Louisiana Commemorative Coin Advisory Commission

WHEREAS, on December 1, 1997, President Clinton signed the Fifty States Commemorative Coin Program Act (Public Law 105-124), creating a ten (10) year circulating commemorative coin program to honor the unique Federal republic of states that comprise the United States (hereafter "the program");

WHEREAS, under the program, five (5) states are to be featured each year during a ten (10) year period, with each of the fifty (50) states being honored in the order of their ratification of the Constitution of the United States or admittance into the Union;

WHEREAS, because a goal of the program is to promote a diffusion of knowledge among the youth of the United States about the individual states, such as knowledge about the history, geography, or natural heritage of a state, the program provides for the reverse side of quarter dollars issued during the ten (10) year period of 1999 to 2008 to be redesigned with designs emblematic of each of the fifty (50) states, with Washington's portrait remaining on the obverse side of the quarter dollars;

WHEREAS, the five (5) states to be honored with the issuance of commemorative quarters depicting themes emblematic of their state in the year 2002 are the states of Tennessee, Ohio, Louisiana, Indiana, and Mississippi;

WHEREAS, the governor may submit to the United States Mint for review between three (3) and five (5) designs, design concepts, and/or themes which are emblematic of the state of Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, the interests of the citizens of the state of Louisiana will be best served by the creation of a citizens advisory commission that is charged with the duty of identifying initial designs, design concepts, and/or themes for Louisiana's commemorative coin that are not only emblematic of the state of Louisiana but are also educational and enduring symbols which will appeal to a broad spectrum of citizens of this state;

NOW THEREFORE I, M.J. "MIKE" FOSTER, JR., Governor of the state of Louisiana, by virtue of the authority vested by the Constitution and laws of the state of Louisiana, do hereby order and direct as follows:

SECTION 1: The Louisiana Commemorative Coin Advisory Commission (hereafter "Commission") is established within the executive department, Office of the Governor.

SECTION 2: The duties of the Commission shall include, but are not limited to, the following:

A. Identifying a minimum of three (3) designs, design concepts, and/or themes emblematic of the state of Louisiana that are appropriate for coinability, have broad appeal to the citizens of Louisiana, are informative about the state of Louisiana, and are considered enduring representations or symbols of the state of Louisiana;

B. Preparing and/or obtaining supporting documentation that is necessary and/or appropriate for each design, design concept, and/or theme, including background materials, photographs, sketches, and/or depictions;

C. Obtaining full releases for all designs, design concepts, and/or themes, that are covered by a copyright, trademark, or any other type of privacy or publicity right; and

D. Submitting the designs, design concepts, and/or themes for the Louisiana commemorative coin and all related materials and/or releases to the governor no later than April 1, 2000.

SECTION 3: In accordance with the design concept parameters of the Fifty States Commemorative Coin Program, none of the designs, design concepts, and/or themes submitted to the governor shall include:

1. The head and shoulders portrait or bust of any person living or dead, or portrait of any living person;

2. The State Flag or the State Seal of the state of Louisiana;

3. An inscription; or

4. A logo or depiction of any specific commercial, private, educational, civic, religious, sport or other organization whose membership or ownership is not universal.

SECTION 4: The Commission shall be composed of a maximum of sixteen (16) members appointed by, and serving at the pleasure of, the governor. The membership of the Commission shall be selected as follows:

A. The governor, or the governor's designee;

B. The state treasurer, or the state treasurer's designee; and

C. A minimum of seven (7) and a maximum of fourteen (14) citizens of the state of Louisiana knowledgeable about rare coins and/or the geography, flora, fauna, history, political development, and/or natural heritage of the state of Louisiana selected from the seven (7) congressional districts of Louisiana.

SECTION 5: The governor shall appoint the chair of the Commission from its membership. All other officers shall be elected by the membership of the Commission.

SECTION 6: The Commission shall meet at regularly scheduled intervals and at the call of the chair.

SECTION 7: Support staff for the Commission and facilities for its meetings shall be provided by the Office of the Governor.

SECTION 8: Commission members shall not receive additional compensation, a per diem, or travel expenses from the Office of the Governor for serving on the Commission.

SECTION 9: All departments, commissions, boards, agencies, and officers of the state, or any political subdivision thereof, are authorized and directed to cooperate with the Commission in implementing the provisions of this Order.

SECTION 10: This Order is effective upon signature and shall continue in effect until amended, modified, terminated, or rescinded by the governor, or terminated by operation of law.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand officially and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of the state of Louisiana, at the Capitol, in the city of Baton Rouge, on this 30th day of July, 1999.

M.J. "Mike" Foster, Jr.

Fox McKeithen
Secretary of State