 et seq.), and the 
implementing Natural Resource Damage Assessment 
Regulations found at La. Admin. Code 43:101 et seq. 

 
Michael Ellis 
Executive Director 

1807#018 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Health 

Board of Veterinary Medicine 

Fall/Winter Examination Dates 

The Louisiana Board of Veterinary Medicine will 
administer the State Board Examination (SBE) for licensure 
to practice veterinary medicine on the first Tuesday of every 
month.  Deadline to apply for the SBE is the third Friday 
prior to the examination date desired.  SBE dates are subject 
to change due to office closure (i.e. holiday, weather). 

The board will accept applications to take the North 
American Veterinary Licensing Examination (NAVLE) 
which will be administered through the International Council 
for Veterinary Assessment (ICVA), formerly National Board 
of Veterinary Medical Examiners (NBVME), and the 
National Board Examination Committee (NBEC), as 
follows: 
 

Test Window Date Deadline To Apply 

November 12 - December 8, 2018 August 1, 2018 

April 2019 February 1, 2019 

 
The board will also accept applications to take the 

Veterinary Technician National Examination (VTNE) which 
will be administered through American Association of 
Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB), for state registration of 
veterinary technicians as follows. 

 

Test Date Deadline To Apply 

November 15 – December 15, 2018 October 15, 2018 

March 15 – April 15, 2019 February 15, 2019 

July 15 – August 15, 2019 June 15, 2019 

 
Applications for all examinations must be received on or 

before the deadline.  No late application will be accepted.  
Requests for special accommodations must be made as early 
as possible for review and acceptance.  Applications and 
information may be obtained from the board office at 301 
Main Street, Suite 1050, Baton Rouge, LA 70801 and by 
request via telephone at (225) 342-2176 or by e-mail at 
admin@lsbvm.org; application forms and information are 
also available on the website at www.lsbvm.org.  
 

Wendy D. Parrish 
Executive Director 

1807#003 

 
POTPOURRI 

Department of Natural Resources 

Office of Conservation 

Orphaned Oilfield Sites 

Office of Conservation records indicate that the Oilfield 
Sites listed in the table below have met the requirements as 
set forth by Section 91 of Act 404, R.S. 30:80 et seq., and as 
such are being declared Orphaned Oilfield Sites. 
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Operator Field District Well Name 

Well 

Number 

Serial 

Number 

Apollo 
Energy, 
L.L.C. Happytown L 

Iberville Land 
Co B 001 22713 

Apollo 
Energy, 
L.L.C. Happytown L 

Iberville Land 
Co swd 003 24911 

Apollo 
Energy, 
L.L.C. Happytown L 

Iberville Land 
Co B 004 70895 

Apollo 
Energy, 
L.L.C. Happytown L 

Iberville Land 
Co B 005 137041 

Apollo 
Energy, 
L.L.C. Happytown L 

Iberville Land 
Co A 001 178425 

Apollo 
Energy, 
L.L.C. Happytown L 

NB 3 ra 
sua;Iberville 

Ld Co 001 178498 

Apollo 
Energy, 
L.L.C. Happytown L 

Iberville Land 
Co A 002 185831 

Bdd Oil 
Company, 

Llc Le Blanc L 

S2 ra sua; 
Adele Roberts 

et al 001 189902 

Bdd Oil 
Company, 

Llc Le Blanc L 
Adele Roberts 

et al swd 2 224509 

C & M 
Operating 
Company 

Caddo Pine 
Island S Haynes 001 248465 

Eric Slaton Monroe M Mashaw 001 178194 

Destin 
Resources 

Llc Bills Branch L Weyerhaeuser 002 227658 

Destin 
Resources 

Llc Bills Branch L Weyerhaeuser 004 233633 

Field 
Petroleum 

Corp. Darrow L 
Leola M 

Many 002 207690 

Field 
Petroleum 

Corp. Darrow L 
Leola M 

Many 001 210416 

Field 
Petroleum 

Corp. Darrow L 
Leola M 

Many 003 211392 

Field 
Petroleum 

Corp. Darrow L Melancon swd 006 975021 

Foothills 
Petroleum 
Operating, 

Inc. 
Houston 

River L 
HBY ra sua; 

Labokay Corp 001 250006(29) 

Operator Field District Well Name 

Well 

Number 

Serial 

Number 

Marshall 
R. Young 
Drilling 

Company 

Wildcat-No 
La Monroe 

Dist M Olin et al 025 90556 

Middle 
States 

Petroleum 
Corp 

Southwest 
Lisbon – 

Put In 
Lisbon In 

1963 S Unit 023-5 37063 

Needham 
Resources, 

Inc. 
Beacons 

Gully L 
Beverly V 
Broussard 001 203928(29) 

Perdura 
Energy 
L.L.C. Lake Arthur L 

Hughes A 5 
swd 006 139259(30) 

Southern 
Coastal 

Operating, 
Llc 

Anse La 
Butte L Dale Degeyter 001 250007 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Exxon 001 154809 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Exxon 002 154810 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Exxon 003 154825 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Exxon 004 155513 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Exxon 005 155541 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Exxon 007 156202 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Roan 001 156496 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Roan 003 156498 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M 

K S 
Thompson est 002 156948 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M F R Rogers 001 158966 
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Operator Field District Well Name 

