JBE 16-40

The Committee on Parole

WHEREAS, the Committee on Parole, created within the Department of Public Safety and Corrections by La. R.S. 15:574.2, consists of seven (7) members designated by and serving at the pleasure of the governor and one ex officio member;

WHEREAS, Louisiana Revised Statute 15:574.2(A)(7) provides that the actual salaries of members of the Committee on Parole are to be authorized by executive order; and

WHEREAS, it is necessary to prescribe selection of the vice-chair and the actual salaries of the members of the Committee.

NOW THEREFORE, I, JOHN BEL EDWARDS, Governor of the State of Louisiana, by virtue of the authority vested by the Constitution and laws of the State of Louisiana, do hereby order and direct as follows:

SECTION 1: The Governor shall select the vice-chair from the membership of the Committee, who shall preside over hearings in the absence of the chair.

SECTION 2: Members of the Committee shall, in accordance with the compensation limits set forth in R.S. 15:574.2(A)(7), receive the following annual salaries:

A. The chair of the Committee shall receive an annual salary of fifty thousand dollars ($50,000);
B. The vice-chair of the Committee shall receive an annual salary of forty-seven thousand dollars ($47,000);
C. Each of the other members of the Committee shall receive an annual salary of forty-four thousand dollars: ($44,000); and
D. The chair, vice-chair and other members of the Committee shall be reimbursed for necessary travel and other expenses actually incurred in the discharge of his/her duties.

SECTION 3: Executive Order No. BJ 2008-68, issued on August 22, 2008, is hereby rescinded.

SECTION 4: The provisions of this Order are effective upon signature and shall continue in effect until amended, modified, terminated, or rescinded by the Governor, or terminated by operation of law.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand officially and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of Louisiana, at the Capitol, in the City of Baton Rouge, on this 25th day of July, 2016.

John Bel Edwards

Tom Schedler
Secretary of State