Gaming Control Board's Salary and Per Diem

WHEREAS: Act 7 of the First Extraordinary Session of 1996 (hereafter "Act 7") creates the Louisiana Gaming Control Board (hereafter "the Board") and orders that it shall have regulatory authority, control, and jurisdiction over all aspects of gaming activities and operations in the state of Louisiana which pertain to land-based, riverboat, video poker, and Indian lands gaming including, but not limited to, all licensing, permitting and contracting;

WHEREAS: pursuant to Act 7, the Board shall consist of nine members appointed by the Governor and of two ex officio members, the Secretary of the Department of Taxation and the Superintendent of the Office of State Police; and

WHEREAS: pursuant to Act 7, R.S. 27:14 was enacted which provides in Subsection B(1) that "[m]embers of the board shall receive an annual salary fixed by the governor not to exceed $15,000 per year, and shall be entitled to a per diem not to exceed $100 for attendance at a board meeting" and which provides in Subsection B(2) that "the chairman shall not earn compensation of any kind other than his salary paid as a board member. The chairman shall receive an annual salary equal in amount to a judge of the courts of appeal of this state, as provided in R.S. 13:311."; and

NOW THEREFORE I, MURPHY J. "MIKE" FOSTER, JR., Governor of the State of Louisiana, by virtue of the Constitution and the laws of the State of Louisiana, do hereby order and direct as follows:

SECTION 1: That the annual salary of all members of the Board, except the Chairman and the ex officio members, shall be $15,000 per year.

SECTION 2: That all members except the Chairman and the ex official members, shall receive a per diem of $100 per day for attendance at board meetings.

SECTION 3: That the provisions of this Order are effective upon signature and remain in effect until amended, modified, or rescinded by operation of law.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand officially and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of the State of Louisiana, at the Capitol, in the City of Baton Rouge, on this 10th day of July, 1996.

M.J. "Mike" Foster, Jr.

Fox McKeithen
Secretary of State