Well 

Number 

Serial 

Number 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M F R Rogers 002 158967 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M F R Rogers 003 158968 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M F R Rogers 004 158969 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Roan 002 158970 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Roan 004 158971 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Roan 005 158972 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Roan 006 158973 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M J T Savage 001 159226 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Edwards 002 161622 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Read 001 161624 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Edwards 003 171801 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Edwards 004 171802 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Read 003 171803 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M 

Virginia 
Yelton 001 171804 

Operator Field District Well Name 

Well 

Number 

Serial 

Number 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Read 002 171865 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Frank Yelton 001 171984 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Thomas Smith 001 172025 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Bertrand Dean 001 173128 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M A J Jones 001 173129 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M A J Jones 003 174160 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Bertrand Dean 002 174161 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Rabun 001 176065 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Rabun 002 176066 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Rabun 003 176134 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Rabun 004 176135 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Exxon A 001 178659 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Exxon A 002 178660 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Exxon A 004 178884 
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Operator Field District Well Name 

Well 

Number 

Serial 

Number 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Exxon A 006 178886 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M A J Jones 004 179586 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M A L Ham 002 181655 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M 

B H Savage 
est 001 184700 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M C S Roan 006 189097 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M 

Charles 
Savage 001 189357 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M C S Roan 007 199582 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M 

Wanda 
Hevron et al 001 199866 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Edwards 005 206629 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Edwards 006 206630 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Read 004 206631 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M T C Smith A 001 206632 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Edwards 007 206749 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Rupert Savage 002 207395 

Operator Field District Well Name 

Well 

Number 

Serial 

Number 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Edwards 008 217300 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Edwards 009 217301 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Roan 008 217304 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Edwards 011 218290 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Exxon 001 154809 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Exxon 002 154810 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Exxon 003 154825 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Exxon 004 155513 

Stinson 
Gas 

Company, 
L.L.C. Monroe M Exxon 005 155541 

Vinton 
Petroleum 

Co Of 
Texas Vinton L Harmony 014 8453 

 
Richard P. Ieyoub 
Commissioner  

1807#038 

 
POTPOURRI 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 

Oil Spill Coordinator's Office 

Green Canyon 248 Oil Spill 

Action: Notice of Intent to Conduct Restoration Planning 
and Notice of Availability of a Consent Decree for Natural 
Resource Damages―LOSCO NRDA case file 
#LA2016_0512_0630 [Green Canyon 248]. The Consent 
Decree for Natural Resource Damages is available for public 
review and comment for 30 days. 
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Agencies: Louisiana Oil Spill Coordinator’s Office, 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections (LOSCO); 
Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality (LDEQ); 
Louisiana Department of Natural Resources (LDNR); 
Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF); 
Louisiana Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority 
(CPRA); United States Department of Commerce’s National 
Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA); and the 
United States Department of the Interior (DOI) through the 
United States Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS).  

Authorities: The Oil Pollution Act of 1990 (OPA), 33 
U.S.C. 2701 et seq., and the Louisiana Oil Spill Prevention 
and Response Act of 1991 (OSPRA), La. Rev. Stat. 30:2451 
et seq., are the principal federal and state statutes, 
respectively, authorizing federal and state agencies and tribal 
officials to act as natural resource trustees for the recovery of 
damages for injuries to trust resources and services resulting 
from an oil spill. The natural resource trustees for this 
incident include NOAA, DOI, FWS, LOSCO, LDNR, 
LDEQ, LDWF, and CPRA (collectively, the “Trustees”). 
NOAA, DOI and FWS are designated as Trustees pursuant to 
Section 1006(b)(2) of OPA, 33 U.S.C. § 2706(b)(2), Subpart 
G of the National Oil and Hazardous Substances Pollution 
Contingency Plan (“NCP”) (40 C.F.R. §§ 300.600, et seq.) 
and Executive Order 12580 (3 C.F.R., 1987 Comp. p. 193, 
52 Fed. Reg. 2923 (January 23, 1987) as amended by 
Executive Order 12777 (56 Fed. Reg. 54757 (October 19, 
1991)). LOSCO, LDNR, LDEQ, LDWF, and CPRA are 
designated as Trustees by the Governor of Louisiana 
pursuant to Section 1006(b)(3) of OPA, 33 U.S.C. § 
3706(b)(3), and subpart G of the NCP. These same agencies 
serve as State Trustees under OSPRA according to La. R.S. 
30:2451, et seq. and La. Admin. Code tit. 43, pt. XXIX, et 

seq. Shell Offshore Inc., as the owner and operator of the 
pipeline that discharged oil, is the identified Responsible 
Party and is therefore liable according to 33 U.S.C. § 2702 
and La. Rev. Stat. 30:2480 for natural resource damages 
resulting from the Incident. 

Summary of Incident: On or about May 11, 2016, oil 
was discharged from Shell’s Green Canyon Block 248 
subsea oil production system in the Gulf of Mexico, located 
approximately 97 miles off the coast of Louisiana. The oil 
leaked from a piping system that is used to transport oil from 
a production well on the sea floor. Shell reported to DOI’s 
Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement that the 
incident resulted in an estimated discharge of 1,926 barrels 
of oil, or 80,892 gallons, into the waters of the Gulf of 
Mexico. Overflights revealed oil and oil sheen on the water 
surface. The surface oil generally traveled west-northwest 
sweeping through an area of over 1,270 square miles over 5 
days. Shell, the State, and the United States Coast Guard 
responded to the spill, including use of mechanical recovery 
vessels and other assets. Response efforts concluded on May 
16, 2016. All of the foregoing events are referred to as the 
“Incident.” Natural resources within the area that provide 
services to the public were adversely impacted by the 
discharged oil and response actions, including, but not 
limited to, the water column around the spill site, as well as 
aquatic and avian resources.  

