International Trade Commission

WHEREAS: the State of Louisiana is the premier agricultural product embarkation state in the United States;

WHEREAS: the abundance of the agriculture products, natural resources, and manufactured products in the State of Louisiana makes those products and resources desirable for direct sale and value added processing in international markets; and

WHEREAS: the location of the State of Louisiana, at the mouth of the Mississippi River, is geographically advantageous for the dissemination of goods and services from the United States and Canada to the vast global markets of the world;

NOW THEREFORE I, M.J. "MIKE" FOSTER, JR., Governor of the State of Louisiana, by virtue of the authority vested through the Constitution and the laws of the State of Louisiana, do hereby order and direct as follows:

SECTION 1: The Louisiana International Trade Commission (hereafter "commission") is created and established within the Executive Branch, Department of Economic Development.

SECTION 2: The duties and functions of the commission shall include, but are not limited to, advising the secretary of the Department of Economic Development on policies, programs, and activities that have the following objectives:

  • A. stimulating growth in international trade and investment;

  • B. coordinating international trade and investment programs and activities;

  • C. insuring Louisiana products are competitive in international markets;

  • D. attracting foreign trade and investments;

  • E. creating international transportation routes between Louisiana and other states and counties; and

  • F. promoting mutually beneficial cultural, educational, medical, and/or environmental exchanges between Louisiana and other counties.
  • SECTION 3: The advice and recommendations of the commission shall be consistent with the goals and objectives of the Louisiana Economic Development Council.

    SECTION 4: The commission shall be comprised of 19 members who shall be appointed by and serve at the pleasure of the governor. The membership of the commission shall be selected as follows:

  • A. the secretary of the Department of Economic Development, or the secretary's designee;

  • B. the commissioner of the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, or the commissioner's designee;

  • C. a member of the Louisiana Economic Development Council;

  • D. two at-large members; and

  • E. fourteen Louisiana residents who have at least seven years of experience in international trade, finance, relations, business improvement, or economics, selected from nomination lists submitted by each of the following organizations:

  • 1. the Alexandria Chamber of Commerce;

  • 2. the Baton Rouge Chamber of Commerce;

  • 3. the Lake Charles Chamber of Commerce;

  • 4. the metrovision, the Greater New Orleans Region Chamber of Commerce;

  • 5. the Monroe Chamber of Commerce;

  • 6. the Freight Forwarders Association;

  • 7. the International Trade Council - Red River Region;

  • 8. the Lafayette International Trade Development Group;

  • 9. the Louisiana Bankers Association for international bankers employed in Louisiana;

  • 10. the Louisiana District Export Council;

  • 11. the Port Association of Louisiana;

  • 12. the South Louisiana Economic Council;

  • 13. the World Trade Center of New Orleans Board of Directors; and

  • 14. the Southern United States Trade Association.
  • SECTION 5: The secretary of the Department of Economic Development, or the secretary's designee, shall chair the commission. The membership of the commission shall elect its other officers.

    SECTION 6: The commission shall meet at regularly scheduled intervals, and at the call of the chair.

    SECTION 7: Support staff for the commission and facilities for their meetings shall be provided by the Department of Economic Development.

    SECTION 8: Commission members shall not receive compensation or a per diem. Nonetheless, contingent upon the availability of funds, commission members who are not employed by the state may receive reimbursement for actual travel expenses, in accordance with state guidelines and procedures, upon the approval of the commissioner of Administration.

    SECTION 9: All departments, commissions, boards, agencies, and officers of the state, or any political subdivision thereof, are authorized and directed to cooperate with the commission in implementing the provisions of this Order.

    SECTION 10: This Order is effective upon signature and shall remain in effect until amended, modified, terminated, or rescinded by the governor, or terminated by operation of law.

    IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand officially and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of the State of Louisiana, at the Capitol, in the City of Baton Rouge, on this 21st day of February 1997.

    M.J. "Mike" Foster, Jr.

    Fox McKeithen
    Secretary of State