Louisiana Emergency Response Commission

WHEREAS, the ability to protect the citizens of the state of Louisiana depends, in part, upon the adequacy of local community emergency response plans;

WHEREAS, the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act of 1986, 42 U.S.C.A. §11001-11050, requires the states to establish and maintain an emergency response commission which has technical expertise in the field of emergency response to notify and protect the public in the event of a release of an extremely hazardous substance into the environment; and

WHEREAS, through the enactment of R.S. 30:2364, the Louisiana Legislature created the Emergency Response Commission within the Department of Public Safety and Corrections to

(1) establish emergency planning districts;

(2) appoint local emergency planning committees;

(3) supervise and coordinate the activities of local emergency planning committees;

(4) provide the Environmental Protection Agency with information concerning notification received on certain releases of hazardous materials and substances;

(5) designate, as necessary, facilities subject to hazardous material reporting procedures;

(6) recommend a standardized inventory form for gathering required information and develop reporting procedures which reduce duplication of reporting;

(7) recommend, as necessary, additional substances which should be defined as hazardous materials;

(8) act as the central advisory body for coordinating state and federal Right-to-Know activities with regard to hazardous substances;

(9) establish procedures for recalling and processing public requests for information; and

(10) review local emergency planning committee emergency response plans and recommend revisions as necessary.

NOW THEREFORE I, KATHLEEN BABINEAUX BLANCO, Governor of the state of Louisiana, by virtue of the authority vested by the Constitution and laws of the state of Louisiana, do hereby order and direct as follows:

SECTION 1: The Louisiana Emergency Response Commission (hereafter "Commission") shall be composed of twenty (20) members appointed by and serving at the pleasure of the governor, selected as follows:

A. The deputy secretary of the Department of Public Safety, or the deputy secretary's designee;

B. The secretary of the Department of Environmental Quality, or the secretary's designee;

C. The secretary of the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, or the secretary's designee;

D. The two (2) directors of the Office of Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness, Military Department, Office of the Governor, or the directors' designees;

E. A representative of the Right-To-Know Unit, Department of Public Safety, Office of State Police;

F. A representative of the Louisiana Emergency Preparedness Association;

G. A member of the Louisiana State University Firearm Training Program;

H. A representative of environmental interests;

I. A representative of the chemical industry nominated by the Louisiana Chemical Association; and

J. Ten (10) at-large members.

SECTION 2: The chair of the Commission shall be selected by the governor, all other officers, if any, shall be elected from the membership of the Commission

SECTION 3: The Commission shall have authority to receive grants, donations, or gifts of money, equipment, supplies, or services from any public or private source to enable it to fulfill the duties and responsibilities specified in Title 30 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, as amended.

SECTION 4: The Commission shall meet quarterly and at the call of the chair.

SECTION 5: Commission members shall serve without compensation, and no member shall receive a per diem or reimbursement of personal expenses from public funds.

SECTION 6: This Order is effective upon signature and shall continue in effect until amended, modified, terminated, or rescinded by the governor, or terminated by operation of law.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand officially and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of Louisiana, at the Capitol, in the city of Baton Rouge, on this 20th day of August, 2004.

Kathleen Babineaux Blanco

Fox McKeithen
Secretary of State