Following the Incident, the Trustees and Shell executed a 
Cooperative Pre-Assessment Agreement to determine if the 
Trustees had jurisdiction to pursue restoration under OPA 

and OSPRA, and, if so, whether it was appropriate to do so. 
The Trustees and Shell worked collaboratively for over 1.5 
years to, among other things, collect and analyze (1) data 
reasonably expected to be necessary to make a determination 
of jurisdiction and/or a determination to conduct restoration 
planning, (2) ephemeral data, and (3) information needed to 
design or implement anticipated assessment activities as part 
of restoration planning. Activities included, among other 
things, identifying the data and modeling procedures that 
were most applicable to this Incident, evaluating the 
potential impacts to natural resources, and identifying 
actions to restore affected natural resources. As a result of 
that process, the Trustees have made several determinations. 

Determinations:  
Determination of Jurisdiction: The Trustees have made the 

following findings pursuant to 15 C.F.R. § 990.41 and La. 
Admin. Code tit. 43, pt. XXIX, § 101:  

1. The Incident resulted in the discharge of oil into or 
upon navigable waters of the United States. Such occurrence 
constitutes an “incident” within the meaning of 15 C.F.R. § 
930.30. 

2. The Incident was not authorized under a permit 
issued pursuant to federal, state, or local law; was not from a 
public vessel; and was not from an onshore facility subject 
to the Trans-Alaska Pipeline Authority Act, 43 U.S.C. § 
1651, et seq.  

3. Natural resources under the trusteeship of the 
Trustees have been injured as a result of the Incident. 

As a result of the foregoing determinations, the Trustees 
have jurisdiction to pursue restoration under OPA and 
OSPRA. 

Determination to Conduct Restoration Planning: The 
Trustees have determined, pursuant to 15 C.F.R. § 990.42(a), 
that: 

1. Data collected pursuant to 15 C.F.R. § 990.43 
demonstrate that injuries to natural resources have resulted 
from the Incident, as described above. 

2. The response actions did not adequately address the 
injuries resulting from the Incident.  

3. Feasible primary and/or compensatory restoration 
actions exist to address injuries from the Incident.  

Based upon the foregoing determinations, the Trustees 
intend to proceed with restoration planning for this Incident. 

Purpose: The Trustees prepare and issue a Notice of 
Intent to Conduct Restoration Planning (NOI) if they 
determine conditions that confirm the jurisdiction of the 
Trustees and the appropriateness of pursuing restoration of 
natural resources have been met. This NOI announces that 
the Trustees have made the determination to proceed with 
restoration planning and will develop plans for restoring, 
rehabilitating, replacing, and/or acquiring the equivalent of 
natural resources and services injured, lost, or destroyed as a 
result of the Incident. The United States and the State of 
Louisiana are coordinating restoration efforts. The Trustees 
will be opening an Administrative Record (AR) that will be 
available to the public and will document the basis for the 
Trustees’ decisions pertaining to injury and selection of 
restoration alternatives.  

Furthermore, pursuant to La. Admin. Code tit. 43, pt. 
XXIX, et seq., notice is also hereby given that a document 
entitled, “Consent Decree for Natural Resource Damages” 
(CD) is available for public review and comment. In lieu of 
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conducting further assessment activities, Shell and the 
Trustees propose a cash settlement amount to expedite 
restoration for this Incident and to resolve Shell’s liability 
for natural resource damages under Section 1002(a) and (b) 
of OPA, 33 U.S.C. § 2702(a) and (b), and Section 2480 of 
OSPRA, La. R.S. 30:2480. The mutual objectives of Shell 
and the Trustees in entering into the proposed Consent 
Decree are: (i) to provide funding by Shell to the Trustees to 
restore, replace, or acquire the equivalent of the natural 
resources injured, destroyed, or lost as a result of the 
Incident; (ii) to provide payment by Shell to the Trustees to 
reimburse the remaining unpaid natural resource damage 
assessment costs incurred by the Trustees; and (iii) to resolve 
the Trustees’ claims against Shell for natural resource 
damages under OPA and OSPRA as provided herein.  

The CD is available to the public for a 30-day comment 
period, which will begin on the date of this public notice 
announcing availability of the document for public review. 
The Trustees invite the public to review the CD and submit 
comments to the address listed below. The Trustees will 
consider comments received during the public comment 
period on the CD before finalizing the document. Once the 
CD is approved and payment has been received from Shell, 
the Trustees will identify and evaluate potential restoration 
projects that will appropriately address injuries to natural 
resources resulting from the Incident. 

