French Heritage Joint Committees

WHEREAS: the State of Louisiana, through its Council for the Development of French in Louisiana (hereafter "CODOFIL") and through its Consortium of Louisiana Universities (hereafter "Consortium"), has committed itself to the preservation of its French heritage;

WHEREAS: the State of Louisiana, through CODOFIL and the Consortium, has developed considerable expertise in the promotion of the French language and culture, and has managed numerous programs related to the teaching of all levels of the French language and to the training of Louisiana teachers about the French language and culture;

WHEREAS: the State of Louisiana is deeply interested in maintaining and continuing to pursue opportunities to share its French heritage with the French-speaking countries and provinces of the world with whom it has enjoyed general relations over the years, which include France, Belgium, Quebec, and the Canadian Maritime Provinces of New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island;

WHEREAS: in a spirit of international friendship and understanding, the people of France, Belgium, Quebec, and the Canadian Maritime Provinces, have supported the efforts of the State of Louisiana in developing its French cultural heritage; and

WHEREAS: over the years, representatives of France, Belgium, Quebec, and the Canadian Maritime Provinces, and the State of Louisiana have met at regular intervals in joint commission meetings to arrange for and organize educational, cultural, and touristic exchanges;

NOW THEREFORE I, M.J. "MIKE" FOSTER, JR., Governor of the State of Louisiana, by virtue of the Constitution and laws of the State of Louisiana, do hereby order and direct as follows:

SECTION 1: The France-Louisiana Joint Committee, the Quebec-Louisiana Joint Committee, the Maritime Provinces-Louisiana Joint Committee, and the Belgium-Louisiana Joint Committee (hereafter "Joint Committees") are recreated and re-established.

SECTION 2: The four Joint Committees shall each be composed of the following members: the Governor, or his designee; the Lieutenant Governor, or her designee; the Chair of CODOFIL; the Chair of the Consortium of Universities, or the Chair's designee; the Director of CODOFIL; the Superintendent of Education, or the Superintendent's designee; and the President of the State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, or the President's designee.

SECTION 3: The Chair of CODOFIL shall also be the Chair of each of the four Joint Committees.

SECTION 4: Each of the four Joint Committees shall meet at least once prior to December 31, 1999.

SECTION 5: The members of the Joint Committees shall not receive a per diem or compensation for their services. Contingent upon the availability of funds, members may be reimbursed for actual expenses incurred for travel and accommodations while attending meetings, by the appropriate agencies of state government, in accordance with state guidelines and procedures, and upon the approval of the Commissioner of Administration.

SECTION 6: Support staff for the Joint Committees and facilities for their meetings shall be provided by CODOFIL.

SECTION 7: All departments, commissions, boards, agencies, and officers of the state, and any political subdivisions thereof, are authorized and directed to cooperate in the implementation of the provisions of this Order.

SECTION 8: This Order is effective upon signature of the Governor and shall continue in effect until amended, modified, terminated, or rescinded by the Governor, or terminated by operation of law.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand officially and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of the State of Louisiana at the Capitol, in the City of Baton Rouge on this 11th day of December, 1996.

M.J. "Mike" Foster, Jr.

Fox McKeithen
Secretary of State