Public Participation: Interested members of the public 
are invited to view the CD via the internet at 
http://www.losco.state.la.us (look under Newsflash/current 
news for Shell Green Canyon 248 NRDA Consent Decree 
Available) or by requesting a copy of the document from 
Gina Muhs Saizan at the address provided below: 

 

Gina Muhs Saizan 

Louisiana Oil Spill Coordinator’s Office 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
P.O. Box 66614 

Baton Rouge, LA 70896 

(225) 925-6606 

Gina.Saizan@la.gov 

 
The Trustees also hereby invite the public to participate in 

restoration planning for this Incident. Public participation is 
encouraged. Opportunities to participate in the process 
include public availability of AR documents as well as an 
opportunity for the public to review and comment on draft 
restoration planning documents that will identify the 
Trustees’ preferred restoration project(s) for this Incident. A 
restoration plan(s) will be finalized and released to the 
public identifying the selected compensatory restoration 
project(s) to be implemented by the Trustees. Public 
participation is consistent with all state and federal laws and 
regulations that apply, including Section 1006 of OPA, 33 
U.S.C. § 2706; the OPA regulations, 15 C.F.R. Part 990; 
Section 2480 of OSPRA, La. Rev. Stat. 30:2480; and the 
OSPRA regulations, La. Admin. Code tit. 43, pt. XXIX, et. 
seq. 

Comment Submittals: Comments to the CD must be 
submitted in writing or digitally to Gina Muhs Saizan on or 
before the end of the 30-day comment period. 

For Further Information: Contact Gina Muhs Saizan at 
(225) 925-6606 or by email at Gina.Saizan@la.gov.  

 
Marty J. Chabert 
Oil Spill Coordinator 

1807#042 
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CUMULATIVE INDEX 

(Volume 44, Number 7) 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

ADMINISTRATIVE CODE UPDATE 

Cumulative 
January 2017-December 2017, 201QU 
January 2018-March 2018, 876QU 
January 2018-June 2018, 1393QU 

 
 
 

AGRICULTURE AND FORESTRY 

Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Office of 
Crawfish 

Boiled, 930N 
Live, 930N 
Peeled, 930N 

Quarantine 
Annual listing, 2018 
Plant protection and quarantine, 877P 

Citrus 
Canker disease, 413ER, 439R 
Greening, 413ER, 439R 

Emerald ash borer, 414ER, 931N, 1199ER 
Roseau cane scale, 738ER, 932N 

Advisory Commission on Pesticides 
Commercial applicators, certification, 7ER, 892ER 

Agricultural Chemistry and Seed Commission 
Seed, 1102N 

Structural Pest Control Commission 

Licensure, 7ER, 892ER 
Structural pest control, 802N, 893ER, 1235R 
Testing, 7ER, 892ER 

Agricultural Finance Authority 
Farm recovery grant program, 2016, 437R 

Agro-Consumer Services, Office of 

Weights and Measures, Division of 

Crawfish 
Boiled, 930N 
Live, 930N 
Peeled, 930N 

Animal Health and Food Safety, Office of 

Turtles, 894ER 
Forestry, Office of 

Logos, state products, 440R 
Severance tax values, 2018, 980P 

 
 
 

CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES 

Temporary assistance for needy families (TANF) 
caseload reduction, 204P 

Child Welfare Division 

Administrative appeal, 638N, 997R, 1200ER 
Annual progress and services report, 2018, 879P 
Central registry, 638N, 997R, 1200ER 
Chafee foster care 

Independence program, 908R 
Young adult program, 908R 

Public hearing, substantive changes to notice of 
intent, 405P 

Criminal background, 638N, 997R, 1200ER 
Daycare services, 442R 
Expenditures, 1306N 
Intended use report, social services block grant. 879P 
Payments, 1308N 
Physician notification, 8ER, 22R 
Reimbursables, 1306N 
Risk assessment evaluation, 638N, 997R, 1200ER 
State repository, 638N, 997R, 1200ER 

Licensing Section 
Residential home, 994ER, 1205ER 

Economic Stability Section 
Family violence prevention and intervention program, 
24R 

Public assistance programs, 10ER, 442R 
Family Support, Division of 

Electronic benefits issuance system, 23R 
Child Support Enforcement Section 

Child support collection, Mandatory fee. 1107N 
Support payments, collection/distribution, 24R 

 
 
 

CIVIL SERVICE 

Ethics, Board of 
Food and drink limit, 645N, 1237R 

 
 
 

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

Louisiana Economic Development Corporation 
Small business loan and guaranty program, 229R 

Secretary, Office of the 

Business Development, Office of 
Programs 
Industrial ad valorem tax exemption. 934N 
Small business loan and guaranty, 229R 

Veteran initiative, 1307N 
 
 

2018 

Pages    Issue 
1-208 ..................................................... January 
209-410 ................................................. February 
411-732 ................................................. March 
733-889 ................................................. April 
890-989 ................................................. May 
990-1198 ............................................... June 
1199-1410 ............................................. July 
 
EO―Executive Order 
PPM―Policy and Procedure Memoranda 
ER―Emergency Rule 
R―Rule 
N―Notice of Intent 
CR―Committee Report 
GR―Governor's Report 
L―Legislation 
P―Potpourri 
QU―Administrative Code Quarterly Update 
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EDUCATION 

Elementary and Secondary Education, Board of 
Advisory councils 

Minimum foundation program, 111N, 744R 
Rulemaking, 111N, 744R 

Bulletin 111―The Louisiana School, District, and State 
Accountability System, 446R 
Severe impact schools and districts, one-year waiver, 
13ER, 230R 

Bulletin 118―Statewide Assessment Standards and 
Practices, 461R, 805N, 1237R 
Test security, 1310N 

Bulletin 126―Charter Schools, 230R 
Bulletin 127―LEAP Connect Assessment, Louisiana 
Connectors for Students with Significant Cognitive 
Disabilities, 942N 

Bulletin 137―Louisiana Early Learning Center 
Licensing Regulations, 247R, 1206ER, 1312N 

Bulletin 139―Louisiana Child Care and Development 
Fund Programs, 14ER, 108N, 257R, 262R, 800R 

Bulletin 140—Louisiana Early Childhood Care and 
Education Network, 958N 

Bulletin 741Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators, 263R 
Ancillary areas of instruction, 957N 
Curriculum and instruction, 1323N 

Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for State 
Certification of School Personnel, 110N, 264R, 745R 

Bulletin 1566―Pupil Progression Policies and 
Procedures, 479R, 645N, 1003R 

Regents, Board of 

Proprietary School Section 
Definitions, 647N, 1005R 
Forms, 647N, 1005R 
Student complaints, 647N, 1005R 

Student Financial Assistance, Office of 
Scholarship/grant programs 

2018 regular session of the Louisiana legislature, 
1208ER, 1325N 

TOPS core curriculum, 114N, 1004R, 1208ER, 1323N 
Tuition Trust Authority 

Student Financial Assistance, Office of 
START saving program, 739ER, 965N, 1216ER, 
1334N 

 
 
 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Secretary, Office of the 

Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division 
Air quality 

Incorporation by reference, 2017, 115N, 746R 
Confidentiality requests, 43R 
Fee increase, 806N, 1238R 
Hazardous waste authorization, resource conservation 
and recovery act (RCRA), 39R 

Major sources, 118N, 748R 
Stage II vapor recovery systems 

Recovery equipment, decommissioned, 811N, 
1242R 

Vehicle refueling emissions, gasoline dispensing 
facilities 880P 

State implementation plan 
Regional haze program, progress report, 1395P 

Storage vessels, permits, 42R 
Underground storage tanks, 1109N 
Water quality 

Appendix I, 1344N 
 
 

EXECUTIVE ORDERS 

JBE 17-27 Suspension of Early Voting, 733EO 
JBE 17-28 Suspension of Early Voting, 733EO 
JBE 17-29 Emergency Procedures for Response to 

Camp Minden Emergency, 1EO 
JBE 17-30 Governor’s Task Force on Sexual 

Harassment and Discrimination Policy, 2EO 
JBE 17-31 Louisiana Cybersecurity Commission, 

2EO 
JBE 17-32 Rescind Executive Order No. JBE 17-14 

Suspension of Rule and Regulation Promulgation 
by the Louisiana State Uniform Construction Code 
Council, 4EO 

JBE 17-33 Governor’s Justice Reinvestment  
Implementation Oversight Council, 4EO 

JBE 17-34 Flags at Half-Staff—Honorable James J. 
“Jim” Brady, 5EO 

JBE 18-01 Governor’s Justice Reinvestment 
Implementation Oversight Council—Amending 
Executive Order JBE 17-33, 6EO 

JBE 18-02 Carry-Forward Bond Allocation 2017, 
209EO 

JBE 18-03 Governor’s Task Force on DWI, 209EO 
JBE 18-04 Carry-Forward Bond Allocation 

Amending Executive Order JBE 18-02, 411EO 
JBE 18-05 Flags at Half-Staff, 411EO 
JBE 18-06 Governor’s Taskforce on Sexual 

Harassment and Discrimination Policy 
Amending Executive Order Number JBE 17-30, 
411EO 

JBE 18-07 Flags at Half-StaffReverend William 
Franklin “Billy” Graham, Jr., 412EO 

JBE 18-08 State as Model Employer Task Force, 
734EO 

JBE 18-09 Louisiana Offshore Terminal Authority to 
Administer the Federal Deepwater Port Act for 
Louisiana, 735EO 

JBE 18-10 Flags at Half-Staff—Thomas Milton 
Benson, Jr., 736EO 

JBE 18-11 Bond Allocation—Louisiana Community 
Development Authority, 890EO 

JBE 18-12 Suspension of Early Voting, 890EO 
JBE 18-13 Governor’s Justice Reinvestment 

Implementation Oversight Council Amending 
Executive Order JBE 17-33, 990EO 

JBE 18-14 Governor’s Taskforce on Sexual 
Harassment and Discrimination Policy—Amending 
Executive Order Number JBE 2017-30, 990EO 

JBE 18-15 Relating to the Prohibition of 
Discriminatory Boycotts of Israel in State 
Procurement, 990EO 

JBE 18-16 Louisiana Watershed-Based Floodplain  
Management Coordination, 991EO 

JBE 18-17 Flags at Half-Staff—Bishop T.F. Tenney, 
882EO 
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GOVERNOR 

Administration, Division of 

Facility Planning and Control, Office of 

Contract limit adjustment, 204P 
Uniform public work bid form, 577R 

Racing Commission 

Associations’ 
Duties, 913R 
Obligations, 913R 

Claiming 
Entering, timing, 141N, 916R 
Movement, 916R 
Resale, 916R 

Jockey fee schedule, 915R 
State Procurement, Office of 

Procurement, 120N, 749R 
Veteran initiative, 1346N 

State Travel, Office of 
PPM 49, general travel regulations, 1174PPM 

Tax Commission 

Ad valorem taxation, 577R, 917R 
Architectural Examiners, Board of 

Architecture education and research fund, 268R 

Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority 
Deepwater Horizon oil spill 

Louisiana trustee implementation group 
Barataria Basin 

Notice of availability, final strategic restoration 
plan and environmental assessment #3, 
restoration of wetlands, coastal, and nearshore 
habitats, 719P 

Draft restoration plan and environmental 
assessment #4, nutrient reduction (nonpoint 
source) and recreational use, 881P 

Elmer’s Island 
Draft supplemental restoration plan and 

environmental assessment, access project 
modification, 980P 

Notice of Availability 
Final restoration plan/environmental assessment 

#2—provide and enhance recreational 
opportunities, 1395P 

Final restoration plan/environmental assessment 
#4—nutrient reduction (nonpoint source) and 
recreational opportunities, 1396P 

Cosmetology, Board of 
Cosmetologists, 908R 
Medical expenses, limits, 270R 

Financial Institutions, Office of 
Business and industrial development corporations, 

650N, 1009R 

Law Enforcement and Administration of Criminal 

Justice, Commission on 

Training, peace officer, 1107R 
Crime Victims Reparations Board 

Medical expenses, limits, 270R 
Victim compensation, 1345N 

Licensed Professional Counselors Board of Examiners 
Serious mental illnesses, diagnosis, 995ER 

New Orleans and Baton Rouge Steamship Pilots for 

the Mississippi River, Board of Examiners for 
Conduct, 44R 
Drug and alcohol policy, 44R 
Enforcement, 44R 
Investigations, 44R 
Pilots 

Examinations, 44R 
Qualifications, 44R 

Pardons, Board of 

Administration, 574R 
Clemency, 574R, 649N, 1006R 
Consideration, 649N, 1006R 
Eligibility, 574R, 649N 
Parole, 574R 

Decisions, 574R 
Victims 

Hearings 
Notification, 574R 
Participation, 574R 

Parole, Committee on 
Administration, 574R 
Clemency, 574R 
Eligibility, 574R 
Parole, 574R 
Parole decisions, 574R 
Victims 

Hearings 
Notification, 574R 
Participation, 574R 

Real Estate Commission 
Compensation, 142N, 770R 

 
 
 

HEALTH 

Aging and Adult Services, Office of 
Home and community-based services waivers 

Community choice waiver, 1363N 
Nursing facilities 

Admissions and continued stay criteria, 350N, 1018R 
Public hearing, substantive changes to proposed 
rule, 722P 

Standards for payment, 669N, 1019R 
Traumatic head and spinal cord injury, 1374N 

Behavioral Health, Office of 

Adult behavioral health services, 663N, 1014R 
Termination of Community Psychiatric Support and 

Treatment Services and Psychosocial Rehabilitation 
Services, 895ER 

Behavioral Health Services 
Elimination of Outpatient Substance Use Disorders 

Services, 897ER 
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, Office for 

Home and community-based services waivers 
New opportunities waiver, 50R, 282R 

Dietitians and Nutritionists, Board of 

Dietitians/nutritionists, registered, 1348N 
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HEALTH (continued) 

Dentistry, Board of 
Anesthesia/analgesia administration, 45R, 651N, 1010R 
Continuing education, 45R 
Dental hygienists, 1150N 
Fees and costs, 45R 

Emergency Response Network 

Trauma program recognition, 63R 

Health Services Financing, Bureau of 

2018 fourth quarter hospital stabilization assessment, 
882N 

Abortion facilities 
Licensing standards, 415ER, 1232ER 

Adult behavioral health services, 663N, 1014R 
Termination of Community Psychiatric Support and 

Treatment Services and Psychosocial Rehabilitation 
Services, 895ER 

Adult residential care providers 
Licensing standards, involuntary termination of 

residency agreement, 814N, 1252R 
Ambulatory surgical centers, 896ER 
Behavioral Health Services 

Elimination of Outpatient Substance Use Disorders 
Services, 897ER 

Disproportionate share hospital payments, 898ER 
Major medical centers, 15ER, 279R 

Specialized burn care units, 1226ER, 1359N 
Facility need review, behavioral health services 
providers, 280R 

Family planning services, 588R 
Federally qualified health centers,  

Reimbursement methodology  
Contraceptives, long-acting reversible, 1360N 
Cost reporting, 815N, 1252R 

Healthcare services provider fees, 666N, 1015R 
Emergency ambulance service providers fee 

assessment, 722P, 1227ER, 1360N 
Hospital provider fees, 1227ER, 1362N 

Home and community-based services providers 
Licensing standards, 970N 

Home and community-based services waivers 
Community choice waiver, 1363N 
New opportunities waiver, 50R, 282R 

Home health program, home health encounters and 
services, 58R 

Hospice licensing standards, 588R 
Inpatient hospital services 

Office of Public Health, newborn screening payments, 
60R 

Pre-admission certification, 607R 
Intermediate care facilities for persons with intellectual 
disabilities 
Cost reports and complex care reimbursements, 971N 
Public facilities 
Reimbursement rate increase, 16ER, 144N, 772R 
Transitional rate extension, 60R 

Reimbursement methodology, leave of absence days, 
61R 

Supplemental payments, 608R 
Laboratory and radiology services 

Termination of coverage for proton beam radiation 
therapy, 283R 

Managed care for physical and behavioral health 
Applied behavior analysis-based therapy services, 
817N, 1253R 
Integration, 61R 

Independent review process for provider claims 283R 
Member grievances and appeals, 285R 
Skilled nursing facility services, 1370N 

Medicaid eligibility 
Medically needy program termination, 899ER 
Optional targeted low-income children, 17ER, 212ER 
Provisional Medicaid program termination, 900ER 
Special income level eligibility termination, 900ER 

Medicaid program 
Reimbursement rate reductions and program and 

services terminations, repeal of, 1228ER 
Medicaid provider screening application fee, 349N, 
920R 

Nursing facilities 
Admissions and continued stay criteria, 350N, 1018R 

Public hearing, substantive changes to proposed 
rule, 722P 

Reimbursement methodology, 901ER 
Leave of absence days, 902ER 
Transition of private facilities to state-

owned/operated facilities through change of 
ownership, 1228ER 

Standards for payment, 669N, 1019R 
Outpatient hospital services 

Outpatient status, duration, 1372N 
Pediatric day health care program termination, 903ER 
Pharmacy benefits management program 

Physician-administered drugs, reimbursement 
methodology, 671N, 1020R 

Professional services program 
Reimbursement methodology, supplemental 

payments, 352N, 920R 
State-owned or operated professional services 

practices, enhanced reimbursement rates, 62R 
Psychiatric residential treatment facilities, licensing 
standards, 287R 

Rural health clinics 
Reimbursement methodology, contraceptives, long-

acting reversible 1373N 
State children’s health insurance program, 212ER 

Termination of coverage, 18ER 
Targeted case management 

Reimbursement methodology, early and periodic 
screening, diagnosis and treatment, 63R 

Therapeutic group homes 
Licensing standards, 146R, 773R 

Licensed Professional Counselors Board of Examiners 
Mental illnesses, diagnosing, 1151N 

Medical Examiners, Board of 

Physicians 
Certification, 585R, 771R 
Collaboration, advanced practice registered nurses, 

272R 
Continuing medical education, controlled dangerous 

substances, 771R 
General, 585R 
Licensure, 585R, 771R 
Practice, 272R 
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HEALTH (continued) 

Prescription monitoring program data 
Access, 271R 
Review, 271R 

Nursing, Board of 

Disciplinary proceedings, alternative, 142N, 919R 
Licensure 

Delay, 652N, 1010R 
Denial, 652R, 1010R 

Physician collaboration, 275R 
Registered nurses, authorized practice, 275R 

Optometry Examiners, Board of 

Optometry, 657N, 1244R 
Pharmacy, Board of 

Pharmacy 
Benefit managers, 967N 
Technicians, 49R 

Physical Therapy Board 

Certification, 822N 
Licensing, 822N 

Public hearing, substantive changes to proposed rule, 
1189P 

Public Health, Office of 
Aborted human remains, burial/cremation, 19ER 
Administrative procedures, 783R 

Public hearing, substantive changes to proposed rule, 
205P 

Controlled dangerous substances, added, 1229ER 
Newborn 

Screening payments, 60R 
Services 

Heel stick screening, 1378N 
Laboratory, 1378N 

Water supplies, 818N, 1250R 
Water works 

Construction, 296R 
Maintenance, 296R 
Operation, 296R 

Family Health, Bureau of 
Title V MCH block grant, public notice, 1189P 

Veterinary Medicine, Board of 
Board nominations, 204P 
Continuing education, 587R 
Examination dates, fall/winter, 1398P 
Professional conduct, 587R 

 
 
 

INSURANCE 

Commissioner, Office of the 

Regulation 32, group and individual coordination of 
benefits, 64R 

Regulation 46, long-term care insurance, 784R 
Regulation 60, advertising of life insurance, 843N 
Regulation 78, policy form filing requirements, 672N 
Regulation 99, certificates of insurance, 674N 
Regulation 106, replacement of limited benefit 
insurance policies, 156N 
Public hearing, substantive changes to proposed rule, 

1190P 
Regulation 109, producer, adjuster and related licenses, 
68R 

Regulation 110, declaratory orders, 1383N 

Health, Life and Annuity Insurance, Office of 

Annual HIPAA rate, 1190P 
 
 
 

LEGISLATION 

House of Representatives Committee on Natural 

Resources and Environment 
Committee Report—Notice of Intent, Sterlet 

Sturgeon, 979CR 
 
 
 

LOUISIANA STATE UNIVERSITY SYSTEM 

Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center 

Louisiana Tumor Registry 

Tumor registry, 71R 
 
 
 

NATURAL RESOURCES 

Conservation, Office of 
Commercial facilities, hours of operation, 1386N 
Orphaned oilfield sites, 205P, 406P, 721P, 883P, 982P, 
1191P, 1398P 

Pipeline safety, 354N, 1021R 
Environmental Division 

Public hearing, SWD, Inc., 884N 
Secretary, Office of the 

Debts owed to DNR, 345R 
 
 
 

PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORRECTIONS 

Corrections Services 
Drug-free workplace, 608R 

Gaming Control Board 
Internal controls 

Slots, 974N 
Video draw poker 

Application, 975N 
License, 975N 

Video gaming establishments 
Security, 977N 

Motor Vehicles, Office of 
Driver’s licenses/identification cards 

Designations/restrictions, 1387N 
Off-road vehicles, 1154N 
Vehicle inspections, 1157N 

Oil Spill Coordinator’s Office 
Crude oil discharges 

Final restoration plan 
LWMIWCB, 406P 

Oil spill, green canyon 248, 1401P 
State Fire Marshal, Office of 

Amusement attraction, 418ER, 845N, 1254R 
Ride safety, 418ER, 845N 

Uniform Construction Code Council 
Uniform construction code, 75R, 1389N 

State Police, Office of 
Alcohol analysis, breath and blood 

Methods, 95R, 864N, 1272R 
Techniques, 95R, 864N, 1272R 
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PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORRECTIONS (continued) 

DNA samples 
Collection, 95R 
Disposal, 95R 
Identification, 95R 
Receipt, 95R 
Storage, 95R 
Submission, 95R 

Escort fees, 347R 
Federal motor carrier safety, 395N, 921R 
Hazardous materials, 395N, 921R 

 
 
 

REVENUE 

Policy Services Division 

Bingo 
Electronic progressive mega jackpot, 788R 

Capital, taxable, 1163N 
Corporations, taxable, 1163N 
Electronic filing 

Telecommunications tax, deaf tax returns, 865N, 
1272R 

Federal tax 
Criminal history record checks, 98R 

Income tax 
Corporations 
Deductions, 160N, 785R 

Fees, 160N, 785R 
Interest, 160N, 785R 
Management, 160N, 785R 

Intangible expenses, add-back, 160N, 785R 
Secure business filings service, 866N 
Withholding tables, 213R, 676N, 1063R 

Tax 
Credits, health professionals, 1169N 
Imposition, 1163N 
Returns/payments, electronic filing, 1166N 

 
 
 

STATE 

Business Services Division 

Corporations 
Secure business filing service, 866N 

Secretary of State, Office of the 
Departmental fees, non-statutory, 1172N 

 
 
 

TRANSPORTATION AND DEVELOPMENT 

Multimodal Commerce, Office of 

Rail fixed guideway public transportation systems, state 
safety oversight, 396N, 922R 

Operations, Office of 

Toll exemptions, LA 1, 347R 
Professional Engineering and Land Surveying Board 

Engineering, 611R 
Land surveying, 611R 

 
 

TREASURY 

Teachers’ Retirement System, Board of Trustees of the 
Charter schools, 163N 

 
 
 

WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Fisheries, Office of 
Crab traps, abandoned, 100R, 227ER 

Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Black bass 
Daily take, 347R 
Limits 
Possession, 347R 
Size, 347R 

Blue crabs 
Harvest, females, 102R 

Crab traps, abandoned, 100R, 227ER 
Domesticated aquatic organisms 

Shovelnose sturgeon, 870N 
Feeding ban, supplemental 

East Carroll, 436ER 
Madison, 436ER 
Tensas, 436ER 

Feral hogs, transporting, 199N, 929R 
Gray triggerfish 

Season 
Closure 
Recreational, 2018, 20ER 

Greater amberjack 
Seasons 

Closures 
Commercial, 907ER 
Recreational, 2018, 228ER 

Opening 
Recreational, 2018 907ER 

Gulf menhaden season, 
Commercial bait, 435ER 

Hunting, 164N 
Seasons, 2018-2020, 164N, 1273R 

Public hearing, substantive changes to notice of 
intent, 723P 

Oysters 
Seasons 

Closures, 20ER, 742ER 
Extension 

Public area 
Calcasieu Lake, west cove, 905ER 

Openings 
Public seed grounds 

St. Bernard Parish 
Lake Borgne, 742ER 
Mississippi Sound 743ER 

Red snapper 
Season 
Closure 

Recreational, 2018, 741ER 
Opening 

Private recreational, 2018, 905ER 
Modification of, 1230ER, 1231ER 
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WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES (continued) 

Reef fish 
Harvest, 874N, 907ER 

Sharks 
Season 

Closure, 2018 
Large coastal 740ER 

Shrimp 
Seasons 
Closures, 227ER 

Fall inshore, partial 20ER 
Zones 1 and 2, 1230ER 
Zones 1 and 3, 1230ER 

Openings 
Spring inshore, 2018 

Zone 1, 904ER 
Zone 2, 904ER 
Zone 3, 904ER 

State inside waters, opening delay, 996ER 
State outside waters, 741ER, 906ER 

Waters 
Inside, 705N, 1090R 
Outside, 705N, 1090R 

Wildlife management areas (WMAs) 

Boeuf 
Closure, 741ER 
Reopening, 905ER 

Grassy Lake 
Closure, 741ER 
Reopening, 906ER 

Wildlife, Office of 

Endangered species, threatened, 798R 
 
 
 

WORKFORCE COMMISSION 

Plumbing Board 

Continuing professional education programs, 633R 
Information, 1231ER, 13890N 
Introduction, 1231ER, 1390N 
Licenses, 1231ER, 1390N 

Workers’ Compensation Administration, Office of 

Compensation benefits, weekly limits, 406P 
Fees, 102R, 798R 
Forms, 102R, 798R 
Second injury board 

Job offer knowledge questionnaire, post 
hire/conditional, 712N, 1097R 

 
 


